Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Ya loh..we doing long cabinet

if i not wrong is bottom and top 12Ft..than the end will be a washing area where i put the washing machine

i think very standard lah. Our house like 'fixed' liao. Most of the ID design for us all same 1

mine worse.. fridge n washer must be at the fixed position. sink also. so like tat stove also fixed lor.. hahaha. cant wait for our reno to start then we can go take a look at each other's hse

SY Chen,

Ha ha .. ya i agree.. i think most of us had standard kitchen arrangement. I haven't started on getting ID yet so not sure what island on wheel are yoiu guys talking about. But i supposed it is those tabletop where you can push into the cabinet on wheel?

Valerie,

I also thought of drying in the kitchen on weekdays instead of buying a dryer. Never uses a dryer in my life so a bit alien to me.

Kevin,

Go for a mitsubishi starmex better. We tested both mitsubishi and toshiba, the noise created by toshiba is distinctively louder. noise is a big factor, i do not want to sleep with the sound from the outdoor unit keeps disturbing me. If i remembered correctly, the inverter type have noise level at 21d and non-inverter at 25d. Means inverter is quieter.

Im thinking fridge would be at the corner when you step into your kitchen. Washer and Dryer would be at the other end near the window hanging area. In the middle would be the long kitchen cabinet. I never really measure the length, but enough space to fit a cooker hob / hoods, 2 basin and a oven with some space left for kettle, rice cooker etc?

By the way, what's the use of a oven? You can see i don't go into the kitchen very often. I know microwave oven but don't think people are getting microwave type cos radiation cooking, not very healthy. What can we cooked with a oven? I'm not sure if it's necessary to buy. I always thought oven used to make cakes only. ha ha

Kevin,

Will start to source for ID after my ROM next week. Am collecting my key next Sat, just after my ROM. Hope to complete reno & furniture before June, so that can concentrate on customary held on Sept. I think should be manageable lah.

ryan

me nv bought a dryer b4 too! haha.

oven hor.. not only can bake cakes. can be used for roasting chicken, beef, pork.. potatoes.. wadever la. its healthier to roast than to fry. keeps kitchen clean too. easy to cook also.. juz prepare finish in the morning (marinating etc) then leave in fridge, when u back from work, juz pop into oven for half hr while u go bathe, when u're finished bathing, dinner is ready. isnt tat great? hehe. can use 1 -2 times a wk. can bake pizza too.. not bad one.

valerie,

that time we saw your neighbour using rinnai cookerhob/hood. i think i remember their design, they must had got it for about $750. If you're getting rinnai, you have an option to purchase their oven at special price of $750, instead of usual price $850. The lower end will be $690, instead of $750.

I think i may buy rinnai, asked my colleagues they says not bad.. if not will get electrolux. I have doubts about appliances throw in by ID, like cookerhood, tv or air con. Prefer to buy them ourselves.

ryan.. tks for the info! my neighbour got his rinnai cookerhob/hood at 620. usual price is 783. if we get rinnai, will get him to get for us cos he has lobang haha. u interested to ask him to get for u if u wan rinnai?

not sure wad brand oven is gd leh. my coll say got 1 philips one can steam also. haha. now appliances are multi purpose. haven got time to go research on all these. might juz get smting tt ppl i noe recommend cos they hv been using it for years and bake often.

haha i duno abt the model no. i intend to do research le then see if the one i want same as his then ask him. but if u wan, juz pop by his hse when u go open ur hse on 19th lor. take a look at his model n ask him the price n see if he can help u get urs

We not buying cookerhob/hood. I don't forsee myself or my HTB using it. I got it at my current house but only once a blue moon than will use.

hahaha, don't want to waste $$.

One of the ID tell me that i can include the furnitures/appliances into the renovation loan but i checked with 1 of my friend.

Usually Id will get special rates for furnitures/appliances. Than they will markup themselves.

Can ask them to recommend lah but i think buy ownself better.

Ryan, I tested the sound factor of Mitsubishi n Toshiba too. Ya. The latter is noisy when turned on n since non-invertor it will have that ‘Ta’ sound when compressor goes into off mode n on mode. But checking thru the energy consumption using the NEA guide (link below, can use it to chck fridge energy consumption too), that model Toshiba is less energy hungry than Mitsubishi. Toshiba has 3 ticks too.

http://els.nea.gov.sg/mels/aircon.asp

Dun intend to get a hood to go along with my hod
Hood, at most, will absorb 20 -40%
N we rarely cook
To us, it’s a little white elephant in the kitchen
Or those glass chimney hood will add to the aesthetic aspect of kitchen

oh..that 1 is stove rite?

is it call a hob?

the 1 on top is not call hood & hob ah?

haha this only show how ignorance i am
hahahaha still got a lot to learn

i haven't decided if to get ceiling fan, sounds like it may looks pretty for a while, after which you may find it troublesome to maintain since it will keep dust and difficult to clean. After a while may hear some noise.

Some complains it blocks the light, reflect the light.. fickering etc. What you guys think?

wouldnt flicker since light is below the fan fins. but thought it's an eye-sore with that on ur ceiling while the false ceiling/l-box (if getting) are just beside. doesnt seem to match.

got a mailer from HDB, then i realised the officer who is in charge of my case is the manager of the dept. then my colleague officer is also a manager. Are they all managers @ HDB? ha ha

i will be getting a ceiling fan.. but haven decide whether it will be with lights or not. not installing aircon in LR thus must hv fan if not during humid months from apr to july/aug.. can die ar keke.

ryan.. u rem my neighbour's fan? i shd be getting smting like tat cos it matches my theme.

Being a while seen i posted. Just received the approval for HLE. Our appointment was in late Nov.

Looks like everyone is going to start reno soon..just a quick check..are light fixtures already pre-installed?

morning~!!!
anyone 2nd appt this friday noon? hee
i will be heading down straight to my flat after the 2nd appt to open door. So excited now.

Valerie, i am planning to get the higher range from Seahorse HECOM. parents say its good enough le...and 1/3 price of Serta etc.

Just called my HDB officer and they claim that they are processing all the AHG applicantions for those queue numbers in OCT. All those in November will be next month. Haiz... looks like must wait till next month

Hi Hui Ling,

my 1st appoinment was on 16 Nov, my AHG was approved about 8 weeks later, and i just checked my HDB website today and am informed that my next appointment will be on 17 Jan 08.
So, it's not very true that the November application will be processed next month...

Valerie,

After thinking for a while, i think we won't be getting a ceiling fan. Probably we will get a standing fan, it's too hard to clean a ceiling fan and it might look good at the beginning, but i feel given time we might be bored of it. Will find it as nuisance to clean it.

Valerie,

I got a king coil mattress. I got it direct from the king coil sales personnel instead of the retailers such as courts. Price is cheaper. Let me know if you need the contacts.

Olivia,

Where can I find that HECOM mattress for trying? Any idea how much does it cost?

Ryan

I'm not getting ceiling fan as well. Feel that the ceiling is already quite low..

I have just gotten my 2nd appt date too...1st appt is 19 Nov and appt date is 17 Jan. I think it depends on how fast the officer work. I did not apply for AHG only HLE but it still take quite some time...mayb due to the Dec holi, my officer took lonog leave.

i bought my mattress (four stars), bed-frame (a divan with storage) and headboard as a package... think will be cheaper when you are able to get a package... I got my at $999.

herain, i think Takashimaya have HECOM showroom. I have not been there yet though.

Or maybe u can try Mega Mattress at Taman Jurong too?

HECOM :
2 Tampines Central 5 #04-15 Century Square S(529509)

1 Seng Kang Square#03-19/20 Compass Point Singapore S(545078)

1 Woodlands Square #04-18/19 Causeway Point Singapore S(738099)

SEAHORSE:
1 Woodlands Square#04-32 Causeway Point S(738099)

302 Tiong Bahru Road #03-11B Tiong Bahru Plaza S(168732)

1Bukit Batok Cenral Link #03-13 West Mall S(658713)

Lot One Shoppers Mall, #03-15

yeah i just got my 2nd appointment too...on 17 jan..but have to change to 19 jan.

if you are changing to 19 jan hurry up only 3 more time slots avaliable.

shawn