Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

olivia

ohh ya.. we have the same layout hehe. which unit is urs? see if ours is exactly the same o not hehe. i tink ours is exactly the same cos unit 321 is gone long ago.

Will HDB inform us whether our AHG is approved in the HLE letter.
The officer ask us to try to apply but i din see any AHG mentioned in the HLE letter.

Hi herain,
Does tt mean I have to call up another dept to check my AHG status....
very troublesome leh, dun understand why they cannot give us an one stop answer to everything.
I email them checking the date of my second appointment, one week le still haven reply...

icegin, I'm not sure abt that. You can call up the customer officer incharge and she will be able to tell you the status of your AHG.

i guessed most of us are first time house owners. I got a few questions regarding monthly housing fixed expenditure, maybe more people actually wanted to find out too.

(1) Conservancy Fee: I read above that upon receiving the keys, you paid $189 for 3 months, Is this a one time payment or subsequently still need to pay $189 for every 3 months? Conservancy fee does not refer to utility right eg. water gas electricity.

(2) Fire insurance: $9+ for 6 months, what about after 6 months, HDB don't provide fire insurance anymore or we have to go to private insurer for that?

How much is our st64 district charging for a 5rm S&CC? Different district areas charges difference S&CC, but i think around $750 should be good estimateEg. Punggol charges $63 per month for S&CC but Potong Pasir charges only $58 per month.

I have also found out that average utility bill for 5rm is $160 per month based on average utlity expenditure by household in singapore. TV license is $110 per year. Singtel fixed line per annum is about $105.

If we add all up, annum household expenditure for 5rm flat is about $750+($160x12)+$110+$105=$240 per month.

Did i missed out any others? (above does not includes all the opening or activation charges. Singtel $53.50 for opening, Utility $20 for activation)

Anyone wanna share anything?

Hi Ryan, the fire insurance is $9.15...the premium is for 5 years..sum insured is $48,600.

Conservancy fee is $61.50 per mth for Jurong West...S &cc doesnt cover ur gas water etc...it only covers the cleaner cleaning up your main dustbin, the washing of corridors etc...basically it is for the upkeeping for the estate...hope this helps..

oops ya the fire insurance is for 5 yrs. i mixed up the 6mths for another thingy. sorrie ar..

wow ryan u found out so much info le ar.. tink u're more well informed than me. conservancy 189 is paid for 1st 3 mths in advance.. after that have to pay monthly of $61.50 to town council.

olivia

tat means u took level 2 or 4?

wad plans u have to reno ur hse? since we have the same layout (except kitchen haha) then we can discuss abt it

oops... i don't intend to move in until end 2008, guess i have to pay for free for a year on the S&CC. Hee hee...

$61.50 can be considered one of the higher in Singapore, however feel fortunate Punggol pays $63 for S&CC i think.

I also thought of something to ask... does new buildings comes with SCV wired up? I supposed we had to get the SCV contractor to do all the installations eh. there any nearby coffeeshop that shows football on weekends? Don't think so hor... that sucks man...

all new buildings come with SCV installations..dun worry abt that...

However if you need more tv points, you have to call starhub to come install for a fee..

S&CC is determined by each individual town council.so guess its not uniform throughout singapore.

Valerie, i got lvl 4. =)
Gonna gonna do up kitchen, whole hse painting &amp; probably some rewiring and changing of switches, thats all. The toilets are fine i guess. rather spend $ on the furnishings. Going to book a living room package from FC@IMM by the end of the mth. quite good deal. hee. that would be i guess the most ex purchase for me ba. >..< If u r interested, look for Mr Yip Ho Yin, he is very patient &amp; humble imo, will give u advise on your floorplan. Do not speak with the lady consultants, they try to "kapo" his customers. Not nice at all.

olivia, we spoke to this Yip guy too.

Very friendly guy, can see that he is quite sincere. That time, he told us is the last day of promo but we didn't want to buy on impulse since keys are not ready yet.

I got a colleague's hubby working in one of the furniture stores there who can offer us cheaper package but i still feel FC's things are better.

I love the wooden solid table that we saw there!!

Somemore, he told us no need to hire ID (coz they also copy and paste ideas from magaines and etc). They have this in-house designer who can help us to match colours and etc for free if we need.

yes. they will provide inhouse designer to do colour matching n do site measurements. quite a value added service. i love their furniture. with 10yr warranty also. not bad la. maybe we r eyeing the same pieces. haha..i going for somewhat like resort feel. hmm...u mentioned that he told you that the promo ending. sales tactic ba. i better double check with bf 1st. havent get keys, order furniture abit insecure too.

ya...my colleague told me this kind of sales tactic every weekend also got.

i like the thing that they have flexibility to choose anything thing you want but still at th esame price.

I think wait for keys than get the furniture also not too late. I went to nova house @ tradehub. They are selling a similar table at cheaper price and the salesperson actually tell us not to buy the furniture now because the prices are going up (becoz of Xmas/CNY). If we not in the hurry, can wait after that than buy

Morning SY! i agree with u. by the way raw material cost will go up in the new year. even the ID i went to told me that. ask me to put deposit to reserve my construction materials at the lower price now. dunno how true is that. Mr Yip also say.

morning peeps

olivia! wa seh u went to get level 4. i was aiming 321 for the longest time but didnt manage to get. ur unit is veri gd

wow ur reno is gg to be veri cheap leh. i also wanna cut cost but then i got some fanciful ideas lolz. still getting quotes n considering b4 deciding.

wad does FC stand for? or the name is just FC? its at the new area of furniture shops at level 3 at IMM right?

their stuffs are more resort feel issit? wad does ur living room package have?

i'll go look for mr yip hehe. tks for the info

Hi Guys,
The air con price will also go up by Dec, I already place order for my air conditioner already.
I heard that alot of models will be out of market soon, they will only allow energy saving air con to be in the market. This will bring up the price of remaining models tt remain in the market.

morning Valerie, u also "jia zhua-ing" wor? hahaha...=p 4321, dad say its the best unit for me n my bf's ba zhi ma. He sees FS de. I prefer the view also. I also got alot of ideas but intending to DIY. Save $.

btw FC is Furniture Club in short. #03-34. They have minimalist design &amp; modern resort furnitures. Got package deal $3999(Sofa+dining tables &amp; 4 chairs+TV console+kopi table) Can pick any design+size, mix n match. Bring your floorplan along, he will give advise on your furniture placement.

Hi Icegin, you also got ur keys le? which brand of aircon you got? I am also looking around. But aiming for the inverter types. --> energy saving one rite? >..<

Hi Olivia,
I've not gotten my keys yet... hopefully soon.
Mine is Mitsubishi inverter system 3 with 4 ticks (I dunno what is the model). It's very quiet compare to the non inverter one.

hi olivia

haha ya lor quite happy later gg off to new hse. on half day leave hehe. an ID is coming to help us check defects n take measurements then quote us.

i don wan low floors tts why didn take 321. was so sad when i saw tat all gone except level 2 n 4. quite envious of u in a way keke. :P

our view shd be ard the same la hor? one day i wan go ur hse see see if u don mind. see how my preferred unit is like.. hehe.

ohhh ok i shd be gg to try beds at the simmons gallery so i can pop over to see the FC shop. my theme is country style, maybe some of the woody furnitures can match.

wad is inverter aircon? how does it save energy?

hi icegin..

todae while sitting at the bustop i saw a cab pass by with jack neo's face advertising the mitsubishi electric aircon.. easy to clean, save energy, low noise level of 21 DB. lolz can memorise liao. is urs this one? how much did u get it?

Hi Valerie,
I'm not sure whether is tt one, u look for 4 ticks with inverter one. I bought is at $2461 (with GST) + piping + installation.
I bought it at IMM, the one beside Gain City call Best Tech.
It's very quiet compare to others, it has to be quiet as the compressor will be at the window of master bedroom.

they say there is this store in IMM, beside Gain city that sell the cheapest air con ard..

not so sure whether is what Icegin mention

I am not too sure about the inverter thing. I also noticed the 4ticks mitsubishi one. Will head down to IMM to see again.

Hi SY,
There is one uncle telling me he sell the cheapest aircon in IMM but still i go Best Tech, they offer me better deal by upgrading the material of the piping and all the salesman has air con installation certificate. They show me pictures of the piping they have done and their workmanship is quite good compare to the one on another side of Gain city. My mom bought from the uncle tt claim tt he sell the lowest price air con but the piping is so ugly. My mom hse is full of pipes in the rooms of cos with covers but still ugly.

Hi Valerie,
I onli install for the bed rooms. As for living room, I will install ceiling fan. I dun think i will on for living room even if I install. If want to install living room, i think u need 2 compressor.

actually i thinking of having air-con in the living room but this idea is strongly protested by both side parents.

I feel that with the small window, it can be quite hot. Haiz.

Wonder anybody from St 64 feel the same way as me. Now, it seems like the interior of the estate actually like no wind, quite hot. Wonder is it becoz everytime i go is afer rain but i go at night leh!

Hi Valerie,
I just heard tt the air con price will rise so i faster grab first. Now the most impt thing to me is save money. Everything needs money.... keke
Inverter will save on ur monthly utilities bill too, I dunno how true it is but like will save alot.

Hi Olivia,
I go home check my invoice then tell u which company i bought from but my credit card bill indicate best tech. Their sales man are all guys and got free gift when u buy from them. They are very professional in explaining. I pop in and out of the air con dealer in IMM and decided on best tech.

SY, i also want aircon in living room. bf thinks its redundant. coz will only use if got visitors. he want ceiling fan! ceiling fan dun really suit the design concept that i have. zzz...hahaha...time to make use of womanly wiles to get what we want =p

i was in my hse on sunday, and its quite hot outside but still there's wind coming into my hse from all windows.. even the kitchen! so i tink it depends on wind direction? later i'll go yan jiu again n let u all know

haha, should start a protest.

If the wind is hot, ceiing fan also hot.

My HTB say buy those portable 1 loh. If not, not practical to get one.

But if we can have 2 aircons in the 2 bedrooms where practically no 1 is staying there, why we cannot have 1 in the living room where we will spend more time there...humpf!

haha...usually old people always feel aircon is waste of money.Like my mother,even i offer to pay for her,she also don't want..siao..

Lke everyone one, we are so excited about new home,if u want to do something u like. u shall go for it , why listen to other people advise as they are not the one who stay with u? We already know the 90% of the weather in singapore is so hot and humid.I don't see anything wrong for installation of aircon in living room.

Regardless on what other people had said, i will install aircon in my living room for my new home in street 93.Has already decided to install a slide door glass partition to divide the dinning and the living room cause i don't want to install 2 aircons in both living and dinning room...based on my floorplan area, it is quite impossible to use only one unit to cool the all living and dinning room area.

initially, i also suggest ceiling fan to my gf...she is the one who against it..

another thing about ceiling fan is that it would make the ceiling look lower plus will collect dust. For people doing false ceiling, if want to put ceiling fan also not very feasible and usually there is limited designs for low ceiling fans also. So far i only seen KDK &amp; amasco ones...abit oldie looking de. Anyone here seen nicer ones available?

I don't think false ceiling is feasible to put ceiling fan. Must install L-box instead.

Herain, at first i thinking of WIW but i feel it's quite expensive. ID quoting us $3k++ for that, although my HTB say that a normal wardrobe will already cost $2k+, so doesn't make much difference.

Have to see the actual flat before we confirm. I worry that with the WIW, the MBR look too small

Hi Valerie,
They will hold it for me for half a yr but the person mentioned tt we can hold longer if we wan. I predict i will get my keys within half a yr so shld be fine.

Suddenly the discussion is about air con... lol

i'm also thinking of WIW. The ID i went to also quote ard that amount. But I'm afraid that the MBR will be abit dark after putting the WIW. Considering there's only a small window in each room.

Also, the way the windows, toilets, aircon ledge is placed fixed, the wardrobe position is quite limited unless you dont mind a small wardrobe.

Ya, it's like a 'long term' thing to put WIW.

if next time not happy, must heck = a sum of money.

If i mount the wardrobe on the wall, a few years later if i don't like, i can only change the door of the wardrobe which is cheaper.

If do WIW, have to put lights or false ceiling

next time maybe WIW not a "in" thing liaoz.. then gotta heck.. kekkeke.

Most IDs that I go to advise that I place the WIW at the same position.