Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

Hi SY,
I choose 10 flr and below so tt i will onli have 4 digit instead of 5 to buy 4D... lol

I called HDB juz now regarding my second appointment, they told me tt Carmen is on leave and gave me another officer no who is also on leave too... faint
but they told me tt they will be giving out keys batch by batch...

How come first 3 mths conservancy is more ex than after 3 mths?

Anyone knows what is the car park rate there?

Do u think we should write in to SBS transit to put an additional bus stop outside our estate at st 64 road. The bus stop seems too far.

Should we write to LTA or URA to remove some brick dividers to enable the car to turn left or right from the st64 road instead of doing 1 big U turn?

I think carpark shld be $90. My current one is $75 only and there is a combination of open parking and multi storey. If only got multi storey is more expensive.

I think we shld write to require for additional bus top.

wah $61.50 + $90 = $151.50. Quite ex leh. My friend only pay $230 for condo facilities!

Hi Xesthir,

Good suggestion for the U turning and the bus stop. My hubby also feel troublesome.

I will ask to find out to write in to LTA or URA.

Li

I don't feel mentioning about aircon is such a off topic over here ...since most new owners here also want their home to be air-conditioning.Anyway, i'm definitely won't get my aircon from besttech and allbest cause i had heard horrible "stories" about them,they got many sub-contractors on installation, so it depend on yr lucks .Actually installation of aircon is all depend on the workmanship and the piping connnection, no matter how much or how good yr aircon is,it is no use if installation is like shit.I don't mind paying more to get a reputable and a good after sale service air con company to do my aircon.

my masterbed room is 3.9m x 3.9m, so no WIW for our master room cause it is already small.i feel only those getting the sqaure units in the street 64 will have the chance to do WIS.

As for the home unit number for 4D...yes..i do buy my number regularly from the day i booked the flat, buy just "one big" only.Hope that it will strike so can help me on my renovation costs...

should gather more people on st 64 to write a petition or something.

Actually, bus-stop is okie, except i hope they can build a walkway from the bus-stop along the road to Jalan Bahar to the estate itself. Now have to 'climb' up the steep slope to go to the badminton court which i find is quite dangerous for old people.

another alternative is to stop at the bus-stop facing the temple.

personally, i want a shelter all the way from st64 to jurong point area. and i also want a bus stop outside the main gate cos the bus stop is too far away.

regarding the air-con, i think no point rushing to buy it because price is going to go up. there be probably new models and instead cause the old models to become cheaper. you never know. best is to buy when it's time. to have air-con in the living is impractical because it may sounds comfortable and nice but after a few months you will realised you're paying too much electricity bills for it. however you may consider a partition to reduce the air-con area.

yea i also like bus stop to be outside/near the gate cos now the bus stop is outside the executive flats so its quite far.. if raining, v sian to walk over. and by the time the new interchange is ready, to walk to that bus stop, might as well walk to the interchange le.

shelter i also wan haha. tink most of us wan the shelter n bus stop thingy. we can write in together, hope it'll help..

hi ryan

food wise leh.. downstairs got 1 otah man selling otah hahaha... i juz bought some to eat yesterday at new hse! keke. 1st time eating inside.

drinks is mineral water lor haha.

hv u taken ur keys?

I'm new here... Anyone who has gotten the keys liao? Any idea when the keys will be released? I have my HLE letter already. Thx!

Hi Valerie,

wow got otah man already eh.... so early got biz meh?

i haven't collect my keys yet, i just selected my flat last week and only just mailed back my AHG application this week so i don't think it will be that soon.

hi ryan

ya i saw otah man downstairs.. near the bus stop area so i bought some to eat hehe. can wash hands in new hse ma.. enjoy a bit keke.

not so fast also gd if u're not in a hurry. meanwhile i feel u can make use of the time to search for ID/contractors n get them to quote first. i delayed in doing tat and now get keys le rush to do this n doing my bridal studio thingy too.. veri packed n stressed.

valerie, ya me in no rush to renovate, i intend to start looking at ID / contractor only after CNY.

xesthir, i am investing my CPFOA and left exactly just about enough for deductions. As long your investment make > 2.6%, it's more worth it to invest. It's not that hard, i would advise people to do that too.

I have chosen a unit in Yung Sheng... the unpopular one it seems.. but it suit me fine as it is near my workplace and my parents.

hi ryan

thats gd. i tink u can look 4 ID / contractors now but don start confirming them now. cos need lotsa time one as u need to meet ard 3-4 to compare prices, discuss how u wanna design ur hse, they come to take measurements etc. better to start earli so tat u can do it slowly

hi shan3

yup. as long as u're happy with ur flat. YS is nice, gd layout, matured estate, got gd food, cheaper n bigger too. somemore its hear ur parents n workplace. so many positive factors.

when u starting reno?

well.. don regret ur choice. for me, if my parent's place is near n workplace is near, i wont hesitate taking le. infact its new hse somemore. best until cannot best le hehe. i wan a hse near my parents also cannot cos my area all old hses. so look forward to ur new hse!

Hi shan3,

Me also a YS neighbour. welcome... too bad we not near the mrt. but got to compromise, no choice. cos i want to be near my parents too.

Lin

Hi Val
I'm a proud owner at 675B. Made the selection in early Nov. Now, like everyone else here, wait eagerly for 2nd appt (key collection).

one thought -
which is a better option
1) exhaust your CPF OA contribution monthly and pay out your HDB loan in 15-20yrs, or
2) make use of 30 yr (max period) so that spare CPF can be channelled to investment or CPF SA which earns 4-5% interest

Option 2 will set me back 20-30k additional interest, but the compound interest of CPF SA will earn more

hi val
talked to some IDs, trying to sound out quotes.
have some ideas abt the renov.
wanna have a mega MBR by hacking down a wall of adjacent room. Then I'll have 3-in-1 (MBR, WIW and Study).
Will half-hack kitchen wall for bar counter
love a white concept home

U got ur keys?

Even though i haven collect the key, i had been looking for ID (abt 5 IDs)for renovation quote for the past weeks, renovation quote are almost the same for most of them.about 15k to 17k for our premium flat..hopefully i will be able to meet all of them for further detailed disccusion on the reno plan.So far, i had meet one after recieved the quote.Me still in the consideration stages cause i want to see what other ID has offer..

Most of the ID i talked to are quite patient and not those pushy type,they will listen to our requirement cause we already know what we want for my new home.Maybe we are less experience in matching colours and those material used.Even after they gave the quote based on our requirement, we also not sure on what is the design concept they gave and the material used.So also must arrange the "2nd appointment" with them.

There is one ID which i didn't really like cause she don't even bother to photocopy our floorplan when we approached them(all of ID i went all did that)...ok...maybe she belong to those straightforward person...showing our floorplan, we told her we like to have this and that in our home and immediately she give the quote on the thing that we want,it may be sound good for other cause she actually give the market price for those items so u will be aware for the pricing and not kanna chop by other ID/contractors...after seeing so many quotes from our previous ID ,we also roughly know how much liao..ok here come to the dislike part,since i already want to divide my dining room and living room with glass partiton door cause i only want to air-con my living room only,she actually comment that like dat yr dinning table got place to put meh? walau..she think we can't read floorplan dimension izzit??how big can a dining table be when only 2 persons are livng in a 5 rm ,my plan is to buy a dining table for 4 will do? After talking about those carpentary works...we proceed to those labour costs...i ask about painting cost and she reply abt $1500, ok...i kind of expected and ask her so how many colours she provide and she gave me a miserable 3!! I told her that most ID that we had been been offer to give min 5 colours and don't mind up to 8 colours.Her reply is they (other ID) give u those mixed old unused painting with water wan lah..why choose so many colours..i just told her politely that 3 colours are so few it is very bored to see the same colours in the whole flat...cause i already want my home concept is bright and clourful design...in fact my kitchen cabinet colour has to be red!! i fell that If u think yr company is good, why need to bad-month other competitor rite?

anyway...here is the market price list that i gather.

L-box and false ceiling for dining,living,foyer,passage way $1300 to $1800
(L-box is cheaper than false ceiling)

Feature wall + tv console(suspended) - $1800 -$2500

Feature wall to conceal the bomb shelter - $1500

Kitchen cabinet + solid work top $4000

masterbed room built in full height cabinet $1500-$2000

painting -$1400

hi winningeleven

nice of you to share the experience.
indeed, impt to find an ID/contractor who can think on behalf of the client (to save $ and share same ideas)

still waiting for the IDs to revert with their quotes. only saw them last week.

trying to keep everything within 20k.
still have to keep aside some for the electrical appliances, furnishing and barang...

valerie, i'm busy with my ROM in Jan so kind of too many things to do at the same time. So maybe i will start searching once my ROM is over. I intend to finish the reno before Aug only so i still have some time. I will only move in ard Oct - Nov after my customary. Hopefully i can keep all that in schedule.

Hi Kevin,

It is quite an dangerous thought to transfer your money to CPFSA. You have to be aware that once $$ is transfer there, you cannot transfer back to CPFOA. Risky in the sense that when unfortunately you hit a bad patch in your work and have no contributions in your CPFOA, you will have to come up with cash.

I am encouraging people to re-invest some $$ into investments instead of letting HDB wiped out your CPFOA. This amt of money can act as a safety net during unemployment, at least enough for 1 yr of installments. Other than that, most equity funds give a very positive returns over the last few years, i don't think a return of more than 2.6% HDB interest is hard to achive over long term, in that sense you're gaining more from investment compared to the interest you would incur for not repaying more loan.

Therefore both options are not viable in my thoughts.

Hi Winningelevan,

What is actually a false ceiling? 15k sounds like the mean cost of renovation and carpentry based on the last few posts on it.

we wanted to invest but after thinking, we deduct to let CPF deduct everything.

No doubt investing is good but there is also a risk factor to consider. We want to keep the loan to a minimum such that we need only to deduct just one person's cpf to pay for the instalment or either half half so that there is still balance each mth. If anyone of us unemployed, we still can afford but not for too long of course.

one of the main reason why i hope we get the keys early is so that we won't have our bonus CPF deducted. My HTB's bonus will be safe coz he is taking it next year but mine 1 sure byebye liao coz in Dec...haha

false ceiling is like building another layer on yr ceiling to cover those wirings...imagine the height being shorten..

haha....but i still can't figure out what L-box is. How can a false ceiling and L-box co-exist together? one of my ID say dining do false ceiling, living room do L-box but the way i picture it...it looks damn funny