Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

haha ya the doors are a problem. though its gd quality and veri nice but nt practical. ryan u go be the grassroots leader la.. then can help us all with these nitty gritty problems hehe.

ya i can go to 675b 5th floor for lunch or dinner. or both. whahahah.

Meirong,

You can, as Kevin mention, the pipe runs down instead of up... only electrical runs up.

anyway shouold not be a problem, just don't drill exactly above the tap, i supposed the drill hole of your cabinet is at the side and not the centre right.

HI Meirong,

I went to cliff juz now, evening time and buy all my lightnings there. Spend $1700+++. But i really like my dining light, limited edition.

Li

Hi folks,
How come u pple not installing gas water heater from city gas and choose to install 2 instant heaters or 1 storage heater?

U only need 1 citygas gas instant water heater to be installed in the kitchen area to supply 2 toilets. The ongoing utilities charges also lesser than electric ones.

Is it due to ugly pipings?

Hi Meng n Liz (miz),

Me also blk678C hee hee, care to PM me ur flr lvl and details?

Can ask Ryan to organise outing for or blk liao LOL..

xesthir
i had the foc gas instant water heater installed

hid the water pipes behind string curtain at kitchen entrance.

Hi Kevin,

So how's the gas water heater working for you? Did you try the gas water heater performance for 2 persons showering in 2 toilets at the same time?

I was told that the current 5L one (now no more FOC, at $257) can only work efficiently for 1 person showering in 1 toilet, if two person shower at the same time, the water may not be as hot. Have you tried this? Can you feedback? Did you install the gas dryer too?

I was told by citygas that a newer 8L instant gas water heater will be launching in June that will support 2 persons showering in 2 toilets. This new 8L heater will be cheaper than $200.

xesthir

hmm.. nvr try showering @ 2 toilets at same time. not sure whether it'll be not hot enuf. shall try it one of these days then let u noe.

oh, din noe tat it's not foc liao.

ya, got the gas clothes dryer too, at $600, came with $50 banquet foodcourt voucher whn i bought it in jan.

Hi Li,

Glad that you like your lights.
I can't wait to see how my house will look like after reno. On one hand I want reno to faster complete cos I'm so excited to see the finished product but on the other, I'm enjoying the process and I don't need the house so soon. Haha...

i know exactly what you mean Meirong. A feeling of emptiness once everything is done eh.. hee

So just try to get involve as much as you can with the reno and enjoy the feeling.

Hi meng,

were you @ the house @ about 8pm plus yesterday? I think i saw the lights coming out from your house. anyway, why didn't you choose the unit above which vacant and be my neighbour? why something lower? ha ha

Hi Ryan,

Wasnt at our place, cld b contractors.

We chose that unit because its the same last 4 digits of Meng's handphone! hahaa... So next time buy 4D easier mah.. buy 1 number can liao..since hp and house no. same same...haaa.. :p

Hi Hwee Hwee, we PM you liao..

-Miz

I have scratches on the aluminum parts of the windows, something like at the window frames. But the hdb contractor tell me the windows are done 8 yrs ago, the colour no longer available, so cannot change. Is that true??

No one else here windows frames got scratches?

i can't figure how the storage heater work till now

sometimes, i turn a bit to the 'red' and it can be scalding hot. Turn to the 'blue' is just nice (but blue supposed to be cold rite ?!)

Will i waste more electricity if i on the heater for a while and off it when i go to bath? The water is still hot wor

sy chen
prior to bathing, the water in the heater is heated and stored for usage. some heat (or boil) it till scalding hot so that it will remain hot (warm) for a longer period of time (some claimed that the water remains hot (warm) the following morning and thus, requires no heating again. there's no need to keep the switch on for continuous heating unless u wanna boil an egg in the bathroom, heehee

for the water mixer (tap), the hot water and cold water pipes feed hot and cold water respectively into it (to mix) before the resulting water (temp) comes out from shower head. Tilt it to extreme left (red) means 100% hot water, 0% cold water. Vice versa, extreme right (blue) means 0% hot water, 100% cold water. anything in between (like a bit to left or right) merely means x% of hot water + (100-x%) of cold water. in your case, u have to tilt slightly towards the blue side cos' ur hot water is very hot, thus requires more cold water to bring the temp of the mixed water down.

if u were to preheat the water (in storage heater) for a short while, meaning the hot water is not very hot, you may need to tilt more towards the left side (red) to get a comfortable warm shower.

as i dun use a storage heater, hope i give an accurate explanation

xesthir
are the scratches obvious?
doubt the contractor will replace it with a brand new window. at most, they may try to polish and try remove the scratches (or try make it less obvious).

Can anyone tell me where can i get those shelves or any contact for the home shelter, i remembered i used to receive the leafet on my door when i first opened door.

anyway,let me know the standard price too.Thank!

HuiLing,

Wait for Kevin's advise. I'm sure he had the contact.

I think we're still doing it, it's just too early for some so had not arranged yet.

SY Chen,

In conclusion, how much to turn to the blue or red side depends how hot your water is. I suggest you heat up your water for shorter time prior to shower if you want to get more 'cold' water.

yea still doing the shelving. mine will be in 1st week june.

i tried the heater on sat. we on it for abt 10mins at 1pm and then off it. at night 9pm we tried, its still warm so we tink on it once a day can already. need to trial n error to see how long the water can last hehe. at most shower halfway no more warm water lor :P

by the way, we have a 'problem' with the heater.. when we use cold water, the water pressure is very strong (water gushes out strongly) but when we turn to the red side for warm water, the water pressure drops quite drastically so its like water is halfway to trickling out. does any of u experience that?

cold water comes from main water pipe, warm water from both main and storage heater. maybe when you turn half to warm, the pressure from the main drops to half but the pressure from the storage heater do not come out as much as half, so water slows down. think maybe can adjust the pressure on the storage heater. (not an expert view though)

val
if u recall, before the storage heater is installed, the hot water pipe will supply high pressure water (shower) too. but of course the water isnt hot.

with the storage heater installed, it compromises the water flow pressure when hot water mixer is turned on. few reasons for this -

1. there is a deliberate partial blockage/valve in the storage heater to avoid full hot water flow, so that the water would not be exhausted quickly. can last longer.

2. a safety feature for not having a full blast hot water spraying down at u

my gas instant heater wks this way too. if i switch off main switch, i'll get full flow of water from hot water mixer. if i switch heater on, i will get only half the water flow.

ms blur
considered toshiba and samsung before picking LG.
so far, satisfied with it. like its low energy consumption and unique, space-conserving ice-maker section.

icegin is using the toshiba, sy chen is using the samsung. they can give their review

Hehe, i saw the obiang orange and white stripes type of bus stops outside our place liao. HAHAHA. How obiang, but still better than nothing!

btw, is the bus stop functioning now?
they did not seal the bus stop..

hope that it will start working before my house warming, easier to give directions to guest also

If i take #242 from boon lay interchange, is stop at 4th bus-stop rite, opp the temple?

Hi Kelvin

May i know why LG is your last choice & so you gotten yourself a LG fridge? Actually i'm consiering LG GR-B207WLQ and Samsung RSH1NEMH. Cos i ask the staffs in HN & court and they told me to go LG for fridge. That's why very confusing now.

sy chen can pls give me some feedback on your samsung fridge pls. Tks.

ms blur
LG wasn't my last choice. in fact, my 1st choice.
i dont think it matters much whether u get a samsung or Lg fridge unless u have constraints like me. samsung is wider and shorter, LG is slimmer and taller.

Another setback for me...wanted to subscrible starhub cable tv for coming euro, the EPL, also the maxonline for internet but was being told that our blocks in the street 93 are not ready yet for this services when i was in the starhub shop just now.Anyway my block is 988.

I wondered whether this is true anot as i had already seen people started to move in at the beinging of the year.Even i can feel my neighbour can watch tv programme so how can't that be possible that starhub cannot activate cable tv and internet? As long the hdb tv cable point can plug into it and recieve signal to watch normal tv programme, starhub can just bring the cable top to receive the starhub tv programme .How can we able to live without tv and internet now?

Can any kind soul that staying at the 988 or 989 able to verify that residents staying there cannot be able to subscrible cable tv and internet due to no signal

winningelevan,

sounds rather ridiculous, better check the starhub again, all they need is to come and activate your point (which they charge a fee) and then you can start using maxonline and watch cabletv.

A.C.

Actually sheltered walkway is part of the item that LTA had promised us. Waiting for them to build that, they had say will be done by June so there are still time.

My wife called starhub and she was told that they are unable to activate the point if they not yet receive the HDB "finalised" plan...as quoted by starhub, the reason given by HDB is that since the occuppants for my block 988A are not up to standard!!so it mean i have to wait for the rest to move in to watch cable tv!!

Hi ryan..need to know who shall i talk to or write to HDB to complain abt this ..

Hi Ryan,

Can you request shelter walk way from blk 676B to my bus stop too althought it really a shory way?? Then also how about shelter way to other blks then to other blks to jp or bus interchange??

Li

Winningelevan,

not sure about that, but i thought 988A had been fully taken up? In st64, we were given 2 mass activation dates by starhub and mine was activated a month or two ago.