Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

yap yap.. house warming also very tiring de. hehhe.. sleep late better. :p

Dono who is Mr Tan. Only know Ah Siang. He helped me alot with my house defects. A very nice guy

wa kevin.. u on so gd terms with him liao ar.. then next time my toilet got prob can ask u to get him to help le hehe. duno why hdb makes such toilets for us. so much cons than pros. now my toilet door cannot open fully cos my heater is up. hv to live with it till next few mths then change to bi fold door.

Val
2 ways to resolve that

first, u can either install the storage heater above the wc, so it wont block the full swing of the massive wooden door, n run the hot/cold water pipes from above the wc to the inlet/outlet behind the door

second, change the door loh, psycho-ed matt to change it during the house-visiting, haha

Almost over, my series of small hse warming since mar
Prefer smaller gps to have better interaction with frens since see hse warming as gathering too
If 1 large gp, difficult to mingle with them
Add mine to wife’s, easily 5-6 such small-scale hse warming liao

yup i agree that's why i'm arranging small grps too. big grps a bit meaningless. jus mad rush to mingle with everyone and make sure they're all ok. so how u provide the food ar? pizza?

ya am changing the door la most prob cos already installed behind the door eh.. so cannot change le lar hehe

Val
Remember the pamphlets on my fridge
Haha, tat y useful to have the deliveries menu
Anyway frens will bring along food and drink, the deliveries are supplement

Our first time posting in this forum. Looking forward to get to know some neighbours here. Our blk is 678C!

Val - i didnt do major reno. Just simple reno for my house. No platforms, no WIW, no big cabinets, hehehee. :p Hows ur preparation? U seldom msn nowadays hor

hi Kevin,

Dont really quite understand the first way of heater installation, mine will be installed on monday.

Anyway i want to get someone from the service centre to look at my common toilet flush, i supposed mr. tan is the one i should look for? My flush like super not powerful... sometimes large 'items' cannot flush away. :S

What's the service centre number again?

Hi Meng,

Your in the same block as me! Which floor? PM me.

I already got to know 1 house from 7th, 1 house from 8th, 1 house on 9th, 1 house on 14th and 2 house on 15th. Ha ha

Ryan
The 1st way which I mentioned is actually the position (location) of the storage heater
Many installed the storage heater behind the wooden door becos the cold/hot wate inlet/outlet are there. But by doing so, the storage heater obstructs the full swing of door, or worse, the door may hit the storage heater if there is an accidental forceful swing.

So instead of positioning the storage heater behind the door, why not install it above the wc (toilet bowl), that means the storage heater will be literally above u when u are moving your bowel. By adopting this option, the plumber will need to extend the water pipes from the the storage heater (above wc) to the hot/cold water inlet/outlet behind door

Kevin,

Ha i was wondering what is wc.

It's a good idea. But kind of ugly to have the storage heater the first thing you see when you open the door. and what if the heater falls off and someone sitting on the toilet bowl? That would make the headline in newspaper.

Ryan
As for flush, easy
U can DIY ursf
Simply lift the wc heavy cover and turn it around
U can actually ‘screw’ the ‘button’ which u press to flush the wc
By turning it clockwise, u can either lengthen or shorten the ‘protruding’ end of the button and in turn, exert a different pressure on the oral, blue shape ‘activator’ in the wc
The longer the screw, the harder the pressure on the activator, the more powerful is the flush, but it also means more water consumed

If too chim, simply dial the service centre no. haha

Ryan
2 possibilities
either val gets used to the wooden door, and not change it to bifold
or she gets so fed up and tear down the door

even with my current bifold doors, I rarely close it unless need to
but with wooden door, it does obstruct u from standing in front of the basins, unless u close it
and closing it needs a delicate yet strong effort, strong enuff to move it, but delicate enuf not to heat the storage heater

Hey Ryan,

PM you liao. Wow.. u certainly know alot of people in our blk. I only know the neighbours at my own level.

By placing the storage heater above wc, it resembles those wc in old days which u’ve to squat below, and pull the ‘string’ above to flush it. Haha

Ya, looks unsightly, but tat wat I saw at a neighbour’s place
Their way to bypass the prob of storage heater behind door (and cant have full swing) since they did not change the toilet door

Hi Meng,

I saw your msg.

WOW you another Liverpool fan? We got a lot of liverpool fans in this forum liao.. can host some football night together in future when we all moved in.

I'm just 1 storey above you. When you starting reno.. or you already done?

haha.. yup! Kevin, I will support and give my vote to Ryan (fellow liverpool's fan)to be our grassroot leader!

Looking forward to seeing you all in person. Ryan, I just started my reno and will be going down 2day ard 4pm - 6pm to look see look see... Feel free to pop by if you are ard...

lol.. u 2 ah.. trying to see wad will happen to my toilet door ar? hehe.

hmm... from discussion with the partner.. tink most prob will change to bi fold door la.. but not so soon nia. no budget. using that money for the short trip lol. tink not much ppl will come use that toilet too so shd be fine? :P

anyway i hate bi fold doors.. i accidentally 'kiap' my arm when i tried to close one yesterday at a relative's hse. nearly wanted to tear it down haha. now bruised and skin peeling off. its a hazard.

more n more liverpool fans here. wa ryan ur neighbours will be increasing too.. cos ur block hv many empty units not taken.

Was advised 2 keep the 2 toilet doors
Kept them in my bomb shelter
On the lookout for buyers (mayb karang guni)
Told by contractor can fetch >$100 per door
Anyway, damn heavy leh, sweating by jus moving 2 doors from LHS wall to RHS wall in bomb shelter

Hi Li,

My lights are not delivered yet. False ceiling isn't up. Probably earliest is next week. I'll let you know whether their delivery and lights are good when it's settled.

kevin

haha cos i used my left arm to push the folding part then right hand try to close the door. ended up closing with too much strength and the folding part will kiap lor. next time will keep my arms n legs away from the folding part. haha.

i also will have 2 doors in the HS. if any one know of gd lobang to sell.. let me know too. sell together. hehe

ya lor. not my 1st time but maybe that door is faulty. whahahha. :P

tmr furnitures are coming. so exciting. finally reno is gg to be completed. will be moving quite a bit of stuffs over next wkend i tink.

Hi Kevin and Valerie,

I oso want to sell the doors, it's in my HS too.

I think we can easily find 100 other people in the neighbourhood who just want to get rid of it too. LOL

In the drawings given to us, it only show us 2D of the plumbing picture.. what is the actual height of the pipes in the toilet? how high above ground? I don't want to take my chance.

The rule of thumb
Water pipes run vertically downwards from water outlet (taps/mixers)
Electrical wires run vertically upwards from the socket
So just make sure u dun drill/hack the imaginary line below/above the tap/socket respectively

I see. So it's safe to drill where there's no tap and electrical points above and below? I'm thinking of fixing a small cabinet above the toilet bowl. Then we can't install a shelf in between the mirror and the tap?