Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

Hi Michelle & Peixian,

Thanks v much! Just realised i got quoted higher plus kena charge for napkins, fondue rental machine???

Btw did you gals do a food tasting?

Hi Michelle/Peixian,

Mind to share w me yr quotation ?

Ya.. Im aware of the beer charges.. did u gals opt for the mochi in yr menu ? Btw, do u know by default, did Rasel just provide 1 set of porcelain glassware for each guest ? Cos confirm the guests will use > 1 set cos it's buffet mah..
What abt corkag charges ?

Thanks alot!!

Hi Seline,

Sent to you my quote fm rasel.

Hi charmaine,

Yap, Rasel will oly cater 1 set of the utensil for the set, if u do not cater xtra set for yr guest, rasel will provide them disposal wares.

i have a total of 230% (including wat rasel cater), coz we dun wan our guest to use any disposal ware, not nice la.

$2.5/set for additional set of glassware, and $1.5/set for additional set of melamine ware

Hi Chick77

My package also don't include Napkins and Fondue machine cause I don't require one. If you did request for that of cause they have to charge you.
They only do sampling to their workshop which i think ended in april. Lucky I just taste their food last week for company seminar.

Hi Charmaine,

I did'nt opt for Mochi. Is it nice? You taste their food before? I'm aware that they are providing just one set of porcelain or melamine for each guest. Got to top up later once my RSVP confirm.

Check your email!

Seline / Charmaine

You got mail.

Like what "New" said Rasel will oly cater 1 set of the utensil for the set, if u do not cater xtra set for yr guest, rasel will provide them disposal wares. you got to pay extra if you don't wish your guest to use disposable

I ever neg for free Napkin but cannot also. But Elsie very fexible already. She know the cost more than anyone else. If not very expensive think I will paid abit more just to look better. Hey Ladies it's our wedding cannot play play leh. They are quite reasonable in rate already I did my research but their menu provide the most selection and better package also.

Hi Michelle, New, Peixian,

Looks like all your package are quite similar (onli menu different)that means, it reach the max for neg already. I have quote from alot of caterer but have shortlist only 3 which is

1) Rasel
1a)Food good
1b)Set-up fexible and nice
1c)Budgeted
1d)Service Good

2) Purplesage
2a)Food standard drop alot
2b)Set-up nice
3b)Super expensive
3d)Service okay onli

3) Four Season -
3a)Food okay
3b)Decor bad
3c)Budgeted
3d)Service bad (no followup so far)
3e)Late for party without giving any explantion

That's my research.

So far I think Rasel is the best and they even help to do booking if couple wants as a one-stop service. I just cater from them for mother's day at the same time do a simple food taste. To my surprise my mum likes their food even she super fussy (Bring her to afew 5 star hotel for dinner also complain). I think everybody has different taste buds, if you think food and decor wise meet you expectation than should ahead.

I should be getting them to book ACM for my wedding.

Good Luck to Charmaine and Chick77, hope you gals can ask for a good packages!

I have few more questions....

- If you have 140 guests, did you cater for 140pax or 100pax?
- Did you use the wine supplier recommended from Rasel or you have some other lobang? reason being i find their MOQ of 24 a bit high...
- Have you guys sorted your wedding cake?
- How about card printing ..any rough estimate on how much it costs including map and where can i do it...

Sorry to ask so many questions..not sure if these are repeated elsewhere...but am feeling stressed though my AD is June'07..want to decide and settle on venue soon...

Thanks ladies...

Hi Chick77

If you cater 100pax instead of 140pax food not enough how? Malu leh! I find the cost for wine quite reasonable cos it includes all the set-up and wine glasses and bartender. I believe you can get a better rate but if it does'nt include all this than where are you getting from? Their supplier don't do rental of wine glasses alone. They have a package which I think is $300 for the supplier which include wine glass, bartender and set-up (I think it for a max of 15 bottles of wine only). If you calculate backward, it cost you even more.

I'm getting the cupakes from Carnival & Co. You can look for Joyce at 6476 6833 or email her at [email protected] They're actually by the same bosses as Fairy's Inc and Olive Suite so I think the standard should be pretty good. Their 5 tier tower cupcakes start from $200 I believe and there's a choice of vanilla, chocolate chips and strawberry. Frosting include icing, butter cream and chocolate. They can work out a colour based on any theme you have as well. I've seen some of the pictures they sent over and it looks really sweet. I don't have them now though but I believe they'll send some to you =)

M new here.
U gals got me very interested in this thread...

Peixian, Michelle, New
Can i get more info from you?
Quotations, package, etc for Rasel and ACM?

What the capacity for ACM?

Thx!

Haha!!!

You are most welcome! Anyway I got all this contact from other bride as well.

Hope it will help you!

Happy hunting!

Hi Michelle...

I'm not an ACM bride... YET!
Considering now after reading this thread...

that's y i'm hoping to get more info to help in making up my mind...

Hi Michelle

Wow! You are really a great help. I almost forgot about the wedding cake! Cupcakes looks nice in 5 tier and cost sound reasonable as well.

Will contact them than!

Michelle

Cupcake nowadays very popular. My friend getting married in September also order cupcake. I think her charges are more expensive than yours. I will email joyce for more info.

Anyway all your contacts helps alot!

I didn't received yr email ... can u resend ?
Thanks! =)

Hi Peixian,

Received yours ... Thanks ! Have they exclude the costs of 100 chairs provided by ACM ? I can't remember how many chairs ACM have .. is it 140 ? But they can only confirm the balance 40 chairs on actual day right ?

Cupcakes ? Sorry if I am ignorant ... so nowadays ppl use cupcakes for wedding ? So interesting..

Oh.. didn't know they charge for usage of napkins... actually gals, do u think it's necessary ? Michelle - are u having the chocolate fondue ?

Hi CHarmaine, i asked elsie about the chocolate fondue machine rental of $100, she said if dun use machine, they'll just put a chocolate dip for the strawberry..have u booked ACM already?

Hi Charmaine

Ya, Rasel exclude the cost out for 100 chairs already. ACM has total 140 chairs, but can only release 100 chair now, balance they will reserve for some internal function. ACM will let Rasel know 1 week before my wedding date whether they can release balance 40 or not.

I'm not getting the Napkins, i find it not necessary. Y waste $1.50 for just Napkins?

Hi Charmaine,

I'm also having the chocolate fondue, It looks great at the wedding workshop which I attended in April but have to pay additional $100 for rental of the fondue machine.

Napkins? Not necessary lah!

Thanks for yr quote =)

Oh, really dun need napkins ? Hmm... the table will look empty just with the centrepiece hor.. Will it look "not so classy" using serviettes for wedding huh ?

Hmm... anyone getting wine & beer as well ? How many % should we order extra for cutlery ? Confirm not enough ya, is it New ??

Me! Me!

I should be getting their wine and beer. Still pending on this. Elsie say I can confirm with her 3 weeks before so I still got time to consider.

Hi Charmaine,

Napkins? No need lah! I'm getting Rasel to display the cutlery, serviette and flower on dinning table, than my jie mei will lay my favors beside the serviette. Can imaging? Looks quite cool also!~~~
Don't waste $$$ on Napkins not worth it!

Cutlery you should at least standby 50% extra just in case.

I will be getting wine from them also.

Hi Charmaine,

i share yr view tt its will look beta with napkin and serviette dun look so nice for wedding.

But aft i know the price, i find that its really expensive and nt worth it lo. so i got Rasel to lay the fork,spoon & serviett on the table together wif the centrepcs, its look ok la.

like michelle, my wedding favors are oso on the table, so it dun look so "empty".

For the cultery, base on wat rasel cater, its for sure not enough.

For my case, rasel cater me 130% of the cultery, and on top of it, i cater another 100% more. total set of cultery for my 160 pax is 368sets.
Most of the cultery are used, coz some guest really quite under utilze the cultery one lor...
take abit by abit, end up one person may sumtimes use 3 plates.

I abit kaisu, coz i really dun wan my guests to end up using any disposable plates. its quite ugly to be @ a wedding function using disposable cultery right ?tt y i cater so much more extra cultery.

i oly got wine fm rasel & bought hard liqor there, i didnt get beer.

My In Law has approve on ACM. Now got to crack my brains on other issue already.

I will be meeting Rasel on Monday for food tasting. Is there dishes in Rasel which fall on "must try catelogy"?

hi michelle,

ya... the pic is ready, Me anxious to see too.
i will be gog to collect it these 2 days, and upload to the web. once i finish my "home-work" i will send u the link.

Hi Seline,
congrats to welcome to be ACM bride.keke
My must have list is bake scallop, lamb carving, elcairs, mutton satay, penang laksa & Fish fillet in cream of lime.

Hi New,

I only allow to choose 6 items for sampling.

Here my list:-

1) Shepherd's Pie W Chicken Filling
2) Baked Scallop Mornay
3) Fish In Cream Of Lime
4) Coconut Prawn
5) Teochew Braised Duck
6) ?????

Cannot taste carving and pastries, so sad! Last item still not sure yet. maybe chicken dish.

Any gals got recommadation for chicken dishes?

Hi New, Michelle, Peixian,

Oh.. so can place the cutlery on the table hor.. hmm, think I can do that.. ya, by placing the cwedding favors on the table is nice.. =)

Oh ya, so New - Rasel provide you 130% of the cutlery ? What about the rest ? Actually, for the point on cutlery, I think Rasel is not flexible enuff. Bring a buffet dinner, the standard package shd be 150%, not jus 100% right...

Anyway, all of you gals use melamine ware ? Me still cracking my head how to decor up the River Room ...

Hi Seline, Welcome ! I found the Beef Rendang not bad ..

Oh.. another thing, does Rasel charge for corkage for hard liquor ? Their MOQ for wine is 24 bottles.. do u think we can bring extra bottles of wine ourselves ??

Hi Charmaine,

Decoration of River Room? No need lah! After placing all your stuff and floral arrangement it should looks okay! Anyway ACM won't allow you to paste anything on the wall, if the paint tear off you will need to paint the whole wall back.

Cutlery! before I confirm Rasel, I got quote from purplesage, they are not even giving me 100% but charging at $5.00 per set!~~~~~~ so much more expensive than Rasel and you know their menu also very expensive. I'm using melamine ware, got quite a number of kids so melamine ware will be more easy to handle.

Hi Peixian,

Shepherd's Pie! Tats my favourite!!!!!!
Try the Italian chicken also!

Hi Seline,

Hmm, my chicken dish is oriental chicken, i dun recomend u that, v normal, nothing special.

not sure what other chicken dish is nice.

carving & pastrie are alright to miss the tasting, coz i think the std is quite gd for tt.
so carving & dessert is v safe that it will taste gd.

Hi Charmaine,

Yup, my contract is 130% cultery, i nego for it.

The balance 100%, i pay for it lor.

I didnt use the melamine set, i dun like quite like lor... we tot look abit funny on wedding to use melamine set. so @ the last min, we change and top up to change all to glassware.
So on glassware alone, i oreadi spent $608.

Its true lo, i find such buffet shld have @ least 150% cultery. Coz no guest will take food only one time, how to have evertyhting on the plate @ oly one time rite, look ugly and glutton oso, keke.

not sure if they allow u to bring yr own wine, but shouldnt be a problem.
but i instruct rasel to ctrl the wine,by serving 8 glasses per bottle instead of 6 glasses and pour oly when its empty. tt is the trick we do in hotel banquet... else v siong ahh... keke

At first I'm comparing with Rasel & Lavish but they are giving me disposable ware and I got to top up $3.00 more per set for porcelain set and that made me strike them off from my list.

Thanks all of your advise on food sampling. Actally I tasting their food before but my In Law wanted to play save. since it's free if I confirm.

Hi New, you mention you had 16 tables? so no stage? How did you plan your program for AD? Since its buffet style, did people just mingle around and eat or did you have some sort of program?

M going to view ACM with decor done up by Rasel next Tuesday..since i missed their workshops etc

Hi Chick,

I had 17tables with a stage.

I didnt really have any special programs, coz i like things to be simple. After lunch commence, ppl juz mingle and start to eat

Its oso difficult to have 2 march in for buffet style function, coz if the guests is like quening halfway, then the emcee ask guest to welcome couple again, the poor guests will have to give up the quene and go bk to the seat ? keke, kinda of funny lor

Programs r primarily like

-Emcee to request guests to sit
-Play montage
-Emcee to get guests to welcome couple for march in (i oly hv one march in)
-couple to cut cake and deliver a short thank u speech (i do not have any toasting on stage, i dun like tt toasting portion @weddinng.. keke)
-lunch commence
-Couple change outfit aft lunch commence for abt 30min
-photo taking with all guests by table
-end of function

Hi new,

My program will be very similar to you but mind includes toasting.

Do you play music throughout the night or only during march in? I believe the ACM techni staff will be around throughout right.

Thanks New. Can i ask how big/small your stage was ie is there enough space in case i want to have toasting, games, etc?

Michelle, how many tables will you have? Am worried that my guest list is going to be more than 170...my parents seem to wanna invite the whole world!

hi michelle,

i played music throughout the function,my music theme is jazz.

the technician will be there, but its best that u burn all the songs u need into CD with the sequence u need. and the technician will juz play it w/o making any mistake.

u got to have yr helpers ready to help the technician to get ready yr march in song and instruct him when to play & and coordinate wif u to march in.

Technician will be in the equipment rm, cant really see the progress of the function to know exactly when to play.

my helpers actually had walkie talkie to coodinator the march in portion for me... kinda of fun to see them helping in tt extend. keke

Hi Chick77,

I will say the stage is v small, if u download the equipment list fm ACM website, i tink the max size of the stage will a abt 12ft X 8ft, its juz gd enough for u to place mic, cake & chamapang fountain, and with emcee, and couple on stage not much space liao.

R u have a sit down, if yes, try not to have more than 17tables, mine 17tables is oreadi v pack, 18tables will leave not much space to move abt, not forgetting that u need to leave a space for the aisle.

Dun 4get to cater for some reserve seats, incase some guests bring unexpected headcounts.

Hi Chick77

I'm inviting about 100 or more, not sure yet. haven got my RSVP ready.

Wow! your headcount of 170 or more! Tats alot! I don't think you have enough space to lay extra dinning table. like wat New say for 17tables is oreadi v pack, 18tables will leave not much space to move abt. Hey hey must control abit hah!

Hi New and Michelle...yeah lor..sit down dinner..must set expectation with parents that max is 170 lah..

Btw, got 1 question..the rental charge got GST as well or is tat nett?

Michelle - what kind of favours u getting? Elsie built in chocolates into my proposal..abt $2per person, so still considering....

hi michelle,

i finally have my pics liao and my Pg oso uploaded the pictures for me.very happy wif his work.

the pics really alot (856pcs), some are duplicates shots coz PG thinks not well taken , take again & again.

let me screent to the setup portion @ ACM ans send to u .. k