Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

Good morning BinBin,
hey.. mi olso used to sleep on a IKEA bed. the mattress is beli uncomf. so bght own mattress & stuff wif 2 huge pillows at one end to "prevent" the mattress fm "sliding" fm one end to another... ha haa... if u know wat i mean.

yah! yah! was rushing home just to catch desperate housewives... it a must watch for us every monday... got hook.

Hi dingdong & BellBell.....

add 2 of yr nick up & b'come... dingdong bell... :P... sorry huh. mi "boh liao"..

Good morning to
matka, babu, hippose, celia & Shelyn.

helo wise! hahahah yes dingdong bell hehehe. :P beri cute. yes i know what u mean, putting two pillows to prevent sliding. smart of you. ikea mattress really cannot make it one .my friend slept on one until back ache. i love desperate housewives, its hilarious!!!! hahaha and the plot is so unique, the narration from a dead woman...

Hi BinBin,
High five man... really liked this show. luckily channel 5 bght this show... the plot is cool. every week got new "lesson" to be learnt. which "housewife" do u prefer to watch?

did u watch "American beauty"? the narration olso done by a "dead man"...

helo wise! yep i watched american beauty. difference is, we din know he's dead until the last part of the show. coz he was narrating, we tot he wun die, but was surprised at the end. as for desperate housewives, the bemused tone of mary alice and the way she gloss over the darker parts of the plot are very interesting. my favourite ah? hhhhhhmmmm....i like all!!!! no preference leh! i like the way new things are revealed every episode, and it just makes u itch to see what happens next. seems like now everyone has a dark secret yah? i like the couple with 3 kids, i forgot the lady's name, oh no. she's cool, and the husband seemed the most decent man among the 4 couples. but sad to find out he has a dark secret too.....ooops...

good morning everyone,

today's a very warm day. immediately feel the heat when i got out of my MBR.

one of my fren seems to be a great fan of ikea products. his bed frame, side tables, bookcase, and i'm not sure what else are from ikea. he has used it for less than 1 yr, so wld not be able to feedback on the quality.

i've bgt quite a fair bit also and i've left with two wall-mounted planks which hv not been installed yet.

binbin, i've stayed in bp since Jan 04. initially stayed there during weekends only then gradually became an everyday thingy. we usually eat at BP plaza, fajar (the zi char), greenridge foodcourt and ocassionally bukit timah, cck, bukit batok...we eat out everyday, so pretty sick of the food around BP area already leh. weekends i'll cook, otherwise my mum will come to my place to cook

desperate housewifes ah......i've always tell myself to watch but keep on forgetting leh

i only realise it after 11 pm, by then the show has ended.

hehe....dingdong bell....cute siah. both of us can join together and sing christmas hymns....dingdong bell~ dingdong bell~ dingdong all the way~~ kekeke

Allo BinBin,
wah! yr reply real fast. mi am waiting to go meeting so surf net in the meantime... ke kee..

haha... there is no perfect human. initally, mi dun liked the "perfect housewife" then later on found she got character man. she stands on her believes & is a cool mom... & the b*tch edie... she is one loyal friend.

oh the lady wif 3 kidz... mi olso forgotten her name... ha ha... think it lynette. she is one stree out mother...

mi hubby liked to watch Susan. blur blur & cartoon one.

helo dingdong, oh yah u reminded me, i also have 2 wooden planks from ikea hahahaa...one in utility area one in common bath. hey we also go fajar tzi char quite often, as well as greenwich. usually greenwich for lunch/breakfast on weekends. dinner fajar hehehe until the fajar lady calls us by nicknames. hehehee... so i prob had seen u but dunno u.
we nowdays also go bukit timah lah.

Wise, yah loh, me got work to do, but as I need to surf the net for data, i conveniently come in hahahaa...... oh yah lynette! thats the perfect mum u were talking abt too right? she's cool. i like how to pu her point across. one look from her and the FIL and hubby is sitting on the porch! hahaahah!! she's no-nonsense but fair, and so dam* patient with her kids. my goodness. how she went to all lengths (eating the kids medicine to stay alert)to do the best for her kids.

yeah edie is quite loyal. i wun think that of her, and was surprised when found out she's been trying to make friends all along but nobody paid her any notice coz of the way she is. but anyway....she's really b*tchy loh, so can't blame ppl. looking forward to see how their weekly card games are like now wiht her around hahahaa....

susan is very cute, always bai wu long and embarrasing herself hahahaa... all of them are great actresses.

Hi Porkchop,
my unit is really move in condition and very well-kept and well renovated... like juz renovated kind in zen and minimalist style... so quite nice. It's not high floor, between 5-10..... floor area 110m2.

How i wish i can get it at below valuation too.. but quite unlikely lah. Seen the valuation report of another unit.. higher floor, but reno not as nice... only 295k... and i buying my unit at 303k... so sure got to fork out some cash one.

Hi BinBin,
I bought my new house at 303k and the valuation still not out but i already signed everything liao....incl the exercise option... cos my agent told us someone eyeing the unit also.. and likely to offer higher price so in order to secure the deal better to do it this way... now thinking back, i think it was a stupid decision to make. Now too late to regret... so can only hope everything turns out well for us

Hiya good morning (almost noon) everyone

Have been in a meeting the whole of the morning... and now skiving a bit. LOL.

Binbin, yup! Sounds like a hokkien name for the pond. Am not very Hokkien-literate so I can't translate.

I am a Desperate Housewives fan too. Heheh. Then again, I'm such a couch potato that could be my full-time profession. Ha! Smallville, CSI, The OC, Star World, Arrested Development, blah blah blah...

Guess what... looks like I've been living in BP for quite a while! Since Oct 03. But I'm still so blur abt the location. Time to do some exploring!

hi binbin,
I've been staying with parents in BP for about 7 years liao but i've not got my keys to my own flat .... paid about $264K for my flat.

gooddd afternoooooooon BP!!!! *burp*

u gals bot the house at 200k to 300k is for 5 rms flat huh??? may i ask? anyone got maisonette here?? *fart*
279678.gif
sorry guys i just got my lunch..

my valuation finally out... it's only 295k.... slightly on the lower side than expected... sigh sigh....not got to fork out cash liao....

anyway
where do u pple buy furniture huh?? can recommend some with nice designs (simple and elegant kind), not high end and quality not bad one??

cos now no need to do reno... can start to look ard for furniture already

heya

babu, are there maisonettes in the area? Y'know.. HDB shld seriously consider doing up penthouses for those living on the top floors. The 20th fl around our estate in Senja certainly look like they could pass off as penthouses with the higher ceilings! heh heh

Shelyn, sorry won't be able to give you much advise on furniture. Also, not sure what high-end or low-end are. heh. But most of my furniture seems to have been bought from Barang Barang. Another place we like is Anthropology @ Lorong Mambong, Holland V. The other place is The Life Shop but it tends to be more ex... and they have more homewares than furniture. Lifestorey at Great World City might have some nice stuff too.

babu, dun rub it in leh, i have not got my lunch yet. :P waiting waiting....u must have eaten too much peas/onions hehee. :P nope mine not maisonette.

Matka, wow u are a trueblue coach potato! so many shows. i dun follow but i guess that takes up mondays - friday liaoz? The trailer for the coming CSI looks interesting and scary.....may be watching. tonight right? so u r the longest resident (your own house) in Bp then!
hehee

porkchop, so wheres ur new flat now? which cluster? i also stayed with my parents in bp, but only for about 3-4 yrs before getting married. hehehe i think wise was the one who asked u the questions, not me. hehee. welcome to BP thread!!!

Shelyn, so its 295K quite okie right? u mean if its much lower u dun need to fork out cash issit?
you can try sourcing for good but economical furniture in furniture mall? theres 2 outlets i think. plaza hotel beach road, harbourfront. theres a lot of furniture shops inside the mall, shld be competitive prices. recently passed bukit timah and saw a congregation of furniture shops too! thikn its new. somewhere near da vinci and banyan tree gallery...

helo matka! hehhe the places u buy furniture from are the resort resort kind of furniture leh.
i like barang barang accessories! lifeshop is exp, and they have moved to raffles city, no longer at paragon.

matka,
my mil staying maisonette in cashew.. and i wondering why are u gals can buy the house at 250-300k? that's is really cheap! heard from my hb that they bot 400k that time!!! wa lau!! seow one!! why so ex? i oso don know???

binbin,
ya man.. i kept farting.. wahahahaha.. *burp*

Hi binbin .... oops sorry i think i kinda got confused here. My new flat is at the 50X series .... well shelyn you may want to try the furniture warehouses at sungei kadut side some of them are going at quite a competitive price and its near our place also

helo babu, no lah the 250-300K is the resale value of 5-rm.
new 5-rms will be about 200K. the flats of wise, hippos, matka and me is around 330K - 370K, for new EA (pls correct me if i am wrong). then yours lagi bigger masionette of course 400K plus lah! :P

binbin,
mine oso resale lay! and somemore hor EA is bigger then masionette ok.. i seem a few of my friends EA.. sibei big ah!! that;s why i don know why cost so much for maisonette lor? wat so big harry deal got staircase??? i old liao, cannot climb up and down so ofter, mine 'gu tao' can't take it.. kekekeke..

heyhey

Binbin, yeah! that effectively means Mondays to Fridays. Because Wednesdays and Thursdays are for AI and the Amazing Race (?). I live and breathe TV. But I haven't been too 'religious'. haha.

Yup, I saw that new building of furniture shops. Castilla is one of them, if i'm not wrong. No idea what kind of furniture they sell also. Da Vinci furniture is a bit ostentatious, don't you think? heeheh.. no offense to Da Vinci fans! :p But like Meroni, I guess Da Vinci suits the affluent with rich-looking houses.

Come to think of it... they do seem like resort-themed furniture stores. But the ones we select, look pretty normal tho! hehe.

Hi babu,
now buyer mkt. the selling price of new & resale unit had gone down for the past 2yr. but think it picking up again.

So for pple liked mi, not so rich... count miself "luckly" to buy now...

wah. while i was drafting out my previous message, BinBin's post was the last one I saw. Didn't know so many messages transpired while I was still in the 'compose' mode!

wise,
seow ah u!! don say that la.. i oso not rich, it not my $$ wat!! but just that i don know why they pay such high price for a hdb... $400k now can buy a condo liao..

wise, no lah...no point getting angry over this right. i don't want to get old so easily :P

shelyn, dun regret after u've bgt the hse. dun look back after u've signed the dotted line...the most impt thing is to look forward and cherish and build the love nest both you and your hubby share. as for furniture ah, i bgt most of it from modern living but quality not good lah...their tables and cabinets a bit shaky. some of them i bgt from neighbourhood shops. my one all cheapo one lah...if you want to buy economical stuff, can get from sungei kadut lor.

babu, dun fart too much hor...sekarly something greenish come out instead of gas then lagi jia lat liao

oh my goodness, wise... has the price of our valuation dropped by so much?

BinBin and I must have paid between $360 - $370 for ours. Cannot imagine how much it's depreciated.
Queeeek... need to get the rest of the units filled up, and get the town councils/HDB to build more amenities. In fact, my neigbours paid an even higher amt... almost, if not more than $400K for their units that are exactly like ours.

Babu, $400K can buy condo... but erm... maybe a 2-bedroom one? Also, not much point, cos it'll probably be one of those condos that's within the HDB estate which may not be that good an investment. The value of the HDB flat is in its size. heh

wise, you sure or not, price of EA bgt below 300K? no wonder my fren refuse to tell me how much he bgt for his unit in Segar leh. i also paid abt the same price as matka and bin bin.

i wanna fight for a swimming pool, a sports complex and MRT......the list goes on....

Hi babu & matka,
in terms of sq area. think maisontte should be bigger. it abt 140sq abv. including of the staircase hor.

these days flat are getting smaller too. the new EA is only 130sq. mi MIL 5room olreadi 126msq. see the diff. so may b babu's friend one could be a "olden" EA type tat y bigger.

matka, went to visit 61X EA block. an uncle told us he paid S$90K higher then now. he said seems liked cannot sell off in the meantime. guess no people expect this mkt drop to happen. now hot selling r 3RM & 4rm that y 5rm & abv compare in terms of sq area r cheaper.

babu,
when did they bght the unit? if more than 2yrs it abt that price hor.

+++++++++

in thread really moved fast.

methinks Capitaland shld explore building a cinema at BP Plaza. The roadshows/activities at the mall seems quite *sad* too. Don't think we're that lowly populated, right? I actually got a shock to see so many people walking around the shopping centre on a Sunday night!

*comprain comprain...*

Oops... words got chop off...

i meant this thread really moved fast.

Hi dingdong,
tat e price i paid.... no point lying to u right? HDB will not give mi extra sq m... :p

dingdong,
ur warning came too late.. i wet my panties liao!!! wahahashaha..

matka,
EA is executive something rite??? (pardon me, i don know the terms) don know i saw mi friends one quite big lay.. maybe is the maisonette got stairs la, make the place look small..

Ya, the EAs around our area are around 130sq m / 1400 sq ft. Not sure abt Maisonettes but I've always had the impression that it's got a bigger floor area. I suppose it's not the square area then, but the fact that it's double-storeys that gives the impression of 'space' and that shld be more expensive. Like how a single storey bungalow doesn't look as expensive as a double-storey one when in fact the land area cld be smaller.

Wise, ya... i also think that it's unlikely for a number of us to sell our place at a higher price. But I guess for most of us, our place at BP is more as a home than for investment purposes (although it wld be nice to know if our units can fetch a higher price! hahaha).

For the things we lack of... I am actually quite pleased that we have a very nice park.

hi Babu

EA is Executive Apartment. hehe. actually it's exactly like a 5-room, cept that it has an extra Study... but it varies from unit to unit these days. All the new-fangled apartments.

wahhhhhh!!!!!! this thread finally got two pages in one afternoon liao!!!!!! wo men yin fernvale liao!!!!! wahahahaha....

matka,
ya la, u make sense lor.. i really don find mine place is big..kekekeke..

tokking abt park...anyone notice that there's a hiking track leading along the BKE, starting from Segar. do anyone know where the track ends?

Heya Dingdong

Yup! The track leads all the way to Dairy Farm Road. In fact, if you want, you can actually walk all the way to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve and even MacRitchie Reservoir from there! That's what we did a month back. Great place for trekking and for mountain bike enthusiasts.

jia you jia you!

aiyoh babu ah, EA where got bigger than masionette? perhaps the floor area divide into two floors. when u on 1st floor, see 1st flr not beri big. when u on 2nd flr, also not beri big. but when u keep going up and down you see both floors together it become huge loh!!! hahahhaaaa..... 400K is worth is lah, think all about that pricie...if you buy EC for that price, like what matka said only a small small teeny weeny one, where got compared to bp flats!?? hehehee....

wise and matka, wow, wise bought at below 300K! so lucky....and matka i agree with you. our old neighbours some of the bought theirs at 480k! leh!! when they knew how much we bought ours, they nearly fainted. they said like that our reno machiam free liaoz! hahahaa..but ppl like wise and hippos are luckier. wise, can't be that urs is lower level, coz each level increases by 1K at our time. only from 19th to 20th it jumped nearly 10K! coz like what matka said, its like a penthouse on the 20th, we actually asked the hdb guy to measure for us before, the ceiling is nearly 2metres higher!!! we could have gotten that unit but decided against it. i sure hope u are right that prices increasing now.
Matka, yes yes i totally agree! for us, its a HOME. when we bought it, we heck care about resale value. i just KNOW this is the place I wanna stay and have babies in! wahahhaah!!! :P next time see luck loh, see how much it fetched. but now can't bear to think about selling house hehehee....

dingdong, u see lah, babu dirty her panties liaoz.....hahahahaa.....too bad u warned her too late ah, she got too excited farting. *grin*.

Matka, the park is nice meh? which park huh? i know there is one at the pond. there is one leading all the way to exit of BKE. and there is one near greenwich. eeeerrrr...are all these the same park?? hehehehhehe!!! i blur liaoz....disoriented! yah loh dingdong, thats the track i meant!!!

pork chop....my friend's flat is the one that used to be white and red. recently painted blue and white one. block 515 i think......may be wrong. she's staying with her family lah, not own flat...

i had been looking at papers for furniture... common ones are like novena, brighton, green living, white link etc....

was interested in berlini also.. but then heard that the quality very bad so more getting more wary of furniture that looks and yet cheap. so was thinking maybe u all can give suggestions.... if example wan to get a L-shape sofa, can be fabric or suede material... ard $700 have or not??.. =P

Dingdong

Dunno where track ends. But I am sure at some point, you can detour to join another route that can bring you all the way to Mandai zoo!

Hi Shelyn

I forgot one more place... XZQT has nice stuff. But maybe you want to go to the one at West Coast, than the one at Paragon. Cos the prices and the stuff differ a lot! hehe

BinBin, believe it or not... we did that. LOL.

I think Hippos mentioned abt using the rock wall at Zhenghua Secondary earlier. My hubby was thinking abt that sometime back actually. You reckon the school might allow us to use their facilities?

bin bin,
really huh?? i really don know that nowadays the hdb so ex..my god.. *follow wat binbin say, running up and down and see got bigger or not*
279808.gif
*panting*

Hi BinBin & matka,
wow. 2m higher.... wow. that is airy man. these days flats unit r small & dark. it good to hv such high ceiling.... penhouse... hmmm think really must visit one of u girls these days...

heard that HDB had stop building EA liao. so EA next time might fetch higher. but true. think will stay here for at least 5~10years... it a home we r tolking abt.

wow... walking to Macritchie, on weekend mi & HB "trek" allow Little guilin... olreadi wanna to kill mi liao.... sigh!! old liao. old liao...

hi shelyn,
saw over weekend... lifestorey hving sale at great world. their design not bad. can also consider Air @ park mall or visit furniture mall.

actually, novena have a group of furniture shops... white link, natural living etc. may b u can check out the thread on these furniture shop... happy shopping.