Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

matka: Pls email me at [email protected] thanks!! as for swing chair I only know alexandra village may have a rattan shop selling that. haven't seen else where yet leh.

Interrace: I'll be staying at senja rd, collecting keys next month!

dingdong: why don't you go visit the pet farms at pasir ris? a bit far, but maybe price and health and choices better?

hippinghippos, how do I get to pasir ris pet farms. The only place that i know of is the pet safari at simei.

wise, bukit timah? near beauty world?
i used to own a dog many years ago...died of old age. *boo hoo*

helo dingdong and wise, there is a puppy patrol next to beauty world that sells puppies. but hor..... i wun advise getting from pet shops, because most of the time these ppl anyhow breed dogs for the sake of getting money. if you knwo the breed u want, and u happen to know a groomer or responsible breeder that breeds that breed of dog, buy from him. these ppl are more concerned about the bloood line, heriditary health concerns and the health condition of the bitch. sigh....but that said,how many ppl will be able to find out the good breeders from the pet shop "breeders"? well...... just be cautious when u buying a puppy from commercialised institutions lah.... check check and check (health, ask questions of the seller to determine their knowledge) again before committing. but dun buy from the ericsson farm in pasir ris....

anyway for doggy shops in general, there is a magazine called Club Pets, which in a previous issue has all the pet shops in north/western part of singapore. can check it out.

wise wise, me wun be able to check mail in office.
i reply u later tonite..

just to add, for pet shops, there is one in bukit timah plaza ground flr or basement. and one at the junction of woodlands road/bukit panjang rd. very near us. but for pet shops that also sells puppies near us, there is one at railway mall. and another one (puppy patrol) beside beauty world. when u are facing beauty world, there is a row of low shophouses on your right. thats where puppy patrol is. but pls take note of what i mentioned above before u commit to a puppy hor?

i am saying this coz of our own bad experience. we bought our prince from a pet farm in pasir ris. the seller appeared very genuine and knowledage, and prince was exhibiting all the characteristics of a good sheltie. but after we buy him, we discovered skin conditions which we never knew of. we had to shave one patch of his fur and apply medication for him evry day for a mth, before he recovers. other than that, actually his muzzle is a big longer than a usual sheltie, and his weight also a bit heavier than a standard sheltie. we knew of this when we observed his growth and brought him for grooming. our groomer is a reputable breeder of pure shelties in singapore, who's shelties are champion award winners of breed conformation. comparatively, prince is really bigger than his average doggies, and slightly different. but of course, we love prince all the same, such love transcends breed standards lah hehee....but just dun want someone else to do the same thing.

<font color="ff0000">How could you?</font>

When I was a puppy, I entertained you with my antics and made you laugh. You called me your child, and despite a number of chewed shoes and a couple of murdered throw pillows, I became your best friend.

Whenever I was "bad," you'd shake your finger at me and ask "How could you?" -- but then you'd relent and roll me over for a bellyrub. My housebreaking took a little longer than expected, because you were terribly busy, but we worked on that together.

I remember those nights of nuzzling you in bed and listening to your confidences and secret dreams, and I believed that life could not be any more perfect. We went for long walks and runs in the park, car rides,stops for ice cream (I only got the cone because "ice cream is bad for dogs" you said), and I took long naps in the sun waiting for you to come home at the end of the day.

Gradually, you began spending more time at work and on your career, and more time searching for a human mate. I waited for you patiently, comforted you through heartbreaks and disappointments, never chided you about bad decisions, and romped with glee at your homecomings, and when you fell in love.

She, now your wife, is not a "dog person" -- still I welcomed her into our home, tried to show her? affection, and obeyed her. I was happy because you were happy.

Then the human babies came along and I shared your excitement. I was fascinated by their pinkness, how they smelled, and I wanted to mother them, too. Only she and you worried that I might hurt them, and I spent most of my time banished to another room, or to a dog crate. Oh, how I wanted to love them, but I became a "prisoner of love."

As they began to grow, I became their friend. They clung to my fur and pulled themselves up on wobbly legs, poked fingers in my eyes, investigated my ears, and gave me kisses on my nose.loved everything about them and their touch -- because your touch was now so infrequent -- and I would've defended them with my life if need be. I would sneak into their beds and listen to their worries and secret dreams, and together we waited for the sound of your car in the driveway.

There had been a time, when others asked you if you had a dog, that you produced a photo of me from your wallet and told them stories about me. These past few years, you just answered "yes" and changed the subject. I had gone from being "your dog" to "just a dog," and you resented every expenditure on my behalf.

Now, you have a new career opportunity in another city, and you and they will be moving to an apartment that does not allow pets. You've made the right decision for your "family," but there was a time when I was your only family.

I was excited about the car ride until we arrived at the animal shelter. It smelled of dogs and cats, of fear, of hopelessness. You filled out the paperwork and said "I know you will find a good home for her." They shrugged and gave you a pained look. They understand the realities facing a middle-aged dog, even one with "papers."

You had to pry your son's fingers loose from my collar as he screamed "No, Daddy! Please don't let them take my dog!" And I worried for him, and what lessons you had just taught him about friendship and loyalty, about love and responsibility, and about respect for all life.

You gave me a good-bye pat on the head, avoided my eyes, and politely refused to take my collar and leash with you.You had a deadline to meet and now I have one, too.After you left, the two nice ladies said you probably knew about your upcoming move months ago and made no attempt to find me another good home. They shook their heads and asked "How could you?"

They are as attentive to us here in the shelter as their busy schedules allow. They feed us,of course, but I lost my appetite days ago.At first, whenever anyone passed my pen, I rushed to the front, hoping it was you that you had changed your mind -- that this was all a bad dream... or I hoped it would at least be someone who cared, anyone who might save me.

When I realized I could not compete with the frolicking for attention of happy puppies, oblivious to their own fate, I retreated to a far corner and waited. I heard her footsteps as she came for me at the end of the day, and I padded along the aisle after her to a separate room.

A blissfully quiet room. She placed me on the table and rubbed my ears, and told me not to worry. My heart pounded in anticipation of what was to come, but there was also a sense of relief. The prisoner of love had run out of days. As is my nature, I was more concerned about her. The burden which she bears weighs heavily on her, and I know that, the same way I knew your every mood.

She gently placed a tourniquet around my foreleg as a tear ran down her cheek. I licked her hand in the same way I used to comfort you so many years ago. She expertly slid the hypodermic needle into my vein. As I felt the sting and the cool liquid coursing through my body, I lay down sleepily, looked into her kind eyes and murmured "How could you?"

Perhaps because she understood my dogspeak, she said "I'm so sorry." She hugged me, and hurriedly explained it was her job to make sure I went to a better place, where I wouldn't be ignored or abused or abandoned, or have to fend for myself -- a place of love and light so very different from this earthly place.

And with my last bit of energy, I tried to convey to her with a thump of my tail that my "How could you?" was not directed at her. It was directed at you, My Beloved Master, I was thinking of you. I will think of you and wait for you forever. May everyone in your life continue to show you so much loyalty.

dear wise, this article brought tears to my eyes again even though its the 3rd time i have read it. there are so many abandoned dogs in this world that i especially hate it when people breed for the sake of fun or making money....may all dog owners be responsible for their doggies, coz they deserve your love for the rest of their lives.

Hi BinBin,

sob' sob' same here. had olso read a few times yet cannot control...

i olso cannot stand pple making $$$ out of animals.

anyway, have a nice long weekend &amp; happi labour day yah!

dingdong: errr my farm I was talking about... err... bin bin also mentioned...
I"m not a dog owner so only know that farm, I think next door to it also got another doggy farm if I rem correctly tho.

hi everyone!

have been out the whole day so haven't had the chance to check out the thread today!

Speaking of the abovementioned pet shops that are located on Upper Bukit Timah Road, I'm sorry to say that I've had terrible experiences with the both of them.

I got my pup from the one of them, and the seller actually told us the wrong gender! We were then not experienced with dogs, and therefore had to rely on the seller's expertise. Like what Binbin said, the seller seemed reliable and knowledgeable...

It took us a visit to the vet a month later to find out otherwise. Later we went back to the shop to ask for an explanation, and they apologised and said that they wanted to compensate. But after a while, we realised that they weren't that sincere about their apology or so-called 'compensation'. So we've pretty much given up on that shop.

The other one... we had a bad experience as browsing customers. One of the dogs they were grooming escaped from the shop. And all the staff could do was say "the dog!" and didn't even chase after it! Leaving my hubby and I panicking as we were afraid that the dog would dash out onto the main road. So in the end we were the ones running after it. Later, the shop's driver joined in the search... but i saw the store staff just standing around!! Thankfully the dog was found eventually. What I was upset at was the staffs' complacency and I'm very sure they never told the owner of the dog that they actually lost his/her dog! Grrr...

We now frequent this pet shop that doesn't sell dogs or cats. But i wld agree that responsible breeders are hard to find tho.

I will be popping by my usual pet shop tomorrow, so I'll help you girls ask them if they know of any responsible breeders.

helo matka, hey seemed to remember someone mentioning this before, think its u in the dogggy thread right? hehehehe....yes those shop owners sure show their true colours when the dog escape. ppl who genuinely cares will automatically go after it, like u and the driver right....

so which usual pet shop u go? found out anything?

hey babu, read that u had ur engagement at balli villas, i have heard of that plc and love how it looks. can share photos? :o

Hello everyone! hope you all had a great weekend!

binbin, do you mean little bali? At gilman? That's a really nice place! but a bit pricey to rent tho.

Hi All, I'm new to this thread. Actually din know there's a thread on Bukit Panjang.

My FW &amp; Myself has been searching for a new flat to start our home but has been unsuccessful in BE. Thus we are now looking back at BP. Initially, we gave BP a missed due to its location which is not quite convenient.

May I ask if anyone staying in blk 478 &amp; 482? Particularly, unit no# 350, 344 &amp; 396/382? Need to ask your opinion on these unit.

- Is unit #350 stuffy with the evening sun &amp; wind direction?
- How is the view of unit #344? Is the pointed edge (from unit 348) in front disturbing?
- How is the noise level in unit #396/382? How is the ventilation?

JC

wise, that's a really sad story. *sob sob* i really hate those owners who can give 1000001 reasons for abandoning their pets. They are sooo irresponsible! I hope that these people can reincarnate as dogs in their next lives and get abandon by their owners!!! Grrr...

Let me share with you my personal experience, though it's not really related to the above para. When my dog passed away, I was really sad and cried days and nights. I went to school with red swollen eyes and some of my classmates asked me what happened. When I tell them that my dog had passed away, their first reaction was 'Chey, it's only a dog...' I feel that it's kinda of like an insult and it hurts me real deep. Dogs are also one of the family members...they just dun understand....

i've no experience of buying puppies from pet shops cos the previous one was given my one of my neighbours. really appreciate you guys for sharing so much information. I'm still thinking whether i shd get one cos i'm afraid that the puppy will be very lonely during the day when everyone is out at work.

matka, that was really mean of those pet shops. well, no matter what gender or whether it's pure breed or not, you'll still love your dog.

wellcome JC,

err...your questions are rather specific. do you mean those blks at the Segar clusters?

I've read a bit on fengshui. It's better to get a unit that does no face a pointed edge. I can't remember what's the reason behind tho.

Further, it wld be better to avoid getting a unit facing the evening sun (i.e. facing west) cos your place wld be very hot and you'll feel yourself sleeping in a sauna at night. as for wind direction, i think it depends on seasons tho.

helo dingdong, that was very mean of your classmates. sigh...but then, if someone dun love animals, they wun understand how we feel about them. hehehe you very cute, say hope they reincarnate as dogs and get abandoned.....hhhhmmm....like that say, scarly our doggies are ex-humans? oops sounds scary, jia lat...

i was also veyr worried prince will be lonely at home, so i did a sorta research asking around my friends. most of them leave their dogs at home alone, and i read that they more often then not sleeps the day away. what we can do is make sure we spend more time with them when we are back....

helo hippos!!!! hope u have a great weekend too. u know hor, i feel that i am soooo unproductive, so many things to do at home but still din manage to accomplish it within the long weekend. sigh....next time must write a list and stick to it. yah the little bali is pricey!!! but hor, i very confused. the one i read about is called Villa Bali, at Lock road. is that the one ?coz most of you refer to it as little bali. same same right? coz their email is also littlebali.com. i really like that plc, so itching ot see some photos. thinking of going there one day to chill out.

helo JC, where is BE? hhhmmm.....personally, from all of us out here, BP is not really inconvenient. its just a matter of perception. if you can reach town within 20-30mins by bus, it is not that inconvenient a place.
happy house hunting! i dun stay in the blocks u mention, so can't help. believe those are in Segar. if no one replies here, why not pay a visit to those units and ask the ppl who are already staying there (if any)??

Hi dingdong, thanks for the welcome.

Yes. Its those blk in Segar Rd. :D Actually, went down to recce over the weekend but was not able to view the unit from inside, thus was hoping to get some 1st hand opinion.

JC

Hi binbin, BE is the shortform I used to represent Ballot Exercise from HDB. I failed twice already, one in Bedok and recently in Toa Payoh.

Thus, now we're back to square one. House hunting again or wait for HDB next move.

JC

who? who? who ka pager???
282874.gif

binbin u huh? kekeke..
ya got mi engagement at villa frangipani now known as little bali.. my party was on jan 04, when they just newly open and nobody know their place, so e rental we pay is really reallt very cheap compared to now.. (sorry huh, i can't tell u how much, cos the boss is our friend now, don want to create any trouble for them)

fotos huh? i bery lazy to scan lay.. i am going to move to cashew very fast, guess next week.. if u gals got outing, let me know then i can bring out the alblum for u gals to see?
u wanna to see mi wedding photos held in beauford sentosa mai? i can show u some cos that one easy, got cd! kekekeke..

Hihi everyone

JC, if you'd like to apply for a BP flat through WIS, then I think you have to act fast. I read in the papers last week that they're suspending WIS for BP and CCK very soon to do a stock take. In the meantime, they have opened up WIS in another area.

helo babu babu!!! u reply pager beri fast leh. no worries me not interested in price ah, my wedding was in march 04, so not looking for a location anymore. just wanna peeeeeep at photos. hehehe okie, we arrange gathering u better come ah!!! next week ah! goodie, thats fast! beaufort also good, can show?
maybe durig outing we all bring out ah muhahahaahah!!!!

hey ladies and guys... :P shall we arrange a gathering huh? suggestions on date and venue? see response first.....dun have to already move in lah, just gather gather talk talk...

JC, thanks thanks for the link provided

erm...actually i also find BP quite inconvenient lah...no mrt, limited bus to certain locations, multiple change in mode of transport (eg, lrt -> bus, lrt -> bus -> mrt)to get to another location. but if you hv a car, then travelling wld be very convenient and fast cos the expressways are nearby.

i get BP b'cos of it's peaceful surroundings and not-so-crowded blocks. those blks at punggol and sengkang are so close to one another that you can chat to your neighbour opposite without hving to shout

binbin, our dogs won't suffer the same fate cos we are very nice owners. we wld never abandon them. some pple say 'zhuo ren bu ru zhuo gou' (it's better being a dog and a human) kekeke...

Hi matka, thanks for the heads up. Din know HDB gona suspend BP &amp; CCK soon. :D HDB is conducting WIS for Jurong currently but we do not like that area.

JC

binbin,
i can show u now if u want? u wanna me to bring out my wedding alblum?? ni si ai wa xi huh?? bery the heavy u know.. kekekeke.. u give me ur addy, i show u some 1st.. actually there's nothing much la, cos i nvr take PS at studio or outdoor.. just AD..

Hey BinBin

Yup, it was me. I refuse to go back to those two shops now. hehe. Unfortunately, I cldn't find out anything when I went to the pet store the other day because the ones who'd know where too busy.

Dingdong, I guess your classmates were still young then. Guess this has to do with exposure. Yep, the pet store that gave the wrong gender offered to take back the dog... of course we said "no". Just that we felt quite foolish for taking his word for it when we got our pup only to find out that he was so unreliable.

JC, Segar looks really beautiful. But yeah, I would go with BinBin's suggestion and just talk to the neighbours there. Is the showflat still available there?

helo dingdong, u bet! when my dad hears that we bought prince a bed, and we wipe his feet everytime he comes home, he joked that i treat my dog better than my parents hahahaaa...

true, bp buses dun travel to places like AMK or bishan. but i am happy with their town destinations hehehee.... yah that time hippos said sengkang owners can borrow eggs from their neighbours if they run out of it, without getting out from their home! hahahaa....

Btw, did anyone notice that Genki Sushi at BP Plaza is closed? Not sure if it's for renovations or if they gave up their lease. Any insider's information on what it's next going to be?

*PRAYING HARD THAT IT'S FOR A NEW COFFEE JOINT*

babooooo, here's my addy. [email protected]
hahaha yah i tot u got muscle can carry the heavy albums mah, nevermine see online also can do. thanks!!!

matka, din knw they are closing BP and CCK WIS. now then take stock? take stock liaoz what they wanna do ah?

genki is closed????? me long time no walk past there. yeah lets hope its a coffee joint! then we can meet there! hey, do u guys know there is a stall called PIAC in the basement, selling pasta in a cup? looks good leh! intending to try one of these days this week. i love aglio olio and they have that. and the taiwan food always very long queue, why ah? i tried their mee sua before taste quite bad....

binbin
send liao.. for the engagement i will show u gals next time when we out, that one lighter..kekekeke..

Hey Babu... i wanna see too... :p :p :p

BinBin, Yah! Actually I have no idea how HDB takes stock. I mean... shldn't it be easy for them, like just retrieve the information from the computer system? Afterall, these are not shoes they're selling... but flats right? Surely there can't be any missing flats! LOL.

PIAC? Sounds like a slap in the face.. heheheh. I haven't seen that place yet, is it one of those next to that Taiwanese Shih Lin stall? The Shih Lin stall has a long queue.. because you wait an awfully long time for them to prepare it! I ordered that chicken thing once, and had to wait for abt 10 minutes before I got my order even though I was the 2nd in line.

helo babu i saw ur photos liaoz, ur captions are hilarious!! i kept laughing hehehehe!! u look lovely, and ur winter wedding really abides to its theme. ur hydrangea bouquet beri nice too.

matka hahaahahah PIAC! yah hor, really sounds like a slap. yep its beside the taiwan stall. ooooh....so its coz they are inefficient ah? so issit nice? like many ppl buying. maybe its their ploy to be slow so that it always looks busy? ngaik ngiak....

yah loh, take stock for what? they can just download from compt loh, i dun understand leh. maybe its their ploy to say they wanna close, so ppl will surge to buy? heheheee....

Babu, pay money ahhhhh... heheheh. My email add is [email protected]. Thanks! Looking forward to it.

BinBin, not sure if it's because they're inefficient... don't think so. Cos they prepare it fresh and they can only do it one at a time. So the nature of it is such that it takes that particular amount of time to prepare it. Maybe it's so good, that's why people are willing to queue for it. I must admit it does taste nice, crispy and all. But the idea of me waiting for it is rather daunting so I've not gone back since that first time.

Garter? Ballroom dancing? Whoa! This, I've got to see! *can't wait*

binbin,
ya i did! the garter bot from europe during mi 3 mths stays in france. And the lancing was last min one!! wahahahaha.. MIL taught us last min lancing and we are so kan cheong that nite, and kept laughing during lancing..

u used the word 'too'? u oso throw garter huh?? i wanna to see!! i wanna to see!!! pls...

oooh i seee.....hhhmmmm.... then maybe i shld try it one day. the PIAC with chicken hehehehee...
aarrghhhh getting hungry..... no mood to work this morning.

helo babu no lah my england not good. i no garter hahahaaa will be too paiseh to do it! i wanted ballroom lancing too but hubby freaked at the tot of dancing in front of guests! so i had to forgo the idea. wah, ur MIL is coolz sia...taught u that! i dun mind sending u the pics, but mine not so european ah. heheheee.. :P whats ur email? want me to send to the one u send with? hehehee perhaps u will find mine boring liaoz hahaha.. :P

eh...i tot we got wang jiao already...so there cld be a competitor coming up siah.

hmm...got some insider information abt the BP flats but dun think i can mention in this forum lah.

i've only tried the shih lin snacks once...like the one with pork floss yummy.

babu, i wanna see your pics my email is [email protected]

BinBin, PIAC with Chicken.. yummmmmmmm... now i'm getting hungry.

Babu, you are soooo pweeeeeetty!! Vewy nice pix and hilawious captions.

BinBin, Hydrangea is the name of the flower is it? My knowledge of flowers is so limited... tulips, roses, carnations, daisies, gerberas, sunflowers. Erm. That's bout it! Psst.. can i see your pix too? ;)

Dingdong, Wang Jiao has the ol skool coffeeshop coffee which is cool. But the chairs and tables there aren't that conducive to hang out tho. I want my ice blend on a hot day... hehehehe.

I found out some time ago that MOS Burger at BP does delivery "to nearby places" as well. So on one hungry day, I called them up to enquire... and guess what, they only deliver to homes surrounding BP Plaza (ie. across the street).
If I lived so close by, I'd just walk over and buy my meal already... no need to order. *sniff*

dingdong raindrop u both got mail liao..

binbin!!! u 2 looks so young!!!! u look cute and demure.. not like me, can tell that i am a seow char bor!...wahahaha..
ur hb sing for u huh??? u got cry bor?? my hb oso sing for me!! and he still went to record a cd for me! wahahahaha.. sibei bo liao him, but sweet lor..very nice fotos taken, next time u must show more la.. actually i oso nvr show all, alot u know..kekekeke..

matka,
thank u thank u.. my hb saw the captions scolded me say that i last time so lomatic now kanna sai! this kind of lomatic fotos put those hilarious captions!! kekekeke.. i told him too late liao, done deal cannot reject! wahahahaha..

Hi matka, thanks for the suggestions. Actually, we visited the area twice and most of the people staying in the same unit # are out. Actually, many of the unit that we are interested in are still empty. Thus was trying our luck to see if we can find someone here.

JC