Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

binbin

hi singer, welcome to bp hehee..
actually i find bp public transport very convenient if you take bus. only less than 30mins to town, sometimes 20mins if non peak. love bukit panjang coz its such a cosy green little place...
140639.gif

nicole12

hi gals....

I will be moving to BP in nov, after my wedding.... but will stay with my MIL 1st(at bangkit rd), then move to Segar Link by next yr. how long have you gals live there?

binbin

hi nicole.
just replied to ur mesg in the senja thread. i have live here since my parents moved here about 4.5 yrs ago hehee...and i moved to my new home with hubby (also in BP) after my wedding in march.
hows ur wedding preps?

nicole12

hi binin,

haha... i saw and replied you. seems like this thread is more active than senja thread hor.

wedding preps, still ok... left with the food tasting, guest list, table allocation, oh no... i havent buy my wedding shoes yet....

shelyn

halo everyone...

dunno whether this thread is still active...
i intend to buy a resale flat at Bt Panjang... those 17X series... actually more interested in those 18X series but they are not 5 yrs yet so cannot sell...

anyone has any advice or comments about living at Bt Panjang??... those i am eyeing is behind the Bt Panjang Plaza. How is the traffic/weather etc etc there???....

I juz wan to make sure i dun regret my choice.. =P

smurfy

hi shelyn,

I am staying at the 17X series since February. So far i am quite pleased with this area. Plaza is quite accessible for most of our basic needs and there are lots of buses that goes direct to town, bugis, shenton, suntec etc..

Be careful of where the kitchen is facing when choosing your flat cos I noticed some do not face the sun at all..

huggiez

hi girls me stay at 18x but its knows as jelebu not bt panjang. me agree wif smurfy abt the accessibility. plus now they building an overhead bridge so we don have to walk a big loop to the bus stop opposite makes it even better.

kitchen wise i tink my unit can get once in a while not always. but its quite windy lor

shelyn

hi smurfy
thanx for the advice. will keep that in mind when viewing houses =P

hi mushloom
may i know those 18X blks rite, how old are the blks there? are they going to reach 5 yrs in a few mths time? cos thinking if they can sell in another half a yr i dun mind waiting....

huggiez

errm... from wat i know its abt 4 yrs old. not sure when will they turn 5 wor. but isnt there wis? i got mine thru wis 2 yrs ago. tink still got a lot of flat vacant leh

smurfy

shelyn,

the 53X flats opposite plaza are already 5 yrs. They have a mixture of EA (the upstairs/downstairs type), 5-rooms, 4-rooms (corner too). Not bad. My mom living that area...

shelyn

Hi mushloom...
they only have 1 unit left for the wis this time round... and my FH dun like the unit cos it's the middle unit of the three. He says it's unlucky... he very pantang one.

hi smurfy,
the 53X blks are near the plaza ah? din notice leh.. hehe.. maybe will take a look. Thanz for the recommendation.

now still viewing houses... so troublesome one. dun feel like buying house already haha... =P And the resale flats are so EX!!!.... looking at 4 rooms... but i think now 5 room price is quite low hor compared to 4 room?... so headache... sigh sigh

shelyn

oh yah
forgot to ask... how is the traffic at the area during peak hour huh? maybe ard 8am in the morning and 7-8pm at nite? any jams? or acceptable?

huggiez

errm... me oni staying over there over weekend. so not sure abt the peak hour thingy

errm... middle unit not good? keke my unit is the middle of the 3 oso. but got 1 direction very good wan leh... oni the middle unit got tat kindda direction... its like zhuo bei chao nan (direct translation sit north face south)

shelyn

aiya....
cos he say when taking photo, the person in the middle of the three very unlucky. so the moment he saw that the unit is in the middle he immediately dun wan liao.... at first he was quite keen one.... =(

_piggy_

I went to take a look at one 4 room WIS flat at 18X but its sooooo small and cramped in there .... shelyn ... i believe its the same flat .... coz me and my bf went sown to the floors below and tried to peep into the flats at the same unit but different floor and one family was very nice and invited us to go in and take a look at their unit. We also did the same for another unit at 50X it was much bigger but the flooring was done up by the previous owner and it was like a dark greenish color which was totally notour colour and it was a little too far in ..... we landed up buying a re-sale flat at 50X (this X is different from the WIS unit)

smurfy

hi shelyn,

the 16X flats behind bt panjang interchange are also 5 yrs liao if you are interested. that area got coffee shop and childcare..

Porkchop,
Are 50X flats those along Jelapang rd? found those quite inconvenient ley.. prefer the 60X, 53X, 17X, 16X series.. just kapoing, i not looking at any flats at the moment.. the 61X series not 5 yrs yet..

_piggy_

smurfy,
Yup but the one i got is just like a 7 mins walk to the busstop @ the reservoir (cutting across the park) hahaha thats where i stay now anyway so i'm used to the walk liao and we like it that its more quiet .... matter of opnion

shelyn

halo everyone...

actually my FH prefer those blks nearer to the plaza... i did suggest those 16X ones... and shd be cheaper also... but he say too far from plaza then if wan to buy things or marketing wld be troublesome.

those 50X ones are those near the park and pond? i think the scenery there muz be quite nice hor, esp if facing the pond... but too bad quite inconvenient.... anyway if got flats that have nice views and near shopping centre huh, sure very ex one.... haha =P

currently looking at 17X flats lor.... hopefully can find one soon. Quite sian of flat viewing already hehe

_piggy_

shelyn
Yup the 50X ones are kinda near the pond and the running track and is just opp the GreenRidge Shopping Centre, nothing much there but .... haha no fish prawn also good ....
The 17X ones are also quite nice but depending on the direction the unit is facing .... may be a little noisy coz some of them face the main road. I'm quite a light sleeper so those are a no no for me.... Actually viewed a 4-rm @ 17X quite nice and well done up but felt that the price is too steep for that small area

shelyn

Hi piggy

if you dun mind, you would care to share which units u viewed so far and how much they cost? and when did u view them? since u said u bought somewhere else... so i presume uviewd them sometime ago?

wanted to have a better gauge on how much the flats there cost....

if u prefer, u can email mi at [email protected]

_piggy_

Hi Shelyn,
Btw ... the flats that we viewed were all 4-rm flats but we eventually landed up with a 5-rm flat =p

For the WIS i viewed 2 (I do not know if they are still available thou'):
1) 18X, WIS price ~185k
- Very small & cramped however is extremely near BPP

2) 50X, WIS pice ~151k
- quite big for a 4 rm flat of the current standard, however, the flooring is very dark and IMO not really my style

For the re-sale flats:
1) 17X, ~250k
- well renovated and comes with full appliances & furniture (move-in status). However the flat area is rather small and asking price was quite steep

2) 50X, ~230k
- simple renovation, high floor.

3) 50X, ~230k
- original reno, high floor, however the ventilation of the flat is not that great

4)54X, ~219k
- REALLY original state, however major renovation is required as the flat is very run down and too near the LRT track .... which is y me and bf didnt like it.

5) 6XX, ~250k
- simple renovation but flat was not well kept so may have to do quite a fair bit of reno.

We looked at a couple of others too but non too impressive thats y it didnt leave strong impression

ying41

Hi smurfy,
I just bought a flat in 17x too!!! my bedroom is actually facing the older blk of 17x. And i dun really know where my kitchen is facing.... where is the afternoon facing?

_piggy_

Hi ying41 so whats the size of ur flat .... seems to me that flats are shrinking by and by .... as per my prior post i viewed on 17x too and love it except for the fact that my HTB is not as in love with it as me and that the floor area is really kinda small .....

Hello fellow Bukit Panjangites

Just want to check if anyone has used the services of the drycleaner's at BP Plaza? Is it any good?

And i just discovered that Sheng Siong has just opened a branch at Ten Mile Junction! So exciting! (i'm beginning to sound very aunty)

_piggy_

hi matka, yah i've used it a couple of times and they are alright just that i feel that they simply take too long so if you are thinking to get them fast ... maybe no

smurfy

Hi Ying41,

For mine, I get alot of good sun at my kitchen in the mornings-late mornings which is great for drying my clothes. Afternoon sun (from the direction of Bt panjang/ten-mile direction) more on my living room but not directly (at an angle), so its not really that hot. I didn't really take note of the facing when buying the flat. Lucky I have no problem with the facing now :p

What do you mean by older 17X flats? Mine is the 170-176 series. Are you referring to this area?

Hi Porkchop,
I don't find the floor area small, mine is 122 sqm. I find it big as compared to the new flats now which is about 110sqm.

Hi Matka,
I used the drycleaner's at BP plaza to wash my bedsheet set last year but they left patches of yellowish stains on my sheets. So I dont find them really good. But for drycleaning usual stuff like work jackets, winter jackets etc, they are quite okie.

Went to Sheng Siong last weekend, price is slightly cheaper for certain items. Alot of pple. Food court not fully open yet though, only few stalls. My sis is so excited, went there everyday during the weekends :p

Hi Porkchop and Smurfy

Thanks for the feedback! Yikes... doesn't sound too good if they leave yellowish stains on your sheets. Am a little apprehensive now even though it's drycleaning for shawls, dresses and suits. Are there any more (reliable) dry cleaners around the area?

I went to Sheng Siong last night for the very first time. It's really great to know that it's finally brought life to Ten Mile Junction. Hopefully they increase the frequency of the LRTs to Ten Mile then.

noscon

hi dingdong

which blk you staying? how is the environment there? how long do you take to walk to bp plaza?

lavlyn

Hi Noscon,

I'm staying in blk 653. We are neighbours. I am in the midst of discussing my reno contract. Will be moving in the 3rd quarter of the year.

When are you moving in?

Hi Ding Dong,

Which blk are you staying?

binbin

hi hi!! so happy to see this thread revived hehehee, just like ten mile junction.

u girls talking abt bubblewash right? i got them to clean my winter clothes before and thats alright. but last yr end when weather is bad i needed someone to help clean our usual clothes the normal way (not dry cleaning). when we went to ask the price it shocked us, was it $3 per piece, even t-shirt? quite scary leh, is that the standard price for cleaning ah? me first time using so a bit sua ku heheee....

yeah so happy with sheng siong too, yes i am also feeling i am getting auntie hehehee.... but its so fun with another supermarket, esp with CNY just round the corner. they are pretty smart. the LRT frequency has oredi increased to 10mins during certain hours on weekends. but like not enough leh, now this period a LOT of ppl are going. some things are cheap but not all, so gotta compare if got time. me, i just ask my mum who is a regular ntuc shopper who has a photographic memory for prices hehehee....

smurfy

hi matka,
Their drycleaning service are okie lar, so far I don't have any problem with their drycleaning and i find it so convenient at plaza.

hi all bt panjangers,

Want to warn all of you against patronising the watch shop at level 2(same level as KFC) called Yxxx Lxxxx. I went there today thinking of getting a watch for my cousin. Since he is still schooling, my intention is to get a not-so-expensive watch. And then this teenager salesger (with over the shoulder hair length) serve me.

I saw this watch and ask how much. She said $29, so i ask her to let me take a look since its within my budget. She took it out from the showcase and I took a closer look. Thinking further, I find the watch unsuitable becos of its leather stripe and my cousin is someone who sweats alot especially his hands. So I told her that I would consider first. Immediately she showed a black face and said "$29 only wat, oso must consider".. What is this man.. this kind of service??? I rebuked that its becos my cousin don't like leather stripe and I walk out of the shop immediately. I find that their service sucks.. i really pity the boss who employ this sales ger, i am sure most customers like me will be turned off by her and eventually stopped patronising their shop.. *shake head*

Wow, good to know more senja link-ers around ;)

Yes.. Bubblewash. Thx for the feedback, i'll probably send my stuff there anyway. Can't be bothered to lug everything elsewhere for that.

smurfy, that's terrible. I'd avoid the place too if I were you. Or... if you ever do meet the boss again, just let him know what happened. That sales assistant probably doesn't think very much before saying things, that's why. Maybe you should have told her off, "Now that you've said this, I don't want to buy your watch anymore. If I want to spend my money, I want to spend it happily." hehe.

smurfy

hi matka,

ya, her service really sucks.. if she thinks everyone should buy expensive watches, then she should go and work in Omega or Rolex shops along orchard. But then, i don't think those shops will tolerate having such atittude staff like her oso..

binbin

helo smurfy, aiyoh that kinda service? shld have retored back at her, that sucks. i think i know which shop you mean, thanks for the warning.

hope you ladies enjoying CNY!!!! me eating too much, sleeping too little....sigh....hehehee.....this yr gotta give angbao liaoz, quite straining on the pockets ah.. :p

okeanosmao

hallo gals...

i'm staying at senja rd..blk 606..moved in only last yr..
gd tat sheng siong has opened, can buy cheap things there..over the cny period v crowded...lots of ppl buying new yr goodies..

sometimes i find bp plaza fd court quite boring leh..fd not nice and last varities...

smurfy

hi BinBin,
No problem, I always despise shops with bad service.

Me too, need to bao ang baos this yr.. very troublesome, dunno how much to give, who to give and who not to give.. didn't know maid oso have to give.. very headache...

hi okeanosmao,
I think plaza now is so much better than before. At least it has food ct, mos burger, yoshinoya, kfc, mcdonalds, ya kun bread, long john silver, jacks place, swensen, genki sushi etc.. think i am quite contented when it comes to food wise :p

okiblur

Hi noscon and lavlyn,

sorry to take so long to reply cos i'm out of town for the whole week...currently still in geneva, but will be returning today reaching sg on 13 Feb afternoon....a 15 hrs flight.

i stay in blk 653....very close neighbours with lavlyn....hehe :p

will stop here for now (the keyboard used here is a bit different..hv difficulty typing)....will be back soon

binbin

helo oke!!!
long time no see. no leh i find the foodcourt improve liaoz leh. the korean food is nice. so is the prawn noodles, wan tan noodles, jap ramen and handmade noodles. ooops all noodles! hahahaa coz i love noodles. not bad lah.....

taurus033

I am staying at Senja Road. Almost staying here for 1 year. Like to know if any of you have any lobang for those tingkat dinner delivery. Really tired of the food the coffee shop.

okeanosmao

hi binbin,
yup. long time no see hor...hee..v bz mah, changed new job n cant surf in office..yah, at least bp plaza improve much more beta but i stil dun like the fd court..everytime i gotta walk 2 rds then i'll knw wat to eat..hmmm..mayb i'm more choosy??? sometimes i walk to senja grand to hv bfast at the coffee shop..
aiya, me oso gotta bao hongbaos mah..used to it liao...=p

hi smurfy,
must admit tat more restaurants are springing up in plaza..hey, hv u gone to the sakura restaurant there n eat? i went there, service no gd oso...fd so so but find it expensive leh..mayb can't expect cheap fd in a restaurant huh...

hi taurus,
which blk are u staying? 620+ series?

ha! what are the chances of having 3 people living in the same block in this forum? Never expected to find any neighbours here : )

Nice to know.

Taurus, I always get pamphlets for Tingkat delivery stuck at my door. Haven't tried them out so am not sure which is good. I saw recently in an MRT advertisement that Select does home deliveries too. You might want to check that out. Probably available on their website.

Okeanosmao, hihi. I tried Sakura once and I had a pleasant meal... maybe we were lucky that day, but the food was surprisingly good for the price we pay, which is just slightly more than at a zhi-char stall. Amongst the dishes we tried were pineapple rice and tom yam soup. But you're right about the service, leaves more to be desired : )

Happy Valentine's Day girls.

smurfy

Hi Okeanosmao/Matka,

Agree with Matka about the price and quality of the food at Sakura. They are slightly higher than zhi-char stall. If I am not wrong, they do not charge for service, maybe that explains their service level. But so far, my experience with them are fine.

binbin

helo oke, my experience are sakura is fine, quite like the food too.
din have bad exp with sales staf, but prob coz that day not crowded.
the ambience is def nicer after the reno.

i went to senja grand to eat chi char before, but find it very exp for a chi char stall leh. and the food is so so only, quite a lot of msg? i prefer the one at fajar.....

taurus033

Hi okeanosmao,

I am staying at the 63+ series. How about u?

I had stayed here for almost 1 year but have not try the food at sakura. But i like the food at Different Taste located at Tenth Mile Junction.

Hi Binbin,

I agree with u that the zhi char at Senja Grand is rather expensive, the one at Fajar is really cheap and good.

So how long have gals been staying here?