Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

am back! was away for the weekend and only back in office today.

wow, lotsa posts while i was gone. thanks snippy, dewberry & maddcow for your tips and advice!

maddcow - hope you feeling better now?

snippy - have pm-d u my email address

new turn of events - parents have suddenly said they're agreeable to a small do instead of 400 guests! yippee yay yay... but now need to look around for suitable venues. anyone has ideas?

ashlee - i just kenna arrowed to do another transaction which is supposed to be intensive this week. so i hope i can still make it for dinner tmrw. will sms you to update you. *fingers crossed*

Hello
Snippy - your video's so sweet and charming! so very you. It was fun watching and seeing Shi Ming too! Gosh, I miss him, he's my number one - "shifu". haha

e - thanks, yes, I felt much better but am limiting my caffeine intake (bleh!). oh, good for you on the guestlist. one less headache. how many guests are you considering now? Snippy and Dewy had theirs at Ritz, that was what we considered too, they are very responsive (emails) , but Raffles worked out better for us in terms of pricing plus, I'm a sucker for nostalgia.

lilo - i'm making my dress in the US. I just showed a few pictures to my dressmaker and she sewed my dress out of muslin and then used that to make the pattern for the dress. endless fittings. Snippy - the design of the dress is a modified mermaid - alvina and jennylee, the fall 2004 collection, style 418.
The fabric is creamy-ivory silk satin (supposedly over-runs fabric from Badgley Mischka's collection - took it as a pinch of salt but it is much lighter and drapier than chinese/indian silk and has a more glorious sheen, I bought them from a fabric dealer in Connecticut.)I'm also using french-reembrodered lace(Alencon)trims for the bodice and hem. the same lace goes onto the chapel length veil.

liz - thanks for the pix. i like the sparkly train. FH's catholic, i'm christian.

ashlee - haha, FH was really relieved to know that there are other hubbies out there that gave up on chinese. he's happily practicing Singlish - he insisted on buying this 'Essential guide to Singlish' on our last trip to Singapore. He thought that was the best purchase in Sg!

Haven't been on for soooooo longgggggggg. I was damn busy when I was in SG. Sorry that I didn't get to meet up with some of you!!!!

Hi Liz,
Do you still want to buy an organza shawl? I've got a golden colored one and it's brand new!! I was going to use it for my evening gown but since I'm going to add a detachable train to it, I will not need it now!!! PM me if you are interested. [email protected].

Have to catch up with all the postings...

Cheers...

hi karen,

if i am not wrong from the old thread, u from syd? i am from syd too..perhaps we can meet up when i m over there. m currently in sin to prepare my apr wedding.

e
Only just saw your posting on possible cancellation on yesterday's dinner. hehe...

liz
Good luck with Dutch! Luckily I din have to learn another language. Tried to pick up Japanese and hehe, u guessed it, I gave up. haha. What a useless couple me and hubs are! ;p

maddcow
I got the Essential Guide for hubs as well. And he didn't even read it! But he's been to SG so many times he's picked up quite a bit. Maybe we shd go visit u guys and hubbies can learn the language together.

Thanks Ashlee! Ya! Why can't stick to just English! So much easier! SIGH!! No lah! Language is not easy. I would have given up but coz I've no choice!

Hello people!

Haha, I'm in a really good mood today. FH and I had decided on our wedding stationery design, and FMIL is making embroidered favor bags. It was more of a digression from our original plans initially but her enthusiasm melted our hearts and we are really excited about them now. Our families are getting enthusiastic about the wedding and everyone is communicating so well with one another despite lots of uncertainties about where we'll be and disagreements on the wedding details.

I got really good deals on ribbons for our programs, menu cards, and invitations. It's so cool to see our ideas slowly taking shape in terms of our choices. AND even though I did not dictate what my maid of honor or the gals in my family would wear, they were so sweet to color-coordinate their dresses with one another.

Finally, FH has proven to be so sweet amidst uncertainty regarding our financial health and my health as well. Which makes me feel that I don't need an illusory perfect wedding...i need love, wisdom and courage to face life each day.

for the squeamish, sorry - can't help not posting this corny message

yay!

p.s. ashlee, yeah, come to the US! we'll be glad to have you guys and we can also meet up with Snippy and Dewy!

maddcow
Seems like everything's falling more than nicely into place! Awww, your families are really sweet. My mum was desperately trying to help but dinno where to start. hehe...
Happy for you! I'm sure you guys will have the most beautiful wedding ever!

I wanna go to US... maybe we can all meet up in NYC for a long weekend! But need to find out costs first. I'm so broke after the wedding... urgh!

Ribbit
Are u out there??? Can e and I come to Turin to see u??? hehe... ;p

maddcow...my arm!!! I'm getting goosebumps hehe j/k
btw your wedding gown sounds really really gorgeous!! you have to share photos when you go for your fitting. hehe

what do your invitations look like? share!! you didn't get them from paper source in the end did you? anyway they're mad expensive hehe. btw I got lilac sparkley paper for my programs from popular in Singapore for $15. was really nice and cheap! the only problem with waiting till you get back is not being able to find what you want. the selection is pretty limited and stuff isn't laid out as nicely as papersource.

ashlee...yes yes u guys come over to NYC
lots to eat and shop and it's cheaper than london haha. we have a long weekend in 2 weeks!! come come ...

karen .. how did the planning go in Sg. what have you checked off your list?

ashlee, come please - i'm definitely relocating to DC/Virginia so we can all meet in the east coast.

liz & snippy, haha thanks for the compliments and for 'bearing the goosebumps' - i was such a control freak and miscalculated our families' enthusiasm, so things are pretty much lasseiz- faire now (it has its limits though), I think the pictures will show that in the end but hey, if everyone is happy, everything need not be matchy-matchy. I did get most of the materials from paper-source (free shipping)- costs me $145, ouch! My total wedding stationery came up to $250 (argh busted my budget of 100).

My photographer, Gabriel is the sweetest guy! He's so proactive and is my Mr. Resourceful. I just have to write to him about my anxieties and he gives suggestions on what to do and who to contact. It's no wonder that my mom can talk to him about her 'life story' !

Karen - hello! welcome back. yeah, do tell us what you've been up to. Oooh, are you in a countdown mood yet?

Hihi everyone!

Maddcow - nice to hear that things are shaping up well!
your dress sounds gorgeous! I'm looking to get a mermaid dress too but in full lace. But FH thinks it will be very ah-ma (old) and it will be too expensive. sniff.

I know this is going to just sound so fickle, but we're back to banquet-mode again. sigh. Even tho parents have in-principle approved the small little intimate dinner, we just can't work around the logistics of having to fit the other 250 pple into our church ceremony and reception. (Condition to small intimate do was, of course that all the others not included had to be invited to the church thing) Problem being that our church's sanctuary is not big enough to hold 400 guests. And we couldn't find a way to hold the after-church reception at an alternative venue - cos it was just going to be too expensive to do up nicely, difficult to shepherd pple to the venue, and just general hassle.

so... we're back to Conrad for the banquet. 2nd September's the date. I'd much prefer 9th Sept (our original date) but it's taken at Conrad, and we can't find any other suitable venue. Mum has been not so subtly hinting that she wants that date too... (parent's anniversary lah). Oh well... i just need to get over it i suppose.

Liz - I've added you to my msn! but i've never seen you online yet leh... =S

Ashlee - I've emailed ribbit. but she hasn't replied. i think she's still holiday-ing...

hi, back to manchester sigh ... so much to pack n need to get back e sleeping time here.

e, added u into my msn liao, got it from liz hee.e... liz will be very busy during e nite time talking to her fh haa..haha...

*sigh* I'm incorrigible. Reading wedding blog and this thread here has become a routine in the morning.

e - oh, share with me your design ideas. i think a lacy gown can look really phenomenal if the lace is of the highest quality. Here, Chantilly is cheaper than Alencon. And Venise is cheaper than Chantilly. But I'm sure UK has more options, from Italy and Belgium. The prices for lace here is much higher than the price for silk, so in the end, after paying so much for the lace, I can imagine the bride wanting to get the best fabric to do justice to the lace (I fell into the silk-temptation). Mine is vintage lace, (reads "old design") and when I first received it (leap of faith, i ordered it online!) I thought it looks like some tablecloth you see in a museum exhibit. but it grows on you and people who sew (mom, FMIL and my no-nonsense dressmaker) thought it was pretty. so, now my dress either looks like part of a table linen collection from another era or looks really the-great-gatsby-ethereal. Ooo, Sept 2, I maybe in Sg, perhaps I can take a peek

oh snippy - you are a trooper, always chirpy about my stuff. I'll definitely send you pictures!

Liz - it's ok! no worries... i understand...

Girl - was it you who recently added me? cos i got a request for some email i didn't recognise, so i rejected it leh... not sure if it's you... why dun you PM me your email then i 'll know it's you so i dun cancel request again? sorry...

Maddcow - u using lace too? you have the picture of the material? Can i see please? I'm sure it will look nice... i have visions of it... hee... and if you ARE in Sg, let me know! Although, now we're thinking whether to do a lunch thing instead on 9th Sept cos we really like the date. so fickle, i know.

What do you girls think? church ceremony in morning, followed straightaway by lunch banquet. no after-rom/church reception. my only grouse is that afternoon abit funny to have banquet lah. then cannot dress up as formal as evening, cos like quite silly to be wearing EG at lunchtime.

Another straw poll: do y'all think 2 Sept or 16 Sept date sounds nicer / is better?

hihi! *waves madly* looks like this thread has been busy! poor dewy has been hard at work recently so didn't have much time to come on and check this thread out...

maddcow - haha, i'll be sure to read that blog you mentioned, it sounds like a good one. i'm with you - this thread is one of my staple "surfing" pleasures, hee! oh, and snippy is not your only "fan" leh... your ra ra team includes me too (although you really don't want to see me in a cheerleading outfit, chuckle chuckle...) do send me pics of your dress too, i can't wait to see all your wedding details come together! it's such an exciting time, your giddy good mood post just lifted my spirits when i read it.... i feel so happy for you!

e - hehe, as one who deliberately chose 230405 as my wedding date (for multiple reasons apart from the nice sequential #s), i totally sympathize with the temptation to go with 9th Sept coz of the date... but hmm, i can't say either 2 or 16 Sept is better. okay, this might be totally irrelevant for you but i think the first week of Sept is public holiday for some countries (i know the US Labor Day is first Monday of Sept) so if you're thinking of being able to celebrate a special anniversary with lots of overseas vacations or trips in future years to come, you might run into perpetual airfare rate hikes during this time. so the 16 Sept date might be better. and the slightly repetitive 160906 has a nice ring to it, don't you think?

sorry girls, that was probably not too original and WAY too analytical for enjoyable reading. but hope that might help!

Hi e,

It's very common to wear Wg or EG for lunch buffet after church. Not ro worry. You won't look funny. I'm doing that wearing a gown and the lunch reception is in the church canteen. A lot of my friends did that too.

As for the date, which one is more significant to you and FH? That's how I decide on it.

Hi Maddcow,

I'm also got addicted too. A ritual every morning too! Hee hee!

Glad to have u back dewberry!

dewy! *hugz* noooo, i didn't forget you - i know i can count on your pom-poms! I'm sure you'll look delightful in a cheerleader costume (you go girl!)

e - sure, this is the lace, color is creamy white/ivory. i'm only using trims (18 inch wide)which are less expensive.
306493.jpg
306494.jpg
As for the luncheon do, I think most weddings in the US do that for a morning ceremony. So, I think you are fine, in fact, I'd be mighty happy as a guest - scoot off for a scrumptious meal after the ceremony, no in-between waiting, how nice!
As for dates, I was kinda confused about what to consider until I saw dewy's post - waah! very cheem... so...actually i don't have an answer for you

oh, as for the frog, i need help in finding chocolate frogs (haha, very Harry Potter!) for my children's place-setting does anyone know where to get them in Sg? I'm afraid they will melt if I bring them from US.

ashlee - are you still around? Jenn is going on maternity leave, she initially thought I could liaise with her regarding flowers, now I'd have to do that on my own - which florist did you pick and the reasons? I have two to choose from Sir. Charles and Woodsville(?) (isn't that the name of a condo?)

I'm swearing off wedding planning for the week, it's taking over my life!

Ladies, I've a question: Must the make-up be different for outdoor photo shoots from the make up for wedding? I mean is it some special kind of comestic for photo shoots? according to the MUA, they say it's different type of make-up.

I'm doing a casual outdoor shoots and a friend is doing it for me as a favour, not professional but she learnt photography in school. Can't afford to spend too much. Thinking of just doing a simple make-up that doesn't cost much. Searching MUA separately for photo shoots and my engagement n tea ceremony. What would u ladies advise?

Maddcow
That is GORGEOUS lace. Now I know what u mean by "vintage". It's really pretty! I also wan to see pix of your gown when it's ready!!!

I chose Woodsville thinking that they might be cheaper in case I wanted to do any extras on top of the package. Think Suzxie chose Sir Charles (and she was full of praise for them).
Cecilia from Woodsville is probably one of the loveliest lady you can find in business. She's not into pushing you to add extras, and she actually gave us an impression that she's not too interested about her own profit margin. haha. We wanted to get about 30 corsages from her and she quoted us a huge discount although we didn't ask for it! Did I mention her flowers are really gorgeous and smell really good???
In the end, we didn't get the corsages from her as we could get our BS florist (Fluv) substitute the car decor for the corsages. And that was one of the biggest mistakes in my life! Oh wait, MY HAND BOUQUET FROM FLUV WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE IN MY LIFE! Nearly cried when I saw the hand bouquet the night before the wedding. hmmph!
We got my maid of honour's posy from Woodsville and hers was at least a hundred times nicer than mine!
Anyways, sorry I digressed, Woodsville is the best out of all the vendors for our wedding (she's eleven out of ten actually). Maybe you can get a feel by giving Sir Charles and Woodsville a call and see how you like the sound of them (though Cecilia can sound a little nonchalent over the phone).
Hope this babbling helps. hehe...

Liz
Ya, I think the makeup for PS and AD are quite different. Think the PS one is heavier so you'll look good even with all that strong flash. The AD makeup on the other hand doesn't look as thick.
But if the outdoor shoot is just something extra, then there's no need to spend that much on the makeup I reckon. You can get the makeup done at beauty salons and it's quite affordable right?

ashlee n e, u going to visit ribbit? is she living in ltay? can i join

e, my msn email [email protected]. hvae u tot of getiing ur own lace for ur gown? i went to arab sy found french lace range 100-200plus per metre (w shine or woutshine)

maddcow, u are so well infor, can u show me wat are e type of lace? in my mind tot market onli have french lace

maddcow - lace is so pretty!!!
dun look like table cloth lah. which website did you get it from? I would like to take a look to get an idea of what's available on the market. and what's the differnce with all the laces? alecon, chantilly, etc.?...

girl - wah... so expensive... maybe can't afford to make full lace gown liao..
how much material is needed for a whole gown? and sure, you can join us, erm... provided ribbit replies to us and says we can go lah.. haven't heard from her yet. she prob still on her summer hols.

dewy - i actually agree too, that 1609 sounds nice. but i think if i can get over not having a dinner thing but a lunch thing instead, i'll probably go for the 9th. sigh.

ash/maddcow - you have contact details of the florist?

ash - unfortunately FH doesn't really like the other venues, and also some of them the capacity is not suitable for us. (Raffles too small, Shang too big, SAM/ACM/outdoor will need to spend too much money on decor.) Also Conrad giving us very good perks and free extras cos it's 7month.. so a bit hard to reject leh..

Liz - i'm ok with wearing WG for church. but just have some doubts about EG for lunch reception. means i gotta design a less glam/glittery/elaborate gown, otherwise abit OTT for day.

O e, you are changing to EG is it?

Thanks ashlee, mat take your suggestion. I will go and check it out. Where can I go to do that is not expensive?

Maddcow, agree with e, it doesn't look like table cloth.

wah! Ladies going italy! So cool! If I'm in Netherlands, would love to join u ladies. Maybe next time.

Girl
Oh YES!!! Come along!

But we have to check if she's willing to see us or not? Haha, if not, we just go sight seeing lor!

e
Yep. Got contacts. Can pass you her name card when we next meet. Or you can visit her website www.woodsville-florist.com.

Liz
Not too sure about the prices though. But maybe can try Cosmoprof. They are a makeup school so I bet they are dying for people to let their students do their makeup on and it should be cheaper. Then again, I might be very wrong. hehe... ;p

The blog is hilarious!!! haha I laughed out loud at the post about the vet and his wife. beautiful lace btw!!! erh re the frogs, there is this huge chocolate/candy store at millenia walk with stuff from all over the world (they didn't have much US stuff though). you might want to have someone check it out for you. honestly though if they can't find it, i'd just bring back a few from the states in your handcarry (and hope they don't melt). from personal experience, it's really stressful to find stuff at the last minute!

lilo..i added u to my msn

ashlee your bouquet wasn't that bad lah. i thought it was quite pretty !!! really lah not saying it to be nice or what. maybe it didn't look as good in person. but no one can remember now I'm sure heheh

dewy> are u sure you're not an engineer with all that math and analysis? *gasp* hee

e> I agree that an EG will look odd at lunchtime. I was planning to change after our solemnization into a cocktail dress, but in the end decided against it (no time also lah) and wore my WG instead. got more photo opps in the gown too
which was great. as for the dates, my personal choice would be to stick with 9/9 and hunt for a different venue. Have you looked at 4 seasons or the oriental (recently renovated and supposedly very nice)? what's the size of your guest list?

girls! so much to respond to, sorry if i don't hit all the points mentioned before...

BUT I have to add my 2 cents worth.

makeup (liz) - yep, agree with ashlee that PS is a little different application than AD but you don't have to pay thru your nose for it. i had a cheaper MUA do it for my outdoor shoot (she came to my location), think i paid $80 for hair and face, but you can get way cheaper at any hair studio place outside of Orchard area (ard $50-60 for hair + face). if you decide to DIY with a friend to help, i'd suggest just do a really good job on the base/powder to get a smooth finish (bright sunlight or flash will highlight all the parts of our face we're less fond of) and use waterproof mascara. no need to wayang, but definitely a bit thicker than usual for the camera. with today's digital technology, everything shows up very clearly, even beads of sweat! haha, i sweated like a pig in my WG when i went for my OD shoot in SG, now that's an experience i don't want to relive, ever. *shakes head*

florist (e + maddcow) - i vote unanimously for cecilia @ woodsville as well, we used her for our wedding at the Ritz and it was one of the best decisions for the whole wedding effort. she transformed our little function room into a surreal fairytale. we didn't use the grand ballroom so it was just a room with 4 walls, but she rose to the challenge 110%. ashlee's right, she can sound a bit aloof over the phone, but is very delightful and accomodating in person. she is quick to pick up on your style and requirements, especially if you give her lots of samples. her creativity was very impressive, i told her i wanted a special hair accessory designed around a brooch i had, and she came up with a lovely feathery hairpiece with matching flowers to my room decor.

i'll just throw this out there - if anyone's deciding to use her, try mentioning June & Edward to her (we had our wedding in April) and she might even give you more discount (haha, thick skin me).... coz we spent A LOT of money with her, i shudder from the memory... so you girls might as well benefit from our connection! (email me if you want more details or pics of our wedding/decor - [email protected])

maddcow - the lace is soooo pretty, no lah where got tablecloth? hee, the choc frogs are a cute idea... you know, i'm not sure i've seen them in SG other than possibly those handmade choc counters (expensive ripoffs!) but you might consider getting froggy molds and just melting your fav brands of chocs for them. choc chips work just as well as chopped up bars of choc... they can be made well in advance, just don't put them in the fridge or they might turn white. this might even be a fun project to delegate. (if you don't need a large amount, of course)

snippy & dewy
haha, i always think the blog has that Miranda-esque skepticism (from SATC)!

awww, thanks people, now i feel more assured of my choice of lace.

e and lilo - umm, i was a little baffled by the different laces out there too in the beginnning but you will slowly get a hang of it (Chantilly, Lyon, Venise and Alencon are all French towns that were renowned for their laces, their laces took the names of of the towns) But there is more, since technology diffuses - you may not be able to find that much selection in SG and there are fake ones too - not all laces that claim to be french are made in France - I suggest you try a bridal gown from a renowned designer (Vera, Justina Mcaffrey, Alvina Valenta, Lazaro, Christos) to get a feel. e, i checked out www.supremefabrics.com and www.housefabrics.com .

liz - make-up for B&W and color pictures are different too. You need contouring of your features which can only be done by someone who has worked with a photographer before - so not all MUAs are alike in their expertise. Strong flashes can wash you out if your make-up is too light.

ashlee and dewy - thanks for the advice on the florist... geez, I got to get cracking. How much are corsages, in general?

Oh, FMIL made some of the favor bags as a trial run, from scraps of fabric she had, this is one of the designs:
306723.jpg
Comments/Suggestions welcome!

did i say i was swearing off wedding planning for the week? haha. This is somewhat the design of my veil I have in mind. The dress color is similar to my fabric. I'm mixing Chantilly and Alencon for the veil - Alencon which is more structural will adorn the 'hem' of the veil whereas Chantilly with an ethereal touch will edge the sides.

p
306737.jpg

e and lilo - i have pictures of lace from Martha Stewart mags, if you think it may help, let me know, I'll try to scan them for you. Leave me your email addresses.

awww maddcow, that is beaooooooutiful! very sweet and elegant indeedy... hmm, wrist corsages are around $10 or 12, i think market rate. i don't know if the buttonhole type might be less than that. of course it all depends on the type of flowers used. i might have gotten them slightly cheaper as part of the whole package, because cecilia threw in quite a few items for free due to the extensive decorations she did for us (not to mention the extensive bill it generated, haha!) if you really want to kaypoh my exact breakdown of costs, let me know & i can go dig up the invoice that she sent me with all the details.

*clasps hands* but oh, wedding planning is much FUN! i'd rather be doing that than the job i'm doing now, grumble grumble....

haha, here i am again...sheesh, seriously what's wrong with me? Thanks dewy for the offer - ummm, yeah I think I'll kpo a bit. haha, i'll send you an email.

Snippy - This is basically the invite we got, except that I used the Luxe Cream petal envelopes and the Stardream gold backing. FH received them yesterday, he said they looked really nice and heavy. So, I got my stamp of approval. Yippee! He just told me that he received the yuzen sash I ordered from Japan - and it looked better than what we saw online, it has shimmery gold paint on the fans, just a light touch. FH is very happy with the choices - heee, that makes me happy too!
. Gee I'm really getting egocentric-obnoxious on this thread
(sorry, can't help it!)
306740.jpg

okay, i promise, i'm really signing-off.

exciting stuff!
the invites are gorgeous. definitely well worth the price! hey i was going to use something very similar as a sash for my programs! but alas they only had 1 roll of the japanese paper in kinokuniya and it wouldn't have been enough.

re wrist corsages..I made a variation of these for my bridesmaids. they were really cheap! hah
http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml?type=content&id=channel1085&catid=cat311&navLevel=

dewy *sob* don't u wish we were still planning ours??

snippy - YES, sob! can we go back in time? let's hug each other and weep for lost moments.
xoxoxoxoxo

maddcow - oooh, those invites are fab! i like the rounded envelope edges, very modern-chic. that paper looks luscious... makes you wanna run your hands over the grain.... over and over and over... (sorry, i'm a very tactile person).

maddcow:
wow... your invites are so pretty! very glam. hee.. oh, if not too troublesome, can scan your lace pics for me? I tried to pm my email add to you leh, but your pm function was not activated.

dewberry:
which room did you use in Ritz? how many guests did you have? i'm looking for alternative venues. but Ritz told me they only have the ballroom for weddings when i asked for smaller place.

i got another idea...what do y'all think about the rooftop garden at Hyatt hotel? has anyone seen it? any comments?

Thanks dewberry, maddcow and ashlee for the tips. Now I know what to do.

Maddcow, Very sweet n lovely!
I love laces too but can't carry them. Dunno why, it just makes me look old lor! SIGH!!! Your MIL puts in a lot of effort. The favour is very sweet. So sweet of her!

My FH and I decide to create a book mark of our photo to give my friends on our engagement. He has designed it but yet to print then out and laminate them. I'm also going to make the angbao box out of a recycled box with paper, ribbons and put handmade wooden heart shaped of our names on it. Both of us brain stormed on it but I haven't got down to making it yet. We've made our own invitation cards as well.

Any ideas beside wedding pillow for rings, what can I use? Going to make one for the wedding but use something else for the engagement. Any ideas to share for putting the rings instead of wedding pillow?

All of u are very creative ladies!

harlows harlows - my last post for the day before i signoff. promise!

e - i used the Millenia One and Two rooms (they are on Lower Level 2 located below the ballroom, i think).... Millenia One was the larger room for dinner, and Millenia Two was a nice cosy one set up for the short ceremony/solemnization... actually, they threw in the M2 room for free, chair covers and all... which was more than i could say about Raffle's ripoff wanting to charge me $800 extra for the 1/2 hour use of an extra solemnization room or the lawn gazebo. the Ritz can definitely accomodate a smaller wedding party, you might want to check with Joey Liao @ Ritz (she was my coordinator). i'm sure she remembers our "special" decor in the function rooms which gave her a lot of headache on the logistics, hahaha.... i had 100 confirmed guests, but it ended up being slightly more. Ritz was very accomodating with my small numbers (and i was given the same wedding dinner pkg as the ballroom's; the menu and inclusions were almost the same as other brides got).... email me if you want to see photos of the room, i've also got some from our "research phase" of the room before any decorations...

liz - check out snippy's wedding pillow! was divinely pretty... she had a "pillow" made from flowers and tied with a bow. totally martha-stewart-looking... as for myself, we went with a "ring tray" instead of a ring pillow. i found this awesome little square black lacquer tray in chinatown and lined it with red organza, and then topped it with a few blooms of flowers. it was a simple yet modern alternative, as we didn't want the usual fussy pearl studded pillow...

snippy
I was the one who asked for yellow and white/ivory roses and decorated with feathers. But he added in some flowers called wax, which he claimed was white but turned out purple-ish and stuck out like many sore thumbs. And the roses he used, oh my god, think I could have gotten better ones from the corner shops, $5 for a dozen type. Urgh...

Maddcow
Cecilia quoted me $8/corsage but if you buy in bulk, it's $6 or maybe cheaper. Try asking her. She's very nice one!

That favour bag's really really sweet! Does she have a machine that does embroidery like that? Can't imagine her having to hand-sew all the favour bags! ;p
And I LOVE the veil!!! Very very pretty! I thought of getting a lacy veil but had to go for a plain one as I was getting it from the BS (and they were nice enough to offer to make me a new one).
Would the veil's lace take the attention away from the luxurious lace gown you are going to have though?

e
Oh, I heard Grand Hyatt's got a really pretty Bali style garden! I asked them for a quote doing an outdoor buffet lunch there but they said it might be necessary to have marquee for that. Really liked the idea but the price is just to hefty for a small party like ours.

Dewy
Raffles charged us $500 for the use of the lawn for solemnisation. Ya, actually, I agree that it is a bit out of order to charge us for it as most, if not all, the other hotels gave complementary usage to function rooms for solemnisation. But they claimed that it is for the flowers and stuff. What to do?

liz
for us, I got two Tatty bears (bride and groom), sew them together, tied the rings around their necks with ribbon. I was going to make ring pillow but couldn't finish the cross stitch in time.

oh ashlee
sorry to hear that about your bouquet, frankly, like snippy, when i saw it on the pictures, i thought it looked really pretty too
. In fact, I was thinking of changing my bridesmaid's bouquet to white and creamy yellow like yours.

yeah, FMIL has lots of machines - she even gave a sewing machine to me to make room for her project room. She's divine- I can't count the times she has gone shopping for the materials. I love your veil too! Actually I love your dress too. Yeah, I thought of that, whether the veil will compete with the dress - I dunno?

Snippy - yeah, I adore your ring pillow, I was like "look, her ring pillow's a mini flowerbed - awwww", I don't know how my FH stands me but I suspect he wasn't listening

e - ummm, I have no idea about Hyatt's rooftop, but I know that service will be impeccable. I used to frequent Mezza9 (still around?)and my sister used to work there - the staff's attention to details is like a daily roster, it's just ingrained into every staff.

Question on shoes: I'm getting 3.5" heels.
What's more comfortable? Stack (chunkier) or Stiletto heels? What did you guys wear (I know snippy wore gorgeous Weitzman!)

ashlee..the good news is from the pics the purple flowers weren't noticeable at all! so at least it won't be there to haunt you for all eternity

e ... ashlee's rooftop garden sounds lovely! actually the marquee might not be too expensive if you're having a larger number of guests (evens out the cost). I think it costs a maybe 1-2k to put up. I researched it for a bit but might be wrong.

maddcow... i think a simple veil with some lace trimming will go with the gown. a really plain veil (think clean lines) like mine might not go with the theme. and u know my vote is for the stilettos...always sexy.

ok busy today ..gotta run! *waves*

harlows...

feeling real bleah today. rainy and cold and i think i caught a bug - bad throat and fluey. *sniffles* hate being ill. especially here. healthcare system is non-existent.

Just to update y'all, Hyatt idea scrapped. It can take 250 pple max, only buffet and cocktails, no proper meals, and we have to book a room as backup for contingencies. the room costs $5,000, even if we don't end up using it!!!! yikes!

Dewberry
Thanks for the info! howver, Millenia rooms not big enough. FH also checked with Ritz staff. nothing suitable for our 400 guestlist. Conrad seems the only suitably-sized place. Plus they offering us many perks. finding it hard to reject. but could i still see your pics so i can have an idea for decor? Thanks!

Now back to 2nd, 9th or 16th. sigh.. sorry girls for belabouring this..

but i think i'm kinda not for the 9th cos of the problem of fitting all church guests into banquet. plus vain ol' me wants to dress up a bit lah, so lunch thing wld be a bit odd... i just think if wanna be casual in the day, should do outdoor thing. (which is not an option for us) so... alright. moving along. i promise not to talk about dates again.

Maddcow: definitely stilettos!!!! looks more dainty. especially with your lace gown. and since it's a mermaid, kinda sleek, stack may be a little out of place - too heavy a look.

Snippy
finally managed to install win mediaplayer on my mac and saw your vid. very sweet.
your hubs so poor thing! gotta drink all that stuff. i must remind my jiemeis not to concoct too jialat stuff for my FH. cos his digestive system not so strong.. heh...

ashlee
you mean bridal studio cannot custom make veil? i was hoping to design own veil. are there any shops that make veils that you know of?

e - PMed you a link to my wedding decor @ the Ritz. hmm, i was sure that snippy had a large guestlist there too, but dunno if it topped 400 or not? hmm, sounds like if Conrad is giving you a great offer, then take it! they have lovely premises, and the perks are hard to pass up, i know!

maddcow - your FMIL is so sweet, it really adds a nice touch to personalize the wedding with those favor bags. hey, i vote for stilettos too! see if you can get pair of choos to rival snippy's weitzmans, haha.... wait for the Barney's thanksgiving sale, is that going to be in time for your big day? sorry, i forgot when your date was again....

ashlee - haha, yeah i was very cheesed off with the Raffle's charges for every little thing, without negotiation. they didn't budge when i didn't even want their flowers and stuff for the lawn wedding (we were going to get cecilia to cover everything) but noooo.... oh well, c'est la vie! in the end, i was very happy with our Ritz choice, hee! awww, i echo snippy, your flower bouquet was not noticeably purple lah.... my impression from your pics was that everything was lovely white/cream/yellow.... so i'm sure it didn't ruin the effect, no matter what that hateful florist did!