Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

Hi e,

Sure! I will email u in a while. I bought my gown from allure. The moment I saw the gown I like it.
The gown over there is expensive. Yes, moving to Netherlands for good.

Hi girl,

U met your FH online? So are you planning to stay there?

e
Hello! I'm in london too! *wave*

elizabeth
When's your wedding gonna be then? Ur in Holland now?

girl
U got much things done in SG? Sigh, thinking of SG food again. Sigh...

e
I work in London but we live in Billericay, Essex, which is about 35min on train outside London.
New job's cool. Really nice people here. Learning loads of new things as well so it's been very interesting.
What do u do? Are u studying or working? Tell me more!

Hey! We can go hunt for nice asian food together! My hubby doesn't enjoy eating, so I dun get much of a chance to eat out in London. U got any lobang/recommendation?

Hi ashlee,

In june next year. Back in Singapore at the moment coz of the application. Can't be there when the procedure is on. Hopefully it's approved soon. Flying back in Dec after engagement and tea ceremony. can't wait to get back there. Took the risk to book the ticket, now the fare is pretty good. Crossing my fingers and praying hard!

HI E,

O great! I stay in Schiedam! Is he a PR there? How many years has he been there?

ashlee: I'm working and staying in London. On secondment here. but will be back in Singapore November. Let's meet up sometime!
there's this malay food restaurant near Paddington. quite authentic. we can go if you're interested.

Liz: My uncle is a citizen by now i think. he's been there more than 20 years. Where's Schiedam? Me not so familiar with the geography in Netherlands. Do you speak Dutch? ;)

hi ashlee, went to see few bs in jb n s'pore also see few venues, will bring these infor back to uk n discuss w my hubby. hope e next return w him during next yr cny can confirm wat we wan. sure will miss s'pore food
kao_drool.gif
... me have been eating since i come back n sure put on weight
kao_cry.gif

hi Girl,

i thot i posted a msg for u just now, but dunno y it didn't appear. got lost in the system or sth... anyways, i was asking if you were going to be staying in Manchester for long, and whether you will eventually come back to Singapore.

OD wedding is nice! i would love to have one, but difficult to organise in singapore, cos can be hot and humid and dunno if it will rain, so need to have many contingency plans, which cost lotsa $$$
also my older folks dun agree with the idea. so will have to go with the flow and have conventional banquet instead.

will you be having a reception in Manchester too? europe is always a lovely place to have ODs... attended my fren's wedding in France which was in a chateau in a little village. so romantic!!!

hi e , we are not studyin there. my hubby graduated at manchester uni, manage to find job there so i ended up w him there. we will be staying there at least five yr as recently he managed to get schorlarship to take his phd.
agreed w you! hope our idea wedding can be done if not will stick to usually venue, hotel.

hi e, It's near Rotterdam. still learning to master Dutch, a tough language. Getting the hang of it now. Going to take it 3 times a week. Took it there but can't converse very well. Have to as need to take examination. You've been staying in london for a long time? So nice that both u and ashlee can go and makan!

hi girl,
You must have known him for a long time. I put on weight when I was in Netherlands. Nothing but eat and sleep! Also got to do housework! Ha ha ha...

hi liz, ya ... know him very long liao. actually e last 6mth in manchester b4 i came back to s'pore also abt e same as you do housework too, trying to find job but no news
. when i come back to s'pore less then 2wk someone ask me for interview
. hope god will bless me to find one when i go but if not sure become yellow face n fat auntie

ha ha ha! So funny! My mum said the same thing to me that I'm becoming auntie!
Ha ha ha! I don't mind being a full-time housewife but at the moment finanically is tight.

I'm also worried about looking for work there as I've to speak Dutch. Now learning. Over here, I can just go back to my drama company and teach, very easy. Plan to study there, hopefully then I can find work as a dance therapist but after two years, SIGH!!! So still have to look for work. I will try to make some art stuff to sell online, don't know that works or not. must try lor.

Have to pray hard! So far God has been very faithful, He never fails to provide.

hi liz, i thk u are in s'pore right?hee .hee.. we did plan to sell something online too at least i got some income from there but cant think of wat good stuff to sell. can share abit how u know ur FH?

Ya I'm in singapore. Ya lor! even it's very little income but better than nothing. Each time we sold something, we are very thrilled! Ha ha ha... Both of us are like kids! Now I'm trying to sell off my stuff coz can't bring them to Netherlands. Very sad! Most of the things are very attached to me. SIGH!!! How to bring! Too many! Loads of books! From teaching! Spend so much of money on them,now have to sell them cheap! SIGH!!! The thought of having to shift some of my stuff is a real headache! Ha ha ha...

I met him online from Catholic Mingle single online. Very funny how God works. Both of us only wants to enwiden our social circle and to get to know more Catholic friends from all over to share our faith. I was never a paid member, so can't contact anyone. I was given 3 days free trial. He signed up at the same time. I came across his profile a few times but never cross my mind to write to him, finally on the last day of trial, I came upon him again. I think ai ya why not, another new friend. And we hit it off very well and discover we think so alike and enjoy corresponding with one another and finally chat over MSN. The more I know him the more I remember the prayer I said about 12/13 years ago of the criterias of a husband I want.
he fits the bill. I started to have feelings for him and pray about it and sense peace over me. He prayed too (without me knowing). He realised his feelings for me when he was on a business trip to Canada. Then we started our long distance relationship. It was tough, not meeting the person but having faith in God.

I think I wrote too much! Hope it didn't bore u!

elizabeth
Oh i see. U like it in Holland then. Frankly speaking, I'd rather be home in Singapore, where my parents and friends are... and the food as well. But sigh...
Aww... lovely story... so sweet. How long have u been enduring the long distance in your relationship?

e
COOL! We can meet up after work one day. Where do u work? I am at Piccadilly.

girl
I've been eating non-stop since the wedding. Dun worry, u still have lots of time before u need to start dieting. But then again, u must be slim, so no need to diet, just eat! hehe...

hi liz, so sweet ....how long is ur long distance relationship? mine was four yr hee.ee.. u sound like staying there for good not going back to s'pore. agreed w ashlee.. rather to be in s'pore than uk heee.he...ee

ashlee, u so slim eat abit more also no different. me consider L size... eat somemore no gown can fit me.

ashlee - saw your pics.very nice! you look so sweet!
and your red EG was absolutely stunning. I'm working in the City. Will PM you my mobile no. for sms.

liz - got your email and the pics. Dress is gorgeous! and suits you well. Good choice!

girl - if you do come down to London let us know so we can meet up too.

Ok, I have to get back to work. trying to rush rush so i can leave work early today... got a train to catch at 5.30pm... Will catch up with y'all again when I'm back in London next week.

Have a good weekend and Happy National Day! *Stand Up for Singapore...* ;)

hi ladies!!! Thanks for all your congrats and emails. You gals are the sweetest! I am back at work after the wedding and our 'mini' honeymoon! Very sian leh hehehe. cannot bring myself to trawl through the tons of work emails.

The wedding went awesome!! I am seriously in withdrawal now. I almost want to get married again j/k. still waiting anxiously for the pix and video from our vendors so I can relive the moment once again. muahhaha. so pathetic huh huh??

Must also highly recommend Blossom from Wedding Paparazi (TWP). She's a great gal and everyone loved the express video they did for us! (will send u gals the link once they put it online hee) my poor hubby and his men got tekaned pretty bad by the girls but they took it very well haha. I thought they were screwed when the ladies requested for push ups with a clap. hah but I guess they were fitter than I thought kekke. hrmm you'll see in the video hehe. TWP was also very professional. They gave us a discount since they had some technical difficulties and showed the express highlights after the 5th dish instead of the 2nd. We didn't expect that! Anyway if any of you are looking for videographers I say go with them!! They're great!

oh yes must also comment on the MUA ... ponnie hsu. if anything went wrong during the day it was all thanks to her. grrrr .... she was 1 hr late in the afternoon causing our program to be messed up! she was supposed to show up at 4.00 and she came at 5.30 instead when our tea ceremony was supposed to start!!! Since we had her do make up for our moms and relatives as well, that caused everyone to be late too. Turns out she was triple booked that evening and was held up by the person before me. I feel sorry for the bride who had to have her make up done after me since it was almost 7 by the time we were done. I also hated how they are all eager to sell the stupid ampoules that they claim will make your make up last longer! The gleeful way they said 'yao fang ampoule' annoyed the @*! out of me. Think they also misled us on the price of make up for our moms. I remember asking her over the phone how much it was and she said 'er shi kuai'. but it turned out to be 80 per person??? Unless my chinese is really that shitty and I heard wrong. anyway please avoid her like the plague!!!

For those of you who've been out of SG for a while. Must second Dewberry's rec of Villa Bali as a great chill out place! We had a get together with our friends a couple nights before the wedding. Got one of those 'private decks' and everyone was so impressed by the ambience haha. they even had these huge fans (very impt to us in the hot weather haha). they closed a little early though, but I guess it was a thursday night and not everyone was on vacation like us lol

ok lah I've blabbered on enough!!!! hi to the new gals in the thread. will be glad to help

Hi snipsnap!

My friend had her video done by TWP too. Very well done! Her wedding was last year and the video is on the website - Getty & Eleanor - you've seen it? Blossom is El's sis... ;p and we were the jiemeis all dressed in pink... heh...

lilo: http://www.weddingpaparazzi.com/

hi e, wow its a small world! haha I've seen that video but had no idea that she's blossom's sis
which jiemei are you? lol... TWP was highly recommended by my other friends who used them too! btw when is your wedding?

ashlee> we're going to pick up our puppy tonight woohoo! hopefully she still remembers us lol

Hi ashlee & girl,

We've been together coming to 14th month. Ya! Netherlands is much quieter and always prefer the nature. But food can't be compared to Singapore for sure! I've been wanting to get out.
Couldn't adjust to the noise and stress level here. Over there, at least, it's much serene. Only language and weather cannot adjust yet. Hopefully so. Never been to London or UK. But I heard from my friend, he prefers Europe to London. Is there a difference?

Hi Snippy,
I've called Ponnie before. But didn't try her out. I'm going to try Jancy. Read her guest book, all with good comments and talk to her, she is very nice as compared to some of those I have talked to. I simply don't trust Chinese speaking. Sorry being so bias! I find those speak Chinese very "Ah SO"
, saw the way how they did the make-up for my Godma and God daughter, didn't like it one bit. Jancy is pretty professional in the way she handles it but not sure. Will try her for the trial and see what happen. I let you girls know how she is.

How much do the wedding paparazzi charge for videoing?

Just talked to my FH, he had an accident at work, finger got cut by the machine. SIGH!!! Heart pain! can't even be there to make sure he's fine. His shirt has blood stain, even his mouth. SIGH!!! He left to see his sister, a nurse, to see how serious it is, whether it needs stitches. SIGH!!!
kao_cry.gif

Hi Liz, hope your FH is ok!!! Right hand or left? Hehe you take good care of him ok?
Your FH is dutch?

TWP charges between 1300 and 1700 depending on whether you want the express highlights or not? I don't remember exactly. Definitely well worth the price. You also get a 10% discount if someone refers you. Ponnie's make up was actually ok. Thought it was pretty natural. Only problem is she's always late! Are you having your reception in Singapore too?

Hi snippy,

It's his left finger and he's left handed. He has 5 stitches and is very painful. His nail is damaged. So sad! I'm here and he's back there alone. Thank God his parents and siblings are only a stone away. Wish I could be there to look after him. SIGH!!! How to take good care of him that we're so far apart. Yes he's a Dutch.

A lunch buffet after the engagement mass in church. beyond our budget but it's ok, getting a friend to do the videoing so that his family can view it back home when we get back.

girl
Huh?! Me definitely an L, if not XL on bad days. Actually moving to UK has done a little good to my self esteem. In SG, I am considered gigantic but here, think I am normal. haha

e
City??? Cool. We travel into Liverpool St station everyday. We can easily meet up!

liz
Dunno how London compares to Holland. Haven't been there myself but have heard about how pretty the countryside is. For UK, suburban areas are very nice, but can't say the same for London. To me, it's just a city, nothing more.
As for Chinese speaking MUA, err... dun think all Cheena MUAs are like that lah. My MUA is very chinese as well. But he is very well known and is really good. As I am very cheena myself, we just hit it off with each other.
My MUA is very good with time and is always early. He even had to wait for me to take my shower and he din complain or show any resentment. Definitely highly recommended!

Oh dear, I hope ur fiance is going to get well soon. Won't be long before u get to be with him!

snippy!!!
Finally hear from u! Aww... can't wait to see your photos and video! So glad everything went well for u, except of course for ur MUA lah. haha...
Anyway, my maid of honour wanted to ask my MUA to do makeup for her even though she knows it is going to be very ex. And my MUA actually declined saying that he cannot afford the time as he had another bride to go to after me! Cool siah? Got money also dun wan to earn. haha... but really, think ur MUA super unprofessional lor. But glad that din cause any major upset.

Speaking of Blossom, I actually contacted her before the wedding to ask for quote when my videographer told me he couldn't make it. But i forgot to get back to her to tell her hubby too tight to pay that much! Very rude of me... oh dear. Hope she's not too bothered.

Oi, u better send me the link to the photos as soon as u get them hor! Can't wait!

SNIPPY! so thrilled that you're back... welcome to the world of married women, hehehe.... glad that you loved Blossom as much as we did, I think she was very sweet too, and the speed with which they produced our video was totally awesome! so glad everything came together nicely for you and i share your thoughts - the "wedding withdrawal" almost makes me want to plan another wedding again. hey, maybe we should partner up and start planning other girls' weddings for them, LOL.

ashlee, glad to see you still on the forum... i've been bad girl, dropped off coz of so much stuff to do, trying to find new job, sell my stuff, plan for moving to CA... let's hope i get a new job soon so i can finally be with my hunny!

to all the new girls - welcome to our thread! us old married aunties had a great time here and i'm sure you'll find the same
, hee hee... i'm glad to help if anyone needs opinions, ideas, advice, etc...

Hi Ashlee,
Sorry! Don't mean to speak ill of chinese MUA, probably bad experiences. How much did your MUA charge? What's his name? COol! This kind got integrity. I like!

My FH is in pain till now. His sister removed his bandage and replaced a new one. Nail still intact but blue. I'm so blur, it's his little finger but over the webcam looks like the thumb, even my mum said so.
Thank God or else it's going to be so tough for him. He can still make me laugh and joke to cheer me up even he didn't sleep well these few nights because of the pain and was tired. My heart just ached lor! SIGH!!!

Some parts of Netherlands indeed is very nice, not all. I've not visited every province yet but will do as he told me some are really beautiful. I like the biological farms there. Will surely visit UK once as he would be going there to take his exam probably next year and I will tack along with him.

Ha ha ha.. dewberry my mum said even I'm not married now I'm like one old auntie ha ha ha... but I can't wait to get married. It's nice to have someone by your side and share your life with.

snippy, remember to send me your photo too.

liz, din noe ur fh but wat u say it make me feel pain too.

e, how long more u will be still in london? actually i been there twice liao hee.ee.. u n ashlee can drop to manchester hee.e.e.e..

wonder how is sya wedding? her wedding is last wk is it?

gals, as we are overseas do we need to vote for president election?

ashlee, u must be joking la ... u L size. dun look like at all. dunno why my brother n sis so skinny even my parsents also M size only me e big size sigh ...

Need to check with u ladies,

How did you all do the income tax when u're all overseas? Are some of u PR in UK? If so, what are the procedures u have to do in Singapore to declare that you are leaving the country?

HI girl,

I'm a very visual person, I can feel the pain even it's not me lor. Seeing blood, my knees go weak like jelly! That's why cannot be a nurse. Admire them so brave!

liz, actually me also e same. when i head bad thing happen to anyone i will feel as if it i saw it. u can file ur income tax online, that wat i did.

liz, nope. all my letter are send to my mum's place hee..e.e. if i'm not wrong u can request them send to overseas add, not onli income tax dept.

dewy
hehe, just yest, Dave was saying how "sad" I am as I am still in the forum even after our wedding. He said he thought it is a phase but now I am officially an addict. haha...
How's the job hunt? Any joy? Why dun u just move over and be a taitai, like sharon? hehe...

Liz
Why sorry? Hehe, I was just pointing out my experience lah, I am not offended ok? Ya, you've probably been unlucky with cheena MUA.

My MUA is Kenneth Lee. He's done quite a bit of makeup for celebs and magazines. Think the rate he published in Her World (or Female) is $1000, for trial, PS and AD. For me, that is way too ex (though there are more ex ones around), luckily mine's with the BS package, so I dun feel the pinch.

How did he cut his finger? Is his work hazardous? Oh dear, dun worry, I am sure he's gonna recover soon as he still sounds chirpy.

girl
speaking of size, I really hope our children's gonna take after my hubs as he is slim and tall. If end up like me, sure hate me forever. haha...

Liz
I filed it online the year before. Like girl, the letters were sent to my parent's.
But last year, I didn't file it as my bro and sis-in-law who are working in the US told me they are not doing it. Haha, dunno if there'll be any repercussions but they told me so far, they haven't been told that they have to. So lazy me will follow suit. ;p

Hi all!!

I'm back.. Had quite a good weekend in Paris. Food was yummy!

Liz - I'm sorry to hear about the accident. Hope your FH is recovering well? As for income tax, my mum checked the letters for me and I paid by internet banking. Also, if you've never been to London then you must definitely drop by when you come back to Europe!
I tend to agree with you friend that other cities in Europe are prettier than London, nicer. London can be too big and too busy sometimes. Other cities in continental europe feel more pleasant, not so luan4.

Girl - Will be in London till November. Still have time for you to visit... heh...

Ashlee - I live near Liverpool St and walk past it on my way to work everyday. Maybe we've been passing each other but not knowing at all!!! Like the movie Turn Left, Turn Right... heh ;p. can you make it for dinner next Monday (15 Aug)?

Snippy - I'm the one in pink... haha... yes yes, i know, everyone is in pink... Alright...I'm the one opening the door.... My wedding will be (hopefully) in Sept 2006. Still need to decide and book venue. The original date we wanted 9 Sept has been taken.

hi gals! girl what is your email? I send u the link to some pix heee. erh speaking of filing income taxes...I think no need lah keke. shhhhh I haven't filed since I started working. anyway siao lah, they are already taxing as more than 30%..if I pay sg taxes as well I don't have to eat liao hehe.

DEWY!!! Welcome back
bet you must be busy surfing monster instead of sgbrides hehe.good luck with the hunt. it's always daunting at first but everyone I know eventually finds a job they love. so patience yah? hehe will keep my fingers and toes crossed for you okie! as for me I need to find a new obsession now that there's no more wedding planning to do. I have several ideas lined up haha. 1) apply to grad school 2) find a new job 3) survey housing prices. but of course I will have to check back here, coz this forum is much more relaxing hehe.

ashlee ... erhm fat? where got? you look so darn slim especially in the evening gown *whistles* hehe. was admiring your pix again ... looks like you put alot of work into the details! did you make those camera cards yourself? and the flower girl baskets? diy too? *impressed* hehe

*sniff* i don't want to be an auntie

hi, just a note to those who are worrying about income tax:

You will only need to pay Singapore taxes if you are receiving income in Singapore. Or if any of your investments pays out returns that you receive in Singapore. So if you're not employed by a Singapore company, and if any interest earned from any Singapore accounts, fixed deposits, any property or any other assets, etc are not subject to tax then you don't have to worry about it. Especially if you are actually employed overseas and are already taxed on your foreign income stream by the foreign tax authority.

You most likely will still have to file a tax return though, to declare that you have no taxable income.

Hope that helps.

e > will have to watch the video again lol. were you the one saying something about the 'suan tian ku la'? one of the girls also looked kinda familiar too ...like an old school mate.
which venue were u looking at booking?

Snippy:

heh.. no that's not me... I dun appear much in the video. Only part I remember is the part where I opened the gate for the groom to come in the house.

Which school were you from?

We were looking to book Conrad. But waited so long for our parents to finalise their guestlist numbers and to "ok" the venue... in the end someone else booked it. We were quite upset. cos didn't expect that it will be so popular. afterall, it is the 7th month. and it's more than a year ahead in booking!

on the income tax - agree with e, if you have no singapore sources of income, no need to file. like snippy, i've never done it since i started working here in the US right after college, and so i've never been "on the radar" in singapore. hehe lazy me, i don't even file a zero return or informed them that i was overseas, here's to hoping i don't get my wrists cuffed the next time i enter singapore, muahahaha.

ashlee, agree with everyone, you're just the right weight lah, don't let people con you into thinking you're fat... not even! aiyoh not everyone can afford to be taitai like sharon leh, get married in fairytale french castle and all, hehehe... us plebians have to work for a living (otherwise how to afford all the prada and LV, hmm?)... kekeke, no lah but seriously, i'm only on a working visa here so until we get our greencard, we can't afford to let the employment thing go on the wayside. coz it's so hard to get it once you lose it. so, i'm hoping to jump from one job to another, and not live in unemployed taitai status. but it's certainly a last resort, if the whole thing takes too damn long, i'm quitting and moving anyways (eh snippy, you want to open that bridal favors/planning business with me?)

e - aww, don't despair, maybe you can consider a day before or after your intended date leh? or even ask to get on their cancellation list in case the other couple bails out. the conrad is lovely, where's the rest of you girls having your weddings? i had mine at the ritz carlton, same as snippy, and i must say they were excellent, nothing else compares.... would definitely recommend to anyone else considering.

snippy - hehe, thanks, i'm touched, even your toes?!
.... yeah monster is a staple, but hey, this forum is definitely on my surfing list even so many months after my wedding, haha... i think it's a serious addiction. i miss all you girls... where's maddcow?! didn't get to ask if any of you managed to meet up or not in singapore?

Thanks gals for all the info.

Thanks ashlee n e for your concern. His work is not hazardous. That day he didn't know why he went up to the machine to check why the panel stopped moving and underestimate the machine. The machine moved in an up and down motion. It was too late for him to remove his hands in time and got cut by it. he found out that his nail got cracked and turning more blue. He sent me photos. Good grief! It looks like the top portion of the flesh was cut off. Looks so painful n terrible. It's still painful. Hopefully it will join back to his finger soon.

Reading what you all wrote seem so happening! WOW! Bridal favours/planning business, so cool! Too bad I don't stay in UK. I would join in. It's so fun! Have always been helping out in my friends' wedding.

I agree with dewberry, don't let anyone affect u. I was affected also for being skinny and look terribly bony. Was so upset at one stage. I didn't ask for it. just couldn't put on weight. What can I do! The worst they would tell u better go and see a doctor, are u sick, are u on diet. My mum and FH told me to ignore the comments and as long as I'm healthy, that's fine. The best part is I eat a lot, gain and lose fast and now trying to put on some now. Manage to when I was in Netherlands, hope to keep it.

Ashlee, you make the flower basket and all the stuff yourself? So cool! Can share with me the pics also and how you did it. I also want to see your EG photos. I'm planning to sew my own wedding pillow, decorate the unity candle... I love arts, and more personal to do my own, only once in a lifetime, who knows, maybe I can make a business out of it in future if I can't find work there.

ashlee, agreed w dewberry she n me then consider big size okie ..... u are M e most (dewberry hope u dun mind
). hmm.. readed today newspaper, london going to have s'pore food court soon, u can join ur laska, kaya soon ....... so jealous

aiyo ... who are married liao cant come to this forum. here got so many BTB need ur help hee.e...hee...

dewberry - small world! the OD wedding in France that I was mentioning to Girl in an earlier post was Sharon's wedding!
It was really lovely!

Now we trying to get 2 Sept for banquet. Hopefully it'll work out!

Liz - was so confused with all the terms initially too! FH, AD, BTB, FIL, MIL, PIL, PS, VG, PG, MUA.... had to read through many posts to get context before I understood! heh...