Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

dewy! no we didn't get a chance to meet up. *sigh* there were only several days that our schedules coincided and all of us were so busy with last minute stuff! or at least I was heh. didn't even get a chance to indulge in my favorite activity ...shopping
ehrmm nvmind we can meet some where else ..say in the states? or our 1 year anniversaries in SG hehe

e> what's the size of your guestlist? like dewy I second the ritz. the service was impeccable. I could get used to it *swooons*
didn't bode well for our honeymoon though since I was expecting the same!! haha. did ribbit tell you about this forum? lol ..where is she? are you from the 77 batch too?

Liz ... I'm considered skinny in the states (not in singapore haha). gets on my nerves how everyone assumes I don't eat or that I don't have to worry about working out.

girl> wah singapore food court??????? I would be there everyday *jealous* ... what's your email?

btw where is maddcow???? *yooohooo*

e
Wah lauz... u live in the City, cool siah!!! If only I live that near. Yep, I should be fine next Monday. Are u taking me to nice eating places??

Snippy
*blush* aiya, no lah, where got details? Only candles and little bits lah, which din turn out wonderful anyway. But bochup lah, over already.
Camera cards bot from this wedding shop called Confetti here in the UK. I also bought some Wedding Trivia games, one per table but everyone was complaining they are too difficult. Flower baskets, err, got them from Arab St and only glued on the small yellow roses I got from epaperflowers.com lor.
And *bish*! Slim ur head lah... I was towering over all my girlfriends as I super big sized and was wearing heels. I had to bend my knees or my friends would stand on steps for most of the shots! *I shall refrain from moaning abt my size fr now on, u gals are just too kind.

I love ur goodie bags! I had wanted to steal your idea remember? But I was too busy to do it.

dewy
I see. Work permits are tricky. Well, hope u get a job really soon. It's all luck. So be patient ya?

Liz
No lah, only made candles; designed and made our own invites; bought tealight holders from Ikea (hundred of them still sitting at my mum's house, hehe); glue paper flowers onto flower baskets; made flowergirls' head wreaths; bought feathers, cameras, wedding trivia, ribbons, diamontes etc for the tables lor. I wanted to make own ring pillow too, but couldn't finish the cross stitch in time, so bought two cute bears, tack them together, use ribbon to tie rings around them. hehe... quite cute though.
I agree that if u can afford the time (and extra money... heartache), u definitely must make something for the wedding yourself. I'm still quite proud of my candles. haha...

Gimme your email and I forward u the link to our photos...

Girl
REALLY????? Oh man, I must go find out about the Singapore food court. Oh dear, u got me all excited now!!!

haha you UK girls are getting us US girls all jealous now, singapore food court siah! so happening!

snippy - hey yeah man, we really need to meet up in the US one of these days, just let me settle down and we'll decide between fabulous boston or sunny san francisco, hahaha... if maddcow's still in wisconsin maybe she'll only have half the distance to fly!

e - oops i never read the previous threads, so didn't realize you mentioned sharon's wedding before... she was a regular on this forum till italy ate her up... yoohoo, where's ribbit??? hee hee... do you know sharon? speaking of small world, snippy's questions are very apt, coz the few of us who had been active before actually found out we knew each other thru mutual friends, or went to same school, or something dramatic like that. can you imagine? incredible! i'm also 77 batch, same as many of the other married aunties. hehehehe (dewy ducks from pelted tomatoes)

girl - no lah don't worry, i'm big sized and proud of it. haha, life's too short to begrudge a little bit of lard in my char kway teow. kekekeke.... i love food! my dear, looks like you started a mini-stampede with your news about the food court. hee hee... you'll have to tell us when it opens.

harlow!!!!
Dewy and Snippy - welcome back - long time no 'see'.

snippy - the pictures you sent were fab, i must say you look truly glam. The prep pictures remind me of Martha Stewart "Real Weddings". Pashmina - mmmmm

Snippy & Dewy, we really have to make an effort to meet up. I'm starting to dream about it...(yeah, these days, with work piling, anything gets me to dream)

e - i think Getty is a friend/student of a friend ;)

liz - is your FH alright now? your post started to get me queasy, so i only glimpsed through it - hope he's feeling okay?

ashlee - you can sell me the leftover votive holders/crystals, I'll just drop by your mom's for a garage sale

Hihi...

Dewberry - Yah, I know Sharon. She was previously working at my firm. then she moved to my FH's firm. So we both got to know her. heh...

Maddcow - really such a small world! haha...

snippy - you also mentioned you know someone in the TWP video? which one?

Ashlee - City is v convenient for work, cos i just have to walk 15 mins. can wake up later.. hee hee... but it is so boring after office hours and on the weekends! totally dead. if i had a choice, i'd stay in Chelsea... *daydream* sigh... I don't really know many places but thought you might like to try this malay food place - you can take spicy food? It's near Paddington. Can PM me your mobile number, so can text each other on Mon? Thx!

snippy - started out wanting only a small intimate affair with not more than 150guests. but parents are against that, wanted a banquet. also thot of having 2 separate receptions instead - one casual one for friends and the banquet type for family and relatives and parent's friends. but FH does not like the idea, thinks it is too costly, too troublesome, too much of a hassle. so in the end to compromise, we're having a banquet but trying to keep it small, not more than 400 pple so that can still be a bit more intimate and personal.

ribbit living in Turin, but now holidaying in Nice. *envious* heh...

Me 79 batch.

hi maddcow! *waves wildly* good to see you as well! hehe, ok we'll definitely have to meet up, i'm amidst madness of job hunting and moving plans right now, but once the dust settles, we'll have to pick a good time and have a girl's weekend getaway! so fun...!

hey speaking of garage sales, if any of you girls need a tiara, or veil and don't want to pay exorbitant full price, i can add to the "garage sale".... let me know if you want pics or know of someone who might be interested.

e - small world indeed, i went to school with ribbit, all the way from SCGS pri and sec through NJC. although we were never really close, it was still a pleasant surprise to meet up on the forum! wah, me envious too, Nice is so Nice! hehehehe... sorry, couldn't resist... wah, 400 people, i dunno how you girls do it... we had our dream wedding of a small cosy 150 "elite" friends and relatives. it was SO worth every minute, coz we got to spend it talking to people more than once. but i totally understand the pushback from parents, don't worry, a big affair can still be loaded with meaning and personal touches!

ok, gotta stop gabbing now, going out for dindin with some friends... see ya later!

maddcow > hey gal !!!! we missed you!! martha stewart real weddings. you flatter me gf. now my head is gonna get too big for me
yes we have to meet up. it's getting hard explaining to people who these best pals of mine are LOL ... hey speaking of garage sales, I have a ton of leftover guestbook sheets from (www.guestbookstore.com) and the pink guestbook cover. The sheets are real cute since its kind of an activity sheet with questions etc. I really enjoyed reading the creative notes our friends left us!! Let me know if anyone is interested.

e ... the girl who looked familiar looked like an acquaintance named xinyi from my sec school. but I might be hallucinating of course haha.

never underestimate the power of the parents heh. if I took out the parent's guestlist, ours would be pretty small too. but we made it up to our close friends and relatives by arranging for an 'after party' in the area outside the ballroom. we hung out till past 3am when everyone was too inebriated to stay up hehe. thinking back the only difference between having 100 guests and 600 guests is the time spent taking table shots (which we didn't want to do but caved in the end) ... but that only lasted 3 courses? the night just flies by *sigh* oh yes did I mention I skipped out on part of the receiving line after the banquet too? heh... I was too busy talking to some of the closer relatives and friends.

Ya the food court is going to London! I read it in the Straits Time!

Ashlee, my email is [email protected]. Thanks.

Maddcow, Thanks for your concern, he's getting better, at least now less painful and recovering.

Snippy, visited the website, so interesting, give us some ideas on what to do. We are making our own guestbook. Would you be able to share some of the sheets as in activity sheets and questions?

wow! There's the US as well the UK! So cool! after reading what you gals wrote, I realise all of you are so young, so I'm more the old auntie here! Ha ha ha...

Dew berry, can send me the pics of the veil? thanks.

I'm looking for organza shawl or cloth to match my WG. anyone selling it?

Dewberry - agree that small wedding is meaningful and memorable. but well unfortunately have no choice.
not an ideal situation... but dun think can find any alternative way of getting around it. sniff.

snippy - dun think there was a xinyi in the group of jiemeis... or at least among the pple i knew who appeared in the video. maybe it's bride's cousin or family or some other friend from another school. which school were you from? oh, need to ask you, how did your guestbook thingie turn out? were most pple receptive to the idea, and how did they respond? how much did it cost you in total? am quite interested in doing sth like that.

maddcow
Really? U want the votive holders? When will u be back in SG? Will check with my mum to see if she's disposed of them, if not, will give them to u. The hotel didn't gimme back the rest of the diamontes. I am sure they din use all but they prob thought it was not worth giving me the bits left.

e
I've been here nearly two years and I totally have no idea where everything is!!! Spicy food is good. I like!

Ok, gotta go home now. Still at office now. Liz, will send u the link tmr k?

Awww - you gals are so sweet, I miss you too...so happy that you are still actively posting after your weddings, please stick around at least till mine's over okay (haha, that's not me, that's my selfish wedding elf speaking)

e - that's a huge party (did snippy say hers 600?)but the good part is you can probably pull your weight when it comes to bargaining. I'm only looking at a 80-100 crowd so I had to work on my charm a bit to get great deals.

ashlee - yeah, if you want to get rid of them. I'll be in Sg only in 2nd week of Dec. Thanks for your generosity (you are such a sweetie) but if there's a lot of them, I'll be happy to pay for them to finance your post-wedding plans too

liz - how's your engagement mass-planning coming along? I like to do my own stuff too - it's a good idea to start early...even though now, I'm second-guessing a lot of my earlier choices

lilo - are you still in Singapore? did you find any outdoor venues/Bridal boutiques?

snippy and dewy - latest is that I'm likely to move to DC mid-fall, so the vote is tilted towards the northeast for now

as for me, I'm putting together my wedding stationery (wedding guides, programs, invitations, maps, favor booklet, escort cards), feeling unsure about my choice of an ivory dress (but Katgrrl assured me of my choice) and designing my veil. And secretly planning a dessert buffet for FH.

lilo did u get my email?

liz> the sheets ask questions like 'how far did you travel from', 'your prediction on the # of kids' etc. u can see the questions and the sheets on the guestbookstore website. Like ashlee we had lots of fun doing lots of diy stuff for the wedding! Read too many issues of martha stewart weddings haha. we made our own programs, confetti, flower girl baskets, etc. and HB did our photo montage.
also made small welcome boxes for our out of town guests. maddcow..better get started on the projects soon gal! oooh another fun guestbook idea would be to have some kind of unfinished pottery piece (plate, vase etc.) and have people sign on it or help decorate.

e ... hrmm probably the wrong person then
I don't remember exactly how much I paid. around US$60 b4 shipping? but the price depends on the number of sheets you want. we used the guestbook at our solemnization in the morning and also at our dinner reception. was really touched by the sweet messages that people left *sniff*. it helped since the questions got their creative juices flowing. of course not everyone filled it out but we were still very happy with what I got.

I still have a substantial number of sheets left and an extra pink portrait cover since I overestimated the number of sheets that would be used.

maddcow > congrats on the new job!!! yipee DC's really nice! Will FH be there too? btw don't worry, i think ivory's gorgeous. choose whatever looks best on you. let us know if there's anything we can help with. I'm sure I echo some of the other ex brides when I say I wanna help plan another wedding. hee. what's on the menu for the dessert buffet?

where's katgrrl btw?

elizabeth - you've got mail! haha, we also considered young ah? no lah... i feel damn old, sigh...

e - aww, girl... don't despair about the large wedding! we'll help you think of ways to make it meaningful and personal, hee hee... this is the perfect forum with our very own score of martha stewarts and colin cowies....

maddcow - felicitations and congratulations on the new job, girl! eh, send more of your positive karma my way... i need to find a new job too, hehehe. don't worry, i'm not going anywhere (other than california!)... i'll try to stick around this forum for a little longer, lend my moral support! agree with snippy, ivory's gorgeous. actually i wasn't brave enough (long story), but if i could do my WG choice over again i would have chosen ivory too. much softer and definitely more flattering to our asian skin tones. and ooh, dessert buffet? do share the planned goodies!

Thanks Dew berry, saw and replied to u already. ai yo! All of u are young. I'm in 72. Who's older? LOL!

Hi Snippy, I saw the website. Beside those, is there any other questions? there've only like two samples. Can share more other questions? Greatly appreciate it.

ashlee, no prob!

Maddcow, Hmmm... still have a few things to look into and to confirm. MUA, lunch buffet to confirm, mass booklet not vetted, must call the priest, altered gown, guest book, speech.... still a lot to do man!

maddcow
Dun be silly. There are only about 100 of them (maybe have lost a few by now), and they are CHEAP. Will check with mum this weekend to see if she's thrown them away first though!

You are such a diy-er! U go girl! Wish I were as organised as u! I wanted to do so much but was too lazy! haha...

Huh? Maddcow got a new job? Where? Did I miss a posting somewhere?! Tell me more girl!

Hi ashlee,

Got yr pictures. Still looking at them. Very nice! You look lovely! Is yr H from UK? How did you get to know him? So are u staying in UK for good? You look sexy in the red gown.

I will post it to you. When FH sent to me via email, some obscene photos was downloaded when I transferred to mine. He was so mad when I told him and he didn't want to use yahoo photos anymore. I only use that for selling stuff. Will invite u to ringo instead but didn't have all the photos though.

still trying to get around the banquet thing. only idea FH and i could think of was to do a buffet lunch thingie after church wedding for all and sundry. then only invite close pple for the intimate dinner thing. but that idea got scrapped cos (1) it's going to cost almost as much having the big thing at night or in the afternoon, (2)it will be as much trouble having na afternoon thing or an evening thing (3) and cos we have no choice but to do a big thing anyway, so no difference whether it's lunch or dinner. looks like we might as well just stick with dinner banquet.

anyone has any ideas on how to make reception after church nice, taking into account the numbers and also the fact that an outdoor thing tho nice may not be very feasible in singapore cos of the weather?...

if can get around that (i.e. have a reception that's presentable enough so that old folks dun complain it's not nice or too cheapo, yet something nice and pretty, and yet not too expensive - i.e. wun make too much of a loss) then maybe i can still have my 2 separate receptions.. =S

wowowooo... today got so many to read!!!

maddcow, me still in s'pore will be back to on 21/8. did drop by to aloha, sentosa, fort canning, hmm... prefer aloha as it allow me to bet my own carter, tentage ect. also consider beaufort. as for bs went to JWN, milan, J&M, ted collection but tomorrow go to visit zion creation which karen recommend heee..ee...

snippy, got ur mail. like ur WG very nice n simple. did u took any studio ps? those small green box, are they wedding favours n what are they? so far i thk u are e most slim brides hee.e.e...

liz, u where got old!!! me going to be 92 soon haha...ha.. .. anyone older then me

hi ladies... lilo ..u are 92?? *giggles* cannot be lah hehehe. anyway age is but a number. Where is aloha btw? Don't think I've heard of it. did you also consider the orchid gardens for your outdoor wedding? I saw some photos from a wedding there and it looks really cute! beaufort is of course gorgeous too (as seen from ribbit's pix). Hey the BS selection process is very exciting!!! Must keep us updated. Which are u leaning towards so far? ... yah the boxes are our favors. it's tea. dewy also used the same thing hehe. I stole her idea *ducks*

Liz> Hehhe unfortunately don't have more suggestions. Can u see all the questions on the website otherwise i can send to u? I was lazy and just bought the sheets to use as is
Realized many guests left the questions blank too, so best not too have too many.

dewy> what's the story behind the ivory gown? kaypoh

e> I had my solemnization at the art musuem in the afternoon. it was our 'private' event where we only invited close friends and relatives. had time to mingle over lunch too. perhaps u can consider swapping it around like we did
btw which church are you using? how about having waiters carrying around trays of horderves. hehe

Snippy:

will be using our own church for ceremony - Queenstown Lutheran. Swapping around is an idea. but then, there will still be problem of duplication of invites/guestlist - cos the closer friends would be invited to the dinner thingie too? also, if have a special lunch thingie for special friends, then how do i politely/tactfully not serve refreshments to others who have attended the church ceremony? that's the dilemma i face...

btw, can i please see your photos too?

wah this place is so happening today! *overwhelmed*

girl - yes, the tea favors were very nice and unique (not to mention cheap & yummy!), most of my guests took more than 1 home! they were fun conversation pieces by themselves, coz of the "pyramid" shaped packaging and they come in silk sachets with a little "leaf" at the end of the string. if you don't want the hassle of ordering from overseas, can still consider making your own - just buy lots of fancy teabags and wrap up, or even make your own bags of tea from loose leaves.

e - sympathize with your dilemna... the only way you can tactfully have a special lunch thingy is to avoid any reception altogether after church (but not advisable, i think...) so you're probably right to either 1) only do a big dinner thingy or 2) have a general reception after the church itself, not play any favorites, and then have the dinner thingy. most people expect church receptions to be simple, so depends on budget, but i do think that a reception after church may not be overly expensive. stick to only a "light tea reception" or limit the variety of foods you serve. i'm sure there are plenty of good places that cater (ard $10 pp or less), and if use no frills caterers, you can just decorate with DIY ideas. as for saving on decorations, try to do things you can reuse in the day and at night (flowers, or ribbons, balloons, etc can all be reused if done right....) how many people are you thinking of having for the church thing?

elizabeth - no problem! hope you find a more suitable veil...

snippy - hmm, the ivory gown story is pretty much my own buyer's remorse... heheh. think i mentioned in my earlier posts that i went WG shopping and was totally blown away by the great deals at bridal warehouses/outlets... well, so i must have tried on like 30 or 40 WGs over the course of the few months it took to come to my decision. and every dress i tried looked way better in ivory than white, coz the softer glow just makes my skin tone look better. white is rather harsh (in most instances).... BUT silly me didn't take my own advice (i shoulda known better!) and i ended up buying a white dress... and then spent the next few months mourning my decision when it was too late to change the order. my WG comes in ivory, but the store didn't have one in stock for me to try on. and because of all the silver crystals and pearl beading on it, i honestly didn't know if it would look as nice on an ivory dress, and didn't wanna take the risk. so i went the safe route and ordered the dress i could see and touch as opposed to one that didn't even have a picture in a catalog. (yeah, duh, for some reason the manufacturer didn't have a sample photo of the dress in the other color - which made me suspect how nice the ivory was)

anyways, long ramble short - my white WG was okay but i don't think i "glowed" in it... hee hee, i kinda regret my white decision and i'll always be thinking of how nice it would have looked in ivory, and now i have a secret penchant for ivory WGs.

phew! okay motormouth me will shut up now...

I'm dying today - had gastric, no one in US knows what "gastric" is...

wow, so many posts.

Dewy, Snippy and ashlee - *
* thanks. job search started through my former boss in DC and then the resume kind of took a life of its own. I am really blessed to know some really kind and generous souls to get the job. the reason for the job? I'm graduating - yay!

Dewy - FH passed along a headhunting company who's pretty good, you need her contact?

e - advice I had in the US had been consistently "do-what-you-want" approach, if you only want to include some people, you may want to move the reception elsewhere and include a 'church reception card' in your invitation so you inform the people you want to invite in advance and not during the ceremony itself? however, being ethnically Chinese, we can't avoid the 'subtlety' of our actions and i rely entirely on my mom to 'tell me off'. i'm not having a church reception but will be having a luncheon at my mom's where the tea ceremony will be held - so all attending the church ceremony will be invited to the luncheon (which I suspect some will decline, weddings are, frankly, kind of boring especially if the bride is too busy to pay attention to everyone). My invite will have banquet invites and then ceremony invites that I will include at my discretion. One great advice I had was to divide the number of minutes by the number of guests for any one event and I'll have an idea of the mins/guest I have - it helps manage my expectations a little bit. Hey, Jackie O didn't have a great time either when she married Kennedy, but she remained a "legendary bride" !

lilo - where's aloha? sounds very hula! - do you know I was a "hula girl" (just someone who poses as a hawaiian girl and serves cocktails) at company's d&ds - haha

liz - can share with me your gown pix? hee vv KPO!

snippy, aloha is at changi and e bunglow is facing sea. orhird garden too far n e rent also quite expensive, ribbi had her weddin there!!! hmm... but she no see her for very long liao hor .... quite good idea, tea leaves better than chocolate make pp fat hahah a.....

dewerry, woowoo u diy ur own favours, is it diffcult?

maddcow, poor u, hope u feel better now! that time i had it in uk too, my hubby told me uk also dunno wat is gastric, they call something else which i forget hee.e..e.. buy e medicine, eat liao also din feel better

Hi Girl, U are so funny! Ha ha ha...

HI Dewberry, I've a veil but it's plain so maybe stick with it instead.

Hi Maddcow, sure. what's yr email?

Hi Snippy, the questions on the website only has two samples pages of questions, so I'm wondering whether there're more questions for the other activity sheets or it's just that two? If there're other questions of other activity sheets, would u email me them to me? Thanks.

Hi e, I understand how u feel. I face the same of the cost as well. Tyring to cut cost and do what's best.

good morning, sunshines! (it's damn early for me here 7am in the office, hehe) been struggling with internet connection troubles at home, so frustrating. but yay, it's Friday!!! woohoo....

maddcow - wow, congrats on the graduation, sounds like the job search process was a breeze! you definitely need to send me your good luck job karma over my way (and yes, please that headhunter's contact would be awesome, i need all the help i can get).... thanks!!!
still got my email? [email protected] hope you feel better, i've tried the whole slew of antacid medication and i still rely on zantac or pepcid ac.... haha yes i think it's just called heartburn or indigestion here - the americans dunno what gastric is (coz i guess they think of a gastric bypass which it's totally so not).

lilo - (should i call you girl, or lilo?) i loved that movie, stitch was soooooo cute, he's kinda like my hubby, hahahah. they make the same sounds and they destroy everything in sight. anyways, actually i didn't make my own tea favors (i bought the same ones as snippy, as they're from the States). but as i know you might not want to deal with overseas shipping, so i suggested DIY tea favors, saw it done on some TV show and it didn't look very difficult, just need to make the packaging look pretty

have a fabulous weekend, girls!

Hallo Girls!!

I am back to say hello again. Sorry lah, been offline for so long.. I hope Madcow's gastric attack has subsided by now - you take care of yerself okay? I have been kinda subdued lately. It was just a tough period cause I was feeling a bit blah (post wedding, too much change etc...) but I am coming back round to my usual cheery and frenetic self. It is so nice to see all of you online even when more or less done with our respective weddings..

You all have a great weekend ahead.

ribbit, did u have ur wedding at beaufort? if yes, can share ur photo?

can call me both, my house in s'pore got papa(24"), mama(15"), child (6"), grandchild(2") stitch
. it belong to my sis n nieces(onli 18mth dunno why love it so much n always snatch my sis)

liz, why u say i funny?

Liz ... there weren't extra questions.

dewy ... your story of the ivory gown reminds me of myself hahah. i keep second guessing my choices and it drives me nuts!!! like the linens to use, the ribbon color. and then I mull over how I should have used something else instead haha. anyway the difference between white and ivory is quite subtle. you don't really notice unless you compare the 2 hehe. I wanted a cream colored gown but alas it didn't go with my yellow skin tone hehe.

maddcow..hope you're feeling better! speaking of medication, it reminds me of this pepto bismol commercial on tv? don't know if you gals have seen it. it's hilarious!!! It goes .... heartburn, indigestion, diarrhoea, ooh pepto bismol!
... hula girl eh? heheh u gotta show us photos *grins* ... btw you have to keep us posted on your invites as well. you're so creative, would love to see what you have up your sleeves hehe. oh btw I have tons of bridal magazines (in style and MS), let me know if you want them

e ... what's your email address? I'll send u the links.

ribbit ... welcome back! know what you mean about the blah feeling. going thru that right now. the low after the wedding high *sigh*

dewy
I'm heading to NY this weekend I'll send you the contact then okay. no lah, it wasn't a breeze, there were a lot of nail-biting moments and head-biting moments (between FH and I). Persevere!

snippy
yes, I'd love the mags! (I'll pay for the postage, since they are going to be really heavy) as for the hula pix - well, maybe some of the company employees would have them, I don't have them and will love to burn any pictures in that era!

okay gotta run! FH is waiting (i.e. nagging)

snippy - what can i say, great minds think alike and all that... hahaha we're just as neurotic as the other. btw, send the mags by USPS media mail... it's way cheaper than the regular parcel rate, which is already quite decent. just make sure to tell them it's all just magazines. hahaha, yes i remember the commercial, it was faarny.

ribbit - welcome back! do poke your head in here once in a while, we old gals are still around, hehehe.... can't seem to stay away. don't worry about the doldrums, you're not alone - it's been 4 mths after my wedding and i'm still feeling low about no more wedding, sigh....

maddcow - thanks! no problem, just send it to me when you have time. hehehe, yes nails i bite too, but lucky FH doesn't live with me to bite heads, LOL....

Girl, no lah, I mean you are humourous about the age! So I say u r funny!

Hi Snippy, no worries. FH n I will think of more questions. Thanks for sharing.

Hi maddcow, Hope you're feeling better.

Hi ladies, getting hook onto the Singapore bride threads!
LOL!

Hello girls
Okay, got more solitary time to write. Thanks for your concern - I know I can always come in here to look for sympathy and comfort *whimper* - I feel better already - thanks. Yes, snippy the pepto bismol ad - haha, i laughed out loud when i saw your post

ribbit - hey *waves*, so glad to see you here - was Nice nice? (a la dewy, can't resist
- you must be pretty sick of this dumb joke)

snippy - ummm, yeah, send via bounded material post, i think you can't send anything with advertisements via media mail (bounded material has about the same rates as media) - remember to bill me please.
and gf, you flatter me - I feel I'm stranded on "Neverneverland" - as in
"never-can-make-a-decision-land", I'll check in with you gals on the progress of my diy projects
(i.e. if you don't find me too self-indulgent)

lilo - yeah, snippy looked really gorgeous, don't you think? in fact, all the brides here exude a lot of charm on their weddings - too bad we are all over the world to meet in real life!

liz - hee, i'll send you an email

snippy and dewy - thanks for assuring me of the ivory dress, it really made me feel much better about my choice. at least now i know i'm not the only gal in perpetual state of indecisiveness. dewy - FH and I can bite each other heads off without being at the same place! You should receive an email from me soon!

maddcow
Congrats on the graduation and the new job!!! Wait, err, I dunno what u graduated from... is it Dr Maddcow now? Sorry I super blur. ;p

Liz
Thanks for the compliments.

Yep, hubs english, but speaks singlish now cos of my influence. hehe...

thanks for the mailing tips ladies
maddcow.. do let me know which issues of MS you have already too so I don't spam you with duplicates hehe. haha the pepto ad is one of my all time tacky favorites. I can't believe they stick out their behinds when they say 'diarrhoea' TMI!!!!

awww lilo, maddcow, you are too generous with the compliments! maddcow do fill us in on the design of your gown. you're having it tailored right?

ashlee ..wah you powderful!!!! can convert him to singlish
hey so how's married life? the same right?? heheh

btw I've got the link to my 100% singaporean wedding video
will send it to u gals. enjoy!

Hi Maddcow, received and replied.

Hi Ashlee, My FH also pick up singlish as well! He said I speak Dutch, he will speak singlish! So funny when he said lah at the end of sentences, like a Singaporean! ha ha ha...

GTG and teach! SIGH!!! DAG! (Bye in Dutch)

snippy
Your video's great!!! But most of it on your hubby... wasted! haha, jokin. Eh, that is one of the funniest gatecrash I've seen, esp the alcohol and the eggs your hubby prepared. And SAM is so pretty... alas, not as pretty as the bride.

Can't wait to see the evening highlights. When will u get them?

Married life, ya lor, same as before. No change at all. No fun one. hehe...

Liz
I bought hubs a Learn Chinese CD, and he gave up on the first chapter. Sigh, if only he can speak mandarin as well as he can swear in hokkien.

girl
Ted Wu's great! He was my first choice but a bit too ex for me... hehe, love his embroidery!

ashlee, not ted wu la ... it ted collection hee..e he..e.ee ted wu i also cant effort too. u hokkien also?

snippy, agreed w ashlee, ur clip look cool. saw few of ur gals clip i realise all very bai bai no one look tan hee.e...

gals, if u need to buy red wine let me know, happen to know one gals whose family selling wine

Hi Snippy, can I also see your video too? Kaypo!

Hi Ashlee, where did you get the CD? I'm looking for you. Yet to check the bookshop here. He kept bugging me to check the price so that if it's more expensive, he'll get the one from Netherlands. He wants to master it before coming down in Nov so he can talk to my dad. I haven't got the time yet. wah! Hokkien! That's something!

girl
Oh... hehe, thot u are talking about Ted Wu. I'm not Hokkien. But mum is. Why leh?

Liz
Err, the one I bought is written by some Chinese lecturers here at Westminster University and I can't remember the name of the series liao. I think Borders might do it. Go check out Borders.
But realistically speaking, dun think it is quite possible to be conversant in a few months, esp when he has no one to speak with at home. And Chinese IS difficult language to learn. So u must mentally prepare him. hehe...

Thanks Ashlee! Plan to check it at borders. He did pick it up a bit. He pretty good at the tone. But I guess it's still a tough language. I'm not good in Chinese myself.

liz
hehe. Good ur fiance's got the flair for language. Mine's useless! hehe. Envious that ur fiance's willing to put in the effort. Hubs just too lazy.

girl
no lah, hubs can only swear those few hokkien profanities I taught him. Hehe. I can only speak broken hokkien.

Hi Ashlee, no lah! He sees me working so hard in Dutch and he feels motivated to do likewise.
I guess coz he likes languages. Probably that's why he wants to learn. For me, I kept complaining how tough Dutch is. It's fun learning it but hopefully, my English won't get worse!