Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

e - i think there was a 'poster' goober grape who had her wedding in conrad - she had a very beautiful wedding, you can search for her post and try to get in touch with her. She's magnanimous too, she'll share pictures with you.

dewy - da... the favor bag indicated the date: New Year's eve
haha.. no lah, can't afford the choos. need to set aside $ to pamper FH since the wedding dress is going to be more expensive than his tux rental. but i like constanca basto, have you gals checked out her stuff? oh thanks for your votes.

another question:
(a) sandals (b) peep-toes or (c) pointy pumps

p.s. i'll be making my s-t-ds this weekend, will 'show & tell' when i'm done

I am new here. Hope to join u ladies in your discussion. Are you ladies all located overseas?

I am in France and managing my wedding which will take place in Spore next year in June/July.

maddcow, like ur veil, sweet n i like laces alots hee.e.e..hee.. i'm crazy over laces, can i have Martha Stewart mags sample? 3.5" shoes!!! so high? actually i went to bs shop i was ask to wear that high too, my plan was to wear flat so easy to walk w heavy gown

snippy n dew, althought i have yet to have mine AD but i already have e feeling that i sure will miss e monments n feeling, crazy right
. maybe u gals can be our wedding planner

e, feeling better today? mine flu doesnt go away sigh .....if u having mtm gown, can ask them to design one for u as it can be used from same fabric to match them.

gals, thanks for sharing ur sources and ideas
kao_love.gif

denisek, welcome!!! yupz, we are all located overseas.

Hi maddcow,

Dunno much about shoes. But I'm wearing a 4 inches for my wedding! They called the shoes Cindy Crawford!
Open toed and pretty pointed though! Want to be as tall as my FH. He's 1.9m and I'm only 1.62m.

Bought it along with my gown, to match the gown at the same time.

wah, lilo and liz, your FHs are so tall! hehe, that's the problem with my typical singaporean male hubby, he's no match for tall handsome strong caucasians!

maddcow - not a fan of peeky toes myself, they look kinda stuffy/old-fashioned to me... but it depends on the dress i guess. i vote sandals, or strappy heels, the pointy toes are super sexy but might get a bit "shiong" to track around in all day, eh? esp since you're gonna have to be on your feet so much... oh yeah which reminds me, i was very loathe to sit much during the day coz i didn't wanna wrinkle my WG, haha what a wuss i am!

lilo - ooh, now don't tempt me, i already want to take over other people's weddings, haha! no but seriously... that's partly why i'm still hanging around i guess... to live through you girls' wedding experiences!

denisek - welcome to the mad bridezilla forum, we're all overseas so we're doubly crazed about the little details we can't see/touch/smell
so, do tell us about your "wedding prep status", what items have you decided on and what else you're working on now?

have a FABULOUS weekend, y'all.... i'm so happy it's Friday, woohoo!

No lah dewberry! Beauty is the eye of the beholder. He is not the handsome stunning caucasians like the models that sweep women off their feet. But to me, he is charming in my eyes lor!
LOL! My Goddaughter's husband calls him gentle giant! Ha ha ha!

Hello people

argh, totally unproductive this weekend (workwise) but got my s-t-ds 'prototype' done and bought cardstock for my after-wedding 'kolo' albums for my relatives (20cents for 2 albums - cheap!)

here's the s-t-d, i've not printed the words yet, please spare no mercy - comments welcome

colors a little off, but it's basically light orange and creamy ivory...a beaded book thong is attached

*waves* hello denisek, come in and make yourself comfy - nothing is too trivial here in this thread

Hi maddcow, I saw your pic of the favour bag your FMIL sewed, is your FH an Italian? sorry, just chanced apon this thread and have not read the earlier postings.

lilo
sorry for the late reply - i was in a zealous mode to rid myself of wedding planning. in fact, i cleaned out my apartment and stored all magazines, swatches and cardstock away.
s-t-ds = save the date cards. i never heard of them until i received one from my friend, it's a new invention i think, by stationers who wanted to make more $$$ (haha) but it's a useful card to notify guests that you have an upcoming wedding and that they will be invited to the wedding. It helps because we have relatives here in the States as well as the fact that I've not seen most of my guests for like, 6 years. It's just a thoughtful gesture especially when my wedding falls on new year's eve and i expect people to have travel plans.

right now, i'm done with designing (website included) and am focussing on communicating with my siblings and mother as well as FMIL. I slowly feel that the wedding is drawing near and I don't want to miss out on the psychological aspect of it. come october, i'll have to
(a) create photographer's shot list and include pictures that highlight what i like
(b) decide on hor d'oevres and some non-cake for the wedding (!)
(c) choose favors

so till then, tata!

just back from long weekend away. we had bank holiday here in uk so made a quick trip to stockholm. so expensive! but a very pretty and clean city.

dewberry
yup, received the link. thanks lots! the decor is very beautiful! FH was impressed too. did it cost alot?

maddcow
managed to establish contact with goobergrape. and gotten some contacts and pics from her.

your s-t-ds are lovely! have you seen snippy's? hers are real cute too.

denisek
hellos! welcome!! feel free to post anything. i'm rather new myself, but despite being around only a short time, i've found all the girls here to be real frenly!!

btw girls, my AD is most likely 2 Sept. i'd initially already decided for sure that i wanted the 16th already. but then now wedding coordinator told me that the IMF conference is going to be held that week and the security will be super tight and room occupancy will be very high. unlikely to get upgrades, extra room for helpers, and getting thru security will be a hassle, plus limited parking, etc, etc.... sigh. if i knew i'd have saved lotsa deliberating and heartache lah... and confirmed 2nd Sept right at the start.

But well, now that the date is more or less settled, i can get down to fretting about nitty gritty little details! heh...

hiya all! we got long weekend over here coming up too, and i'm taking off extra early on Thurs to go to CA, woohoo!

e - glad to see you back and feeling better!
congrats on settling the date, now you can obsess about the other details, kekeke. thanks for the compliments, yes we basically put the bulk of our wedding budget into the decor... the rest of the wedding was cheapo digs (budget gown from bridal warehouse, can you believe it!) haha, lucky no one noticed any crooked seams or what not. ha!

ohhh, maddcow, i'm sorry i forgot to dig up the woodsville pricing info for you. well, since e mentioned it here, i'll shock you all with the costs of the decor...

we had 11 tables, ended up something like:
- 11 table designs (centrepiece, runners, chairs) = 2200
- 6 ceremony room topiaries = 1200 (these pedestals were reused in the dinner room)
- stage decor = 600
- room drapes/swags/etc = 2000
- cocktail area (more drapes, cake table + misc) = 800
+++ other miscellaneous GST, etc
total was about 7000 (ouch!)

good thing was that we got some items free: the bridal bouquet, corsages, cheongsam hairpiece, and 5 or 6 large floral/candle arrangements for reception area.

maddcow> your std's look really cute! did u design them yourself? erhmm though I'm not really sure what's part of the card and what's the bookmark. anyway i like the idea of the chinese knot? very apt
I have another cool idea for s-t-ds if anyone's interested. I've seen people send pencils tied together with a tag that says 'pencil it in ..we're getting married' haha ... cute huh?

e ... good choice on the sept 2nd! at least u got prior warning about the conference. on our wedding day there were road closures for the stupid national day rehearsal. I mean like how often do you have to have the *#!*# rehersal right? and all the roads surrounding the ritz area were closed. it was definitely a problem for a lot of our guests. luckily i was happily oblivious till the event was over hah.

dewy ... at least the flowers were gorgeous and well captured in the photos (hah) totally worth the cost
..have fun in CA! I'll be heading down to nyc myself for the long weekend and paying exhorbitant prices on gas. maddcow..what ya up to?

hello everyone

wow, seems like you ladies are quite ready for your wedding plans. I am far from that! Getting stresed stressed! I have nothing really confirmed just that I know how many guests I will have. terrible...

By the way are all your weddings next year?

Madcow I really like your card. Did you design them yourself?

I find it rather difficult to organise my wedding in Spore from overseas. Everything is via pixs from internet. Deciding the venue is also quite problematic since we can't really view the function room but just through the hotel's website. Did you ladies decide on the venue through pixs on the internet or were you ladies back in Spore recently to confirm everything?

dewberry
wow... dun think i can afford so much on decor...

lilo
thanks for keeping an eye out. i went to take a look leh, but nothing for my date. only hvae december this year and june 2006. sniff. but nvrmd lah. i'm ok with 2nd sept. and i'm put on cancellation list for 9th sept, so if on the off-chance that they cancel, i'll get 9th sept at no penalty.

denisek, me went back s'pore during june to shrtlist few venues n bs and go uk to discuss w my hubby so can cut short e time. by next yr cny we hope can finalist on e venues n bs.

dewberry, i din know all those deco can cost so much

e, maybe u can ask that person if e date can be change

denisek

I totally relate to that! I felt exactly the same about not being able to see the venue, the decor, etc... And pictures provided by the venue will of course always look different/better than it really is. Plus I'm super control freak. But i had no choice, otherwise will not be able to get my dates. So I had to trust FH on his taste. It was also partly by elimination of venues based on capacity, and price that we finally decided. Even then, we couldn't get our first choice date.

Maybe you could get a trusted friend or your parents to go down and take a look. someone you trust to give you unbiased feedback/comments?

My FH has come up with a table of comparison of venues, which he sent to me to help me get an idea of the packages and perks. If you want I can send that to you. Just let me know your email addy.

Hi E

Thanks so much for offering to send me the chart of comparisons. It would be definitely very helpful! My email is [email protected].

Me too, we had quite limited venues due to our capacity. We only have 100 guests, hence many hotels don't even accept it due to their min capacity. How many guests do you have? Do you have a very huge guests list or it's just like mine, a smaller wedding?

So is you FH in Singapore? You are located in the UK?

Yes I am getting a close friend to help me out with sourcing for some venues. But can't really bother her too much too as she's also quite tied up with work. So I still need to rely on pixs and internet for the time being... :-(

girls - yeah, i admit my decor costs was quite over-the-top.... don't hate me! hehehe, but honestly, the total wasn't so bad coz we really cut down on other parts.

denisek and e - yes, agree that it's a big challenge to make choices remotely, and the biggest item is the venue. i made a shortlist of venues and got people to go down and meet with each coordinator, as well as take photos of all the "raw" undecorated rooms to get a feel for the space. then i planned 1 trip back to view the shortlisted places and basically made final choices on everything to sign the contracts needed.

it definitely helps to have someone go down and give you their opinion, etc... but bear in mind not to get even more confused, as you may have different style/ideas than they do. try not to get sucked in on "what's popular with singapore weddings" these days, and really consider what you and your FH wants, likes, prefers, etc. ultimately, practicality and honest comfort level about the choices you make will be way more important than what other people thinks... it's YOUR wedding, after all!

maddcow - ooh, your STDs are cute, i like the book thong idea. we didn't do STDs (another cost i saved), coz most singaporeans still haven't quite caught on to the idea yet.... but if i had more overseas guests, it would have been a nice DIY project. can't wait to hear more about your progress!

alrighty, heading to the airport now... catchya guys later. 'toodles for now! *waves*

deniseK - saw you online at the same time.... hihi! i also had 100 guests, and i thought it was a nice cosy size to be able to talk and interact with everyone.... what venues are you considering? i can probably help with some opinions, since i've done the same scouring for venues to hold that size people. let me know what your intended style/food/ambience is, and i can try to help!!!

alrighty, REALLY gotta run now... ciao bellas!

denisek - ummm, i think that over time, i've come to realize that planning remotely is really different and I just have to trust someone to run the errands for me. but i'm pretty nonchalant about venues as i have that can-do-(call it crazy)-whatever-the-venue-is-i-can-make-it-gorgeous mentality. i've never seen my venue only saw it through pictures but then again, the reception is not really for FH nor me, it's more for our friends and relatives and those who made the reconnaissance gave me their thumbs up -I chose Raffles which I've have had good experiences with, so the choice was pretty simple for us. I have around 100 guests too. It's easier, it allows us to splurge on stuff that can't be afforded in bigger weddings and also to personalize a lot more. I contacted the usual suspects out there: Four Seasons, Beaufort, Ritz-Carlton, Shangri-la and all allowed 100 guests. Ritz and Shangri-la were the only serious contenders; Beaufort is slow in response when I was dealing with them and Four Seasons refused to give me a a min of 80 guests (they wanted min of 100).

thanks gals, you gals are too sweet. Um, yeah, it's an original design by yours truly
. I think it's too 'frilly' and am thinking of replacing the ribbon bookthong with a gold twine bookthong instead (it looks like a voodoo doll don't you think?). A little dissection:
The card has fancy-corners and will state the date, the bookthong is the chinese-knot thing that wraps around a pearlescent paper which folds up like an inner envelope (star-gate fold). so my s-t-d is like a little present. The brown thing is just a sash/band made of gold vellum and some chinoiserie prints. We are enclosing little hand-written notes in them with onionskins (which is almost nonexistent in the US, I finally found it in the campus bookstore). ooookkkkaaayyyy, i got to stop obsessing. it's so good to bounce off ideas here
love you gals!

Do all of u have MSN? So far I've chat with lilo, saw e online but hasn't got the chance to talk to u. Hope to see all of u there. My msn is [email protected].

Want to share with all of u some ideas but can't download photos onto the yahoo. SIGH!!! Will try to upload here to share with all of u later. Cheers! Have a great weekend!

Hi Dewberry

Thanks for offering me with suggestions. I looked at only a few hotels for the moment, like Beaufort which we both like the place (but I am afraid that it might incovenience my relatives), Copthorn Waterfront & Regent. I checked with Four Seasons and they told me they need min 120 guests...So I thought I am quite stuck until I realised from this treat that there are quite a number of us here who have almost the same number of guests like mine.

We would prefer to have a cocktail outdoors and then indoors for the wedding banquet. The food should be chinese and was thinking of having dessert as a buffet but not sure if hotels do that. And, we would have some dancing for our friends after the dinner.

Where are you having your wedding? And when is your actual day?

hi denisek,

beaufort i also is one of my shorlist venue if u want the package i can send u a copy. the place sound great when e staff discribe to me over e phone . i cant remember abt left or right of e ballroom but one side is facing south china sea and e other is facing garden, they have balcony for guest to chat b4 e dinner start hmm ... that's all i can remember. i will make a trip down when i go back jan 06 can share e pix w you

hi Madcow, I wished I could have your same mentality with the 'can-do whatever-the-venue-is-i-can-make-it-gorgeous mentality'! It does help so that you are not too stressed out!

Raffles is beautiful, like the nice colonnial style but its a bit too pricy for our budget unfortunately. However, I was just wondering if you could email to me your package at Ritz and Shangri-la please? Just to have a look and how much is their package as I didn't know they accept smaller weddings. My email address is [email protected]. Thanks!

Hi girl, thanks I do have the package of Beaufort. I think its the grand ballroom - Grand Salon that is facing the south china sea and the smaller ballroom has a facing gerden plus the balcony which you can for cocktail too. I requested for them to send me pixs and I have the pixs of the smaller ballroom without setup. I wanted to have a look at their wedding setup pixs but they did not have it at that time. If you want, I could also send you the pixs that I have of their ballroom.

Yes, if you have any pixs, please do share it with me. Thanks!

When is your AD by the way?

denisek, why u got pix from them
, i asked them but they say dont have any
, who is e person reponse to your email? can i have a pix send to [email protected], sorry i dont have any with me.
aiyo .. u old liao, yesterday u i thought u ask me over msn
, it at 2007

Just to share with you this angel doll I learnt from a friend. Going to use it at the receptin table. Behind is the angbao box, made from recycled box and wrapping paper with hearts. The angel is going to sit on the ang bao box and hold two hearts with our names (which I painted and did it myself, only completed one so far) on it.

309192.jpg

Hi Girl - So you are the one I spoke to over MSN? alamak,I didn't know its your nickname here. sorry sorry!

I shall send you the pix but its 'raw' shots of the ballroom without any setup at all. This is the smaller ballroom. I shall email it to you.

Thanks for the suggestion at Flutes. I shall email them about some enquires. Looks nice the pixs that they have on their website. Have you been there before?

Hi Elizabeth, the doll u did looks nice. You really look all well-prepared! Bravo!

Have a good weekend everyone!

Hi Denise,

Both my FH n I like to DIY, fun, personal n save cost.
We did our invitation card and bookmarks to give to our friends as engagment favours. Most won't be able to go for my wedding. Have to think of something. Yet to confirm a few things though. Busy selling off things to clear my stuff before moving. HEADACHES!!! LOL!

After searching and scratching over my head over MUA, my aunt could actually do make-up for me. Yipee!
Thank God for always providing! So great!

denisek, it e same guy as you, hmm... next time i drop him email will scold him
, over e phone w him can say he is a nice guy. he onli give u 3photos only, when he send u e one w deco on e ball can u forward one copy to me too

many posts since i last came by!

denisek:
i'm in London, FH back in Singapore but i will be home in November.
Try Four Seasons East Windows. It's on 20th floor, pool terrace and balcony for your cocktails. Guests can proceed into airconditioned room for dinner.

Liz
your angel looks so sweet!
did it take long to make?and is your other angel going to be a boy-angel? ;)

maddcow
I vote for gold twine! and also strappy sandals.

dewberry
how was your holiday?? I wanna go CA too...sniff... was supposed to go with FH to Monterey, Napa Valley, etc.. but got posted to London instead. sigh. where in CA are you visiting?

Hi e,

Thank u! Haven't tried on my own. The angel was done with the guidance of her. Basically not too difficult if you've a sweing machine. That's a good idea! Probably for wedding instead.
I will attempt the boy angel maybe.

oh e, thanks. i went with your vote, the gold twine, and the effect was divine - it changed the look of the s-t-ds and now i'm thoroughly pleased! (well, it doesn't look like a chinese knot now but still looks like a knot!)

oh liz, do share with us more on your creative ideas

denisek, i have to say i need to eat my words
, i was writing up my floral plans and realized that all were in my imagination (haha), i simply documented my ideas and hope the florist will make out my vision! If you are interested in the picture doc that i'm sending to the florist, let me know ? need to warn you though, it's around 3 mb

Hello girls!

Wow this thread is buzzing! Was away for sometime but am back again with big hugs and kisses to you all.

Just came in from 3 weeks on along the rugged northern coastlines of France. We decided to do postpone honeymoon to October/ November instead - in Asia, but still dunno which destination. Anyone have any bright ideas?

Ashlee and Lilo - come to Turin and visit whenever you want. Am pretty free now because waiting for job interviews in early October. Got Italian classes everyday though!

DeniseK -Saw your post on Beaufort (now called The Sentosa) - I had my wedding there too, so I have photos which you can look at if you like. They only have 1 main wedding coordinator Lee Sun Sun, if she is still there I can tell you she is pretty good, so just email her.

ribbit, e will also join in if our time can match. me also interested in beaufort, u did not saw my post
, can u share w me ur photos? sunsun no more with them liao, now is new guy. any comments on them to share?

Hi Ribbit, welcome back. Oh you were along the northern coastlines of France too? I was recently there too for our short 1 week holiday in early Aug. Hope the weather was good for you! I was pretty tanned after I am back. Were you in Britanny?

Yes, I have quite a lot of ideas on honey destinations in Asia! I worked in this trade and me and my FH are going to do our honeymoon in Asia too. However, it depends on what you guys prefer - somewhere you could just laze around the beach and do nothing or you guys prefer some slight seeing? You could go to Bali Four Seasons, very romantic, plus I love the shopping in Bali, mainly Ubud (very cheap & nice!) or Banyan Tree Phuket (but a bit pricy). I find the Kuta beache too commercialised, filled with too many beach bumps, hence Ubud is a better choice with lots of culture & handicrafts. You could even buy stuff to decorate your home at very good bargains.

Alternatively if you like sight seeing (with quite some walking), I would recommend Cambodia, Myanmar or Vietnam. Or even Japan if budget allows! You could finish Cambodia within 4 days and then move on to Myanmar or Vietnam.

Hope it helps!

Oh yes, some photos on your wedding at The Sentosa would definitely be very helpful for me. I am quite desperate for pixs at The Sentosa since their wedding coordinator have none! could you send it to me at [email protected] please. Thanks heaps! Its really a great help!

I had liaised with Josiah cos I think Sun Sun had just left. He's been pretty prompt with my requests but just no pixs! So not very easy for me to convince our choice without more 'concrete evidence'.

So you are based in Turin? Must be a very nice place..Did you did some travelling within Italy?

Hi madcow

have you any pixs on your latest self design card too? I am sure it looks great just like the previous!

I shall try to free up my yahoo. Yes please do email me your picture doc. Its always nice to see what you ladies are doing for your wedding. Great creativities!

My email is [email protected]. Thanks!

hello DeniseK

Yes, we drove from the Opal coast to Normandy to Bretagne, and then picked up some Italian friends who were joining us in Paris, and finished in Lille for the Braderie 2005. The crappy thing about being in Turin is that I think I am losing my French because I don't speak it anymore, so the holiday was good to practice again.

I may need you to give me a bigger email address than yahoo, because the photos are pretty huge. but i will see what i can do. Sending you email now.. Actually you can also ask E on her opinion on Sentosa, because we know each other offline, and she actually attended both Singapore and France weddings (sorry E you have been "outed" online)..

I would also be interested to hear her honest feedback on both weddings, because I am helping my cousin plan his wedding also.

Okaylah - sorry for long post, will shut up and just sign off with big froggy kisses for all (BUT I LOVE THE CHOCOLATE FROG IDEA for obviously biased reasons)

Okay girls I have given up trying to send photos becos they are too large (they just bounced back from Denise), so I will just put my wedding website online and pple can just look at them, and hopefully say something nice in the guestbook.

Girl and DeniseK - go to the Singapore Wedding page on our website to look at the Beaufort photos.

www.sharonandfabien.weddingwindow.com

Actually I just went back to the singapore wedding pages (22 Jan 2005) and I realised that it doesn't show that much of the venue in a meaningful way, so I am going to explain abit about our Sentosa wedding (sorry long post!) For anyone else who is interested, our French wedding photos are there on the website too...

1) there are some photos of the ginger terrace at our solemnisation ceremony. You can request the set-up in advance, and they will have a wet- weather plan. You can save the $1000 booking fee on the ginger terrace (i know we did!) by saying you will do a "standby" booking. This means that you do not pay to provisionally book it, and ONLY if someone else wants to pay to book it for your wedding day, then the wedding planner will first phone you, and then at that time you can decide whether you want to make a firm booking and pay the $1000. It depends a bit on luck, but nobody fought with us for the terrace on that day, and we had lovely weather.

2) the dinner we took the bigger ballroom (forgot what it is called) and you can set it up with a choice of flowers from the standard package - i think it is daisy, gerbera or calla lily. Since my wedding had a white and orange theme, we used calla lily and sliced oranges (also for the scent)

3) Since both my family and my husband's family do not live in Singapore, so we booked a villa and did all the tea ceremony and door bargaining there on the day itself. If you want a good view of the villa, go to the "videos singapore" page and you will see the groomsmen being very silly. However you need to download quicktime to see it.

4) the only thing about our Sentosa experience which i was upset about eventually was the Spa Botanica (grrr) makes me mad again just thinking about them! Basically they are a bit of a rip off... however everything else on Sentosa was pretty great.

email me if you have any questions/comments/problems! [email protected]

Hi Ribbit

I have checked out your wedding site. Thanks! Its so professionally done! did you guys did it yourself?

Looks very fun and interesting! Thanks for your detailed explanation too on your experience at the Sentosa resort. I have a much clearer idea now if I were to hold my wedding there.

By the way, I just have a concern pertaining to a wedding there. Do you have much problems for your relatives to get to Sentosa? Do they use the Sentosa bus transfers or they basically all have a car to get into the island? My mum is not very supportive as she is worried about relatives not very keen to attend the wedding there as it might not be very convenient to go and to leave the place. I thought of hiring a bus specially for them, mainly after the event ends.

By the way, coincidentally my FH is french too. And I am currently living in Paris. Will you be coming to Paris anytime soon? Maybe we could meet up!

hi ribbir,

thanks for ur photos, like your website. did u design yourself? did u ask for additional floral along e walkway when u march -in, it look great as it was never see so many in any dinner i attended. like ur lion dance idea too hehe...ee..

Denisek, hope my parents dont against my idea as i yet to speak to them where i want changi aloha is more wu lu .... i got lost when i went to view e place alone. hope it will not exceed my budget if not next choice will be e same as u :p