Anyone planning their weddings from overseas?

ribbit, hope u your friend feel better. i was quite worried when i heard e news as i got a friend stay london too, lucky she din go out.

Done it, done it!!!!

Now honeymooning in Koh Samui so gotta keep this short...

Katgrrl, thanks for offering to help. Yep, it was manic. And I broke down twice last week as I was too stressed out with the preps. Now I am ok liao. haha, in fact I was ok on the AD and wasn't bothered by anything at all. haha.
Congrats to u too gal. Have you changed your name on your IC yet? It was much easier than I thought it would be! hehe...

Snippy
Will PM you my mobile no. And if you are free next week, we meet up for coffee? Hope it is not going to be as stressful for you as it was for me. Best of luck gal.

Madcow
Sorry, haven't been able to reply your email. I promise I'll be good and reply as soon as I get back to Sg. And show u the photos taken at East India Rooms. (er, yours is Ballroom right?)
It was quite beautiful for us. Of cos my parents were complaining about the food lah, but that is just typical of them as the rest of the guests thought it was great.

Re London Bombing... can't believe how lucky we are. It could easily be us... we get in from Liverpool Street (not Aldgate way though). Still counting our blessings and hoping the best for Londoners.

hi ladies! just got in last night past midnight. can't sleep so i'm up at 8am typing this for once. not usually a morning person! am so glad that most of you weren't in london when the bombings happened. so awful ... wish we could go back to the pre 9/11 days ..

ashlee> when are you coming back? hope you're having a blast!! sun sea sand .... though the addict in us doesn't let us do without internet access even while on vacation eh?
been a mad rush since the week before we left, packing, cleaning and sending the dog to her breeder. i'm starting to miss her already *sniffs* ..yah lah drama I know.

katgrrl thanks for the MUA and mani contacts. I might check it out this week before my PS... will email you guys my new cell phone number when I get a SIM card. hopefully it'll work with my totally unchic phone hahah
... how about we meet up when ashlee is back next week? lilo? game?

maddcow! enjoy your weekend with your sweetie
all the talk about cheese cake is making me really hungry. gonna go raid the fridge now hehe....

dewy> don't know if you still read the thread. you must!!!! lol ... but your exam is over now!!!!! yipeee!!!! congrats ...I'm sure you aced it!!!

Snippy
enjoy the ride counting down and getting last minute errands done! good to hear your perky 'voice' again

Ashlee
Best wishes again. I'm sure your EIR wedding was gorgeous. Enjoy your honeymoon *blows a kiss*

Ribbit, Ashlee and Lilo
Hope you gals are feeling okay - it can be unnerving with your friends and cities so close to London. It's a sad fact that nothing can stop such attacks.

Katgrrl - you got mail! urgh, the fact that you gals are meeting up awoke the green-eyed monster in me grrrrrlllll!

snippy, me free free so any time is fine w me as long din clash w other appt
. do u have email so i can send u my mobile no. hmm... u having ur AD or only back for PS?

ashlee, congrats!! dun just enjoy ur honeymoon n forget to make babies ....

gals, any advise what are e stuff needed when come to OD dinner beside tentage, carter?

Hi KatGrrl,

Congratulations!!! The cake looks divine!!!!

Can I have a show of hands of who will be in SG over the period of 29/7 - 4/8? I'll be there to finalise the reception details and meet up with the printer. I would love to take that chance to meet whoever that's in SG!!! Send me your contact to [email protected]...

Let me know and we'll organise something!!!

Latest update from me re wedding planning...
1. Got a DJ for Sydney reception - $285 for 5 hours EXCLUDING setting up/pack up time... and he's a bilingual DJ which means he can also be the MC for the night as well
2. Got the organist to play the pipe organ at church... now looking for a soloist... any suggestion whether I should get a tenor or a soprano? But they don't come cheap... $200 per service!!! Wrote up the order of service... going to discuss with the Pastor hopefully over the next few weeks...
3. Plan to go to Melacca on the 30/7... see if I can find a nice Peranakan Kebaya to wear at the reception...
4. Booked my freelance videographer for SG reception... his work looks really good and he charges quite reasonable... and in order to make it more fun... he'll get us a presenter who will go around during the cocktail hours and interview guests...
5. Try to confirm the guest list...
6. Confirm the design of the cake... my colleague is making it as my wedding pressie!!
7. Got my gf to be the bridal shower hostess...

Here's the cake...

297834.jpg

ooh! aaah! lovely cake, makes me weep with happy tears for you! i know it's just a picture, but that fabulous pewter cake stand looks so gorgeous, i wish i had found it before my wedding! hahahaha.... absolutely lovely.

congrats on your to-do list.... sounds like you're making GREAT progress! so sad i won't be there to share in the gathering, but i hope you all have loads of FUN!

hi ladies, haven't forgotten about you all! its been mad busy for us. I'm actually glad we came back 3 weeks before the wedding which leaves us some time to wrap stuff up. We did our photoshoot last week. It was kind of a bummer since it rained during the day and FH had to hold up my skirt to knee height as I hobbled around. haha not very glamorous at all. I also ended up wearing casual heels (even though they totally didn't match haha) rather than my stilettos during the outdoor shoot. I would actualy recommend that since there is no way I can climb up and down grassy hills in those. Hopefully the pics will turn out ok. *crosses fingers* ... I have some photos from my trial make up if anyone is interested

karen gorgeous cake!!! I don't think we'll get to meet up since we're leaving for our Bali honeymoon right after the wedding on the 30th and then return to the states (noooo). btw the pipe organ sounds really nice!

ashlee... you still in singapore?

ps..any harry potter fans around?
tho I've only had time to read 1 page!

Karen - great productivity and I love the cake too. Btw, I think you got really good deals on your stuff - sorry no contact on the soloist but I have contacts to a capella singers and many of them are soloists, let me know if you are interested.

Lilo - um, I'm not too sure about outdoor dinners, but as a guest, I would expect the following: (a) great bathrooms, (b) no mosquitoes or other bugs near my food (c) some kind of air circulation to counter the muggy climate. I think you need to think about lighting, power supply, sound, seating and contingency plans in case it rains. Also, if it's outdoorsy, it would be nice to advise guests that it's okay to dress casual. But I think it's better to talk to someone who's done it before. I once attended a wedding buffet dinner at SAM and there wasn't enuf seating so I had to balance my dinner plate and my wine glass and napkin and at the same time get a grip while sitting on the edge of the fountain. It was a great business function though (it was an ex-colleague's wedding and majority of the guests are business associates), as I get to talk to people.

Snippy
I saw your pictures! Hee, I've sent you my comments: you look faaaaabulous, honey! oh, did the photographer take a shot of FH holding your skirt up - so cute: "To Have and To Hold"

Oh, I need info/advice on tux rentals/tailoring... does anyone know where I can get those (bridal shops/tailors) and what's the turnaround time? I need tuxes for my groom and groomsmen.

Hey Maddcow - maybe you can take a look at this:
http://www.cyccustomshop.com/

Suggest that you encourage the groom and his party to tailor their shirts (inexpensive in pretty fast in Singpaore) and rent the tuxes. Not sure where to rent tuxes in Singapore - didn't use them because we had a pretty "leh-pak" Singapore wedding...

Thanks Ribbit

How's it going at your end of the world? Oh, did you mention going on a honeymoon? Whereto art thou?

Hey!! Just a note to CYC. I had a tailor made shirt done there 2 years ago and was not happy AT ALL!!! I think the problem is that an inexperienced sales was doing the measurement and he actually wrote down the WRONG description of how I want the shirt and all that. So make sure that you get the uncle to do your measurement. I ended up went back for like 3 times and still couldn't get it right. It ended up stuffed somewhere in my wardrobe!!! $100 wasted!!! =-(

Finally managed to upload some of our wedding photos on the web...
Anyone interested to see? Hehe... me a bit narcissistic. hehe...

madcow
er, how did u get the link? hehe...
Thanks for the compliment! I'm sure u'll look ten times better than I did.

How's prep so far? Who's ur co-ordinator @ raffles? Heard Sharul has just quit.

how funny sharul is at the ritz now haha i just met him at our food tasting. he's really sweet. and ashlee u looked super gorgeous!!!!! you changed your cheongsam? it looks even nicer than the one you showed me. the date is creeping up i gotta run now but talk to you girls soon!!!

snippy
Hehe, thanks for compliment. But it is standard procedure to tell every bride they look gorgeous right... haha! Nice to hear, still. ;p
No lah, never change CS. Mum says it is not worth altering as the size is way off. So I got another one from the bridal boutique lor.

Aww... one more week eh??? U must be so excited! Try to log on every now and then and do us a bit of update? Dun get as stressed out as I did ok?

ashlee

where are you now? Sin still? as for the link, i'm a psychic - didn't i tell you? no lah - you sent me the link some time back, so I just guessed that the pictures will be uploaded there. what standard procedure - how many times must i tell you that you look really pretty? my coordinator is Jenn but she'll be going on her maternity leave on my wedding - so i think someone named Agnes will take charge. I haven't really done much except sniffing out bargain deals for fabrics for my dress. and trying to look for tuxes for FH.

karen, thanks for your comments on cyc. how's your prep so far?

snippy - woowhee...counting down for you!

ashlee *kabish* heheh agree with maddcow told u so many times already!! you look gorgeous...no kidding.and really slim and tall too hrrmp. your EG was spectacular hee. *whistles*

gotta go print our programs today. oh and see our proofs from our PS!! hope they look good *grumbles* hehe. and our rehersal at the ritz is today too.

ashlee, u are back from ur honeymoon. can i see ur photo also?

snippy, ur ad comin soon too?

gals, are we meetin? me going to manchester on 14/8

madcow + snippy
aww... u gals r so sweet! Thank u 4 ur very kind compliments.
But as I said b4 lor, u gals will no doubt look at least 10 times prettier than me (hmph!), shall try not 2b jealous when I see ur wedding photos!

snippy
tall, maybe; but me, slim?? If only I can be as slim as u & madcow! Me plump all my life. Enough abt me! 3more days right?! Nervous yet? How r the PS photos? Decided on hairstyle yet? Remember to get fresh, pretty flowers from your florist for ur hair (dun be blur like me & forget!)
Oh, n say hi to xy 4 me!

madcow
Jenn was our co-ord too. I met Agnes only v briefly on our AD as she took charge of the morning solemnisation ceremony. She looked alright.

Back in UK for more than a week now. Started new job this week, so it's been quite fun.
Where r u gonna get fabric from? US or Sg?

ashlee

wow, that's fast back at work already? I'm getting fabrics here in the States from wholesalers - prices in Singapore (where my mom lives) and France (where my sister lives) are much higher - but I've devoted way too much time to seek them out - besides, I'm doing it all by online sales - haha, so I'm always antsy before receiving my lace and fabrics but so far so good - a lot of them have swatch service.

gals, need suggestions: (hee)
I'm thinking of having a small dessert buffet (a sweet surprise for FH) on top of red-dates and lotus seed 'tng' (my mom vetoed my proposal to strike that off the menu): I'm thinking of Italian and French biscuits and sweets - any suggestions?

hi ashlee,
do u miss ur fun on ur ad? u n ur mum look like sis, of course not u look old la ... is ur mum look young
my hubby thought of havin camera on every table just like yours. do ur guest used them, as i'm afraid it might not works for s'porean

maddcow
I am sure the fabric/lace hunt is worth the time and effort. Your gown's gonna be exactly how u want it and it'll definitely mean more to u. Must show us end product once it is done ok???
Almond Biscotti!!! (is that how u spell it?) That is my favourite and hehe, the only Italian biscuit (oops, is it Italian?) I can think of. When and where are u having the buffet?

Girl
My mum looks like my sis? Sure or not?? She is quite old leh. But she is chubby like me. hehe...
We had ten disposable cameras, one on each table. At the end of the night, only seven left (my uncles took some, thinking it was free from the hotel! Urgh!) And out of the seven, only a little more than half turn out alright, because the flash button was too difficult for them to use! haha...
I think it is a good idea lor, at least gives them something to do. Used to dislike going to wedding dinners as I get bored easily. hehe. We also bought some Wedding Trivia (cards with questions relating to weddings) for the tables. But friends all complain it is too hard and questions dun apply to Singapore (bought at Confetti, you see).
I'd say, go for the cameras, they will get many interesting shots that the photographer won't be able to capture.

maddcow, u buying ur lace n ask who make? i ask one of e bs in jb say s'pore got sell in arab st but yet to go down find. where did your mum source from?

ashlee, i know ur mum is old (actually age should be 50-60yr is it)but she look young like 40plus.
will keep that idea in mind. do u know which to source for lace for gown in uk?

gals, after getting yours AD remember still login hor ... me need alots of ideas n help from u all as i'm very blur n fickle

ashlee
thanks - aww, i forgot you get to cuddle your ashlee once again... was she whiny? thanks for the biscotti idea (yeah, italian) - i'll incorporate that!

lilo - yeah, i think it was arab street. Katgrrl and Snippy both got their laces there I think. If you are thinking of a full-lace gown, invest in good lace - they look phenomenal. For the cameras, the people here attached a little note tied to the camera to ask guests to leave the camera behind after the wedding - you might want to consider that. I heard good reviews about doing this because it's fun but most of the pictures did not turn out good since these cameras are recycled - so you have to choose carefully (I think I have a list of recommended camera(s)) - I'll get back to you if you are interested.

maddcow
She just got really excited, tried to lick us to death, whined a bit out of excitement, and started dashing around the house and threw her toys at us so she could play with us. Sweet little thing.
She's now wearing a big cone though (elizabethan collar) as she just had an operation on her infected eye. She's recovering well now though her cone keeps getting caught in stuff. hehe...

lilo
agree with maddcow on the recycled cameras. That was why we din get those cameras that they specially packaged for weddings. We just bought the kodak disposable ones but it did stick out like a sore thumb on the table as it is too colourful for the theme. But at least those photos that actually get developed, did turn out pretty ok. You can get the cards with notes for the camera from confetti.

Dunno where to get lace though. But there are a lot of haberdashers around, so u can check out which are the bigger ones.

maddcow,katgrrl n snippy, happy to hear that u gals also got ur own lace. any tips while buying lace? who did u ask to mtm? how is cost? wat is e market rate per metre? paiseh ... so much questions

maddcow, can u drop me an email abt e cameras

ashlee, noted!

lilo
okay, what's your email address?

ashlee
poor doggie, reminds me of the poochie in 'there's something about mary'

Lilo
oh how stupid of me, I don't need your email, I can just post here (and bore everyone crazy - ha):

Kodak recycles (good for environment, I suppose) but the re-packaging is not tight and pictures tend to be unclear. Fuji and Agfa do not reload their cameras. But if you are really concerned about quality, you can simply just buy one and try it. The above tip from Bridal Bargains p.317.

They have what to look out for regarding tents too - if you just want generic information, I can pass it along.

Hi gals!!!!

Going to SG this afternoon!!! For those who's in SG now, I'll give you a call!

Lilo: can u PM me your mobile number? [email protected].

Will check out the printer tomorrow and kebaya at Esplanade. Also, buy my FH's wedding band.

Gonna have a busy busy day...

maddcow, u not stupid la, sometime human abit blur heee ...ee. thanks for your advise.

kkyko, how's ur shoppin? send u my contact liao

ashlee, ur gown is otr from uk?

Hey let's not forget Sya (same day) - Congratulations! to both lovely ladies. Snippy has gone on her honeymoon - she said it went really well! Ahhhh, I'm sure it did - she's so sweet!

snippy n sya, congratulations
hope i'm not late.

Elizabeth, welcome!!! me currently staying in uk and planning to have my wedding back in s'pore. where are you located?

hi, new on this forum. am also in the uk and planning for wedding in sg. so difficult to coordinate! =S

did u'all hv trouble finding a suitable venue? i find it hard to decide when i haven't actually seen the place for myself.

also, am trying to do away with wedding banquet. any ideas on how to, without treading on too many older folks' toes?

hello liz (if I may call you that) and e

welcome to the thread - you are at the right place! haha, but it's been quieter here since most of our girls have had their weddings within the last 2 months. when are your weddings?

e, it may seem overwhelming at first but soon, things will be in place. i'm having my banquet at Raffles - it took us perhaps 6 months after we are engaged to decide to plan a wedding and then 2 months on a venue. I haven't seen the venue myself either - so i picked a hotel that i like and gauge their service through their response to my emails. so far so good. i sent a delegation to look at the place and to take pictures too. since the banquet is not so much for me as it is for my friends and family, if they like it, that's good enough for me.

as for doing away with a banquet, i tried and decided to go with the flow. i think you need to know yourself pretty well - are you able to stick to your guns no matter what others might feel or you tend to extend yourself out to others and want them to be part of your celebration. I belong to the latter even though the task of planning such a huge party seemed formidable. I have friends who decided to elope, but ultimately they always have a party as they want to feel the love others have for them - so I think the option can be elope first and celebrate later if you want.

hi e, welcome ... which part of uk are u stayin? when ur AD?

maddcow, i attend raffles wedding before e ballroon w deco they did for my friend look great, very cozy too. food also taste nice

Sorry ladies! Got suspended for a while. Now back on track!

Thanks for the welcome! Liz is fine! Most call me that.

Hi Girl,

are you planning to go back to UK after your wedding? I'm in Singapore right now, back coz of the application to stay in Netherlands. can't be there when it's on. My engagement is in Singapore but wedding in Netherlands.

Hi maddcow,

My wedding is next year in June, far far waay still. Engagement in Nov.

are all of you planning to stay here or oversea? Is your FH local or not? Looks like you are marrying in Singapore right?

Hi maddcow & lilo_stitch

i'm in london.

my wedding is actually still quite some time away - Sept 2006. but cos i'm not in singapore, so thought better start planning first, cos there will sure be time lag and delays when trying to get consensus with rest of the family back home. also, FH and I need to have wedding on specific date and not very flexible, so better to confirm venue etc early.

FH has been doing all the legwork and so far for the capacity that we need, he likes Conrad best.

maddcow - will you be having any separate reception or other party apart from the banquet? am looking for ideas on how to have a fun and memorable reception as well, but it seems quite difficult to organise because it will either be really tiring (a really long day if banquet and extra reception crammed into one day) or really troublesome (if split over 2 days).

Liz - will be marrying in Singapore when I finish my stint in London. FH is local. what will you be planning for your engagement party?

hi liz, me have not hold my AD yet onli rom hee.e..e currently in s'pore to do find out bs, venue ect. will be goin back to manchester on 21/8. my AD will be much far far away then u gals, plannin to have it on 2007
. very kaisu hor ... now already start looking around.

hi e, so lucky your FH doing e legwork. any bs or venue u have in mind? need help just me know as now i'm in s'pore

Hi e & Girl,
Right! I see! I'm having my engagement mass and tea ceremony in Singapore this year and wedding overseas next year. Engagement is actually in church and a lunch buffet while wedding will be in the law, church and dinner and reception after.

Not kaisu lah! I'm also like that! Even bought my gown in Mar and to bring it back to Netherlands.
DOn't like to do last minute! Then very stress lah!

How did you survive your long distance relationship since you are overseas and you FH here? I find it so tough to be apart! He's there and I'm here!

Hi Liz n Girl,

wow... y'all really planning very early! but good.. then you won't be so stressed nearer the date.

Girl - haven't thought about BS yet. still trying to confirm venue. any recommendations for BS? I'm looking at a style that's not the puffy skirt kind. more streamlined, with maybe fishtail and not-too-long train, in lace. have you decided on your BS? I was also thinking of Four Seasons, but FH doesn't like it. Says it looks a bit old and that the wedding coordinator is not very flexible with perks and packages.

Liz - It's not easy with the long distance, especially cos of the time difference, even making phonecalls is difficult. but he does come up to visit, he was just here in June and up again possibly in October. it usually feels the most awful and miserable JUST after he leaves, then after that you get back to a routine, it's not so bad. Will you be moving to Netherlands for good? Do you also have a picture of your gown?can share? (email: [email protected]) which BS did you go to?

hi e, share abit w u. me n hubby also long distance relationship, that time onli bf n gf. onli last dec i went over to manchester to stay w him
. both of us staying in manchester so taking advantage while come back to s'pore. actually we wanted to have it 2006 but due to some reason so postpone to 2007. i have went few bs but still cant decide, as for venue we are plannin to have OD dinner, place yet to decide too
. maybe u can consider marriott, attend wedding dinner there, food n place are nice.

gals, may find me at msn or yahoo.