Anyone Migrating to Australia?

Hi Ching,

I moved to Melbourne 2 years back. It is advisable to arm yourself with recommendation letters from SG offices, or a letter from someone whom the Melbourne offices know. It helps really.

The job market in Melbourne is good compared to Singapore. This will be a good opportunity to work overseas for a while than in Singapore.

Hi Sorbet

Did you get PR before finding a job there? How is the work environment there...would appreicate your experiences

Mrs Quake: Dun worry if you're not concerned abt moving to the bush (rural area) cos they really need teachers out that way, so your hubby can def get a job there.

I studied and worked in Oz, and my biggest regret was not applying for a PR immediately, esp when TriCon (Pizza Hut, KFC, etc) offered me a management position. I applied for PR in 2002 and in principle, everything was alrite, then a job opportunity came along here, so shelved again.

You guys can check the Aussie papers for the job situations, and it's easier to get a job as a PR/citizen there.

Caveat: Be prepared to be treated differently, esp if you're Chinese. We're so used to living in a society where we're a majority, and we get a bit thin-skinned when we get there. Sure racism exists, but there're even more nice people than idiots there. Take it in your stride and accept it as a fact of life. And make sure you assimilate, people tend to be afraid of what they know, so keeping to yourself won't do you any good.

If you can accept all that, then get ready to say "G'day!".

All,

Hi, I am a new user who chances upon this website by accident. I am also interested in migrating to AU and appreciate if I can also get some pointers here.

Fern: You mentioned that your hubby's friend also apply for PR herself under skilled migration scheme. May I know how long did she wait before she gets her PR?

My boyfriend will be going to Perth to study in 2006 and I hope I can go together with him at the same time and eventually settled there. I hope to be able to apply by myself (without the use of agents) as I am quite tight on $.

If anyone has successfully applied under skilled migration scheme by herself, can kindly let me know how I should go about it. Greatly apreciated

email: [email protected]

apple: I think it's stated on the website that somme of the forummers had mentioned earlier. You have to submit your qualifications for an Aussie agency to vet (can't remember what they're called), and then they'll let you know if your qualification is suitable. Then you can also check against this list where you get points about yourself, such as your profession, age, language skills, etc. The points system gives you a ROUGH indication of your chances. Hope this helps!

I was Aussie grad but I gotten my PR via e skilled migration catergory. Can do without the agent. e procedure as follow :

(1) buy a skilled migration information booklet from Australia High Embassy in S'pore, located at Napier Road,next to British council. It has got all the information needed plus all the required application forms. Cost about $10. (NB, the counter is at level 2)

(2)Bring your academic transit for them to 'certified true copy' at level 1. Can't remember e exact cost, I think its abt $20 - $80 for 1st page, subsequently at few dollars per page.

(3) Send your academic transit to Australia institute for them to assese that your paper qualification is recognised. Depending on your area of specialistaion, the name of institute and address is provided in the information booklet. This assessment takes approximately 1 month. Cost of assessment is about $100 - $300.

(4) Upon receiving the paper assessement result, send it together with the applicaion form provided in the booklet directly to Australia, payment to be made at the same time. cost approx $1700.

(5) about 10 months later, you will receive notice to instruct you to go for medical checkup at appointed clinic. cost about $150.

(6) will also be instructed to obtain a letter from Singapore Police that you have no criminal record. Cost abt $60.

(7) Whole process takes approx 1 year to complete.

i was wondering y so many singaporean wanna migrate to OZ.. i m puzzle coz during my 2yrs+ there i feel that i was being treated as a 2nd class citizen.. mayb i was very unfortunate to met ppl who publicly scolded me to 'go back to my country, asians!' & receive comments such as 'asians r stealing their jobs' i think its jus bcoz we r more efficient & hardworking...

mayb my galfriend was just plain 'suay' that some mischief students threw a plastic chair from a car @ her while she was walking home fr bus stop...(luckily the aiming was poor) & i still remember someone break-in to my classmate's neighbour's hse DAYLIGHT & stole everything including fridge!! other neighbour tot the owner was moving house so no one bother to copy down the carplate of the lorry! i think thats the joke of the century! on & off classmates' hse got broke in, my housemates' WHOLE SCHOOLBAG got stolen during class break! although i have to praise their alertness to stop transaction when they notice the angmoh using a creditcard with asian name (mayb this kinda thing happens very often)... one of my bestfriend has a perm scar on her hand reminding her of the incident she was robbed at ATM machine just across the road fr us & we couldnt save her in time...

but of cos there r also very very nice ppl there. my landlord loves gardening & he pluck roses for us every weekend during the season! he drove us to the market every sunday & inform us of any flea market! he remembers each our birthday & theres always surprise party..
when our parents came, he bought them to places of interest too!

i m not very confident wi the education system there coz i saw my landlord's son beat him etc & there was once we saw blood during the beating & reported police & the police took more than 30mins to arrive! scare the shit our of us coz we r all girls!

Alan> thanks, yup i have read through all and thanks to some of the advices, i decided to apply myself instead of using the so-called agents.

Prudential> thanks for the detailed procedures.. it really helps me a lot...

i have tried a test of the online assessment point system and i got ard 120 points (passing mark) provided i pass my CPA. *crossing fingers*

oh by the way, i have read in another forum that some of the agents lied abt helping u applying for PR as well as finding work for u. Actually all they did was only help u apply for PR. They are not interested in finding jobs for u. so beware.

Hi Sharon,

I think the reason is the 'quality of life'. The average Singaporean works very hard throughout his life to pay off the car loan, the mortage, etc. In the process he forgets how to 'enjoy' the finer things in life (not talking about material stuff though). Whereas in Aust, yes you may work hard, but during weekends, you have the opportunity to spend time with your family, do gardening or even the occassional countryside road trip! The pace here is not as hectic (although not as slow as most people thinks). Welfare for senior citizens is also much better...

May I ask which part of Aust did you study at? I live in Melbourne and I find Melburnians to be friendlier than Sydneysiders (heehee). Of my 8 years here, I have never suffered from any form of discrimination. Not even my friends and family. I guess its only when you think you're 2nd class, that the problem starts... this psychological barrier hinders the assimilation into the environment. In fact, I think that the average Singaporean is more racist than Australians. People here are very very nice and friendly! At least when I hold the door the say thank you, and dont treat me like a doorman!

While I do agree that the education system here may not be perfect, but there are its good points. You dont see young children being drowned with homework and attemtping suicide due to the stress. And I think the environment is actually quite conducive for and open to creativity (which is not very common in Spore).

Having said all these... the pasture is ALWAYS greener on the other side! And I do miss Singapore, cause its home afterall! No country is perfect, I reckon its just how your priorities in life fit in with the environment. Somehow I've got a feeling I'm gonna stir up some emotions... heehee... *dodges*

I'm leaving for Brisbane this Sunday. My husband and i are planning to relocate there for good. I haven't studied/worked/lived in Australia before, and have just been on tours there. i'm hearng so many different points of view about living there. The views are always mixed. Like one of my friends said "Loved the place, not the people".

Maybe in some time to come, I will be able to come here and tell of my own experiences.

i am still in the midst of application. So far, have already submitted my skills assessment.now waiting for reply

Prudential gave a good summery of the procedures needed . Certification of true copy can be done at any law firm. I paid $4 per page.

will be hoping to settle in Melbourne as well. It is a lovely place and very vibrant. I agree with Melbz that the most attractive thing about Australia is the lifestyle. you can be anything u wanna be, an artist, journalist, plumber ...anything. Most importantly, society doesn't judge u based on where u work, what ur results are. I love it that an average worker can still afford to live in a decent size house with a garden and drive a car without being too deep in debt. I guess the less stressful life is a really huge attraction.

Thanks, Alan.

Hey, any Singaporeans in Brisbane?

By the way, what are the things that you guys missed most when you were there? Share w me so that i can be more prepared. I think I miss my family most.

hey fern

good luck in brisbane. It is a really nice place...great weather, beautiful beaches.

do update us about life there. It must be so exciting for you now.

Hi Fern,
Wish you the best in your new life! I'm sure you'll miss home during the initial stage, but you'll get used to it after awhile. Just go get those cheap calling cards to call home when you miss your family!

And of course FOOD! Eat all you can while you're still in Spore. You still havent experienced the 'pain' of not being able to have your favourite hawker food... heehee! Oh some local cookbooks would be a good idea! Go for an asian grocery expedition!

You might miss the times where you could go shopping till late during weekdays.. Or driving out to have prata in the middle of the night.

TV shows! Yah they can be quite stupid at times... but sure you'll miss the Singapore 'accent', and all the channel 8 programmes (if you watch them) on tv. Keep yourself updated with Spore news on www.asiaone.com.sg.

Dont worry too much. Go there with an open mind. I'm sure you'll be fine. You've got your husband with you! Just keep yourself busy. Spore is only a few hours away...

HI fern

Do not worry too much ..=) cos u still have your loving HB ther for u ah =")
Well the things that i missed is the late shoppings that we have on weekdays n weekends in sg and of cos the spread of local food we have over here...n maybe those Kirean/Japanese Dramaas but can always get ur friends to mail to u or birng over ..=")

However think all these can be subsitute by the beautiful beaches,lifestyle nad the peaceful environment

So update us on ur life in brisbane and keep in touch

Joanne

melbz, i agree with you totally on how you view life and yourself in another country. always keep a positive mind while being or living abroad. in every country, there will always be people who are nasty while there are nice ones too. the quality of life in aust, states or even can is way better and relaxing in my opinon, you are who you are, no one cares who you do. your time after work is yours, everyone leaves on the dot, to spend quality time with friends and family. for those who have decided to go overseas, just go, you will gain your own experience, could be different from others, good or bad. there are just too many things to do and to explore that you might not even have the time to feel bored.
i like australia, always had good experiences there. all the locals were so friendly, weather's great, shopping alright and food's great too.

Congrats Fern!.. Do look forward to building a new home with ur bubby this sunday.

I am also lookin forward to making Perth my home with my boyfriend. We have started planning but we have a bit of difficulty meeting the point system. So now trying to see how to chalk up :P really want to go when i am young ..

prudential> really thanks for the details.. it really helps me a lot

Melbz,
i was in adelaide couple of yrs back but the plastic chair throwing & robbery at atm happens in melb... i guess other than safety reasons & racist, ppl there r really really very nice! coz my landlord is still sending me birthday card every year! i have to agree that the guys there r much more gentleman than singaporeans! they open door for u, they send u home to ur doorstep & call again to make sure u r fine..

i used to go horseriding during the weekends & sometimes drive to outback during school holis.. mayb thats wat u call quality of life but after awhile i get bored & i miss orchard road! can u imagine i have to fly to syd to do rebonding! haiz...

Dear Apple

The point system is a very close guide that e dept of immigration used. If u r unable to meet e point, it may turn out to be a waste of money.

U may want to try ways to increase your point. The details r in the information booklet. For e.g, extra points r awarded if :

(1) u have got a job offer in Oz which is related to your field of study.

(2) u have been residing in Oz for a period of time before u make your application, think abt 6 mths or 2 yrs, sorry really can't remember, but it is in the information booklet.

(3) u have acquire a certain no. of years of related experience in S'pore b4 application.

(4) u make investement there, such as buying a property.

But bear in mind that more points r awarded for younger age. Once u reach the next age band (30), e points will decrease accordingly.

Thanks for your well wishes and encouragement gals. I'm prepared to go with an open mind, and to make the most of it.

Have to find a job...make new friends...etc

Will really miss my family, food, and friends....
yah, not forgeting my fave drama shows like the Happy Fish show, channel u, etc...

Huh...that's a tough question to answer. I guess it really depends on if you've got friends and family there?

You have to think about accomodation and transportation.
For example me and hubby will be going to live with parents-in-law, so need to rent or buy a new place for the time being.
But we need to buy a car first. Second hand cars can range from 2-10k AUD depending on what type and how many years it's been used.

Rental for a place is paid weekly i think. Can range from 200AUD upwards.

Do you already have a job or going to study?

Hey Freesia,
Cost of living varies from state to state. And within the state, it really depends on which suburb you wanna live in.

Rental is calculated weekly, but paid monthly. But dont forget you need a 1 month bond if you're renting.

Brand new cars can range from abt A$14k for a basic model small jap car to A$60k for a BMW 3 series. Depends on what type of car you're looking for. Prices of second-hand cars also vary depending on the model and how old it is.

Prudential> Thanks for the tips. I am waiting till next yr May before I apply for PR. By then I will have the necessary 3 yrs experience + I will get my CPA. By then I will get the necessary 120 points. That is IF i apply before age of 30
And at the same time try to save as much $ as possible since I only step into working world for less than 3 yrs. I hope to go there early to see whether I can really adapt there. If not, I can still come back to Spore in my early 30s and start all over again

Fern> So you are going to Brisbane before securing a job. What do you think of the job market there? I am also worried abt the job market. Wonder whether are they willing to hire Asians. Really happy for u (though i have not met u ..
Do continue to keep in touch with us after u move there k

Melbz> So you have been in Mel for 8 yrs. Can you explain a bit on the 1 mth bond thing? Is it compulsory? Have u ever thot of returning permanently to Singapore? What is an estimated amt of expenses incurred for a mth (so that I can save as much as possible and not die there within the first few days.. hehe

Apple : The required points will be revised depending on e immigration, though it has been relatively constant at 120. U may need to check regulary for any changes in e points required.

Hi Apple,
for me, I'm following my hubby back. He's in medical line should have no problem getting a job.

I'm doing admin job in manufacturing line, and have a bachelor degree in Business Admin. I'm quite confident of getting a job if I'm not too picky.
Actually i also think that there will be some subtle discrimination, just like in Singapore (only those that can speak chinese need to apply or something like that)but that doesn't mean that all non-chinese speaking people are unemployed.
I will just try my best and give everything a go lor...

I will cme back and update you guys about my life over there!

Hey Apple,
I used to rent a place with my housemate when I was studying back then. The 1 month bond is paid at the beginning, so that when you leave, they inspect the place and deduct any money from the bond if there are any damages. Its common practice. If you're staying alone, you probably wldnt be using that much water/electricity/gas anyway - reminder: bill comes once in 3 mths. When you come for the 1st time, you've to spend money on furniture and miscellaneous stuff, which can easily add up to more than A$1-2k. To be honest, I cant remember how much money I spent when I first came here, I was a teenager back then, and was spending heaps of my dad's money! *guilty*

As for daily living expenses, A$800 a mth should get you through if you dont indulge in excessive shopping and eating out too frequently. As I said before, everything really depends on your lifestyle. I have heard of indonesian girls who get A$5k allowance a mth... unbelievable...

My husband and in-laws live here, so no plans to return to Spore for good.

Prudential: So fast 120 points already? I thought it was coming into effect only next April. Haha... Was 110 points 4 yrs back, 2 yrs back it was 115... now 120?!?!?!?!

Melbz: ya the point system has already been increased to 120 .. can imagine the points going up, up and up!

Fern: Do update us .. definitely will help those who are deciding whether to migrate to AU

My bf is intending to go to AU at age 26 to study for 2 yrs. I intend to follow him and we hope to get married in AU. If I do not get my PR by end of next yr, what other options are available for me? It's not easy to apply work visa unless a company is willing to hire a non-AU resident and neither can I be on visitor's pass on a long term basis. Can anyone advise any option that I may be missing? Thanks

Apple,
Do u have any plan to further your study in Au? Full time students in Au r allowed to work on part time basis, but not full time.

apple,
maybe you got consider getting the latest SIR, Skilled independent Regional visa. but you will have to stay in the regional areas for 2 years...then apply for PR.It depends on where your bf is gonna study.

another option is to try to apply for jobs. Like you said, the chances are not high, but better to try then not.

the points for Aus PR has been increasig like crazy. It just went up to 120 this June, so frustrating, so those who have intention to apply, better do so soon, coz it may go up again next year.

i have a cousin in Aust, her family just bought alot of properties there, but i don't think that they are working. however they are PR there. it seemed like getting a PR status is getting harder in Aust. why not try other places like states, NZ or even Can?

Apple,
Though I'm not v sure, did hear from friend that getting a PR in NZ will allow u to work in Au n NZ requirement is less stringent.

I heard from my husband that New Zealanders are able to move freely into Australia, and they have working rights here too (as they have some agreement btw the 2 countries). But apparently, alot of people having been making use of this loophole to get into Australia, so they made some changes... not sure what the changes are though...

Sunnygirl
I dont think anyone would employ you if you dont already have a working visa. Only if the company can prove to the immigration that NO ONE in Aust has the same capabilities as you, then they can apply a working visa for you. But if you're a nurse, PR within 3mths. Heehee

Hi Melbz
yah, i think it is quite tough to get a job there without PR. They give priority to their people before allowing foreigners in. i did hear of 1 case of my friend getting a job there by applying online though. Maybe she just very "heng"

anyway, how is melbourne? are you working there? i would love to settle in Melbourne one day, it is a very pleasant cosmopolitan city.

Currently, I have no intention of furthering my studies. And neither do I have the $ to pursue a studies overseas. My bf will be taking a loan and thus it's not wise for 2 of us to be burdened with a bank loan. I hope I can go to AU together with him and work there. That way, I can be with him, share the expenses with him and also enjoy the relaxed lifestyle over there! we haven't really decided the place we wanted settled down, it's either Perth or Melbourne.. his course is readily available in most of the places.. he hopes to settle a place where i can find job

But it is "near-impossible" to get a job there without a PR. As what some of you have mentioned, it is difficult for the AU companies to apply work visa for you cos they not only have to prove why local residents are not good enough for the job and also have to reveal their "true" income and many companies are not willing to do so cos most of them understate their income for lower taxes.

have anyone of you been to NZ? hehe,.. actually I have only been to Perth for a mere 4 days and I totally fallen in love with that place.. But my friends are saying that cos I have never been to NZ as they think I will fall in love with NZ even more.. hahaah

Hi sunnygirl,

I am at my last stage of the PR thingy, should be getting my PR very soon now.

I am in Melbourne, apart from the weather, Melboure is good. It is hard to get employment without the valid permit or visa. Personal recommendation is still the tool for foreigner like us looking for jobs.

Melbz> you are in Melb too....great!

Anyone else in Melbourne too?

Hey Sunny,
I graduated almost 2 yrs ago, but I'm not working at the moment. Melbourne is a great place to live, and to start a family. I feel its not as complex as Syd, and not as boring as Adelaide. Heehee...

Hi Sorbet,
Hope you get your PR soon! Yah, I'm in Melb too! And spring is here. YAY!! Hope it stops raining so often though...

hi Sorbet and melbz

looks like that can be a singaporebrides melbourne club....
Sorbet, hope u get your PR soon, I just sent of my skills assessment so now waiting for that to be done.

I have been doing much research about living costs etc...on the internet, but it always best to hear first hand experience of people who are already there.Since I am applying offshore, it will be at least 1 year plus before I actually go over....aiyo..so long...

Hi sunnygirl,

Thanks. Be patient, you should be able to get your PR in less than a year time.
Definitely the PR first than look for job.

Hi Melbz,
Ya same sentiment. Stop raining and give us more sun....
me and my FH have to purposely walk on the road instead of the footpath so we can get some sun.....
I hope to go to the wineries again when the sun is out.

HI to those staying in OZ, i was going thru my Australian Women's Weekly and i saw this set of dinning homeware that i adored. the brand is called Maxwell & Williams Designer Homeware. any idea where i can get it in Perth or Melbourne or Brisbane?

Hey Sorbet,
Yah been raining too much. Actually I drove some friends to Mornington Peninsula yesterday... haha... had to make full use of the sunny day!

Hello Lafleur!
You can get Maxwell and William's homeware anywhere. They have it at ALL homeware shops, as well as Myer and David Jones. The ones at the homeware stores are usually the plain white ones. The dept stores have a bigger range.

thanks melbz! do you know what is the price range for this homeware? is it like very common like Cornell in the states? i figured that i could get it at myer but wasn't sure!

I'm born in Spore and already migrated to Sydney 16 yrs ago.

Anyone going to Sydney or is there now?

I just got to Brisbane with my hubby on Sunday. Have been here for about a week now and I'm begining to love the place. Nice and quiet and the people are mostly friendly.

It's almost the end of spring, but still cold for me...especially in the morning and at nite. The sun rises and sets so early! Bright and sunny at six in the morning and dark already at 6pm. Makes me feel sleepy by about 8plus cos it feels really late already!

Will have to start looking for work soon.

Hi Fern

Good to hear u are settling down. Do update us on how u r doing. I like Brisbane too, really good weather for a sun loving person like me.

Buddy, how is it like in Sydney, u have been there a looong time. I love Sydney, been there several times and love it more each time I go there. would love to go Sydney again soon...esp during the New Year celebrations. The fireworks display at the Harbour Bridge is just fantastic.

Hi cake,

Sydney just had a hail storm but not as bad as in 1999. Tho I have migrated to Sydney but now I live in Spore but I go back to Sydney every mth, so there's no diff. Yes, the fireworks is spectacular there.

Hi Buddy,
Wah....flying back to Sydney every mth, that will cost a bomb. I was in Brisbane campus, have nvr been to Syndey. Would u want to share more abt life in Syndey?