Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

jus wondering if any of you is going to hold a lunch (groom's side) as well as a dinner (bride's side) reception??

If so whr did you all hold your dinner? and wat kinda menu did you accomodate to everyone? i haf a few relatives who cant really take e malay menu food.. n i cant find any hotel tat serves halal chinese menu..

can anyone help me?? thx alot!!

HuiChin

The baby is doing ok - growing bigger by the day, I suppose but my tummy still quite small eh. Can tell that I am pregnant but not overly big, you know ... my sister told me that usually the babies are smaller for first pregnancies - she hardly looked pregnant at all when she was carrying my nephew.

Marnie

Yes, they practised that - I think this year was the first. But I still ended up leaving late.. the girls in the office bought a birthday cake for those of us whose birthday is in May and we had a good time eating durian cake in the meeting room. Hahaha. I wanted to watch the 5.30pm Da Vinci Code screening but was late so catch the later show. It was ok. And luckily I booked tickets to watch the X-men screening on Saturday - when we arrived at Lido, the hall was packed .. the queue for tickets reached all the way to KFC. That movie was alright too.

I'm not sure. The last time I went to Fullerton, it was about 2 years ago. I thought the food was alright but then again, I'm easily pleased ... hehehehe.

How is your GSS coming along? I bought a Cornell electric oven for about $79 from Courts Centrepoint (they're closing down). Tangs was selling a similar-sized oven (local brand) for $149. I am very happy .. I've been wanting an oven for the longest time but Ah Boy kept saying that I don't need it. Now he's asking when I will start baking .. hahahaha.

pacifiz

Me and my husband hosted a dinner (Middle Eastern food) for our families and his friends. Lunch was hosted by my parents and Malay food was served. Even though lunch tends to be a bit spicy for his family's tastebuds, they were keen to try something new and it turned out ok.

Perhaps you might want to look towards a western menu for your dinner, as a way of compromise. It's usually buffet for lunch so your relatives can pick and choose the dishes to their liking.

Hi cuclainne,

Thanks for e suggestion.. but i think more older folks wld prefer e traditional chinese cuisine.. they are more picky twds food..

So i am trying to find a hotel banquet that serves Halal Chinese food.. For e lunch i will leave it to my bf to decide since most guests will be from his side..

erm does anyone has any contacts of bridal shops that has western gowns as well as malay costumes..

Thx!

pacifiz

You might want to try Royal Plaza on Scotts, Hyatt Hotel or Crowne Prince Hotel to see if they serve halal chinese cuisine as part of their hotel banquet.

You can check out the bridal shops here http://www.urusanpengantin.com Most of the Malay bridal shops have western gowns so that should be a better place for you to start your search. I don't have any numbers on hand - all my brochures etc are in my bridal file at home, somewhere ..

Cuclainne, we have been going out to window shop for house stuff, mainly electrical goods and our sofa - Courts have very good stuff! So far, we've managed to wittle down our choices for fridge and the type of hob (ie. freestanding which comes with oven vs modular separate one from the oven). So we may get them sometime soon as soon as our agent purchases the floor plan and lets us have it).

We booked our flights from London to Rome last night and I must say, Rome is not exactly a cheap city to visit(!) Florence is much cheaper (we're taking the famous train) and I hear that the Ferragamo flagship store there is a massive museum-cum-boutique. Do I hear 'em leather goods call me?

Marnie

Yay for shopping! Hahahahha! We bought our LCD TV from Harvey Norman (we found it was the cheapest) and our home entertainment set from Best Denki (it was, according to us, the sleekest looking set that goes together with the TV). Yah .. can understand, we also went around looking, comparing prices etc before going in for the deal. I'm so happy for you!!

Yeah .. Rome is not cheap. I saw a travel show on it yesterday - the lady sure seems to be having a lot of fun, though she did mentioned that it costs money to do things (even sightseeing!!) there.

I was discussing with my colleague yesterday about Louis Vuitton and she told me that the prices here have gone up at least 1/3 of the original price. She said it's much more worth it to buy from Europe and then claim the VAT from the airport.

Hi babes!

Wah u all move fast lah.. So much to read after just a few days from the last time I logged on.

Pacifiz dear, sorry for the late reply as I had not logged on for a few days. Can't send you PM coz it's disabled. You may wish to change the settings.

From the few BS that I've surveyed, I know Zulradi, Inai, Versari Ade has nice selection of traditional and western costumes, some of which are very modern-looking. You may wish to check them out. Good to start by looking thru bridal mags. With regard to your wedding receptions, you may wish to re-consider from holding both yours and your hubby's on the same day, coz the Malay receptions tend to drag for hours and you'll need lots of energy to go through it (my personal opinion lah..hehh..). What I'm gonna do is hold 2 separate dinners. I have a list of hotels which serve halal food, but not necessarily all of them have 'halal kitchens' coz to get the cert, the banquet managers told me they have to follow strict guidelines, e.g. the cutlery and plates have to be cleansed in the proper way (using hot water of a certain temperature, I think!). But they do assure that the food is of halal origin and prepared by Muslim chefs. So if you opt to have e.g. sharks fin soup, it might not taste similar to one prepared by a Chinese chef.

Marnie & Cuclainne
Wow you've been shopping for household stuffs too..? Hmmm.. we'll have lots to discuss about.. heeheeee..! Didn't know buying such stuff can be so fun, yah..

Marnie, are you going to Europe for your honeymoon? Surprisingly I've booked tour from London to Rome too!! Yessss... gonna get lots of leather goods there! And yesss.... LV is definitely cheaper by abt 30% there! Yippeee! Think I'm gonna max out all my cards, man.. But it's ok coz it's for a good cause.. hehhh..

Sandra

I went shopping for my stuff earlier in the year. Now it's just shopping to accessorise the home. But yeah .. I remember trudging along to Takashimaya, Centrepoint, Plaza Singapura, Millenia Walk to look at things and compare prices ....

Wah!! You ladies planned to meet up there? I wish I could go to Rome but Ah Boy told me that it's expensive there. Oh well ... happy shopping for luxury goods when you're there yah.

Hi Sandra, do u think if you could email me the list of hotels which serve halal food? i have been trying to find out which hotels serve halal chinese food, but have not been too successful..
maybe if it is convenient, email me at [email protected]? thank you so much...

Sandra, no lah..."officially" my honeymoon is in Munich for obvious reasons provided by hubby..*rolls eyes* --> I think I will die of boredom there. I mean, how much coffee and chocolate can I stomach in a week whilst he's out at the stadiums watching 20 boys running after a ball?

London is cos' Meraj's family and friends are there - we are having a casual get together with people who could not attend the wedding last month. Rome and Florence is a week break --> that's our "unofficial" honeymoon.

Cuclainne, no lah...probably not buying those branded stuff. I've never owned a branded bag or a pair of shoes in my 31 years of life and have absolutely no desire to. But of course want to go Florence's flagship Ferragamo museum/store to sneek a peak at the handsome twin Ferragamo brothers who help run the brandname. *swoon*

Marnie

I read that Switzerland is trying to 'sweeten' itself to entice all the girlfriends/ wives of football-crazy fans to visit their country for shopping. So shiok!

Wah, girl! How long are you going to be on leave for? I am still deciding where to go, what to do. I just realised that they have pretty nice packages for a weekend getaway to Bintan but sianz la, I don't do well on ferries!

Cuclainne, I'm just going on a break early July for about a week for Munich (Meraj would have been there a few days earlier) then we'll return to Singapore. We'll leave for London on 28th July and will return mid August. I want to go to those "markets" and stock up on pretty (and hopefully cheap!) household things you can't get here.

What about Bali or Bangkok - they have great packages now. Planning to go KL and Bangkok next month. Still planning stages though. Bleh

Marnie

Yeah, you should go to those markets. My friend was there in London for a month and she totally enjoyed visiting those places. Unfortunately we didn't get to go because we only spent 1.5 days in London before heading to Belfast where we spent more time.

I've been to Bali a few times - Ah Boy said it's too commercialised for his liking. We went to Bangkok (our first trip together as a couple) for a week and Ah Boy said it's enough. Bleh! There are some good packages for Langkawi though .. hmmm ..

Cuclainne, yeah. Bali is a bit commercialised. I prefer to stay out and up on Ubud amongst the hills so at least it'll be away from the maddening crowd!

Oooh...I've always loved Langkawi...Casa Del Mar you should stay - sooo romantic!

Marnie

Oooh .. I love visiting the temples there. But in my current state, my family can be quite 'pantang'. Me and Ah Boy had wanted to go to Angkor Wat but my mother said no! Booo hooo hooo!

OOooooo I saw the photos on their site. It is really lovely. One thing I need to know though .. is it a family resort? Ah Boy said the last thing he'd want on a getaway are screaming kids (wait until he gets his, yah! Hahahah!).

Cuclainne, Casa Del Mar caters to honeymooners and such. It's a boutique (but huge) spa resort. No screaming kids the last couple of times I've been there. In fact, I haven't seen a kid at all! So, that should give you and Ah Boy a pampering session...

Re. Ubud, yes. Even in my non-pregnant state, sometimes, the older folks want us to stay away from any other houses of worships other than the mosques, which is a shame come to think about it - beautiful architecture are abundant. I'm definitely going into the Sistine Chapel when I'm in Rome...

IC, no lah..I'm in a NON-preggie state.
But I can see where that got confusing. We're taking precautions cos' I'm intending to take a year's class to enable me to practise in Australia and UK so no distractions (at least for this time..)

What have you been up to lately? Long time never speak to you.

Hey ic, how are you?

Wah .. the Sistine Chapel. I've heard from a friend who's been there, that you can't take photos. Which is a pity really! And she mentioned that even if you managed to sneak a few shots, the photos ended up being misty .. don't know how true is that though.

I heard my name being called..

IC,

yes dear...I'm here. been very, very busy at work and on the verge of changing jobs lar. Plus been travelling up n down to KL for work issues..

Cuclainne,

So now know little one's sex aredi? I remembered both my kids kept showing me their bums during scanning..can never know their sex till teh very last minute..

Marnie,

Thanx for your help the other time.

Ally,
You're going to work in KL???? Aiya...last time you oso busy still can come forum. :P

cuclainne,
I'm ok. :P still alive. Hehe..

marnie,
You got your house already?

Ally, no worries. I just don't like dealing with Corporate law - I always fall asleep in classes at that time (!)
Everything alright with work?

IC, yeah, our offer to buy a flat was accepted by the seller. Our first appointment with HDB is on 7th July so we're hoping no complications will arise on the day. You know lah how the quasi-organisation works...*sigh* If all goes well, I am guessing that the keys to the flat will be handed end August. Do you have any lobang for a reliable and trustworthy ID/contractor?

Hey Ally, long time no see. How have you been? No la, doc couldn't tell the sex at the last appointment. At first baby was lying on its back but when the doc prodded, it turned to face us. Doc said he couldn't see anything to be sure but I told Ah Boy maybe he should resign himself to the possibility that it's a girl.
I sure hope that we'll know at the next appointment. I have only been able to buy gender-free clothes .. no fun leh!

ic, that is very good news indeed ..

You sure have a lot on your plate, Marnie. It's one project after another. That's why you must enjoy yourself on your honeymoon yah!

Cuclainne, yeah man. I guess, I can only properly rest and relax on my honeymoon and then after Hari Raya (ie. in October onwards when all the projects are over and done with).

I plan to buy lots of trashy gossipy mags to keep me entertained on my flights to London and Rome and then on the train ride from Rome to Florence.

Marnie

Oh yes!!! We were standing in line at SuperDrugs and I saw some magazines. They cost like two pounds each (cheaper than buying it here, even after conversion). I grabbed a few to read on the flight to Belfast and then on the way back to London, I bought a few more. Now I'm totally hooked. I don't like reading the American ones .. I'm really partial to UK's Hello and Heat. Hahahahah!

Marnie
Which location did you buy? I used Earnest Interiors as my ID. They're ID cum contractor. Look for Peter Low. Tell him you're recommended by me. :P (Tell my real name lah)I actually was not satisfied 1 month after my reno finish. My floor wasn't polished enough. So i called him back. He came down despite all the money have been paid. And spend the whole afternoon polishing up my floor tiles. They provide good service & workmanship also good. But one thing because they know of their quality & service, they're rather rigid in terms of pricing. Hard to negotiate compare to other ID/contractors.

Do you watch Designer guys? I always catch this show on my way to work on the bus. If one day, i got money...will engage them. (*dreaming). I like their style lah.

cuclainne,
how's your pregnancy going on?

I'm doing better now, ic. Thanks for asking. Now just very emotional .. tears can just start running down my face for the littlest of reasons. Last night, I met Ah Boy and his colleagues for dinner at Istana Park. They arrived late because of work and then Ah Boy didn't see me waiting outside the bar entrance so they just walked straight into the restaurant (another entrance). I sat outside and just started crying .. really paiseh but cannot stop. When Ah Boy came to find me, even more tears flow out. Alamak! Lucky his friends never saw.

Cuclainne,
You're pregnant with a girl!!! Older ppl said that if the mother is very emotionally involved, usually it's a girl. Older generation lah..... (can't be 100% true). Oh yah..are you more vain too? Older generation also said that if you're getting more vain than your usual, could also be a girl. However, when i was preggie, i remember being vain as well. I would ask my parents for help to drive me all the way to Tangs Orchard just to go to MAC to buy a lipgloss. :P (so this one i can confirm say, it's not true. Coz i gave birth to a boy. :P)

IC, yeah!!! I lurve Designer Guys. But in Canada, the designers guys are now 3 guys (one chinese, one caucasian and the last one don't know what ethnic group but his name is Anuar). I'm trawling HGTV now for ideas cos' Canada has really beautiful small apartments just like ours - good resource.

I'm in a predicament cos' we both know what we want. So now, we just want to find a reliable contractor who can execute our "vision". ID is cos' we want to make use of their expert space planning cos' our living room is giving us a headache with only 3.2m wide. Bleh. We see how lah.

Cuclainne, I was telling Meraj that I need to stock up on magazines before we leave the airport here and the man rolls his eyes. He said better not tilt the plane over!

ic

For the first two months or so, I couldn't even be bothered to put on make-up or dress up! So sianz because after dressing up, would have morning sickness and makes me feel so unglam so decided to not put in any affort. But now a bit more vain la .. wear make-up and dress up a bit now and then. But now my chest has gotten bigger so a bit paiseh to wear my normal clothes ..

If it's a girl, I'd be so happy lor but actually I don't mind a boy too (if not for the fact that Ah Boy and I are at loggerheads over the circumcision aspect).

Marnie

I understand .. hahahaha! Ah Boy wanted me to throw the magazines as soon as I finished with them but I just can't!!!

Marnie,
It's Anwar. Yeah..i also wondering what ethnic group he is. At first i thought the designer guys were the 2 hosts. Only when i visited the website, then i realize it's not.

If you come across any ID like them, tell me ah. It's not being bias or what lah. But majority of the IDs i saw were chinese. But somehow, their thinking & designing of "modernize" is still not on par with the westerners. Because asians have different sets of designing. It's the style lah. And for my preference, i like the westerners "modernize" design look.

cuclainne,
Circumcision aspect? As in don't want to circumise or want to circumsise? No matter what, it's compulsory for guys. But if you don't want to do it young, also ok. Can always do it before he enters Pri.1

That's what I was telling Ah Boy, ic but he insists that if our kid is a boy, then only he - the kid - can decide if he wants to or not (not for us to 'force' on him). So susah to make him understand!

Cuclainne, tell him circumcision in mandatory in Islam for hygiene purposes - I'm sure your Ah Boy will understand and agree.

IC, yeah lor...I also like their uncluttered shabby chic looks. But to do that here, people will say I got no taste. Aiyoh..don't care about these people lah.

cuclainne,
ok..relax ger. Don't get stressed up regarding this. You're preggie. I agree with marnie. Explain regarding hygenic purposes. If worse, show him my this message which i post. I dunno whether that will help. But at least can try.
My son haven't circumsize yet. So i have to ensure now that i properly clean his private area. In the beginning, the babysitter didn't know my son sensitivity when diapers not changed frequently, so my poor son had fungal infection. Worse, he wasn't circumsized. So it was harder and painful to clean for him. (*my heart pains when i remember this). Now he's ok lah... but i think if i had circumsize him, it wouldn't be so badly infected. (i didn't forsee this coming). But i will circumsize him later on. It's only removing the foreskin.

marnie,
I still haven't achieve my dream home. My current home so-so only lah.

Have to tell you girls this...coz i'm very sad about it. I received a Precious Moment wedding car from my mother's friend as a wedding present. I think due to all those moving, i lost it.
kao_cry.gif
Want to use my own money to buy it, heart pain. Coz not that cheap. So trying to get over this agony.

Hi Sandra

sorry abt it.. I have enable e PM thingy.. pls try again otherwise you can send me thru [email protected]

hi Gals.. reading thru your posts.. makes me feel excited for everyone here.. baby.. hse renov.. wedding.. haa haa..

Pacifiz..
I sent you the wrong email lerr.. sorry, pls ignore it. Errmm.. you need info on bridal shops issit..? Can try reccee Zulradi, Inai, Versari Ade first? I'll go back and check on somemore BS for you..

Tikkles, I've emailed you.. Hope it helps

Marnie
Whoaaa.... I so envy you lehhh... can you smuggle me in your luggage and bring me along...? hehhh..

Thanks marnie and ic. I guess I will have to slowly 'psycho' him into agreeing .. I still have a few more months before delivering.

My mom convinced me to have a doa-selamat when I am about 7 months' pregnant - even then Ah Boy only agreed when I told him that there's free food involved. Aiyah .. this man think of his stomach only.

ic, so sorry to hear about that. Maybe it's still around someplace yah .. keep looking, I'm sure it'll turn up.

Hi Sandra

Yup i saw the email... thanks alot.. erm.. actually looking for both.. hotels as well as BS.. hee hee.. :P

Hi Cuclainne

hmm.. wat's a doa-selamat?

IC,

I'm thinking of starting an international kindy in KL plus we bought a new property there. so been going up and down to oversee some issues.

BTW, true meh. Emotional preggie mummies = baby girl? Seems totally the opposite for me leh.. I was very emotional when i had my son but super garang with my little girl.

Cuclainne,

it's still quite early to decide in anything...like me..my son is still not circumcised yet..thot of doing it over the dec holidays though.

Your mum thinking of juz doing doa-selamat, think during the 7th month pregnancy also they will have the "lenggang perut" ceremony?

Pacifiz,

Doa-selamat - Thanksgiving..something like tat lah.

Marnie,

Things dun look good in my ofc rite now. Lots of politics...sianz..

Ally
Wah..finally. Hey, i "miss" you lah! So long didn't chat and so long didn't come in here. I can't MSN in office.

So you intending to work in KL??
That is just on generalize terms lah. Based on old folks tale. Not all same case. Hmm, no wonder your girl garang!

Hmm...office politics everywhere lah.
Eh, what is lenggang perut??? (*blur)Hey, actually hor, i want to update you on my MIL. Got some news. I'm sure you'll be shock and sure vomit if you hear this. After all that happen during the wedding....

pacifiz,
You're a chinese or malay?

sandra, i have received ur mail! thanks lots! will call them up when the need arises! quite a lot to choose from! i tot there would only be a few. any idea if the whole dinner can be served with halal food? i understand that some hotels actually cater the halal food from other places, so they might not do all halal food? think it would save a lot of trouble, all can sit together! best... hee..

IC,

actually i found a new job in the same industry. will be travelling alot soon. No, i'm not totally working in KL - will still based in singapore. I'm handing the operational issues of the international kindy to my cousin who resides in KL..

Anyway, the politics in my ofc has taken to another level...now each partner are suing one another..as it is, i'm really vexed.

Lenggang perut is a ceremony to be held when the pregnancy reaches 7 months. the pregnant mum wil then be laid on 7 pieces of kain batik and two ladies will then be rocking the mum-to-be and pulling the cloths one by one. This ceremony is to make sure that the mother-to-be wil have a smooth delivery.

Ally

I think my mom did mention something about that but I only agreed to the doa selamat. I don't know which of her sisters have the energy to rock me like that - most of them have leg and back problems.

Ally,
Congrats! wah... the ofc politics until that bad ah. Can understand your agony and being sandwiched in btwn.

First time i hear such things about lenggang perut.
Eh, we must meet up again one day leh. Now during weekends, orchard got late night shopping till 12 midnight.

cuclainne,
That's nice.
I didn't have any doa selamat during pregnancy. Only after i gave birth, during the 1 month celebration coz it coincides with Nabi muhammad's birthday, so i had "berzanzi" and also doa selamat lah. You know, when i looked back, how i wish i can have my wedding at this scale just like the my son's 1 month celebration.
It was so nice... without the hoo-haa of in-laws. Or trying too hard to please everyone. Nobody objected to any of what i want it to be. Unlike my wedding. My wedding...semua tak kena. I think i really sour over that.

Girls,
Do you still look at your wedding photos / video?
I only look at the photos.
. After all..spent so much on it. The DVD, lazy to play. Moreover, sometimes show my son, he not interested. He rather see his Hi-5.

ic

My mom planned to invite a few relatives on her side - we still haven't told my dad's side that I am expecting. They will ask a lot of stupid questions and my mom doesn't like it, particularly since I was about 7 weeks' past when I stepped on the dais during my bersanding (aiyah, already married what!).

Before me and Ah Boy got hitched, I took him to my paternal grandma's place (she stays with my aunt's family) and my uncle grilled him - asked him about his education, what assets he owned (how much his apartment back home cost him - what!!), etc. I mean, what right does he have to ask that - even my dad doesn't ask such personal questions. He even commented that with a 6-year age gap between me and Ah Boy, that he is old for me. Excuse me .. his daughter married someone 12 years older ok .. that's why my mom thinks it's best not to say anything to them, because they have nothing positive to say.

I understand what you're saying, ic. I am quite lucky because even though me and my parents were bombarded left and right with what are the things that we SHOULD do, we decided to stick to our guns and do things our way for my wedding.

We only took photos of the wedding - Ah Boy doesn't want to spend money on a video because 1. we won't look at it much once the novelty wears off and 2. he hates looking at himself.

cuclainne,
I think if i stick to my guns, i already become runaway bride.
. Your uncle can shake hands with my relatives. I think one thing good is that your mother remained low profile. Don't give you unnecessary pressure. Not good for your baby.

pacifiz,
Oh ic..
yeah..i think so. But i know there are some newbies here not yet. I don't wish to go through that phase of wedding preparations again lah. I nearly went cookoo. Had to please relatives & in-laws even though they're not the ones who are bearing the costs. But i had no choice in order to respect my parents's face. And my in-laws? lost of words for them. They can be part of the TCS 8 actor / actresses lah.

Hey girls...whoa...me on Hiatus for quite sometime liaoz...work is like crazy! eeeiikk...

heh...so long never visit this thread, so many posts! read until i
kao_dizzy.gif
liao! haha..

Marnie: Halo! How's things? I tot u going for the World Cup leh! haha..i wanna pass u the Home and Deco mags! haha

Cuclainne/IC: Whoa..those typical relatives...so drama-mama!! Can understand the pekcheck-ness leh..

Ally: Whoa sis u take care man...work (headache)& politic issues...sucks

Pacifiz: Welcome welcome again...here majority married liaoz..left me...and a couple of other girls...oso long time neber visit here liao! haha..

We should meet up soon Girls!!! haha