Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

huichin

Hallo everyone,

i'm Chinese wif a malay muslim BF. Need lotsa advice for planning of preparations for a Mixed-culture/traditions weddings. Anyone in similar cases like me? Pls advise!

(0 ',)

marnie

Hi Huichin,

I'm a malay muslim marrying an bangledeshi muslim man. Ethnically, he's ticks himself off as Indian for official purposes. Culturally lots of difference between our races but at least we are of the same religion.

How's your wedding prep moving?

interrace

hi huichin,

me chinese with malay bf..
planning to get a hdb flat first..and go for conversion class, have u gone for ur conversion class?
wouldnt be having malay sorta wedding at the void decks nor chinese customary thingy, will be keeping things simple, however nothing concrete yet.
are u planning marriage soon? got flat oredi ?

huichin

Marnie: i'm just starting to do research on wedding and stuff in general. So need some advice on this type of mixed marriage wedding...

Interrace: hi there, me oso Chinese and my BF is malay. are u gonna ROM 1st to get ur flat? Nope i have not gone for conversion class yet. Has just finished da beginner's class and gone for da prayers' tutiorial & practical. I would like to know more of Islam 1st b4 converting.

Yea, my BF & i are discussing abt the wedding, ideally in Oct 2006, but i tot it's good that i start doing research whenever i'm free(work is wayyy too busy LOL). We're hoping for a fusion of both cultures, would be interesting! On my BF's side the guest's is as long as 1k, so we might be considering da CC or something. Thats y now headache loh...

queenie30

Hi ladies!
I'm half malay & half chinese and my FH is chinese.We're getting Rom in Sept.We plan to do a western buffet dinner.Wld like to do fusion but how?
Also gonna get keys to my resale in May.

huichin

hi queenie

Congrats! So u're alil like me, planning for a fusion wedding rite? i'm oso trying to get comments from ppl abt such weddings...to have some ideas...

anyone for photgraphs or websites where we can visit too?

marnie

Hey girls,

Good to see it's alive and kicking this thread. I'm planning for a wedding in April 2006 that's a mix of both our cultures - such a headache (and yes be prepared for a long guest list from the malays). I am having a difficult time cutting my list down! *LOL*

huichin

hey Marnie - Congrats!

Everyone, hope we can continue posting and keep everyone updated for questions, answers, thoughts and IdEaS!

marnie

Hi huichin,

I haven't found any websites mixing both cultures (specifically malay + chinese) but if you talk to your malay friends, I am sure you'll find elements that you can fuse with the chinese cultures.

As for me, I'm using tonnes of red (a very indian colour) and using the indian bangles as napkin holders. My invites will feature vellum wraps of batik prints.

interrace

hi huichin,
wa..ur progress is faster than mine..
i only went for the orientation class, will be starting the beginners' course in early april.
we probably will be booking our flat soon cos we saw one that we really like in the west area near his and my parents place, dun wanna missed out on the high floor availability either.

probably will ROM 3 mths after but if possible will delay 6 mths, since i havent gone thru the conversion thingy.

to everyone else...is really nice to hear from u gals..really hope this thread will be kept alive, anyway to contact via msn or icq ?
will be great to have moral and information support.
is so surprising u gals are planning a fusion ..was thinking of avoiding the hassles and not to have those thingy at all, but after hearing ur plans, might think other wise, however me and my FH do not have the $$ to plan a big event,not even in cc....so prob that's why we are abandoning the idea of holding something big..but in islam law rite, they mentioned wedding must be loudly declared and fill with celebrations...so keeping my options open.
pls share what information or updates on ur wedding prep k ? cheers...

marnie

hi Interrace,

Muslim law says it's good if you have a celebration (where you have the money and means). This is to avoid people gossipping about you and your hubby (you know people thinking you're not married when you are legally). Since your hubby is a muslim malay, maybe he can just opt for a thanksgiving prayers do thingee at home - that's what we are doing at home for our other not so close relatives and friends of my parents. Then maybe for your side of the family, can wait a few months later ? It's just an idea.

By the ways, I can be contacted on ICQ at 16374457. Hope to hear your ideas and all!

huichin

Hello Marnie

yea over the yrs i've been to several no. of weddings (there was one on the 26th Mar 05). It was held in Kampung Ubi CC. Was not bad as it was a 'mixture' of western-cum-malay type of wedding. The couple used a mixture of BG for both. And the food was good! But hor...what do u girls think abt having a live band? Or with Sing-a-song Karaoke session at ur wedding?? What do u all feel of hiring a good Emcee? GIrls, lemme know wat ya all think!

LOL...it's nice to know that u've aredy have planned to get a flat. I havent! lol...

I'm trying to find out moret abt the normal chinese (modern)wedding so i can have more varieties when it comes to selecting colours or anything to fix the style of my wedding. Will be super interested to see ur wedding Marnie! hehe...

hey Interrace,

Wow~! means u're planning to get wedded very soon rite! Actually, i think u dun really have to invest too much $$ on ur wedding, if u can find real good lobangs, u can still keep ur wedding nice and simple.

So all in all, Interrace is planning to get married in probably Dec2005, and Marnie in April2006. Am i right? Me planning for an October2006 wedding! hehe...

U know, I really really wish if only i can attend to all u girls' wedding! haha

kao_love.gif

huichin

Btw, here's my contact:

MSN: [email protected]

feel free to msg me k!

But i think major ideas will be good to share here so everyone can see it and will be helpful if we need any info exchanged for reference!

hehe...

marnie

I'm planning to buy over my parents' current flat cos' my mom is retiring end this year and intending to purchase a house in JB. Besides, with Meraj (my fiance and future hubby) being a non-citizen, we can only buy resale flats. Oh well....works out for us though!

Huichin and Interrace: How long does it take to complete your conversion classes? And oh....what about those marriage classes? Quite tedious - 3 full Sundays to attend. We will not get our marriage certificate if we don't complete the course. And I really panic (and scared!) when I think about the Registrar at the ROMM interviewing us when we register out intent to get married.

Huichin: Me not having live band or DJ (quite expensive). Since the museum provides in the package complete sound system and projector, we'll just have music we put together. We'll just get a willing (and fun!) friend to be our emcee for the day.

huichin

Hey Marnie,

sama sama lah! My FH and i are oso planning to buy over his current house as his mum is gonna get her own house and live with his other siblings. Resale flats oso no prob! As long as u can renovate it nicely! heh

Erm...it actually depends on individuals...cos like for example when i took the 1st intro class, then followed by the Beginners' class(abt 8 Sundays i think) and after that, took a short practical class (4 Sundays). THen some ppl went straightaway for da conversion liaoz!

But i feel that i wanna know more abt Islam 1st b4 doing so (with abit more time on hand oso).

Yea...btw me not to the wedding courses yet..lol...gotta keep up though...heh...dont panic k!

Museum? Can u tell me more abt ur wedding plans? me like blur blur liaoz...

marnie

Hey huichin,

Your malay boleh pass ;-)

Yeah...my head is brimming with ideas on how to redo the current flat! First thing though the orange (yes orange!) kitchen cabinets (my mom's attempt to be a tad bit hip and happening) will have to go! ;-o

What do you want to know about the wedding plans? To cut story short, we originally wanted to have about 350 people at the wedding. But after thinking, we've cut the list to 170 pax. All in the River Room (air-conditioned). Going to have the usual stage thingee where the malay couple usually sit on and be the king and queen for the day ;-) We're going to have the malay catered food. Decoration and food are from these people -www.istanawedding.com . They provide great food, proper white porcelainware and beautiful decoration all at affordable prices.

Basically, not much can be done to the whole marriage solemnisation to incorporate both the indian and malay culture. We've decided that I am going to wear the saree whilst him the indian groom wear for the solemnisation and we're going to wear the traditional malay songket when we are ushered into the museum to the usual malay drum thingee. And cos' I'm of Javanese descent, the drumming group will incorporate the traditional malay instruments and have that horses dancing thing (not sure you know what I am talking about?)

Other than that, the little touches will be indian bangles will serve as napkin holders to napkins in orange, yellow and red (bought from Ikea) (also very indian colours and match the museum wall colours). Not decided about favours - playing with idea of getting incense gift sets or mugs. I'm more for mugs cos' it's more practical and everyone can use them (as opposed to incense where mostly girls are into). But I am open to ideas for favours. (I am gushing, I know.....love planning weddings for friends and finally planning my own!)

So yeah......phew....my story is not cut that short after all..Paiseh...*hahahhah*

huichin

haha..hey Marnie

u know, it really feels good to hear someone flooded with ideas and concepts waiting to be used on something very meaningful that only coming once in a lifetime!

Btw, i'm impressed that u can actually bring down the no. of guests and i really want every guest who attends my wedding to feel the warm welcome and happiness that we really wanna share with them. But if there're wayy too many peeps, think it's really a mission IMPOSSIBLE. Sigh...

So what u mean is, u're gonna hold ur wedding at the Museum? the Singapore Museum? If so, i think that someplace very unique and special! hoho..

Oh ya, of course i've heard of the Istana wedding, as they're quite famous in this industry. Been to several wedding exhibitions at the Expo, and their decos are always one of the stronger ones compared to the rest. Like their grand feel in no matter what, be it the cutlery, or the decos etc. heh...good choice girl!

Ok wedding gifts...like ur idea or getting insense - aromatherapy! hehe...where do u intend to get them? That wedding that i just went last Sat, the mum of the bride actually went to Tanjong Pinang to get those gifts, so nice and unique! lol...plus, great stuff at great prices! Can consider ya...

heh...hey, dun worry, i like it better when ppl share with me their stories! Jangan malu! hoho...

Feel so excited for u! Can we get to see your photos in future??

hehe...

marnie

Hi Huichin,

Yeah...me too - excited that I get to hear your part of your story! I find that having a mix of both cultures are much more special and personal to the couple. Of course that only applies to a inter-cultural marriage.

We decided to have it at the Asian Civilisation Museum - partly cos' we pak tor there a lot (one whole day at the museum also not enough!) and cos' we wanted to showcase our Asian culture (albeit we're pretty much the modernised Asians). We also wanted to have fun at our wedding. Mostly we wanted it to be about us. I know that would sound corny but...hey it's our wedding, the way we see it. ;-)

Hear you're going to JB for your bridal? Are they a lot more cheap? I am just going to a malay bridal shop here. She's charging me S$1K for 4 pairs of clothes with makeup and hairdo and accessories for two days. Saves me the hassle of going to JB (which I initially wanted to do).

Meraj (my fiance and future hubby) is going to Bangkok next month, so he can look see look see. Don't know if should buy then also as I'm not sure if incense gift packs can be kept one year before the scent escapes..*haha*

Of course you can see pictures when they are ready. We're likely going with The Pond Photography for our bridal shoot - not yet paid deposit but confirm with them liao. We'll have it done in January. AD photography...still looking. Cos' my budget is actually S$650.00 for it. Don't know can get that price or not. Any lobang??

interrace

Wow..seems like u both are really planning a grand wedding celebration.
Me really not prepared for any wedding celebrations..however after bringing up the topic to my FIL ..they insist on having a void deck event and they will pay for the event which me and my FH have told them is not neccessary as they do not have the $$ and will consider borrowing from other means.
how gals ? i really do not want them to trouble themselves over our wedding celebrations (cos we dun want one.)

anyway for the bridal shoots rite, i have booked mine in JB ...cos is definately cheaper and cost saving than in SG ..hee...me very poor.

btw i added huichin to my msn, icq i gotta check at home, cos i can msn from opi .

marnie...i really envy u ..having such joy and excitement to plan ur wedding, i dun have that kinda feelings....

marnie

Hi Interrace,

Don't envy me. Meraj and I actually butt heads a lot to come to a decision about the small no. of invites. We have quite a no. of overseas guests so they are our priority. My parents are actually happier for our side of relatives to only be invited for the thanksgiving session at home the week after. I will be inviting only extremely close aunts to my wedding at the museum. The rest of the relatives and parents' friends will be to the thanksgiving.

I think I understand why your in laws are wanting to do that = malays are like that, they will actually come together to help the couple prepare for the wedding. In the old days, everything is done and contributed by every member of the family (be it distant cousin or grand-niece!). But not sure that they should go to the extent of borrowing - I am sure they have their reasons.

Why is it that you don't want a wedding celebration at all? Not even a thanksgiving thingee at your parents-in-laws home? I think that would suffice and won't cost S$1K. Just food lor.

interrace

i wouldnt mind a thanksgiving thingy, but i have no idea how to go abt so ...hee..
secondly, my FIL wanted a guest list of 1k pple, how are we able to hold a void deck event on a 1k budget for so many guest? 3/4 of which i dun even noe..
i understand their reasons for doing all these, i noe is the malay culture to celebrate marriages ( is also chinese culture to celebrate), however, i dun see the need of inviting so many pple.
Major thing is, me and my FH dun have these in our plans...now i cant even say me and my FH ..cos i think he is now for his parents idea.
Actually i noe i have to compromise, but can u roughly tell me how much will it cost to hold a void deck wedding with 500 - 1k pple on the invitation list ?
Cos if really they do insist, i will like to save some $ to help with the event ... i really feel that i have no say in this ..

marnie

Oh...usually, when you have a thanksgiving do at home, you don't invite like not-so-close friends and people who are distantly related. About up to 300 (unless your inlaws have big family) should be able to cover everything. Void deck celebration, now you can get S$5K for everything (ie. food, tables, chairs, deco, the stage thingee) for about 1,000 pax. Of course the bridal clothes another thingee lah. Sometimes, if you really look the S$5K can even cover wedding favours. Of course not the sophisticated ones, but traditional eggs or small cakes in plastic tupperwares, will also do. Let me know if you need help in this cos' I can pass you some contact - my brother's wedding last year less than $5K for 800 people. Of course, not counting the gift exchange thingee between groom and bride.

huichin

Yea Marnie

if u need some contacts, just let us know k. Might be able to intro u some good lobangs. But are u still deciding on whether to go for the Void deck celebration?

HuiChinz

huichin

Hey Girls...

been rather quiet here. heh...i meet a lady in one of da thread-her husband's chinese and she's malay muslim. Told me that she hired The Wedding Entourage of the The Flyin Dutchman's co. What do ya all think abt having a wedding planner?

Need some opinions here...and btw, any recommendations? heh...

marnie

Hi..Sorry..went on a spa retreat with my girlfriend - NEEDED some girl time.....planning all stuff about wedding can stress us out....*heheheheh*

I heard about The Wedding Entourage. Meraj and I initially wanted to use a wedding planner seeing how he is away 3/4 of the year and I keep about 16 hour day work 5-days a week. Besides, for us to coordinate all the massive logistics for our overseas guests, I reckon would be a total chaos. But decided against it - (1) it's going to cost money (2) I wanted to plan and see through my own wedding (3) I have a good family and friend support who are around to help when I needed it for free (I rather give them a good dinner afterward than pay someone I don't know who'll do a good job - but that's me).

Huichin, if you do have extra cash to spare and really have no time to attend to your preps, maybe you can consider.

Interrace: Good for you! Let us know if you need our help, k?? I can even bring you around I go see to my wedding prep.

huichin

Hey Marnie

whoa~~! issit good? I've never been to a Spa in my life...got any gd deals or reccommendations? hehe...

(abt the wedding planning) - icic...yea why not? If u have family and frens to help out, it's even better rite? lol...

Yea, think if i have alil more cash, think i'll just go for it...heh...

marnie

I just go to the Spa gardens at Sentosa (under The Sentosa Resort & Spa). All the facilities (not including the massages) is only S$30.00 + GST. I think good bargain cos' can use everything else (including Jacuzzi and mud pool).

Let us know how the wedding planner turns out - being kaypo me...(hehhhahaha). Better give them budget so they know how much money they can work with - that's what my friend told me. She swore by a planner cos' she was overseas half the time then, and I just helped the planner with everything else then.

Interrace: Everything alright on your end?? Haven't heard from you girl.

skychloe

i'm Chinese wif a malay muslim BF. We be getting married this year Nov. Any good lobang to introduce for the wedding?

huichin

Hi Chloe,

just wondering: how come ur 1st sentence looks like u've 'cut & paste' from my very 1st post?

Anyway, wow, u're like getting married this Nov. super rush man, got time to plan? THere are a million things to talk abt in a wedding itself. WHat kind of lobang are u looking for? Have u started planning already?

WHat's da style of wedding that u're planning to have? WHat kinda arrangement do u prefer for the lunch / dinner? How many ppl are u inviting for the celebration? THere are way too many factors and things to plan abt, so maybe if u can provide us wif more details, it would be very useful! lol

Btw, both Interrace and Marnie and already planning for their wedding soon, so maybe they can help u.

Rgs,
Hui Chin

marnie

Hi Chloe,

Welcome!!

Wah November!!! Super rush girl! I hope at least you and bf have talked about what you both want for the wedding and the budget (budget very important, I think!).

Malay weddings are tricky in that there are a lot of stuff to consider taking into account the no. of guests. I am sure you must have already been told that most malay weddings are close to 1000 pax. And the traditional solemnisation is in itself a big event. Let us know what you are thinking and Interrace, HuiChin and I can be your unofficial wedding planner...*hhahahahah*

Huichin: 3 in the morning?! You camped in the office is it?? *hahahah* Me in dreamland at that time....

Interrace: Calling calling...

interrace

Hi Marnie,
am here ...things are swell ever since i accepted their plans..so i dun have to lift any fingers in the plans..as his side aunties are seeing to the event.

i nvr been to spa before either, they say u have to undress everything and tat leaves u in ur birthday suit ? is that true ?

Hi chloe welcome to this thread...me will be having my event in a cc ...food wise as per mentioned, my FH's family will be the one to decide. hee..i leave things to them.
so have you been to conversion class oredi?

marnie

Interrace: YIPPEE!! Good for you!! See, told you not to worry one - sure someone will help out for your wedding. When is your wedding, huh? (Getting old..so tend to forget for the life of me..*heheheh*)

As for the spa, no lah...this Spa Botanica, just wear swim-wear. Okay one. Unless you go for massage, you are asked to wear disposable undies (which they will provide you) and you wear bathrobe.

Everyone else: Anyone going to the Bridal Fair thingee at Fort Canning? I kaypoh....can make an outing together.....*hahahahah*

pixel

a guy's perspective here...

hi queenie30, like u my FW is malay-chinese & i'm chinese. my ROMM also in sep05

i've completed my beginners' class on Islam and have my conversion temp cert. now learning the prayers so that i can get my full cert from MUIS. i've yet to go for the marriage course @ darul arqam, maybe next mth.

we dun intend to have a 'bersanding', just a small dinner @ a halal restaurant for both families. bridal photography we are doing outdoor @ sentosa & esplanade in both casual & our 'nikah' clothes. the photog is my friend so not very expensive

ROMM day we'll be hiring the only pink london cab in s'pore as our transport, as morning will be our solemnization, afternoon our chinese tea ceremony, nite dinner.

all in all i hope to spend only $3k the most as we are not well-off, have to save for house and baby.

we intend to either get a new 5rm flat @ JW or resale 3rm @ bt merah, as both prices are abt the same and within my budget.

marnie

Hi Digital! Welcome!

Me too, wanted to sign up for the classes at Darul Arqam next month but not confirmed cos Meraj may be overseas on one weekend....siaz. So hopefully the month after there is one....Also asking for the schedule at Apkim Resources as they have lessons in English. Meraj don't speak no malay....except the ones describing food!

Meraj and I don't mind freelance....should give you guys a chance lor...But hor, we're picky - have to see your portfolio first. Got or not?

pixel

hi Marnie

darul arqam's BCI all in English, and they have weeknites, sat & sun schedules. check it out www.darularqam.org.sg

my sample pics are chinese wedding, but not in digital form, they are photos, if u wanna see can meet up to show u. pls email me (email in my previous post)

marnie

Hi Digital,

Thanks for the input on the Darul Arqam schedule - am aware of it. But I am also seeing the other place where they conduct lessons in English. As Meraj is non-citizen, he can't attend the other ones in CCs and mosques.

Meraj and I have no problems with the fact that you have not done Malay weddings. We're only particular about the way the pictures are captured, the essense of it. Are you digital or still film kind of guy? (Actually that query kinda redundant seeing how your nick is "Digital"...*hahahahahah*) Silly me! *smacks forehead in disbelief* Anyways, will email you to get more info once I speak to Meraj (he's outstation).

interrace

Hi Marnie,

Having my rom in sep'05 too ...same as digital?
my class will be a bit rush though, am currently taking the BCI(1) last for 3 mths, then go for prayer class,another one mth then will go for marriage prep class in btw all the classes, then hopefully will pass evaluation and be a convert before my rom date.

me not gg to the fort canning ..cos no point gg..hee..hee..u all have a happy outing yo!!

marnie

Wah Interrace....your progress very fast! Good good for you...!

Let us know the progress whenever you're free k?

interrace

fast meh?
haha..no time to save $$ ...
lotsa debts to clear for the next few yrs liaoz..
will keep u update yo...
tonite is my second BCI lessons... hope lect will be more interesting tonite..haha..

pixel

hi Interrace

who's yr BCI instructor? mine was bro Johari. he's quite a nice guy with a goatee and speaks good english...

interrace

Hi Digital,

they changed the lecturer, ytd Bro Johari took over, when he first came in, i tot is Najib Ali hee..hee..he sure sound and look abit like him loh.
i like him alot better than the first one, he sounds more confident and modern.ha!
the first one was sacked i guess ( but he is also known to be a great lecturer but only when he teached in malay ba).

dkayangan

Hi everybody in here! I am Fidah and had read all ur difficulities in malay wedding culture. I am a wedding planner and had been in this service for more than 3 years. We specialise in the decorations and wedding dias (pelamin) for restaurants, hotels, country clubs, community centres, multi purpose hall or even at the void deck. We also make the exchange gifts (Gubahan Hantaran) for the bride and bridegroom. Don't worry.. It's not all that we have. WE ARE AT ONE-STOP WEDDING SERVICE! My aunt who is a certified & profeesional make up artiste and a property agent too.. She had been a make- artiste for almost 6 years. Alot of praises from her previous customer praise about her make up and our decorations because our business gets together. If you have any queries you could just drop me an email at d_kayangan.com.sg or simply call me at 65670350 / 97985270. We could help you out to plan for your memorable day smoothly.

marnie

Er....I think everyone run away after that bit of "advertisement"....*ahahahhahah* I was hiding one corner...

Woo hooo....where is everyone?

interrace

Hi Marnie,
me still ard,din post after that advert..dun noe how to reply..hee..since i got my caterer oredi.
how have u been? busy with ur wedding prep and stuff?

marnie

Hi Interrace! Glad to see you still around.

Yeah..me too..We were not having difficulty in putting together the wedding. We just need to work in the buget, right?

Been busy "interviewing" photographers for the actual day. Don't know whether Meraj and I can get a good one for my budget.

But..very impressed with your progress. You've gone from not wanting a banquet to already got a caterer already! Congrats girl! So your bf's family is helping out good, eh? Who are you engaging to cater the food? I assume it has decoration and the wedding dais as well? And the rest of your wedding prep? How is it going?

Must share share....*grin* (Me being kaypoh again lah - sorry)