Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

Cuclainne : Oooh...that's good to hear that all is well and swell...--> pun fully intended there....

I had a few policking sessions in the office earlier today about people refusing to sit with some other people (even though they are on talking to each other!) so in a rare moment, I lost my cool and raised my voice and just insisted that it was my wedding and that they as my adult guests to suck it up and just sit with one another and treat it each other civil for 3 hours max. That's all I'm asking.

Now, I'm sure they are going to ask me to put them in an aircon room (River Room) v fans (River Terrace). Grrr....

Cuclainne, yes I would love to sit outside as a guest too nevermind that there's no aircon. The River Room would also be okay for the accoustics of the place and the cosy intimate feeling it emits. But you know how the grass is always greener on the other side...hmmm........

Marnie

Understand what you mean - I attended a function there before, a conference dinner for overseas doctors. It really doesn't matter whether it's the River Terrace, the River Room, etc .. every little bit of that place is magical to me. Hehehe..

Girls,
Had been extremely busy. No time to log in. Anyway, Ok..marnie, see you there. Nowadays got short memory. So sometimes can't remember what i told you. :P

Cuclainne,
Morning sickness???!! You preggie oredi??!?!!

Good morning Girls, quick post. FMIL is in town and I've been so tired entertaining Meraj's cousin and wife and his mom. Taking afternoon off today and tomorrow and i can get last minute shopping in for the wedding (yes, suddenly the shopping list got bigger!)

Cuclainne, how's the pregnancy coming along? 10 weeks already!?!?!? Gosh - time flies, eh?

IC, I popped you a note - need yours and your hubby's names, please.

Halo alo Girls!

Sorry for the MIA...haha...been very busy wif work..haha..what's new?

Anyways, how's everyone? I went to the Outdoor wedding show @ Bugis yesterday...pretty normal...but have abit of wedding cake tasting wif Pine Gardens. WAS good! but not sure abt the guy servicing us..haha..any comments abt them (the cake lah) anyone? Not bad leh..the tasting.

Marnie: Hurry hurry, grab whatever u need - u only have 1 wk left! hehe...Cant wait to see u on ur big day! haha...

Cuclainne: WHoa! SO fast 10weeks liao! Must take care k! Heheh...i know it's abit early to ask..haha..but have u tot of names? muahaaha..

Where's the rest of the GIrls??

Hi Ladies...

Cuclainne!!!
CONGRATS!!! Wow really so fast ah...

Marnie
Good luck for your last min wedding preps! I bet you must be running around like crazy, entertaining your future in-laws' family and finalizing the last details of your wedding but I am sure you are excited too! Remember to smile and enjoy!

HuiChin
Was the response good with the Outdoor wedding show? Anything exciting?

Halo Zierella! haha..long time no see! haha..eh....the show ah..like ok only leh. haha..was kinda empty..i mean i went on the last day - still not very crowded! haha...

Anything exciting..hm..i would say the Nanyang (tentage) counter + the Pine Gardens one was pretty good. THey had very nice table settings and stuff. So can kapok their ideas..Hahah..the rest..ok ok only..the usuals.

Chin, you forget ah...my cake is from Pine Garden's lah...remember to taste all three layers okie?

Hi ho Zierella - it's been so long since you last came on here - what's been happening with you dear?

Oooh yeah! I finally accomplished all the shopping to be done for the wedding *phew* About time too. I'm getting sick of Orchard Road and dare I say it.....Arab Street too!

Oh ya la! muahahaa...the 3 layers - it's a must try!!!
So would u recommend them? Or after u tasted it 1st! haha...service-wise and all tt

Chin

I actually wanted to go to the show too, but too bad had a family chalet then. Hehe good that you can kapo some of their ideas...

Marnie
Well I've been real busy at work, and finalizing the details of my wedding eg kompang, dancing, MC, etc etc

Great that you have finally accomplished your wedding shopping!! Hmmm...sick of Orchard road? haha I dont know if I would ever say that cos I am a shopping freak heheh...so are you getting more and more excited as The Big Day approaches?

Mine is 5 months more to go, and I get sooo excited when I think about it! I think I would prob have sleepless nights anticipating the Day, not to mention the associated stress....

Oohhh and im so excited!! My fiancee is coming to Spore next weeek!! Yeaaaaaaaaahhhhh!

Hey, yup.. Chin, you looked nice in the orange top and haha I saw your darling too..

MArnie, the Pine Garden cake - how early must you place your order? I still haven't decided whether to have wedding cake..

Marnie

Yes it's been very fast .. anyways, just a few more days yah .. must be busy tying up loose ends eh?

Hui Chin

We have a few names in mind but nothing's finalised yet..

Ally

Thanks. Will definitely ask you and IC if I have any questions.

Nur, Pine Garden's advised me that they only do 4 wedding cakes per weekend and I hear that people travel to order their cakes so safe to say order once you feel is comfortable...about 5 months in advance (I ordered mine during the fasting period last year). Wedding cakes usually go by dimensions and service size not so much on the weight. Always order for less people cos' not everyone likes cake.

Chin, i tasked their cake at last year's outdoor show. Then I went to their shop and they let me try all kinds of cake and we talked aobut designs. The girl was quite switched on cos' she knew exactly what Meraj and I liked for designs. I recommend that you bring pictures of wedding cakes that you like so she has a "feel" of what both Fi and you like.

Cuclainne, yeah man...time flies. I'm home now sorting out last minute stuff so have been doing tonnes. I get to wake up at 10 in the morning today so that's a luxury (!) All the craziness has rendered me down with fever and tonsilitis! So taking my meds as we speak....Bleh..

Good for you Zierella! At least with fiance in town, you can both do a bit of wedding things done. It's so much easier to do it together, no?

I thought the same thing about shopping but I am pretty much done for the next...oh well.... 2 weeks...I'll be back out on the shopping belt after that, I'm sure.

K Girls, gotta scooot. So much to do!

Marnie,
Thanks for e info. Take care yah!! You will have a wonderful wedding.

I've been busy with home and renovation quotes, not so much wedding preps these days. But just for a heads-up, I'm in between settling wedding favours, solemnization favours and engaging the gift-wrapping service cos I sorely lack the creative-artistic quotient that Marnie and Huichin have...

Cuclainne: Dat's good enuf! lol..

Marnie: Oh! so go down to their shop when we're ready to talk rite! hehe...whoa...so exciting! haha..yea i think it's a must to bring picture samples down..heh

Oh my! 5 months in advance~! very long siah...haha..but i think once we find our ideal design..that will be IT! haha...

Oh man! Just less than 2days to go for ur Bigbig DAY!! haha...i'm sure u're doin settling stuff and things that need to be done like nownownow! Do take care of urself yea... haha...go Marnie go!

Nur: Haha..my oren baju..haha..went to a wedding just b4 i went to bugis! hehe...i know i looked more malay-ish then then usual rite! lol...hey, me haven start anything yet..haha..duno how well i can handle my creativity in my wedding event-wise. haha...but i think if u got enuf research, everything will just turn out great!

Marnie

Your wedding is spectacular - Ah Boy really enjoyed seeing the ceremony and he made several trips to the buffet line. Hehehehe..

Marnie: Yea me and Fi love it! Was great - good work! hehe...YUmmies..haha..but i only got to taste the 1st layer or lychee cake..Nice! Was it lychee? Taste like it to me

Hui Chin

I managed to taste the 1st and 2nd layer .. was eyeing the 3rd layer after we've finished taking the photos with Marnie and Meraj but so shy to take a slice. Hehehehe...

Marnie,

Yups, I would agree with both Cuclainne and Huichin. And the best thing is, the whole family's there!! Finally meeting everybody at one place! Hubby was very impressed with the whole dikir barat and dance thingy. Usually, in other weddings that we go, it would juz be a short stint..but urs...super grand lah.

Wah Cuclainne,

U manged to try two layers ah? IC, Elaine and I tasted the brownie. But..its oohh...delicious!

Ally

Hehehehe .. the server offered the first slice to Ah Boy so I curi a bit la from him. Then when they started to cut the second layer, I made him take a slice for me. Heheheheh .. the tea really completed the cake for me.. delicious.

LOL!

Cuclainne,

I had the cocktail earlier on..and aredi taken 2 cupcakes. thot of trying out more..but tummy simply cannot take it.

oh ya Marnie,

Where did you order the cupcakes from? So cute lar! and taste-wise not bad leh!

Good Morning gals...

Back after MIA for so long !!!! hehehe. I agreed with everybody, Marnie's Wedding was good !! The food, the ambience, most importantly, it brought all of us together after about a year of gossiping and chatting in this thread.. hehe.. Really enjoyed very much..

Cuclainne..
YOu deserved to tase the two layer of cakes, your baby also know to taste good stuff.. haha... I forgotten to pass you my wedding pic again.

Cuclainne,
Congratulations!!!!
You worked fast!! Hehehe... so lucky you get to taste 2 layers of the cake!! I only managed to get the bottom layer, the brownie. Hmm... by the time the cake comes, i was really really full. But still managed to eat it. :P

Your wedding photos so nice! i really like your wedding gown. Looks very classy and expensive.

Girls,
Eh..whoever took photos that night (with the camera), can email me a not???

Marnie,
I like the venue of your wedding.
I had a nice seat. Hehehe..love the view of clarke quay. Very romantic.

ic

Worked fast? Hahahahaha!

Overall I think I got a good bargain on my MUA package. I only paid $1K for 4 pairs of costumes with accessories and shoes, 2 days' make-up service, hand bouquet and potpourri bags. I think that the mak andam has raised the price of the package I took wef this year though.

My mother la .. she said I die die must wear the white gown even though i seemed to have expanded around the waist area.

Hello Girls!

I'm back a Mrs after a long hiatus. I feel like it's been ages since I came on here.

It feels surreal and great to be married. Knowing the choice I made. Having enough faith in my man and taking this journey with him. The many months of pulling my hair out was definitely worth.

Not sure whether you girls know but there were glitches with the wedding. The seating arrangement went screwy and the seating chart went missing somehow (?!?!), the hadrah went 15 minutes overtime but ultimately, we both enjoyed it. It was definitely a day of indulgence. We enjoyed so much that Meraj and I even helped out to clean the place up after the wedding - it was surreal seeing the "aftermath" - beautiful. I'm glad I could share our day with you girls.

Ally, I ordered my cupcakes from SimplyCupcakes.

Thanks Cuclainne, I had a good time in bed sleeping in most of the time! Still recovering from the wedding and we're sorting out the photographs which we just got from our official photographer.

To whet all you Girls' appetite, here are 2 of my favourites:

364249.jpg
364250.jpg

Harloww everyone, I'm back after MIA so long.

Wow Marnie! A missus now ah... your wedding must've been so beautiful after all the hard work and the personal touch you've put into it. So how long are you on leave from work? Must be so nice spending time with your hubby... Errmm.. but is it strange now that there's no more 'project' to go crazy over? Hehh..
By the way, I need your advise.. Will send you a PM. Hope you can help

Hey Cuclainne... morning sickness ah... good job... heeeee.. Congratulations, babe! Take care, yah.

Girls, so whose wedding is next? Mine's in July.. scary lerr.. there's still so much to settle.

Raf, hey sorry girl! I just remembered I owe you some info! *Paiseh* Will email you.

Marnie

So nice to be able to sleep in! I am seriously considering taking leave either this Friday or during the next PH. Then I can sleep in and then head out for some serious shopping. Hehehehe!

Sandra

Welcome back! Hehehehe ... thanks.

Cuclainne, you betcha girl - I want to sleep all day long if I am given a choice. But with mom-in-law in town, it's quite hard to sleep like a pig. We've been bringing her out and travelling to and fro for her dialysis treatments.

Thus my missing in action for a while. I kinda miss posting on the forum...
How have you been?

IC, aiyah......1 hour to the guests coming in for cocktails, my friends highlighted the fact that there was something wrong with the seating arrangement. Panic was an understatement. My sister just did it on the spot. Plus the seating table chart for display at the reception went missing! I'm glad all that panic manic is over and done with. Having said that though, I love everything about my wedding - I'm biased..I know.

Marnie

My full-blown morning sickness seems to be a thing of the past (I still get a little nauseous, now and again) so I have been eating with a vengeance over the weekend. Indian food, Nepalese food .. we also went to Hard Rock Cafe and Brewerkz. Yummy!!!

Your mom-in-law is still in town? How is she doing?

Good morning Girls!

My mom in law and hubby are in London right now so I have a bit of time to myself. And oooh, the computer is mine to hog!
I uploaded a couple of the wedding pictures on an album and sent a few of you the links. Please let me know if you have not received and if you'd like, leave me your email addy and I'll link you to the album.

Cuclainne, mom in law is doing pretty well, in the circumstances. She didn't want to go back cos' of the dreary weather. We're planning to go there in August to have a bit of get-away time after the World Cup "drama". Bleh.

Sandra, my latest project to be on the prowl to get my flat. I always have some kind of project to keep me occupied. Funny how Meraj thinks I'm going to be so bored after the wedding with no details to keep me nutty(!) Funny man he is...*rolls eyes*

Marnie

I saw your pics - they're so lovely, girl! Hahaha .. you're way faster than me ah - I haven't even uploaded the pics from my March events yet. Hehehehe ..

Can understand the weather bit - we have been having some good weather (aside from the last few days). Let us know about your house-hunting project yah ..

Cuclainne, thanks. I can't ask for anything more from Eulee - I think he's definitely well worth the money.

Meraj's friend flew in from hongkong and 2 weeks after the wedding, she sent us 3 albums filled with about 400+ 4R prints and CDs of the events. We were pleasantly surprised. Meraj brought the CDs to London so when I get it, I'll link you Girls to the pictures.

Also have the pictures for the Equinox (also with Meraj at the moment}.....i think Meraj and I got carried away with the photographs!

In your current "condition", I think we all know why you haven't uploaded your pictures....don't worry too much. We can always go your house and look at them....(no shame, invite myself...

Marnie

Well, one can never have too many photographs! Hehehehe ...

Yes yes I know I'm long overdue on my house-warming get-together. Just managed to clean the living room area over the weekend (it took forever to clean!), only to have Ah Boy messed it up again.

Cuclainne, tell me about it!

With Meraj in London, I can breathe easy cos' I have a lot more space on the coffee table and a lot more control time on the remote! Imagine me having to watch ESPN Sports 24/7?!?

The hunt for the elusive flat is taking us a bit longer. We've placed 2 offers on 2 flats over the last month but the sellers are squeezing us for more cash which we didn't want to so back on the roads for us.

Marnie

My heart goes out to you girl. I am so lucky that Ah Boy totally hates sports. I basically hog the TV spot now .. will even hide the remote (so he can't play on his Playstation). I can't miss my fave TV programmes. Hahahah ...

Oh .. don't you just hate that? Are you going with an agent or trawling through the papers?

Marnie: I saw ur photos..bery nice! haha..hope u can hunt down ur dream home soon!

Cuclainne: haha...yea i waiting for ur invite oso leh! haha..ur house-warming get-together. muahaha.. Oh no, think i will need to hi-five wif Marnie. Fi loves soccer and his fav past-time in front of the TV is switchin channels every 5 mins! Oh goshhh
kao_dizzy.gif

Cuclainne, I'm going through an agent. With the amount of time I spend on the phone talking to clients, I'm hard pressed to make all those calls(!)

Chin, don't go waste your money to get the hantaran to be done by "professionals" lah. You're in the ad creative industry, I'm sure you'll do fine doing up your own trays. Trust me, no one blinks an eye at the trays. They only care about what's on them...