Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

actually one of my colleagues was also asking how come i keep a low profile in the office, ic. aside from not wanting to get involved in the politics, i also think it's not good for the baby if the mommy is always so hyper and involved. hahahaha.

yes yes huichin, when are we meeting up again?

IC,

thanx girl.. Dun wish to get involved in the politics but heck, i'm was one of the partners..bobian..

My maternal grandma had organised such lenggang perut ceremony for me, that's why I'm quite familiar with it.

In any case, dun bother with all the "got-nothing-better-to-do" relatives. During my wedding previously also have lots of the dramas. Esp when I had separated clearly between my chinese and Malay relatives. My relatives from my mum's side had "red-eye" cos I didn't invite them for my hotel banquet. anyway..wat's over is over.. juz have to "buat bodoh" only lah.

Cuclainne,

Better to keep your cool during this time, gurl. I was so hot tempered during my second pregnancy that now I really regret it. My little girl's temper is super jialat!

Huichin,

Not too worry..we know u've been bz at work (judging from the wee hours that u're still logging in MSN)

Pacifiz,

Most of the veterans here are married except for Huichin. The rest are newbies..

Ally, I fully intend on not blowing my top (much - hahahaha!) during the pregnancy but it's hard not to. I get annoyed really easily by Ah Boy, even when he has the best of intentions. Oh well .. he's letting things go now because of my 'delicate' situation. Great excuse for everything yah. Hahahah!

Ally,
Oh ic. No wonder you're so familiar with it. Wedding only happens once in a lifetime. It's like the start of a journey to a marriage and also being welcome in the "new family". So i don't think any girls will be able to forget. Because it's also that day, whereby the girl wore special clothes.
Truthfully, i still sour over my PILs and some of my malay relatives. I don't think i will forget so easily. I haven't even forgiven them 100%.

Hmm..luckily you starting new job soon. Suing each other can be dangerous.

cuclainne,
It's always best lah to keep low profile especially when preggie. I'm tired of all these politics. I had enough of these especially during my wedding preparations.

I believe there will still be some hiccups during the wedding coz you cant please everyone.. like example to haf alcohol or not to haf during the dinner for my side OR to haf wat kinda of food during lunch n dinner??
sigh.. hate to think if such things happen.. sure to spoil e whole mood and celebrations..

well.. i guess i hafta take it slow and one step at a time..

and i guess it goes the same to everyone here right??

Cuclainne, been so busy at work the last couple of days. Finally managed to clear both my intrays! YIPPPEEEE!
--> my bad attempt at doing the victory dance. Hah!

Chin, I'm going for the last 2 games and closing ceremony. Meraj will go at the end of the month (I think). I know our credit cards got billed with so many stuff this month--> Yikes!

Eh ya ya...must meet you soon leh for the mags. Shall we do the exchange next week? We meet for lunch? How about 13th at 12noon - we can go Hans or SanWich place?

Pacifiz, i so agree with you. There's the pre-wedding headache and the wedding day hiccups. Those are bound to happen, no matter how much we plan - just remember to have fun --> that'll show on your day.

IC, I haven't got my DVD of the AD (that's cos' both Meraj and I are like giving directions to the format and content of the DVD..
) But I think I will keep playing it. I know I get boose-bumps and smile when I look at my AD pictures. I love being married to Meraj(!)

Ally, oh dear girl. I hope all will be sorted out soon. But you've got yourself covered there and looked for another job. I know I'd skip the boat if that happens to me. Not easy with the scenario you're working with everyday.

pacifiz,
yeah..every bride have to go through that intense moments. But to what level that intensity is another point. My level was ranked 10 out of 10. That's why hard to forgive.

marnie,
aiyo..can see you lovey dovey with him lah! During the wedding dinner, the way you 2 stand close together and hold together...can tell lah!
My hair all stand already!

Ally,Cuclainne, marnie,
I know this sounds ridiculous. But somehow i don't know why i still have a lot of anger towards whatever has happen and can't seem to let go. One of my friend suggested to do another "getaway wedding". Only me & hubby. She said can become wedding cum 2nd honeymoon. What you girls think? I know got some resorts do plan for these kind of small weddings just for the couple.

IC, I think that's a great idea!! A good way to get that "feel-good" mushy so-in-love feeling away from your baby. You need a break after all that drama, girl.

Marnie: Oooo..so exciting! haha...ok so next tue for lunch? can we make it 12.30? think dats da earliest i can make it..heh..Hans or Sandwich shop - i'm fine wif both. heh..

And Girls, yea we must meet up soon¬! hhaha

Chin, I can't make it at 12.30pm lah...cos' I need to be back in the office by 1pm. (The firm has this practise where a lawyer will be on duty once a month to receive and sign for court docs etc...sian).

Any other days, I'm okay to have lunch at 1pm. Which would be better for you?

I reckon, since we're all World Cup widows from this Saturday onwards, we can have dinner one Friday and just while the time away while our men stay glued to the telly.

marnie,
yeah..you also think the same way as my gf. The drama too much too handled. And moreover, i got preggie just after 3 months of the wedding. So i think haven't got over the drama, another roller-coaster ride of emotions again.

Girls,
maybe this time i can join you all.
friday night..hmm Ally, you going a not??

ic, i think it's fabulous. like renewing your vows .. but none of the hassle of first-time wedding yah. so romantic too!!

marnie, i am ok with that though i am not a world-cup widow (ah boy doesn't fancy sports - yahoo!).

cuclainne,
Yah.. renew vows for the fun part lah. (coz according to our religion, tak pakai.
. When i went for honeymoon in mauritius, i saw this bride/groom holding their wedding there. Only 2 of them. But i think holding there is very expensive. Maybe can go cheaper resort version like somewhere in m'sia?

Marnie: How abt Wed? heh...then i can slowly bring in some Home and Deco mags bit by bit..heh..Wed at 1pm?

Ok which Fri shall we go and where? heh..

waaah, you went to mauritius for your honeymoon ic? the place looks so nice .. you're so lucky. i haven't even gone on mine yet.

yah, there are some beach resorts in malaysia - i'm sure you'll find something to your liking.

waaah, you went to mauritius for your honeymoon ic? the place looks so nice .. you're so lucky. i haven't even gone on mine yet.

yah, there are some nice beach resorts in malaysia - i'm sure you'll find something to your liking.

cuclainne,
Yes, i did. Oklah. I didn't spend much as there is nothing much to spend there. I wanted to relax when i went for honeymoon. So choose something beach area lah. After all that taxing and strained moments with in-laws and relatives, i don't have the mood to go shopping or sightseeing. So i didn't choose to go city area. It's a nice place. One day you should go there.
But err..if you don't like beach or sea sports, you might find it boring. Because whole day at the beach area.

You haven't gone for honeymoon? i thought you went already? (*blur). I thought you went to Germany or was it london?? (*confuse btwn you & marnie) You know when i think back, luckily i went, coz 3 months later, i got preggie. Once give birth, quite difficult to go on honeymoon. hmm, if your morning sickness get better, take a break with hubby and go somewhere??? Trust me, once you got baby... quite hard. Unless you have someone to look after when you go for holidays.

Even this plan of renewing vows... thinking whether got support from my parents to help to look after my son.

ic, i am a land baby but i don't mind spending some time by the water. I haven't gone for my honeymoon yet - Ah Boy had a 6-month probation period which ends on 14 June so we're hoping to go really soon.

I think you meant Marnie - she's having a world cup honeymoon with Meraj. Yeah, would love to go on mine before I get too heavy. Once I have the baby, it's a different kind of travelling altogether because I'm sure I would have to bring more of the baby's things than mine.

Ah Boy has already suggested we go at the end of this month but I don't feel good leaving now because my 15-year old cousin kena stroke and doc removed part of his brain yesterday - he's lost his speech and hearing functions now. I feel really sad for him.

so sorry to hear about your cousin. He's so young.
I hope over time, he's able to recover and be able to move on in life.

{{{{{Cuclainne)))))) I'm sorry to hear about your cousin. Our prayers are with him and all your family. One of my cousins had a stroke when he was in his 20s some time back and with lots of therapy, he was back to his own self (minus a couple of memory time loss) after a few years --> not easy but no one gave up on him. So I'm sure we are all hoping the best for your cousin. We're all here for you if you need a listening ear.

Chin, can't meet you tomorrow for lunch babe. Earliest I can meet is next week now cos' didn't go back to my mom's to pick up the mags --> sorry. How's about lunch on Monday (19th) at 1pm?

I'm available for Friday dinner on 16th and 23rd this month. How about the rest of the Girls?

IC, I'm the one going to Germany for mini-honeymoon. But not happening till the last week of World Cup. I'll be bored. And my 1st appointment with HDB is on 7th so will fly off on that night.

thanks marnie. just feel so helpless right now - maybe this wouldn't have happened if an alternative was chosen. anyways, the only thing we can do right now is to support him and his family in their time of need.

i am ok with those dates you've mentioned.

cuclainne,
yes. I guess the only way now is to support him & his family. Especially his close family members. Their devastation on this news must be too much to bear.

marnie,
oh...ok. I was so confuse already. How come mini? You went to london before this? (*blur).

IC, no lah...I don't want (actually I adamantly refuse) to take this trip to Germany as my honeymoon. I mean, he's virtually off at soccer matches and I'm left alone...er..no lah..don't want.

The trip to London/Rome/Florence will be our honeymoon.

Speaking of the italian cities - aiyoh...! I had so much problems booking our trenitalia train tickets for Rome/Florence return. The webbie is not much help! So tonight, by hook or crook, going to have to book the train tickets and then book the museum tickets (other than those the Florence hotel is booking for us).

marnie,
yeah..remember someone mentioning about london.
A lot of ppl like to go london/paris/rome etc for honeymoon. Romantic cities. Eh, so many things to shop there leh!

So when your hubby watched the soccer matches, you go shopping or drink coffee lah.. in germany.

When i was in mauritius, i think i practically sun-bathed, play sea sports, tour a bit (nature) and watch many VCDs! :P There were so many sea cucumbers lying around the beaches. It reminded of one of our dishes in the wedding menu. Abalone & sea cucumber. :P Hubby shook head and said, "so many lying around but i paid quite a sum for my wedding dinner. :P "

It was a mind off from those in-laws & relatives. When i saw the bride & groom getting married there, i told hubby how come we can't just be like them. Then he said to me, "you want me not to forever be able to face your parents?" :P I told him err.. probably my parents will get over it lah but they will sure kena left right, centre, back by relatives.
Today heard on Power 98FM on the morning show on my way to work, that research shown that ppl live longer without any relatives. Ppl will live longer with friends compare to relatives. Hmm..interesting right? I think the studies have been proven!

IC, I never did consider London and Rome/Florence as romantic cities (?) I think we decided on Rome and Florence cos' of the ruins and the historical and cultural stuff to see. (I've been to Florence many years ago) and Meraj has been to Rome many years ago so this is a good time to get ourselves reacquainted. (I'm a sucker for trekking and recce-ing and back-packing) whilst Meraj just loves to travel 1st class everywhere(!) so these 3 cities is a good balance.

Where I really want to go is Cyprus.....*swoon*

So where have you decided on your "honeymoon"?

marnie,
Consider them romantic cities coz if you see movies, majority of the romantic movies usually being shot there. :P And all those lovey-dovey stories you hear about. :P
My 2nd "honeymoon" will be somewhere nearer lah and cheaper. At this current moment, see whether anyone can babysit my son first if i go for that 2nd "honeymoon".

Whoa...u girls toking abt Honeymoon liaoz..haha..shioker-doos!

Hmm...heh...i wanna go Maldives! haha

Marnie: Okie dokes! Lunch on 19th June (mon) sounds good enuf! But if can meet up earlier better..haha...if not 1pm it is. I've aredy got a bag of Home and Deco mags in my ofis now. hehe...so awaiting for our meet up.

Girls: When's our group meet up? Like Marnie said, how abt next Fri (23June)?
kao_love.gif
Any place in mind? hehe...

I'm ok with the 23th.

Have you ladies been to Giraffe? It's a new restaurant at Istana Park. I went there a few weeks ago for dinner with Ah Boy and his colleagues - the food is quite good but the prices can be ex. Maybe someone can suggest something else ... Dan Ryan maybe?

Cuclainne, yeah man..the food at Giraffe is alright but the prices - that tiny bit of starters wah.....can be maincourse price man...

Haahahahah - we were a party of 7 and in the end, they asked if we wanted more drinks. I ordered a Coke and waited 20 mins and then the server (who took my order) came back and asked what i wanted to drink ... sianz.

MuHAHAHA......Sooo cute the nick! haha...congrats again Mummy Cuclainne!!

btw..Girls: Where's Dan Ryan? Me no idea..haha..description of the ambience/food/price/location? Anymore suggestinos? heh

I'm okay with buffet or with Dan Ryans. Okay.....where there's food, you'll find me there(!)

Congrats Cuclainne...now the headache begins with the names and all those choices for prety frilly dresses --> too many to choose!

We've chosen a name, Marnie. So exciting! We were in limbo for a while cos there were so many beautiful names to choose from but in the end, we've managed to choose one for a girl and one for a boy (just in case - kiasu right!).

Muahaaahha...i guess it's a <blink>surprise</blink> La Marnie! mauahahaa...though i'm tempted to know too!! heheeee...

THis Dan RYan looks good Girls! But maybe can come up wif like 2 more options, then we can all vote and see which one u all interested in. hehe...like Cuclainne said, maybe one of the hotels..this idea oso not bad! hahaa

Hahahahaha - We can't forever be calling the baby Peanut right? Hahahaha.

We chose Sofie for a girl and Johan for a boy. Sofie is spelt the Swedish way and we've decided last night that since she is a princess (like real - but she is to us!), she should also have a royal name so we chose Rania (after the queen of Jordan). Sofie Rania Martenson she will be called then... i think... unless Ah Boy decides he wants to add something else. Hehehehe.

Maybe can also consider buffet at Cafe Vienna, Royal Plaza on Scotts or Straits Kitchen, Hyatt??

Cuclainne: Nice name! hehe...Both Sofie and Johan! hehe...

i think Straits Kitchen sounds gd leh! haha..neber tried the stuff there b4..heh

Last time Fi's sis oso very farney, she named her son 'Abby' cos of 'Baby', so cute! haha...

then whenever she's got craving for something, she'll say, Abby wants to eat...or Abby wants this and that..muahahaaaa

huichin
Went to straits kitchen twice already. The food is not bad! If you like local food lah. I think from now till err..forgot the date, straits kitchen having local nyonya fare.

cuclainne,
such a nice name for a girl!!!! Congratulations!!

Yuppers ... I heard that Straits Kitchen is quite nice. They serve local fare and it's halal. So who's coming along and have we decided where? So excited to meet all of you again...

hey ic, are you going to be joining us?