Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

Marnie & Huichin

Soon soon ... I'm feeling more energised to do things now so it'll happen eventually yah ... don't lose hope yet! Hahahaha!

Marnie

That's right la, girl - I'm not sure how you manage to find the time to do it all. I am impressed!!

Huichin

Marnie is right. No one really looks at the decorations, just what is being exchanged. When I brought my albums to the office, some of my colleagues were actually counting my hantaran (there was a picture). Sianz! Must count meh?

kao_angry.gif

Cuclainne, so are you having fun yet getting new things for the baby? Shopping is always therapy even if it's not for oneself!

Makes you wonder why I never included the picture of the hantaran in my album eh? I knew people are inevitably going to count and see what's on the trays. My relatives (surprisingly) didn't make a total fuss about the gifts we gave each other, but they were wondering and asking one too many questions about the Simpsons cufflinks, Simpsons cupcakes and the plastic looking camera which looks like it costs $4.00(!)

Marnie

I don't know the gender yet so all of my purchases so far has been 'gender-neutral'. Maybe before the next appointment, I'll talk to the baby and ask to open the legs big big so doctor can see. Hahahaha.

But we did see the arms and legs moving about, and the head bobbing in the amniotic sac. It was great! Before it just looks like a tadpole. Ah Boy got so excited that he nearly keeled over backwards in the doctor's room. I have a picture - later show to all of you yah!

I brought the albums, in their full entirety, as was given by the photographer. Aiyah! But during the nikah, none of my relatives make a big deal of it - only the kaypoh ones afterwards la.

But your Simpsons cupcakes are very cute yah!

Marnie: haha...okok! i will do it myself..haha..was thinking abt it too! haha..might as well rite..ownself's creativity! lol...and btw i saw a pic of a box of the SE750i hp! was it for u or Meraj? So exciting! haha...

And yea, qtns fr the relatives are definitely unavoidable...

Cuclainne: Oh my, they actually <blink>COUNTED</blink>?? Crazy man! lol

Muahahaa...so farney u! Ask bb to open legs bigbig!!

Feel so excited for u! haha..

And yea, i agree wif Cuclainne, the Simpsons' idea was very personalised! Good job! haha

Chin, that 750i is for me. Cos' my Z200 went kapoot. Got excuse to get it for me. But it wasn't planned for originally. Meraj got it on the day itself at 2.30pm from Peninsula (this was like 2.5 hours from the solemnisation you know - crazy fella!) so we went to the museum, plopped the box to my sister and told her to prepare this on the tray. My sister said he was crazy. My friends laughed at his antics.

Cuclainne, yeah yeah....must talk to the baby to open the legs wide wide ah....we all want to kaypoh and know also...

Hi girls!!!

Whoa been an extremely long time since I've last logged in...how's everyone doing?

Marnie..
Pls pls share your pics with me!! [email protected], the pic posted by Chin looks so nice with the buildings at the background at night!! I'm sure your wedding must have been so so so special, and all your hard work paid off

How does it feel like being married now? Mine is 3.5 months to go, im getting butterflies in my stomach, and in fact, i have been thinking so much about my own wedding that im even having nightmares about it every night abt stuff like forgetting to invite my old friends, not being able to fit my costumes and just last nite...the most horrible nightmare of all: that not many people turned up for my wedding!!! I wonder if having such nightmares are normal and if i am too stressed out?!!! Marnie, did you have such a 'syndrome'?

Chin,
Yup I'm sure you can do better with your creativity!
And sometimes, doing some things yourself does give a sense of satisfaction and its own personal touch..
I have been ambitious lately like wanting to personalise the chair covers by myself (like those in wedding mags that my fiancee brought over from US) cos it looked so easy to do but so very beautiful! But then I decided its too much work and so I designed my own personalized wedding cards for my selected special friends with ribbons and stuff! Im proud of the outcome and when i showed it to my fiancee, he didn't believe I did it myself hehehe...

Cuclainne
When is the expected arrival of your baby? You must be excited to know the gender of your baby
Have you started thinking abt names? My cousin is so excited about her first baby she bought several books on just names to find the perfect name with meaning for her baby....its so cute!

Hello Zierella! Welcome back to the thread - so you must be darn busy running around like a chicken trying to organise everything.

I never went through any nightmares but I did wenmt through a phase where I started thinking about my singlehood, leaving it behind. The impending marriage. Flashbacks of what was 30 years ago. It wasn't anything scary. It was more of an introspection. I relish what I went through cos' it made the day of the wedding much more relaxed.

Okie okie...I'll pop you the private link to my album.

Marnie..

I loved your pictures!!! I especially love your dais..it looks simple but elegant..!!! And of course, the Simpsons cupcakes are so cute!! I love the way you personalize these things...it gives that special touch to your wedding to make it a unique one..

I think I am too stressed out, wanting the wedding to be a truly perfect one, which explains the 'nightmares'...my friends told me to relax and destress and just enjoy the preparations...and they are planning a spa retreat to Batam for me soon!! Yay!!

Thanks Zierella.

Meraj chose the pelamin, dais, table linen colour and the chair for the pelamin and I think he did good.
We didn't want something over the top so it was good that we went over the caterer/decorator's house and poured through all the pictures to pick the one that would suit us.

Aye......a wedding can never be perfect as much as we try and hope it will. Just as long as you enjoy the process of getting there, it'll all work out.

Zierella

Hey girl, how are you? Long time no see yah.

I suppose it's every girl's dream to have the perfect wedding. I didn't really feel so stressed because my parents took care of almost all the details for my sanding and I just had to make sure that I was there! Hahahah!

Don't worry, girl - I am sure that everything will end up well, despite any hiccups that might occur. Take them in your stride and it will seem like everything is a-ok.

Yeah, I had shortlisted a few names and yes, I am guilty of buying those baby name books too. I have bought some parenting books, story books and some toys. My sister gave me some of my nephew's clothes and today we've decided on which stroller to get - we're slowly getting things done.

Marnie

Yep he certainly did good..
and he must be really patient to have gone thru all the pictures with you!

Cuclainne

I'm doing ok, starting to miss my fiancee who has just returned to the US last week,...but Im consoling myself with the fact that in less than 3.5 months we will be together forever(altho we will be separated again for 3 months due to the stupid visa processing) But, it was good that while he was here we got ALL the important stuff settled like the interview with the kadi, the marriage course (which i think wasn't really worth the $400!!!!) and the fittings..

Yeah I am praying everyday that things will go smoothly with the wedding...and im gonna make sure I enjoy myself on the BIG day! For right now, I'm gonna try my damnest to lose some more weight (blame it on my fiancee for being a lil too skinny to my liking despite me feeding him every 2 hours!).

I visited the kids dept at Robinsons last week and I was oh, so in love with the cute lil things in the department! All the pinkish things and teeny weeny little gowns and shoes are just so adorable!!! You must be wanting to buy just about everything for your baby right?
BTW- do you already know the gender of the baby and when is it due?

Just curious, will your baby's name be something like ______ Bin/Bte (your hubby's name?) I know of some interracial couples who use just the husband's surname after the baby's name. Is this normal?

Zierella

I'll probably find out the gender of my baby at the next appointment when I will be about 16 weeks into my pregnancy. The baby is due on 3 November.

My nephew doesn't have the 'bin' in his name so it's just his name and my BIL's surname. We're doing the same thing with ours. It's up to the couple to decide that - it's rather personal, don't you think?

Oops, didn't mean to sound so abrupt.

I meant that it's a personal decision - whether you would like to include or exclude the bin/bte. Some couples prefer to have that and some couples don't - so there's really no wrongs or rights about how to go about it. As long as you can come to the same decision as your hubby, it should work out.

Ok, here's a question I am throwing out at you Girls. Been thinking alot lately about the issue of buying a house.

How do you know that the house you view is the one? I mean, most of the time, if the location, price is within what you have catered for, the house will be renovated and made to be your own space - your home, so to speak. So if you don't have that "feeling" when you walk in, does it mean it has less potential to become your home?

If you get a direct flat from HDB, do you base your judgement on "feeling" you get from walking into an empty shell flat (apart from the location and the size and the price).

I've had a lot to think about what's important to me and though I like to think I base alot of major decisions on my gut-feeling, I'm still struggling to figure out whether it's alright to dismiss a resale flat which has a potential to be our home, but have no immediate "connection" to it when we walk in.

Marnie

I think a lot of factors contribute towards your 'feeling' towards the house. For one, can you visualise how you would make use/ decorate the space? Does it 'speak out' to you?

When my family moved into our current home about 9 years ago, my mom decided that was the flat for us because it was different (in a lot of aspects) from our previous home. My brother was much younger then and was having some issues with leaving behind the 'comfort' of the old home so my mom wanted to start anew. When we moved in, I think none of us actually like the place but eventually it became our home.

Now it feels strange for me to come 'home' to my parents' place because it doesn't feel like my home (even though I've lived there for the last 9 years) - mine is now with Ah Boy and I am beginning to feel really at home there instead.

So I suppose there is some truth in the saying, home is where the heart is. Hahahaha - sorry for the long-windedness. Not sure how that answers your question but that's how I feel.

Cuclainne, a lot of issues have been coming at me. To me, buying a home is a major financial commitment in one's life. And to make that decision together with Meraj calls for much thought and can't just base such a huge purchase purely on gut, know what I am saying?

I've only seen an apartment (out of so many) I totally felt "us". That instant "connection". But the price was just something Meraj and I could not commit to as we didn't want to be asset rich and cash poor (too many of us make that mistake!). Just last week, I saw a couple of flats - one of which brought out the internal conflicts in myself (no earth shattering ground breaking connection) but I felt that it had the potential to be our home. It showed signs of what it could be. Meraj has not seen it yet but will tomorrow (yippeee!) so we'll know then.....

Marnie

I understand what you mean.

When Ah Boy was looking for his apartment in Stockholm, he went to several viewings and took photos. We then discussed about it and even though it wasn't any financial burden of mine, made the decision to purchase the apartment together. Now I see him scratching his head to upkeep the apartment there and sustain a life here - it sure isn't nice to be asset rich and cash poor which is a common mistake most people make.

Don't worry - I'm sure it'll work out. Look forward to your viewing with Meraj tomorrow yah.

The M&amp;M was reunited yesterday. Definitely miss my hubby lah --> don't know how I will tahan this periodic separation. *scratches head*

Meraj and I are seeing the 2 "shortlisted" apartments and then another round of fresh prospects on Friday (yes, seems that we don't have much of a social life with prowling of a different kind these days --> sheeessh). After which, I think we'll be ready to make a decision.

So how's everything on your end, Cuclainne?

Chin, when are we meeting? Must let me know early so I can back to mom's place to get the mags I owe you okie?

Marnie

Been feeling very tired lately. Have been experiencing some cramp-like sensations in my tummy but no bleeding so my colleague said it could be due to the tummy expanding to accommodate the growing baby.

Do let us know what you guys decide on yah. Me kaypoh la! I might be moving as well. We're currently staying at a walk-up apartment (on level 2) so it'll be tough for me to carry the baby, stroller, diaper bag, etc up the stairs (we are intending on enrolling the baby at the infant care service at my work place). A lift on the same floor would be nice .. and Ah Boy wants the convenience of having a park nearby so he can bring the baby out for a stroll.

Cuclainne, Meraj and I went to see a few units last night and we both fell in love with a unit overlooking a huge field. It's a corridor unit but lots of winds. And it much cheaper than what we anticipated (I double lucked out!) The unit is pretty well maintained despite the seller being the first owner. So we've put an offer and they've accepted it and we're elated! We're signing the documents and the application will be submitted to HDB on Monday!! --> doing the victory dance right now.

Ah your office is the premier in that care service. It's a good one to start it in a hospital so at least you know you're 5 minutes away from your baby, at most.

So where are you looking to move to? The Sophia (a new condo) is near a park. Otherwise, you'd have to move to a place out of the City, eh? I'd say the condo I am in right now is good. The rental is cheaper comparitively but there's loads of greeens (overlooking the bukit timah hill reserve).

need yr advice.. me also a chinese gal w a muslim guy.. we are planning to settle down in either last half 07 or beginning half 08.. we are getting our flat in end 09..

jus like to know wat are the first steps that we shld take for planning?? i went for the beginners course n prayers classes.. wanna go for more when e schedule is up at darul arqam..

did anyone here went to take bridal package? wat we haf in mind is haf a lunch reception over his side n a dinner over my side on different days.. but we dunno whr to start first..

thanks alot..

Hello Serence! Welcome welcome....
kao_welcome2.gif

I think the plan you have is great and works out for both sides of the family. You now just need to figure out where you want your lunch and dinner to be. I know the malays would usually do at the void deck or community club but of course, if you want, can do somewhere else if you want. Once your dates and venues are confirmed, everything else will fall into place.

In the meantime, ask away if you need any other help...we'll be here to help.

About the classes for conversion, can ask Huichin, Elaine, hor Girls hor?

If not mistaken, all of us signed up with bridal shops. I signed up with a predominantly malay bridal package. I think Huichin here signed up with a Chinese Bridal shop. She's getting married next year so she may be able to help you more in that respect.

Hi Idyll..

thanks alot..

but was wondering any of you gals sign up with both malay n chinese packages? coz i think for lunch we'll need to wear their traditional costumes but e dinner will be more 'westernize' wearing e white gown..

also wanna know wat other classes do you attend aft e solat tutorials n beginners class? anyone here has converted? is there anything tat cannot be get used to aft conversion?

thanks alot!

Marnie

I am so happy for you, girl!! Keep us updated with your housing 'developments' yah ...

It would be nice if we could get a ground-floor apartment which opens out to a patch of grass. Hahaha. But yeah, we're going to consider moving out of the town area. A friend of mine seems interested in taking over the apartment so we'll see how it goes.

Wah .. isn't it difficult to get to town from there?

Hello pacifiz, welcome welcome.

I signed up for a malay bridal package. These days they do have some wedding gowns (though perhaps not as fantastic as at the Chinese bridal shop). Perhaps since you have the time, you can shop around a little and see what suits you best yah ..

Cuclainne, not really, there are loads of buses from my Upper Bukit Timah to where you are and to my work place. I take bus no. 75 from the doorstep to the doorstep of my office. All 40 minutes of it. Door-to-door service.

It's good that someone is willing to take over your lease. Else, very problematic and you'd have to wait till the lease runs out (in Dec right?). I'd say move now will be easier for you since you're still in your trimester and still rather mobile else it will get tiring for you, I bet.

Pacifiz, yup. I'm with Cuclainne. These days, you do get wedding gowns with the malay bridals though yes, nothing spectacular like the ones you get from the predominantly Chinese BS. Alternatively, you can always custom make your malay dress (you can always rewear them for functions and hari raya celebrations) and just rent the wedding gown for your dinner.

Marnie

That is fantastic then. I've also got door-to-door service from my home to work and vice versa .. service 2.40. Hahahahah - taxi la.

Well, at the moment, Ah Boy said we should stay put and decide once the baby is born. I would much prefer my mom to take care of the tyke but she's not well enough to take care of both my nephew and my newborn so this is the next best decision we could possibly make - for me to put him/her in the infant care at the hospital. Hmm .. so many things I would like to be able to do but being pregnant can make one quite lazy - me especially! Hahahaha!

Harlow Girls! How is it going..?

Marnie
So glad u have finally found THE apartment.. hehh... such wonderful feeling yeah? When I applied for my flat, my priority was mainly location, location.. and I like the fact that I've got a big and airy kitchen. I dont cook, tho'.. hehh.. So will u be doing up ur apartment? Mine is currently being renovated. Really excited to see it slowly becoming a home

Cuclainne, take care yah. Have fun going baby shopping...

Pacifiz
U may wish to consider signing up with a Malay bridal hse for your Nikah and wedding reception, coz they are more experienced in this area. No worries abt traditional costumes, coz the Malay bridal houses do carry Chinese costumes like Kua and Cheongsams if u intend to wear them for your Chinese tea ceremony. U can opt to engage separate Chinese and Malay bridal houses for your wedding photography like I did.. hehhh.. very interesting.

Hello hello Sandra! Where did you disappear to?

My priority was actually the budget so we definitely kept under it. So the real fun now begins --> the nesting shopping and all that. Meraj just left for KL this morning so the next 3 days will leave me to do some research on how best to maximise the space.

Cuclainne, aiye...I hear you! Pregnant or not pregnant, I sometimes, do get lazy myself!

I have actually been reading the posts in this thread for some time though i never posted after Ally passed me the link.
I am chinese with a malay bf. we are planning to settle down by 08, probably dec 07 or june 08 as a i am a teacher. i would like to get our own flat before we settle down as my mum and aunts are adament that we stay in our own place after marriage.
i would like to get a new flat, so i dun realli know if it is possible as we would need to be registered latest 6 months after we get the flat? any suggestions? it's quite difficult to determine when i can get the flat isn't it, since i do not want to stay in places like sengkang or jurong west? haiz.

Hi Cuclainne, Sandra &amp; Idyll

thanks for the advice.. Can you let me know whr i can find some of the malay bridal shops as well as total amt that both of us shld haf to get ready for marriage? i think Sandra's idea is fanastic..

Sandra, if you dun mind can you share with me your pix if you haf as well as e details of both packages tat you signed up with as well as e prices.. thx!

Hi tikkles, welcome! i guess my settling down period almost same as you.. hee hee.. but i bought my BTO Punggol Coralinus 4-rm flat.. its to be ready by end 2009 or latest mid 2010.. erm.. yes you haf to haf your marriage cert ready aft 6 mths you get your key.. perhaps you can determine when will your wedding be n den you will haf a rough idea of when you shld get your flat..

Morning Girls!

Marnie
I've been busy going around in and out of electronics, lighting and furniture shops... had a jolly fun time but tiring lah.. Fiancee and I hv been thinking so much abt house stuff that we even look at the details of the floor tiles and lights used in shopping centres! I think we are going crazy. I've been shelving plans for the wedding reception.. siggghh... know of any good emcees and/or deejays to recommend?

Helloo Tikkles
Are u getting a flat? Generally HDB will call 6 mths after obtaining ur flat to ask for ur cert. But I read from other threads in the forum that u can ask for further 'extension' as long as u produce e.g. receipts of ur bridal house or wedding reception. Which area are u looking at? If ard west area, I know Commonwealth and Tiong Bahru new flats might be available in '08.

Pacifiz
I'm too shy to show u my pics..hehh.. errmm.. total amt depends on the scale of ur wedding, the place u are holding it at, decor, and other pluses.. For the wedding pics, i spent abt $1.4k for the Chinese photography and slightly more than $2k for the Malay one. But if u are more comfortable takg pics with a Chinese bridal house, now there are lots that carry Malay costumes too. Lemme know if u need the shop names &amp; I'll PM u. U might want to look thru the bridal magazines for a start.

Welcome Tikkles!
kao_welcome2.gif

There should not really be a problem with HDB flats. If you don't want the non-mature estates, you can always opt for resale (though the prices are a bit more expensive than ones bought directly from HDB). Depending on circumstances, you can always ask for extension to produce marriage cert. (but agree with Sandra that documentary evidence may be required).

Sandra, I suspect that I will be busy (again) doing serious shopping for our flat too then. The top of my list now though is to figure out how best to do the common bathroom as the layout of that space is horrible!

Hi Sandra

Long time no see! You have been busy busy busy eh..

tikkles

kao_welcome2.gif

Sorry but I'm really blur when it comes to buying a flat - don't know the procedures (I just know how to sign on the dotted line). I'm currently renting my apartment because I'm not sure how long I will be here - depends on the husband.

pacifiz

Me and some of the ladies went to the wedding expo as well as browse through some magazines before finally settling on some bridal shops to focus on. You can also check out this site http://www.urusanpengantin.com

I started my 'groundwork' about 4-5 months before my wedding and only finalised things at the last minute (me being lazy again!) but thankfully things turned out well. For my solemnisation, I just catered food for the 30 family and friends that turned up. It didn't cost much and I didn't have to worry about cleaning up afterwards.

As for the total amount, I suppose that you should spend what you are comfortable with. As for myself, it was 'save, save, save' as much as I can.

Hi cuclainne,

i guess 4-5 mths wun be enuff for me.. i still need to go thru my religious classes as well as conversion.. bcoz i am still studying part time so i haf little time in preparations.. so i wanna start scouting ard first..

Will there still be any wedding exhibitions in expo? coz i know suntec has them quite frequently.. n actually 1 of my fren signed up thru there but when she went to the bridal shop, there aint any designs that she liked.. so a little worried abt tat too..

budget wise.. still no idea.. hee hee.. bf told me his guests might haf 1000 pax!! tat doesn't include my side of relatives n my close friends.. anyway will take a step at a time..

Pacifiz, aye...be prepared. Typically, Malay weddings would usually range between 500 to 1000 pax. But they don't all come at one shot but it will be a long day. One guest after another.

About bridal shops, I suggest that you go to their shops on normal days when you are free to take a look at their designs and get info. on their packages to get a feel. The bridal shops may not necessarily have a promo at the expo. And it's just another ploy to get couples eager to sign up just because it's a "promo" in hardprint (only).

Chin, where are you ah?

pacifiz

I think the malay wedding exhibition usually takes place about 2 times a year at Singapore Expo. You can find out the dates of events from the Expo website.

Thing is, scout around the booths, grab as many flyers and ask a lot of questions. Many of them try to entice couples to sign up by saying that they have a promo going on especially for the period of the exhibition only. But I didn't sign up when I was there. Instead, I made appointments to visit their store and see their collection. I also want to see if I am comfortable dealing with them.

In my case, I ended up shortlisting two shops. The first one I went to - the lady was late in arriving for our appointment. Then she showed off her collection (some pieces only) while still in the garment bag - how to see?! Then she tried to make me sign up with her there and then. I kept putting her off (used poor husband as an excuse - he wasn't here then). The second one I went to - she was very accommodating and even though I hadn't sign up with her, she asked me to try on her clothes and she took all the pieces out from the bag and showed pictures, etc. Needless to say, I signed up with her because she made me feel comfortable.

Marnie

My total guest count on Sunday was about 1500. Hahahahaha - totally crazy! I think my parents went overboard .. me and Ah Boy's guest list only had about 50 people on it.

Marnie: hahaa..I'm here! Been damn busy wif work lately *yikes*! haha...halo halo all..

Anyways, Welcome Pacifiz &amp; Tikkles! Haha...most of these ladies here just got married and afew are doing prep work and getting married soon. haha...for me...

I think i'm just being very stubborn not wanting to start anything yet..haha...except for booking my Bridal studio for PS! lol..

Tikkles: lol..dun be surprised by the no. of guests from ur bf's side. Mine oso! haha..i agree wif Marnie. Go survey ard...get more choices and ideas 1st b4 decinding on one u really like.

Cuclainne: Oh my! 1.5k! haha..u're the winner! lol...

Marnie, you are the person I should ask!! I intend on bringing Ah Boy to lunch at Flutes at Fort Canning but how does one get there?

thanks for all the replies!
i still dunno how. wonder if my bf's parents are ok if we nikah first then after we get flat then have the receptions? my bf told me to be prepared for lots and lots of ppl but his mother told me that we can have a simpler affair if we want. so we are still waiting to see if they will change their mind? heee

1500 pple really sounds like a lot.... so scary.... heee..

Chin, eh...I kan cheong want to "borrow" your ID magazines lah...and then hor, are you still up to take my magazines? I want to see see and get some ideas then get all the "spare parts" during the GSS when it starts tomorrow --> kah ching!

(Ok, I was looney, I bought the latest bridal mags just to keep abreast of what's happening - super duper out of my mind!)

Cuclainne, you're da bomb, babe - 1.5K, I think I will die. I can't even handle 270 people let alone 1.5K people.

Re. Flutes, easiest is to go through the back road that leads up to the Registry of Marriages. Go through the carpark that is at the Stamp Museum (is it called Philatelic Museum?), leading up to a old colonial black and white. Flutes is at the end of that steps up.

tikkles

We went through our ROM first in early Jan so that we could move in together. My sanding was only in late March (7 weeks' past by then - yikes! Lucky that I could still fit in my costumes. Hahahaha!).

Just smile for their cameras la ... no need to worry about anything.

Marnie

Hahahahaha! I nearly (very nearly!!) wanted to buy more bridal magazines too .. but now I have new agenda yah! My focus has shifted.

I can't wait for GSS!!! So many presents to buy .. so little money! Hahahaha ...

Ah Boy was whispering to me on the dais, whether I knew who is this person, that person, etc that he saw but I really don't know leh. Most are my parents' friends and distant relatives (whom I've not met before). So we just sat there and smile la .. smile so wide until I feel my smile is plastered on my face. So painful!

Yay yay! I want to take Ah Boy out this weekend but can't decide if I want to take him to lunch at Flutes or do a buffet breakfast at either Halia or Marriott. Aiyah .. choices choices! So difficult when it comes to food.

Cuclainne, I opt for buffet breakfast at Halia. The ambience is great at Flutes, the food is nice but the price is exhorbitant. I had much better prices for the same kind of food at Poppi (also at Fort Canning). I very nearly wanted to bring Meraj for breakfast too at Halia but he's not a wake up early kind of person.

Tikkles, some parents are dead set against nikah gantung (is that what it's called?) cos' they think that if you ROMM first and then sanding later, there's no seri. I just find it doesn't matter cos' at least you're not committing sin - know what I mean?

Marnie

I'd probably have to drag Ah Boy out of bed for that. His birthday is coming soon and I was thinking that it might be nice to bring him to someplace fancy for dinner. This outing to Flutes is supposed to be the beginning of our 'once-a-month' eating splurge but we'll see how. Anyhow for his birthday I was thinking of San Marco at Fullerton. Have you been there?

Awww.....That's sweet of you Cuclainne. I've not been to San Marco. In fact I haven't been to Fullerton Hotel there since it first re-opended and we went there for lunch at The Lighthouse (or something like that).

Meraj has been working hard (he stayed up till like 2 last night!) and I thought I'd bring him out for dinner sometime. Also to celebrate us buying a flat lah (our 1st appointment is on 7th July - yeay!). But I haven't had time to do research - a case of me being lazy again, I'm afraid!
But I better buck up since it is the start of GSS today and I've checked the papers - sooo many sale for home furnishings/wares. I'll definitely stock up this time around --> kiasu right?

Marnie

I went for dinner there twice, once was the Riverside Barbecue at the Town Restaurant (informal congress dinner) and the other was a normal dinner date at the same place but ala carte. I also attended two functions at the ballroom before .. some kind of jubilee for a society. My first encounter with foie gras .. not a very pleasant memory.

Ah Boy and I bought two books: Makansutra Guide and the other is the Best Restaurants 2006 Guide (Tatler). He mentioned that this weekend, we should pick a place out from both books and try lunch/ dinner. I told him I'd pay for lunch (street food) and he can pay for dinner (from the other guide, but I will choose! Hahahah!).

Poor Meraj! Good idea to pamper him when he's been working so hard. Oooh yes, today I'll get to leave work early so I hope to hit the stores and see what is good. Ah Boy reckons that we should buy baby stuff but I want my stuff too!!!!

Marnie: Oh! haha...i already have my deco mags set aside for u! hehe...we shld meet up soon! lol...and congrats! So u got ur dream flat liaoz! haha
where at?

Cuclainne: How's the bb doing? hehe

Cuclainne, your office practises that "Go home early and have dinner with your family Day" is it? So lucky you! *envious*

Curious: Fullerton restaurants still keeping the standard up or has it slightly gone down in terms of food quality and such?

Chin, will you be okay to meet up next week? I can meet you after work around your office area to exchange magazines.

My flat is at Yishun (a few stops after the Central) overlooking a huge field. I told my agent to purchase a copy of the floor plan from HDB before we go for our first appointment cos' we need to source for materials and stuff and take measurements and what nots cos' planning to be travelling a lot the next couple of months. Before that can do a lot of house shopping, no?