Any Mixed Marriages here? Esp Chinese-Malay Muslim couple

Cuclainne, yeah...cos' Meraj is the occupier (only for purposes that we be considered a family unit --> irritating right?!!!), Meraj's income need to be included also --> no 2 ways about it. Just that I'll be the sole owner. *sigh*

Chin, Meraj will appy for PR (eventually), we're not in a rush yet though I think the sooner the better. Perhaps after all the house thing issues are settled. Then maybe we will revisit that issue.

Re. photographer, yes, mine's Eulee. He was born in Penang (if I remember correctly) and can speak malay rather fluently so my pakcik and makciks all have no problems communicating with him. Got to say that the album he returned to me is wrapped in raw silk and in a box(!) *swoon* (you know how I love textures and all).

Eh, demand the BS to give you an additional change of clothes. Don't give in cos' these wedding vendors seem to think that cos' it's only a one-off transaction, they can get away with most things. About the malay clothes, depends on what you want to wear it for. My purple silk baju was tailor made. Not glamourous but not too shabby either. I wore that at the shot and still alright to wear for Raya and special outings.

PS. I have a couple of malay mags. I brought 2 already. Still have 3 more at home I think.

Marnie: Yea i guess dats da best solution for now. gd gd..at least u aredy have in mind what to do.

Re. the photog, whoa speaking malay - dat will be nice! haha...easier to direct relatives and all rite..hehe

Re. the BS, i should rite! I will be having one set custom-made for the Nikah session, so i tot maybe the 2nd set can get from the boutique - can be more glam mah. Cos that will be used for my 1st appearance at the CC mah...eeeikkk..dats y in dilema now...

Ok thks in advance for the mags! haha...btw, how u find the Home and Deco mags i passed u? Want somemore?

Chin, they were good - there was one with cement screeding and I showed big big to Meraj...
BTW, do you have any recent ones (ie. within the last year?)

Lunch next week is alright except Friday of course.

Hello girls!

I've see u girls been bz with ur different agendas.

Marnie,

Saw ur hubby on TV. Interview abt who's gonna win the world cup this time? Looks slightly different from your wedding..like he's put on a little weight ...what have you been feeding him ah?

Cuclainne,

Now's juz the beginning..wait till lil' Peanut's out and growing...then comes the hairbands, clips, shoes, bags..TOYS!!

Hui Chin,

I think you shd go ahead and ask ur BS to outsource for you.. Previously, my time, most Chinese BS dun cater for the Malay market..so I've got to sign up for both Chinese and Malay BS. Cost me quite a bomb for both.

Hey Ally! That interview was actually done when we went to see the World Cup trophy on its tour. If my memory still serves correctly, sometime in March.

Talking about weight though, yeah --> Meraj has been telling me he's been packing the pounds. No wonder cos' we take turns cooking 4-5 times a week! It's fun though doing grocery and finding and trying out new recipes. I'm such a dork!

Chin, thanks girl! Of course, I'll return all the magazines to you. I never put them together with what I already have so, it'll all be good.

Hui Chin, let me raid the magazine shelves and let you know which ones i have. that way you can tell me if you've already gotten them so i won't have to bring la.

next time if any of you ladies need parenting magazines, you know who to turn to ah. hehehehehe .. all of the sudden, went from buying bridal magazines to parenting magazines and tabloid-ish stuff .. talk about a sudden shift in things .. hahahaha..

that's tough, marnie. did you have some words with them about your stand?

Ally: yup, i was contemplating buying some pink shoes for Peanut when i was on my shopping spree but i stopped myself .. i think Ah Boy got a headache from seeing so many pink stuff already ... hehehehe.

Hi Ally!! Long time no see! haha...dats da thing, i dun wanna sign up for both - waste money! lol...ok i will go arrange a meet up wif my BS for discussion. heh...

Oh ya la Marnie! Fi called me up few evenings back and told me he saw Meraj on tv being interviewed on the World Cup issues rite! muahahahaa....so ON leh! lol

As for the mags, no worries..heh...i like to keep them...heh...i will bring some recent ones k! hehe..btw can u burn a copy of ur video clip into cd for me? thks!!!

Cuclainne: Alrite cool! thks in advance! hehe...Yea man, i agree wif u. We kinda went thru the different stages altogether..haha..nice
kao_love.gif

Sooo..Eulee's on my list. Got anymore to recommend? heh...What was the price u paid for him Marnie? and the timing? mine will be of longer hours..so many need to add in abit more $$. What was in ur package ah?

I was wondering...where r u the rest of the Girls? haha..

Nur, Raf, Zierella, Elaine, Sandrabop, Jamie! haha..GUess Nur(sofia) is busy wif her wedding in coming August rite! What abt the rest? Raf and Zierella? haha...*Forum Callin for the girls*

Cuclainne,

Tats true..big whirlwind change..from a single - to married woman - now a mum-to-be!

U're juz noticing the mags that u buy..mine was the shopping trends - previously, it was ME stuffs, then it was straight to the wedding gifts..n couple thingy.. now, when i hit the malls, it's straight to kids department. lol!

Hahahahaha - you've hit the spot, Ally. Now most of our shopping is done for us (things we need around the home) and also for the baby..

Chin, I'm not sure about Eulee's prices right now as he told me in February that he's raising his prices. He quoted me S$1K for whole day shoot, all pictures in colour and the equivalent converted into black and white in DVD. Also, 360 photos (or is it 240 - can't remember already) in a huge album done up in raw silk comes in a box. At the end of the shoot, he extended a S$100 discount for me. Don't know why though but of course, I gladly accepted it!

Perhaps you want to try telling him that I recommended him to you - maybe got discount?

My friend used Gabriel Mendes and her pictures are beautifully taken - I cried looking at her pictures! He is about $2K and up though the last time I asked for his prices.

Ngiap Heng (The Pond Photography) is friends with Eadwine of Plush Photography - his pictures on the webbie has a "soft glow" to it - much like the romanticism look. Don't know about this prices though.

Oooh....I totally forgot about the slideshows. Will do it soon and pass to you at our lunch (when is it huh?) BTW, I've got all the mags for you here with me in the office already --> sooo heavy!

Whoaa...raise his price?? Oooooooo...soooo zhun ah...whoa...1k for whole day - still not soo bad cos it's one full day rite? Think my event will be a 12-9pm thingy..damn long leh! And that's for the makan session only! Haven include the Nikah which will be in the morning, and tea ceremony in the early afternn. haha..really like his style, but i haven show Fi his works yet. heh...How long in advance did u book him? WHat's the advisable timeline to book him? heh...

ok i will go check out Plush Photog. heh..thks!

Thks in advance for the video clips and the mags! haha...how abt lunch next Mon? heh...

Btw Marnie: Eulee quoted u 1k for a whole day shoot - How's the no. of hours like for ur AD that time?

I realised...when i'm free to post msg here...u girls are mostly bz..haha....always the opp! muahahaha

Chin, he came to the hotel room at 1pm (that's when the make-up starts). I think he left about 11pm.

Talk to him and tell him your plans for the wedding. Eulee came with us to look at the venues and we communicated quite a bit via email prior to the wedding. He's quite accomodating. After all that, he still gave me discount so in the end, I only paid him S$900 - quite good deal lah.

I booked him last year around July. So can I suggest you do book a photographer as soon as you can.

WHoa Marnie: I got a quotation from Plush Photog - think over my budget liao! Lol...They're $250 per hr, and a 10-hr coverage - is 2.5k! Lol...can die leh...
kao_dizzy.gif

And i got quote from Eulee too...but he has to let me know his availability...so sad..said he has someone on that day tooo...sob
kao_cry.gif

Oh dear! I'm sorry to hear about Eulee, Chin. Do you have any other leads? Let me look through my notes and see who I shortlisted.

Can we tentatively put lunch on Tuesday cos' I took a couple of hours time off to go to KL and I want to be able to have time to work through lunch tomorrow (Monday) if need be. How's Tuesday for you?

Hey ladies, have you seen the latest Superman flick? I reckon that it's better than the latest X-men movie. Plus it helps that the lead is soooo handsome ... hahahaha.

Hi Hui Chin, seems like you're busy discussing PG with Marnie.. yah better book as soon as you know which one you want - otherwise so many others with the same idea, you might lose out yah...

Morning Marnie, I think i might still stand a chance with Eulee! Haha...we're arranging to meet either tmr or Wed. Yay!!

Yea if you anymore good photographers to recommend, let me know yea? hehe...

Lunch on Tues is fine wif me. Ooo...when you going to KL? hehe

Chin, I just came back back from KL. Took about 3 hours off work on Friday to take the bus. Returned last night. Damn tiring but shiok also.

So, what's happening with Eulee? Did he revert and say that he can take on your wedding?

Cuclainne, Meraj wants to watch Superman but I don't want cos' Superman does nothing to me. I grew up reading X-Men comics and Batman so...knot zilch about Superman...

Marnie: Whoa...shiokerdoos! hahaa...

Oh he just emailed me & said my date is still available - maybe waiting for the other couple to revert! Hahah...sooo...must fast fast! haha...

Marnie, tickets for the movie were sold out for days - that's why we could only watch it last evening. I don't know - always had a soft spot for Superman. Maybe it's because it was the first 'action hero' movie I saw when i was a child - Christopher Reeves and Gene Hackman .. hmmm .. should try to get my hands on the old movies so i could 'relive' those moments eh ... hahahaha.

Muahahaa...Marnie/Cuclainne: I watched it yesterday! Coming 3hrs! haha..Was nice.. But din really like the storyline..aahahhaa... But i guess i have the same feelin wif Cuclainne - watched Superman (CHristopher Reeves time) since young - am actually trying to recall the past stories! haha...

Chin, paiseh...but realise only now that I am collecting this afternoon a camera I bid for on Yahoo. Will you be okay for 1.00pm on Wednesday or 12noon on Thursday?

Marnie: sure, i'll see on Thurs at 12.30 then. heh...sooooOo...what camera did u bid for?? hehe

btw...i might be meeting Eulee today or tmr. Is there any advise on what to ask him? I was thinking abt it..but dun really know what to ask. haha..

Chin, Thursday can meet you from 12noon cos' need to rush back to reach office by 1pm cos' I have duty to accept service of court documents...sigh. So how?

I bought a Canon SLR EOS 66. Figured I don't want to lug my antique Minolta camera cos' darn heavy. So this Canon is quite a steal cos' it's relatively new (2+ years old) plus she's throwing in a couple of accessories. She's moving house, and hardly using it thus selling it off.

Let me get back to you on Eulee...

Yo Marnie: Eh...my lunchtime is from 12.30 onwards...soo...maybe gotta meet u another time. How abt Wed? heh...

Whoa! U bought Canon SLR! haha..so ON! hehe
Dat's goood...Canon's my all-time fav brand! heh...u dun like digicams?

Ok ok...let know abt Eulee soon k..am meeting him tonite..but i abit scared he's in a rush... i worry we might not be able to come to any good conclusions or negotiations..haha...gimme any tips k! haha..he told me he's got appt after our meet-up wif him
kao_sad2.gif

Chin, think you need to ask Eulee to show him non-chinese weddings so you can see what his angles are on that (I asked for that and he showed me a few). Compare that to a chinese wedding he took.

Tell him your rough estimate on the timeline (ie. the time frame for the solemnisation ceremony, the reception). He can estimate what time he needs to come cos' usually you need to get ready about 2.5 hours earlier (Eulee also knows how to give you a rough estimation).

You got the packages he offered right? Maybe you can ask him to clarify on aspects of the packages if you are not clear on them. Usually photographers, you just need to get a feel of his style and him as a person.

Marnie: ok can! thks for da advice! So excited abt laters...haha..me still mountain tortoise..neber meet photographer like this b4..haha

No worries Chin. He's quite alright. We both enjoyed working with him and for him to be able to tahan Meraj and I (in our groomzilla and bridezilla moments) - we have to applaud him for his patience...

Le me know how the meeting goes okie?

I can meet you tomorrow. But can meet at 1.00pm cos' that's my normal lunch. How you can or not?

Oh shoot Chin! I haven't done it yet .....aye! So sorry...I haven't bought a DVD-R yet (and we've been meaning to! - yikes!). Can I KIV that and pass you that on another day? I'm so sorry dear....

Oh....Can we not have Subway? I am not exactly a fan.

Muahahaahaa....no worries Marnie! haha...Can can..next time yea! LOL...

Ok u got any suggestions? Kinda sick of Shenton way food...haha..sooo...
kao_embarrassed.gif

Morning Marnie! I got bad news...can't make it to lunch today! Really sorry as got last min things to do and my deadline is 3pm! So i worry i cant meet up wif u on time. Can we push it to tmr instead?

Halo Cuclainne! It was good! Hhaa...he was very frenly and all..very easy to tok to him..haha..i think most probably i will sign up him. Had a discussion wif Fi..he went wif me last nite..haha..he's quite happy wif him too. haha..but the basic package now is aredy 1.1k. Haven plus the 300 4R developed and in the big album...and we wanna take the A4 size 'storybk'...whoa...think all will add up to abt 1.6k! Wasn't expecting to be spending so much..lol

Btw how's baby peanut??

Marnie: Is ur 1k minus the 100 discount - inclusive of the 4R album?

Peanut is doing ok - she's kicking and moving a lot more now. When she kick or punch, my tummy jiggles - kind of funny really ...

Chin, yuppers. My $900 is inclusive of all pictures edited, in colour and all of them also converted into black and white and 300 4R pictures in big album. So what does your package consist of? He did tell me that he's raising his packages (he was one of the lower fee-d photographers I know).

Perhaps you can develop your own photos? fotohub charges about $0.50 for white bordered 4R photo. If you do it online, it's 30%. My friend has a discount card also so either way, can go cheaper.

Can you put the storybook yourself later - there are photographers now who are willing to put them together for you? Are you referring to like a coffee table book? Is it worth for actual day photos? Must think carefully cos' 3004R photos already tell a story. I know my album tells a story. Alternatively, if you want the storybook, perhaps you can try MyPublisher?

Cuclainne, yeah...they were given the boot by Portugal. Fiery that game though I didn't watch (heard from hubby).

Muahahaah...Cuclainne: Dats sooo cute! hahaa

Marnie: Oh...very cheap leh!! mine is basic package - $1100.
The 300 4R prints in an album is $250, plus if i wan the A4 story telling Picture bk it's gonna cost me another 300 bucks!! whoa laus...alotta extra cost..yea u're rite, maybe i should consider developing the photos on my own. And do u like ur album itself? Anything special? He din bring it yesterday cos it was heavy..so i duno how it actually looks like...only showed us the photos on the laptop. Or is it like any other albums and we can get from the shops?

I was thinking the storybook style will be easier to bring ard should we go jalan pergantin. (hope i spelt it correctly) Somehow, now i'm having 2nd tots abt it. haha....anyways he said we can decide on that later. Hehe.. what do u think?

Hui Chin, my PG charges $1500 total for all three events that I had. The package includes two picture books - one big, one mini but I have been procrastinating since he gave me the loose pictures and CDs of the digital images. I have to choose 70-90 images for him to do the artwork before he prints it.

Aside from the link Marnie gave you, you might want to see this one too http://www.pixart.com.my

Marnie, I was having such a good time reading about the WAGs in the tabloids and now that England has been booted, there won't be any more stories about them .. Boo hoo hooo! Hahhahaha ...

Chin, personally, the storybook/photobook is more of a luxury. I doubt though that when you go walk about after marriage that the makciks and pakciks are going to appreciate seeing about 40 photos in an album - they want to see everything! Trust me on this. I have 300 4R in a nice huge album (wrapped in raw silk) and my relatives and friends still ask for more.

The dimension of the album is like Ally's wooden photoalbum - remember? The weight is about there (with the bos it comes with). But the album is wrapped with raw silk (a choice of either black or red) with plastic slot in sheets.

Cuclainne, yeah....I suppose what with Cristiano Ronaldo moving to Real (I think) then he need not worry about making an enemy of Rooney!

Hui Chin, it's true what Marnie mentioned. I used to lug around my albums (I was given two big ones for the loose photos) but now that I've downloaded the pictures onto my laptop, I just bring that instead - way lighter! Hahahaha ..

Marnie, you sound like a real footie fan now!!

Hhahaa..yea i know what u mean Marnie! ahahaa...

yea i guess it's abt that size..

Cuclainne: Oh! hahaha...actually that's one of the better option too - by bringing ard the laptop! Saves lottsa trouble..hahah..but personally I prefer something in physical form..hehe...i like prints and books wif fancy or nice materials and the cover! haha...dat's y i'm a graphic (print) designer! muaahaha

Sooo..the conclusion is...i will do the storybk myself! hahahaa...thks Cuclainne for da link! Nice! haaha...