Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

hey emi, that would be nice - thanks. her birthday is in early nov but would like to get some of the birthday stuff out of the way early ..

Emil, when will u b in sg? I heard from a friend that food in Hk is ex & unhealthy, lot of MSG. Geeezzzzz..... O ja, how to contact u in HK, vai Hernie?

Hernie, my bunny has a relapse as I tot she was recovering. I was like so sad! But then after, she is ok again, seems to get better n better each day, head still titled n walking a bit wobbly. But more active n can eat on her own. PHEW!!! at least she eats n drinks by herself. She is still under medication. The funniest thing is she is more friendly and not so afraid of us as in the past she was so aloof. We were joking probably part of her brain is not functioning. Whether it is a good sign or not! ;P

beth.. will be there on the 27thsept-4th oct! then 8th-12th oct :P... ur bunny sounds so sad....
made my heart hurt listening to ur story. By the way, I guess best is to get hernies number.. i can give u my ozie mobile too and u can call me!

no worries nissa.. just call me- text me.. i see what i can do... tell me what type of stuffs u like.

Emi, Ja, my heart feels so sad too!
Esp that I will be away. She is like a baby. At least now she is much better. Feel a little more relief to go away. I will be in SG on 21 sept onwards. Are u going for the formulae 1? I have Hernie's no i think. U can email me at [email protected].

Hernie, I've emailed u the details of the shop in HK.

thank u so much for the advice. i find this thread are more friendlier and helpful than other thread! and i am touched by all yr helpful tips

my wedding is in early nov. now v stress preparing things. i really dun like chinese customs. and also i have so many things to do now, paperwork, selling my car since i am married to austria...

ocean claudia you mean you'll be moving to austria after wedding?

well, if u dun want to practise the chinese customs, then it's something u'll need to discuss w your parents. Some older pple feel very strongly abt it and pantang when certain things are not done.

liz sorry to hear abt ur bunny.. kind of strange that an illness can cause tilting head..

emi when are u in sg? will be gd to meet. BTW m in siem reap from 25 to 28 sep. Coughs suck... i've somehow managed to develop a dry cough during the week. Throat is so itchy and coughing can really hurt!

cuclainne sounds like you're having a birthday party for sofie? i'm itching to cook!

I'm coming to 22wks now, halfway there!

I didn't go to Bali cuz they wouldn't have paid for me.. so no point lah.. they're going for things that i can't do like massages n white water rafting, so i'll end up being alone most of the time.

Sure will let u know abt Siem Reap, now looking at which operator to use for the day tours.

Watch the lime tree... there are certain varieties that attract caterpillars! We had 2 such plants when i was young, they had thorns in their stems and always plenty of caterpillars!

maplehue that's so sad.. well the foolishness of youth i guess..

U sound so busy in HK.. r u enjoying it tho?

Get ur sis to bring u some chilli! They dun have import restrictions like in Oz right?

Haven't bought a stove yet.. but prob found the cheapest possible place to get it from... one of those hdb electrical shops at alexandra. Dun think will browse for other brands / models cuz doesn't seem to have much options available for free standing stoves.

I haven't even looked at strollers and baby stuff since the taka fair. Been feeling quite sian to go out these days. It's either too rainy or too hot!

georgina yah i dun eat that much cold cuts and tuna.. so food-wise, eating at home can get really boring.

emi, thanks .. i'll let you know soon yah ..

de_luxe, hey your EDD is fast approaching yah .. you excited? i think by this stage, i was mortified already .. first time mommy jitters but soon got over it ..

yeah just a small party for little madam .. if it was up to me, i'd probably do a strawberry shortcake or spongebob theme but she's into hi-5 right now. so difficult to get anything hi-5 related except for VCDs/ DVDs here so have to resort to getting emi to help me ..

seems like bali is a popular choice for retreats this year - elias' company did the same too but he didn't go cos we were in sweden then. next year, mine would be in phuket .. haven't decided if i'm going to go or not.

oops, really?! mine doesn't have thorns on them and i really don't like caterpillars ..

hi ladies, apologies for my absence. hope everyone's doing well! i just started in a new job and it's been crazy crazy crazy.

we're looking at 4th of July 2009 (no, not out of patriotism :D ), but not confirmed as our preferred venue's not available for booking yet.

i'm living in Singapore at the moment, probably moving back to California in 2010 or so, considering how long US paperwork takes. it's real tough for us still having to be apart a lot.

we're having a tea ceremony, family-only lunch banquet and an evening party-style reception for friends (120 guests +/-). keeping it sorta small (by Singaporean standards) cos we're gonna have a similar sized event in California too when we get there.

glympse: i hope Swedish immigration procedures are less convoluted than the American ones! we're looking at hiring an attorney to move things along cos our friends, an American/British couple, had their first application rejected -- after spending like US$1,000 on forms already!
the Brit guy finally got approval on their 2nd attempt with the help of an attorney.

we're kinda reluctant to spend $$ on a lawyer, but i guess it's better than spending time, money and effort for nothing.

hi felicia, there is a lady by the name of riza clark that is married to an american. they've been living in colorado for a while now, but his family is in california, i think. maybe you might want to ask her about the immigration procedures.

yes, LDR is always tough - hang in there yah, just a tiny stretch to go ..

haha cuclainne... i'm not even thinking abt IT yet... will prob be mortified after watching those childbirth videos during ante-natal classes (i'm attending them next month), i heard they can be pretty gross! I think i'm quite relaxed, not excited, even tho this is 1st kid and all.. more like wondering how i'm gonna deal with the crying/noise when i can't stand it now (when other kids yell / cry that is)!

I tot hi-5 is pretty popular here.. dinno that their stuff are so hard to find here. One of my frens brought his son over from penang last yr to watch their concert.

I think Bali is pretty cheap now that's why, they got the deal for less than $400 per pax, inclusive of 4D3N hotel, airfare and i think 1 lunch/dinner.

Yah I dun like caterpillers either.. well a pro is that the girls can learn bio and watch the caterpillar become a butterfly. Not all of them attract caterpillars, so just keep a lookout, if you do see them, you know why...

felicia which venue are u looking at? will your htb be moving over to sg after the wedding or it's gonna be LDR till the immigration stuff get sorted out?

120 is a nice size, i find the typical 300-400 pax thing here too big and impersonal. I had a 140 pax one here, and din do anything in germany cuz it was too troublesome to organize.

cuclainne - thanks for info & encouragement. i hope things sort themselves out fairly smoothly for us! *fingers crossed*

de_luxe - we're looking at Singapore Art Museum (SAM) but were told that 2009 dates are not available for booking yet

we're gonna LDR until the paperwork gets sorted. he's a travel photographer so he can come here more frequently due to his flexible work arrangements, so we're lucky in that aspect. nonetheless i hope we manage to get everything sorted out soon and save up enough $$ to relocate as well...

yeah, we're hoping that 120 means we get to interact with our guests in more meaningful way. my cousin did a 60-table event last year where i barely managed to congratulate the couple!
for our case, we kinda have to do something in the US cos only about 10+ of his family & very close friends are gonna make it. falling USD + rising fuel surcharges = less ppl willing to fly across the world for a wedding!

Hello ladies! Sorry for the tardiness, work has been mad mad mad, haven't had a breather in a while! Good to see the thread up and running

cuclainne, love the pictures of Cebu! Emil's beside me right now and he says that the pics look very very nice
really sorry to hear all the traumatic experiences u've had while flying tho ... sometimes can be quite the dampener, huh? but yea, most imptly is that u and Elias have arrived home safe and sound
and abt being mistaken for filippino - I did too when I was there...been mistaken for filippino, thai, korean... by the locals at that :S guess us asians look more alike than we think :P

maple, glad that u got to spend time with ur mum when she was there with u in HK
did u two go yumcha together? hehe ... yea for my dad, the concern is just that i won't be left hanging in Sweden, and he knows that i'm someone that needs to be challenged career-wise, so yea, just praying that God will open the right doors in His perfect time
the mozzies in HK sound scary tho! hungry creatures, them :S

margie, love the Beijing Olympic pics. Maybe u shld plan to make it for the London 2012 one too! hehe ... perhaps become a 4-yearly tradition?

liz, Emil's the eldest of 6 in his family, so also very family-oriented, which is rare in Scandinavian culture, which i'm sure u must know. So i guess it can be a good thing, esp when we miss e 'community' feeling in asia. and yes, u keep pressing on girl. We are in the marathon of life, but the awesome thing is, we are never alone, cos God will never leave us nor forsake us, wherever we may be, Netherlands, Sweden, Singapore, or anywhere else
take good care! and hope ur bunny's better!

chrisl, glad that u are ok! do rest well ... health is something that can't be exchanged for anything, so must take good care!

deluxe, wow, Siem Reap! pictures pictures pictures! and yea, u got my dad's concerns nailed. guess sometimes very hard to control the future no matter how much we want to, so just doing the best we can, and leave the rest to God. And yes, Emil is VERY happy to be going back
and i'm glad for him la .... can see him so much happier and relaxed now. Just trying now also not to overwhelm him with wedding prep during the remaining time that he's in Singapore ... don't want to neglect the relationship in the process of wedding prep la
ur baby sounds like a strong one!

emi, ur flu sounds really bad :S are u better? and yes, we shld have a SGbrides_angmohthread outing when u/Liz are in Singapore!

felicia, wow the US immigration process really sounds tough. US$1,000 on just the forms?? how come the couple got rejected tho? Guess what - originally I had planned for AD to be on 11 July 09, but had to shift earlier cos of e move to Sweden to 18 April 09
am actually on the July 09 BTB forum thread too, still hvn't shifted to e April thread yet :P hope u will get e hotel of ur choice for 4 jul 09! and yea, 120 sounds really nice. My wedding banquet's going to be abt 400 pax, HTB and I actually wld hv preferred it smaller, but banquet's for my Dad la, so. And we're going to do another celebration in Sweden, 100 ppl approx. Emil (my HTB) is prepping his family & close friends to come to Singapore for the April celebration :P wld be a good experience for them, we feel. My family and some of my close friends will be flying to Sweden for the Swedish celebration too, so yea, think that wld be really nice la. Family's taking the chance to make it a long-awaited family holiday with everyone together
Hang in there with the LDR. I can understand the tough part of separation ... HTB and I will be LDR from mid-Oct 08 till mid-Mar 09. But what makes it easier is knowing that there will be a resolution in the end ... so press on!!

hi felicia, to console u, the procedure is expensive in Netherlands as well as in UK. I think it is in every country except probably Asian country hahahaha... we have spent like 830 euro for the temporary permit (3 months only), then 100 plus euro for extension of one year, then 100 plus again for extension of another 5 yrs, and some other costs which I forgot liao. We were like as poor as a church mouse after that, preparing for wedding n so forth. And take time again to save up to do house.

Glypmse, wah! Looks like a few of us, hubby has a huge family. kekekeke... I guess we are attracted to them partly coz they are family-oriented. Not to worry, I often go through phases and God has always ben my source of strength and anchor. Without Him, I won't have survived for so long. Praise the Lord!
God has been very gracious to us. My bunny is doing much better, can eat liao but head still loopsided. I think she will be like that forever. At least she is active again.

LDR is never easy and I almost called it quits. If it is not for prayer and my hubby's persistance, we won't be married. Perseverence pays off and it is worth while. Everything will be fine.

We arrange for an outing, but let me know as my schedule is pretty tight. Kekekeke.... Will be fun to meet up.

Hi ladies! Wow finally can take a bit of a breather. Last few days was terribly hetic as our house was turned into a bakery and tailor shop in preparation for Dominic's baptism yesterday. I only finished sewing his baptism gown at 2 am. Yah very last minute one! Didn't even have time to wash the carbon markings off.
But he did look cute in it. Hee! Hee! Well at least I won't have to burn the midnight oil again if we are blessed with no.2!

Yeah thanks for your nice comments on facebook. I've been having problems logging onto multiply ever since I downloaded the auto uploader. MS Explorer is forever giving me an error message and while mozilla firefox allows me to log in the pages seem to take absolutely forever to load. Hence I can't upload pics or update my blog!
Not too sure how to solve the problem. Any ideas?

Yeah Dom doesn't look Asian. Pretty much a daddy's boy I guess. Hee! Hee! If I'm out alone with him people who do not know me, might think I kidnapped him!!

Glympse and Maple how did we come up with his name? Well to cut a long story short. The Feast of St Dominic is on 8 August (my EDD) and our Dominic was born on the eve (but in Singapore time it was 8 August) so ... well actually Dominic was on our 'approved' list of names but it was never really a contender until Fr Bill suggested it when he dropped in to see us soon after he was born.
Ha! Ha! Thought we better decide on a name fast as we can't keep referring to him as 'baby'. So that's how he became Dominic. As for Emanuel, well I always told myself if I had a boy I would call him that. However Paul wouldn't have that for a first name. Said that he might get teased in school as he might be called 'Emma'! But did not mind it for a second name and he knew why I wanted so much to call him that. Emanuel means 'God with us' and God was with us throughout the pregnancy and especially through the labour as I went through the whole process without any pain relief! To call the child 'Emanuel' was our way of acknowledging God's presence in our lives.
Btw Dominic in latin means 'belonging to God'. So I guess the meaning of both names complement each other in some way.

Tootsieroll Dominic is on mixed feeding. He has been at it since he was 3 days old. The MW put him on it as a last resort as he wouldn't breastfeed nor feed for that matter. And since he had lost a lot of his birthweight by then she was worried that he would end up in hospital. We had to force feed him in the early days with FM and EBM. He's doing okay now. I try to latch him on now and again but as he is getting much heavier now I'm finding it more difficult. As it is I'm having difficulty carrying him as my hands are rather painful and haven't much strength. Scared to drop him. Hopefully the pain in my wrist will go away before my parents return to s'pore.

Welcome felicia and ocean claudia!

Chrisl what has happened to Gaute? Hope he is better and you are taking care of yourself too. ((Hugs))

Anyway got to go. (((Waves))) to everyone! Hope you girls have fun meeting up with one another in the next few weeks.

Elizabeth: wow looks like it's about just as costly for everyone, not just the USA.

Glympse: the couple never really knew why they got rejected. you can get rejected even for like, typos, or whatever they deem unacceptable it seems :|
it's really great that you already know your relocation date and stuff. hope you manage to get everything sorted out after moving yr AD!

hello.... glympse.. yeah much better. ozie flu is always hideous!

Felicia...immigration business is always expensive in western countries. We wanted to get chris a PR here in Oz and realised it would cost us about $4500k eventually and then it was on top of our 3 weddings. So we decided to skip it.Then we dound out it cost Chris only $100 to get a year postdoc research visa in Oz and so, without a thought we did that instead. Its important to find out if theres other options so that you can save! :P

yes Beth...I am counting down too. when shall we all( ALL SG BRIDES IN SG) meet up hey? for dinner, prolly?

Liz, yea, things have been pretty tough on Emil and I recently, but like you said, perseverance. After all, love is first of all patient right?
glad to see that ur bunny's better! hopefully her head falls in line soon too :P

Mrs N, wow, what a beautiful story behind Dominic's name. Yea, i can appreciate the combination of Dominic Emmanuel. Truly a boy dedicated unto the Lord

felicia, that's so sad that it's that unreasonable! Really hope urs wld be a lot more smooth-going!

emi, dinner on a weekday sounds great. Weekends are knda out for me cos of outside commitments. But yea, a forum outing wld be so nice

hello hello everyone .. sorry for no posts this past few days .. been re-discovering my love for Blythe and Barbie dolls .. hahahahah .. yes, yes poor Elias having to put up with my frequent weird obsessions .. hahhaha ..

de_luxe, sometimes when the kids are getting a bit of a handful, me and Elias would joke about returning them to the hospital - but i think even the hospital will not accept them la!

don't worry, you'll soon get used to the crying ..

yes, we're waiting for that but seems like singapore might not be on their tour schedule this year - pity, because i would like to bring sofi to see them. even elin is not spared cos sofi watches hi-5 repeatedly so she's been exposed!!

ok ladies, count me in for dinner!!!!

Hi Ladies, A quick drop by. I miss a few threads, something is wrong man! I just dun receive it vai email now only like once in a blue moon and often backdated.

Mrs N, Congrats on Dominic's baptism. I Have always like Emanuel coz it means God is with us. I never know that the name will become Emma. Hahahahah..... Ja the uploader in multiply is super slow. Now I can't even upload via yahoo email to send to my friends. How to solve: I guess u have to use the old way where u have to upload photos one by one. I have resorted to that now. Even the java doesn't work. Choose the uploading at the bottom the old way. dun know what it is called. Succes! (dutch way of saying & spelling with one s)

Ok ladies in Sg, my weekend are all burn liao. Left only weekedays but when? Emi when are u in SG again? My brain cannot store short-term memory. Terrible! I have to check my agenda coz some of my weekdays r also taken up.

I'm rushing now to make the wedding ring pillows to bring to SG to sell. My school work will wait. kekekekeke...

I will pop by to check on the thread since I dun receive it backdated.

Hi hi to all ladies!

Wow!! So much action here!
Hello ladies,
I have been so busy with work...

Liz, who is going to babysit your bunny? Hope she is not in pain. My heart aches when I see animal in pain.
I had to put my persian cat to sleep because he was suffering so much. Since that, I never had the courage to get another pet. Too sad. I've e-mailed you again my no. gimme a ring or text me when you are already in hk ok. We are meeting on the 7th right? emi has my no. too. don't know whether there is any change on the dates.

Hi Deluxe, so how's the new stove? Did you get to enjoy cooking already? Yeah man...everyone was stunned when they found out that they guy got lost in the ocean. Young bloke. Last weekend when I was attending workshops, Jeff and his friend went surfing for 2 straight days.. Luckily the weather was good and no strong winds or storm.

I am so busy here Deluxe. Busiest I've ever been. Long hours. At first I resented it but I am slowly getting into it. I haven't really found my groove and still trying to get things running at work. Lots of meetings too. Haizz... I thought Sg was bad.. this is a little worst. But the pay is good so we'll persevere. We've made good friends too with some people and go out to social so at least there is some balance.

I called my Mom last night and asked to send some chilli packet. Heee. Also craving for pineapple tarts for hari raya la.

How is the baby? Any recent development? When is your next appt.? Have you started wearing maternity dress yet?

felicia, cuclainne is right, there is a girl(rizaclark)here who is in colarado. she is also on another forum..singaporewomenabroad. haven't seen her much lately. I think getting a lawyer to organize and manage the paperwork is not a bad idea at all. It is dear of course but at least you dont have to go through the hassle dealing with immigration. I have a friend who used a lawyer to deal with her application and it went pretty well. This was to reside in Montreal, Canada. But my hubby's brother's girlfriend who did the same thing in Canada got rejected even after a couple of attempts through a lawyer. So sad. They broke up eventually because the LDR was a bit too hard. I guess it was not meant to be. Its been many years now but he still can't commit to anyone yet. Good luck to you. SAM sounds good

Glypmse, how are you my dear? and how is everything? I hope things are cooling off a bit and your parents are slowly accepting the reality with more open hearts. Is emil still in sg? When is he leaving? You sound so busy. Work consumes us sometimes and it can be quite scary. Take care yeah.

Ocean Claudia..i have the same question as deluxe. Are you relocating to Austria after your wedding? Lots to do?

Mrs.N, thank you for the detailed explanation..
So sweet of you! How are you? I've suspended my facebook account so haven't seen your baby's pictures. Put them on Multiply when you have the time ok but no rush. I can wait
How is the little one? Is he sleeping well at night? Do you need to feed him in the middle of the night? And are your parents still there? Sorry so many questions la. hee.

Chrisl, hope you are well and is everything alright at home? How is the hubby?

Cuclainne, say that again???? You are playing with barbie dolls now? Did you play with sofi's dolls or did you buy a new one for yourself?? So cute la!!! I told Jeff and he asked me, Is nisa the one who loves LV bag?? When i said yes, he said barbie and lv dont go well together. Kekeke.

Ok ladies, have a good night.. I am so tired and want to sleep soon.
Hello to everyone else!

maplehue: hahahha .. my recent obsession has elias raising his eyebrows, that's for sure. alamak, not the kind that kids play with la - the collectible kind .. http://www.barbiecollector.com/showcase/default.aspx look under silkstone dollies .. so purty, the price also so purty .. hahahah .. the marie antoinette doll from another collection is going for S$1,000 on ebay and that's just from one bid!!! i also didn't know that they got high end collection http://www.fashionroyalty.com/intro.html the dolls are simply not the everyday doll you'd give to children to play with. this one costs about $550-$700 per doll though i know that two of the Limited Edition ones are going for over $2K - like LV bag la! hahahahha ..

but what i'm really eyeing are the Blythe dolls .. http://www.blythedoll.com/ i've already checked out prices and if i ship them directly from Japan, it's cheaper than buying from stores here - from the site, two dolls + shipping = 1 doll in sg. Elias already promised me a portable light box if i do get them .. heheheh .. since i thought of taking pictures with them. maybe next week i'll place an order.

You are so cute la Cuclainne!!Are you really going to buy them?? You can always add it on your chrissy list.
heh. Do you know that I am afraid of dolls? I never really had dolls when I was young...just animal stuffed toys cos I was scared of them and still am. Dont know why.The eyes.. something about the eyes la. I really like the toy LV bag though...! Quite stylish!
And how did you come about getting hooked on these dolls?

I love dolls! I used to own Barbie when I was younger .. but my mom made me give them away!! Boo hoo!! Elias says they freak him out a bit (I think he saw the horror movies) but that as long as i keep them away during the night, he's ok .. hahahha ..

I remember coming across a Blythe doll a few years ago and i thought that it was the prettiest thing .. after that, with all that has taken place, i kind of forgotten its existence. A few days ago, I was surfing for collectible Barbie (have nothing better to do .. hahahah) and trawling ebay ads when I came across the Blythe dolls again ..

MIA and back again heee... Yes it's gonna be 2 weeks sch hol from today, hope i can recover fast from my cold and sore throat, it is just making me feeling so week to even talk

Talking abt dolls, Im like both of u (Hernie & sofi), duno why but im just so scared of their eyes!!! So creepy hehee..

Hey Liz, have a good flight back to Sg and have lots of fun! Nice to meet up with the girls too ;) And oso good to hear that ur Bunny is eating well again. Good luck to ur wedding pillow sales in Sg

Hello Mrs N, ok so that's how the name is derived
Ya, do u have to wake up in the middle of the nite for feeding? Yes baby Dominic is surely daddy's boy but hey, prob in 10 yrs time, both of u start chatting in mandarin on the street!! A mummy's boy then hehehee..

Maplehue, have u rec ur chilli stuff n pineapple tarts? I miss pineapple tarts now, esp those with yummy pastry *drool* Heard from Emi u will be gg to Philippines soon? dats nice for a holiday isnt it..

Cuclainne, sorry i missed out reading the earlier thread on getting Hi5 Stuffs for Sofie. Have started looking around whenever at the mall, hmmm not much tho, mainly are the DVDs. Was hoping they have the Hi5 showbag at royal Melb show, but saw its website, they have wiggles instead leh.... Abit tricky, will keep a look out for u

*Wave* Deluxe, how r u and bb? Got ur stove oredi? or busy shopping for bb's stuffs instead hehee.. guess it is more exciting to look at bb stuffs rite, quite amazing how much gadgets kids have nowadays.
Have a good weekend!

Hello Glympse, have a short break away fom work yea? not easy when ur mind is filled with work, immigration paperwork and wedding preparation.. can be up to the neck tho
Hahaa not sure will I make it to Olympics in London 2012, but hey, Who knows I get special invitationn or win a lucky draw for that?? *kekeke* never knows wat is planned ahead for us rite?

ok i better stop now, my nose is dripping like a tap, need to get somemore tissues

have a good weekend everyone!

maple, wow it really sounds hectic for you in HK. How long do you have to work on average? My best friend, who's a lawyer in Singapore, told me that the pay of her friend working in HK is like 3x that of hers in Singapore, but the workload is probably 3x as much as well! Do take care and don't burn out ya? Not worth it ... go yum cha more often, if u can get ppl to go with u! And of course the shopping's great too... hehe.

Thanks for the kind words too. yea things have been really hectic in all aspects, in and outside of work. Sometimes when work ends I become even busier! haha ... trying to balance it all. But yea, sometimes I feel my real life only truly begins after work ;) Yea my parents have really been great recently la. My Dad still has a lot of concerns about my future job prospects, but I know he's really trying and keeping an open heart and mind about things, so am really glad for that. Emil's leaving Singapore in mid Oct, so yea, trying to find the balance btwn wedding prep + spending time with him just enjoying each other's company. And I know it's been tough on him transiting back and forth too, but he's been a sweetie.

Looks like we all need another holiday! hehehe...

cuclainne, barbie and blythe dolls! wow! Guess it can be a 'ladies of the household' common pasttime, unless u prefer that Sofi and Elin don't join in the hobby ;) The blythe dolls look quite nice actually, can imagine them as display/decorative pieces too. Don't really fancy Barbie tho, never really did like dolls when I was growing up, was more a 'zero-point' and 'five stones' kinda girl
How big a collection of dolls are you planning to grow it too? I can imagine that some of the dolls can be quite the collector's piece, and if you hold on to them long enough, they'll fetch quite a high market value. In view of all the financial institutions crashing, maybe investing in vintage dolls may be the way to go eh? hehe...

margiel, oh dear, flu is horrible. perhaps u can try picking up some Clarinase tablets, I've found them very very useful in clearing a runny nose. Hot chicken soup works really well too
hope u get well soon! Yea haha i also feel like taking a holiday, but can't atm, esp with the various things to sort out, and wanna spend my free time with Emil before he leaves. My good friend told me i can start catching up on my sleep after he leaves heh heh.

Liz, welcome to Singapore! am sure u must be one busy bee with loads of ppl to catch up with
and must be catching up on all the good local food too! hehe enjoy!

Yay the weekend is here! Emil's coming to meet me after work to look at wedding bands. We're thinking of getting platinum ones cos they don't 'tarnish' like white gold, and the shop my Mum frequents is having a 80% clearance sale! My Mum and I spotted a nice band for Emil, simple and light and non-obstructive (Emil explicitly told me he wants a wedding band that 'he can't feel he's wearing' haha), the corresponding ladies band isn't too fantastic tho, so we may custom-make it
Still thinking of what would be a nice and versatile yet special design tho ...well i guess sometimes simple is best too
hehe...

Enjoy the weekend everyone!

margiel, hi hi .. don't worry, i've told Emi that i'll probably just need a pinata and some loot bags. the DVDs that Sofi keeps watching over and over again are with the old cast - we haven't seen the newer episodes with the 3 new members so we don't really know if they're any good .. ahhaha .. anyways, i can't decide if i wanted to give her a hi-5 related present like a school bag or bedsheets .. hmm.. any ideas?

glympse, i'm just going to start with one doll that they have run out of stock in the sg store and also placed a pre-order for one that will be released next month (10% off for pre-order).. i've bidded for some wigs on ebay, so i can change her hairstyle without having to re-root the girl (seems like a lot of hard work) and i don't know who can customise her in sg .. would like to get some work done, that's for sure. i've seen step-by-step picture tutorials but i have no confidence in doing it myself .. not a cheap doll to be experimenting with.

Cuclainne, are these procelain dolls?? i still can't believe you've ordered one. hee. you do like dolls!

by the way, before I forget, can you tell me which resort in cebu did you and elias go for your honeymoon??

Margiel...good to hear from you! Good to have you back. Sorry to hear about the flu. Melbourne flu is dreadful. There was one time when i was living there, my flu lingered for over 2 weeks. AND I believed I caught it when I was on the train to the city. yuks. Rest and stay home when the weather is cold ok.

My Mum hasn't send the chilli packets and pineaplle tarts yet cos I told her to wait. I told her I may need her to include some more stuff like a big tin of Nestum. They have Quaker oats here but no nestum and I dont like the instant nestum cos it is too sweet. I thought you can get pineapple tarts in melbourne no?

Jeff and I have been so busy and we haven't confirmed our trip to the philippines yet so now we are panicking a bit. AND i suddenly feel like going to the one that Nisa and elias went to. So we'll see. I just HOPE there is no last minute work commitment that he has to do! So scary. Saw your backyard pictures on multiply celebrating moon festival. It was quite a big thing here and they had a big carnival. I still have 2 mooncakes in my fridge i havent touched.

Hi Glypmse, yeah its been hectic here. On average, we work around 10 hours a day. It is crazy and I know as positive as i want to be, i will never get used to it. I guess your bestf's friend knows how it is here cos she is right, pay is gooood but work is more too. My friends with children are not coping so much because of the long hours but so far the singles and 'dinks'(double income w no kids) are still quite ok.

We'll prolly go for dimsum soon. and i need to buy more clothes. since i got bitten by those nosseums, i have stopped wearing skirts...so need to buy more pants or capris. There is a huge h&m store in central and we want to go there today.

Enjoy your time with Emil and always remember that brief separation will only bring the two of you closer.
Isn't that romantic... How was your shopping yesterday? Any nice bands? My diamond engagement ring is platinum but our wedding bands are white and rose gold with a saphire stone inside the ring. I didn't get to choose my engagement ring, it was all Jeff and the wedding band was love at first sight cos it has waves on it(jeff loves the ocean).

Ok ladies, have a good weekend!
xo

and Glypmse....I was a 'zero point' girl!! So fun and 5 stones?? I still have them here in Hong Kong. Got Jeff to play with me a few times and he was so sweet to do it.

maplehue, they're made of plastic actually but can be sand-matted to get rid of the 'gloss' .. otherwise in pictures, the doll would appear 'shiny' as though she has oily complexion. hahahahah

we stayed at shangri-la mactan resort and spa at cebu, i don't know if there are any direct flight from HK so you might have to transfer via Manila.

hey, i also love zero point and 5 stones .. played zero point in the office a few weeks ago with a colleague's daughter .. another colleague made her the rope and me and a few others were playing to show her the game .. hahahah .. fun .. but quite funny in an office setting.

Felicia SAM is a nice place
did u check out Arts House (the old parliament building too)? I was considering them both as well.

Yap, the financial / economic situation in the USA is really bad… but I think in general, most pple dun really want to fly to attend a wedding cuz it’s really pretty expensive if it’s not somewhere regional. We din have many guests from Germany either…

liz I’m having the same problems w the email notifications too.. sometimes either dun get the messages or they arrive late… wonder wats wrong w the site??

mrs n wow… u went natural! Hats off… my doc is pro-natural too.. he keeps telling me I can tahan one… young enuff and tells me to swim more… lol… we’ll see..

That’s an interesting / nice way of coming up with baby’s name. Sounds quite traditional to name after a saint.

How did u get the pain in your wrist? Have u tried breastfeeding lying down? That way no fears of dropping him…

emi u have my hp.. so let me know when’s convenient… wkdays I can only do after 7… wkends depends on our schedule lah..

maplehue we haven’t bought the stove!! Dragging our feet.. lazy to go down to the shop again.. but prob after the siem reap trip.. now thinking if we shld also get a microwave.

Baby is fine.. shld be developing well.. but I do have my fears on the days when he’s not so active that something’s wrong.. kind of paranoid I guess, cuz I have a fren and a relative who lost theirs after 5 months, so had to be induced, go through labour pains etc.. but ends up in a still birth.

My next appt is in Oct, but I have to see the doc next wk to get a letter from him certifying me ok to fly.

Haha… I’ve definitely started maternity clothes already since abt 2 months…my tummy had a growth spurt somewhere towards the end of the 1st trimester n I suddenly couldn’t button my tops / do up my bottoms. Maternity wear is pretty ex n not exactly to my taste tho… I’ve managed to save some money by getting this thing called a belly belt that enables me to still wear my normal bottoms, but just need longer tops to cover the zip area as the belt allows buttoning but not zipping up. It works mainly on pants/jeans/capris cuz the zips are all in front, but not so much on skirts which often dun have buttons or have the buttons behind. In terms of tops, I’ve bought mainly nursing tops which means I can still use them after giving birth.

cuclainne can’t believe u r into dolls!

I’m scared of dolls too… dun like the eyes since young, especially those that have eyes that can blink when u move the doll… my sis had one of those when we’re young n cuz of my fears, my parents made her throw it away. I think she was mad at me for years over that! We had 2 barbie dolls later on in primary sch but those were ok cuz the eyes are not the glassy type. Painted eyes dun look so life-like…

Margie haven’t been shopping for babies’ stuff… feel lazy to go shopping but hb asked yesterday if we should be getting more stuff n decoration for the bb’s room – it’s now just plain white walls n he feels baby needs something more interesting / colourful to look at.

Yah there are lots of gadgets out there but I dun think we’ll be spending too much on those… not cheap you know… looking at the prices can give me a heart attack. Someone recommended that I get this playmat to me, instead of a playpen… just a simple thing like that already more than $200!! Kids, esp babies just outgrow them so quickly… there’s a toy rental shop somewhere which I tot is a good idea.. better than buying n then chucking it somewhere…

glympse wow… mid-Oct… that’s really soon. Din realize that it would be so quick. Does Emil already have a job in Sweden?

I played lots of zero point n hopscotch as a kid… usually at the lift landing
those were the days.. but I never got the hang of 5 stones… I wonder if kids these days play this kind of games still… they all seem so hooked on video games and PSP.

Oh.. u dun have to get matching wedding bands… at least not in my opinion.. more impt that the individuals like them. Ours were from 2 different shops n dun even look alike… anyway my hb doesn’t wear his wedding band.. gave up after a few months of being married. He just din like the feeling of having something on his hands n couldn’t get used to it. Needless to say, I wasn’t too happy abt it!! But I suppose the heart matters more than outward actions such as these.

de_luxe: we really hope to get SAM cos my grandpa & granduncles and my dad & my uncles all went to school there. it's a really special and meaningful venue for us.
i did consider Arts House, but with all the additional charges and restriction on catering, it is like, double the cost of SAM!

where did you hold your ceremony in the end?

glympse: we went to look at wedding bands ystday but found them all too fancy / overpriced for plain designs. kinda regret now that we didn't buy them when we were in California (found lots of nice plain ones in the LA Jewelry District especially), and now i won't be able to fly back to the US cos need to save up leave for the wedding

good luck with your search!

margiel, hope you are getting better now..ya, when i bring luke out, also afraid that he will catch a cold or hayfever...the weekend was sooo hot !! at last we went to batsman bay and got the chance to see the sea !! This year, Floriade is bigger and have more events, you have plan to come over? what about EJ? can come together :-)

eliz, enjoy your stay in sg !! eat and shop more !!

maplehue, argggghhh!! H & M !! wonder when will they open a store in sg? there is rumour that they will but still no conrete plan yet..

i did not buy any maternity clothes at all...i bought the usual blouses but in 1 size bigger and got those sports pants with elastic at waist, so after giving birth still can wear them..maternity clothings are really ex and designs are limited

glympse, julio and i dont have matching wedding bands too..mine is a 5-diamond eternity ring while his is a plain white gold ring..i couldnt wear my wedding band after giving birth ..sob sob..so i left it in sg , luckily the engagement ring size is slightly bigger so still can wear it..maybe should buy the ring 1/2 or 1 size bigger so that when preggie, still can wear it..

baby luke is 4 mth old now :-)

771512.jpg

gina, he is soooooo cute! elin is quite talkative now - more so than i remembered sofi to be. she's got 3 upper teeth and 2 lower teeth now .. drooling all over the place

cuclainne, wow looks like u've really researched on the dolls. I'm sure there must be fellow enthusiasts like yourself in Singapore. Found any good sites in Singapore on how to go about customising your dolls? It's an interesting hobby ... perhaps you might even learn how to make a doll from scratch!

Haha you played zero-point in office?? Haha did you all take photos? Yea zero point brings back nice memories ... I remember making zero-point ropes during my free time when i was a kid ...

maple, yea it does sound like you and Jeff need a break. Hope you two manage to have a nice trip to Philippines! Nisa could get comission for recommending Cebu to us all ... hehe. Yea I guess HK is a tough place to raise a family in, esp space-wise. My desire is for my kids to be able to play in open spaces, among nature, not be cooped up at home playing computer games or watching TV all day :S I'm sure you and Jeff will work something out when the right time comes along to start a family tho ... there's always Singapore yet again ;) oh there's H&M in HK? Nice!! I love H&M .... I went there almost everyday when I was studying in Sweden (tho of cos I didn't buy something everyday la hehe). Jeff plays 5 stones with you? So sweet! Emil did it too, playing with me and some of the youth frm my church. He could do the first 5 stages, but stage 6 took some getting used to :P

deluxe, you and the baby will be alright
stay positive and keep your spirits up ya? Emil will be returning to his old job when he goes back to Sweden, and becos they are in need of people, there'll def be something waiting for him, there's flexibility in terms of when he starts work too, so that's good. And yea, sometimes it gets scary to think about the kind of world that our kids are growing up in. Really don't want them to lose touch with reality, esp if/when video games and PSP becomes part of the 'normal childhood experience', which really shouldn't be. You're really understanding though, to allow your hubby not to wear his wedding band. Not sure if I could let Emil do that :P But yea u're right, what's impt is what is meant on the inside, not necessarily just the outward displays. I admire you for that

Emil's fallen in love with the ring that my Mum and I spotted for him. It's a simple platinum one, very lightweight and seems quite comfy. The price is excellent too - less than $400 for a 100% plat ring! When comparing to the other mainstream shops, it's a steal. Guess we pay a lot for branding when we buy from the other bigger chains. So yea, quite keen on staying with my Mum's lobang, small shop but reliable, and don't have to pay for a brand :P maple, your wedding bands sounds really nice. According to the shop ppl here, white & rose gold bands are the popular choice among couples these days, and I can see why
deluxe, georgina, yea, agreed that each needs to like the wedding band. Emil and I are keen on getting two that look somewhat similar tho. Anyway, the female version of the wedding band that he's getting doesn't suit me (too thin), so i'm very likely to custom-make mine, slightly thicker, also platinum, with an embedded solitaire. My Mum is quite excited about it (she loves all this jewelry design stuff :P), so yea, we're gg to start discussions with the jeweller once he's back from his business trip to see what can be done. georgina, yea also concerned that the bands may not fit over the years. I was told that platinum was a lot harder to resize than white gold, tho the jeweller i'm going to said that it's no problem to resize their rings, since they hv their own workshop. Likely to stick with platinum tho, we like it that the colour doesn't "fade" kinda. felicia, you're absolutely right, it's SO hard to find just a simple wedding band in Singapore, all the ones here are too frilly and yes, overpriced. Are you looking for a white gold band or a platinum band? Any budget? I've been out ring-hunting too so can prob help look out for something that you might like. Alternatively, I can help recommend my jeweller to u so that he can custom-make for u and ur HTB at a decent price. Really no point paying a couple of hundreds more just for the branding of the major jewellery chains in Singapore.

and georgina, I'm in love with baby Luke la
so cuteeee!

i think it's a pre-requisite for most guys to just go for plain wedding bands - elias is the same. he even rubbed the ring against his face just to see if it was rough against his skin .. argh! hahahaha .. yah, agree with gina .. buy something that you can wear over time .. i couldn't wear my wedding band after two pregnancies (fingers all swollen - maybe got fat also .. hahahaha), we just got new ones from lee hwa .. so my 1st wedding band and engagement ring (bought from sweden) are kept in the safe la ..

glympse, there is a forum for fellow doll-lovers in sg but i haven't had the chance to post anything in there yet .. i normally do research first before i buy anything and then report findings to elias .. hahahaha ..

Thank u gals, im feeling much better now, need time to clear up the stuffy nose

Hey Gina, BB Luke is soooooo adorable, love his eyes!! Does he babble alot now?

glympse: would be great if you could share the contact for your Mom's jeweller / recommendation. i hope to get platinum bands since they do not discolour, but HTB thinks that it's "kinda cool" for our rings to have a worn look at some years *horrors* instead of paying so much (double?) for plat versus white gold.
$400 for a platinum ring is an amazing price though! i wanna go look too!

Hi everyone hope you gals had a good weekend.

Liz you should be in Sg by now. I've tried removing the multiply uploader but doesn't seem to make a difference. I'm still having difficulty with slow uploading of webpage. Tried to send a message to Gina but it wouldn't go thru'.

Gina Luke is so cute and chubby. Nice rosy cheeks too.
Now that he can amuse himself with his gym does that mean you have more free time?

deluxe I decided to go for an all natural childbirth after attending ante-natal class. So I was mentally prepared for it. I didn't swim but I did a lot of walking. The MWs in our area were all for natural birth. They said the best thing is to have an open mind and start with just breathing to cope with the pain and then work your way up! We were also advised to get a birthing ball. I have to say that the ball was indeed a good buy. I used to sit/bounce/rock on it in the final weeks of my pregnancy as it was a lot more comfortable than sitting on a chair. It was also the main form of 'pain relief' in my early stages of labour
I just sat on the ball and rocked to and fro with each contraction. Was on the ball for close to 12 hours except for the time I went to shower or toilet and of course the car ride to the hospital. Looking back I would say it is not so much the contractions that tire you out but the pushing. The most painful part for me was when the baby's head was stuck between my thighs and I had to wait for a contraction before I could push - that was really bad and it seemed like an eternity. But other than that it was pretty much like a case of severe food poisoning.
Though there were times I half expected the MWs to offer me gas/air but they never did and I never thought to ask.

Can't remember if I mentioned this to you on this thread or another that I had carpel tunnel syndrome (pain in my hands) in the last few weeks of pregnancy? Well they didn't go away right after the birth. The MW said it would be some weeks before the pain subsided. But then we had all the problems of feeding Dominic at the beginning and I was religiously pumping and hand expressing and massaging the breasts every few hours. I don't think my hands had any chance to recover nor a rest. I guess that's the overall effect why my wrists are so painful now. Tried bf in the lying down position with Dominic when I was in hospital but it didn't go too well with him. The only position I can successfully get him to latch on is the 'cross cradle' but it's not easy to position him with a pianful wrist especially when he is crying and struggling. It's ok if he latches on well the first time but if you have to re-latch him he gets frustrated and both of us end up getting stressed. So I don't really latch him on nowadays unless I feel up to it. Don't want him to associate his feeding frustrations with me.

I don't have many maternity clothes either. Can count the number I have on my fingers. Yeah they are rather ex. But I got mine from Sg when I was down in April. Spring was having a sale at that time. Good thing I had a summer baby otherwise have to spend more.

Yup baby stuff are so ex. I guess the good thing about Dominic being the youngest grandchild is that every thing is passed on to him ... albeit second, third or fourth hand but ... never mind lah can save the money for his education.

maple little one is ok and is growing bigger and heavier. Yes he gets up in the night for a feed usually about 2 am. But Paul normally does that (one good thing about EBM) and his nappy change. I do get up too though ... to pump. My parents will be here until 11 Oct so just a few weeks more to go before I have to cope on my own. Gulp!

Right I have managed to figure out how to reduce the size of pictures through a very roundabout route but here is a pic of Dominic.

772182.jpg

Margie glad to know you are feeling better. Weather must be getting warmer now for you guys while we are getting colder.

cuclainne enjoying shopping for dolls. Wish Dominic was a girl then got excuse to buy dolls. Ha! Ha! As it is Paul is pleased that he's now got an excuse to buy boys toys. Wonder who will be playing with them!!!

Hello to Glympse and Felicia.
Have fun choosing your wedding rings.

hello there ladies... just a quick query.

Those in SG, would u like to do a meet up, prolly on the 10th Oct? tell me which time of the day you ladies prefer.

Emi

thanks Mrs_N, and congrats on your adorable little one! cuteness!

i'm cool with 10 Oct if i'm not working late. have all of you met up before??

emi, i'm ok with 10th after 6pm ...

felicia, i've met up with some of the ladies here on several occasions .. some of them like elizabeth and priscilla, i met incidentally while out and about .. hope you'll be able to make the date on the 10th!

ok .. it's official, making hari raya kueh is hard work!! i took leave today with the intention of making as much kueh as possible but only ended up making 3 .. ok lah, not too bad .. my kueh baulu didn't turn out at all so i've rated the recipe as busted .. but the rest was ok .. tomorrow is another day, so better go to sleep now ..

Hi ladies, Been eating in SG! We have jet lag, still recovering. Thks ladies.

As for the wedding rings, I know of a shop that can custom-made and it is cheaper than the branded shops. We had them done over there as my mum knows the shop owner. Felicia n Glympsme, if u r still looking for one, pm me, I get the details from my mum.

I can't make it on 10, still in HK. Only be back in the evening i think.

Hey to everyone! The jams in Singapore are crazy now with F1 ... and it's raining today too!! it's 9.45am and think half the office is still empty! Crazy :P

Mrs N, is it just me or does Dominic actually have BLUE eyes?? He's got an interesting kinda gaze ... reminds me of Emil's eyes actually

felicia, sorry for the delay, been swamped at work :P will PM u separately re the jeweller contact

Re meeting up, atm yes I can make it on 10 Oct too
is it just us ladies or are we bringing our other halves along?

TGIF!