Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Elizabeth: Elias is more hands-off and laid back in his parenting skills .. once when we were in a shopping centre, sofi banged herself into the glass window of a store front .. not once but twice in the space of about 5 mins .. all because he thought it would be fun to play chase in the store .. sometimes i wonder how did i end up with a 3rd kid - hahahahha ..

glympse: the work environment must be terrible .. was it difficult for him to find a job here in the first place? like i mentioned before, the job culture here is quite different ..

i don't think you even call the old ladies and men in sweden 'aunty' and 'uncle' - still have to call them by first names. so the concept is really, really foreign to them.

well, he had to learn to accept it .. though sometimes i don't know why he becomes hard at hearing when sofi calls him daddy or papa .. yes, she calls me mama, mommy - repetitively, i must add esp. when she wants something ..

we won't be there long - just 2 nights, enough for a recharge of the old batteries i suppose

maplehue: i would about die if i kena like that .. as it is, they made me taste-tested all the baby formula and water in the milk bottles on the flight back - so paiseh plus elias can joke that if i had known i would be getting 'dessert', i probably would not have had a big lunch .. arrgh!

today she showered at my mom's place but when my mom wanted to wash her hair, she started crying and saying that she doesn't want to shower anymore .. oh well, i suppose we'll find out this weekend when we go to botanic gardens for the water play.

yes, my family will be babysitting the girls from fri-mon .. feel kind of bad to leave them behind - first time i'm doing so, elias is ok about it cos he's left us behind when he goes on his business trips so he's used to it i suppose .. sigh ..

have you looked at the prada bags yet?

Cuclainne, Usu ang mo are more open to play. This is one thing I find that I will learn from them. Letting the child explore and play with them.
Don't feel bad. Sometimes it is good to take a break n go away just the 2 of u, to re-charge and have time alone.

Maplehue, I didn't get any bites. They seem to disappear when I woke up. But I didn't sleep very well though. Feeling very tired. Luckily the workshop has ended and time to go home the next day.

I got to know about the KMP when I was in US for an intensive course. We touched on it in my study. But to be trained in it is another story. I got to know it through a dance therapist who went to the workshop. It is in English as she comes from US. If it is German, I will not have gone for the workshop. Hahahaha.... Finally, I did the dance movement therapy blog. Haven't put anything yet except intro.
More to come when I have the time. Today I have the mood to write, so end up with writing in my blog, instead of finishing the observation. Hahahaha... At least, I cleared 2 of the orders. 2 more to go! :P

O ja I forgot to ans yr question on kitchen. I took more photos but haven't put them up yet. A lot of work! Good grief! Hope to finish it before we go back to Singapore. Looks like the living room has to wait till we get back. My FIL has been coming every morning since last Wed to do the kitchen. I am so amazed by it! After that Jeroen will start the flooring and put the kitchen in once the water pipes and electrical stuff are done by FIL. I can't do anything, only can offer drinks. My MIL helped to clean up when I was away. They are just so sweet!
In the meantime, out study is our mini breakfast table and we cook at our in-law's place. Just can't wait for it to be up and I can start exploring cooking again. Funny talking abt Jamie, my friend taught us how to cook using his receipe, turn out very well leh. No problem with it. I have one of his cookbook for my birthday from Jeroen. Haven't really explored it yet. No time lah! Hmmmm... waiting for hubby to come home, then do grocery together and then cook. I am super super hungry! SIGH!!!!

Hi ladies!

Thanks again for all the words of encouragement. Emil and I have had a rough few days, but after the storm we both have come to understand and appreciate each other more and more. So it was all worthwhile. Like the Bible does say, "Perseverance produces character, and character, hope". Really experiencing that first hand

Seems more and more likely that we'll go to Sweden by the end of this year. Emil called the Swedish embassy and they advised that it'll take abt 3-4 months to get the residence permit, so looks in sight. Still going to take a bit more time to pray and think things through and discuss with people we respect and love (parents, pastors) before arriving at the final decision of Singapore or Sweden, so that we know we're not deciding merely on emotions. But yea, would be an interesting road ahead for sure
keep u gals posted! U all have been such a support to me, really. Really nice to know we never walk alone

cuclainne - shld take more time off in Cebu lah. Honeymoon leh!

maple - u love bags, he loves watches, it evens out.. haha
hope somehow u'll get to try yum cha someday! if not, can come back to SG to hv dim sum, somewhat similar ;)

liz - keep the love story coming! really enjoy reading ur blog posts

Elizabeth: i don't doubt that .. Elias is very responsive when it comes to play time .. Sofi and Elin just loves it when their daddy plays along with them ..

glympse: wah, if it takes 3-4 months then i suppose that you should kick-start your application soon yah .. yes, whether in sweden, singapore or somewhere else, what matters most is that you must rely on each other for support and everything else .. jia you

i cannot take more time off la .. still got a few more months to the end of the year, don't know what else might crop up plus elias' schedule is going to be packed once we come back so we can't take more than 1 working day off .. hmm ...

Well, it's been a fun summer so far - I'm going to start weaning Roisin hopefully next week. All in the midst of potty training Joseph, and stopping him biting!!

Big hello to everyone though!

nisa, at last you r going for your honeymoon !! enjoy it and there might be no. 3 'made in cebu' ?;-P we havent gone for our honeymoon too..but now, even if we go for one, there will be 3 of us ..haha..we are eyeing bora bora..looks so beautiful and near to oz too..

tootsieroll, how many mths is Roisin now? i am thinking to start weaning Luke when he is 6 mths old, not earlier than that..here's the latest pic of luke..
740680.jpg

Flu is gone!

gina Luke looks really cute!! How are u both adapting to the winter chill?

glympse all the best! Can strain the r/s when one party is not happy with his/her environment. SG work culture - top down style, the politics - can be a shock to an ang moh. Take heart! It takes time to figure out where's a gd place to live... if u're lucky maybe only need to move once or twice.. we are also not sure if we'll stay in sg permanently.. personally, i feel it's not such a fantastic place for kids to grow up in, too competitive & herd mentality..

cuclainne enjoy ur honeymoon! better late than never! when is it? I know parents usually feel "guilty" leaving their kids behind while they go on hols.. i once went to phuket with a couple and they were calling their kids practically all day... so much so for a holiday!!

Thanks for the clarification re massage, binding & jamu... shall look for a gd massage lady.. any recommendations?

maplehue gd that u have that peanuts allergy card now... will certainly help. Are u allergic to peanuts only or all types of nuts?

liz yap, my cousin did that when he was young, maybe ard 1 or 2 yrs old.

emi feels gd to have Chris back? no more "single" days to deal with for a while yah?

OK going to get some dinner now... have a gd week ahead!

Gina: Roisin is 5 months + 1week. She's been really interested in what we've been eating, so I tried some baby rice with her today, but looks like she's not ready yet, so I'll wait a couple more weeks with her. How old is Luke now? The current advice is 6 months, and I'll most likely have another go then....today's attempt was just because I was curious to see how Roisin would react. Looks like she's just interested in observing at the moment
It's a slow process, and the later you start, the more ready baby is.

Liz: 'Weaning' essentially means to start introducing items to the baby that is not their usual milk, hence to 'wean' baby off being exclusively milk-fed

Georgina, Luke is BEAUTIFUL...*swoon* He looks all nice and wrapped up and cosy too!

cuclainne / deluxe, thanks for the kind words of encouragement. Am going through a tough season now with parents. Emil and I have actually made the decision to go to Sweden, but we also desire our parents to have peace about the decision. No problem for his parents, but for my parents, it's been tough, esp cos it seems almost like 'career-suicide' for me (though I don't view it that way). Dad told me this morning that he doesn't have the peace for me to go. Sense though that he may just need more time to process the 'bombshell'. Really praying and hoping that things will smoothen out in due course. And yea, also figuring out how and when to move, whether to continue with the July 2009 wedding date or what. My parents were completely against moving the wedding ceremony earlier and separately from the wedding banquet. So yea.. though I shall be thankful for tough times, cos without Trials there can be no Triumph, without Tests there can be no Testimony, eh?

Glympse: It's certainly a tough decision, and understandably the parents will be apprehensive about you leaving home to go so far away. As you say, it's all about time, and in time, your dad will come to accept the decision more. Why will it be career suicide for you? Maybe when you have kids, you won't be working much anyway
. I'm sure things will smooth out eventually. How come Emil doesn't want to stay in Singapore then?

hey ladies!!!
ooh yeah... olympic fever is in my living room. Chris is going crazy, stuck like a rotting log in front of the tv. Never would I thought I would spend my evenings in front of the tv looking at sports.

But I guess thats the curse of marrying a sports scientist. hehehahhahhe.

Oh by the way, are you girls aware margie is now in Beijing watching the olympics? heheheh

Hernie... alamak, so sad lah u broke into hives again. Both Chris and me got tummy ache from eating mee rebus and char kway teow the other day too... it was bad. The funny thing was that the night after, we saw news about how this Indian girl is now under observation as she started developing allergy to seafood since she started eating Ozie seafood. The weird thing was she lived by the beach in India and seafood is basically staple. So they hope that she will pave a way to find some sort of solution to these issues. I was thinking if i should go and have similar tests too?hehehehe

gina.. ur little boy is such a cutie... can i bite him? hehehahah

Nissa, Cebu sounds heavenly... please do tell after you return. It is an island, right?

Glympse...if you dont mind me asking, how old are you? And are you the only daughter?

yeahhhh corrine, life is so much better with chris around-he miss food and sleeping in our comfy bed the most.
he is back to his roti prata and the tarik on weekends, so its kinda nice. How are u doing with the baby?morning sickness?

Do you girls know that Fossil bags are twice more ex in OZ than in US? I am freaked out at the price difference. Buying online is cheaper!!! crazy horrrrrr?

Thks for the explanation!

Glympse, Keep praying and give them time. I had a very hard time with my mum about going to Netherlands. Though my dad dun said much, he was not happy about it. Basically, they are worried and afraid I would be ill-treated. Even though they have come to accept it, it took them some time to let go of me. They had eventually. And in fact, they let go of me before I even realise it. As for the issues on dinner, mine was the issues of wearing the wedding gown. Pray for the words to speak when you are talking to them. God will make the way.

glympse: i suppose that your dad can't help the way he's feeling about your pending move to sweden. it's never easy for a parent to hear that their child is moving away, much more to a different continent. i know because elias' mother felt the same when he left - she still cries when she sends us off at the airport on our visits. and if we were to move back, then my parents would be in that situation instead.

i suppose the only thing you could do now, esp. since you guys have made the decision, is to let your parents know that it's an informed decision on your part and to be happy for you.

tootsieroll: how old is Roisin now? i just started giving elin the pureed fruits and she loves this .. she doesn't fancy cereal in milk yet though .. sofi started at 4 months, her signal to us was her interest in our foods .. as the doctor said, as long as it's in moderation it's ok because generally you're supposed to start at 6 months. sofi just wanted to start early, i suppose.

glympse's father prob thought it would be career suicide since it'll be rather difficult - not impossible, just a bit harder - to get a job in sweden if you're not speaking the language but i suppose if there's a will, there's a way yah glympse?

gina: luke is so cuuuute!! bora bora is nice yah! wah .. but how to honeymoon with baby around?
heheheh .. that's a family vacation already .. wah, no talk about no.3 yet .. maybe when the girls are older and i start missing the baby smell

de_luxe: we're leaving this coming weekend .. can't wait! hope that the weather will be good during our visit
that sounds like a colleague of mine - she has never left her kids overnight in anyone's care, not even her own mother. so sometimes when i tell her that the girls are at my mom's place because me and elias are going to go out to have dinner at a restaurant, or to watch a play, etc she will tell me that she can't do that .. she wishes she could so she could spend time with her husband but she could not bring herself to do it.

my colleagues should have some numbers cos they used the massage ladies, i didn't .. you're going for the malay massage?

emi: oops, something in the seafood?

yes it's an island and we'll be staying on mactan island which is where the cebu airport is .. we don't intend on going anywhere outside the resort .. just wake up late, go to the beach and laze around a lot!!!! hahahah ..

most things are cheaper now, esp. with the weaker dollar right .. even on coach and kate spade items, getting them from US seems a better deal. i've been getting my OPI nail polishes this way - pay about $10 a bottle whereas retail value in sg is arount $22-$23 .. insanely expensive!!!

wah, didn't know margie is a sports fan .. hehehe ..

Nisa: Roisin is 5 months plus now.....Joseph started around this time, on and off, but by 7 months he was eating everything in sight. Just tried baby rice with Roisin yesterday, just half spoon, and looks like she isn't ready just yet. She's certainly interested, but not physically ready.....tongue thrusts silly very prominent

yah .. kids are generally quite curious at this stage yah .. elin is the same way when she was about 4 months .. she will look intently and smack her lips but not really interested in trying anything .. when i put some cereal in her milk, she pushes the bottle away so that's how i knew she didn't want it .. last week elias gave her some mango puree - she made a face but she still ate a little. hahahah ..

tootsieroll, I'm in the field of accounting, particularly corporate tax, which is rather geographically specific. However, I'm open to doing accounting/finance in any other company, not necessarily tax, and esp considering joining an MNC, cos given its international nature, likely not to have as much a constraint on language as a local Swedish firm. My dad feels that I'll be putting to waste the past 3-4 years of experience i've had though, and he doesn't want to see me remain at staff level. Personally, career isn't that big a thing for me. I would give it up for family. But yea, my parents come from a different backgrnd, they both pursued their careers while raising us up. While I believe it's all a matter of preference, I think they may be concerned that I may become frustrated when I'm not as far in my career as my peers. Which is valid, I suppose. But I think in Singapore, too much compromise has been given in favour of career and at expense of family. If something has to give, perhaps it's time to stand up and put family first, and not let society define success to simply be how high up the corporate ladder one is.

Emil has been working in Singapore for sometime now, but he doesn't like what he is doing at all. In fact, it was probably more of a bad career move for Emil to come to Singapore from Sweden in the first place, cos he's in the field of mobile phone software development, and he was consulting for Sony Ericsson when he was in Sweden. Not much of that here in Singapore. He's frustrated with all the admin/coordination work, and feel stifled that he can't do what he loves, i.e. the creative aspect of software development. He also doesn't really like the pace of life here. There are parts that he likes, of cos, like the food, and the people, esp in church. But yea, I feel that for us as a couple, Sweden may be the better place to grow. Even now in Singapore, i feel kinda stifled in our relationship, by all the expectations, esp from parents la. Not that I wanna run away from facing up to the issue, but perhaps there needs to be a physical letting go in order for there to be more space for mutual understanding and respect.

emi, no problem. I'm turning 26 in November, and am the only daughter (middle child between 2 brothers). So that could explain my parents being extra protective, huh?

Liz, thanks for sharing. It does help to know that I'm not the only one facing this challenge. Do your parents believe in God too? Yea true, guess it takes time. These few days I've kinda been dreading to go home, cos after the intense talk I had with my parents on Sun re Sweden, things feel kinda unresolved. But yea, I guess I just hv to remember that whatever they are doing, it's becos they love me. Sometimes just feel so controlled tho. Like you said, just gotta really really let go and let God and trust in Him to make a way, esp in accordance to His will.

cuclainne, guess you're right. I think they are actually concerned tho that Emil and I are making an emotional decision rather than an informed one. I guess becos they feel Singapore is the more logical choice, career-wise, for both of us, while they fear that me going to Sweden means a lot of sacrifice. I don't see it that way though, my priority now is really my relationship with Emil. No point being some super power career woman but letting my marriage suffer. Perhaps it's the mindset in Singapore. But yea, guess it gets easier with time. Thanks tho
And enjoy Cebu this weekend! Don't worry abt the kids, they'll be fine. Always nice to have alone time with hubby
And yes, it shall not rain!!!

glympse: have you considered moving elsewhere aside from sweden? elias' friend who used to work for SE in sweden moved to HK to work for Hutchison and he loved it there .. more hob-nobbing but then again, it's probably more stressful there than it is here cos for a while, even he was considering shifting to Sg instead.

yes it does get easier over time but it requires work and effort, from both parties .. as some of the ladies here can probably tell you that living elswhere was certainly not easy at the beginning but you do get used to it in the end .. take heart that others before you have tread along the same path and most have succeeded..

nissa... looks like a dream :P

yeah , theres something about Shangri-La.... We were stoked by the one in KL too, it was Traders but mannnn... the rooms, the food, the service.... *sigh* We would definitely go back... The view of the Petronas Towers was amazing!

Glympse.
This is a true story of a close friend who gave up everything in Singapore. She was an account executive in an MNC before in SG.

She went to marry and live in Belgium.

In Belgium, she had to learn the language and within a year started as a receptionist in a English-speaking bank. The bank realised within a month she was wrongly hired and transfered her to the top 5 position and then, she was put in the HR dept where she was sent allover Europe to hire and fire.
After a year, Europe Toyota headhunted her and gave her a salary 3 times more than she is earning and threw in a 4WD too. After which, she took it and then her husband who have been hanging out at home decided to start a website and it was such a hit that Europe, IT sectors are backing them up. She quit toyota and now work with her husband, Best thing is, due to the overwhelming success, they both individually just bought a Lexus and a Mercedes each.

Apparently when they reach the millionaire mark, she will fly me to Belgium to party! hehehahha. I am waiting for that!

To end.... Just do what you think works best for you agaisnt whatever odds there are coz at the end of the day, you are in the marriage, no one else.

For me, I dont give a hoot about whatever goes on around me( sometimes it can be a bit selfish..but....) My motto is my life, my responsibility. I only answer to God.

Hello ladies,
I've been so busy with work, no time to come in here and plus i cannot access this forum from work. So sien!

This has to be short so....excuse me if i missed anyone's post.

Firstly, glypmse, I am so sorry to know about the dilemma you are in right now. It is always hard when our parents aren't that willing to "let" us go. In any case, they always have the best intention for us, but not necessary what we really want. Of course your relationship with Emil is something you have to work on and if being in singapore adds stress and strain to both of you, then as a couple you must work things out and decide.

..*before I go on, just wanted to say, LUKE is SO cute la. Love his dark hair. He is going to be a handsome bloke for sure

Liz,so nice of your fil to come everyday to help. I can't wait for you guys to finish the kitchen and for you to cook in your own kitchen!! So do you have to cook for parents in law too?

nisa, I haven't looked at the prada bags yet. since i started work, i haven't really got time to jalan jalan or shop leisurely but we did go out last friday night with friends and stayed up till 1am! We did a little of pub hopping and went dancing too.
Hope you guys will get a perfect weather on your hols. Dont feel too guilty about leaving the girls with your Mom. Im sure they'll be fine

deluxe, i am allergic to all kind of nuts including food cooked in peanut oil. I have to go around with my anti-histamine to buy time before rushing to the hospital incase of any 'accident'. A little leceh if you asked me.
Have you started unpacking yet? and any more bbqs? im still getting used to the smaller apartment here. not sure whether i'll ever get used to it.

emi, good that chris is back by your side now. so he can 'tame' you a bit la. heheh. got your email and will reply soon. the school is finalising the year calander and i really hope nothing major is up cos I really look forward to us hanging out.
so what happened to that girl with the seafood allergy? did she get cured? this allergy i have is so sickening at times!
also looking forward to hanging out with liz. she is coming to hk too you know but you guys are going to miss each other by a day.. I think!
and liz...moi still waiting for hong kong collagues to explain to me where that area is. my foreign friends said they have never heard of it. is it in kowloon or hong kong island??

ooh i love shang-ri la. jeff and i stayed at the shangri la in bangkok and we ordered room service almost everyday! with the big comfy bed and cable and internet in the room, i was just too lazy to go out.

nisa and glypmse, i agree i think hk is more stressful than sg. maybe not too so good for emil if he is not into the crowd and fast lifestyle.

glypmse, we are all here for you. Every cloud has its silver lining. Hugs to you

Ok...got to run. Talk to you again gals. xoxo
and hello to everyone else here.

Hi ladies so many posts to catch up!
As you've probably guessed been very busy in the past week. Yah tootsieroll it's certainly bye bye to sleep and hello to panda eyes.
Anyway we're slowly getting used to the chaos. We have decided to call the baby Dominic Emanuel.

Glympsee just pray and trust in God and I'm sure you'll and Emil will get through your testing times and your relationship will be all the more stronger for it.

Gina Luke has grown so quickly in the last few months. He is going to be 3 months soon yah?

Cuclainne have a happy belated honeymoon and enjoy yourselves. Cebu looks like a really lovely place to visit.

Liz progress on the kitchen seems to be going nicely. Oh by the way Happy 2nd Anniversary to you and Jeroen. It's tomorrow isn't it i.e. 20th August?

To everyone else ... keep well!

Hope everyone else is well.

p/s: I will put up photos of Dominic on multiply as I can't seem to figure out how to reduce file size and upload pictures on here. A bit brain dead at the moment! ;)

Mrs N Funny that! I was just asking my husband yesterday whether he liked the name Dominic, and he said yes! Shucks, yet another potential name 'stolen' hahahaha!

Have you mastered the breastfeeding yet, or have you given up?

mrs n gd to hear from u... dun worry abt being brain dead for now... most pple tell me it gets better after the 3rd month when night feeds get fewer and bb sleeps longer
hang on in there!

tootsieroll planning another one soon? *wink*

maplehue haven't had the bbq yet actually. Almost done unpacking, just left with 3 boxes out of 36. Haven't sorted out the bookshelves tho, the movers unpacked the books for us but just dumped them in the shelves any old how so have to sort the books out one of these days.

Eww.. a nut allergy is really a pain, must avoid a lot of stuff yah?

emi wow ur fren really had a lucky break! i'm envious..

Dun have to be married to a sports scientist to catch olympics fever... it's taking place in my living room too, i even get sms updates during the day at work, courtesy of the guy who lives with me and who checks the olympic website every other minute. After the olympics, will have to deal with EPL fever.. sometimes i wish we dun have cable and remote controls - have to sit through channel surfing in the middle of my fave programmes, totally hate it!

Yes, i do agree in bring answerable to oneself.. tho it's not always easy cuz we dun live in a vacuum..

I'm getting on fine with the pregnancy.. no morning sickness. I only had it very mildly in the 2nd month. Now it's the mind boggling period of looking at baby stuff. Went to the baby fair at taka on sat and left feeling so confused. Din buy anything but intend to get some stuff before the fair ends cuz it's the last one for this year and the next one will be too late for me - would have delivered by then. HB refuses to go to shopping centres on wkends so i'm stuck with doing most of the browsing alone. This wk seems to be starting to feel some baby movements in the tummy, feels a bit weird, like someone poking from the inside and so far has only happened when i'm on the MRT or bus on the way home from work. HB reckons that bb likes the speed.

I dinno know Margie is in Beijing - honeymoon as well??

cuclainne shang cebu is really nice i heard.. i'm sure u'll enjoy ur hols. Even if the weather isn't fantastic, it'll be nice just to snuggle up in bed.

Wow.. dunno how ur colleague does it.. sounds too sticky.. i think i will go mad if i were her, need some personal space. I remember one of my cousins used to cry for her parents whenever she stayed over at one of the relatives. Her parents always ended up coming in the middle of the night to pick her up. Wonder if that's cuz she wasn't used to being taken care of by others from young.

Can u help me get some contacts from ur colleagues? I dun have any particular preference, tho heard the malay massage is better. Think only malay ones do binding too.

glympse Can understand why your parents feel that way. It's upsetting for sure, but dun worry too much, eventually they'll come round to it. After all, they will want you guys to leave on good terms. My mom kinda resigned to the idea that i will move overseas once i'm married to an ang mo. Not that she likes the idea but it's more of a resigned acceptance than anything else.

I think your parents weren't ready for such a change cuz emil moved to sg not long ago and they prob tot that they had you guys in sg for at least the next few years. To have the situation turned so quickly can be quite upsetting for them and they might also be thinking that emil hasn't held out in sg long enuff, homesickness, needs more time to adapt to local culture or find a new job in sg, etc (prob din say it as such out of tactfulness) - hence their point on this being an emotional decision.

One thing parents also worry abt is that you'll be all alone over there and almost totally reliant on Emil and his social network. If things dun work out (touch wood), then you'll be stranded there, physically and emotionally. And if you have to return to sg after that, you'll be the one left picking up the pieces - friends and career in sg would have moved on by then.

Career suicide.. yes in a way, but you also dun know what opportunities Sweden might have, esp once u grasp the language - not necessarily in the same field. It could be an opportunity for u to try out something that you din have the chance/time to do. There's too much emphasis on material and career success here.. i get lots of raised eyebrows when i say that i intend to be a SAHM for the next few years, even my mom is not supportive of that which is understandable considering that she was quite a career woman. Seems like ur parents are in the same generation as mine. While i appreciate that her job granted us the security and lifestyle that we otherwise wouldn't have had, i'm also more than aware of the sacrifices/costs that all of us have borne in one way or another. Nothing comes for free in this world. My dad believed in "xian ku hou tian" and translated that to mean, now work/earn money and spend less time with children; later retire, can spend time with them. But it din quite turn out that way.

To me, there are more important things in life than work and money. Thankfully, my HB agrees with me, else i wouldn't have married him!!

deluxe: I forgot if I already congratulated you....but congratulations anyway! When is the baby due? So you intend to be SAHM then? We already have a boy's first name, if we have another boy, but toying with middle names

PS: On the career suicide thing - I have to say that I've essentially career suicided myself. Not to say that I've stopped working, but compared to before, where I was just climbing up my department ladder and doing specialist roles (Mrs N will know abit about that), now, although I'm still a specialist, because I'll go back part time, don't really find the job satisfaction anymore. Also to climb career ladder based on part time work is pretty hard too. Somehow although both my parents worked (and are still working after retirement!), the view that the traditional role of the man being the breadwinner is still there. Luckily my husband also has such a viewpoint, and if we didn't make the stupid decision of buying a house we can't afford, I don't think I'd be working today!

hellooo corrine,

Best way to shop for baby's stuff is online. A friend of mine got everything online.. All pergnant UP , she just open her door and get stuffs like pressies! If she dun like them, just returned them, someone will come pick them up. So easy ass..

I guess when a time like this comes up for me, I will be mind boggled as well coz I remember when we decided to get married and buy rings, we were totally confused too. so much with finding rings for months, since mine is lost at sea already anywyas...LOL. I am patiently waiting for Chris to go, 'Ok shall we get you a replacement?' heheheheh I think i have to wait till pig fly for that& whether he can trust me with a diamond ring again.

In reagrds to career suicide. I think I suicided mine wayyy back in 2000. Moving to Oz on my own accord have left me struggling at uni, working in kitchens, fairs and organisation in casual or contract position. Today i work at a uni but it has nothing to do with my qualification. Am i worried? not really, as long as it pays the bill. But have i neglected my passion and creativity, yes to a certain extend but I feel that if I am really passionate about my work, It will somehow come back in future one day. I dont know when but I feel it will.

If i have kids, I would be like Corrine a SAHM too, at least for the 1st 3 years of my kids and prolly just do some once a a week job somewhere if its possible.

Well, we just have to see lah.... We never know, my mind could completely change 360degrees!

Mrs N...Dominic Emanuel sounds so latino!
heheheh nice one...

Margie is in Beijing coz her friend won free tickets!

Nissa... yeah no honeymoon yet but since we got married, we went travelling like more than 6 times. My friends were commenting, amidst our crazy travels, what exactly is my definition of honeymoon?'
I guess, when it happens, we know it is a honeymoon, for now all these travels just doesnt feel like honeymoon. hehehehehh. just travels. :P

maplehue: hello, know that you must be busy getting used to work etc but glad to know that you also took the time out to enjoy yourself, girl! hehehehe ..

i stayed in tsim sha tsui area before so there's not much of a pub scene there .. when elias' friend was living/working there, he always would ask when we'll be coming over and each time we'll say yes, soon but we never made it and he's since moved back to sweden. hahahahah .. someday, i'll visit hk again with elias in tow .. then can make a trip to macau too ..

wow! liz and emi coming over to visit you? have fun, girls!

Mrs N: welcome back *hugs* must be having your hands full with taking care of the baby and trying to rush doing your own things at the same time .. are you doing any confinement?

yay, baby has a name! and a lovely one too

de_luxe: if you need someone to go shopping with you, this shopaholic will gladly volunteer .. hhehehhe ..

i'll ask around and get back to you on the numbers .. you will have to give them a call and see which one you'll prefer though .. usually the massage and binding is for 3 days, i think .. maybe more but i'm not so sure.

emi: so you're without a ring now? we've managed to fatten ourselves so much that there was no way the store could re-size our wedding bands so we had to go and buy new ones! call it an anniversary ring la .. hahahah ..

wah, so lucky .. before i married elias, he's already told me that he expected me to keep my financial independence and that he's not the right person to be with if i had any thoughts of being a stay-at-home wife. but after having sofi, he changed his tune and told me that it was my decision if i wanted to be a FTWM or a SAHM, but to give it a few months before i decide. Two kids on, i'm still working .. hahahhah .. i guess my shopping habits die hard and made the decision for me ..

hehehaha..

yes nissa.. ringless.. both rings somore! was upset for amonth but i kinda got over itlah... we laugh at it now :P

Tootsieroll? when u coming to HK? we will be tehre 4-8th Oct!

btw when were you coming back to sg arh? i was cleaning out our storage room when i smelt something really nice and remembered it was your hand soap ..

Goodmorning ladies, WAH! Everyone is so active!

We had our 2nd wedding anniversary yesterday. Jeroen took half day off to make pancakes for his family. We didn't manage to get one another present. Jereon's credit card was with me. hahahaha... He wanted to get a bouquet but the house is too messy to even put them up and after I hinted to his family not to give me any potted plants for my coming birthday. I went round yesterday to look for his gift, I just couldn't find anything nice or they are too expensive or I didn't know whether it was a good brand. Wanted to buy him something he likes since now at least I have earn my own money. Well.... probably we make it up in HK when we have our so called honeymoon. Never really had a proper honeymoon though. Only a weekend away to Utrecht straight after our wedding.

Mrs N, thanks for the well-wishes! It's 19 not 20.
Can't wait for baby Dominic's fotos. We were browsing thru yr blog to see whether any photos. Kekekeke....

Gina, I never get to see the photo of Luke until yesterday at mother-in-law's computer. He is so charming! So so so adorable!

Maplehue & Nrs N, Waiting for kitchen to be up so that we can cook. Hmmmmm... hopefully before we leave for SG. Ja, cooking at in-law's place. Sometimes so peiseh! I guess they must be amazed by what we cooked. We ended up with so many pots n pans. Hahahaha.... When we cooked extra, we usually share it with his parents. The rest cannot lah, 6 siblings how to share!

Emil, ja, we are the ones going to HK. 7 to 10 oct. I realise when we arrive, u r still ard as u leave on 8? Hmmmm... maybe can meet up on 7 with hernie, u and of course our other halves. But not pub, Jeroen is not a pub man and I hate cigar smell. Maybe yum cha? Going to Hk is part of biz, going to source materials, buy n sent home. Kekekeke....

Deluxe, hmmmm... won't HB at least accompany u for a few hrs over the weekends for a day. It is fun to shop for baby stuff together. It is normal that the feeling is weird. Try enjoy every moment and feel how the kick is like. I am curious esp after studying the different rhythms.

Culcainne, where is cebu? Me v bad in geography. ;P

Glympsme, Thks for your comments in our website. Jeroen was very surprised and he is delighted to have someone writing in his guestbook. hahahaha... Sometimes when I write m story in the blog, I was like hmmmmm... I hope I m not so long-winded. I enjoy writing. Glad that u enjoy reading it. Honestly, I get a little tired of updating my friends in Singapore as they have no response. Even though I know there are very busy, I don't hear from them. When I was back, they complained I didn't make an effort to catch up with them. Well.... what can I say!!!! A bit pissed off! I am tired of always the one who organises it. Time for them to take actions, rather than me. Have to be more assertive! Hahahaha... Sorry, a bit fed up lah! Only a couple of friends still bother to keep in touch as I see them online. My priority is still spending time with my family.

About career suicide, the barrier is usually the language but I have known some who became English teachers as our education is in 1st language and it is easier for us to teach English even though not trained. I was asked to teach Mandarin. Cannot lah! My Mandarin is hopeless. For me, I had to study so it is very tough to work. But end up making ringpillows. Only doing it until I graduate to earn some money but it seems that I have established the name "Agape Bridal". I am keeping it as sideline in case baby does come next year. I am definitely a SAHM (Is this stay at home mum?), I would like to see my child through the developmental years and to enjoy the motherhood. Probably will work part-time when baby grows older (if there is one). We have talked about it and even with one person's income, s simple lifestyle is what we choose. Some sacrifices that we have to decide and make as a couple.

In life, everything is a choice, whatever choice we make, we bear the consquences of it. Adding to what kind of lifestyle do we want. Yes, tough trials make us stronger in character and being refined in the "fire". We went through it and by the grace n love of God, I have faith God is with u through everything.

Hope I didn't miss out anyone. Have to get back to making ringpillow. Have a nice day!

hey ladies! so many posts to read since i've been MIA

Hooray hooray!! Thank God! Prayers helps!! i prayed for my back since last year and i dunno but it seemed for a while im resigned to the fact that i'll always get back pain now when i wake up! Until last friday i woke up with no pain suddenly!! Wah i never felt so happy waking up man! Maybe it was the stretches during physio sessions but then i stopped about a month ago cos not so much better then..so it might have been that i added another pillow to my usual pillow to lift my head and shoulders up a bit..it works for me

oooh bb topics are so hot now it seems, our dear PM was talking about it so much..and even offered dating tips hahah..

Mrs N~Congrats on your bb Dominic! Nice name
Do they practice any 1 month celebration for bb there where you are?

Eliz~Happy belated anniversary! & thanks for the sharing of your dance works
will browse your site to read more when i get some time
Hey maybe your honeymoon would be the up and coming HK trip?

Maple~good idea to carry a card to say that you're allergic to nuts
Is the working lifestyle a tad hectic as compared to SG? Or is it the other way around?

Nisa~ Good for you!! You seems to like the sea huh..looking at the list you provided? hehe Cebu seems really nice
Apart from Eliz and you, i think i also dun really have a proper honeymoon hehe..but well, it's better late than never right
have lots of fun!!

Glympse~Prayers works together with faith
I supposed any parents would feel apprehensive about 'leaving' their children
my mum was asking if my hb could find a contract job here for 1-2years and see if i could stay longer in SG..but hmm..can't cos hb is more established in norway than in Sg..i supposed you and emil have to talk and discuss it over what to do and pray for directions. And plus God will always lead the path HE wants you to be in

Deluxe~Take care and dun stress with all the unpackings

have to go now
*wave* to all other ladies here

Well-said glympse! It is the culture in Singapore that career comes first in the expense of family n even health. And failures are not tolerated and it is so important to climb the ladder. But honestly what do we get in the end? The status, wealth will be gone in a blink of the eyes if one will to struck with a serious illness or death. I has taught in school and saw too many cases of children with parental neglience. Sometimes I feel so sad why it has come to such a state. The culture to push to excel has been instilled in Singapore mentality. I can understand what you are going through. Sometimes parents has such a mindset that they can be stuck in the mud. Sorry to say that. But it is often true. Keep praying! I have crossed hurdles after hurdles by the grace of God. First my conversion, freelancing to find my what I like to do without a permanent job, marriage, migration. I did not have an easy life but I keep praying and God has worked wonders. First my family changed and we got so much closer and more loving and understanding. Sometimes it takes years but have faith in God's time. Esp after I did dance therapy study, I have changed in many ways. Like in the bible says, it is never easy to walk the narrow path and not to conform to the world. It is never easy to be different from the trend, the norm and what the world thinks, take heart n courage in the end, you will be happier.
I will keep u in my prayers.

Chrisl, Thks for your well-wishes. Glad to hear that your back in better. Ja! Amazing! Healing graces come from God!

Cul, Will surely take photos and put up on blog. With Jeroen ard, he takes tons n tons of photos! Hahahahaha....

chrisl: that is good news indeed!! so happy for you .. now can start baby-making already .. hehehehe ..

yes, i like the sea but the funny thing is that i don't swim! hahaha .. just that it's nice to be able to relax by the beach, catch some rays and read a book .. preferably with a drink nearby .. hahahah .. i told elias that he cannot swim too far away since we don't know what the currents are like in the visayan sea. he's already planning on doing some snorkelling ..

liz: that is great! look forward to reading it on your multiply ..

Toostie, Ja, it is a special recipe using spelt flour (better than wheat flour). I can email u the recipe if u want. U can add your rasin, banana, ginger (sweet) or any stuff to make with it. U eat it with maple syrup. Over here Dutch eats with powdered sugar and syrup. I dun fancy powedered sugar (made from beetroot apparently). We ate with ice-cream yesterday. They enjoyed it very much, different from the typical Dutch panacke. It is Jeroen's speciality. He baked for my family n they like it. My sis learnt how to bake when she was here and went home and make it.

Hello Liz,
kekeke... sorry i thought it was tootsieroll coming over to HK but it was actually you. Dont worrylah about the meeting. Of course no pubs or smoky places for us. We want a quiet dinner where we can talk , chill and enjoy good food. Yumcha is great if you are there earlier.. but if you reach after 12pm, it will be kinda hard, hey? Dinner will be more appropriate.
Where are you thinking iof staying in HK? we are thinking of Kowloon or Mongkok for a couple of days and then on Hong Kong Island.

We are going to HK coz its only $20 more on SQ to go back to SG via HK, rite? SO can kill 2 birds with one stone-We've been wanting to go to HK for a while now and this came to a sweet surprise for us and so we are.

Nissa, oooh, we definitely gna take heaps of pictures! We will be in Sg for raya!

talking about pancakes - i'm so used to making pancakes using the mix available at the supermarkets that when i went to sweden the first time, i was puzzled why i couldn't find it anywhere on the shelves until i asked elias and he said, make it yourself .. huh? swedish-styled pancakes are different from the ones i'm used to eating (think macdonald's hot cakes - hahahah) but now we wouldn't want it any other way. hahahah ..

Jeroen's recipe sure sounds different and yummy!!!

Emi: great, will see you here then ..
since we didn't get to talk much during your wedding .. heheheh ..

Thanks ladies. You all have been really really encouraging. I wouldn't have gotten thru the past few days w/o your kind words
so thankful for this forum!

cuclainne, yea we did actually consider gg to a 3rd place, but we both feel that at this juncture, we'd wanna go Sweden. Would also allow me to understand Emil, his culture, his family, etc much much better (staying in Sweden for a short stint is much diff from staying there for a few years and actually working/living there). We both have peace about Sweden la, just gotta let parents have time to accept it i guess.

But yea I am starting to brace myself for the transition, esp work-wise, may not be what i've been used to. Then again, I have a great group here who has, like u said, tread the same path, and whom i can take courage from!

Have fun in Cebu! Dinner when u get back

emi, what an inspiring story!! opens my eyes to realise that it IS possible to make things work while overseas
Emil and I def want to hv kids (either 2 or 4 :P), so yea, tying that together with work would be interesting. Looking fwd to the maternity/paternity leave package in Sweden tho ... 2 years shared btwn husband/wife!

But it's heartening that now maternity leave has been increased to 4 months. It's a step in the right direction. Though a possibly more creative option would have been to make the additional 1 month a shared month btwn husband/wife, ie. up for the couple to choose who takes it as leave. Think many wives would very much prefer their hubbies ard to take care of the newborn.

maple, thanks
yea i really have found a lot of support in this forum
you sound really busy tho. How are u coping with work in HK? I hear from some of my friends that the pace in HK is really quite worse than SG. Hope u're doing ok!

Mrs N, Dominic Emanuel, welcome to the world!
just curious, how did you and ur hubby come up with the name? looking fwd to seeing the pics!

And yea, this is def a season of testing and refining fire. but after the fire we emerge as pure gold, so
yes, it'll be worth it!

deluxe, your baby sounds active! my friend's baby kept kicking and moving whenever the drums were being played, so we said he's gg to be a drummer next time hehe.

Thanks for sharing though. I think you hit the nail right on the dot re my parents' concerns, esp the bit about it seeming like an emotional decision. My Dad and Mum are quite career ppl too (like urs), so yea, i don't know what they'd think if i were to be a SAHM (which i'm open to if that's necessary). I wonder if it's an asian/angmoh thing. Emil is like ur HB, we place family higher than career/money. As long as we're earning enough to provide, it's enough! don't need to drive the latest cars or wear designer goods or stay in a huge house. We want to give time to our marriage and our family la. My parents actually told me that Emil and I should reach managerial level before having a kid ... while i understand the pragmatism behind that comment, i really don't agree with it tho. Isn't that what the SG govt is now trying to combat, i.e. putting career first, then when career is stable ppl find it too late to find a partner or start a family. Guess it's a generational thing. My parents are also concerned that becos i've grown up in a life of relative comfort, i am not fully aware of the full realities of life. but to me is, then let me try! and even if i make a wrong decision, it's better than let others always making decisions for me, or not even deciding at all. but yea, guess it's just abt giving parents time time time. really don't want the wedding day to be a sour and sad affair la.

Liz, no problem re the guestbook
it's always nice to get a new post
and i know what u mean about catching up la. Seems like in SG, everyone's rushing everywhere, catching up with friends in SG while being based in SG is already so hard, let alone being based overseas. But yea, guess at times like these, we know which are the friendships that really last and are really solid. My best friend and I, we meet like less than 5 times a year, but yet we know that we will always be there for each other, and when we do meet, there are no pretensions. And anyway, good chance to get to know more friends outside SG too

Liz/Chrisl, thanks for ur prayers and encouragement. Think having cross-cultural relationships really isn't easy, we face rather diff issues from the typical SG couple. So once again, am thankful for this thread ;)

Anyway, Emil and I are going to have THE talk with my parents on Sunday (the talk last Sun was just btwn me and them, they had wanted to talk to me alone first). Will keep u ladies posted on how it goes

Meanwhile, may we all continue to be happy and well, wherever we may be!!!

mrs. N, yes, luke is 3 mths old , so luke is 3 mths older than Dominic :-) nice name ! cant wait to see his pics !

nisa, we also like SSS (sun, sea and sand)...have booked the flight to BKK and Madrid, will detour to Koh Samui for 4 days..miss good beaches and sea..

deluxe, there are always sale in sg especially department stores so take your time to browse and decide..most of the time there will be 20% off , just wait till got discount then buy, really helps to save lots of money..i saved almost $400 buying baby stuff when bought during 20% off promo, a good place to buy baby stuff is BHG Bugis, i find it is better than Taka, JL and Robinson unless you have Robinson card, offer could be better with the 10% or 15% rebates..my fav baby products brand is Chicco and Combi ..

glympse, normally one party has to sacrify when married to foreigner unless he is already stationed in sg...2 of my friends also gave up everything in sg and one moved to UK , the other to NY...try to visit your parents at least once a year, this is what i am doing now, visiting my parents during CNY, at least they are happy that we go back for the reunion...

Mrs N! congrats! Dominic Emanuel is a beautiful name
Just like Glypmse I am also curious how did you and Paul come about with that name.. Are your parents still there? I bet life has changed for you in some ways after your son was borned. My Oz gf who is here in Hk told me that having her child just magnifies everything she shares with her hubby. I guess I'll only understand that when I get 'there'.

cuclainne, you'll be off with elias tomorrow for your honeymoon. Have a great time yah and enjoy the sun for me!
I miss sunbaking. Will most likely get a second opinion regarding my sun/uv ray allergy here. Jeff has talked with some people and looks like there is a treatment to reduce the reaction but we don't know whether there is such treatment here. We'll see.

Yeah I've been busy with work. Outside teaching, I have meetings too one after another. It is worst for Jeff who is in the Administration. Two Sundays ago, he and the other administrators had a meeting at school on Sunday! Wekdays, we leave at 7am and come back around 6pm almost daily. I love what I do and am very grateful to be where I am but I think I'm still not used to the routine la. So still struggling a bit. Tired.

Come and visit HK la. It'll be fun to meet up and we can visit LV stores together. I'll take you to that Prada place too.
Will take pics of course when Liz and Emi get here. I am looking forward to them coming!

Liz...of course no pub. Jeff and I are quiet people. Jeff especially is way past that phase. Hee.
That was a one time off thing when we went pub hopping. I was the one who initiated a gathering amongst staff at work to go out and mingle. Me and another ang moh colleague were trying to encourage the local(chinese mainlanders and hong kongers) colleagues to interact with the non chinese foreign colleagues more. One of the 'concerns' we have at work is how the locals always stick to themselves. The director of school is even worried about this. I think they are shy and feel more comfortable speaking in their mother tongue. The turn out that night was pretty good. I'll try post some pictures on Multiply.
After that night, now they want me to head the school social committe. I was like 'HUH'??!!

Dimsum/yumcha would be good! Looking forward for the 6 of us to have a good chat. I can speak a bit of singlish too. I miss it!! I haven't used "la" for so long cos Jeff doesn't speak singlish at all.

Liz, jereon has 6 siblings? is he the eldest brother? are they still young cos I know in western culture, usually they'll move out at the age of 18-20.

Can't wait to see your kitchen when it is ready. How long more?

Chris, I am soooooo happy to see that your back is better now. I told jeff abt you going to therapy and he gave me the thumbs up!
You deserve to feel good. Just make sure you don't stress your back too much with the reno and all. How is it going? Is the painting all done?

From the way it is right now, working here is more hectic. the school is so competitive and wants everything to be tiptop. our school adopts the myp and IB philosophy. more work cos it involves external assessment.

..so with the hectic lifestyle and work, i don't know whether i want to stay here for long but we have at least 3 years of contract to honor.

deluxe, good to know that you dont have any more morning sickness. is the baby kicking more now? jeff is somewhat like bertil. he really dislikes going to orhard road on weekends. the crowd is what he can't stand and used to be so grumpy. but he changed his mind when i made a deal with him that we will only go straight to the shops that we want to go to and that's it. he doesn't mind sitting at starbucks though or coffee bean. he doesn't like window shopping cos of his feet. he has plantar fascititis. but sunday... no deal!
but i think if or when i am infected by baby dust, he would want to come cos i know he is afraid that i might buy all baby pink or all baby blue for the baby!
but i guess it will be fun too to shop with my mom, sis or girlfriends. maybe you can do that rather than shopping alone? have a girlie afternoon. i love 'girlie afternoon' or 'ladies night'. just the girls! nisa has also volunteered and glympse is there too.

eh liz, do you like maple syrup. the canadian hubby of mine here cannot live without his maple syrup and it has to be the thick dark maple syrup. very proud of his country's product.
we have it with french toast.

glypmse, i hope the sunday talk will go well. i can understand your parents concerns and I can also understand how you feel. the story of emi's friend is such an inspirational one but of course not everyone will be as lucky as her. moving to a country like sweden will not be as easy for those who can't speak the language unless one is contented to just stay at home and be a hermit. But just look at liz and chris, they are fine and their determination and zest to make life better for themselves with their family has made it all worth while. it is not easy but it is possible. my self esteem suffered when i moved to montreal. it is multi cultural place but everything is in french and i struggled a bit. i didn't want to go out and had no confidence going out alone but i decided enough is enough, with my basic french, i started going out with friends and speaking in my broken french. i thought people would laugh at me(i didnt care anymore) but it was actually the other way round. they saw my effort and helped me fit in. no doubt i was always a few seconds behind in every conversation but it was still bearable. when you have that 'acceptance' and willingness to do anything, you'll find it easier and more fun to learn and adapt. anyway, that's my trip down memory lane!

hello to everyone else. take care and talk again soon. going to make myself another cup of earl grey.

no work today cos its typhoon level 8 again today. i guess typhoon huri wants to visit hongkong from the phillipines.

liz and emi, i really hope there'll be no typhoon when you girls are here. can be a little leceh.

de_luxe: i got some numbers from my colleagues today re: the post-natal malay massage. you can call first and then decide which one you want to take la. have pm-ed you their numbers.

glympse: yes agree with you that living/working in a foreign country is much much more different from being there for a short stint.

the longest i've been in sweden was for 2 months and even though i consider myself quite at home in stockholm when we visit, i know that i've barely scratched the surface and am not sure if i can bear living there full-time - had a taste of what it's like staying at home all day while he's at work .. for two months, this was what i did. but i made a choice to marry elias and if he decided that it's time for move, be it sweden or anywhere else, my home and family is with him .. so i will have to make do and adjust myself.

personally i agree with some of the ladies here that there's more compromising to be done, sacrifices to be made esp. in relationships of our kind. the one thing that you should not lose sight of is communication - it's key to any relationship and any major decisions should be agreed upon by both parties, not just one.

gina: wah, i've never been to koh samui before.. must be lovely!! i've only been to pattaya with elias before but we must admit that we didn't really fancy the place - too over-run with a lot of bars, too many tourists and they even had a gigantic mall in the centre of the town that won't look out of place in downtown Sg .. has everything from KFC, Macdonalds to Starbucks, etc .. *shudder*

i might want to try going to pimalai or japamala for our next couple retreat - so ambitious to plan for next trip when we haven't gone on this one yet .. hahahah ..

btw should you be in madrid, do you know how close it is to get there from collioure? elias' family have a home there and he did mention to me that to get to collioure, it's easier and cheaper via spain (about 2.5 hours' drive) rather than to go via paris even though collioure is in france. was thinking that next time if you're in madrid, if it's not too far, and we are there, then we can drop by and visit .. heheheh ..

maplehue: yes, we're leaving tomorrow morning ..
even got a new swimsuit and got a mani/pedi yesterday too .. hahahah .. in the mood already .. for a holiday, la .. hahahah ..

oh yes would be nice to find out if there's a treatment for your allergy .. otherwise it must be quite difficult to enjoy going out in the hot sun yah ..

your schedule seems quite packed .. thankfully mine has eased up for this week and next, as my boss (and almost the rest of the department) has gone on a mission trip which leaves me shaking my legs in the office .. hahahah .. elias' work schedule for september is already out .. argh, not much couple time for us then as he'll be travelling for work.

yay, that sounds like a plan! i don't know if i should hint to elias that i would very much like an LV bag for christmas .. hahahahah .. i even know which one i want .. hahahhaha ..

hernie, so you'll be the social director yah? fun fun fun .. we have a committee for the admin staff in my division and one of my colleagues is in charge of social events .. can always count on her for planning makan sessions .. hahahahah ..

maple syrup is sooooo sweet!!! i have a bottle of canadian maple syrup at home cos i use it when making oatmeal porridge for sofi - it's either syrup or honey for her. great for french toast too yah ..

take care yah and stay away from the windows .. i think i need to find out when exactly in typhoon season in HK so i can avoid planning visits then .. :P

ooppss forgot to wish you liz..
Happy Anniversary Liz and Jereon!!!

Cuclainne, which lv bag are you eyening for right now? hahah. just include it on your wish list la.

wah..new bikini eh? heheh
i just removed my pedi...haven't been to any yet since we got here. want to redo my french pedicure soon.

it is hard when it is hot. eventhough there is no direct sun, i still get a bad breakout from the uv rays.

is it 'holiday' season at your work place? and where is elias going for his business trip?

i haven't said yes to being the head of socialbut looks like people have been asking and emailing me abt any future plans.

ive never tried maple syrup wtih porridge(congee). i always use sweet soy sauce or even sambal to eat with my rice porridge. scrum.

looks like hk will be hit by the eye of the typhoon in a couple of hours. 2 of our friends are already out surfing and thank goodness, jeff decided to work from home first before joining them in the afternoon instead. now with the latest update of a possible Typhoon 10, he has changed his mind!

yes, will take care..
thanks!..
in btw dont know whether they can exactly predict when typhoons will hit hk.

have fun tomorrow yah! take pics k.