Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Hi there, I got married overseas in May this year and I had asked ROM the same question. They told me it is not necessary to inform them of our marriage overseas cos they only register and keep a record of marriages taken place at ROM. I find it strange too but apparently that's how they work. Even the Singapore embassy where I am now (Italy) is not interested in a copy of the marriage cert and they only advised me to e-register with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for Singaporeans living overseas. Of course when we next submit our income tax return forms, we would need to update our marital status and also renominate a beneficiary with CPF hence also informing them that we are married. Hope the info helps, if anyone else has other info to add, let us know! My hubby finds it strange too that ROM is not interested in Singaporeans married overseas.

Yeah, very strange indeed. So in the eyes of Singapore law (since you mentioned that they only take note when we next submit our income tax form) you're still not considered married? And what if you do not declare on the income tax returns the next time round?

congrats liz & culainne

welcome to s'pore ladies... i've heard too much abt how local women who married overseas or to other nationalities are treated differently... *sigh* MCP pple i/charge, so wat to do...

Anyone getting married to a German BTW? Still can't figure out how to register marriage in Germany.

Thanks de_luxe. How is your preparation coming along?

Another two more months and FH will be here for good. I can't wait. I went to register for my marriage preparation course last Saturday - it'll cost us $400 for that. But never mind la, since it's an express class - 3 hours long.

Hello girls!
So nice to read all yr threads! My FH has left singapore, 2 days ago so that explains why I can come back to this forum.

Thanks for all your replies!!! (u know who u are)...

Anyways, for my wedding, my FH and I are paying for the entire wedding ourselves...that's why FH was pretty cheesed off when the first thing my mom asked him after not seeing him for like 8 mths is abt the dowry issue...and 3/4 of the time at dinner (we treated my parents) was about money.... *sigh* Anyways, my dad has confirmed that he's not expecting dowry from FH since FH is non-chinese and we're paying for the whole dinner... my mom also said no need for dowry. But I know my parents lah, they may say one thing but in their hearts they are still wishing for dowry.

Anyways, FH and I talked to my pastor and his wife (Australian-singaporean) also. We think we shd give a token sum for dowry. But haven't decided how much. Do any of you know if you give the dowry before or after the wedding? I'm like hoping to give it after so as to see whether the dinner breaks even or not and how much we can afford... but dunno if that's the norm....

Deluxe; - MGS same family of schools... Wld be interested to know more about your "complicated and personal" details about yr church and stuff. That's if u're not too bz to chat over email or smth? my email is [email protected] =) I think yr parents r really understd in regards to yr wedding. My parents are Christians too, but its like sometimes I honestly feel they are not happy for me. My dad was even saying that he doesn't want to step into my church for the wedding (AKA, he might not walk me down the aisle). I'm mentally prepared for smth like that happening and I have a back-up friend to walk me down in case my dad really doesn't show up.

Hey, my FH is currently trying to find out how to register marriage in germany...can let u know also.... oh can send me the article on chinese customs too? [email protected]

Cuclainne - what's a gift registry? Is it liek telling ppl what you need? So ppl can buy for you? does it work in singapore? but i guess it doesn't really apply much for pple moving abroad cos money wld be the most practical right?

Really happy for you that yr FH is coming so soon? When? In dec? My FH is coming end Jan 06.... one more month than yours but sounds so much longer, cos its still next year haha.

Oh with regards to registering marriage in singapore. My pastor's wife told me that they don't keep a record unless you and your husband buy a flat in future. Then they will need records of your marriage cert...but other than that they like don't care leh.

Oh i decided to hold my wedding at Grand Shanghai. Its a really nice restaurant beside Grand copthorne waterfront, with amazing deco and food! Superb... word of mouth.... no wedsite yet. But all the weekends are like fully booked with weddings and functions. Its a miracle that my FH and I got the date we wanted, cos we were almost going to sign the contract with grand copthorne when i had to pop by grand shanghai to check out the menu prices for my fren's birthday. Turns out the place is like super beautiful lah and we asked for our date 25/2/06 availability. It was originally booked by this one guy tentatively and we were like "oh no'! but we asked them to call him to confirm his booking and get back to us. All this while, praying that God will open the vacancy for us if we're meant to use that place. A few hrs later, she called us and said its available! We were so happy and went down to sign the next day. There's even a live band... grand piano, saxaphone, cello and 2 live singers to perform the entire night! that's like everythng we wanted! And also space in front of the stage to dance.... yeah lah.... so we're really really happy.... plus its slightly cheaper than grand copthorne too... =)

Elizabeth - thanks for your wonderful words of encouragement. Very sweet... i'm thinking of doing smth like u also... giving dowry only after wedding... but FH is saying that it's better to decide on a sum to give before the wedding so that it's a faith thing, like trusting God to provide if we decide in our hearts to set apart a certain amount of money.

DeniseK. I have some online pictures of Burkill Hall. Do you want access to them? if so, can pass me yr email addy and I can authorize you to view the photos. Burkill is good, but thing is if you have more than 100 ppl, u'd have to split yr guests upstairs and downstairs.... upstairs got air-con downstairs don't have. Yah, my parents did ask for dowry... but after talkign abt it with my FH they 'reluctantly' say no need, but i know they ko3 shi4 xing1 fei1..... so we'll still give lah. Yah, i got MSN, its [email protected]

Priscilla, you can sign up for a gift registry with The Link (I think they might be the only one doing this in Singapore). A gift registry is the norm in Western cultures and it would be nice to get things for the home, especially since FH and I are staying here for a few years before moving back to Stockholm or somewhere else. The company he'll be working with has offices in Paris, Tokyo and Sydney among other countries - maybe he might get a posting there instead??

Yes, he'll be here on 26 Dec 05 and we're hoping to get married on 7 Jan 06. He has to go for two weeks' training in the Paris office before going home to spend Christmas with the family. It's the least he could do, seeing how he won't be able to see them as much as he'd like cos of the tremendous distance.

Sorry if I've asked you this before, but is your FH living in Germany or here? When is your wedding date?

hey cuclainne

Right, I think in that case, I dont' need a gift registry...since i'll be moving abroad.... sounds cool, maybe your children will become like international citizens....

My FH is currently still in germany.... He'll be coming over on 28 jan 06 for chinese new year and the wedding is gonna be on 25 feb 06.... have u filed a notice with ROM?

hey elizabeth!

u won't believe this...but i was lookign at some pictures you posted and guess what? I know your friend Kimberly! As a matter of fact, I'm invitin her for my wedding too! How do you know Kimberly???

pris

Hi Priscilla,

Huh? U mean the one I sent via email? I don't have a friend by the name of Kimberly. Chinese name? Which pics? Did u get the right person? Ha ha ha... I didn't post any pictures here. Wait! Is it the dance therapy photos? Is she a local here?

I've been so busy! Read your post but didn't have time to reply. Saw u online but u didn't reply to my message.

Ladies, my visa is approved. He got the letter. Now I have to make the arrangement witht he embassy, DOn't think should be a problem. My turn to chase them. Ha ha ha... Got the letter on the our 16th month anniversary knowing one another! Great gift from God!

8 more days before FH is here! Looks short but seems so long n forever! FH is running out of patience! Ha ha ha.. and who is the most patience one! Till later!

Priscilla, I haven't registered with ROMM (Registry of Muslim Marriages) yet cos they want to know certain details like how much dowry he's giving to me and we haven't worked that out yet. So it will take a while before I do that - but we will be able to get married at least 7 days (at the earliest) from the confirmation of my registration.

Congratulations Elizabeth!! You must be so happy, now that you've got the visa and that your FH will be coming soon. So you will be able to stay there forever, with this visa (residence permit)?

Thanks Cuclainne! A week more! Not yet! I have to apply for the next stage when I'm there. The one I have only allows me to stay there for 6 months. I have to apply for another visa but I must have a medical travel insurance of Euro 30,000 being insured. So now looking at the document before I go to the Embassy to change the option. So many steps to go through! One mistake have to repeat the whole procedures! Ai yo! Headaches!

Hello, I am back. Been missing for a while from this thread! Good to hear that things have been going well with you ladies.

Cuclainne - Congrats! Glad to hear that your FH has gotten the job in Spore. Happy for you! How's the search for your new apartment? Are you looking at renting or buying?

Priscilla - thanks for your post. Please do allow me to acces your Burkill Hill pixs, if you don't mind. My email add - [email protected]. Corinne told me that its a very nice place too for smaller weddings and just that I haven't really seen it for myself. I have about 100 guests, so its workable if I really have my wedding there.

Glad to hear that you have found your ideal wedding venue.I heard that Grand Shanghai is nice, but do not have any pixs on it as I guess there's no website yet, like you said. Plus I am not in spore, make it impossible for me to view it. Do you have any pixs? If you have, could you send me please? Is it an individual restaurant or it belongs to Grand Copthorn? I shall add you to my MSN.

when will you move to Germany? Will it be right after your wedding in Feb 06?

Deluxe - How's your gown trying at Bridal Veil? Sorry I don't remember when was your appointment with them.

Elizabeth - Hope you visa prob will be solved soon! Seemes like netherlands'proceduure is even more complicated than in France. Good luck! Its always a headache dealing with these visas, their administration etc! Horror! I will have to renew my visa again too in 2 weeks time.

Talk to you ladies again soon! Have a good weekend!

im glad i saw this thread...cos my Fh is also an ang moh,,....fron the US..

and cuclaine...!! im muslim too!!!...did ur FH convert to Islam for u? im having a headache planning for wedding next yr, and it sux that he is not here to help me...its a LDR..sob sob..

but he is coming down in Dec this year! i am counting down every day!! heheh sooo excited..
cuclaine..r u planning the for the traditional muslim lunch affair where u have to invite like 800-1000 guestS?

Elizabeth, just think of it that the first half of your visa problems are solved. I'm sure you'll be able to meet the other half head-on, now that you've had experience with how their administration works.

Hi Denise. We're looking at renting an apartment here cos we know we wouldn't be staying here forever. It's just a matter of deciding when is the appropriate time to move back or head somewhere else. I've looked at some ads but we're looking for a place which is located near an MRT station, yet won't burnt a hole in our pockets and that's kind of a hard combination to work on. Hahahaha.

Hi Zierella, welcome welcome!!!

kao_welcome2.gif

Wah - you're like my sister (she's older than me) who's married to an American. Sorry to be so kaypoh but how did you guys meet and how long have you been together?

Well, when I first started becoming serious with my FH, I had explained to him about that and he accepts that he would have to convert in order to be with me. He's been attending classes at the Islamic Centre in Stockholm since August 2005 and he converted last Thursday. Will your FH be converting?

I understand how you feel, Zierella. My FH is not here too (living/ working in Stockholm) so I've been doing the groundwork (like emailing venues for quotations, dinner menus, etc) by myself. Sometimes it does get a little bit sad but hey, someone's got to get things going.

Is your FH's trip in December a vacation or a permanent move? My FH just got a job in Singapore so he'll be permanently in Singapore come 26 December 2005 so that's why we're planning to get married in January 2006.

Oh yes yes, I think that's a must. It's mostly to keep in touch with tradition and FH wants to go through it cos he attended my friend's wedding while he was here and he thought it was soo cool! I believe my parents have gone beyond the 1000 mark on their guest list. Hahahaha. How are you planning yours?

hi cuclainne!

Well i met him on a plane on transit in Us on my way home, he was sitting beside me, we talked the whole 4 hours!!! and then exchanged contact nos and the story goes on...heheh

We've been tog one year plus, and he came down to see my family this Feb, coming down again this Dec...unfortunately not for good, but im going back with him for 2 weeks to meet up with his frens, family etc...n im so EXCITED hehe we are planning a ski trip.!

My FH has converted! and he did it w/o me knowing at a mosque in the US! he actually attended islamic classes and im so proud of him that he has so much initiative, not like my EX!
I did tell him that he shouldnt do it just because of me, and thats y he decided to learn more abt the religion on his own before converting...

Yeah its STRESSFUl and kinda lonely to plan the groundwork on my own, but he is doing the same for the wedding dinner in US so we'll c whose plans are more romantic heheh

Well the huge lunch tradition is kinda cool, but very expensive, but my FH is ok with it, in fact he is so excited abt it cos its a totally new thing for him...so far the list is abt 800 guests..r u also planning for a wedding dinner? im thinking abt having a small cosy dinner for my frens...

With regards to location, its another HUGE headache...my mom wants me to be based in spore, but frankly i dont mind moving to the US cos i like it..
i know my mom is gonna be sooo MAD if she knows we are planning to move to the US for at least a few years after marriage b4 settling down here..

Did ur sis move with her hubby after marriage? (ur family seem to like ang mohs a lot eh heheh..i had a hard time convincing my mom abt ang mohs) U r so lucky ur FH got a job in spore...my FH trying to get one, he needs to c how the market is...

I met my FH online, Zierella. He was looking for penpals in Singapore and I responded. Two months after we started corresponding, we talked for the first time on the phone. A month later, he flew to Singapore (this was in September 2005) for a month and asked my parents for my hand in marriage. I went to Stockholm in March this year for two months to meet his family and friends, and then in October, he came for about three weeks. As you can see, it's been quite a whirlwind relationship ... hahaha.

Oh, you're going to have so much fun on that ski trip! I went up north with FH and his friends for a weekend to a ski resort. One of his friends is an avid skier but we preferred going on the snowmobiles ... it felt somewhat more safer. Hahahah ... but it was a lot of fun!

Your FH is sooo sweet to do that for you. My FH has learnt the Koran in school but he wanted to know more too before he converted so that's why he's been going to the Islamic centre for talks with the Ustaz.

Wow! You're having an event here and in the US? Expensive!! I did discuss this with FH but he didn't want two separate events - he wants both families to come together at one place. Hahahah, yes I have to convince him that not all 1000 people were going to come at the same time. I think he's still getting used to the idea. Our current plan is to have my parents plan the lunch and we'll plan the dinner for immediate family/ friends and colleagues.

Oh, my relocation plan is the opposite of yours. As much as I like living in Stockholm, the application for PR takes too long and I will need to learn the language before I can get a job. So FH decided that he should move here for a few years while we sort out my application and then we'll move back to Stockholm. He's also aware that my family is a close unit so that's why he doesn't want to take me away so soon. So sweet of him.

My sister has plans to move back to the States but I'm not sure when that will be. Her husband is away most times (he's with the Navy) so she's been living here. I suppose I'm lucky that my parents accept FH almost instantly because there's a number of inter-racial marriages on my mom's side of the family... so I didn't hear any protests.

What is your FH working with? I had to network socially and spread the word around that he's looking for a job. Kudos to him too for trying his best and never giving up even when none of the companies he wrote to, gave him a reply. When he was here in October, he went for several interviews with 3 companies but in the end, it was a French company which offered him a job. Incidentally, I got to know of this company when a girl I spoke with at a party told me her fiance works for this company, and she gave me her fiance's email for FH to write to. In the end, it worked out well but I haven't met that girl since so I haven't been able to thank her.

I met my FH online, Zierella. He was looking for penpals in Singapore and I responded. Two months after we started corresponding, we talked for the first time on the phone. A month later, he flew to Singapore (this was in September 2005) for a month and asked my parents for my hand in marriage. I went to Stockholm in March this year for two months to meet his family and friends, and then in October, he came for about three weeks. As you can see, it's been quite a whirlwind relationship ... hahaha.

Oh, you're going to have so much fun on that ski trip! I went up north with FH and his friends for a weekend to a ski resort. One of his friends is an avid skier but we preferred going on the snowmobiles ... it felt somewhat more safer. Hahahah ... but it was a lot of fun!

Your FH is sooo sweet to do that for you. My FH has learnt the Koran in school but he wanted to know more too before he converted so that's why he's been going to the Islamic centre for talks with the Ustaz.

Wow! You're having an event here and in the US? Expensive!! I did discuss this with FH but he didn't want two separate events - he wants both families to come together at one place. Hahahah, yes I have to convince him that not all 1000 people were going to come at the same time. I think he's still getting used to the idea. Our current plan is to have my parents plan the lunch and we'll plan the dinner for immediate family/ friends and colleagues.

Oh, my relocation plan is the opposite of yours. As much as I like living in Stockholm, the application for PR takes too long and I will need to learn the language before I can get a job. So FH decided that he should move here for a few years while we sort out my application and then we'll move back to Stockholm. He's also aware that my family is a close unit so that's why he doesn't want to take me away so soon. So sweet of him.

My sister has plans to move back to the States but I'm not sure when that will be. Her husband is away most times (he's with the Navy) so she's been living here. I suppose I'm lucky that my parents accept FH almost instantly because there's a number of inter-racial marriages on my mom's side of the family... so I didn't hear any protests.

What is your FH working with? I had to network socially and spread the word around that he's looking for a job. Kudos to him too for trying his best and never giving up even when none of the companies he wrote to, gave him a reply. When he was here in October, he went for several interviews with 3 companies but in the end, it was a French company which offered him a job. Incidentally, I got to know of this company when a girl I spoke with at a party told me her fiance works for this company, and she gave me her fiance's email for FH to write to. In the end, it worked out well but I haven't met that girl since so I haven't been able to thank her.

Wow cuclainne...
thats so cool that u were able to go Stockholm to meet his family and friends..i bet that was great! I hope mine will be as good hehe..oh yeah, im risk averse, so most prob i will go on the snowmobiles too hehe dont want to get a bruised butt! :P

Yeah i believe it is important for our FH to know more abt our religion rather than just doing it just for the sake of doing it...my FH has been quite committed hehe he makes it a point to go to the mosque at least 3 times a week..

I havent found out much abt the PR procedures for the US, but from wat i know, as long as im married to him, i can immediately get the Green card, and i will be able to work there..frankly i havent thought much abt it...my FH likes and wants to stay in singapore in the long term, but i figured it will also be fair on my part to live in his country for at least 3 yrs before moving back here permanently..

my FH is actually attending Nascar school now (the racing thingy thats HUGE in the US, quite similar to F1 i think) he is so into racing etc etc (hehe opposite of me,im timid) n im actually working in the automotive line too hehe..i havent asked around yet, but when he does come over in Dec i think my boss wanna meet up with him and see how he can help him...prob work with VGS or MB or something...u r indeed lucky you got that co contact! im so happy for u! what does ur FH work as?

He did take me up on the slopes a few times but since I was constantly slipping with no sense of balance (even on my own two feet), I didn't want to go down the slopes on skis. You should see the small kids, going down and enjoying themselves. FH didn't fancy skiing so much since he hurt his knees on a skiing holiday a few years ago so the snowmobiles were a safe bet.

I think that as long as you're married to a US citizen, you will get the green card. In Sweden, if i managed to get the residence permit, I will be permitted to work as well but it's going to be tough since my grasp of the Swedish language is still very, very basic.

Wow! He must be very brave then. You know how dangerous Nascar racing is? I hope that his meet-up with your boss will be fruitful. My FH currently works as a Systems Architect in Stockholm. It was very, very difficult to get the job - he had to go for interviews and tests, and had to travel to Paris for the technical interview. I suppose that they subjected him to that because they wanted to make sure that they've got the right man for the job. But we're both happy that he's got the job and now we're keeping our fingers crossed that his EP application will go smoothly.

Hi Cuclainne,

Yr sister marries an American! So yr is in international marriage. So cool!

My Fh is arriving tomor! Hopefully his flight is ok. His transist flight got cancelled, but ok got on another one.

I will collect my visa next Mon. It seems ok. Time to pack my things when Fh is here! N sell them off as well!

Finally Elizabeth, you will be on your way soon.

Be sure to stay in touch ... who knows, maybe FH and I might want to drop by..

Hello there!

Welcome Zierella!
Think I saw your post abt Burkill Hall on another thread. I enquired there b4 and my cotact was Tona Tominen but have to go look for her contact details. Will pass on when I find it.

Congrats to /b{cuclainne} and /b{liz}!
Finally your hard work pays of!

How's everyone? Pretty quiet here these days... guess all of you are busy. I've been tied up with work and wedding preps plus everything else in btwn.. so tiring.. been a rough week too but things are hopefully going to work out soon...

We've settled most of the major things for the wedding: venue, bridal studio, photographer. Now comes the nitty gritty: invitation cards, venue decor, guest list & RSVP, making the gowns & suits. I hope these would not be as stressful!!! Got so pissed off with FH recently that I told him I wanted to cancel everything cuz he couldn't give me any constructive feedback, complained only abt the costs & kept saying that he wants things simple & small. I said in that case let's just do ROM, I wear jeans n he wears shorts. Think that was a wake-up call for him.

/b{Denise} I've come across some other venues for small weddings in the latest issue of Style weddings mag. One is a restaurant called Memoir at Tanjong Pagar. Perhaps you could check out the mag's website - not sure if they put their features online.

I'm trying on the gowns on Friday (11 Nov), getting kind of excited abt it.

How's the situation in Paris? Read those reports abt teens starting fires and the violence in St Denis and that it's spreading to other large cities too. Guess you're not affected since you're not living in that arrondissement.

BTW, did Edmund contact u? Will most likely be doing AD and location PS with him. Find his packages generally affordable & very competitive compared to the market. He doesn't do studio shoots but he does location shoots (indoor & outdoor). We're meeting him sometime this month to view his work and hopefully finalise details.

/b{Priscilla} I've added u to my MSN. Think ur FH also typical German. Mine's been complaining abt the costs too.. sigh... That's mostly the only input I get from him abt the wedding. M doing practically everything myself.

Dun worry too much abt the dowry issue. Anyway, ur parents wouldn't accept 100% of the amt u gave them so as not to give the impression that they are selling u off. Usually I think they will return 20-40% of the amt. Why doesn't ur dad want to step into ur church? Don't quite understand the rationale. I guess in the end they would relent. After all parents will want their kids to be happy. A friend of mine had major problems with her mom cuz she married an Indian. Eventually things worked out for her although it took lots of sweat and tears in btwn.

I'll email the article to you. Dun have it w me now.

Yeap, I know all Methodist schools r in the same family. They usually sent representatives to attend the Prefectorial Board Confirmation.

Zirella This is the contact details for Burkill Hall:
Tona Tuominen
Manager, Marketing & Commercial Activities
Singapore Botanic Gardens
National Parks Board
Tel: +65-6471-9964
Fax: +65-6467-4832

hihi gals!
how r u all? i was wondering, shall we have a meet up, since elizabeth is going to leave in 1 month's time right? your FH here already right Liz? which day is good? i was thinking maybe saturday dinner wld be good.... how abt the 19 Nov 2005? that's 2 sats away.... we can meet up! It'd be great!

feedback feedback yeah?

hi hi ladies

De_luxe - Thanks for your concern. So far Paris itself is still quite ok, though the news are all reporting that Paris is on riots! My area is considered safe, compared to St Denis. I think I've never even stepped into St Denis before. Look scary, esp with all the blacks etc. Not that I am racist, but they are so huge like twice my size.

My folks are getting worried with all these news happening. Just hope it wont get worse. Yeah many big towns are all affected now. Quite chaotic

I am sure you'll have fun with your gown trying! I did mine twice so far here in Paris. I managed to find some designs which I like. The funny thing was, their sample gown for trying was kinda huge that it can almost fall off my body! they had to use so many pins so that it can stay on me! haha...

Can I know what is the average price of a gown in Spore? The gowns I saw on Her World Brides are all about S$1500 to S$2500 onwards. Are they almost all within this price? I wanted to just check so that I can decide if I do my gown in Spore or in Paris. I thought there should be cheaper gowns in Spore? But are they nice?

Yes Edmund send me a few emails. However, I would like to see some of the pixs he has taken. You have any samples of his pixs? We do not intend to take any studio shots too, so that's fine with us.I will write to him again to see if he can send me some of his works.

Congrats that you have many things sorted out! Bravo! Hope to talk to you again soon on MSN!

Priscilla - good idea for that meetup! I am sure it will be nice for you gals to finally meet up together after chatting on the tread or MSN for so long. Too bad I wont be able to make it though :-( How about taking some pixs and then so that I can take a 'peak' at the gathering and see how each of you look like!

Priscilla could you let me know some details about Grand Shanghai? how much do you pay for the package and what is the min requirement for the tables? You have any pixs?

Seems like my post is getting too long! I better stop here! talk soon!

de_luxe, wow - you've managed to get most things planned and out of the way already. lucky you .. i'm still struggling a little but FH will be here in Dec so i hope he'll be able to relieve some of the load.

don't think of it that way la ... i'm sure he didn't mean to sound like he's picking on your arrangements. i must admit that there are times when i have felt the same way and said the same things to FH but after talking it out with him, i realised that he doesn't see things the same way as i do.

you're the second person i know who's doing a website on your wedding .. so nice, i think but a lot of work yah?

Priscilla, that is a good idea. at the moment, the date is ok with me too.

Denise, I hope you and your FH are ok. I'm also getting a bit worried right now cos FH has to go to Paris for two week's training in Dec so I'm hoping that the commotion would have ended by then. The company's asked him to buy tickets to Paris, which he already has and he's behaving like everything is going to be ok. Sigh ... sure hope it will be.

Elizabeth, it is a standing joke within the family that each of us (my siblings, i mean) should marry someone from a different continent .. my sister married someone from US, I'm getting married to someone from Europe so we're waiting to see who my brother will pick as his bride .. but still a long way la, since he's only 16 years old. Hahahaha.

So shall we fix the 19 nov then? can i double check who can come? Cuclainne and de_luxe so far. Does anybody have Elizabeth's contacts? So can ask her too, she's the one leaving the earliest.... we can meet up for a meal or smth.... DeniseK, I've sent you the link to check out the pictures for Burkill Hall and there are pix from Parliament hse too.

DeniseK, Grand Shanghai is awesome! There's no website though, only gonna be up next year... but its like if you want the whole restaurant, its minimum 20 tables (200 ppl). But they cater to smaller sizes too, if you don't mind ppl from the public coming in.... Its about $70/head....but when you include the wine / alcohol, it will increase lah... but i heard that the market rate that ppl will give is $80..... You can always go down to take a look...its pretty popular, so need to check out dates if you want to be able to choose...when is yr AD?

Oh, i have an idea. Shall we upload pictures of ourselves and our HTB? To show each other??

popjpeg{324395,}

Read the thread but was too tired to reply as I've been home late. I've a church rehearsal for the engagement on 19 probably, my weekends in fact are burnt. Weekday is better. Would love to meet all of u. Can my FH come too? But if time is really that bad, go ahead without me. I think angeine is back mid-nov if I'm not wrong from Germany. See if I can catch her online.

Elizabeth, of course your FH can come too .. Angeline is in Germany now? No wonder haven't been seeing her around here lately..

Gosh you must feel very very excited now. The engagement date is coming along soon and before you know it, you're on your way to Netherlands. Pure adrenaline rush, I'd say .. Lucky you!

Hello Ladies

Cuclainne - I hope the riots would have stopped by Dec. He is coming in early or mid Dec? I believe by then, it would be back to normal. Dont worry. Its actually relatively quite safe in Paris itself, just don't go into the suburbs or hang out till late at night. Acutally in Paris itself, I dont go out by myself after 9pm! I know its hard to convince people that its still safe here, esp what they show on TV. My mum also, don't believe me!

I will keep you posted of the situation here if it really turns bad, before your FH arrives! :-) You must be counting down to his arrival!

Priscilla - thanks for your pixs. Burkill Hill def looks lovely. So are you having 20 tables for your dinner at Grand Shanghai? My date is 22 July 06. Do I contact Grand Copthorn for enquiries or do you have the contact details of the person which you can pass to me please? Thanks! Your actual day is in Feb 06 right?

Good idea to post pixs of ourselves and our HTB! Shall we all do that?

Deluxe - I am sure your FH doesnt mean it that way. I guess the guys always like kinda relax and leave it to us to handle. I feel the same like you at times too. cant handle all the stress, plus I have to coordinate the Spore wedding. Have a good talk with him, I am sure he'll understand...

Zierella Welcome to the tread!

I guess Elizabeth must be super busy and in cloud 9 since her FH is here! ;-) Hope to catch you soon!

Hi Denise, he'll be there in mid Dec. He has to spend two weeks there to undergo training for the new job. I'm sure it'll be fine by then but he told me a few weeks ago that he thought of meeting someone from a computer chat forum there and I think he lives outside of Paris - not sure if FH remembers it now. Just hope that the situation would have calmed down by then.

Ok, who shall go first with the uploading of pics?

Thanks for your concern... I guess FH more or less got my point. I dunno how much more helpful he will be but hopefully he will be at least a little more supportive. If he has no constructive feedback then dun criticise!

Actually the wedding website is quite easy to set-up . It's provided free by an American wedding mag. It's like a Powerpoint wizard with design templates to choose from and you just need to upload pics and think of what to write. Quite idiot proof I would say - and that's coming from someone who has never ever set up a website from scratch b4! I have to put in more effort on what I've written there so far tho for now it's quite alright. It has this online RSVP and table seating manager thingy that I think will be very useful esp when guests are flying in. Also allows you to input travel info e.g hotels info.

If u interested, can check out: http://wedding.weddingchannel.com/pwp/ww_create.asp

denise As usual the media always blow things up. They quoted Le Pen saying that France is on the brink of a civil war!!! How ridiculous! And I think Le Pen is full of sh*t too! Heard that the riots spread to central Paris somewhere near a tourist attraction??? Anyway, this has been a time bomb waiting to explode with the huge no. of immigrants who are not integrated into the French way of life. I've met pple who lived in France for like 20 yrs and still dun speak a word of French!!!

I'm meeting Edmund sometime btwn 12-20 nov to look at his works. So far dun think he has a website. I forwarded my fren's pics which were done by him to you sometime ago. Did you get it?

cuclainne Dun worry lah.. think as a whole Paris is generally safe and as an ang moh, ur FH shouldn't encounter as much problems as an Asian.

I've been out (w a grp of frens, not alone) till like 5-6am in the mornings in Paris without major problems. I usually only encounter problems when I go out alone and that happens at all hours of the day.

St Denis where the riots are happening really is a distance away from central Paris and even if ur FH wants to meet his fren, his fren can always take the metro or drive to the city centre. After all, ur FH is prob not familiar with Paris and it may not be as convenient for him to travel to the outskirts.

I'm sure that it'll be alright by the time that FH arrives in Paris. He's travelled through most of Europe so I think he's capable of taking care of himself ... just me worrying over nothing, i suppose.

Thanks anyways, de_luxe

hey girls!

I'm typing from work.....there's like absolutely nothing for me to do here! So horrible.... just wasting my time... geez...

Cuclainne: Thanks for your compliment! We don't have a lot of photos taken together, so that's the most recent one.

Anyways, where are your pictures? Still waiting for you all to post leh!... if not mine is the only one...

Deluxe! You're designing your own website! So cool! I outsourced mine leh.... but think the person i outsourced to, also outsourced to someone else... Anyways, shall we set another day to meet Liz?

Wat are the good days to meet up? How about 16 Nov 05? (wed) Liz, can u make it?

16 nov is not good for me. 19 is fine. Can we co-ordinate time & venue via email? Else we might end up with gate crashers

hey gals

how abt 19 nov 6pm meet at orchard mrt? Maybe can have a bit of feedback on who's coming? So far
1. Liz
2. Me
3. deluxe

The rest??? Reply k? And if got any suggestions of where to go wld be great too! was thinking somewhere nice to chat....cos I think there'd be quite a bit of to talk about... heehee

Dear ladies

I wished I could be there! Me def out, 13 hours away by flight :-) Hey pls tell me how the meet-up goes about ok? I am sure you gals will have a good time! Its like a mini Sporean-European club!

Its a PH in France today (fri), now logging in from my FH's parents place in Normandy. We took the opportunity to escape from the city to come here for some fresh air! So glad that its a long weekend, at least can have a good rest.

We are also here to discuss with his parents on further wedding arrangements etc for the french wedding here in Jun 06. Just met up with the DJ/entertainment co. today, seems pretty ok but he spoke so fast that I don't even understood him 100%. well the barrier of different languages!

As for the riots here, it seems to have calmed down a bit. its slowly improving with curfews set up in certain towns which are badly affected. Cuclainne, don't worry. I am sure by Dec when your FH comes, it will be back to normal. Furthermore, its likely that he won't go to places like Saint Denis or other dangerous suburbs. Is it the 1st time that he's coming to Paris? Let me know if need any help or something....

Eliz - how's everything?! I am sure you are on Cloud 9 since your FH is in town and prob very busy getting ready for your engagement and move. Hope to talk to you soon! Take care

Better go, I think my post is getting too long!

Have a good weekend yeah!

Hi Pris

Can I suggest that we meet at an eating place which accepts reservations, else we might not recognise one another at the MRT?

Anybody interested in Brazilian BBQ at CHIJMES (Restaurant is called Carnivore)?

Other alternatives:
- Baker's Inn
- Menotti (Raffles City)
- Marmalade Pantry (Palais Renaissance)
- Seah Street Deli (Raffles Hotel)
- Coffee Club
- Modestos (Orchard Parade Hotel)
- Rice Table (Cuppage Terrace & Suntec)

Thanks Denise but I don't think it will be a problem. It's not FH's first time in Paris and he does speak a little French so it should not be a problem. Just a little case of over-concern on my part, I suppose.

So exciting, the planning of the wedding must be for you. I need to get myself back into the mood again. Yikes!

Liz, Priscilla, de_luxe

Ladies, let me know the details once you've finalised things ... perhaps somewhere away from the mad crowds so we can talk ah ..

HI ladies,

Sorry for not replying. I just got back from the weekend engagement retreat. I was not feeling well the second day and better today but cough is still very bad.

Shall we email one another our numbers in case we don't see one another on that day?

Deluxe, yr Fh's coming? Which place that u suggested is something Asian for FH to try? Rice Table? What do they serve? I heard the food is good there.

Nope my FH will not be joining - Sat is the sacred soccer with the boys day.

Rice Table serves Indonesia food. The rest are ang mo food. Alternatively there's
- Kinara (Indian): Boat Quay & Holland V
- Annalaksimi (Indian vegetarian): Excelsior Hotel (This is a charity restaurant, there's no menu price, you just pay what you think the food is worth)
- My Humble House (Chinese): Esplanade
- Blue Ginger (Peranakan): Tanjong Pagar
- Thai Express
- Mai Vietnamese: Atrium @ Orchard