Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

Hi girls!

Been on the SB forum for a while, but stumbled onto this thread only now! Glad to see so many girls in a somewhat similiar situation.

My FH is Swedish and we're getting married next year.

Hi girls!

Been on the SB forum for a while, but stumbled onto this thread only now! Glad to see so many girls in a somewhat similiar situation.

My FH is Swedish and we're getting married next year.

gambit, my FH is Swedish too and we're planning the wedding for next year too. What a lucky coincidence!!

Which part of Sweden is he from and are you here in Singapore currently? Sorry, if it seems I'm asking so many questions but I'm so excited to get to know another bride who's getting married to a fellow Scandinavian.

kao_welcome.gif

hi cuclainne,

nope i have not. any websites u can recommend me to search..

Can i view a pix of your engagement ring.. Your FH is so romantic.

Hi Angeline, I will take a photo and let you have a look. I personally prefer white gold but FH said that white gold is actually real gold but plated so it becomes 'white'. So my ring is gold with two rows of small diamonds. Actually FH was telling me that he didn't want to buy me a diamond ring because it has no resale value (like I want to sell it off!! Hmmph!) so I don't know why he ended up buying me a diamond ring in the end. Lol.

Yes yes, quite romantic when he wants to be. A few weeks ago, he surprised me by sending me a bouquet of flowers. Very nice.

You should go around to the jewellery stores and have a look, like I have been doing even though my wedding is next year. My friend who's marrying a Canadian guy next year have already bought their wedding bands.

Thanks cuclainne,

send me your pix asap hor..
:D

i will shop with him when we are together..I prefer to shop on internet first.

Back after a restful weekend. The weather's been so grey and quite cold over the weekend. hope the sun will be back soon!

Elizabeth - I shall drop you an email to check out more info. Thanks! It sounds rather reasonable - $30 for alteration and time taken about 1 week.

Sorry, I do not have an MSN. I am using Yahoo and ICQ. do you gals use that? If not, I shall sign up for it.

I am still in France, not back in Spore yet. I reckon my next trip back home will be either end of this year or CNY 06.I understand how you must have felt - with the late nights and time difference. It reminded me of the time when me and my FH were also apart in different countries.

Hi Cuclainne - Thanks for your suggestions for holding the wedding dinner. I shall definitely check it out. Yeah, I find it quite ridiculous that hotels are not even flexible enough to cater for smaller weddings. yeah, we don't like the idea too of huge weddings where we don't even know some of our guests..

Our budget is quite limited too as we will have one wedding dinner & dancing in France and another one in Spore. Trying to find something that are reasonable priced and really gotta save as much as we can now. I hope you could find a nice place, not too ex for your wedding soon! Its actually kinda difficult for me to coordinate my wedding in Spore as I am in France. So everything is based on websites and pictures. Can't go for site visits as and when I want. Do you mind to let me know how it is for your visit at Equinox Complex? It will be very helpful.Thanks a lot, hope its not a bother for you.

By the way,sounds really romantic the way your FH just slipped the ring on your finger!

Hi Angeline, I will try to download MSN soon so that we can all chat online!

We haven't bought our wedding rings yet. We are intending to probably buy it in Spore too as its expensive over here. Plus I think I prefer our designs in Spore.

Hi gambit. Welcome! You are also on the thread for weddings at the Beaufort right? When will you be moving to Sweden or you are in Sweden already?

Back after a restful weekend. The weather's been so grey and quite cold over the weekend. hope the sun will be back soon!

Elizabeth - I shall drop you an email to check out more info. Thanks! It sounds rather reasonable - $30 for alteration and time taken about 1 week.

Sorry, I do not have an MSN. I am using Yahoo and ICQ. do you gals use that? If not, I shall sign up for it.

I am still in France, not back in Spore yet. I reckon my next trip back home will be either end of this year or CNY 06.I understand how you must have felt - with the late nights and time difference. It reminded me of the time when me and my FH were also apart in different countries.

Hi Cuclainne - Thanks for your suggestions for holding the wedding dinner. I shall definitely check it out. Yeah, I find it quite ridiculous that hotels are not even flexible enough to cater for smaller weddings. yeah, we don't like the idea too of huge weddings where we don't even know some of our guests..

Our budget is quite limited too as we will have one wedding dinner & dancing in France and another one in Spore. Trying to find something that are reasonable priced and really gotta save as much as we can now. I hope you could find a nice place, not too ex for your wedding soon! Its actually kinda difficult for me to coordinate my wedding in Spore as I am in France. So everything is based on websites and pictures. Can't go for site visits as and when I want. Do you mind to let me know how it is for your visit at Equinox Complex? It will be very helpful.Thanks a lot, hope its not a bother for you.

By the way,sounds really romantic the way your FH just slipped the ring on your finger!

Hi Angeline, I will try to download MSN soon so that we can all chat online!

We haven't bought our wedding rings yet. We are intending to probably buy it in Spore too as its expensive over here. Plus I think I prefer our designs in Spore.

Hi gambit. Welcome! You are also on the thread for weddings at the Beaufort right? When will you be moving to Sweden or you are in Sweden already?

Denise, no problems. I know what you mean. Among all the hotels I'd emailed, I had written to Ritz as well, thinking that they might cater for a smaller wedding party. They were very prompt in sending me their packages but when I wrote back to say that my party would be only 50 - 70 guests, they never bothered to write back. Hmph! FH might want to have it done at Raffles but it's quite ex, however the coordinators have been nice in answering all my queries so far so FH and I might make an appointment and just see what they have to offer.

Sure, I'll let you know how the food and ambience is. But we'll be dining at the main restaurant and if you want to book for wedding party, you have to rent one of their private dining areas but I'm sure that the view would be breath-taking as well. I will keep you posted.

If everything turns out to be too ex, then FH and I will settle for Gallery Hotel. After all, it's a minimum of 30 pax and the buffet menus start from $30 per person (incld. free flow soft drinks). FH stayed at this hotel during his first visit and it has a lot of memories for us la. And if guests still want to continue drinking after dinner, can always go to Mohd Sultan. Lol.

Whichever account you have, Denise cos I'm using Mirinda and that program can log on to multiple messengers (MSN, Yahoo, ICQ, etc) at the same time.

Hello ladies,
I have been in stealth mode so long in this thread, and have been feeling too shy to post, cos I am already married and not preparing for a wedding... lurking so long it almost feels like i am stalking you ladies, so here i am saying hello!! I am living in Norway (housewife so have time to stalk!) with my norwegian husband. I would be so happy to chat with you ladies!!! I have added a few of you on my MSN already. ([email protected]) X Clare

welcome clare!!!

Glad you join us! Its European Wives Club so its ok if single or married or getting married soon :D
we can exchange cooking stuff as i love to experiment them etc.

Hej Clare, så roligt att ses igen! Hahahaha - not sure if you know that, but it means 'Nice to see you again' in Swedish. I think I need to pick up a few phrases in Norwegian from you.

If you are on later, I will give you a tinkle if I get on my machine at home.

Vi ses!

Hi hi hi! wah! So many to read! Me so dead tired right now after teaching and a trip to the zoo with kids and a dutch class later.
Going to drop dead!

Will share more about rings later. I can recommended you this shop which my mum brought me, It can be custom made and cheaper than the jewellery shops. U can never get that price. Better to give u inform over the email or online msn chat. Or esle get barred here again!

Hi Clare, finally u are joining us.

Welcome gambbit! This is getting really fun!

MSN is better. Angeline, Cucul, Clare, deluxe are in MSN but haven't got the chance to talk to Deluxe yet.

Till later ladies!

Hey Nisa,
yeah, the scandinavian languages (Norwegian, Swedish, Danish) are related, and are mutually intelligible (by native and more advanced speakers..)I am really at intermediate level (or lower!) Prob Swedes and Norwegians have to try a little harder understanding Danes. Norwegian is supposedly the language "in the middle"....

I did try the sweet and sour recipe! but I didnt use fish, used pork instead. Difficult to go wrong with this good recipe, that gives instructions such as 'estimation' and 'according to your palate' as measurements! looking forward to see you online! XX Clare

Norwegian and Swedes are like siblings, and Danes and Finns are cousins. Lol. I read that somewhere..

Ya la, my mom was my saviour when I was there cos she would ask my brother to send the fool proof recipes via email so I can impress FH. It worked!! Lol.

Hey Nisa,
Besides love, don't forget the 'sibling rivalry' between Norway and Sweden.. Both sides like to better (and make fun of each other.. and have you read some of the Norwegian/Swedish jokes??!?! ) hehheheh

I have heard some jokes on the long car ride back to Stockholm - FH and his friend were laughing the whole time. Most of the times the jokes just don't make sense but I suppose that they would probably think the same thing about our local jokes. Lol. Oh well, all for the sake of camaderie..

erm, I was actually talking about the 'making fun of Swedes jokes'... e.g. Q: Why are swedish lighthouses upside down?
A: Because they want to show the submarines the way. or.. Q: Why do swedes always drink their milk in the store?
A: Because on the packet it says: OPEN HERE.
Hey i didn't make these up!! But for every Swedish joke, there are probably a dozen Norwegian ones!! LOL
X Clare

Yup, the guys were talking about the Norwegian jokes - that's why they were laughing so hard. And then subsequently they started making impromptu jokes about the police and their love for doughnuts which were not funny at all, but to save face, I laughed along. Lol.

But FH did mention that there are interchangeable Swedish-Norwegian jokes. Take for eg the jokes you mention above. The Norwegians would say those about the Swedes and the Swedes say the same thing about the Norwegians: eg why do norwegians drink their milk in the store?

I will ask FH some jokes cos I can't really recall them right now. Lol.

What happened to everyone else? Angeline, deluxe, Elizabeth, Grace, Denise.. where are you?

Here here! Didn't have time to check to write. Been out the whole day! Tired lah!

I talk to angeline and found out she stayed nead me. COOL! Plan to meet up for makan and bring her to the jewellery shop. want to join us adies, but haven't decided when yet. This is cool man!

I need to do some work. Get back to u ladies again ya! Have a great week ahead!

Tot ziens! (Bye in Dutch)

If you ladies are planning a meet-up, that would be cool. I have been meeting some ladies from another thread on a fairly regular basis and have been invited to some weddings too. Very nice la!

Bukit merah. Ya, looking at some and you can custom made the type u want. I'm doing that. Go tthe design from Gold heart and getting the shop to do it, much cheaper. Must wait till angeline finishes her assignment first.

Clare, I got some..

Q: Do you know how you can spot a Norwegian working on an oil rig?
A: They throw breadcrumbs to the helicopters.

Q: Do you know how you can spot a Norwegian pilot?
A: They dive after the breadcrumbs.

There was this Swede who passed by 17 Norwegians outside a night club. He asked them: Why aren't you going in instead of standing out here in the cold?
They answered: We're waiting for another guy, you have to be 18 to get in.

Two Norwegian pilots (who hadn't been diving for breadcrumbs, I suppose) were talking about flying to the sun. One of them said: But we'll burn! The other answered: No, we'll fly at night.

A Norwegian was reading the newspaper and said to another Norwegian: "It says here there's a man killed by a car accident in the US every 15 minutes". The other guy answered: "He must feel pretty bad by now"

Busy lah! Don't see u online these days? What time do u come online usu?

Ladies, I've a question: Must the make-up be different for outdoor photo shoots from the make up for wedding? I mean is it some special kind of comestic for photo shoots? according to the MUA, they say it's different type of make-up.

I'm doing a casual outdoor shoots and a friend is doing it for me as a favour, not professional but she learnt photography in school. Can't afford to spend too much. Thinking of just doing a simple make-up that doesn't cost much. Searching MUA separately for photo shoots and my engagement n tea ceremony. What would u ladies advise?

Elizabeth, I usually am online from 9pm for about an hour. See if FH or anyone is around to chat. Then my brother takes over the control of the PC. Hehehehe. So if on weekend, then I will stay to chat longer. Cos usually after I log off, FH will call to talk on the phone la.

So far, I have not signed up for any photo-shoots, indoor or outdoor. FH and I don't really like taking photos ... Hahaha. This is really bad. But my cousin will be taking photos of the event for me - he used to take photos of Malaysian artistes for a local entertainment company. So no fees, just a token for him. Must look at all ways to save money lor. Hahahaha

Ya lor! must save! we are planning to screen it when we walk into the church and my parents want us to take photos. Actually, I don't want at all. My FH can tell me, no need make-up lah, you are pretty enough. but i think the effect is not so good lor. personally, i don't put on make-up on normal days, don't like it, very troublesome.

no wonder lah! i can only log in earlier on thurs, fri or weekends, depends. mon - wed, dutch class. 10 plus on weekdays, chat with FH. cannot talk with others liao!

I usually log off early on weekdays so I can spend some time reading up on my Swedish before I go to bed. Lol - like that helps! Maybe I should sleep with the book on my head and hope that all the information somehow immerses itself in my mind.

My FH says the same too - he always tells me that I don't need to wear make-up but I feel 'exposed' if I don't. Perhaps it's due to the fact that I've used make-up for a long time now. Ok la, now feeling a bit more brave - can venture out to the neighbourhood shops without makeup. Lol.

hi cuclainne

my FH quite similar to urs leh.. also refuses to help his dear mama when she can't remember the English words she needs to say watever she wants to say.... he simply refuses to translate and if she's talking to both of us in german then he will remind her to speak in English...

His parents write me postcards when they go on holiday n recently i've been getting x'mas n birthday prezzies from them too.. so nice right.. i'm so pai seh by their kindness...

i can generally grasp the gist of what they write in their postcards n some conversations but i just can't speak n express myself in german - so fustrating!!! it's like being a hearing mute u know...

i dun care so much abt wat strangers say abt me or us when they see ang mo guy w local girl.. wat really pisses me off is when friends make snide remarks. Things like i'm racist (i.e. biased against my own skin colour) n how likely ang mos r to treat asian girls like playthings n dump them when they r bored. Won't these pple just get a life?

Hi Elizabeth

ur FH sound really like a postitive guy! His first time - i can't believe it!!

Ok i have to give my FH some credit too... he does try to reassure me that things will be all right n all. I always get nervous when i hear abt friends' marriages breaking up, cuz i've seen first hand how hard it is to make a marriage work. Often I'm the one getting cold feet, not him!

oh yah cuclainne... norway is the most ex country in the world to live in. we would go visit friends in Oslo if it were not so ex. Already a trip to Copenhagen once nearly made us trip - can't imagine what will happen in Norway... Think i know which friend u r refering to. She added me to her MSN.

Hi Denise - for ur 10 tables, suggest u check out Burkill Hall. It's not a hotel... it's a colonial house located in Orchid Garden, Botanical Garden. Absolutely beautiful venue. I was seriously considering it if not for my stupid large guest list.

Another place u might want to consider is flutes at the fort. Never been there before but heard it's nice. Think it's french food tho..

If u r really into something casual n tropical, Villa Bali is a good place. It's a new place in Gillman Village. The website is www.littlebali.com (tho it's not been updated the last time i checked)

btw ladies, me email addy is [email protected]

i'm having a hard time tracing all these messages cuz i haven't been able to check in here since last Thurs... no internet access at FH's place & work's been a killer this wk! Aiyo!

hi gambit - welcome to the unofficial european wives club.. hahaha

wats ur story?

angeline - we got my engagment ring from lee hwa. Haven't looked for wedding rings yet... i like this place called joerg hanson (think i got the spelling wrong). anyway they have a branch at mandarin hotel in the corner next to taka... but quite ex leh..

elizabeth can u gimme the contact for that jewellery shop u mentioned? Is it in bkt merah? My office is in that area.. I have a design in mind for the rings, saw it years ago n still like it..

Hmmmm... can't really help re MUA, i've not reached that stage yet. Must have make-up la, otherwise will look very pale w all the flash lights going off

Was kinda MIA - buried under piles n piles of work... just got some fresh air today!

yah ladies, let's meet let's meet

de_luxe, that's nice to hear. FH likes to trick me into speaking with his parents (not that I mind it). For eg, he's at his Dad's place and then he asks me to call. So when I do, he'd say hello and just pass the phone to his Dad, lol. So now, I'm very clever and do the same to him with my parents. Hahahahaha.

When she went to Denmark with her companion and sent me that postcard, FH didn't even know where she went. So when I told him I knew where she had spent the weekend, he was saying that she treats me nicer than she treats him. I always remind him that I'm marrying him so I can continue to be best friends with his mother. Lol. I was just joking, of course but it's really nice to have a good relationship with your in-laws from the start.

Oh, I sent his Dad and Mom a box each of goodies, like the white 'rabbit' candy, plum candy, chili tapioca with nuts and ikan bilis ... that sort of stuff and they really enjoyed it. His younger brother and sister so cute - FH asked if they tried the white 'rabbit' candy and they said they hadn't cos they are finding it so difficult to peel the paper away to get to the sweet. FH had to explain to them that you can just pop it in your mouth, paper and all. Lol.

Me too - I can read words in Swedish and translate but I can't form sentences in my mind and speak them just yet. I feel so shy. Especially since FH's Dad is a professor (he teaches languages at the university) and FH likes the pronunciation to be perfect. He drilled me on rolling my 'r' properly the last time he was here in Singapore, it took me two days to get it right and appease him. Even now, I can't really pronounce his name the way he wants me to say it so I just end up calling him, sweetie. Lol - he's beginning to realise and had asked me when was the last time I called out his name.

Oh, I think I will definitely try to come to Norway to have a look at where Clare is staying. It's such a beautiful place and her MIL runs a B&B. I think it will be nice ... just stay a few days la.

Hmm .. Denise, I was considering Burkill Hall too but I didn't like the idea of having to break up the seating arrangements among the two floors.

I heard Flutes is nice - someone from this site had their wedding dinner there and said it was fabulous but I suppose that it's kinda inconvenient for people with no transportation. Like the Altivo ..

I have the packages for Little Bali but I heard from my friend that it's not really kept clean and you can only use their caterer who provides, thai, western or continental buffets.

de_luxe, you mentioned that your FH is from Berlin, right? I used to know someone from there who's been working here for a few years. His name is Bernhard S. Would that be your FH?

de_luxe, totally agree with you on that part about French guys. Definitely too forward but very charming .. the news on the grapevine in the office is that I'm dating a French guy. When I told FH, he put on this really thick accent and started speaking French. He also does a very good Japanese imitation.

Hi de-luxe,

Are u right now in Singapore? We can all meet up, have lunch or dinner, then to the shop. You can get him to custom-make. COOL right! When I found out, I was very excited. But haven't done it yet. So don't know whether it will be exactly the same or not. Probably I will be the first ginny pig! Lots of people patronise his shop though. Went there a few times to pester the owner on the design, looking at the cross and earrings. I think he must be so annoyed with me. LOL!
I will email u the address.

Your work's place is there? My Godma works there too. Angeline n myself stay near BM. Great ya!

Not to worry, found the answer to the make-up.

Ya you are just like me, get cold feet too! My FH is the one who will assure me too. He knows my issue of trusting men, so he will always assure me with his actions and words everyday even he's so far away. When I was there with him, I got pretty upset when I doubted and fears cripped in. So bad that I just wanted to break up. But now it's over! YEAH!
I overcame it, thanks to his patience, love and efforts. Ha ha ha.. Yipee! He told me no matter what we walk and journey together and help one another to overcome our weaknesses and fears, to improve our relationship, to make it better.
It's just like walking the marriage vows now even we are not married yet. Through good and bad times! And we pass the test through so many crisis and it sure to makes our love stronger.

Ya! Somehow I don't know why it seems our FH's parents are so sweet, warm and nice. My friend said you are met them for a short period of time, how would u know. I trust my instinct lor! Who will bother to make and effort to send ecards, buy gifts and more. Not that we are being impressed by the gifts but the love anf thoughts behind it. It likes they still think of us. I feel bad sometimes I'm not making enough effort. Too busy! But not an excuse lor! Hee hee! really appreciate to have such great future-in-laws.

Don't bother about what your friends say. Like my friend said, they are not enlightened in their mind and thinking. I laughed when she said that for people who can't see the light!

For my friends, they envy me for having an ang moh BF, able to go oversea and stay. They tease me out of all the couples, I am the most DRAMATIC!
The people give me heachaches are my parents, they say exactly the same thing as what your friends said. You are at least better that it doesn't come from your parents. Now is better but still will nag why I have to be so far away. The truth is I can't wait to get away from them. FREEDOM! Me so terrible! Ya!

I really get hooked on the threads! Realy enjoying reading and sharing with all of u! SO COOL! OUR EUROPEAN LADIES CLUB!

Elizabeth, I think they're excited at the prospect of getting a daughter-in-law ... an addition to the family.

Eg, since FH is the eldest son in the family, I will be the first DIL (not to be confused with DUI ah - lol). And FH also mentioned that his parents are probably silently anticipating to hear the pitter-patter of tiny feet soon after. Lol.

I'm just happy that everyone's happy with our union ...

Hmmm... looks like your FH are quite naughty! LOL! My FH won't do that. Hee hee! He will help me and his family to communicate coz I complained! At first, I was very lost, can't follow their conversation and he never bothered to translate for me. I got so fed up and told him how I felt. From that day onwards, he will translate every sentence for me. LOL! His mum is very cute, she will try to speak English to me. The most humourous part is when they couldn't find the English word to translate sometimes. They will scratch their head and laughed!

cucul counting your days? Your FH is here soon! WOW!! Very soon! Ya! Feel excited for you!

I still have to wait for another 2 more months. SIGH!!! I miss him terribly! SIGH!!!

For the past few days, while talking to him, I fell asleep so tired! Poor him just watch me sleep and dared not utter any noise until I woke up. I just feel so at ease! I told him his voice just soothes me and put me to sleep. Not boring lah! Just feel safe and secure like a baby!

Ya ya! Agree! agree! They are very eager! Also their first child to get married, mine also. Both of us are eldest. Ya ya! They are lloking forward to kids as well. But we decide to wait for a year though! I know he is very eager so are our parents! Must plan! Esp finanical!

Ya ya! They are very excited lor! LOL!