Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

frogprincess

Hallows Honeygem -- I will be in Turin - which is best known for the shroud of Turin, but is also a middle-sized semi-industralised town. Good ski slopes, and decent wines in the area.

Ashlee -- Raffles Lawn is lovely, and their food and service is pretty good as well. As long as the weather works out, outdoor weddings in Singapore are really nice. I was also considering Burkhill hall.

ashlee

ribbit
we are having an indoor wedding dinner at raffles. Totally gave up the idea of having it outdoor cos of the unpleasant encounter with rasa sentosa. Hehe, hopefully it is going to turn out well at raffles!

snoozy

@ashlee and ribbit - although my fiance is telling me dont have to worry and no need to plan now, but for me, i did read through this forum , get some idea and start to look around. So wouldnt be in a rush when time comes,
@ honeygem - i m wouldnt be having my solemnisation in a church.. intend to have it together with my wedding dinner.. I was quite interested in the poolside wedding and another one is the snow city, me and my fiance both very scare of hot weather, especially my fiance, he can sweat alot, so he was very happy when i mention the snow city .

katgrrl

Ribbit, Italy sounds wonderful! At least you get the Mediterranean weather. Was in Athens recently and the Greeks were saying 13c was cold but we thought +13 with beautiful sunshine is like the perfect summer day in Finland!

If you've a container for your stuff, yup yup, get all the spices & ready made pastes u'll think u'll ever want..and then more! I even hand carried frozen roti prata & tang yuen in a thermal bag with ice packs with me on the plane. They survived pretty well heheh.. Just off the top of my head, packs of coconut milk, curry powder, bak kut teh, fish curry powder, claypot mix, lemon chicken sauce, chicken rice mix & chili....sweep the shelves! And yes, text books from SG! Not sure about Italy but textbooks in Finland are ridiculously exp! I can earn a tidy profit even by selling 2nd hand :p

Snoozy,
Guys will Always think there's enough time to plan but perhaps what they don't realize are the 1001 items that need to be thought of
Just an idea... how about a winter theme for the dinner? U can ask the guests to come in their wintery best and get the hotel to crank their thermostat down. Dun forget that a SG poolside may be a little 'sticky' if the wind is not in your favour that day... but u can place a couple of humidifiers(?) around of course.

snoozy

hi KatGrrl .. what you mean by winter theme for dinner? u mean in hotel function room? can they do that? I thinking of having a buffet dinner cos i we onli intend to invite close friends + relatives, that add up not more then 40 pax.. so i wan a simple but memorable wedding

katgrrl

hi Snoozy,
Yeah, I'm sure the hotel will be able to arrange for a winter theme altho there may be extra costs. Try to explore the option of a la carte..that is, ask them to break down flowers, hotel room, invites & drinks. Decide what u can do without and what u can DIY if u've got some creative juice or friends. So for instance, u can arrange your own silk flowers for each table and then bring them overseas if u're having another wedding there.

For the Winter theme, what comes to mind will be everything in white, light blue and crystals everywhere. The theme could be reflected from the invites that you could DIY, napkins, use of dry ice in your drinks, wedding cake, flowers with crystals, favours etc..... I think u can start by researching from US/UK bridal mags & websites such as The Knot & The Wedding Channel (www.weddingchannel.com). Lots of cool ideas there!

It's possible and I think it's even easier to create a theme for a small party. I'm also having a buffet for 75 guests. My theme is pink and white..haha, not very original I know.

frogprincess

Hallo Katgrrl!

Yep, we have a container and professional movers. So I am trying to raid the supermarket and wetmarket! Turin is in north italy so it is not as pleasant a climate as I would like it to be. I read about your Greek hols on another thread - you lucky girl - it sounds lovely!

And you are absolutely right about the textbooks. I have stopped monitoring the Euro exchange rate because it is far too depressing...

However, on to a happier topic - my MAKAN LIST, tell me if I miss anything out?

Laksa at Katong
Char Kway Teow at Zion Rd
BBQ Sting ray and chicken wings Chomp chomp (Serangoon Gardens)
Champagne Sunday Brunch at the Ritz Carlton on 27 March (last day in Singapore)
Mortons at Oriental
Keiyaki at Pan pacific
Shang Palace Dim Sum brunch
Crystal Jade Xiao Long Bao
Curry Puff in Changi Village
Bak Kut Teh at Balastier
Soya Sauce Chicken Noodle in Chinatown
Sebastiens at Greenwood Ave
The fish head curry place near Pierce Road
Chilli and Black pepper crab with Mantou

frogprincess

Oh yeah Snoozy I think if you (like me) melt easily in the heat, then a winter wedding theme is a good idea. Especially if your wedding is near Christmas! You can use the icy cool colours like blue and silver mentioned by Katgrrl, and trim your wedding favours with faux fur (very cheap from Spotlight or Arab Street less than 10 bucks per metre - you don't need lots)

you can actually get wintry ideas online from any theme party forum or website. Don't restrict yourself to only bridal sites.

katgrrl

Ribbit,
*drool*....now u're making my mouth water... I see u've made a detailed list there!
Similarly, when we visited SG, we made a checklist to make sure we covered everything. I think u've covered pretty much all the must-eats... although I noticed that u don't have nasi padang, indian or peranakan. Dun like?

ooohh...in the meantime, learn all of your mum's/aunt's recipes. Have sent u an email btw

ashlee

ribbit
Your list is making me drool... sigh, wish i were in sg to have all that as well...
How abt:
Frogleg porridge at Geylang
Turtle soup at Geylang
Beef noodles at Hougang interchange
Sushi at edo sushi (cheap and nice)
roti prata at (err.. thomson rd, is it?)
Duck rice at pasir panjang (near nus)
Thai food from Lemon Grass
Seafood of all sorts from Jumbo or No Signboard

Feel like going home already...

frogprincess

Drool drool and sigh...

Heylos again Katgrrl - I luuurve good ayam buah keluak, beef rendang and nasi padang, but they were already ticked off my Makan list cos had major pig out session at True Blue Pernanakan- the conversation (about leaving Singapore) I had with the waiter there, led to the eventual compilation the Makan List

Ashlee don't drool too much - it gets on the keyboard then you can't type (hyuk hyuk) Sorry that was lame - but I am suffering sugar high from that Kueh Lapis I am still digesting. But you are absolutely right - I love the duck rice at Pasir Panjang! Also the nasi lemak from Fong Seng- Were you from NUS?

katgrrl

oh oh oh! u gals gotta let me know the address of the Pasir Panjang Duck rice!
I'm seriously considering getting a copy of the MakanSutra when I return. Oh, did u guys know there was a MakanSutra Round-the-island Food Hunt a couple of years ago? I took part in it and it was Great FUN! it's similar to a car rally except that we follow clues to the best eating places.. we were damn fast but not fast enough.

Just thot of 1: Still Rd Pepper Crabs!

ashlee

ribbit
Fong Seng... ah... memories! hehe...
U are from NUS too I take it?! I was from Kent Ridge Hall, so we have an in-house Fong Seng stall, but we still go down to the real Fong Seng a lot, and also the roti prata next door. Sigh... I wanna go home...

Katgrrl
Dunno the exact addy of the duck rice, but it is just around the corner from the shopping mall in Pasir Panjang (is it called the village centre? the one with Lemongrass restaurant?)
Ribbit, help!

Where is Still Road huh? Sounds familiar...

frogprincess

Hallo Ashlee and Katgrrrl, I am still straddling between this thread and the "overseas bride" one.

Ashlee - I did one year in NUS to allow me to practice in Singapore with my UK degree. So I have happy memories from both NUS and overseas uni - are you thinking of "Pasir Panjang Village" with the swiss restuarant and the pubs and pool tables? I have these happy memories of being wasted and playing pool there when we were supposed to be attending lectures (*nostalgic sigh*) Last I heard, the roti prata place at Fong Seng has been BOUGHT OVER (no kidding) only the nasi lemak is still authenthic. I didn't recognise it the last time I passed the area - there's a 7-11 and other new stores now.

Katgrrl - there are not one but TWO duck rice places around the west. The first one is on Pasir Panjang Road itself, and it is further down the road from Fong Seng. On nights when there were big groups of people and not enough cars, we would eat the kway chap and duck rice there. It's pretty good kway chap gravy (according to my recollection). The Second is the "famous" Lim Seng Lee Boneless duck rice and porrige. Get the gizzards and eat with their flaming sambal kangkong. You gotta drive to 38 South Buona Vista Road although people refer to it as "Pasir Panjang" cos of the proximity to Pasir Panjang Road.

Still Road Pepper Crab eh? - Umm Katgrrl I haven't heard of it (*sua ku look*) enlighten me please (whilst there is time)!

katgrrl

Hei Ribbit!
OMG.... I'm about to pass out from the the mere thought of kway chap, boneless duck rice (& the chilli!) and flaming sambal kangkong................ I'll note down the directions you mentioned & make a drive there

The Pepper crab shop is along Still Rd (sorry, not being too helpful here i know. I'm bad with directions
) Anyhow, it's in an old corner coffee shop with lots of people eating nothing but crabs. We usually take the cab from town, exit ECP and shortly after, the coffee shop's on the left... Argh..my tummy's rumbling already!

ashlee

ribbit
Huh? Has it got a swiss restaurant there? Haha, I am so blur arent I?!

Katgrrl
Me same as you! I am USELESS with directions and recognising places. Everytime when I drive, I would demand very detailed directions and instructions from my fiance, even if I have been there many times! haha... Still dunno where Still Rd is though. Hmm... do u know the name of the crab place?

ribbit, now I dun even know which one of the two you mentioned is the one I've been to. Which is the one that you have to go through an extremely curvy road behind NUS to get to, and does valet even though it is a really old shophouse? (haha, once they even gave the wrong key to my dad, gave my dad the key to a new sporty mercedes SLK!I kept telling my dad to take it but he wouldn't, hehe

snoozy

Hi everyone.. how life?? me still the same.. but start working now, temp job. Going over to aust on june, miss my fiance very much. Now i got something very curious to ask, i understand this thread is for those whose FH is 'ang mo', i like to ask those who already married and not christian. Do you all follow the chinese tradition like hokkien custom etc??? Do you husband follow the tradition? I got curious of this cos i was reading some thread and there are different kind of customs.

liz4jeroen

Hi hi de_luxe,

I'm new too. Where is your FH come from? Mine is from Netherlands.

Hi Ashlee,

I realise you're on this thread too. Sorry post at the wrong thread. Hee haa!

liz4jeroen

Hi de luxe,

Would you be going to Germany to stay or your FH coming over? How did you get to know him? WOuld love to hear your story.

de_luxe

Hi Elizabeth

My FH's been working here for abt 6 yrs already... at this point we're keeping our options open as to whether we'll stay put here or move somewhere else.. guess it would mainly depend on work opportunities.

We met at China Jump - till today we can't agree on who took advantage of the drunk one...hehehehehe

What's ur story? ;)

de_luxe

btw realised that elizabeth n angeline are on a similar thread too.. wondering if it would be easier to stick to just this one?

liz4jeroen

Ya deluxe! I realise it too. Both threads seem to be very quiet since only the three of us responded. We stay here. What say you, Angeline?

Cool! At least he's here. I met him online over the Catholic mingle single. Our intention was to know more catholic friends from all over the world. Somehow, the cupid struck both of us!

How long have you known him? What do you think of a German FH? I met two German men who did a workshop here. They are very warm, nice and sincere. Heard so much from a friend who was attached to German guys and the good points about them. Don't get me wrong, I love my FH who is a Dutch. I would say I prefer men from Europe, not France though. Just couldn't get along with Asian men or I would say they can't get stand me. Ha ha ha... What about u?

angie707

eliz, yr story seems abt similar like mine. we met on the internet ...i was bored then so i juz logon to chat room.

Last yr, i have a buz trip to brussels so i stop over in frankfurt and meet my german friend..and in dec last yr, he come to spore and we went for a short trip together. think our friendship juz din end there...I knew Harald for 1yr+ now. I have visited his family last mth when i went to uk for a uni exchange program. somehow...misses him so much. we are planning to settle down...not so soon though..

regards,

angie707

hi de_luxe,

i will go over to germany and settle there.
but im not really gd on speaking german..juz some basic.
i will missed spore food!

liz4jeroen

Hi angeline,

I also know my FH for a yr plus. coming to 14th month. Have u checked out the embassy? I heard it's not easy to migrate there, just like Netherlands. Still waiting for them to send a letter to my FH. It takes about 3 months.

Not to worry about the language, you will pick it up somehow. I'm learning Dutch now there and over here as well.

Did both of u start your relationship during your short trip?

angie707

Hi Elizabeth,

No...i have not done so - checking out with embassy on migration stuff. I know it takes 2mths to apply for perm. residence and im not sure does it apply for studying in germany(thinking to study there).

Yap...love started when he came over to spore and we hopped to australia - strawberry picking time.heheehe...

when is yr big day (my question mark key is out of function)

rgds,

liz4jeroen

Hi Angeline,

I'm also planning to study there too. But I didn't apply for student visa. That will be a different visa and procedure.

It will be in June next year.

de_luxe

Hi hi...

We've just passed the 3-yr mark..

Generally American guys have the tendancy to put me off cuz they r often much louder than the Europeans.. Tho I dun have any particular prefs.. my FH is the 1st real ang moh guy i've dated. The only other one was an alegerian-french so that doesn't really count. French guys r nice, charming n romantic but most r also too flirtatious to give me the kind of security n assurance i need.. I find Germans a little more reserved esp at the beginning but also more dependable... my boss is also german but he can be such a tyrant that i'm so glad my FH isn't like him. I refrain from telling my colleagues dat my FH is German if they dun already know cuz the response i get is often "is he like boss?"

I find it easier to "connect" w Asian guys who have lived abroad b4. No prejudice here, just that sometimes i find that those who haven't r rather close-minded n occasionally childish for their age...

Looks like both of u r planning to move over... when's ur big day?

Elizabeth
Is ur FH in the Netherlands or here?

Angeline
Dun worry too much abt the language, it'll be a lot easier when u r living there. Are u taking lessons now?

Is ur FH from Frankfurt?

liz4jeroen

Hi Deluxe!

wah! 3 yr!

I share the same sentiment as you. Don like Americans. superficial n loud but not fair to generalise all as I've a very good US friend whom I've not met, he is really a nice guy. But I think on the whole, I don't prefer them. Went to US the second time and I still don't like their culture and the people there. I've never dated an ang moh before also, though I've friends who are ang moh. Oops! I guess it's personality. So far I heard good things about German men. Won't be so bad lah! Another friend of mine also got to know a German guy from the internet. He's a nice guy too!

You are not being prejudice. What you have stated is true. There're nice Asian guys out there but there are really some like what you describe. As for my encounter, they are not so open as they are to views n opinions and feel that they're always right. What I would say MCP! LOL! I can't stand it!

Even the Dutch are very private people and reserved. Today at class, I heard not so nice story about Dutch from my classmates and their husbands are Dutch. Not about their husbands but those in the Dutch club. Hmmm... perhaps I'm lucky that I meet really nice people when I was in Netherlands. I guess every country has their not so nice people.

My FH is in Netherlands. Only been here for a week in Jan. Coming down again in Nov. Hopefully to go back with him in Dec. anyway, I took the risk and booked the ticket without waiting for the approval of my visa.
With faith in God!

My AD is in June next yr but engagement n tea ceremony here in Nov this year.

What about you?

angie707

yup. currently taking a part time degree.
dont think my big day be in next yr cos its too much...perhaps in a few yrs time.

no no..he is from berlin.
but he intend to go munich if im accepted in the uni there-MBA course.
nothing has been concluded yet so far.

My bf is gentle spoken time. excercise patience and polietness ...me, the other way round..u know lah, sporean gals how much to be gentle(hehehe) but i have changed abit under his influence.

He is v romantic..send me godiva chocolate every mth but i told him to stop cos i hardly have craving from chocolates.
its his thoughfulness that counts..

are u ladies prepared to settle abroad..
its abit "scarry" cos no friends there (for me).Mostly are his friends and family i know..but at times i would love to speak mandarin or hokkien to my sporean friends...

think of it, abit scarry...
:D

angie707

how are u ladies gg to have yr wedding..
for elizabeth,congrats to u - this nov on engagement and tea ceremony.

im confused on the wedding..we prefer to have a church wedding in berlin. But my bf said must get Civil Marriage first cos his govern't dont recognised church wedding. I thought its like spore where u ask ROM to send yr docu.to church and get the pastor to conduct.

we planned after wedding, we go spore and host a small pte reception..it be a thanksgiving session cos cannot get married again in spore church - only once.

not sure should i get a tea ceremony 1st or do it when im back to berlin.

so blurr ........

Hi ladies - can I join you in your discussion here?

Hi Elizabeth, perhaps it would be easier to stick to one thread huh?

My FH is Swedish and we're planning our wedding for next year.

liz4jeroen

Ya NIsa, we stick to this one, easier.

Hi angeline,

It's just like Dutch, they don't recognised church like singapore. Have to do civil and then church. That's what I'm doing also. I will tell u more as I've to run off to teach. Till later.

liz4jeroen

Hi angeline,

I go through what you go through. Lots of confusion on what is the best thing to do, we also think of having a thanksgiving but realise too expensive to travel so many times. Have to please our parents also. So in the end, it makes more sense to have engagement in church and then tea ceremony. My friends also said why not two wedding, we're like what two weddings? Where got such thing? Getting married in church twice. So funny! He can't see my gown but only on the wedding day itself. Take time to discuss. We talked for many rounds before decide on what to is the best thing to do.

I heard Munich is a beautiful place and would want to visit it one of these days. Not to worry about it. I didn't know anyone there as well but somehow I got to know some people from church. I can understand hw you feel. I stayed there for 3 months and broke down, missing my parents, not able to adjust to the weather, water and always feeling hungry and he's at work. After that I was all right. I actually like there, quiet and less crowded. He was very worried for me too, afraid I will feel bored.

Ya! My FH is also gentle and polite. My mum said I, so loud and rough and he, so gentle. What does he see in me? I got real mad with my mum! LOL! They pamper us lie a princess. Ya Nisa! Nisa's FH is also the same.

Better go, He's online and I'm neglecting him. :p

Better go and speak with him, Elizabeth. You haven't spoken to him since he left on that business trip??

So have you ladies started learning the language yet? I just started my lessons a few weeks ago. Doing ok la but wish the process would be faster. Lol.

denisek

I just signed up on this website recently and would like to join you gals on this discussion.

My FH is french and we are planning our wedding next year in summer. We are still discussing on what we need to do, 2 wedding dinners or just 1 etc. headache....! I am in france for 2 years and really cant wait to get home again soon!

Are you gals also doing a wedding dinner in your fh's country? Or just one in SIN?

Denise

liz4jeroen

Ya! I talked to him. Poor thing has to wait for me to finish my email. Me terrible! Testing his patience! I'm so bad! No lah! I've urgent email to reply, so he said it's ok until he looked bored. I better go and talk to him. HE's off to shopping now, to collect a free havesack! We are going to talk tonight again. He took off today coz his parents' wedding anniversary today.

O you are learning Swedish? Where? I've a class tonight also. Don't practise, everything forgot! Sigh! I'm doing three times a week. Kiasu! Ha ha ha...

Hi Denise, welcome! Wah! 2 yrs. Why are you back here? It's must be so tough for you! I'm already find it so tough even we are apart the longest for 6 months, now another 4 months. It's a TORTURE!!!

No wedding dinner in Singapore, lunch buffet in church. But a dinner buffet in Netherlands after church, at his dads' school canteen. A fun, private, cosy and warm with dancing and jazz music!

denisek

Hi elizabeth

Actually, I am or We are still currently in france. I am just getting homesick all the time, wish I could go home soon. Its tough here, all the language and culture differences. Well i am getting used to it but its still not like home.

Hence, we were thinking of having a celebration in SIN too as all my friends and family wont be able to fly all the way here. but have to take into consideration of $$$ if we were to have 2 celebrations.

So are you going to stay in Netherlands for good after your wedding?

Denise

liz4jeroen

Hi Denise,

O you are in France. I see! Mixed it up! Sorry! I can imagine it's tough. Are you working there? I heard it's not so nice in France as they don't like people who speaks English. How did you get to know your FH?

Ya! lots of money! That's why no dinner. Ya! Also doing it for family and friends. In fact, my parents are not flying up for my wedding. SOb! SOB! My dad won't leave his work behind! Sob! Sob! What to do! That's why I've engagement big scale and teac ceremony for my family n friends. We are also trying to do waht we can to cut cost. a lot of things we are doing it ourselves.

Ya! I'm staying there for good. Worried also. like can find work there though I plan to study. Take one step at a time.

denisek

Hi Elizabeth

I managed to find work here only after 1 and a half years. Its very tough to find a job here plus gotta learn their language. yes, u are rite, the people here rather aloof, only prefers to speak french and don't like to speak english even though they can. It was very difficult in the beginning.

I got to know him through one of my best friend. My FH was working together with her when he was in Spore. so she decided to become the match-maker!

At least its better in Netherlands. I have a good friend who used to live there, and the people there can speak good english. She managed to find a job too without too much of a problem though she tried to learn dutch too.

Yeah, very headache in terms of budget wise. gotta save up lots of money. hence, I am quite lost as in what we should do. Anyone knows if we can cover up the dinner costs thru ang-baos given by guests?

Denise

Hi hi Denise ...

kao_welcome2.gif

2 years in France? You are sooo lucky ... I was in Stockholm for two months this year. How did you manage to stay for so long? It's so difficult to stay on in Stockholm, even if one is married to a citizen due to red tape. Elizabeth and I have discussed this on another thread. Both of you are soooo lucky!!

We've decided to have the wedding in Singapore. FH doesn't like the idea of having two weddings because he wants the families to come together in celebration.

I think it's quite difficult to cover dinner costs through ang paos. No matter what, I still think it's a loss for the wedding couple - you still won't be able to get back what you've spent.

That's why FH and I have decided to keep the dinner party small and only have 50 - 70 family and close friends in attendance. That way, it's still a personal event and we won't be making a hole in our pockets.

Which part of France are you at? FH's late grand-aunt left her house to his mom and uncle to share, so we could go there for a vacation whenever we want to. I believe it's in Rue St Jean, Collioure in Roussillon.

liz4jeroen

Hi Denise,

WOW! 2 years! What makes u go there to stay first before marriage? Not sure whether ang bao can cover the cost. I guess it depends on the generosity of relatives and friends. Ya! We also have to save up. Trying all means to cut cost! I understand how you feel. I worry over the finacial sometimes. Have to work out the budget. We spent quite a bit to US and buying things for the house.
Both of us are working hard to save.

Your friend so cute! Got to know another classmate in Dutch class. Her FH was also recommended by another friend. Interesting story we all have!

So nice, Nisa, you've a house in France! So cool!
Envious!

angie707

welcome to us at this thread.Its 2 celebrations for us. One church wedding and pte lunch or dinner in germany. One in spore-chinese tea ceremony + thanksgiving lunch but held in hotel. No,we are not holding 2 church weddings-cannot lah.

come to think of it...its like alot of expenses to spend. Im trying to cut down on expenses..cos wedding is between 2 pple. I can bare the $$ fly off our pockets. But some stuff are unavoidable..eg, chinese tea ceremony.

To my FH, he find it interesting...to me, i juz feel if can dont want. Then come to phototaking in spore.Apart from studio we will have outdoor shooting..he wants sm pixs with merlion and esplanade..I love sea and yatch.

alot of things to plan. then come to staying in germany for good..i also fear if i cant find a job there if i decide not to study full time there.

I've seen the photos of the house, Elizabeth. It is very beautiful. At the moment, there is a caretaker who takes care of the house as I believe it's being rented out to holidaymakers. But I understand from FH that his late grandaunt was a painter, and they had left everything in her studio untouched. When he was there last year with his best friend and the guy's girlfriend, she was very scared to be left alone cos she said she felt something in the house. She would even wake her bf up to accompany her if she needs to go to the toilet in the middle of the night. FH, on the other hand, welcomes the idea because it means that the spirit of his late grandaunt is still very much there and he even slept in the loft bed in the studio. He said it's the best room in the house. Hmmm ... maybe i should go and have a look (maybe even get that extra feeling?).

I'm actually quite a scaredy-cat. I always insist on leaving a light on, especially if you're in a strange hotel room. Do any of you have quirks like that?

By the way, a friend of mine gave these links to me for those of you who are interested. These are links to the Singapore Clubs at the countries where you guys will be moving to.

In Netherlands: http://www.sna-nl.org/index.htm

In Germany: http://www.maribersama.de/

By the way Angeline, which part of Germany will you be moving to? I have an uncle who lives in Hamburg with his German wife. He has 4 kids ... and they are all sooo good-looking.

denisek

Glad to have found this thread. Seems like all of us do have something quite in common! like moving overseas and trying to save up money!

I am staying in Paris. Yeah 2 years, i cant even believe it myself! Actually I made the decision to move over in France first cos both my FH and I had been apart for already a year or more at that time. That was really a terrible time to go through hence we decided that I go over there first and I held a student visa, took french classes in a french uni.

We got engaged first right after and that allows me to get the temporary 'green card' to stay there. However, it was terrifying for foreigners like us in europe i think, there are many measures taken against immigration. I had so many problems too with my papers and they were so rude! I still have to renew my papers every year, with a very long queue of abt 3 hrs each. sigh! Hope it will be better in your respective countries you gals are going to.

Elizabeth, Angeline and cuclainne, when are you gals moving to your FH's countries for good? Next year or end this year? Remember to get all the Spore goodies before moving over! Asian products that you can find there are usually double or triple the price compared to what you can find in Spore.