Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

christie79

hi gals!! *WAVE*

Finally got a breather to pen down stuffs here hehe..well workwise, not too good..cos after the incident (which she have not apologised since) tension is still there..well i tried my best not to talk too much to her..cos no point talking to ppl who only judge you on your skin colour lah..since i only work 2 times a week (luckily!), so i'll just do my job and go home..

Wah Maple you can really do it man! 2 masters! hats off! i can't even do a degree hahaha LOL But hey it's so nice of your mum to come visit you! Must sure to spend some quality time together then

Culcainne we're fine thanks! though think hb has caught my cold hehe..woah! hari Raya is next week already?! That's fast! I supposed you didn't hv time for baking kueh kueh..don't stress on the pictures, take your time lah

Sure Eliz! Come by and we can have a cook out and chomp on singapore food hahaha..it's just not fun to cook singapore food just for myself..just have to let me know in advance so we can get the room ready hehehe..

Val I usually buy thermal clothings with wool material in it..the more % of wool, the better but, if not at least 50% of it made from wool, that will definitely keep you warm. But as the more wool in the clothings, usually it's more expensive..but then UK is not as cold as norway, so you might just settle for a material say like fleece or mix wool or cashmere..as it's more comfy, also if sleeping at night change into fleece so together with the feather blanket, im sure you'll be keeping yourself warm in the nights
well at least for me..i usually sleep with fleece or some days with just cotton now..(maybe i got used to the cold hehe) under thick feather blankets..(cos hb loves opening the windows to the cold during winter weather down to -20 on some nights)

Keep your feet warm is also recommended

de_luxe

maplehue glad to hear that shanghai is going well for you… I’ve heard from keith too, seems like you all hit off well tog
have you met vance and lynn yet?

Have fun with your mom! The books can take a break!

val I’m not one for thermals… find them too restrictive. I suppose you could ask the store assistants for advice? Usually I layer tight fitting clothes, loose clothes don’t retain body heat.

chrisl hope you’ve recovered by now!

naivesg welcome! I know some people living in Paris and a former school mate is in Bordeaux (she’s English but has lived in Sg for a number of yrs). Those married to French on this thread haven’t been active for a long while…

cuclainne your story abt your nephew was very funny! Next time you know who to call when you need the floors washed or the garden watered! Hope your unpacking goes well!

Wave to the rest here!

christie79

thanks Deluxe im fine now
saw your post to me on motherhood forum, will reply you soon

hope all of you will have a great week ahead!

maplehue

Its been raining in Shanghai. We think it is going to be cold after the Oct break. My mom is enjoying her time here. I feel bad cos she is all alone at home when we are at work, but amazingly, she said she has so inspiration and have finished writing 2 books!
Luckily, our filipino maid speaks english, so she is the one who brings her around.

Chrisl, i think this will be my final masters. I am tired of studying. How are you feeling now?

Deluxe, no havent met vance and lynn. Or maybe we have. We met quite many of his friends. Cant really remember their names.

Talk again later ladies.

liz4jeroen

Chrisl, we start saving now for a holiday, never really experience winter. Thinking of norway in winter. w keep u posted!

Hernie, your mum is a writer! Wow! Does she publish her books? I'm pondering over it actually! my next dream!
I saw this master in art therapy in SG and I was tempted. But I better focus on dance therapy coz there is such a lot more to learn and I've to conplete my last summer workshop HW.

Cul, ah i saw stockholm in the mag and was like hmmmm who came from there. So it's u!

Hihi to all!

mrs_n

Hi ladies long time never log into this forum.

Selamat Hari Raya to EJ, Cuclainne and Maplehue a bit belated with my greetings but I guess it's still the 'Raya' season. Maple good luck for your Masters. Have to hand it to you, studying and teaching at the same time. Not an easy combination by any standards.

Val what sun??? There's no sign of sunshine where I am. Looking very gloomy.

You can get thermals from M & S. I got cotton ones from an M & S factory outlet near where I live. Wasn't too expensive less than £20. High street could be more though. I don't really use wolly stuff as they are harder to maintain as you can't just dump them into the washing machine along with the rest of your clothes. My hubby is a great fan of fleece and he has converted me into a fleece wearing person. You can get good quality fleeces from outdoor shops. The windproof ones are pretty good too.

Keep well everyone!

maplehue

Liz, where are you going this winter? Somewhere warm? Jeff and I decided to cancel our trip to Canada this christmas cos 1) we were just there this summer and 2)we don't feel like spending this holiday in a super cold weather. The task now is telling our mom and dad in canada.

Yes, my mom is a writer. she was a teacher before. she has published one novel and many assessment books. i guess it is a rewarding passion esp. after retirement. she enjoys writing even on holidays. she is happy doing what she does.
Im sure you'll get to write later when you are more ready. now...the world needs a good dance therapist!!

Hi Mrs. N. Miss having you here. Yes, this year I have my Mom to celebrate hari raya together. Been enjoying home cooked food...but she is leaving this Sunday, so im feeling sad already
I think i'll take a break from study after this second master. Few of my friends said I should have done a doctorate than another Masters, but anyway...I've already, have to move on. I am seriously thinking of deferring after this semester cos I feel so overwhelmed, but jeff is encouraging me to press on
You are right. working and studying full time is a bad combo.

Hello Val and everyone else. take care and have a good weekend ahead.

mikebride

Mrs N, where are u in UK? it pretty cold and bleak yeseterday. but the sun is out today. ya, im into fleece too. i will stick to that for the moment as i couldnt find cheap thermal. verything is saw start from 40pounds. btw, where did u find the pound sign?

eminozy

hey ladies.. ive been MIA.. trying to figure out my world and spending too much time on facebook upoading fotos and kepo-ing around. *sigh* heheheh

Thanks for the well wishes Mrs N!
hows your little babe doing? I love them fotos of you guys by the beach... so serene!

Life have been quite hectic and i cant wait to complete my Postgrad in a couple of weeks, As much as I want to finish a MA i think i better think hard. Work and studies not easy, especially if you have ADD inside you somehow... hehehehe. Chris have been upset about work and wants to quit while i am doing well at work. But of course we both still hate Brissy so much... Sigh.

LIZ- yeah is the arts therapy the one at LaSalle or NAFA or some uni? I saw it too and contemplated about it before.. the one in LaSalle is actually from UK. :p

Ross- yes i used to be active.. in Rant but am lazy now and i have made a few frens from there i keep in contact personally too!

Hernie... yeah study plus work is hard. Wahhh cant believed your mum can complete 2 books because of Shanghai.. like that, the more I am curious about the magic of Shanghai!

Val- welcome!

Corrinne- i heard u met up with the girls in Melb.. so fun.. so they get to see Johan? so cool!

Well, thats the update on me lah .. oh and i have started a baking frenzy again.. Cooling my prune lapis Cake on the bench right now....

liz4jeroen

Hernie, at first we're thinking of going to somewhere where there's lots of snow, maybe Norway and visit Christine. Usually we do go to a xmas market every year if possible. At the last moment, I found offer and that I can stay in Singapore for 3 months, so we decided to do that instead. Jeroen is back for a month and I, 3. Now have to save again, can't go anywhere anymore. Broke! kekekekeke....

Cool! How did your mum contact the publisher in this case? I probably will write when things are more settled. It has been like nudging me for a long time. At the moment, will share them in the blog. I always get the inspiration, ideas, answers in church, in the midst of silence and stillness while praying. It just flows, flows, flows.

Val, here is getting very cold too! Switching for a nice warm summer to a cold gloomy autumn. Trying to get used to the cold now. BRRRRrrrrr..... My hands are always the first to turn cold and I can't work at all.

Emi, ja it's lasalle. I check up with a friend on the school, not very positive view. Hmmmmm... I guess, probably the system. I was tempted but decided not to, wil focus on dance more and use art too. I thought i would be able to get trained more in interpretation of the art. I guess I don't need it after all. I suggest if u r keen, i think it's still better to study in Aus?

Nisa, r u still working in KKH?

ok hi to all ladies. I better get back to planning my workshops. Take care in the meantime!

coriela

i am new here and am pretty lost. So perhaps your can help me out. I just got engaged and am trying to plan for a wedding. My HTB is Caucasian so wedding will be a bit of a fusion. I am just clueless where to start so any advice? Perhaps, someone can share with me their experience?

My HTB also wants me to take on his family name which I wanted to do too. What are the things I will need to do?

christie79

hi hi welcome Laetitia
Congrats!

discuss with your HTB on whether if you guys want 1 or 2 weddings? Cos some of us here had 2 weddings. One in Sg and another overseas
then plan for the date and book hotel, get ready gowns (plan if you want a simple package MTM or OTR)

as for name change, you can do a deed poll to change name or just add in e.g: Mrs Ann Lim Nilsen after your marriage, but must bring your marriage cert along to ICA at lavender to make the change in your ic or passport

hope this helps, congrats again

coriela

Hi Christie,

Thank you for your well wishes. We intend to have 2 weddings. One in Singapore and another in UK (where he is from). However, it seems so difficult to plan a wedding so far away when we are both here. His parents are not in UK at the moment either. So I am at a lost what to do and how to pull it.

as for the change of name, if I change totally with a deed poll to his family name. say Laetitia Smith, what about my birth name? All my past certificates and documents are in my maiden name. will that not be complicated?

Thank you so much again for your kind advice.

maplehue, raya came and went .. we chucked everything in the back room but knowing some of my relatives, everything also want to see so let them see la .. lol.

how are you settling in Shanghai?

chrisl, i have photos of the house before it's been furnished - not sure if you would be interested in that?

no time to make raya cookies this year - i only made the honey cornflakes
i shall endeavour to do better next year.

Liz, are you planning on going to Stockholm? You should ..
then you can go to meet Christine in Norway

yes, i am still working at KK - saw your email on FB but no chance to reply yet. will do it soon

so nice to be able to come back for 3 months .. but won't Jeroen miss you??

Mrs N, thanks for the raya greetings .. how are things on your end?

emi, saw you're more active on FB than here
how are things going for you in Brissy?

welcome laetitia and congratulations!
perhaps you can hire a wedding planner for the wedding in the UK? not sure about the name change though cos i never got around to doing it myself ..

liz4jeroen

Laetitia, welcome & Congrats!

I changed my name in the IC when I was back in Singapore. Just produce your marriage certificate (I married in Holland) as proof. I added my Christian name, so I showed my Catholic baptism certificate as proof as well. Then they asked you how you want it to be done. I had it as Elizabeth Rutten-Ng Siew Choo. They also put a stamp in my passport. The one who attended to me mess things up and mentioned that I cannot have Elizabeth Rutten-Ng. Luckily the head clarified what I wanted and I got what I wanted. It is done immediately on the spot. Just wait a while. Pretty fast. Singapore is always very efficient!

Chrisl, no money lah at the moment. I would love to travel all ove Europe. Stockholm & Norway are two countries in my list.

Jeroen is back with me for the first month and I'll be alone for the last 2 months. O yes, he has already asked me, "Am I going to miss him?"

I've been holding it back, afraid what if I get preggie. I decided to go ahead with it and follow my heart desire. I won't know when I will hit the jackpot. When it comes, I will deal with it. I don't want to miss the chance and regret after that that I didn't do it, to promote dance therapy in Singapore to bring awareness to fellow Singaporean, one of my goal and dream.

mrs_n

Hi ladies long time no 'see'.

Hi Val I'm in North Nottinghamshire. Live in a village somewhere between Sheffield and Lincoln. Pound sign is on my keyboard.
You must be using a singapore keyboard then if there is no pound sign?

Liz wow 3 mths in Sg that's cool. But I'm sure Jeroen will miss you terribly. Maybe he will get the house finish by the time you get home.
Just seize the opportunity when it comes. Preggie can strike any time and I believe if it's God's will for you to go back home, He will make things work out in the end even if you are preggie. So don't worry just go with the flow.

Laetitia welcome! I added my married name to my I/C and passport too. Just go to ICA with your marriage cert (I got married in the UK) bring your passport too so it can be done at the same time. Your original name will still stay on the I/C and passport (ICA won't allow you to remove it unless you do a deed poll I guess) but what they will do is add your married name below it. So it will be something like this:

Laetitia XXX XXX XXX (originally)
Mrs Laetitia Smith (or whatever they suggest or you choose it to be)

For wedding planning in UK, it might be possible to do some of it online. http://www.confetti.co.uk/ is rather good place to start with and the forum is a wealth of info for planning a wedding in the UK. We had 2 weddings too. One in the UK and one in Sg.

Cuclainne I'm fine. Just busy and tired so that's why I've kind of MIAed a bit on here and on the SGM thread.

Emi D's doing fine. Walking all over the place now and turning the house upside down! The house just gets messier everyday!
How's brissy? Spring should now be in the air for you.

liz4jeroen

Hi Sharon aka Mrs N, Thanks for the affirmation. That's exactly what is happening. The feeling was very strong to go back and funny that by chance, I found a promo that allows me to stay in Singapore for 3 months. It's difficult to do workshops in a month. If it's God's plan, I just follow through and have faith that He will someday give us a child. Ja, I talked to Jeroen and he felt the same too.
I just follow what my heart tells me and just put my trust in God.
Jeroen said exactly the same thing that he will work on the house when I'm away. I can be a distraction sometimes and he can't work. LOL!

coriela

Hi ALl,

Thank you for the warm welcome.

Cuclainne - That is a good idea to find a wedding planner to help me with it. HTB just suggest we do it near his hometown so perhaps his brother can look after things for us too. Initially wanted to have it in Nottingham as that was where I was for many years.

Elizabeth - Did you have a double barrel last name? You mention you are now Elizabeth Rutten-Ng. Do you not need a deed poll for that?

Mrs N - So I can do it without having a deed poll. So my IC and Passport will be Yip Cxx Lxx, Laetitia, and below that will be Mrs Laetitia Mckellar? Can I do without the Mrs? And does it mean I can use either name? So glad to find someone who did 2 weddings too in UK and Singapore. Can you share your experience with me? Where did you have your UK wedding? Did you use http://www.confetti.co.uk/ too?

Sorry for all these questions.

liz4jeroen

No worries, yup i have my husband's and my own surname. No I don't need to do a deed poll as I've relevant documents to proof it.

Feel free to ask questions. Glad to ans if I know.

mrs_n

Hi Laetitia It was the lady at ICA that suggested the 'Mrs'. Not sure if the other girls have Mrs on theirs as well. I didn't do double barrel as my own surname is too long!
You can use either name. I tend to use my married name in the UK while I left all my bank, insurance etc in my maiden name in Sg. So long as your original name remains on the IC they have no issue with the addition of the married name.

We did our church and ROM in the UK and then 2 months later had a blessing in church and dinner in Sg. We are based in the UK so the Sg side of things were taken care of by my family who basically told us just to turn up!
So we just planned for the UK one or rather my hubby did as I was busy writing up my thesis at that time. I used confetti a little just to get ideas. But our UK wedding was rather simple and we did most things ourselves. We had the ceremony in the church that we both go to which is in Retford and then had the reception in our village hall. Nothing fancy really.

Where is your hubby from? Sounds like a good idea to have it near his hometown if his brother is willing to help. At least he will know the area well and be able to source a venue for you and maybe negotiate a good deal.

Guess you could consider Nottingham too if you know the city well! Nottingham is our county capital but I've never really been around the city except for the area near the train station! Ha! Ha! It isn't very close to us as we are at the northern end of the county. Have you been to Georgetown? Looks like a nice place to have a wedding!

Liz good luck with the workshops. Have you advertise them on the SGM?

eminozy

hey ya'alll...

Nissa, Yeah its been 3 crazy active weekends and I will have another weekend where my cousin from US is visiting.. so that would be fun and then it will quiet down like nobody's business.

Mrs N.... Spring? LOL. Brissy is weird.. we suddenly find ourselves in Summer in the beginning of Winter. Very odd and hard to understand but the Jacarandas are blooming everywhere.

Liz.. it is important to be the first in SG and make it big so that people will remember! 3 months is very intense. I used to be so cool being apart from Chris. Now its so hard... 1 night already sad....kekekeke. He especially cannot tahan not being able to makan my cooked food! hehehahahahehe

Laetitia- Welcome! Its quite easy to organise if you are free and able to form a good r'ship with the people/vendors for your wedding. I did it through emails, phones and visits... while i was in SG, Austria and Australia. One of the best way to find good contacts are also through this websites and theknot.com.
Best of luck! but probably if you have too much to do, a wedding planner is indeed more realiable and a very good friend to assist you when you most in need of help!

liz4jeroen

Emilia,

It's not a matter of being the first to break into the market in Singapore. My goal has always been wanting to bring awareness to fellow Singaporean via workshops. It's going to be a challenge but I don't believe in forcing. If they're comfortable, then they will do it. If not, it's ok. I will be holding a talk/presentation on dance therapy and a performance. There is a difference between therapy and workshops. The thing is coz I'm trained as a therapist, in workshops, I do it very differently unlike the typical workshops ppl attend. In real therapy, it takes time and a real process. The workshops will at least help to bring an awareness to how to pay attentin to oneself, body, mind, heart and spirit.

Ja! Jeroen went on niz trip and it's tough. For the good cause, we just have to tahan.

georginat

hello ladies !!! Merry Christmas to all of you !!

we were back to sg end nov but busy letting Luke adjusting back to life in sg..for the 1st week, he was awoke till 5 am !! gosh !! made me so tired..

nisa, maybe we can have a gathering at your place? would be nice for the kids to play in the garden..

mrs_n

Merry Christmas everybody!
kao_kiss.gif

Gina long time no 'see'. Are you in Sg now?

I'm in Sg until 1 Jan. D also had a bit of problems adjusting to Sg time and weather at the beginning. He is much better now but we will be going back soon ... next Friday!!

liz4jeroen

Ah u r back! Is Luke suffering from jet lag?

Arrange one when I'm back in Feb, I haven't seen you ladies yet! : )

Merry Xmas to all!

Mrs N, r u having a great time in SG?

de_luxe

Just realised that I've not posted here for ages. Hope all of you are well and had a good Christmas!

Gina - where did you come back from? Saudi or Oz?

maplehue

Hello ladies,
Its been awhile since my last post here. Hope everyone had a good X'mas and enjoying time with family and friends.
Gina and Mrs.N, enjoy Singapore and the good food..and perhaps shopping too
We are in Vietnam and just resting. Been busy with work and exhausted from being sick, so the fresh air is really good.
Liz, not long it will be your turn to be in Sg. All the best and have fun!
Nisa, how's your veggies garden?

Happy New Year to everyone!! Hugs.

de_luxe

Hi maplehue, nice to hear from you. Hope you are well rested from your Vietnam break. Have you been sick again in Shanghai? Your health did not improve? Anyhow, hope you and Jeff are getting on well in Shanghai. Take care!

liz4jeroen

O yes Hernie, I can't wait for Feb to come! Take great care!

I see u ladies in SG! This time, we've to meet. The last few rounds were too short & hectic to do so. How abt it, ladies in SG?

maplehue

Hi deluxe, nice to hear from you too. Hope you and family are well. Yes, I've been a bit sick in Shanghai. First was the flu+fever, then down with an acute bronchitis. We are enjoying Shanghai, but definitely not the pollution. Have a great new year! Tickles to babyJ.

Liz, you must be excited to go back to Sg. I always get jealous when friends go back there. Hee. Happy for you.
One thing I miss about Singapore is the yummy food!! All ready for the workshops?

Hi to everyone else. Take care and enjoy the new fresh year

andrealiu

hi all, i am new here..a very happy 2010 to everyone!

laetitia: i am also in the mids of planning both a wedding in UK and SG. how's your preparation coming along? I have to say it was quite overwhelming initially. We were lucky to have found a good venue - oaks farm in croydon,london. They basically recommended everything else we needed and were very easy to work with. The SG side is more complicated...lots of emailing and calling. we are going back in feb to look at photographers and MUA ect

hard work all in all!

maplehue, saw your vacation pics .. so lovely .. but quite jauh to get to muine yah ..

my veggie garden is coming along nicely .. i've started planting some other things too
when are you coming back to sg for a visit?

congrats andrealiu
kao_welcome2.gif

liz4jeroen

Hi Hernie,

Saw your FB. Is everything ok?

I'm looking forward to SG! I still have to do up a brochure for mothers & baby as requested by a friend. In the midst of it. And also transfering the multiply to blog. I'm calling my pte practice Embodied Movement. I take one step at a time.

Welcome andrea!

Cul, I would love to see your garden when I'm in SG! Can I? I'm a garden craze! LOL!

maplehue

We just got home. Shanghai was 4degC.Such a change in temperature. Our house was 8 degC when we got it and it is taking so long to warm up. Everything is freaking cold!

Cuclainne, Muine was fun. It has been one of my best hols with relaxing, pampering and doing nothing for 3 weeks. Will miss the sleep in for sure! but yes, it is quite a journey to Muine. We used to stay in Saigon for one night before driving there, but now can't be bothered. It took us 6 hours this time to get to Saigon. It was horrible. Can't wait to see your garden lah. We are not sure when we are coming back to sg, but I am hoping we could squeeze a few days before we go anywhere for the summer holiday (which we don't know where yet).
Maybe we can meet up again yeah when we are in Sg

Are you guys going anywhere this summer?

Liz, Im fine now. Thanks for everything
I like the new name 'Embodied Movement'
You are going to be great. Is everything ready for the workshops in Sg? Or are you still tuning things?

I've read your blog when I was in Vietnam. Love it, but I am having trouble logging in to it or any blogs (as expected) from China. Haven't been able to log in to facebook either and when I did, there were no photos shown. I'm going to take a break from it for awhile I think. Maybe it is a good thing since this 6 months is going to be a SUPER busy time.

My textbooks have arrived from Melbourne and I am still waiting for the notes and cds to arrive. First 6-7 months of 2010 will be busy. With a fulltime job, it is going to be a lot of reading, researching, stress, anxiety and everything. I am trying to prepare myself mentally
I have also already told my Mom about it incase she wants to come during the exams time. I know she will not bother me, but I told my Mom, its not her, its ME! I know I would want to chat, eat, go out, etc with her. Can't focus for sure. I just need to be in my own shell during this time...Even when I was in Melbourne completing my degrees, I became a hermit. Only this time, I have J with me and I know I will need him to get through it.

Good luck my dear on your coming projects. I look forward to reading/hearing about it and seeing you grow as a dance therapist.

Welcome Andrea and Laetitia.

georginat

hi nisa, will go to ELin's bday party with Luke :) Pls email me your address, thanks.

Elizabeth, we will still be in sg till ard 25th feb..after that we will join Julio in Saudi, now in the midst of applying the visa to go there...

de_luxe, nisa, we came back from spain, luke and i were in Madrid for 3 mths, back to sg end nov..so will join Julio after CNY..

so long did fo to Facebook, and was happy to see Lisa's preggy photos ! didnt know she is expecting till just now..welcome to Mummy club, Lisa !

Mrs. N ! missed you this time ! did D enjoy his time in Sg?

maplehue, sure, when back to sg, will definitely eat eat eat ! always put on weight when back..hope you are feeling better, do take care !

chrisl, hows life ?

maplehue

Gina...yeah same here. Whenever I'm back in Sg, will put weight for sure
Take care and I'm sure your family is looking forward to seeing you and Luke for CNY!! I am feeling better, thanks...and has started work again this week. With the pollution, cold weather and work, it sometimes can make me so run down.

Deluxe...it has been hard to get on facebook since we came back from Vietnam and if I did, there is always error on the page and either I can't see photos or write comments or BOTH! Hope Johann had a great birthday.

Happy Birthday dear Johann...from aunt Hernie

Hello everyone else!!

..and Nisa saw the event invitation. Thank you!! But couldn't select any button to write comments. Won't be able to make it again this time as we will be in Shanghai. I'm sure it'll be a fun one
Lucky girl!

liz4jeroen

Maplehue, u r most welcome!
Thanks for the feedback and your encouragement. Yes, I've got the details of the 8 workshops done and now officially launched my website/blog!
No worries about it! U can sign for the newsletter whenever u can do so.

I've faith that you can do it in your study. Take it one step at a time. Don't forget to take a break in between and you can do it with your mum when she is there.

Gina, we got to meet b4 u leave for Saudi then. Haven't got the chance to meet u n Luke yet.

de_luxe

maplehue good luck with your studies! do remember to take a break every now and then and chill out!

I heard from a fren that in CHina you can get "uncensored" internet access if you link up with some providers so route access such that it doesn't come into contact with their firewall. I heard it's more expensive but not sure if it's illegal.

J had a great birthday... still slowly opening the pressies... we'll have new toys to last him for a couple of months

gina hope to see you at elin's party too! Haven't had the chance to meet up with you all these years. I'll be going with Johann.

Belated welcome to Andrea & Laetitia... as you can tell, all of us here have been married for a couple of years already and mainly use this thread to keep in touch. While we can't be of very much help with wedding planning (our info is prob outdated)... we can certainly emphatize with the challenges of being in a mixed and/or LDR relationship / marriage. All the best for your planning!

christie79

Hey wow..been a while since i've dropped by..

welcome Andrea!

Gina- Gosh! just saw your msg, im good..busy in some ways cos pre CNY preps..hehe starting my own traditions here at home in norway. Will be inviting in laws for a dinner celebrations/mini party this CNY Eve..and later i'll be busy with making fortune cookies

How have you been?? to? saw FB pics of luke. He is so charming!

Hi to the rest!

georginat

hi ladies !!

deluxe, it was nice to meet u and yohann :) and thanks for taking some of Luke's pics :) too bad the boys are too young, can't really play together yet

nisa, elin and sofi really look alike ! and they are so pretty ! Really big eyes they have!

ladies , i am now in riyadh, came over 5 days ago..still in the midst of settling..will update more soon...

take care all of u and will be back soon !

als

Hi All!

need some advise about name changing.....

We are getting married in Norway this July and I believe the marriage cert will be in norwegian... I am hoping to get my Singapore passport renew in July when we're back for our SIngapore wedding celebration... but thought it might be a good idea to renew the passport and change the name on it at the same time.....

So can anyone advise:
1) Do I need to get the marriage cert translated into English for name change purposes?

2) Do I get a new passport with the name change or do they just make amendment to the existing one?

3) Is it neccessary to update the name on the IC? Can I not just update my passport?

4) How long does it take for them to change the name on the passport? We've limited time in Singapore.

Does anyone know of any website that gives us step by step guide on how to have the marriage name added?

Thanks a million in advance!

ailing, i think the best person to help you would be chrisl (she's got a norwegian husband too) but they got married in sg. i am sure that the marriage certificate will be in both norwegian and english .. i know it's not the same document but even my husband's conversion cert contained swedish, english and arabic so don't worry too much yah

1. think it should also contain english, otherwise enjoy wedding first and then think of this :p

2. if your passport is not even close to expiring yet, they will just include it in your current passport. mine was handwritten in by the officer, and signed and endorsed of course.

3. it's up to you if you want to include your married name on your IC or not. i recently added mine in (and i took the opportunity to do my passport as well) only because it was time for me to re-register my IC - this was after 4 years' of marriage .. hahahaha.

4. very fast, especially if you make an appointment with them online instead of going to ICA and taking a queue number there.

you can try the ICA website for more details.

HTHs.

coriela

Hello ladies,

Not been coming into the thread for something and wow... so many post. I am kinda lost reading the posts though. Believe most of your knew each other way back when the thread was first started.

I am currently planning my SG wedding and then a smaller one in UK. Will have the church blessings in UK instead. As since we are both based in SG, thought will be better to plan it this way.

Welcome Audrea and Ailing.

Audrea - is your HTB from London? Mine is from Southwest, Devonshire. How is your wedding preparation coming along?

Ailing - When is your wedding? Must be very exciting!