Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

maplehue

cuclainne, if my place is near your workplace, maybe we can meet up after your work?
hehe. eat dosai? hehe.or meet at plaza singapura?
my agent asked us whether we were keen to look at landed property like a small terrace, but i said no cos i am scared of mozzies, insects and any type of small creatures like worms etc. Also since we travel a lot, i feel it is a little safe compared to a condo that has a gate and security. maybe im just paranoid. the downside being in a big condo is privacy i think cos the swimming pools,gym, park will always be crowded with people,if not domestic helpers.so my agent took us to a smaller and lower rise condos which are more 'intimate'. i kinda like it. quieter for sure.

wah that 'open concept' kitchen and asking for 4K is definitely a rip off!my agent is also a gung-ho person. she will scold or speak firmly if the other agent tries to b**sh*t us. have you tried siglap area?

chrisl, sooo happy to know that you are finally able to come home for your bro's wedding.tat was very sweet of your mil to stand in for you
hope when you come back your schedule wont be too packed cos it'll be nice for everyone to meet yeah.

buying a property in sg; apparently there is a restriction when our foreign hubbies are not working in singapore. i cant really remember, but before the bank agrees on the loan, they(foreign spouse)should have a certain amount of saving in the bank to pay a certain % of the property and it is more than 20%. and we the singaporeans have to be the main applicant., but i think it is also depends on case by case basis.

thanks for helping me with the facebook dear.
i'l check it after this.

emi, i think it'll be good to get a new hdb so can get subsidy from the government as first timer. i haven't used that 'privilege' yet cos my maisonaitte at ubi was a resale., but jeff taknak hdb cos he needs his pool!
we've also been thinking of investing on a property near monash, but dont know whether non-pr are allowed to do it. do you have any idea?

cat, your fh sounds like my hubby..loves his steak and potatoes and not into asian cuisine except for chicken rice!
ha. i think
emi and cuclainne hubbies are more daring! Do you have to pay alot for the wedding planner?

Ok guys, time to go and collect my biometric passport! i dont know why, but im excited. ha. silly me!

maplehue, that sounds like a plan but you do have to let me know in advance so i can plan for my mom to jaga the kids .. :D

i know what you mean - i told elias that having landed means more work cos you have to make sure no mozzies, garden is well-tended, more bugs aka cockroaches and house lizards .. i also don't like the big condo types - so far i've only stayed in those smaller condos .. my current place has 52 apartments - 4 flats per floor, 13 floors .. don't think we can go 'bigger' than this .. hahahah..

no, have not tried that area - but should be quite ex right?

mrs_n

My my this thread has been busy in the last 2 days!

cuclainne wow car parking fees isn't cheap! Hee! Hee! Bicycle or motorbike could be better option.

You a bit like me. I passed the BTT first and sat on it for 6 years before deciding to do the practical. Wasn't too confident of myself at that time besides I had just started working so needed to save up for lessons.
I second Gina's suggestion can take it up at the driving school. I took mine from ssdc. They were quite systematic. Passed at second go, would have passed the first time round if not for failing to check blind spot! Though thought I would have to take it 3 times. Had a really funny the examiner the second time round who commented on every move I made and he made me so nervous that I almost hit the kerb while parking! So I was totally gobsmacked that he passed me after all the grumblings! I didn't drive very much after I passed. Cheaper to take MRT to work I guess and besides I learnt on a Jap car and my parents had an old VW which was like a tank! Can understand your nervousness though I think I would be if I drove in Sg. I hate going on the expressways especially when motorbikes tend to overtake you on both left and right. So dangerous.

When I first started driving in the UK I used to go 10 miles below the speed limit! Ha! Ha! Guess I was the most annoying driver on the road then. Now I don't think of it. Driving is something you just get used to I guess.

EJ if you're just adding married name to IC. It does no harm to bring your passport along as you won't be charged extra for it. If your passport is still valid for a few more years they will not give you a new passport instead they will stamp on a page inside which says 'Also known as Mrs So and so'. That will give you the flexibility of travelling in your married name if you so wish. Of course you will need to point the page out to the counter staff while checking in otherwise they will think you're trying to be funny travelling under a different name! When your passport is up for renewal, you will be given the option of including your married name again. Only this time if you choose to include it, the married name will appear under your original name which makes travelling a whole lot easier as everything will be on the same page.

Btw best time to go to ICA is very early morning in midweek, not very crowded at that time. I went there and got everything done within 2 hours.

maple have added you to FB. Thanks to Chrisl. Hope you enjoyed your outing to ICA!
How long are you planning to be in Sg for?

Hee! Hee! Maple it's not advisable to feed honey to babies under a year old as there is the possibility of infant botulism.

Chrisl you do have a very nice MIL indeed. So will you be spending your 2nd wedding anniversary in Sg?

Gina hee! hee! Luke is certainly growing up. Now he can eat with you.

georginat

mrs .N, yes, he eats pretty well though he still drinks milk..and he poos alot too !! sometimes 2 or 3 times a day..i thought they older they get, they will poo less..hmmm...maybe his digestive system too good !haha

chrisl, so nice to hear you are going back to sg in June ! cool! we should all make an effort to have ONE gathering..what u ladies say? It would be so nice to get together , we ladies can gossip, the kids canplay together and the men..hmm...look after the kids?:p

EJ, would be nice u can go back sg too..never met you before ..is Celine aka Ms lala huh??

maplehue, KFC considers as junk food, but well..i like mash potato too, at least i didnt give him the gravy !

de_luxe, a few mths later , your diaper bag will have lesser items..in the beginning my diaper bag was pretty big, few of baby stuff but months down the road, you will carry lesser and lesser items...

de_luxe

Ladies… I’m on for a gathering… just please note that I’ll be in germany 18 jun to 2 jul. And will be occupied from 15 Jun onwards cuz J has a vaccination scheduled before we leave. Will also prolly need a week after the trip to recover from jet lag.

mapleGo to samy’s curry with someone else??

Yeah, babies below 1 yr are not allowed to have honey. J is exclusively breastfed currently. Think I’ll only start weaning at 6 mths.

Mother’s day was kinda funny / strange… in the morning, hb said it’s mother’s day but I dun get anything cuz “you’re too new” and also said it shld be the kid, not partner, acknowledging mom’s efforts so I’ll have to wait till J’s older. I was so disappointed, I cried in private. Not that I want a pressie (that’s not the point), just that I felt like whatever I did in the past months went unappreciated and din liked being told “don’t be like this”. But about 30 mins later, he suddenly dumped J on me and said he needed to get something from Jurong Point – very surprising as he usually hates shopping centres. He returned in about 1 hr with a bouquet of flowers that had a Baby Tigger soft toy attached to it. Apparently the flowers were for me and the soft toy was for J cuz he was also exactly 4 months old that day. I later asked if this was planned or impromptu and he refused to say so dun really know what to make of it.

BTW, I’m much better now, so would be ok to meet up in town too… sms me if you wanna go out.

Jeff Is so sweet to massage u.. I hope the tiger balm din sting his eyes too much!

cuclainne I think it’s possible to get landed properties in decent condition at suitable prices cuz I’ve seen my frens’ places. I guess it’s a matter of luck too. Those that u viewed were certainly a rip off!

Yes, a lot more work is needed esp w a garden. My parents have a terrace and it was a lot easier to deal with cats and rodents (insects are not such a big deal, there aren’t many lizards, cockroaches or mozzies) when we had a dog cuz he would chase them away or kill them. But since he died, my parents have been having a harder time. Once a stray cat even happily / daringly entered the backyard, walked through the kitchen and living room, out the front door and went across the car porch to go out through the main gate, as if it owned the house. My parents were so shocked / surprised, they could only stare as the fellow did his little tour!!

chrisl ur MIL is really nice… glad to know u’ll be able to attend ur bro’s wedding!

emi are the tickets juz as ex on budget airlines? I once got a fairly decent price for a return from Melb to Perth. But I guess Brissy might be diff?

mrs n I dinno that we can just add a page for the married name, was under the impression that I had to get a new one. Since we have to go to ICA anyway to get J’s passport, maybe a good time to get that stamp in my passport too.

gina I really hope I can bring less out when he’s older… my fren w a 7mo seems to still bring a lot with her!

Now that u know Luke likes mash potatoes, u can make your own. Really easy and much healthier than KFC’s!

liz4jeroen

Hi hi ladies! I'm probably lost and can't catch up with the forum but anyway it's fine. I still cannot figure out who are the newcomers and who are they and where they are. Brain is full of other matters nowadays. LOL!

Nice that some of you are going back to Sg n meet up. My parents and sister are coming in June. First time for my parents. Will be an experience for them.

Deluxe, men can be very funny in expressing themselves at times. But glad that HB went to get you a bouquet and a little soft toy for J. He is still sensitive to do so. Perhaps just don't know how to put it across in words. Sometimes they can say the damnest thing even though they don't mean it. LOL! Whether it is impromtu or planned, take heart that he loves and cares for u. That's the most comforting thought and feelings. Enjoy yr hols in Germany.

Hernie, good that you have a good rest in Singapore. I found out what are the causes for my headaches. It's getting so much better these days. Stress probably is causing you migraine. HK is not s nice place to live in. I probably will be like you, very stressed and getting migraine.

Mrs N, long time no see n no talk. Dominic is so big now, he does takes after you in some ways in look I feel. He is so adorable!

Gina, I haven't got time to look at Luk's video but I'm very curious as I study baby's movement. Will do so when I get the time. Nice to video the process and development of baby. So fun!

Chrisl, congrats on yr bro's wedding, a great time to be back. Nice! Enjoy!

Sarah, how are u adjusting to Sweden?

Hi to Culculainne, Emi, Cat (welcome) n the rest if I miss out the newcomers as I'm still super blur. My apology! : ) Take care!

christie79

hey ladies!

dropping by on a lazy sunday after all the gathering yesterday! well it's norway's national day today and yesterday we had cake and simple dinner together with In laws and also hb's aunt and cousins from sweden
today they're off to visit hb's grandpa

Thanks gals! Finally after a year, can be able to go back
I just miss everything .. i can't wait to go shopping and eating and oh try the singapore flyer! hehe i sound like a typical tourist now ;)

Maple~ if you like condos minus the garden and crowded pools..i think smaller condos might be a better deal. We once rented 1 in fort road, Mia Place, it's nice and cosy! But im not too sure if it's available now..you can 'see see look look' hehe

Deluxe~ aw..im sure your hb appreciates you! Moreover you're the mother of his child J
Just sometimes men are not very good in expressing themselves emotionally. That's why men are from mars and women are from venus
) sometimes i have to sulk HARD ENOUGH to get my way and hb to see that im annoyed LOL

Gina~ Might be nice meeting up
after 2 years i think? When are you coming back?

Mrs N~ Will be spending a belated wedding anniversary and our birthdays too (as both our DOB is in June) was telling hb that it's good deal for him that he can just get one present for all the occasions, in this case, it's the airtickets
hahah but in a way, the tickets are cheaper this time round cos of the economic crisis and the flu thingy going around. Just hope that SG will not change the rules of travelers having to quarantine themselves if traveling from other countries other than US and mexico..if that happens we're going to miss the wedding in anyway

ok got to go make dinner! Talk soon
kao_byebye.gif

georginat

ej, saw from the news QLD is flooding quite badly..hope you are not affected by it..

ej/ nisa, got to ask my mom 1st will she look after Luke , if yes, i can go for the dinner, if not, quite difficult...what about another gathering where can bring kids along ?.-P

eminozy

Hey all.

Gina
Yeah the rain have been nuts, It started on Monday and my folks came on Tuesday and was sorta home bound for the 3 days they were here. We had to cancel our trip to Noosa, Sunshine Coast for the 2nd time due to FLOOD and torrential rain. I give up lah- I think QLD dont like me! hehehe. But its been ok since Friday although we went to Gold Coast yesterday and the ocean nearly hit us with TSUNAMI waves on the beach. QLD is declared as Natural Disaster zone and I think it will be a couple of weeks again to clean up the beaches after cleaning up the oil spill that just finished a week ago!
Anyhoo... its all good now. Exc ept that the ferries and cats are not working in the river. Have to take the leceh bus everywhere now to work and all...*sigh*

In regards to the dinner- is the LINE not suitable for kids? If not we can try book another place that is more kid friendly- any idea? Or issit just us without kids? I am unsure.

Update on Dinner...

so far.

attendees:
Emi + Chris
Nissa + Elias

Not confirmed
Hernie + Jeff
Gina + Julio

me and elias probably not bringing the kids otherwise cannot enjoy food and chit-chat (cos chasing around after them) .. attention span still very short and when we brought them to fullerton last, it was quite stressful for me - i only started eating when elias arrived which was about 1.5 hours later!!

gina, can bring the kids go to go go bambini at dempsey - let the fathers chase after them. we can sit down and chit-chat at cafe

glympse

on facebook? at least i know i am hehe

sorry ladies for the super long MIA! been a crazy past 2 months with the wedding, settling into our new apartment here in sweden, getting all the admin stuff in place, and constantly updating facebook so that friends and family in singapore know what's happening in my life

how's everyone doing?

mrs_n

Probably out sun tanning while the sun is shinning!
Is it?

I'm not going in to work today so am a bit more free to surf the net. Car's in the workshop for it's yearly check up.

glympse nice to hear from you. Has things settled down now that you can have a breather and enjoy the summer? Oh have to look for you on FB and find out what you have been up to.

cuclainne so how? What's the update on Paris?

Mrs N, we're heading up to paris in two weeks' time .. no, it's not to move up (lol) but for elias to do a presentation and have some scheduled meetings with the higher-ups. i supposed we'll find out what's going to happen after that.

glympse, yes i've seen some photos on your FB

emi, sorry gal but i might not be able to meet you on the 21st
we are considering going to stockholm for a few days before heading to paris so might not be here on 21st.

mrs_n

cuclainne all of you going to Paris?
Cool. You and the girls can explore while Elias is at work. Yeah since you'll be in Europe might as well go to stockholm. Kill 2 birds with one stone.

pumpkinmama

Hi!!
I thought I would pop in to have a look and say hi. Am from the Motherhood forum and have a Frenchie for a partner. We're also new parents, Baby A is 3.5 months old. We just got back from Rawa and heading to France in a few days time. Really nice to read how you're all handling it being overseas. We're stuck in Singapore for the moment but will be moving overseas at some point in the next few years.

*waves to deluxe, Mrs N, Liz, cuclainne*

christie79

hi ladies!

been MIA packing, washing and such..even baking for my sis who special ordered some cookies hehe..next week flying..excited but a little tensed though cos i have a phobia of traveling on planes

That's nice Cuclainne! you can take a breather with a well deserved holiday! How long will you be there?

Mrs N your side sunny? Here it's been raining and raining then a little sun comes along then rain again..my MIL was complaining about will the sun ever come here at all LOL it seems a little sad with the weather i should say and we can't do things we have scheduled to do and we're flying off next week already..hopefully this weekend can do some last minute stuffs if the weather's nice..

Glympse saw from FB that you'll be learning driving too? have you started yet? For me i dun know when i'll be able to drive..sigh..cos learning fee is so ex here!

hi Pumpkin! Nice to see you here

k goto go again! Hope the rest of the gals are fine!

Mrs N, at the moment it's just me and Elias

hi L G! *waves* How was your vacation to Rawa and are you all packed for France?

chrisl, when will you be in Sg? would love to catch up with you, it's been ages!

we'll only be there for a week cos i need to get back in time since my nephew will be going for ENT surgery on 29th.

glympse, you're taking your driver's license there? i heard you'll have a half-day skid course lesson but it'll be in Swedish - you can bring Emil to translate for you. Elias said this is the fun part of learning to drive in Sweden - they want to see how well you can drive on icy roads (for wintertime). Sounds scary to me, actually! I have a hard time walking on my own two feet in slush .. let alone try to control a car in it.

eminozy

aloo alooo...

HI LG. Welcome! I am just trying to get girls together which is an impossible feat for international jetsetters in here! LOL

i was thinking.. how are people thinking about the 28th JUNE instead? same time same place....

Since so many cant make it? If you guys prefer so, we can u make it-28th?

how how??? do tell.

de_luxe

emi, sorry still can't do 28th... i'm back from germany on 2 jul. And even then, i can't do dinner cuz Johann's bed time is btwn 7-8pm.

maplehue

sorry been mia! been busy with some 'projects'.

will try write again.

hi LG, welcome, Im maplehue married to a Canadian and next month would be our 3rd anniversary. its nice to have you onboard!!

emi! I guess I won't be able to make it to our gathering in June cos we will not be in singapore by then. we are going to canada and will be leaving in a few days time!, but will be back in july. how long will you guys stay in singapore? maybe we can meet when i come back? can you let me know your departure date?

same with chrisl, deluxe and cuclainne yeah...if its possible, i would really like us to meet up. prolly in july? gina is also here right? hope we can meet up for tea or lunch or whatever la.

deluxe...ive been wanting to make a trip to nanyang to see you and baby J, but always got stalled by something and plus not feeling so great. I was on anti-biotics again after the last time i mentioned about anti-biotics. Jeff keep reminding me if im not fit, i should not visit yet cos now you have baby J and babies can be sensitive. now that you drive, maybe we can meet up during the day at somewhere conveninet for you and J? I mean in July. You are back by then right?

enjoy your trip yeah. and nisa too.

i am so annoyed that SQ has stopped flying directly to Vancouver. We have to fly JAL and with the price we had to pay, it is just not fair that we have to transit in Tokyo first. That'll add more hours to the journey.

Miss you girls and talk soon.
and once again ladies...i know almost all of you will be traveling this summer. Take care, have fun and take pics!!

same to you mrs n, liz and marge yeah

muackks!

als

Heyo Ladies I'm back in action after some long biz trips and crazy working hrs!

How's everyone doing????!!!

Mrs N-> It was so nice to meet up at the Singapore day!!!! I am so missing the laksa....droolzzzzzz.... how are you and your family doing?????

Chrisl-> Yes! I found the perfect cocktail dress to wear for Torstein's Brother's summer wedding! We'll be going back to Trondheim for a week at the end of this month , to attend the wedding... then we can watch and learn!

By the way I just found out that I need to provide a' Certificate of No Impediment to Marriage' from the Singapore Govt, if I am to get married in Norway.... anyone has any idea how I can obtain this?? I read on ROM website... they don't issue this certificate.... so where can I go to get one????

Any advise?

ailing XXX

Ailing, maybe you can check with ICA?

ladies, me no longer going to paris liao - darn internal office politics/ rivalry .. not mine but elias. so now the trip has been postponed a few days which presents certain scheduling conflicts so i opted not to go.

feeling a bit pissed la but what to do?

christie79

hi ladies..dropping by here before going to work later..

Cuclainne~oh that's not nice to hear... yeah i'll be back next friday..will contact you again when im settled

maple~think tentatively it's should be ok in july but actual day TBC can?

Ej~ can't sorry cos my brother will be having another wedding in malaysia that weekend so have to go along too..

Ailing~ you can see this on the ministry of foreign affairs page..i googled and found this..

#Certificate of No Impediment
The laws of some countries require that, before a foreigner may marry within their jurisdiction, he/she must produce a certificate issued by the relevant authority of the country of which he/she is a national, stating that the authority does not know of any impediment to the marriage. Such a certificate is known as a Certificate of No Impediment or Nulla Osta Certificate or Affidavit of Eligibility to Marry.

The Singapore Registry of Marriages (ROM) does not issue a Certificate of No Impediment. However, a Singapore citizen residing or working overseas may apply in writing directly to the ROM and obtain a Marital Status Search Results.

#Application for a Marital Status Search
To apply for a Marital Status Search, please apply on-line at https://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/emrs/rom_emrs_start.asp. The application requirements are as follows:-

1.Completed application form.
2.An International Bankdraft of S$35(Singapore dollars thirty-five only) made payable to the "Registrar of Marriages, Singapore". Please note that the fee is subject to change without notice.
3.Please provide your name in full (as appearing on NRIC), NRIC No, Sex and date of birth in the application form. You should also provide your postal address and contact number.
4.Please send your application directly to the Registry of Marriages in Singapore.

als

Heya CUlainne and Chrisl,

thanks for the helpful advise.....rang Singapore ROM this morning..they don't issue any certificate of imepdiment.... just a marital status search.....mmmmm...wonder if the norwegian govt can accept thta or not.... luckily Torstein's aunt work at the Norwegian equivalent of ROM... so can ask her when we see her at the end of the month....

I've bought my wedding dress! so now trying to get into shape... I've 12mths++ to be fit and toned! wish me luck.....

Hugs
Ailing

glympse

Mrs N, yeah, things are a lot more settled now
as for the enjoying the summer, not so sure, cos it's been so cold and rainy here, it feels more like spring or autumn. Tho I shouldn't complain since Singapore is now super hot and humid :p How are you and baby?

cucclaine, hehe yup yup
i'm amazed at how u keep up with FB, Multiply and the forum! Such a pity that you couldn't go to Paris
How long will Elias be there for? And yeah, Emil told me about the half-day skid course... i'm just hoping to master driving a manual car for the moment, will think abt that later hehehe

Chrisl, yeah I will be learning driving from Emil (at least for the beginning parts, then will go to driving sch to polish up). Yeah it's super ex to learn driving from the schools... perhaps get ur hubby to teach u too? hehe
don't worry abt the flight ya? am sure it'll go fine

Ailing, welcome to the forum! Don't worry about getting in shape, planning the wedding will do that for u! I ate normally (perhaps even more) in the months leading up to mine, but still lost weight (my Mum made me promise I'll put on back the weight after the wedding cos I looked so bony!). But yea, do enjoy the journey, it's great fun

Big wave to everyone else!!

eminozy

heheh. hello Als. Welcome. I dont think i've seen you here before!

Oklah ladies... since changing dates aint gna change nuthin' I propose we stick to the earlier dates.
heheheh. Anyone heard anything from Georgina. She MIA aah.

So, Nissa, 21st it will be then. I'll see you and Elias? Dont be too upset. I will cheer you up on when we meet! :p and anyone else who can make it please do inform us.

Hernie.. have a great flight to Canada. So sad we wont be able to meet up again.. Oh well, soon in future i hope!

Chrisl and Corrinne... dang.... what can we do, hey? another time probably too.

christie79

Ailing~it should be ok but then it's good to hear frm his aunt..hey do watch your health too despite the plannings

Glympse~it's kinda same here too, in the beginning can learn from hb but then later on must clock in learning hours from a proper instructor..have to set my mind doing it soon..hehe and not to mention saving up cos i reckon i'll be so broke after my Sg trip LOL

georginat

hi ladies !!

we are back to sg but so busy unpacking and no internet to use for the past week...

re: gathering

had sms nisa to update me about the gathering coz i cant go online often for the time being...hope to meet up very soon ! :)

gotta go , will catch up again ..have a nice weekend!!

de_luxe

emi what are the dates that you'll be in sg?

maplehue yes can meet in jul... we'll be back 2 jul just give me sometime to recover from jet lag. Can meet in town, no worries. Can you pm me your mobile no?

ok got to get back to packing and baby sitting now... take care gals

margiel

Oooh so happening here, seems like almost everyone busy with their travelling

Me just touched down Sg last nite, sooooo HOT HOT HOOOOT in here, thank goodness my friend lent me his portable aircon and am now chilling right in front of it in my room
Will be in sg till this fri night b4 heading off to Hamburg for 3weeks.
Have a great trip gals, enjoy and have fun! Cheers

ross_san

Hello ladies,
Another newbie to this forum, a Singaporean with Norwegian hb. We had 4mths baby gal. Currently been residing in Singapore but hb get posted back to Norway last January. Will be heading to Norway early July and wondering anybody staying in Oslo.
Oh ya, will be there most probably two weeks or so to see whether me and baby can adapt staying there

ailing, i'll be keeping my fingers crossed for you

glympse, yah lor super
thought i could finally get my vacation. turns out even elias is not going cos the head of the office here got wind of their plans and put a stop to it ..

emi, gina, hey i hope i'll be better by this weekend - nursing a cold and cough still .. i will update gina by sms once plans are firmed up

margiel, hey enjoy your hols .. don't think you'll have time to meet up eh? will you be back to sg after your germany trip?

hi ross, you know chrisl from the other site - she's the only one living in norway at the moment, aside from claire who doesn't really post here anymore - claire lives in lofoten. me and glympse have swedish partners.

ross_san

Hello cuclainne nice to meet you again at this forum

Thanks for the info ya. Haha I guess there will be me and chris lah…
The thought of bringing my gal is always there but to think about space of the apartment and hb outstation most of the time think it’s not a good idea just now. Plus he’s been taking MBA and will be on his final next month so will kind be a bit stress for him. On the other hand I hate to bring all our stuffs thru & fro like we did last year. When hb got posted in KL, we have been bringing all the stuffs there and even set up things for baby etc. Then hb not happy with the work etc and due too many reason, we moved back again and I don’t want to do the same things again now in case hb decide to move back. It’s been 6 months he’s been working in Norway and me giving birth, confinement etc here. So far he’s been back at least once a month and now he’s not happy with the situation there. Apart from higher cost of living and high tax, he can’t wait to be back here again. So maybe can be next month if he decide to move back here again ..since hb is stubborn and always like his own way of doing things...Haiz…

My hb don’t like to be locally paid usually company will deduct a lot for benefits purpose. He prefers to be paid like an expat and been on contract basis all the time. I don’t mind we keep on moving but since baby already in the picture I think will be tired doing after a while. I don’t know if anybody been in the same situation.

My hb just sms me that his brother will be sailing to Oslo with his new boat early next month. Think this time we will sail again like last time with his family boat. At least there’s something to look forward apart from being at home. Maybe this time round will be busy looking around for baby stuffs… can’t help it lah

ross, i think it's quite difficult to find companies here still willing to dole out expat packages, unless it's to those super high-flyers la.

my husband is working for a french company and so far, so good - he's earning quite a fair bit considering that he's only worked for them 3.5 years and his yearly bonus is very, very good (as compared to mine). your husband is working in oil & gas, right? thought that the pay package in this field is quite good?

yah, look forward to your trip - now you have something planned (the sailing trip) and even shopping for your girl ..

ross_san

cuclainne, so far my hb doesn’t have any problems in getting the expat package coz of his experienced but trouble is that he’s not on permanent basis. I was glad that he got his PR very quick, think it’s the high tax he’s been paying here as well. Still that’s not the guarantee that he can stay here long enough unless he got a stable job. His line of work is good and the pay is good but it’s only his position that does not suits him and think he’s been in the wrong kind of position all the while. That’s why he forks so much money to get his MBA so that he can get a better position than what he’s been doing now. To cut short, my hb don’t like being told what to do all the time and he find stressful if a management take quite long time to decide on certain things. Like I mentioned you earlier that he got zero patience. Now he’s happy with the current job he got in Norway but think it’s too early for him to return home. He just love Asia with sunny year all round and already feels Singapore his home based.

Unlike your hb, my hb doesn’t really communicate with his family a lot. Like the last time we went back, some of his siblings still away traveling and his parents out playing golf and goes back to Spain sometime since they have another home there. Now, his brother and family just came back from England and will travel a lot with their boat. Think they just want to come and show that to us….for me I don’t really care as long as I got to sail and enjoy my time there

The good thing, my hb plan that I can bring the bb during winter time so that we can go skiing in the mountain. Since his parent got a cottage up in the mountain think it’s even better for us
But I tried not to come during winter coz the last time I was stuck inside feeling sick and numb and can’t even get out, my body just cannot take the cold.

ross, my husband said he wanted to apply for PR but until now he never got round to doing the paperwork so he's just still on EP. anyways, he's just really pleased that the taxes he pays here are lower than what he would have to pay back in sweden

oil & gas in norway pays really well, according to my husband but the taxes are high too. yah, i know what you mean - me and the ladies here were talking about the possibility of me and the family going to paris cos the husband was offered a 2-year posting there but we like it too much here .. too much ding-donging from us and subsequently internal bickering over the project has left it in the air now. :p

my ILs are still working and so we don't see them as often, especially since we're living here - so when the opportunity presents itself (like when we go up or they come here), we try to meet up as often as possible - to make up for lost time, i suppose. My MIL and her partner travels more often than my FIL and his family, probably because she doesn't have to think about the extra expenses that he would (compare 4 persons to 2). Haiz .. sometimes she would go away for the weekend without telling us and we would get very worried if we can't reach her so now she tells us in advance if she's not contactable. Lol.

Gina's husband is from Spain. Have you been to their home there? My husband's family owns a house in Collioure, France though whenever the husband's there, he prefers to drive up from Spain. Would love to go here - from what the husband's told me, it's a really nice but he said it's haunted .. :S

i've only travelled during spring and summer with the kids - never winter because the husband has regaled me enough with his stories of harsh swedish winters. now he said he wished he didn't tell me that at all cos i've not mustered enough courage to travel to sweden during winter .. and with the kids, they'll end up looking like meatballs on legs by the time i'm done bundling them up! anyways, wintertime is one of the seasons that my husband don't miss at all .. lol.

christie79

Hi Ross good to see you here too

If you're intending to go Oslo, there's quite a handful of the ladies in Oslo for you to meet up. Are you in FB? If so you can type and search for 'Singaporeans in Norway' It's a bigger city where you don't feel that much boring compared to my place down south..a bit ulu haha ;P

Cuclainne~ Im down with a cold!!! Feeling so bad blowing my nose and im trying to get most of the packing done today..i hope i'll not be sick when i fly..dun want to be called in for quarantine

Hey why not have a pot luck thingy instead where everyone can mingle and have a cosy time together + children can play/eat together? Im thinking of getting a chalet..hmmm...maybe in early july lah..we'll see

chrisl, i'm down with something evil since last week - left early on Thursday and MC on Friday. Came to work on Monday but had to wear a mask. Still feeling the after effects .. bleh! Hope you feel better by the time you board the plane - otherwise you'll feel miserable the entire trip. Not nice!

Have time to book chalet? Quite difficult unless done in advance but i don't mind pot luck la

ladies, ladies .. as you may know, there will be a gathering this weekend for dinner on the 21st at The Line, Shangri-la Hotel.

So far it's:
Emi + Chris
Nisa + Elias
Gina (KIV)

Anyone else wants to join in?

We will organise something again in July when maplehue and de_luxe are back from their hols.

eminozy

HI HI!

Nisa-Tak! Bliw please! I really hope you will be fine by Sunday and hopefully Gina will get back to us as well. I really want to see you ladies... So unfortunate so many cant make it.

Would you like to come too, Ross? hello Ross, I guess am in the same position like you- forever moving- I think i have succumbed to my curse of a nomad. Its not because of my husband but also because of me. We both very gatal(itchy) and cant sit still. But when we try to sit still, the external factors forces us to rattle. So far together, we have been living in 3 different cities, I am not surprise next year we will move again not once but 3 times....Its something we realised that would happened. We are just waiting for the cue.

Every night in bed we talk about next year. We are both excited to leave actually. WE cant stand Brisbane. Although I do love my job- That's about it.

Talk later!

ross_san

Cuclainne, I think it’s best that your hb apply the PR soon. My hb ever mentioned to me that one of his friend tried to apply but only managed to get it after 8yrs. Think it’s depend on individual coz hb application took about a months to get approved.
Yes, I would love to go to Spain and hb also mentioned that it’s nice. We ever talk about going there but have to wait till he really gets a long holiday. Talk about haunted house, my ex maid swear that she a ghost a few times inside and outside our house. She will start chanting her prayer when she got the goose bumps. My hb always laughed at her comments and said that it’s only her imagination. So far we both never encountered that except some funny noises at nite but thinks it’s not the ghost

You should try going there during winter and see for yourself. My first time was fun coz never seen a real one except the one in snow city. Hehe. Imagine I rolled myself on the snow like a small kid. Yes, the winter can be harsh and not pleasant at times. I do end up like a meatball since I cannot stand the cold. On my second week I’m down with flu and my nose bleed a lil bit from the dryness. But overall the experience was nice

Chris, my hb said that he stay in Solli near the city centre. True that Oslo is better place since it’s with mix nationalities there. The last time I was there, I did see some vandalism going on and hb told me it’s due to the immigrants staying there and some hooligans that got nothing better to do.

Cuclainne & Chris do hope you guys recover well soon from the sickness ya.

Hello Emi, it’s nice to join you guys for gathering but now there’s a change of plan coz I’m leaving to Norway on that day. Ya, emi we also both gatal cannot stay at one places. So far my hb has been working and stay in more than 30 countries. I used to work and stay in the Middle East and Asia for 6 years and now a SAHM. Stop working during my preggy days since hb want me to rest for at least a year to look after the baby. We used to see like 3 or 4x a month when we both busy working and traveling
Having a baby does not make him want to stop migrating even though he like being in Singapore. Haiz... Same like you, I don’t know when we will be next. Have to wait till his contract end by Jan next year.
When you coming back to Singapore or you already here?? The next gathering will definitely meet you all guys if I’m around ya

maplehue

what a travel! 28 hours door to door...but we are alive and well in vancouver. im still a zombie. we didnt tell jeff's parents that we were coming and had a great time seeing how surprised they were! we appeared at their backyard when they were sitting there with a few friends. It was priceless! i should have taken a video of it.

emi..yes sad that we cant meet this time. jeff was looking forward to chatting with chris too. and i want to catch up with you!! he wants to talk about the same thing with chris. they are hopeless with emails!
are you going back to germany after sg?

chrisl, i'll be back in sg on july 6th. will you still be there? hope we can meet up!
and hope you recover soon. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you too dear!

cuclainne, you too must take care ok. did you see a dr? i was on anti-biotics and was fighting a cold before we left for canada. so paranoid to be sick onboard. hope you are not too disappointed abt the cancelled trip. maybe there is a blessing in disguise. you have my no. too and hope we can also meet when i come back. i dont mind where as long as can chat

ross welcome welcome.
im now in canada with my canadian hubby, but we dont live here. just visiting his parents. we come back here every year if we can. been married for almost 3 years now and have been living abroad too.
it is exciting, but i must say tiring too. just want to settle down and feel more grounded.

marge, enjoy the food! just make sure you dont get a tummy ache like i did ok! i was like a lunatic when i first got there. ate like crazy..

deluxe, i have emailed you girl
have a safe trip and see you soon when we come back.
hugs to johann. AND the Mother's Day story...so so sweet
I was really moved by what Bertil did!

hello to everyone else
gotta go now.

in between, what is bliw? sounds quite familiar!!, but definitely not english.

talk soon girlies! i hope i haven't missed anyone.

ross, it's ok - i don't think the husband is interested in applying PR for himself. anyways he said he'll get less pay if he does. lol.

i went to a ski resort in sweden on my first trip there - it was very cold and i couldn't put my gloves back on cos i couldn't feel my fingers.

maplehue, glad to hear that you've arrived safe and sound. wow, they must be pretty pleased to see you guys there

yes yes let's meet up when you get back in july ok.

bliw? well, that's between me and emi .. lol .. just kidding la. bliw is the hand soap she asked me to get for her from sweden :p

eminozy

hehehehaha. bliw!

hey Hernie! glad you are happy back visiting Canada...how like this? These boys .. very mahfan. cant even email each other . Chris said cant email first coz must be sure what to discuss first! *duh* well, whatver- i guess their brains works differently from women!

Nahhh we are not going to Europe this time around. Probably next year. Work does not allow us to. I am taking the 2am flight later to Sg and hopefully will not get quarantined! Only 10 days... so short of a time to be back.

Seeyou ladies on Sunday. Nisa you feelin better?

emi, are we meeting tomorrow? so far i've not heard from you or gina .. elias got the flu from me so he's feeling crappy now ..