Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

hello hello - where is everyone?

i went out with the intention of buying two kitchen appliances yesterday but ended up buying three .. lol .. blame the GSS, but i'm quite happy with my purchases. lol.

liz4jeroen

Hi Culainne & everyone,

After my parents, sister n her friend have gone home, I'm now busy to conclude my study with writing my final paper and then my practicum n a report. Crossing my finger that I can graduate in Oct once I got a pass for my paper n report! Have to stay focus and be patient! ; D Then I can do whatever I want! Yeah! Thinking n planning to come back in Mar on my own to run workshops. Will decide end of this month as there's a SQ promo.

I love kitchen appliances! Sale is a good time to buy! I would go crazy too! Kekekekeke.... Still holding back not to buy any when I see them until kitchen is completely done!

Take care! Hi to newbies n oldies! WIll catch up again!

Hey Liz

Hope you've had a good time with your family! Saw some pictures on your FB
and good luck with your studies ..

Yah i've been eyeing this commercial quality ice cream maker with built-in compressor so i don't have to freeze the container for at least 12 hours (as is with my current one) before use. The retail price was $798 so i've been putting it off and now they're having a bundle deal - ice-cream maker and belgian waffle maker for $759. So of course now i must go and have a closer look - lol. When i got to the store, the salesguy told me that it was cheaper to get them separately - for some reason it came to $707 (even better! - lol). so since it's less than what i thought it would be, i got a panini grill as well :D

www.mayer.sg (under cuisinart)

georginat

hi ladies !

nisa/emi, so sorry last sunday couldnt meet up coz its father's day got to have dinner with my family...possible to have another gathering soon?

margie, r u in sg now?

hi gina, not sure if emi is still in singapore .. but maplehue will be coming back in july, maybe can organise a meet-up then ..

last i read, margie is enjoying denmark

how are things with you? how's julio in saudi?

georginat

hi nisa, just bought a netbook so can use internet again..things are fine with us :) Julio is ok in Riyadh, getting used to the hot weather and working environment...

so margie is in europe now...

hello to the rest of the ladies, have a nice weekend !

yay gina .. finally get to see you here

it's that time of the year when we have to look for a new place to rent - lol .. we've been looking at a few places, it's a bidding system and we are keeping our fingers crossed that we will get the one we want :D then you can come with luke and let the kids play - there's a super huge garden.

christie79

just got home on saturday.
apologies! on not been able to meet up as it was super busy and time was made even more shorter when hb and i fell sick after arriving in SG and now too, caught flu upon returning to here! Hope everyone's well and taking care!
k have tons of clothes to wash! gota go!

chrisl, you came and went already? that was quick! how was the wedding? hope you and gaute will get better soon .. i did the nasal swab last week - not pleasant at all!!

christie79

yeah cuclainne, it zoomed by literately! LOL the wedding's nice on both days luckily it rained a little on both days so it was not too warm. I miss my family, i cried when i was at the airport! BooHoo i was so lousy..hehe...

no la, not lousy .. i'm sure you're not the only one with tears then .. my MIL still cries whenever she sees us off at the airport so it's understandable .. how's your cold - feeling better?

christie79

yup better..hb was the one feeling worse than me..coincidentally MIL is having cold too when we came back..seems like it's the flu season? anyways back to routine now at home, im starting on painting again
How's your hunt for the new place coming along? Hope you'll get lucky! *wink*

gina, me now house-hunting for new place to rent - if i manage to find a place with a garden, you are welcome to bring luke over for play :D

chrisl, yah i think now it's the flu season .. but still, with the similar symptoms for common and swine-flu, i get freaked out each time i get sick .. now on vit c and cod liver oil daily - and i still get sick! i think my body just doesn't agree with the healthy stuff .. lol.

yes, yes keep your fingers crossed for me.

christie79

Cuclainne~ Have you tried chinese herbs? I think it works. (well at least for me) I've bought a prenatal/post natal chinese recipe book at kino when i was back. It is very informative..you can try to replace pork with chicken instead in some recipes. It's 'The Chinese Pregnancy and Confinement Cookbook' by Ng Siong Mui. Can try

liz4jeroen

kekekeke....I read prenatal/postnatal Chinese recipe book: pregnancy and confinement cookbook. Sound interesting! I pop in to ask while in the midst of writing. LOL!

christie79

lol Eliz, it's ok
) we missed you anyway! Great to have you popping by. Yup i bought it while in SG, it's to prepare the body for childbearing..*blush* it lists the food according to veggies, seafood, meat, nuts and herbs, eggs. And classified according to 'Yin' , 'yang' or 'neutral'..the author shared her handed down recipes and did some write ups on each and every one. Eg. Ginger is used to keep 'wind' away and also make appetite better (make you feel not too nausea esp during the 1st 2 months) and went on to intro the different dishes using ginger..insightful

christie79

hehe thanks cuclainne
yeah it's so quiet here. Think the most are busy with bb or family/husbands. Cos think only Ailing is getting married next year.

Im just here now taking a break..have not stopped since this morning. Have been to the market, paint windows, and picked the redcurrants..wah see easy pick difficult..i shrieked everything i touched or see an insect!
Hhaha MIL and i used almost 3hrs to pick the 2 big and 2 small bushes..just for 2 small buckets of fruits!

so how's your recipe book collections these days? Any new additions?
The last I got was this Nyonya dishes - mini series of cook books - from a bookstore at changi airport before flying home. I was tempted to get more since it's so 'mini' but then had 2nd thoughts cos of the weight on my bursting hand luggage

ross_san

Hello ladies, it's been a busy week for me. Apart from packing and family outing etc now got to meet up with my old friends who came back to singapore for holiday just now. Honestly i'm a bit shocked just now to hear a news from my friend in Indonesia that she just been thru a divorce after 10yrs of marriage. Gosh, i was shocked and speechless to hear the news coz i used to call the m romeo & juliet and think that they're the happiest couples whenever we're together. Think there's no more love between them now and they're still in good terms and treat each other as a friend. At least i'm glad to know that i don't loose both of them

Gerogina, you stayed in Saudi?? My hb got a job offer and one of them is Saudi. He have an offer in Kenya & South Africa or probably Houston and the last he got is Saudi which offer him the best. I'm not keen in Saudi but would love to move back in Dubai or maybe Oman. Will move back to Norway but not sure for how long.

Chris, i used to target to get a baby before 30 but when i reached that age, i'm still not ready..hehe.. I almost gave up on this pregnancy due to work but glad that i i did not do that coz now i just fall in love with her

Btw, there's another Singaporean lady i met in Oslo also trying to conceive and they're seeing a gynae there. Will meet her next week when she's here for a home visit. Maybe one day we could meet up if i'm there or if you happen to be in Oslo. Also if my hb driving there or going towards that direction..hehe... Hope all goes well with you and good luck on your plan to conceive ya

Cuclainne, how's your house hunting? Did you do a bidding for that. What kind of house you're looking at? Is your mum staying with you? Wah, so many question eh..hehe

Emi, i don't know whether you're the one who also join the "salam perantau/rantauan" Just curious cpz you looks familiar when i happened to see your pics here
I used to be active during my days in Indonesia and went once to their gathering. Just for your info, i was one of the gal in the video clip who sang for hari raya back few years ago

Ok ladies, i got to go now and hope all you guys here have a good weekend ya. To the rest of the ladies hi to you all

maplehue

This will be short. We have relocated to Shanghai and trying to settle in. Liz and Chris, do share that recipe with moi yeah.

Loveee our apartment and so far colleagues are great. Its been raining too. Winter is going to be cold I think. Thats what they said. The taxi fares are cheap. Everything is like 11rmb..like $2!! Im glad we both can speak some mandarin cos many ppl here still dont speak english.

We still haven't found Starbucks yet and FACEBOOK IS BANNED HERE!!!! Sob sob.

Jeff is now talking to someone who knows of a company that allows facebook. It will get us connected and transferred to a server in the States and everything else should be fine. We dont have any internet yet at home. The company has applied for us, but it will take 2 weeks. Same with cable.

Just wanted to drop a line and say hello.
Corinne, i havent got the chance to call Keith/Jo or Vance yet, but cant wait to do so when we have our line hooked up. How is baby J? Have you added cucumber in his menu?

Cuclainne, anything from LTA?
Emi, why are you down?
Mrs.N..how is D? Biting/chewing things?

Hello to everyone and to Ross too.
Have to go now. Its almost lunch time and cant wait to eat! Hungry..

christie79

Sure Ross do give a tinkle should you ever come by this way
yup now im taking it slow in some ways cos too stressed up also not good .. dun want to make it as a 'die die also must' task..

wow! Maple you so fast relocate again?! I thot you and jeff were in Sg not too long ago only..but then again great for both of you if jeff got a good offer! No harm trying
Sure think will try to post some here lah anyway
huh? FB not allowed there?

me hungry too..hv to go grab a bite..making nasi lemak with the leftover coconut milk
kao_drool.gif

Chrisl, wow - so nice to be able to go out and pick fruit like that! i think the girls will love it .. sofi love berries!

hahahah .. i'm running out of space on my bookshelves .. the books are all over the place now! i hope the new house will be better designed/ decorated .. keep my fingers crossed! Clutter - be gone! :D

Ross, i got my house .. yes, we placed the highest bid .. signing the lease today and have to get things done at the new place before we move on the 19th. It's a colonial 2-storey black-and-white that comes with a huge garden. there's room for my mom but i don't think she's keen on staying permanently with us since she's taking care of my nephew. most likely my brother will be the weekend occupier of the 3rd bedroom ..

maplehue, so glad to hear that you and Jeff have settled in *hugs* tough about the facebook but they really monitor the net sites, don't they?

yay, we got the house so tell Jeff we'll prepare the BBQ but he's got to cook!

maplehue

Me stealing some time to write now. At work now. My classrm is not ready so been working from the library.

Chris, yes decided to take the shanghai offer. Had a couple others, but shanghai seems the best for me i think. At least can speak the language a bit and there are theatres, starbucks, ikea, shopping centres and the expat community is larger. the service is a tad slow compared to sg of course (everywhere else is slower than sg!!hee), but it is still alright.
happy happy.

cuclainne, congrats congrats!! we are so happy that you guys got the house. hooray!! now is the packing part yeah. chin up and slowly gather those boxes yeah!
still not hooked up and still waiting for the contact person regarding the internet (that allows facebook). grrrr. we have local tv stations and 2 english channels. not too bad compared to some of my colleagues who have zero english channel. youtube is also banned. they have youkou tat is like youtube, bt everything is in chinese. i cant read chinese!!!

sure sure..bbq sounds good. as long as you have a good manly apron, i think jeff should be okay taking charge of the bbq!

take care and talk soon!

liz4jeroen

Congrats Cul on yr new hse!

Hernie, u r in shanghai now. I guess much better than HK, not so crowded n stress.

Hi hi to all!

I've bn busy with my paper, half way now. Then also with my little garden in my balcony. Just harvested 3 small tomatoes and one really tiny mini! LOL!

Ok! I better go n do my stuff n drop by when I can. Take care!

christie79

Culcainne~if next time you and family come over here in summer, maybe sofi and sis can try their hands on picking some fruits while you and me can cook up a storm in the kitchen heheh..and the men can go outside somewhere or just take care of the children hehe..you must be busy packing now i think
BTW, may i ask if you have any gynae from KKH to intro?

maple~hope you're settling in well
enjoy your starbucks at least

Eliz~ i think i'll still share some recipes lah for the benefit of all ttcing here heheh..

(this recipe calls for chicken feet but i think i'll replace with chicken breast and bones instead cos i can't find any chicken feet here! and hb said it's 'YUCKY'!!)

MUSHROOMS AND CHICKEN FEET SOUP (Neutral element)

6 chicken feet (washed and trim off claws)
30gm Chinese dried mushrooms (trim off stems and soak in 3 cups water for 30mins)
2 slices old ginger

Seasoning:
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp light soya sauce
1 tsp Chinese rice wine

1) Scald chicken feet for a min in hot water
2) Squeeze off water from mushroom and reserve the water.
3) Put chicken feet, mushrooms and ginger into a double boiler, add mushroom water and boil for 3 hrs over low flame
4) Add seasoning just before serving.

gottliebt

This looks like a "normal" Chinese dish no? HI girls, sorry I´ve been MIA for quite some time. At least can keep in touch via facebook with some of you.... The board is pretty quiet!

christie79

yeah pris, it's kinda 'normal' im rather surprised to see dishes like sweet sour fish or prawns in the recipe book..it seems really normal for a pre natal dish..but well, im always in for good tasty food hehehe

maplehue, managed to unpack quite a far bit over the past few days - back-breaking work .. we finally 'broke-in' the stove over the weekend and had lunch at the dining table
my room is still a mess though - we're still living out of boxes there ..

thanks, Liz .. how are things with you?

chrisl, that sounds nice .. i'm sure we'll all enjoy that ..
my gynae is Dr SF Loh .. he's also the head of the IVF unit. do you prefer male or female gynae? my colleague saw a male gynae for her previous two pregnancies .. this time she decided to see a female one and somehow just don't click with the doctor so she's changed to a different gynae.

christie79

Thanks Cuclainne, actually a lady from the other thread asked so i thought of you as you are working in kkh
so have you moved already? How was the moving day? Heard from my mum that it has been raining like cats and dogs the other 2 days..

chrisl, oh i see

yes we have moved .. moving day was very chaotic, cos we were still packing things. we were given 60 boxes but realised the day before the move that it wasn't enough! they gave another 10 more but it wasn't enough either. in the end we found 5 flat boxes from the previous move and used those too .. even then we still had to leave some things behind to be taken back slowly. i still have some picture frames, books, curtains to pick up .. also have to clear the fridge .. all the kids' meds still there.

we've been slowly unpacking at the new place .. the master bedroom is the most messiest still - about 10 boxes left unpacked but at least i can walk to the bed unhindered in the dark now .. lol. the kids have two boxes left to unpacked - their books and toys which i'll have to go to ikea to buy storage for. one box in the dining room and one in the kitchen. living room has about 6 boxes but only two are meant to be there .. lol.

my back hurts, my legs are aching (from climbing the stairs) but it's great .. the kids are enjoying being outside when i'm doing laundry or raking the dead leaves .. the neighbour's cat visits us from time to time which drives the kids into a frenzy, especially sofi since she doesn't like cats but this cat seems to have taken a liking to her.

we also have a garden hose for the kids to play water outside .. over the weekend, my nephew really took it to the extreme. he was outside alone and all of the sudden, i saw water coming into the living room from the space under the door .. i opened the front door and the whole front porch is wet - he thought of washing my entire wall and door .. :S

maplehue

Liz, yes we are now in shanghai. You are right, it is so far better than crowded HK. Apartments are bigger and you can walk without having to touch other people's shoulder. I'm sure by now, you are done with your paper. CONGRATS!!! It is my turn now to work on my paper. I am taking another Masters now and its been a little 'tricky' juggling it and working and adjusting to a new country. Ha. I can only blame myself lah.

Chrisl, thanks for the recipe. Doesnt look so bad at all. I thought it would involve some bitter herbs or something. Our hubbies are the same, cannot stand chicken feet!! He thinks they are disgusting. Heee.

Hi hi pris! Enjoyed your Europe pictures on facebook. I regret cancelling my Europe trip this summer. Its all the swine flu fault!

Cuclainne, you must be busy unpacking and getting things organised. Tell me about it. Moving is a big headache and backache! Hope the girls are enjoying their new home. Have you guys totally moved out from your previous home. I loveeee that you have the neighbour's cat visiting you all the time. I hope when i come visit, she/he comes visit again. Careful of your back when raking the leaves k. When I was living in Montreal, 2 things screwed my back big time. Shuffling snow in winter and raking leaves in autumn.

Ha..i think your nephew got a bit excited la. Beter put that hose away

Hello to everyone else. Talk again soon. Have to complete this paper by today and I hate the bibliography part!

naivesg

Allo Ladies....

chance upon this thread while trying to find a forum especially on gynae part thou I am super no stranger to SGB and SGM....

Any ladies staying in France or if best Bordeaux, still active here huh?

I saw someone marrying a French in 2006 leh, and Cuclainne and few others still so active here since then in 2006..

maplehue, we've not yet finish unpacking and more new stuff seems to keep coming in .. a few days ago, they delivered the outdoor furniture but since Elias has not placed the flooring for the deck yet, the furniture's inside!!! in the living room!!!

we're not done yet and already this man is talking about going on vacation .. i'm like, hold on .. one thing at a time please!

hey, read that you're back to studying again .. how's that coming along?

hi naivesg .. not sure if you're referring to denise but she married a french guy and living in Paris, i believe .. there are two ladies married to Frenchmen over at SGM - one is in France and the other in Sg.

gottliebt

Maplehue Cool that you enjoyed my photos! Yeah, Europe is so beautiful...makes travelling so worth it..
Swine flu is everywhere, isn´t it? No difference whether one travels or not.hah.

Cuclainne Do you have photos of your house? OH boy, it must have cost quite a bit? Its a colonial house with garden? These houses don´t come cheap at all! Photos photos? And of your lovely children too!

christie79

hey dropping by here, im having a cold. So no work today..hopefully will clear up by thursday otherwise have to call in sick again..

Hey yeah photos leh! Would love to catch a glimpse Cuclainne!!

Hope you're settling nicely down in Shanghai Maple !

you know Pris, hb and i are thinking of skipping the trip to sg next year and concentrate on europe instead haha, cos we're hoping that my family will come for visit then travel around with us then
might be a nice get together trip!

ok got to go have something to eat..though no appetite..cos i've not anything to eat since yesterday evening..

Stay well everybody!

mikebride

hey ladies have you got experience buying thermal undergarment/base layers?
i terrified of cold, and looking for some thermal undergarment, there are so many brands and type to choose from. and also the range of price it has.

any sugguestions?

priscilla, the rent for the house is cheaper than what we paid for at the condo but of course we had to come out with more money since we had to put in aircon, buy fridge, washing machine, etc.

i will try to post some photos here soon - am a bit stressed right now since still unpacking .. yes, still am .. and hari raya is this weekend!!

chrisl, hey .. how are you? hope you and gaute are doing fine. yes yes you must take the opportunity to travel to europe since it's more convenient and cheaper.

val, i've bought thermal undergarments before but ended up not using them .. the husband had suggested not buying them until you get to where you want to go because he said that the winter stuff that you get here in sg might not be suitable.

liz4jeroen

Priscilla, I saw your photos yesterday at your blog! WOw! You've travelled quite a bit! Nice! Where abt in Germany do u stay again? If I do travel near where u stay, we can meet up?

Chrisl, I was thinking of that too! Been wanting to travel Europe but never got the chance to do so due to having to save for reno in the hse. But recently we decided to go the Germany black woods. O mine! No regrets! We want to travel to more places after that. See how it goes! I'm thinking of Norway for a long time! If we do go there, we must meet up meh!

Cul, I'm a bit blur. Are u in SG or Sweden now?

Hernie, no lah, now you've no kids is the best time to study. Why not right?

Val, I never buy any thermal juz wear layers of layers inside and you usually will find this very think stocking, not exactly what is called in English, those will keep u warm.

Liz, me still in SG .. don't know when we'll be back to Stockholm.

Val, then perhaps Mrs N or tootsieroll would be able to advise you on what you might need .. they're both in the UK.

maplehue

cuclainne,
how is your house coming up? all unpacked and ready for hari raya? dont fret too much. Im sure with the size of that place, you can lock up one room.
elias so cute la. planning for a vacation and everything. is it going to be the whole family and just the 2 of you. perhaps a romantic getaway? hehee.

yes..im studying again. doing my second masters in counselling. loads to read la and it is just a lot of work with zero guidance. if it is not a mini thesis, it is a case study we need to do. with our new lifestyle and work in shanghai, im struggling abit with it. my mom is here and it is even more difficult for me to put aside time to read!

pris..yeah love your photos. i want to go back to italy!! loveee your food pictures too!! Scrum

Chrisl, how are you now? and how is that teacher? did you talk to her? dont let it get to you okay. we are doing fine in shanghai. enjoying ourselves so far and feeling comfortable.
I hope it will stay like this if not better for the years to come.
so tired of moving!

hi naivesg and val!

ok girls. talk soon.