Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

gottliebt

Deluxe Hey, glad to know that u are feeling better. Care to share why yr husband wants to look for a new job overseas? He doesn´t want to stay in NTU anymore? Sounds like a huge move for u! Which countries are u looking at?

joyced

Hello Priscilla!
How are you? Sorry for the slow reply. No lah..not done yet. I'm taking the DSH on 2 July.. cold hands. The system is quite complicated but we have a series of 3 exams during the semester that contribute to some grade called the Vornote. Then the DSH grades are averaged out using the vornote if it is higher than the actual DSH exam, haha ok..complicated and I'm bad at explaining. I did Chemical engineering so.. now I'm looking at some masters program but I realised that I don't need the DSH..wahhaaa got cheated. Anyway, is good for my German so, no complaints.

Oh..Psychology, biz are the NC-Fächer so you have to apply to a central board called ZVS. Very complicated. Plus some courses involve more German so you have to get a DSH-3. You interested in studying Psychology or?? Or you are going to look for a job? How's your German lessons coming along?

My messenger add is [email protected] ..if you would like to be in contact.. cos sometimes I'm a bit lazy to post and Nikki is always on msn disturbing me..haha.

christie79

Hey gals! How's everyone? Im offically a Mrs! Sounds 'auntie' hor? hahaha...

Hey welcome Melissa, Sorelle, BlueMonkey, NewlyWed& Miss Lala Sounds like fun to have so many weddings suddenly here ;o) wahhhh...

Mine was just over in Singapore 9th June but will be having another wedding in Norway soon in August i think. I Hope to get the date with the church here to confirm the exact day. Oh forgot to intro im newly married to my Norwegian guy and relocated just 1 day ago to Norway.

So sorry Nisa! Didn get to meet you up again for a chat before i go! Looks like i have to catch Sofi and her toothless grins next time...or maybe next time she'll flash me some of her teethly grins..haha..

Thanks Mrs N for the well wishes! I think it's my turn now to strain my back. I did moved some heavy boxes and the next thing i know my back was really painful and think i've pulled the muscles..gosh! And Oh did you say cupcakes!? I love them too leh! I bought some 'strawberry shortcakes' cartoon printed cupcake liners and would love to find time to bake some chocolate cupcakes later when it's completely settled here..that'll be next year i think..hahah..

BrideHey hope you're staying good! I was feeling not too well before the wedding and coupled with stress! My advise is that you should have lots of helpers! But all in all luckily my function was small with 6 tables only, so not too bad lah. It went rather smoothly. I think im the 1st bride who managed to take an afternoon nap plus also did 'attack' the buffet line of goodies for dinner. Kekeke...Hope you'll relax and enjoy yours too!

Hey JoyceThanks for the comments on Multiply! I didn have time to reply back then. Oh btw, believe me, i still had not finished with the packing even when Gaute's in SG! hahaha..that's me very last minute de! So funny when Hubby shook his head when he saw the way i packed..hahahaaa..

joyced

Hi Christine!
Congratulations!! How does it feel to be a Mrs?? Hehheh.. I also took some time to actually believe and get used to the fact that I am a Mrs. Haha.. you are smart to wait till he is sg so that you have an extra pair of hands! How's it in Norway now? Warm? When you have time, post some of your wedding day pictures on multiply! And best wishes for your new life in Norway!!

christie79

Hey Joyce, hehehe!!!Thanks, actually not much diff just felt like a grown up loh..but still sounds a little auntie lah with 'mrs'! haha! Nope in Dalen now it's raining and it's 14deg outside! And yesterday i was cold that i used a sweater! haha! Nope he didn't really helped to pack, just helping me with looking and suggesting where to place what stuffs. Ok will do i'll post the photos when i get time! ;p

gottliebt

Hey Chrisl, congrats on being a Mrs! I just saw yr photos on Multiply, very nice! Which photographer did you go to? How´s Norway so far? I have a friend living in Norway. Which city are you staying in? You gonna learn the language too?

eminozy

congrats Chrisl. thats good u get to makan, I heard so many people did'nt get to eat during their wedding. which i think is totally unfair! hehehe

anyways, i still call myself girlfriend sometimes, forgot i am married! hehehe

christie79

Hey thanks! Pris and EJ,
Yup Pris, yen from my bridal shop sattine did that for us. Norway's cold i think! For now, summer is 14degC outside and rainy! And shops closes very early. Your friend in Norway happen to be of the name Clare or clarice? If she's the one then i know her too! She's the one who intro me to this page and to Nisa hehee..
And im in west telemark area. Yes, im trying to get enrolled into the language courses here..But trying to find out how 1st
Im rather stressed about it in a way as my parentinlaws want me to learn their language fast

Yup EJ, i had to eat something! hehehe..i didn't get breakfast that morning and i was busy till after the tea ceremony which was about lunchtime.. So by dinner i was so hungry! And also it costs about $100 per pax with a wide spread of yummy food so i have to at least eat my fill to make worth mah! It's our day anyway hahaha

de_luxe

Congrats Chris1... i think it will take time to get used to being a MRS. It's almost our 1st yr anniversary n i'm still not used to it although my MD (who's German) calls me Frau Schmidt at every possible opportunity! Believe me, Frau sounds a lot more auntie than Mrs!! Do post your pics soon!

Hey Pris Good to see u back online... it's been a while. How's everything?

My HB has actually left NTU in Dec to join a new uni here. We had high hopes abt this new venture which were unfortunately brought crashing down late May when the management decided to close the campus. I'm not going to drop names here, but if you've been following S'pore news you will know what i'm referring to as this has been the talking point for weeks.

So right now, it's really not a matter of choice. We have to move to wherever he gets a job. I'm not privy to much info as he isn't too keen on sharing. At this moment, it can be anywhere in the world: Australia, Europe, America, Hong Kong... Thank God that all established unis are in developed countries and i dun have to face the possibility of living in undeveloped/war torn countries!!

pinkpony

Hi De_luxe! I think I know what you are talking about regard the new venture thingy! Cus I've been telling me Australian HTB to make the switch to the new Venture when he lost his job as he is working in the same industry.

After unsucessful job hunting, he's now in his home country, local Uni. there. It was the 'not a matter of choice' The academic scene in SG is bit 'unique'. Anyway, good luck in the Uni-hunting!

Hi Chris,
Congratulations!!!
Glad to hear that your wedding turned out well despite it all. I am definately planning to do what you did and EAT at my wedding! lol.
Anyway, all the best in Norway, keep warm, and good luck with learning the language.

mrs_n

Hi everybody! Hope you are all well.

Chrisl very pleased to hear that your day went well. Ha! Ha! Yes the 'Mrs' takes getting used to. The first time someone called me that I thought she was calling my MIL!
Its unusually cold and rainy for June in the UK too so I've been keeping my sweaters handy. Fingers crossed that your Norwegian wedding in August will have better weather.

Do any of you girls subscribe to MOBTV? After being away for so long and missing all the local programs, it looks like a pretty tempting way to keep in touch with Singapore. Hubby says I could give it a try for a few months. Hee! Hee! Maybe I should because I haven't a clue on what 'new venture' de-luxe is talking about!!!
That only goes to show how much I have lost touch with singapore news!

bride just slightly under 2 weeks more to the Big Day.

christie79

Mrs N haha that's funny! ;P Im not really into SG programmes, even when im at SG home before moving here, i usually watch cable TV mostly the HK series. BTW, if you understand Cantonese, you can try one of the websites for free HK series. IM definitely going to watch that after everything is ready here. Im still doing up the next hse and all. Painting it tonight with hubby. Hope to move in by this wednesday
Yup im getting the invites ready and will post it soon. Wedding scheduled on the 11th August in the garden here. Hubby had also bought a 9mx3mx3m tent for this occasion in case of bad weather that day.

BrideHow's your preps? Where's is it held? You're with sattine too right?

Will find time to do that Deluxe

mrs_n

Hey girls guess what? Part of our village is flooded!
The field and road that divides the North and South part of our village is like a lake! We went to take a look just now and it was knee-deep and still rising. Oops! Our neighbours on the lower side are all bracing themselves for the worse.
Village school is closed too as the classrooms were flooded. We're really lucky that we managed to make it to work and back without incident. I knew one of the villages on the way into town was flooded this morning as traffic was diverted but didn't know ours was hit as well. Seems so surreal as our village is on the higher part of a hill!

Chrisl me don't understand Cantonese lah! Ha! Ha! My mandarin already so 'koyak'. That's nice you helping hubby to paint your house.
Have fun.

night_child80

Gosh, work has been such an avalanche. I haven't checked the forum in ages! Sorry for the delays! ^_^;;;

de_luxe: It is, isn't it? I never realise how important home tech support was until my laptop died on me. It was a nightmare learning how to reformat the hard disk over Skype via another laptop.

Chrisl: Thank you for your warm welcome! And congratulations! Being a 'Mrs' is not so auntie at all. *wink*

Mrs N: Oh gosh, it's good to hear you're ok.

Hi Chrisl,
Sorry, for the late reply. Have been busy running to and from the airport. Fiance's family members are in town!

Yup, not much longer before I am a Mrs.Yikes! <---that looks like my fiance's surname is 'Yikes'. lol.

Anyway, picked up my gown from Sattine yesterday. Yay! very happy but it was a funny episode of "hiding the gown in the boot", "getting the fiance to go into the house first", whilst i "quickly nip upstairs to hang the gown and keep it out of his sight". Now, i got to repeat it all again on Sat when we check into the hotel!

christie79

Wow! That's ok! BrideWah you must be really busy! Take care of your health esp at this time! But the gown part, my hubby saw it even way before the wedding day as he needed to accompany me to the BS. So it's minus the 'suspense' already! hehehe

Melissa hahah yeah it's just a matter of getting used to being called a 'Mrs' lah but until now no one calls me 'Mrs' here!

Mrs N Hope the flood waters have gone! It has been really so much rain too in my place. Just imagine 11deg now and rainy! Colddddd! It's suppose to be summer leh! Btw, the painting is way done and now we're washing down the rest of the house. And we'll start to move in preferably tomorrow when the bed is here and also try to shift the TV and sound system there. Then we'll be neighbours with my parents in laws! hahah!

Chrisl,

Talking about health, i've caught the flu bug from my fiance. Some moron sneezed into his face a few days ago and passed him the bug! argh.

I wish fiance could have been there to see the gown too so he can give his comments but i also like that he will see it for the first time on saturday. Should be fun hiding the gown! lol.

mrs_n

Hey bride hope you get over your flu soon. Dose yourself with as much Vit C as possible. You must be very excited now that D-day is just round the corner.
Have a great
kao_wedding.gif
day and many blessings to you.

Chrisl the floodwaters have gone down. But the rivers and ground are pretty saturated so it won't take much of another heavy downpour to cause floods again. Last wednesday our nearest town had severe flood warning when the river which runs through it burst its banks and flooded several areas in town. It was quite a scary day as I didn't realise that the town was on the highest level of alert. So blur wondering why so many policeman and road blocks around! Saw the flood some distance away when I took our priest to the supermarket for some groceries. When we got out of the supermarket about an hour later the water had crept up to the entrance of the carpark. It certainly rises very quickly. By the end of the day that road was closed! Spent the whole day checking the website just to make sure the roads to our village was in the clear.

So do you share a garden with your PILs? It must be nice to live near them at least you won't feel too lonely and besides may have its usefulness too.
Before we got married my PILs lived next door and my hubby used to say he would sometimes find his washing missing because his mum used to come over when he's at work and 'steals' them from the untility room so that she can iron them.
Of course that has since stopped since they moved out and my BIL's family moved in! And P has since acquired himself a SG wife to do that job for him anyway.
Well ok we take turns. Happy moving in!

christie79

Good to know that Mrs N It has been some flood alerts here too and it has been raining so much here in Dalen! I feel a little depressing and also feels like 'stoning' around doing nothing at all watching DVDs. But can't leh! have to finish up the cleanings as we're expecting people from the wedding to stayover so have to do it. Plus im a little disapointed that the bed didn't arrive that day but postponed till tomorrow fri cos of bed weather.

Yes in a way (MIL said that i can just pop by and ask to take some veggies or such when i'm making my meals) Cos there's a bigger garden over at her side and over here we're living near the forest. So in a way we share with big animals too
(the other day a moose and fox came and yesterday i saw a deer) but i hope to get my own garden soon someday hee...when everything is settled i'll ask my hubby to make something for me to grow my chillies in! I just hope they can grow well outside otherwise i have to try growing them inside the house. But im waiting to eat the apples, cherries and redcurrents growing soon!

Bride Geez! Better take care! See a doc quick!

mrs_n

Hi blue monkey no I didn't get your PM.
You can try again or email me if you want. If you click my name, my email's on there.

Oh dear Chrisl no bed! That's bad. Life in Dalen must be quite a drastic change for you eh? From a city girl to a country girl. Don't worry you'll get used to it. Yeah the rain is terribly depressing! We are supposed to have a church BBQ tomorrow but its now taking place inside the church hall. Would have been nice if we could have had it outside.

christie79

Mrs N opps perhaps i didn type actually i meant to say that the new bed wasn't here yet so tentatively we have to settle for a sofa bed
But today they'll be here! Yea! Hee..in a way a drastic change you can say. Yup, from easily accessible SG to a rather ulu place so in a way have to learn my driving here too to get to places. And another negative point is that I MISS SG food! Cos im a foodie! One of my ex colleague did commented in her farewell sms to me that I should update them on my 'TAI TAI' life in Norway. I can say i was kinda offended lor, cos it's definately NO TAI TAI LIFE in foreign countries! That's unless one is married to a millionaire here lah that's a different story.

So think it's a misconception that it's always a better life outside SG. I can say that somethings are nice and some are not..example : lots of nature (trees and such) compared to the concrete jungle in SG mostly highrise buildings..so air tend to be fresher. Aiyah grass is always greener on the other side of the field i guess

We had intended to have BBQ too on Monday it seemed well in the morning then it turned rainy again in the afternoon so at last the pieces of beef went into the oven instead. Nonetheless MIL was very disappointed but as long there's food im ok hehehee

but weather reports said that the weather will turn fine starting today so it might be the same case for you. Keeping fingers cross for you!

de_luxe

Hallo gals!

Seems like all of you have been pretty busy... We've just had a houseful of guests as HB's frens (2 adults &amp; 2 kids) were staying almost a week with us. Since our place is only 2-bedrm, it was very cramped but they were really nice pple and it certainly made a difference that they could speak fluent English so i din have to deal with communicating in body language and superfical "how's today's weather?" type of conversations.

Meanwhile, i'm buried under piles and piles of work... arggh!! i need a holiday!!!!

Tmrw's our 1st year anniversary!
Time flies! I can't believe it!

Ms Lala It's a good thing that ur HTB din come over here to join this new venture thingy. It will take me a long time to trust this kind of stuff again. Seems to me that lots of empty promises were made and now we (the employees and their families) are left to deal with the shambles of the big dreams. Right now, everyone is now stranded and pretty much unsure abt what's going to happen over the next couple of months. The uncertainty in itself is already stressful enough and definately puts a strain on everyone.

BTW, care to share which field ur HTB is in? My HB is a computing geek.

Mrs N Hope your area dries up soon, how's things so far? Have you decided to get MobTV? I've heeard of it, but i haven't looked at it in detail. Or u could always update urself re local news for free via daily e-news from channel news asia, or www.todayonline.com

If you wanna find out what i'm talking abt re the new venture thingy, you can check out this blog: http://asia-intelligence.blogspot.com/

Chrisl Have you gotten ur bed already?

I just gave a fren leaving SG a pile of ready-to-cook local food mixs from PrimaTaste, perhaps you could get someone to send some to you. Not difficult to replicate the local taste, just some adjustments to the ingredients may be needed as there may be some things that are not available where you are located.

I totally understand wat u mean abt those TAI TAI comments. I get them here in SG too, all the time!! Pple pass remarks like why do you still have to work, ur HB can support u wat... Duh!!!! Do they think he's an ATM or what??!! Maybe u shld tell ur ex colleague that things like 24-hr hawker centres, live-in maids and having almost every service e.g. supermarket, banks within walking distance are close to non-existent. I assume it's like this with you cuz that's how it was like for me when i used to live in the countryside in France. No bus and had to walk 45 mins (1-way) to the nearest supermarket cuz din have driving licence at that time and there wasn't always someone available to drive me around when needed. That should set the record somewhat straight.

Think it's bride bride's big day today? If i'm right, congrats to you bride! Hope everything went well and the hiding of the gown was successful. Welcome to the MRS club!

Those of you who remember Denise Koh - s'porean living in France, she just added me to her friendster... she looks really sweet in her wedding gown!

christie79

Congrats again Bride!

Hee! Finally i got my bed on Friday! But i think i need time to get use to it as i feel i have backache after sleeping on it leh..
Deluxe yup i have some ready mix like my favourite A1 brand curry mix and some others. But not any prima ones. Maybe i'll try that next time when i go home. But anyway i'll ask my parents to bring me some more when they come in Aug that's another 1 mth time! They're coming for my wedding and will be here for 2 weeks. And till then i think i'll try to learn some ropes from my dad (he's a chef). Ok gotta run now, hubby waiting for me to resume my 'cleaning duties' hehehe..

georginat

Hi ladies !!! kiss kiss kiss

miss you gals !!! at last get to use the internet now after 2 months in canberra..actually i am in sydney now, and found a $$2.50/hr internet cafe so quickly got in and logged in to talk to u gals !!! haha!! internet is ex in canberra and there is no home phone and internet at the company's apt we stayed (we got our own apt now so will have the internet connect this coming friday, yipee !!) tried to use it at thye library but only allowed 15 mins and so many people queuing to use the pcs..give up !!

nisa, chris, nikki, joyce, mrs.N, EJ, deluxe...any goodnews :)..at last me and my hubby can 'try' to make baby now after moving to own apt !!

so amny newcomers in just 2 months:) welcome here, family is getting bigger now, love it !!

from next friday onwards, i can talk to u girls more often here :)

nisa, hows little sofia?? saw her pics at multiply, so pretty :) i wish i have a girl too !!

am in sydney with a gf, she came to visit me so we can in sydney for 4 days, poor hubby in canberra working...haha !!

mrs_n

Hi Gina long time no 'see'! Glad that you are ok. You can tell us more stories once you get your internet.

de-luxe you always seem to be buried under piles of work. Poor you! Btw happy belated 1st Anniversary to you (and Freaky too if she's still reading this thread). Nope still procrastinating with the MOBTV. I do log on to todayonline occasionally and new paper. Straits Times Interactive used to be my lifeline until they started charging subscription. Expensive business this is trying to keep in touch with Sg.

Chrisl I got a few packets of some mixes when I last when home. And guess what? They are so precious that I'm feel too sorry to use them!
Better learn the ropes from your Dad real quick!

eminozy

hi hi ... me been busy , working extra hard to save up for the december wedding and also to live in austria for the rest of the year. Chris got himslef a full time job and still cant figure what to do, although we do want to end up in Australia by next year, hopefully.

So august 27th. I will be in austria till the dec wedding in Singapore! woohoooo. thats my latest news lah.
other than that...super flat out!

gina, so nice to hear from you .. glad to know that you're adapting well to life in Oz ..

Sofi is doing fine .. she's learnt to crawl forwards, not backwards anymore - her father's playstation is her new favourite toy. she's banged her head a few times but it's inevitable, i can't go around monitoring her all the time .. haiz ..

chrisl, wah a garden .. i wish i had my own garden .. we're still looking for a place to stay .. the apartment we're renting is in the process of being sold off so we have till Jan 08 to vacate .. hoping to find a 5RM HDB apartment but with the recent prices nowadays, sigh ..

oh .. have some news to share with you ladies .. i am pregnant again .. close to 3 months' now. keeping a close watch on this pregnancy cos i've had bleeding, staining, cramps, etc .. really hope that in the end, it will be as smooth as when i was pregnant with sofi .. after this, can close shop already .. hahahaha .. that's why we are looking for a big apartment ..

georginat

hi nisa!!! congrats !!! hope i have good news soon like you :) god bless you, you will have a smooth pregnancy as before :)

i am still in sydney, will be back to canberra tomorrow. Nothing to do at nite so come to the internet cafe again for an hour before calling it quit 2nite.

still adapting to the life in oz...cost of living is high here, spent so much money on grocery and home furnitures/kitchenware, need to budget very carefully. We have no car here coz havent bought one yet, so do alot of walking, like walking to the supermarket , about 30 minutes , never walk so much in sg !!and its cold here, miss the sun and the beach ..

i am going back to sg in oct for holiday, we can meet up for coffee then. Guess most of the ladies here are not in sg then, hope a few more can join us then, it will be great !!

Mrs. N, i saw the flood in Uk from the news..over here, lots of UK news..there were floods in sydney and melbourne too and the floods here are much worst than in UK...actually there's drought here, we need to restrict in using water ..isnt it funny ?

It's finally over! Going to be weird next week when everyone leaves. Anyway, thanks for the well-wishes. Still getting used to being called 'Mrs...'.

congratulations!!! i hope you feel better soon. *big hugs* sofi's so lucky to have a sibling to play with soon! hehe.

mrs_n

Cuclainne congrats! Was wondering what you have been up to since hardly see you around here for some time! Now we know.

Gina looks like we all have to follow Cuclainne's example yah! Hee! Hee! You going back to Sg in Oct. Lucky you. We were thinking of going back in December but tickets are not cheap.

bride congrats. How did the day go? Do tell us about it. Any pics?

EJ that's quite a move a few move for you and with your wedding just round the corner. Oh well at least that's better than being apart from your beloved.
Though I bet you'll miss all your buddies in Oz.

christie79

Hey Nisa, congrats! Hope this time will be as smooth as the 1st one!

It's hard work maintaining a garden. I don't have greenfingers lah. The plants under me previously at my mum's place all died either from overwatering or too much fertilizers or the simply wrong type! My MIL has all the credits for her's! Heheh..I can only try to water with her supervision else i don't dare to 'touch'! But apart from that i can only watch the veggies&amp;fruits grow then eat them!

Gina heheh im shelfing my 'BB Project' till next year. LOL I must be mentally prepared and also settle in nicely 1st then deciding on 1 or 2. Actually i wanted to go travel backpack with hubby and learn to drive here before that..haiz! So many things to do!

So good! I also want to go home during CNY next year lah! But im still waiting for reply at the school here to see if they have the schedule out for language classes. So slow leh just waiting only..

Bride How did your wedding go? As for me im embarrassed to say that im so last minute! Can you believe that i chose my march-in song only a few hours before wedding ROM in the evening! And there's some hiccups at the reception area as my helpers were missing (they were still putting on make up)Ah yeah my sis and cousins lor! LOL and best of all there's no one to indicate to guests where they're seating etc..Haiz! I was soooo stress that 1/2 hour before the ROM! Thankfully some of my aunts helped out and as it's a family affair, everyone helped one way or another and it's all over! All in all i still managed to be generally stressfree as my wedding's not that much! Just simple tea ceremony/luncheon at my mum's place then dinner at hotel.

Mrs NLOL! Me too! I have to ration my food mixes and try to resist the temptations! I kinda 'smooth talked'+ 'cry' to hubby so as he could drive me to the asian store this saturday to replenish some aisan food LOL!

I MISS SG FOOD&amp;MY TAMPINES HOME! PRAY THAT THERE'LL BE A DIRECT FLIGHT FROM SG TO OSLO SOON!

Haiz! Back to my cleaning! Talk soon again!

Hi Mrs N &amp; Chrisl,

The day went by so quickly!!! I wish there were more hours in the day, but alas, we had to make do. We had similar problems with seating the guests as well. They all arrived at the same time and I didn't arrange for enough helpers to ushers the guests. I didn't think it would be that difficult - give tabel names, check table plan, go hunt table down! Luckily I had some very proactive uncles and aunts who helped out. Otherwise, I think it was rather stress free and fun. We only wish we were guests instead, gives us more time to enjoy the food and company, rather than going round, splitting our time with different groups.

Yes, I ended up not eating as much as I had planned! Not that I wasn't given a chance to but I was so tired I didnt have an appetite. Argh. But the manager was very nice and invited us and our parents back to makan, and we did, and it was great. Gave us a chance to eat as a family before husband's family leaves.

I'll put some pictures up on Multiply soon. Have to sort them out as they come in and find the nicer ones! hahaha...The flash made my face look so white, and wayang!!!
but all in all, a great day, and starting to feel a little odd not having this big thing to plan for anymore.

eminozy

wow, the thread is moving rapidly again!

bride-bride, congrats! heheheh
..hmm so theres issues with people not knowing their tables... I never thought that can be an issue too, thanks for highlighting that up! i shall ponder about it for awhile.
cant wait to see your photos!

Mrs N/Nisa. Technically, am getting my room here rented out while i stay in Austria for the rest of the year. I will be back in Melbourne next year, perhaps january. Chris and me, after being married, still cannot make a decision where to stay. You can call us LOH SOH.
hehehh But i think it will be Oz, most definitely in the end. It will take a bit of time. Mrs N, of course i wanna be with him,hehe. Its a good thing ive been so busy these days i got no time to get depressed like a few mths back. Making cupcakes and curling in bed. Now i am more pro active. It will be in a mth before I will be in Spore and then Austria! Hooray!

Georgina! Wow. So u made it all to canberra? Its a bit isolating isnt it? But its snow season, you are so near the mountains, you should be skiing! Walking is good, i walk 4km to work and back everyday too. Keeps the mind sane somehow

Chrisl- heheh. True, married to an ang moh doesnt equal Rich Tai Tai.
hehehehehhe I still have to get that message to some of my families and friends sometimes.

emi,
thanks. the tables thing will sort itself out. people will find a space to sit so that they can EAT! hahaha...

the one big advice we have, now that it is over and too late for us, is to have a list of people you definately want pictures with. We ended up being pulled all over the place and sidetracked that we missed out on taking photos with parents and grandparents.

pinkpony

Hi ladies. You know its so inspiring to read this thread

It seems like all of us kind of been through similar process of - fall in love with a person from other side of the world, overcoming long distance, moving to new country, handling two weddings, new life out of Singapore, dealing cultures differences, typical local perspective of marrying a caucasian....

Onced seemed so challenging and tough to me, now its like 'common' and 'light' ahead after hearing your successful stories!

christie79

Don't feel like cleaning much today so popped by online. It's been raining again! Xian! But im craving for chicken curry since it's cold! So i'll be making some later, with some hot fluffy rice and some prata! Yeah! I got a pkt at the asian stores on sat! Thinking about it makes me drool already now heheheh!
kao_drool.gif

Bride Yeah same problems! The guests seemed to appear at the same time! Oh you didnt take shots with them? I guess your's is a bigger wedding than mine then, i got to have pictures with only 6 tables. But the only thing is that i was disappointed about not having a whole group photo. That might be really nice to have for keepsake as not everyone's around like in this kind of occassion. Yeah! Im kinda bored that now don't have this event to plan anymore (My MIL does most of my wedding plannings here in Norway as she's more familiar with the people and stuffs here. So im kinda leaving it to her) But i'll help in whatever i can also. I hope there'll be good weather then and i can deco the tent with hubby. And also some baking of cakes nearer to the day. Getting a little excited though..and nervous meeting all hubby's other relatives! Esp when most do not really speak too much English..

Lala Yes i do get some faith and hope while reading the posts here. Esp encouraging words from all the rest. Sometimes when we're stuck in a situation, all we need to do here is talk it all out here and good old advices will come pouring in. I think we're indeed fortunate to have found friends here on the board. Right gals?

Okie! I have to go make dinner as hubby will be back soon! And im hungry! Stomach's calling!
kao_byebye.gif

eminozy

oh my God, I missed the part where nisa is pregnant again! . congratulations!

Chrisl, u found prata in Norway? wahhh not bad!
heheheheheheh. I wonder if i can find prata in munich. When i stay in Innsbruck next month, we have to travel to munich to get our asian grocery fix, the one in innsbruck is so limited and more towards Indian stuffs. SO, spices are the only thing that wont be an issue there.

Mrs N, i will be back in singapore for 10 days befor Innsbruck. During which i will be doing my Dinner trial, fitting of my baju, meeting with venue and deco, buying door gift thank you accessory, printing a sample invite, sampling my wedding cupcake and also checking the accomodations for my overseas guests. So yes, it will be busy. Am glad i get to do them in stages where i prepare/organise from overseas and stipulate them as my daily activity there. I have this just do it attitude. The first time i wrote in here i was organising from Innsbrck, went to singapore for a week and confirmed my dress, the deco, the venue and food! I think its better oraganising remote, so you dont have time to whinge.

I think the next time in dec, i will be just making sure everything is just as we have planned it out to be. LIFE is GOOD.

Lala, i think the last 6 months are the most crucial part. My first small wedding everything was done within 2 months. But this one, somehow i am glad i have a year and I am not turning into those crazy bridezillas. I ma quite glad that my mum is giving me a lot of creative power on my wedding, as you know how normally the Asian wedding is a mothers thing? I am such a rebel.heheh. I think I am quite relax too coz i dont have my mum breathing down my neck on all the decisions i made. We merely discuss it on the phone most of the time.

Hmmmm, or maybe coz i will have a smaller one in Malacca a week before my AD in Singapore where i told her - do whatever you and dad wants!
heheheh

christie79

Yup! EJ I also got dried chinese mushrooms, dried prawns, glutinous rice, dried anchovies and such. So i'll be making nasi lemak next week or maybe some glutinous rice chinese style. So happy! Hopefully the stove comes sooner! Cos now im just using a hot plate PIL lent me..so in a way my cooking a little restricted!

Anyway Seems like you're pretty busy! Stay well!

Chrisl,

Yeah, we had 150 guests at the wedding. We met everyone, just didn't have time to mingle equally with them, hence the lack of photo ops i guess. The ones I am upset we didn't get photos with were of course our parents and grandparents! Unbelieveable! So that now becomes our one big tip for weddings - take photos with parents and other key people before doing anything else!

Anyway, it sounds like you're settling in pretty well and having fun cooking. Do you cook much when you're in Singapore? Happy cooking and hope your stove comes soon.

eminozy

Chrisl, yalah i have to buy like a whole car of grocery back to Innsbruck when i am there next month! hehehe

i just saw elena's wedding photos... OH MY GOD>> gorgeous BAJU!!!!! and very very nice venue.... so nostalgic and beautiful! ok.. i am a bit blur right now ..which of you is elena?

hheheh oh dear... i am confused. this gastroflu(EXCUSE) is driving me insane. hehehhehe.

christie79

Yes Bride Im into cooking and baking, but have not much time since i started working in my previous job which had longer hours (that's 2years until my wedding). But previously in kindergarten, i had time to come home after work in the afternoon to make dinner and such for my family. That's what i miss so much as now i don't stay with my parents anymore. How do you cope living with your hubby? Are you living in SG now? Or..?

Hmm! Bad news lah! My stove came yesterday but i still feel sad! Why?! Cos the fuse is not compatible with the stove so hubby needs to specially order the fuse and rewire it. I dunno cos he's the main electrician of the hse! As for the settling part im not sure yet cos sometimes i still cry when i miss my family much, like yesterday and made poor hubby so worried..

EJ Oh is it?? I must take a look soon on her photos! Elena is 'bridebride' right? Or?? Heee..think i should volunteer and make a table of who's who at least it's easier to refer to

georginat

chrisl...welcome to the 'housewife aka yellow faced auntie' club rather than 'taitai'club !! my 'job' now is to clean the house, cook, do grocery shopping..have not done so much housework in my life before !! have to adapt to it at least for the moment. Luckily there are quite a number of asian grocrey stores here so have no problem getting asian food.

de_luxe, my hubby is a computer geek too... i think IT industry is doing pretty well worldwide, and hope things are fine by now :) we relocate to canberra coz there is better opportunity here,but who knows, 2 or 3 years later, if my hubby finds a better job elsewhere, we will move again....guess sometimes we have to be versatile and go where the opportunity lays...of course we miss singapore !!! the weather and the FOOD !!!

where are you, nisa!!! busy attending to princess sofia?;-)

hi miss lala..which part of oz your HTB from?

Mrs. N...how have you been? things are getting smoother here now..some minor hiccups here and then, like the dryer broke down (even before we move in, and mind you, its a brand new apartment and we are the 1st tenant, unbelievable!!) and we have to wait for about a month before someone come to fix it !! also, we waited 1 month to get the furnitures !!! and dont forget waited about 2 weeks to get the home phoneline !! i am kinda 'numb' now for the slow response by the people here...not too bad for a quick temper person like me !!it really 'train' me to be patient, patient, patient...

georginat

chrisl...we are still trying the 'bb' project...dont know when will hav ethe good news..hope will be soon :)

yes, chrisl, guess you should travel around europe now since you are there, once you have 'bb' it will be not so easy to travel around. I travelled europe with my mom for 2 months in 1999. My favourite countries are Spain and Italy. i have not been to Norway but heard its very expensive there.

christie79

Yes Georgina Some things are expensive here! Chicken for example, cost about S$10 per 2 slices of chix breast meat! And pork is also ex! I also really don't like the fact that the meat that i want to get are already mostly marinated! So for example if i wanted to boil some chinese pork rib soup it'll be tricky, as it's expensive and the meat already marinated so it has a different taste! Grrrhh! And there is the chicken too, sometimes you can find whole chicken not marinated but with all the insides and it's ex like about S$30 for a KG and hubby said 'no' as he didn't want to pay for a chicken with all the insides not cleaned and also we'll be throwing away the insides..Hmm means throwing $ away
So no choice, i have to tentatively stick with chix breast meat. But Hubby will be going hunting for moose, deer and venison meat when comes sept's hunting season. So till then can stock up the supply of other meat..

And yes special 'taxes' called 'luxury taxes' here, foods say like chocolates, sweets and stuffs are expensive!

Im also a little fed up with the SLOW system here! Like that time, just waiting for my bed to get here takes sometime. And my stove for 3 weeks! But guess it's to really test and train patience hahha..

Hope hubby has the time, cos he took his summer vacation when he came over to SG for the wedding. So now he's engaged with much work
and the next long holiday will only be next summer. But still we might be able to catch some long weekends somewhere nearer say like sweden to visit his aunt and her family. Yes! Italy is very nice right!? Nice places to visit like rome/florence and such and majority of the guys are Ricky Martin look-a-likes heheh but i've not been to Spain though. How was it like? Warm with nice people too?

eminozy

BUt Chrisl, SALMON ARE SUPER DUPER DIRT CHEAP!!!! I ate salmon everyday when i was in norway. Its the cheapest meat ever!
I miss norwegian fresh salmon!
OOh ooh.. have you eaten whale yet?