Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

margiel

Hi all, just to check whether do we need to inform any Sg statutory board after overseas marriage? I just had mine in Australia last month, wondering do I need to update my status in Sg. Apparantly i cant find any related infomation from the ROM site

mrs_n

Hi Margiel when I went to ICA to add in my married name into my I/C and passport, they automatically updated my marital status. You don't have to inform ROM as you didn't get married in Singapore. I didn't either. But I did inform CPF, banks and insurance etc. But more because of the addition to my original name.

margiel

Thanks Mrs N
Never thought of informing CPF/banks/Ins heee.. Will further check with ICA since im retaining my own name. Have a good weekend!

mrs_n

Margiel you're welcome.

Actually I still retain my own name. Unlike Western countries where a woman can completely drop her maiden name and take on her husband's name if she so chooses, Singapore doesn't allow you to drop your original name. So whatever name you have on your BC, IC, passport still stays. The only difference is that just below your original name is 'Mrs xxx married name'. I have both on my IC and passport. Quite handy actually as I have a choice of travelling either in my original name or in my married name. One of the advantages of being Singaporean I guess.

Yeah I needed to inform CPF because of addition of married name (and after all that they told me that the computer couldn't accomodate too many characters so would I mind if they stuck to my original name and not add in my married name!) and also renominate as I added my husband's name to my list of nominees.

You have a great weekend too. Looks like summer has finally paid a visit to Britain. Well better late than never!

pinkpony

Interestingly Margiel and Mrs N, since on the topic of registration in overseas.. wondering if the Registry of Marriage legal rights in overseas registered marriage is the same as in Singapore registered one?

I am just curious as unfortunately, over this weekend, had to explain a divorced legal document to a family friend who can't read English.. v. sad.

There was this legal rights based on Women's Charter in the Singapore Registered Marriage that all women are almost covered for. So the assets of their separation has to be evenly divided.

And, just curiously wondering, if ours is overseas registered, would it be the same? Not just like this purpose (touch wood!) but, just curious as whether they are the same esp. when the legal stuffs are concerned?

I want to add my married name!

margiel

Hmm Lala, i think in Australia, upon divorced, assets are divided equally and if with kids, it is based on a fixed percentage of the ex-husband's income (not amount, hence if the man is jobless, he need not pay for those month, if he earns more, the ex-wife will be able to get more) for child's monthly maintenance if the main caregiver is the mother. Whereas in Sg, the court will order the man to pay a fixed sum as monthly maintenance. This is based on my assumption only
I can check for you the Australia one since R has experienced it before. As for Registry of Marriage legal rights, i have no idea for both sides... Let me know if you do come across.

Christine, I hope your garden wedding went without a hitch! You must show us your photos yah .. :D

Mrs N, yah .. the other day we had nasi lemak (prepared by my mom) and he was like, your mom makes heavenly prawn sambal .. a bit sweet but still got kick .. talk like some sambal connoisseur .. then he asked me if i knew how to make it .. yikes! :S hahahah ..

Priscilla, wah .. SQ huh .. bet you had a good flight yah .. :D .. how long are you here for?

mrs_n

Miss Lala never thought about such things in detail! Guess divorce or seperation is something we never discussed as its not really in line with Catholic teaching!

Anyway found this from the MFA website:

<font color="0000ff">All valid marriages contracted/solemnised outside Singapore and registered in accordance with the law of the place in which the marriages were contracted/celebrated are recognised by our Government for all purposes of the Law of Singapore unless there are reasons to doubt the particular marriage was not validly contacted. In such cases, the Court of Law is the final arbiter as to whether the marriage is recognised by the Singapore Law. Please visit the Registry of Marriages website for other details on marriages. There is no provision in the Women's Charter (Chapter 353) to empower the Registrar of Marriages to re-register a marriage contracted and already registered outside Singapore.</font>

From my understanding as long as one resides within the jurisdiction of the Singapore courts the Woman's Charter applies, regardless of where the marriage took place, provided the marriage was contracted in the proper way pertaining to the laws of the country that it was registered in. For those of us who are not on home ground I guess we are covered by the laws of the country we live in. But don't take my word as the 'Gospel Truth' as I may be wrong!

I think we need a lawyer to explain something as complicated as this.

georginat

HI ladies !!

chrisl...remember to show us your wedding pic sin Norway!:)

pris..when you going back to sg?? i am going back in end oct, hope to meet up a few of the ladies here..

mrs_n

Cuclainne your hubby very funny!
Sambal Connoisseur eh? Hahaha! He should learn masak masak from your mother since he like Malay cooking so much.

Chrisl yah remember to put up your piccies on multiply when you get them. Hope all your 'stove' problems have been solved.

Gina how's life in Canberra?

georginat

HI mrs. N, life is ok in canberra, kinda boring but still alright..

oh ya, i tried a few rendang mix brands and found this 'claypot' brand beef or chicken rendang mix the best !! its from Malaysia, maybe they are selling at the asian stores in Uk , Germany or Norway..really good , surprisingly, it includes the coconut milk powder (seperate pack)as well..yum yum...its pretty spicy too..

Mrs N, heheheh .. this man already did! When he met my parents for the second time (my mom invited him for dinner), he immediately went to the kitchen and started asking my mom about the sambal fish she was frying and then ask her how she managed to make the rice so fluffy cos he can never get it to be that way .. aiyoh, really know how to get into my mom's good books .. of course my mom likes that he enjoys her food .. really know how to get one up on my bro-in-law who can't take local food at all .. so funny, once my sister told him about Elias, he immediately set about trying to show my mom that he too can eat her food :D

Gina, can do .. of course we will eat all the rendang la since Elias don't take meat .. have you tried the prata place at Food Republic, VivoCity? Elias said it's the best prata he's had ever .. he likes the cheese and mushroom the best.

christie79

Hey gals!

Just taking a short break here. The wedding was really nice and thank God, the weather was so good that day!
Nisa But it's a barnyard wedding instead as MIL didn want to take any chances in case of rain! But the 1st welcome reception was in the garden in a tent. Then proceeded to the barn for dinner and such.

Almost everyone was drunk! OMG!!! Including my MIL and FIL! They were so 'high'..esp my MIL..whoa..i've never seen her like that before! LOL It was a night of music, food, dance, booze &amp; good conversations! Or should i say morning too? As the celebration ended around 3am and some guests hanged around till about 5am so that day i slept at 6am in the morning!

Sure will do! I'll post the pictures soon next week on multiply when my parents return home.

Thanks Deluxe! I'll try that webpage later!
Btw, how's the planning of your sister's wedding? The other time you mentioned that you're put in charge to plan that &amp; you're keen on having it at the Zoo? Now my weddings finally over i feel so 'shake leg' hahah..suddenly feels like i miss planning for weddings LOL maybe can consider being a wedding planner!

But as for my hubby's eating habits, he's trying his best for now, eating and trying some at least...hehhe..I was 'sulky' at him and also commented that he could have some chocolates (his favourite treats) during TV snack everytime after eating/trying some of my cooking (just like dangling a carrot in front of a donkey LOL)

But sometimes i leave the job to him, like yesterday, he made dinner for everyone and my parents were so impressed that he took a little less than 30minutes to whip up a somewhat beef stew. Wah that gives me a good excuse to relax and not fretting over what to cook for dinner! LOL Plus my dad is here to give me some 'hands-on' cooking lessons. So hope i can 'master' the art of cooking soon! LOL

Yeah Pris i like that aroma garlic, onions and ginger gives out upon frying...made the dishes full of flavour..

LOL haha i also don't like to watch NDP when i was in SG! The only time was last year when i was offered a ticket to go accompany my friend last minute. But the actual celebration there was better then watching on TV..kekeke

Eliz Wow, that's so fast 1 year! Happy anniversary in advance!

Ms Lala Mrs N I collect recipes from all over too, from mags, newspaper and now webpages! hehe..

Oh I like soupy foods too like porridge and fishball soup! Now talking about it makes me feel hungry! Hahah cos im a cantonese, are you too Ms lala?

Wah so good Georgina &amp; Pris ! Can eat local food soon! I jokingly told my folks that the next time im there, i'll go to the hawker centre and order a range of food (fishball noodles, prawn noodles dry with lots of chilli and vinegar, oyster omelette, chicken rice, carrot cake, laksa and such and i'll eat a little each to satisfy my cravings! LOL

Oh also my stove problem will soon be solved as hubby got the cables and will put them up when he gets time during the evenings when he's back from work. Hope to bake some pastries then!

georginat

HI chrisl !!! u r back !! glad to hear the wedding went as planned :) so now only left the stove problem...after this problem is solved, yipee !! time to cook more and better !!Its nice to hear that you PIL enjoyed themselves at the wedding which also means, they are veyr happy to accept you as their DIL!!:)

Mrs. N, i cook everyday because i prefer to eat diff food everyday!! haha!! so everyday i will have to 'crack my brain' what to cook...yesterday we had beef and tofu, so today will be chicken and macoroni...next day, fish..crazy right?? hubby is fine with any food, its me, the troublesome one..

pinkpony

Hi ladies. I think I can picture that 'shake leg' moment!

Chrisl, my mum's a cantonese. And you know how much influence a women has on what's in the dinner table. LOL!

Oh, speaking of that, something I read yesterday - most often, a kid will take on the Father's height and Mother's weight.. haha.. I've my moments of day-dreaming

Chrisl, your PIL's side must be quite 'happening' kind! Good on you!

Georgina, I am also like you - prefer to eat different food everyday. I can't even pack dinner's leftovers for lunch box the next day! Have you got used to the taste of Vegemite?

christie79

Thanks Gina! Finally the stove problem's solved. Im so happy now that everything's in order that even got a hood to channel all that cooking 'smoke' outside the house..hehehe Yesterday night to be exact! Hubby got to rewire and we had a late late dinner at 10pm after that! You got Tofu there? Is that the very soft type or the harder type? I think i saw some harder types at the asian mart the other time too but i prefer the soft type. I miss 'soft toufu and minced pork' dish my mum used to make.

Ms lala I see, im also into herbal soups and such! Same as Mrs N, too much creamy soups is no no for me.

Im now in the transition of 'shaking leg' to 'babies making' LOL well not that soon lah but thinking and planning that might be withnin next 1.5-2 years...But all in all hope to at least travel child-free 1st to sightsee some countries as a 'honeymoon' couple haha

*SIGH* And oh now that wedding headache gone..it's the next step now that both my Mum &amp; MIL are thinking about the BB project! Long story lah..my mum and MIL did kinda expressed that both would like to take care of the baby and me after i gave birth. So how!?? Anyone had this dilemma? Giving birth in SG or overseas?

I would like to be near my mum as she can make nice confinment food for me but on the other hand, there might be much cost to have BB in SG leh..

liz4jeroen

Thks Chrisl! Two more days to our 1st anniversary! TOday's my in-law's 35 wedding anniversary!

Talking about soup! I miss my mum's soup! I love Chinese herbal soup too! My mum can make very nice ones! Envy those who r back in Sg! Dun know when I can go back! Bn away for more than 1 1/2 yr! Too ex to go back!

Talking abt having who to take care! I told my hubby that if I am able to give birth, I use that as an excuse to get my mum to come over! Hee hee!

Mrs N, I will show Jeroen's the website! He is busy now doing up the bookshelves. I can't wait for all my books to be neatly placed in the shelves. It is now everywhere in the bedroom, along the corridor! Hse is in a mess! My ringpillows' materials lies on the dining table in a real mess! Ha ha ha.... I guess u can imagine it! Ha ha ha....

I am so hungry!!!! Have to wait another 1/2 hr b4 gourment at my in laws' place! Faint liao! Ha ha ha....

georginat

chrisl...i like soft tofu too..in oz, can buy tofu easily, somemore the 'fortune' brand from sg !! price reasonable, like A$1.20 for 300g..i make tofu with chopped mushrooms and mince pork too ..yum yum

we are also in the process of 'baby making'..i think will take about 6 to 10 mths to see the 'results' unless damn lucky 1 shot got it..

i told julio i would like to go sg to give birth but he said so ex, if not oz wil lbe spain, coz its free...of course to me sg better, got my mom to do confinement for me, if not got to fly her over ..my mom flew to chicago to do confinement for my sis when she gave birth to her 1st child there , she went there for 6 mths !! poor me, got no one to cook for me in sg then...

miss lala, i havent tried vegemite yet but i used to eat marmite with porridge when young..i dont eat with bread coz it so salty..

mrs_n

Hi Liz can't imagine just one year ago we were at your place helping you with last minute bits and pieces!
Where did the year go eh? Ha! Ha! You must be desperate to get your place tidied up. Just finished vaccumming and moping our house. Took me the whole morning. Sometimes I wish I was still living in a flat! Less cleaning and tidying to do.

Ha! Ha! Gina 'baby making' is a mixture of luck, practise and nature. Results within 6 to 10 mths considered very good! But best not to give yourself a time frame if it happens it happens! If not just keep trying. Practise makes perfect!

BBC Panorama did a documentary of maternity wards and it was quite distressing to see how pregnant patients were treated in some hospitals due to shortage of midwives. Makes me think even though Sg medical is ex at least they do take care of you. In some ways being away makes you really appreciate home though I doubt I will go back to Sg if I have to give birth. Too much hassle!

Chrisl you just have to get use to people asking you when you're going to have kids. Ha! Ha! When I last went back, everybody kept asking me. Can be quite stress!
Now I just tell people that having kids is not like turning on a tap! Doesn't happen as and when you want. At the end of the day, it's God's will.

margiel

Wow Mrs N, that sounds scary after reading the attached article. Ya in fact Singapore hospital is still one of the blessed place to give birth cos at least you know there's a doctor to deliver your baby! I can't imagine those women in labour pain and yet without bed and proper medical care which can be extremely dangerous. It could eventually cause complications due to human neglection.. hmm....

gottliebt

Hey girls! I´m back in Singapore now, but it doesn´t seem like there´s anybody in Singapore now?!?

Cuclainne, Georgina I´ll be in SIngapore till 11th of September. I guess that´s way too early to catch you Georgina? You´re only coming back in Oct? I would be back in Germany by then already. Apparently a lot of my frens are engaged now! I can foresee at least 4 weddings of CLOSE friends in Singapore in 2008 already! I´m contemplating the possibility of working in Singapore for one year in 2008 so I can attend all the weddings! hahahah.

Hi everyone! I have been introduced to this thread by Margiel and it sounds very cosy with everyone sharing their experiences.

I have been living in the UK since 2000 and have been married since 2005. A friend of mine told me about this website as I was looking for advice on planning my wedding reception back home in Singapore but it looks like there is more fun on this thread other than weddings!

I live in Cheltenham in the UK. Anyone close by? We were affected by the floods a few weeks back and did not having any running water for more than a week.

I would love to join in the chat about everything and anything but would also like any pointers anyone can share about planning a wedding in Singapore whilst being abroad as I don't think I will have time to return home to plan.

pinkpony

Welcome fruitchick! Hope you find this thread as inspiring and motivating as I certainly do!

Chrisl, sounds like your MIL is kind of 'Asian'.. haha... well, I was given an impression (maybe just because my F-MIL is like that) that western culture, MIL is less likely to take care of grandchildren and DIL. They will baby-sit. But not really our Asian culture kind of looking after. *enlighten me, ladies*

And yes, we do get that dilemma. Wish you can transport yourself to the other part of the world immediately after giving birth right!

Then again, there's also so much dilemma after that. Like, I really would like to bring up my future kids in a big extended family like I was. But in my HTB's family, is only him and his folks... oh ok, I think I am really thinking too much. Maybe I should focus on when I should have my wedding first! LOL!!

Georgina, yes, I love my Bovril with porridge. I still do so now actually. Very yummy! HTB, typical Aussie, loves his vegemite.

georginat

HI Pris..yes, i will only be back in oct, cant catch you too..4 weddings of close friends in a year is considered alot !! not a bad idea to work in sg for a year in order to attend the weddings!! haha! if not will have to spend slot on airfares..

HI Fruitchick !! welcome to the thread!! there are a few ladies here living in UK now, like Mrs. N, tootsieroll...if you are looking for a restaurant or hotel to hold your wedding in sg, you will need to contact the PIC of the venue and see if the date you want is still available for booking.

mrs_n

Hi Pris it's good to be home isn't it? We're in the process of buying our tickets to go home next Easter.

Besides Cuclainne, deluxe and Bride are still based in Singapore.

Miss Lala I think it depends on the age of the MIL and also how naughty the kids are! My MIL is eighty. She'll be able to cook for the grandkids and look after them but not by herself for a whole day. Well with my BIL's kids she probably could but not my SIL's. Ha! Ha! It is a standing joke to ask my PILs whether they have 'recovered' after my SIL's family visit. She has three boys and they are all rascals!

kao_welcome.gif
Fruitchik

Yeah as Gina says I'm living in the UK but am not anywhere near Cheltenham. Up in North Nottinghamshire near the borders of S Yorkshire and N Lincolnshire. Is your place still drying out? Our area was hit by the earlier floods (in June). Parts of our village were flooded too. But not as bad as they were in S Yorkshire and of course in Western areas.

I came to the UK in 2001 and got married in 2005. We had our church wedding in the UK and a blessing in S'pore a few months later. Left the planning of the S'pore wedding to my family. My mum, aunts, cousins, nieces were all very keen to help so it was hard to say 'no'.
They had less than a year to organise it so we didn't really have much in terms of choice of venue. Other than that it was pretty easy-going. I wore the same dress as I did for the UK wedding. We didn't have any pre-wedding photoshoots. We made do with our wedding photos in the UK. What other things? Favours - my aunt baked us a cake which we used as favours. Not sure what else! Hee! Hee! I'm not really the best person to ask about wedding planning. Didn't really plan one. Not even the UK one, my husband did!

margiel

Hi Fruitchick! Good to see you here
Currently im back in Sg till Sept so now trying to source as much info on wedding venue, at least i can still go down to have a look. I may oso go back to my BS (Bridal Studio) where we had our pre wedding photoshoots for rental of gowns and suits + accessories for our SG wedding reception next yr. Hmm as for wedding cakes, it will be cupcakes, saw some beautiful cupcakes online
I guessed everything has to be sourced online when we are not in Sg. It might be better and easier for you to get ur wedding cards, shoes, gowns/ suits, accesories in UK. Things to be confirmed in Sg will probably be your wedding venue, make up artists, photographer and your hand bouquet
Have fun and enjoy ur preparation!

Mrs N - we were not flooded although the neighbouring areas were badly hit. Things have got back to normal in the city of cheltenham but I gather that in other areas, people are now dealing with their flooded properties and the damage that has been caused.

Margiel - I have already set a date for next Sept at Four Seasons. Will be a small do, with not more than 15 tables of guests but the biggest problem now is what I have to wear - which of course is THE most important thing!

When my husband and I got married in the UK, we only had a very small registry wedding and I never wore anything glamourous. It was very low cost and simple as we anticipated that the big expenditure will be the reception in Singapore.

I am going back to SG in May next year to finalise the details of the reception at Four Seasons and the rest of plans and was hoping to either get buy my dress in Singapore or get one made for me. I am not very tall so getting something in the UK will be a challenge. Also, I don't fancy paying over the odds for something that I can get more in Singapore. Difficult choices!

I was going to get my own cake for the reception but my friend advised me to leave it to the hotel as they're providing one - the less I have to do, the better - so unfortunately, will have to make do with that! I've seen pictures of cupcakes and they are so cute and novel!

mrs_n

Hi fruitchick glad to know you weren't flooded. Our house wasn't flooded either but our neighbours on the lower side of the hill were! Guess we are the lucky ones who still have a home to return to.

TBH I don't think dresses are much cheaper in SG either. I think a lot of it boils down to how fussy one is and how elaborate the dress is. I had mine made and it cost me about £120. I didn't really have the time to do dress shopping so I just bought a dress pattern and the cloth off the internet and my MIL found a local seamstress. To save cost I sewned my own veil.
Btw is your hubby a Brit? Sorry just wondering as most Brits tend to have everything at one go rather than wait a few years later for the party.

Eh Cuclainne when you were expecting Sofi you use to refer to her as 'peanut'! So what is your nickname for this second one? 'Peanut number dua'?

Mrs N, my hubby is English but brought up in Germany. His family is pretty small so when we only had a small registry do as my parents would like to have a traditional wedding but as we have been busy since the registry, its only now that i've managed to find some time to organise this. I know its not usual but no choice as my parents do not really regard us as "married" until we fulfil the "rites" back home if you get my drift.

Your plan of making your own sounds great but I don't know if I am brave enough to do that here. I was hoping to get a nice evening dress that I could also wear in the UK when we have to attend formal events so that's why I was considering something nice that I can keep and re-use.

Is it very cold where you are? Do you work?

mrs_n

Fruitchick yeah I know what you mean. I would have been happy with just one wedding but most of my family couldn't come over and my hubby's family couldn't make the trip to SG so we just had to split. Our UK one was fairly simple too. Had it in the village hall and did almost everything ourselves to the point of growing our own flowers to save cost. But it was fun.

My wedding dress was quite simple and if I dyed it, I dare say it could be used as an evening dress (if I shorten it or cut the train off)! But don't think I would as I feel kind of attached to it.
However on my mum's insistence I had an evening gown made. But this was done in Singapore. I sent my measurements over to my mum and she got someone to sew it. I didn't see the dress, didn't know what pattern or colour it was, until it arrived here along with my mother for the wedding! So it would have been too late if I didn't like it. I know I have a hapazard way of doing things and I wouldn't recommend anyone following that route even though it worked out alright for me in the end!

I think Margiel has a point though that it might be easier to get some things in the UK. Though I guess price varies depending on where you are in the UK. However if you start looking around and get your stuff in the sales or online it might not be too expensive. Have you tried going on the Confetti forum for ideas? Usually you can get good tips on there. I think the girls there tend to recommend Monsoon for wedding dresses that aren't too elaborate. Or if you want to go down the tailor route and want some ideas for dress patterns you can try Sewbridal. That's where I got mine.

It is cold in the house at the moment but that's b'cos all the heating's off.
But temperature wise its generally a degree or two cooler where we are than in London.

Yeah I work.
But ask my husband the same question and he will say it's not a real job b'cos I don't get paid very much!

Mrs N, I did consider the same thing as you - take my measurements and get someone to tailor it in SG. However, the last time, when I went BS browsing, and suggested this to them, they were horrified so I'm not sure how feasible this will be. I have a few designs in my head that I quite like so I'm hoping that I can get what I want. It was very risky of you to not know how your dress turned out though. What if u didn't like the colour or design? This reminds me of the BBC programme "Big Day" or something like that where the family plans the entire wedding celebration without input from the bride &amp; groom. HAAA!

I did consider Monsoon and have seen Confetti but can't find anything I like. I'm not very tall and have a awkward figure so will be difficult to get something off the rack in shops I suspect.

I will check out Sewbridal though as that sounds interesting. Thanks for the tip!

The temperature is very cold as a matter of fact. I started wearing my winter coat today and I am not one who's afraid of the cold. Where did the summer go?

Do you know a lot of Singaporeans in the UK? I don't know a single person from back home. All my friends have gone back home.

mrs_n

HaHa! Come to think of it, yah our SG wedding was certainly like 'Big Day' we hadn't a clue of what to expect. We just did as we were told. The only difference was I knew what I was wearing but my hubby didn't know what he was wearing until we arrived in SG.
My mum went to a BS recommended thru' a friend and this lady made my evening gown. Like the other BS, she had never done such a thing before i.e. work from a measurement table for ladies taken off the internet (and measured up by someone who has never done tailoring in his life - my hubby!). Ha! Ha! Some good came out of it though, my mum ended up being friends with her and she came to our wedding dinner. Her BS provided the photography, videography, the car &amp; deco, flowers, MUA and hubby's suit.

Have you tried trying on any wedding dresses to see what styles suits you? I didn't get the chance to go to any bridal shops in the UK. Too busy and didn't fancy venturing into such shops on my own.
So I look up the internet for guides on what styles go best with which body shapes and took my cue from there.

There wasn't much of a summer this year. There's hardly been a day when I've been without my fleece. In fact it kinds of feels like autumn now.

I don't know very many Singaporeans in the UK either. Those I know are from this thread: freaky (in Bournemouth she hardly comes on here these days), tootsieroll (in essex was my former flatmate), and from another thread: lilo stitch (in Manchester), Cass (in Richmond) and Cindy (in Soton). And of course there's my cousin in bonny Edinburgh.
Though none near enough to hang out with. We all tend to communicate by MSN or multiply. Do you have either? Most girls on this thread are on multiply. Mine is paulandsharon. If you would like to chat by MSN or yahoo just click on 'Mrs N'. Though I've since discovered through the overseassingaporean portal that there may be some nearer than I thought.
Have you been on it?

Did you come to the UK to study?

Mrs N, no la .. cannot be peanut number dua .. we're calling him/ her Pumpkin for now .. hahaha .. talking about tootsieroll, how is she doing now?

mrs_n

Ha! Ha! Cuclainne I see 'it' gets bigger every time eh?
How are you &amp; your 'pumpkin' by the way?

I'm not sure about how tootsieroll is, she hasn't been on here for a long time.

Mrs N, I haven't tried on any dresses to see what style suits me. I think I have an idea what style would suit but I guess until we put the dress on, we wouldn't know. My MIL just told me that she could arrange for someone she knows to sew me a dress but I need to know what I want. I may know go back to SG in Sept so may be able to take a look around.

Yes, I came to the UK to study in 2000 and met my husband here and ended up staying here now for good. I do miss home a lot and hope that some day, we would be able to move back. Did you come here to study too? I am on MSN and yahoo but have never heard of multiply. I will check it out this weekend and perhaps search for you on MSN or yahoo. Don't know how the yahoo thing works though.

I read from your earlier posts that you are studying the "Life in the UK" test. May I ask why you are doing that? Are you going to apply for British citizenship? My dad tells me that Singaporeans who've "left" the country for more than 10 years will have their citizenship revoked. I've never heard of that though. Any thoughts?

christie79

HI hi!

*PHEW* Finally's everything's over and my mum&amp;dad went home yesterday. But im missing them already..it's hard to be away from family and love ones...the house felt so specially quiet

Eliz Im not sure when i can go home to SG too due to some last minute decisions on the hse *sigh* As $ will be budgeted to do up the hse, painting, overlaying planks and doing up kitchen downstairs etc Hopefully will be next year CNY or june hmm..

And yes it's also free to give birth in Norway Georgina So im caught in between
I'll definitely miss my mum's cooking! But how's life in canberra? quiet or not? Over here it's so quiet and i kinda miss the noise in SG now haha

Hey welcome fruitchick! Wow! Planning wedding! Exciting huh!? Mine's just over *PHEW* and i understand what you're going through. Excitement plus a fair bit of stress ;P Have you looked though any other possibilities? Maybe can fly to SG a month or more before the AD and source for BS/make the dress from there? As for me, i MTMed and bought my gown and cheongsam and flew them here to norway with me. But if you would like simpler gowns or evening gowns, you can try JUST or Daniel Yam. My mum bought my 2nd evening gown from Daniel Yam at heeren and it's of a reasonable price..

But hey! I had my wedding at four seasons too! And it was great! You'll not be disappointed!

Nisa Hope you're feeling good and taking care!

I think these days there are lots of wedding Pris This saturday, we'll be attending one of hubby cousin's wedding in another city. A loongggg drive again! BTW, how's your trip so far? I bet you're stocking up on SG goodies! hahha..

Yeah Mrs N Im missing my mum's smaller apartment back in SG! hahah...i used to complain about the 5rm size in SG and how much to clean! Now i just quietly do my chores here! hahaha LOL After my parents left yesterday, i'm still dragging my feet and lazing around lah, going up here on the forum as an excuse to get away
Just so much chores to do and can't seem to finish! And just thinking of it makes me not want to start LOL

mrs_n

Hey Chrisl welcome back after your 'holiday'! Yeah its so nice to have your parents with you but kind of difficult to say 'goodbye' especially at the airport. I hate that 'feeling of being left behind'! Housework will never end one so you might as well drag your feet and laze around while you can. When your hubby starts work on the house there'll be even more to do!

Fruitchick yes I came here to do study. Got married and wrote my thesis all in the same year so that's one reason for my 'tidak apa' attitude towards my wedding.

'Life in the UK' test used to be applicable only to those who wanted to apply for British Citizenship. However since April this year, the Home Office has made it mandatory for those who are applying for 'Indefinite leave to remain' to do the test too. You need to take and pass the test otherwise they won't grant you 'Indefinite leave to remain' i.e. PR. You will still be granted 'Limited leave to remain' should your visa run out before you pass the test but tis going to be an expensive process to keep renewing your visa so its in one's interest to pass it beforehand. My 2 year spouse visa runs out next February so I need to pass the test before then. Are you on a spouse visa?

I've never heard of that notion of leaving for 10 years and having your citizenship revoked. Anyway have no intention of giving up my citizenship.

So Mrs N, what did you study here? I had to write my thesis in Summer one year and ended up with Chicken Pox and it was a very hot summer too and also my husband was DIYing in the house and so we had no floorboards in the entire lounge - it was torture to have chicken pox here as they don't give you any medication at all! And I had it all over my body!

I was on a spouse visa but was lucky that I received my indefinite leave to remain in Jan this year so that's why I did not have to study for the test. I too have no intention of giving up my citizenship but I hear that the SG government is considering permitting dual citizenship? Anyone heard of that?

Chrisl, u had your wedding at Four Seasons!??!!!! Would you be willing to share any photos with me please? I have not seen the venue and so don't know what it looks like.

I can't afford to take a month off work to go home to make my dresses. I wish I could but I don't have enough holiday to do that. I am still considering MTM something but don't know what yet and may get it done in the UK instead if I can't find a good alternative in Singapore but also may not have an evening dress - never understood why brides needed a change of dresses for the reception other than an excuse to spend money on a dress. I actually don't agree with everything that people do at the reception. The cake cutting, champagne pouring, march in - what is the significance of that other than being very cheesy and cringe cringe cringe????

How exciting. Another wedding on the cards!

Hi Fruitchick! I know how you feel about the gown changing, cake cutting, etc that most do at weddings. We just had our wedding in July and did not do any of the above cos we felt the same way. The only 'march-in' was at the solemnisation, when my father gave me away. I am sure there must be a significance to some of these different activities but because they are standard activities, we just do it and fail to learn of its significance. Maybe we should find out? Anyway, the wedding is YOURS! So, do what you want.

As for a gown for the day, if you rent an off the rack one from a bridal shop, they usually are able to alter it to fit you very quickly (maybe a week?). Since you may be going back in Sept, it might be worth going down to the bridal shops and try to find something you like. They'll be able to hold the gown for you till your wedding day, and between now and then, they can also alter it to suit your figure, and all you have to do it go for a final fitting before the wedding. If minor tucking in needs to be done, that usually takes a couple of hours. So it's not as bad as it seems.

In the meantime, good luck and have fun!!!

Oh, and another thing. Regarding cupcakes. We got cupcakes at our wedding as well and they were fab. Yum. If you like, I can forward you the details of the guys who did ours.

The hotel will provide you with a cake but they're usually dummy cakes and only the top tier is edible, so if you're thinking of sharing it with your guests, it might be worth asking Four Seasons what kind of cake it is, or maybe you can 'top up' and they can give you a real cake!

mrs_n

Fruitchick I did a phd in electroceramics. It is lucky that you got your IDL before the rules changed. Saved you a tonnes of money.
I thought they only gave medication for Chicken Pox to suppress it. My cousin's wife had to have that as she caught it like one week before their wedding! Otherwise you're just left to suffer with the itch and calamine lotion.

Bride Ha! Ha! I think all those are standard activities for Chinese Weddings in S'pore. Though I dare say that most Eurasians are going down that route too since most go for Chinese dinners now.
I wouldn't have had it either but didn't want the risk of upsetting my mother further as she was quite upset at first when I told her we were having the wedding in the UK. We compromised that she could have it her way with the blessing in S'pore and to keep the peace I kept my mouth shut.

Actually change of gown during wedding used to be quite a common thing. The bride usually changes to a 'going away' outfit at the end of the reception. Can only speak for Eurasians weddings though since my mum did it and so did my aunts! But nowasdays most couples don't go on honeymoon straight from the reception so maybe this concept resulted in the change to 'evening gown' instead!

Anyway its good to see you back. I'm sure you'll see the light soon. The last few weeks is always a struggle when you wonder if you've done enough etc! But you'll get there eventually, you'll see. Every thesis needs a conclusion ... somehow.

Chrisl I take back my words. Stop lazing and dragging your feet. You've got loads of 'homework' to do ... go and load your Norwegian wedding photos! Your pre-wedding looks great but where's the pretty bride??

christie79

Sure Fruitchick! Can add you to my 'multiply' page and you can view all from there! I'll email you soon!

My wedding was in June and it was a cosy dinner at windows east and west (each can have about 6 tables). You mentioned that yours is with about 15 tables right? So maybe you'll probably get the crescent ballroom or the other one. But just to share, my wedding dinner was a solemnisation cum dinner reception. Fuss free and simple/cozy gathering of close family&amp;relatives about 65 pax and also hubby&amp;me get to seat &amp; eat much! Hahaha
We had theatre seating in the West then proceeded for dinner (round tables) in the East.

Solemnisation started around 7pm and then simple cake cutting and buffet dinner thereafter. (Oh we had the hotel to make us the cake at an extra cost as there's a 'cake cutting cost' if you order your own outside cake, so we figured that logistic wise, it's better to have the cake made by them as it's also about the same price)

But i think if you take the banquet package, they include a cake dummy for you. For us we did the cake cutting only cos of hubby wanted to eat his marzipan cake LOL
but we did away with the champange pouring and big march in. We had only the small 'walk-in' to the solemnisation table, that's all. So it's really up to you on how you want your wedding to be.

As for the gown, Bride is right. It's easier to get a OTR gown (if you don't mind some others had worn it before) and get it altered by the BS. They'll usually advise you on the cutting and pattern which best suits you. So don't be shy, go into BS and feel free to ask to try on their gowns. That's what i did before, we walked down Tg Pagar's stretch and tried on the gowns 1st. Then get a feel of the shop's service and compare prices. Cos they can really 'chop' you! Esp when i had my Ang Moh hubby with me then, so they really marked up the price! Which is a few hundred difference!

And also you can try this webpage www.theknot.com I got much info regarding choosing gowns, DIY make up etc etc there. Hope all these helps!

christie79

Hahah Mrs N here i am here i am!
LOl ok lah cos hubby transferred pic to the PC and i don't know which folder he placed those pic in. And the PC's directory language is in Norwegian! Hmm! Looks like hubby is tired of translating for me&amp;wants me to learn the language quick! haha
I'll try to search again later

Anyway what's 'electroceramics'? Sounds 'chiem'..is it some kind of field related to electronics stuffs or bio stuffs?

Oh Fruitchick who's your hotel coordinator btw? Have you signed up with them? FS i meant?

margiel

Hi Chrisl, can you oso add me to your multiply, would like to view your wedding function at Four Season, it is oso one of my preferred choice and we are looking at abt 50-60 guests. Do they serve international or western cusines?
Here's my multiply ID: margier

christie79

Hey Margiel! I've added you liao!

They had a few choices, international/chinese or western menu. We chose international and it was really good!

Btw, the photos of your trips were really nicely taken! Are you a professional photographer?? You must be a sand, beach and sun girl *wink*

margiel

Hi Chrisl, me saw ur site
you look so pretty and gorgeous on ur big day!!!

Im thinking of Four Seasons and Equinox. Equinox has a breathtaking sky view of S'pore and i'm oso thinking that probably it may be nice for my in-laws from Germany and other overseas guests to have such dining experience with superb view BUT super ex tho!!! Still checking out.

Thanks for the compliments :D Me not a professtional photographer. Just like to play around with my camera hehee not the pro type but the normal basic one
Im pretty much a girl next door :p Have added you to my contact, you can see more of my 'hidden' albums there

Btw is it alright for you to PM more info on the Four Season package that you've got? Thanks Thanks !

Margiel, if you would like, I can send you the updated Four Seasons package which I was sent a few weeks back.

Chrisl, yes your photographs are really well taken. Where did you go for your studio photography? My four seasons co-ordinator is Mun Hoong - my parents signed up with them a few weeks aog. I am now making plans to pop back to Singapore for 2 weeks in Oct so I will also get in touch with Four Seasons to look at what they provide in detail as I have not seen anything at all other than photographs I have been sent.

Mrs N, what does electroceramics actually entail? I am curious! As for the chicken pox, in the UK, they don't provide you with any medication at all. I rang home and my family got the name of the mediciation they provide in SG for chicken pox but when I rang up my surgery here, they said that the medication is not licensed in the UK to treat/suppress chicken pox so I had to endure the full works. I never felt so ill in my entire life I thought I was going to die - not helped by the fact that I had chicken pox all over my face and back and legs and was permanently coated with calomine lotion as that was the only thing they gave me! It was horrid!