Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

rizaclark

Mrs N,

For the past few days, managed to get hold of 2 wedding planners. We shall see who we shall choose coz have like 3 more who have not contacted us yet.

Down here if you want to choose a popular spot for wedding, caterer or any vendors relating to the wedding is best to make arrangement 1 year before the wedding.

Have to plan early coz if not cant get what you really want.

Last Monday, went to see another Bridal Salon. Have one dress I fancy but still I want to browse some more, from other Bridal Salons before making my final decision.

For the wedding cake, already have in mind who we are going to choose to bake our cake, some more Sean request for a Groom's cake.

The rest will later follow suit... slowly but surely.. with God's willing.

georginat

hi tootsieroll..yes, hubby found a job in canberra and we just got the visa approved ..will relocate there mid may..hope its not too boring there !!!

joyce, saw yr wedding pics...nice pics and hmmm...now i kinda of know why german guys are 'popular'..all the ladies here have good looking german hubbies /HTB !!haha!!

bride bride, saw from the newspaper a few months ago, a fengshui master said 070707 is a very good date to get married..good for both bride and groom!! maybe should try to buy 'toto' around that period of time, who knows u might strike 6 numbers !!

now headache, dont know how to pack my stuff ?? EJ..i cant bring any food in to oz right??

have a nice weekend, ladies !!

eminozy

georgina........well done. welcome to ozie ozie ozie...oi oi oi.:p well, canberra can be quite lame, but if u and hubby prepared to drive far and enjoy the surreal ozie outback, you will be fine, coz its gorgeous out there! foodwise, what sorta you want to bring in? anything made/manufactured in India or Indo is banned especially dairy products. but singaporean/malaysian ones are ok. am talking about curry powders or 3 in 1 tea/ coffee ready to go types. instant noodles are abundance here, so no worries!

anything else you want to know? roll it out sister!

Mrs N..heheh. yeah..chris n me are a funny bunch. we like to play aroundand be funny. heheheh, I am glad i found a person just liek me. abit on the nutsy side! I will die if my husband is the serious type!

emilia,
wow. 2 days is really long. I don't know if I can manage to travel for that long but love does give us strength! lol. So, you're planning for another wedding in Innsbruck? What 'spectacular' thing have you got to include?

Mrs N,
we're just having the one ceremony in Singapore, can't afford to do two...and i am lazy. hehe. what about you? did you have two weddings as well?

i can't believe you had submitted, completed the viva, and corrections before the wedding. i salute you! but whilst it must have been a crazy time before the wedding, i bet it was such a relief and joy on your wedding day to be able to celebrate more than 1 thing with your loved ones. well, i guess we can celebrate my HTB's completion, he is currently finishing his corrections too. We're both doing our PhD at the Uni of Notts.

Georgina,
haha, yeah, i heard that 070707 is supposed to be auspicious too (besides it being one of those wacky dates that people love to get married on). HTB decided on that date because he says that's the only way he can remember the anniversaries. So, i guess we were 'lucky' to have chosen that date! When's your big day?

Riza,
I've PM you but I have no idea how to check for messages on my end! So, i hope you've got my message.

1 year's a good timeframe to use for planning a wedding. I think that has helped with planning for ours and the reason why I am not so stressed out even though we're getting closer to the day. I think at the end of the day, you've just got to decide on what's most important, get those sorted and the rest will be easy peasy! I hope! Guess I can only be the judge of that when my wedding's over.

eminozy

bridebride...yeah its that far and we have been commuting back and forth for the last 2 years! The other wedding will not be in innsbrucklah... it will be in singapore! no money after that one for sure!!

hehheheh.... :p

Mrs N-We will only apply for chris' visa when he comes here again in 8 months. coz he has to be present and go for lotsa interviews and paperwork so he needs more than 3 weeks to be able to do it.

oh well.... i hope i get a super duper job so that he can come here earlier. i have to coz he will be jobless by the time he moves here, someone had to be bring home te beacon!

mrs_n

bride yeah we had to have two 'cos not all my family could make it to UK and none of my hubby's family could make it to S'pore! However we did most things ourselves to save cost. It's usually the bride that does the planning but in our case it was the groom who did almost everything. You can read about all our antics on our blog in multiply.

I submitted my thesis after the UK wedding and had a month and a half to completed everything before I went back for the S'pore one! Actually I quite enjoyed our UK wedding. I had already finished writing up and was just waiting for Prof's approval. But 3 days before the wedding I went to see him and he told me to write up at least another 10 pages to summarized everything and give it to him in a weeks's time!! Geez! Talk about stress! To top it all, my internal & external examiners couldn't decide on a viva date and as such I had visions of myself lugging around heavy textbooks and journals on my honeymoon!
Thank goodness it didn't come to that! I think everybody especially my husband was very relief when I could finally put everything behind me.
So my conclusion is it is better to have your wedding first and then finish your PhD or finish your PhD and then have your wedding. Finishing your PhD and having your wedding at the same time is certainly not a good idea ... too chaotic!

At least you came home to write up. I guess you'll need to go back to Nottingham for your viva?

Emilia jo that's quite a big undertaking to support your hubby. But on the bright side, having a househusband isn't so bad at least you won't have to do the housework!

hi tootsieroll, i went back to work in late jan and sofi started infantcare in february. so far so good - the teachers are nice and sofi is not really a fussy baby to take care of plus this way, i'm able to check in on her when i want to as it's on the same level as my office.. my only grouse is that they've increased the monthly fees from $170 to $330 wef May and that's when we will be away for three weeks .. haiz ..

thanks for asking about sofi, she's doing fine now .. i told my mil and she got upset that we didn't tell her about the hospitalisation so elias had to explained to her that we didn't want her to worry.

just a few more days and we'll be in sweden .. i was planning on bringing my mom to copenhagen by train for a few days and now elias wants to come along .. haiyah, this man ah ..

mrs_n

Hey Cuclainne glad to see you back online. Was wondering where you have been for the past few days. Thought maybe you had already left for Sweden. Obviously not. Everything ok now?

Ha! Ha! I think your hubby doesn't want to miss out on all the fun on the 'girls only' outing to Copenhagen!
Enjoy your holiday ... after your ordeal last week you certainly deserve one. Bon voyage.

georginat

nisa...enjoy your holiday with your family in Sweden :) hows the weather there now??

me sprained my arm while rollerblading last nite !! haha!! what a joke!! 'yaya' lah, didnt put the proctection gear @ arm...now hav eto suffer the pain :-(

EJ, thanks for the info !! let me think whatelse i want to ask you then i will ask you here again...its getting cold there now?

Mrs N, just been busy trawling the net for info on hotels and stuff .. and also trying to finish off the super important things for work first .. don't want to leave stuff behind if i can help it .. sofi is doing well now, she's still a bit clingy - refuses to fall asleep on her own in her cot, wants to lie between us to sleep but i expect this to be a short-term thing .. even her father can't wait for her to go back to her usual bubbly self ..

yup - he was saying that hearing me talk so enthusiastically about the copenhagen trip had made him feel like he's missing out so he really really wants to come so we've had to change the dates .. thankfully there are still train seats and hotel rooms available ..

Georgina, it should be warm now but April in Sweden is unpredictable .. even my MIL was saying sofi should wear LOTS of clothes! Yikes! Hoping for good weather so we'll be able to fully enjoy the trip ..

mrs_n

Hee! Hee! Cuclainne yeah April weather is known for its 'unpredictability' but fingers crossed that'll it be sun shinning all the way for you. Remember to bring some warm clothing with you. Nothing worse than being unprepared for cold weather.

Gina poor you! Hope you didn't sprained it too badly. Take care of yourself yah! Rollerbalding really salute you. Me got no sense of balance for this kind of sport it will be more like ... 'roller-bumming'.

Btw wonder how's deluxe? WGS must be over by now.

Yup .. just wondering how much we'll be packing this time that Sofi is with us .. Elias suggested only bringing the clothes on our back, our passports, plane tickets and wallets .. and packing only Sofi's clothes in the luggage .. hahaha .. the airline will definitely not charge us for any excess baggage then .. hahahaha ..

Mrs N,
Read your wedding blog entry. You're probably the most relaxed bride i've come across. Did Mr N plan the Sg wedding too? We're lucky that most of my fiance's family are able to come to Sg, I don't think we could have afforded/managed two weddings!

As for viva, no discussion on that yet, but i assume i will have to fly back to the UK for that. To think we're so much more technologically advanced these days, why can't we can have video conferencing?!

cuclainne,
glad to hear that Sofi's doing well now. hope you guys have a great trip back.

eminozy

kekekek. Mrs N, I think I wont be fully suporting Chris when he is here, he will have quite enough savings, hopefully by then! I just need to make sure i can maintain myself with a husband and a new apartment and a new car and....liabilities. Thats the kill.

Georgina... no worries. when u are in canberra, you must try this one underground cantonese restaurant. Yummy Yumcha!

de_luxe

I’m back! WGS ended on sat nite… quite a relief that it’s over… 3 weeks is really quite draggy… it started off in 1996 as a 1 wk event, then expanded to 2 wks and last yr expanded further to become 3 wks… wish the bosses will decide to go back to 2 wks which was not too long and not too short, I felt… BTW, did anyone go for any of the events?

I wouldn’t be going to Bangkok for the Gourmet Asia Bangkok after all… apparently both my colleague and I can’t be away at the same time else there’ll be no one in the office to deal with our admin stuff and everything will be a mess when we return. She has to go with 2 other pple with different job functions from us instead… in a way disappointed that I dun get a change of scene but also partly relieved that I get to (hopefully) spend some time at home and with HB.

Will still be quite busy at work cuz I have to get back to my usual job which doesn’t involve WGS and much of that work has been building up in the past 3 wks as we didn’t have the time and energy to deal with it… I foresee long hours at my beloved office desk and laptop for the next couple of weeks…

Just went through all your posts in the past 3 wks, almost 100!!! My head is whirling now and I dun really remember everything I’ve just read… so apologies if I miss out on anyone’s post…

Why’s everyone suddenly talking about Multiply? I have an account after someone sent me pics via her Multiply tho I rarely use it…. Not even sure if I remember my user name and password…

Gina and Joseph, happy belated birthday!!

Nikki where’s ur wedding site? Can’t find any link here leh…

tootsieroll Welcome back! How are you and Joseph coping with your going back to work? Adjusting well I hope? Who takes care of Joseph while you’re at work?

Welcome Bride… is ur HTB working here and completing his PhD at the same time? I think generally men can’t remember anything abt the time they met their wives, mine certainly can’t!!! And I suspect he doesn’t recall much of our first few months together… My jie mei quizzed him with 10 questions during the chong men and some of the questions were abt the time we met. He got almost everything wrong!!!

My cousin just got married in March n I tot her jie mei had 2 fairly innovative ideas to torture the groom and his brothers: my cousin lives on the 9th floor and the groom had to climb up the stairs to get to the flat. At each level, there was a can of beer that he had to finish up before proceeding to the next. He had to drink 1 last can at the flat itself… can u imagine… 9 cans of beer at 7.30am in the morning!!! Later the jie mei also gave them 1 wax strip each and made them wax one patch off their hairy legs!

Nisa Sorry to hear abt Sofi n your colleagues… I’m surprised that your colleagues behaved the way they did considering that u are working at KK, really inconsiderate of them, I would have felt the same way you did had I been in your shoes…. Glad that things are back to normal now… Enjoy your holiday, you, Elias and Sofi certainly deserve it after that ordeal.

What’s rotavirus anyway?? I’ve never heard of it…

Chris1 Warning letter after 7.5 days MC is really ridiculous! And I tot govt bodies are supposed to be better to work for in terms of benefits and company policies?!?! I guess I’m wrong!

Mrs N Good to know that you enjoyed your visit back home… have you gotten over the jet lag?

emilia Cute pic… but rather small so can’t see too well….

JoyceD Yep, truly a coincidence, my BIL n his family lives in the very same town as ur HB’s brother… well to be totally truthful, they live in a village on the outskirts of Hameln but I can’t remember the name. We’ll most likely be visiting them in summer and I’m thinking of asking my HB to consider touring the region too… not sure if we have the budget for that.. Kiel is nice, whenever we go back, we enjoy walking along the fjord… n there’re sufficient shops there to keep a city mouse like me entertained… can easily imagine living there… what I like most is its accessibility, as one can easily get to the countryside and to larger cities like Hamburg within an hour or so… How did you find Hamburg?

My HB is the same as urs in the grocery shoppping aspect… it’s like a 100m dash around Cold Storage almost every weekend… when in germany, he hates going to cities (including Hamburg) and dislikes walking around the Kiel pedestrian zone where most of the shops are… In SG, he mostly avoids the crowded areas. Think he mostly likes the hot sunny weather here… I complain abt the heat more often than he does!!! At the moment, no plans to move to Germany tho it remains a possibility in the distant future. He often talks abt moving back when we have kids as he feels that the education system there is better and it’s good for children to enjoy the nature in the countryside that S’pore will never have. I don’t remember if he was talking abt Freiburg the other day, but there can’t be too many “hottest place in Germany†in the south… he specialises in Computer Science but I can’t remember his exact research interests… I have to refer to his CV to find out cuz this is so beyond me!!!

Hi de_luxe,

Welcome back! You sound like you've had a really busy time, but I bet it must have been fun. Keith Floyd was here right? I love watching his programmes. I wanted to go to the Paulaner event cos HTB loves Paulaner, but we never got round to getting tickets.

HTB is in Sg working and finishing his thesis, but still finds time to help me with the wedding, which I am grateful for so in return I helped negotiate a 'no waxing' compromise from my friends for the gatecrashing. I know, I am too nice. haha. But the beer idea sounds great. Hope your cousin's husband wasn't too drunk by the time he got to her door!

de_luxe

Hi Bride, yeah, was pretty busy, unfortunately the fun element isn't that strong... yes, Keith Floyd was here but i wasn't at his event as i was on duty at another event taking place concurrently. Heard he was entertaining tho...

Wow, ur HTB sounds really good in multi-tasking... it's really nice of him to help out with the wedding, most guys don't really bother... i think my cousin's HB survived the early morning beer session mainly cuz his brothers helped... i hope u r not living on the 20th floor or something like that... it would be pretty hard for them to survive 20 beers! Or maybe if most of ur HTB's brothers are English, they would clamour for more beer at the door??

de_luxe, i had a talk with my sup because we had to sort out my coverage during my leave .. she said i shouldn't have to feel that way and understood that some people aka my colleagues can be quite insensitive .. oh well, if things doesn't get any better, i suppose i will leave cos a job can be easily replaced but not a child ..

rotavirus causes diarrhoea and babies are more prone to it but apparently it is also contagious and adults can catch it too .. so we were told by the doctor to exercise extreme clean hygiene around sofi ..

arrived in stockholm yesterday - it was 5 degrees and windy! sofi was crying loads and loads yesterday - unused to the cold i suppose so the first order of the day was to go shopping for gloves and a hat with flaps to cover her ears .. so difficult to get these in her size in singapore .. but i suppose she felt better - especially with three layers of clothes - as she was able to even snooze in the stroller .. hahaha .. will write more later ..

de_luxe,
haha, he better help me, or else i will NAG him to death.

I live on the ground floor, so no beers at every floor for him and his brothers, but i think that would have been an easy one for them! I still don't know what wicked plans my friends have for him. Haha, will post here when it's all over...9 weeks to go!

cuclainne,
5 degrees. how nice. i miss the cold. anyway, keep warm and hope you all have a blast!

eminozy

still here but theres not much to go on on. hhehehe ..have to start teh ball rolling.

am baking cupcakes next week, coz there isnt a sigle decent cupcake bakery here.... very sad. are there cupcakes in norway? I guess its truly an american thing isnt it?

christie79

Just popping by. Yes Nisa, im still around but not that often. It's so stressing these days as it's only a few more weeks before my wedding! And im down with fever and is on MC for yesterday and today! Geez! And im also starting to pack all my stuffs into boxes to send thru singpost speedsurface. Wah..it's 4boxes and counting already...
How's your trip Nisa? Are you still there in Sweden? And oh the fees hike for sofi infant care centre sounds much increase..For my daycare centre they also had increase the fees to $600(After subsidy) for a month. It's not easy to have a child in SG these days..

EmiliaJO~ Sorry didn't get time to sign your guestbook, will do that when im done with all! Im on the knot too! Heee... OH? Cupcakes in Norway? think there are cupcakes lah but have to look for it as it's not common. Are you in norway now? You got me a little confused..thought you're in Australia

Deluxe~Nope im not working for the government ..it's a private company lah..so that explains it..

Take good care everyone!

eminozy

chrisl... nope am not in norway , am asking nisah if theres cupcakes in norway. am in oz still, where are u speedposting to? good luck for your wedding.. dont stress! get well soon too!

its ok..take your time to sign it, hey whats your address!?

spiderbaby

hey Nisa,
sorry hv been MIA a tad...was in HK & now back to Germany...Germany's still rather cold even though it's suppose to be summer!! ...Are you still in Sweden??..now that u are rather close to me, u wanna pop by?? ; ) ...do take loads of pics so that i get to see them via multiply later ya ; ) ...stay warm

no prob with the wedding announcer thingy, Emilia...i dont own the website hence no need to ask permission lah ; ) ...glad u are enjoying it =)

Christine, sorry to hear u are feeling a tad under the weather!! ...guess u must be stressed out with the wedding date drawing nearer huh?? .. but do relax & get ample of rest ya...it's v important to get enough rest so that u can look "mei mei" on yr wedding day mah ; )
Chin up & get well soon...big hugz

To the rest of the ladies, stay well wherever u are =)

gottliebt

Hi dear girls
Sorry I´m a bit lost already. The thread moved so fast and I didn´t have time to look regularly. Just finished another level of german, signed up for the last level - university level n then no more german sch 4 me! Can haf short summary of everybody? how r u doing eg?

nikki how´s yr wedding preps?

newly_wed

Hi... Ladies, was reading this interesting thread...
Congratulation to all Brides to be.... had a quick peek at Nikki & Emilia pic... Very nice...
I just had my ROM last month.... Stress... Coz the traditional Wedding is next..

Also Priscilla... I know from the thread that you will be living in Stuttgart soon? My Hubby is also from Stuttgart... Will you be leaving for Germany soon?

Hope to hear from you gals soon....

gottliebt

Hi Newly wed! =) I´m IN stuttgart! Been living here since like aug 2006. You moving to Germany????? Heehee. *rub hands- maybe another singaporeans here?

mrs_n

Hi girls how's everybody? I have been religiously reading all your posts (yes really) but just too tired to post. Besides lately the weather has been on the cold side so have been spending more time in front of the 'fire' in the living room than on the computer!

Pris nice to see you around! Been busy with your German I see. Wow you're on to university level. Way to go girl! Hope you aren't missing your buddies too much (I read your blog) its so nice to have friends come over for a visit.

Chrisl trust you are feeling a lot better. Take good care of yourself, have plenty of rest and take lots of Vit C. Don't stress stress lah. Everything will turn out well I'm sure.

Cuclainne are you still holidaying in Sweden? Yes the cold seem to be hanging around a lot longer than it used to. Last year things started to warm up towards the end of June and then there was the heatwave in July. I'm still wearing 3 layers everyday to work and need the heater on! I tried surviving without heating (to keep the church's electricity bills down) but it's just impossible to do any work with freezing fingers.

De-luxe thanks I really enjoyed my trip home this time. I've not 'experienced' Singapore in Mar/April in a long time so it was a nice change. I've got over my jetlag I think!! But strangely enough I seem to be tired most days even though I'm not doing anything streneous. Perhaps the daylight hours are longer and it does get bright early in the morning. So always wake up even if I don't mean too.
Will you be taking some time off soon seeing that you've been working so hard. Any holiday plans for your one year anniversary?

bride how's the going? Hope you're coping well with the lethal combination of planning a wedding and thesis writing.
Nah! Mr N didn't plan the SG wedding. Nothing to plan lah! We all wore the same baju again. Just church and dinner which my mum and aunts basically took care of. Yeah having two wedding can be ex and since things in UK tend to be more ex we tried to save by making most of our stuff (like pouches for the favours), growing our own flowers and having our reception in our village hall. Nah it wasn't the most posh of weddings but it was fun!

Nikki how are you? No more Danny-sickness now that you are back in Deutschland??
Hope you will have a smooth run up to your wedding.

Emilia jo you keeping yourself busy making cupcakes now that Chris isn't around?? Will have to be mak kaypo and look at your weddingannouncer too.
But not now need to go to the 'land of nod'
yawn.gif
first otherwise I'll be really blur in the morning.

Newly wedd hello! Welcome to the 'club'. How are you enjoying your new 'marital' status? Makes me feel like an old married on here!

eminozy

heheh. MRS N. thanks for getting the thread going with a loooooooooooooooong post. I loike. hehe. how do you know i am obsessing myself frivorously with cupcakes? Well,a defocus wife needs to distract her attention to something sinful but harmless to takeover her husband! heheheeh

I tried baking them, but i was on call last wednesday so i was unable to. So geram, i went in search for it yesterday and by golly, the sweetest cupcake i've had for donkey years. I have avoided cupcakes for eons and now, it kinda melts in my mouth and passes through my mind every 10 seconds of the day. Its a wonder!heheheh. take your time Mrs N to sign it!

Hi newly wed..welcome!

priscilla.. wahhh uni level german... thats pretty damn on! i did spanish at uni but for a year only. too lazy lah!

short summary.
singaporean living in melb, oz. Married for a month already to a german(polish-russian) dude, he's not here, he lives in austria for now, and i am waiting for him to come over here in october for good. we will have our big wedding in dec 2007, singapore. our melb wedding was tiny and comfortably wonderful.

newly_wed

Hi Ladies...

Pris.. I just got back from Stuttgart, My Mann is actually living in schwaiheim (If I spell correctly). I'm planning to fly to Germany in July... Hope all goes well... He just completed his thesis.. So cross finger that he get a job soon... Woa... You are at university level.... Amazing.. I find the language DAMN difficult.. Hee hee... Maybe yu can be my tutor...

Mrs N.. Hmm... Marriage life still the same la.. Maybe becoz we are still apart.. So the impact not that obvious yet.. Did you and Mr N also had a long distance relationship in the begining?

Emilia.. Where are you going to held your Singapore Wedding? Have you been in Melb fo a long time.

Ladies... Is it tough to give up your career and families behind to follow the Man of your life?

Hello gals! How's everyone doing? So much to catch up after being away for so long.

Sofi must be quite a big bigger now. Glad to hear that she's recovering and back to causing trouble

I just came back to England after a long waited honeymoon in Scotland. Surprisingly, the weather there was much better than England when we were up there! Hopefully this weekend will be a nice, warm, sunny one eh, Mrs N.

EJ, i'm pretty sure that there are cupcakes in norway even though they are truly an american invention but perhaps that is better question to be put to chrisl as she's the one who's been to norway.

Chrisl, are you packing your entire house? hehehe .. hope you've remembered everything yah. just a few more weeks left before the big day yah .. i'll keep my fingers crossed that everything will go exactly as planned for you and gaute. we've just returned from stockholm this morning - it was way too cold (you've seen pictures of sofi in her layers of clothes, i've presumed) .. yes, no more of those! such a hassle having to take so much time just to dress her in that manner cos she hates it and just starts throwing her hissy fits .. aiyah ..

yah, child care is beginning to be quite expensive - rethinking if i should have another one so soon, perhaps it would be better to wait until sofi is old enough to help out .. hahaha ..

Nikki, we just got back today .. would have loved to have visited you in germany but this year, we went to denmark and i also blew a lot of money on shopping - hehehehe. when we go back to sweden, we always try to fit in a visit to another country so maybe the next time yah .. will you be there until it's time to return for the wedding?

yah, it seems to be cold everywhere .. it only started getting nice and 'warm' on the day we left .. argh! i'm going to upload some more pics so you can have a look yah .. :D

newly_wed, welcome welcome ..

Mrs N, many thanks for your jacket - it really was very useful during our trip .. we never go out without it and sofi stayed really warm and toasty in it .. hehehe .. yah, it was cold even in the house and even elias was complaining - he kinda disappointed his mother because he had told her that he would never move back to sweden and she had felt like she kinda lost him - aiyah, then i had to placate her.

anyways, this trip didn't feel like a vacation at all because every day we have plans - it's either meeting his mom or his dad or family, having dinner with his friends, accompanying him to business meetings *so boring*, etc .. the only time we actually spent on our own was when we went to denmark for three days .. i was quite upset cos i wanted to spend some time alone with my mother and we didn't even get that sometimes .. argh! i suppose it comes with the territory but it was also driving elias bonkers because he wants to please everyone and don't want me to be annoyed with him for saying yes yes yes to everyone ..

freaky, hello to you .. you've been away for a while. yah, she's getting bigger and heavier (she weighs about 6.7kgs now) and also quite chatty. we went to a town called sigtuna a few days ago and there were plenty of ducks in the park .. after a while, she started imitating the duck quacks .. aiyoh, funny right then but not funny at 4am in the morning .. had to force her to go back to sleep ..

wow .. must be nice yah, how long were you there in scotland?

de_luxe

Been real busy at work… the craziness picked up pace recently and suddenly we have so many projects. I’m on 6 projects right now and all running concurrently on tight deadlines… doing everything alone as there’s no one else and they only started putting ads out to hire someone else to work under me… but that’s gonna take at least 1 month with interviews and notice periods… then there’s the training that takes anything from 6 mths to 1 yr… I just hope whoever who joins will stick ard… I’ll die if I have to train and retrain and retrain (been there done that)… Hubby’s telling me to just get pregnant and quit since the bosses dun care abt their staff’s well being… but easier said than done right? I dun wanna just quit and burn my bridges cuz they are good contacts to have on my side… Also can’t imagine being pregnant and having to put in all these hours still if there’s no one to help out. Plus, what if it’s a difficult 1st trimester with like lots of morning sickness and all that… Sigh… wish I can be more positive about this…

Mrs N Hmmm… maybe other reasons for the tiredness other than jet lag? Why not change your curtains to darker ones, so you can sleep in a little more?

We’re supposed to go for our annual summer hols in July. HB is in charge of the planning. He wants to visit the family back home and was also talking abt going to Austria for a while. But my work load is not getting any less and in fact has gotten more, so not sure if my leave will be approved and my bosses are outstationed till month end so I wouldn’t know the answer till they return… Just discussed with HB again this morning and he said if I can’t take leave, he will go w/out me
as he has more leave than I do and wants a holiday, so depressing… who wouldn’t want to go on holiday???!??!

cuclainne oh dear… the MIL thing din sound too fun… did you manage to placate her satisfactorily? I remembered you said that she wasn’t keen on having him move here some time ago…

freaky! it’s been a long while… how’s things with you? Any pics to show?

Welcome newly wed… my hubby’s German too… from Flintbek which is a village near Kiel up in the north… how did you guys meet? When and where will your traditional wedding be held?

At the moment, I still don’t have to move anywhere to be with my hubby, tho I can easily imagine that one day this would happen and there would certainly be some level of difficulty involved, depending on one’s own circumstances… moving overseas is never an easy thing to do… I’ve lived overseas for 3 years and made some personal sacrifices to be able to do that. But whatever it is, my personal motto is that, at least I’ve tried - as I would rather live with the knowledge that I’ve tried and failed than to never have tried at all and live with always wondering “what if…â€.

de_luxe, yah she cornered me a few days later when we were in the bank sorting out hubby's accounts - she was like, you're going to come and stay (read: live) in sweden right? i was like, oh no .. not now. so i told her that it depends on hubby but that knowing him, he will eventually change his mind about it .. i didn't know what else to say - i didn't want her to feel like she's 'lost' her son so i told her to look forward to our next meeting .. we're hoping to pay for her to come to singapore again (if she'll accept) and also the fact that we've promised to let sofi spend a summer with her when she retires in a few years' time .. she made us promise this when sofi was still only a few weeks' old .. aiyah.. i know it's because she doesn't want to feel left out .. had we been living in sweden, my mom would be in her shoes instead ..

perhaps you might want to go away for the weekend instead if going for long hols is going to be a problem with all the ongoing projects? alamak .. that is so sad yah .. leaving you behind. hubby also has more leave than i do and i only have three days left for the entire year!!!! and already he's talking about using his mileage points so we can go on holiday and a good friend is getting married in oct in sweden and we're kinda obliged to go since they were here for our wedding and sofi's birth .. and hubby won't go without me! i don't know what to do .. it's either take unpaid leave (if office allows) or quit (which is what hubby is hoping for) .. he wants me to take a break with sofi and then decide what i want to do .. it's quite tedious being a full time working mother, having to deal with work in the day and house work in the evening .. it feels like 24 hours is not enough .. but at the same time i like the financial freedom - it felt good when i was shopping like no one's business in sweden because it was my own money .. had i been dependent on hubby's money, i think i would have to be tight-fisted with it .. argh, decisions decisions ..

de_luxe

cuclainne that encounter with MIL sounds scary to say the least... is ur hubby the only child? It's a good thing your MIL can speak English so at least can voice out certain feelings... i wouldn't know if my PIL are unhappy as they will prob communicate w my hubby n knowing him, he's unlikely to tell me unless it's really major...

Going for a short break will be the only other alternative i have... *sigh* been looking forward to a long break tho... nevertheless, i'm still going to try my luck n submit my leave application then see wat the bosses say. No pain no gain right?

I can understand ur reluctance to give up ur financial independence... would you not considor a part-time maid to at least relieve urself of the cleaning? i feel the same way abt earning my own $$$ too, hence hesitating to have kids tho hubby feels otherwise, but of cuz he's not the one quitting his job to spend all day with babies right? A fren of mine has quitted her job n she's feeling rather bored at home despite the joys of being with her baby all the time... i'm afraid i'll be like that too as i usually can't sit still in one place for long...

eminozy

aaaaaaiiikk... cucclaine i forgot... are u married to a scandinavian or someone from another nationality? God.. am so confuse....:p

de_luxe, nope .. hubby is the eldest of two boys but i think his mother is closer to him .. plus sofi is the only grandchild at the moment so i think she desperately wants us closer to her because she doesn't want sofi to grow up not really knowing her except as that grandmother in sweden who sends money on her birthday kind of thing ..

oh dear .. you wouldn't want to get me started with what hubby said to his dad (at a restaurant over dinner) and also to his mother's companion at another occasion .. aiyoh yoh .. i had to do damage control .. and i completely hate being put in that situation. and the thing is, hubby only said those things because he didn't want to disappoint me .. argh! long story ..

yah, lucky thing my PILs and their families speak english though they speak swedish quite a fair bit, even in my presence .. i can understand more than i did before .. my FIL said that he won't speak a word of english the next time we meet *faint!* .. argh .. really need to start learning again ..

we are considering getting someone to come over for a few hours maybe twice a month to do the basic cleaning but a full-time maid is a no-no .. i don't want to share my privacy with a stranger ..

EJ, i'm married to the swede .. chrisl is getting married to a norwegian ..

gottliebt

Newly-wed: Have u decided to move to Germany for good? Or how are u two planning with the long distance? NO lah, i´m not AT university level, I´m going to study uni. level in 1 week´s time...that will last 2 mths. And then I´m rewarding myself with a trip back to SIngapore for 1 month, hubby coming along too. Well, in regards to your question, I think it depends. For my husband and I, honestly Singapore would be an easier choice since he speaks english and I´m singaporean - easier choice for jobs and adapting etc. But since we both want to stay in each other countries at some points in time, I figure out its easier for me to learn the language and adapt when I´m still young and not like when I´m stuck with like 3 kids. And then again, we´re both christians, so we prayed a lot about the right decision and it became very clear to us that Germany was going to the right place at this time. Yup, hope that helps with your dilemma. =)

joyced

Hi everyone! Popping in to say hi! Was busy with my german tests and a sigh of relief that they are finally over.

Mrs N,
Thanks for your single brain cell..heehee..correspondence course is a good idea but I have more or less decided to apply for a Masters course next winter semester. Let's see which university would accept me..haha.

Christl,
Hope you are feeling better and best wishes on your wedding day! Must be pretty exciting now that the wedding is fast approaching? Is your HTB in Sg now?

Emilia jo,
Hi! Erm, I peeked at your multiply.. lots of great photos! I'll add you as soon as I remember how to ok??

Culcainne,
sounds like the whole family's having fun in Sweden! Except the MIL part and that's one tough question to answer! My PIL test the waters by asking me how I like Germany..haha..hope they would never ask me directly though. BTW, has Sofi learnt some Swedish?? heehee...

Deluxe,
the world is really small, my PIL also come from a village near Hameln..hmm..maybe they know each other?? Hope you get your leave and a well-deserved rest..fingers crossed.

Newly_wed,
Hi and welcome! I'm also married to a German and am now living in Germany. So you are moving here in July? Are you looking forward to your stay here? In response to your question..I think it is always difficult to leave your life behind and start somewhere afresh especially when there is a language barrier. I guess if you have decided to move here, then don't dwell too much on what you will leave behind. I found it tough here in the beginning and it was very frustrating because I didn't understand anything or know anyone. At times I thought of the comfy life I had back home but I realised that it made no sense to think of the life I HAD anymore. After a year plus here, I grew to like my 'kampong' in Germany and I feel like it's my second home. I think you will like it here and always be optimistic..even when the going gets rough!!

Nikki,
Chin up! HUGS!

gottliebt

Hey joyce! You done completely with yr german already? You took the DSF thing is it? Are you intending to study a master course in german? What type of course are thinking of doing. I heard that for stuff like business or psychology, its supposedly harder to take in german. When u intending to go back singapore?

newly_wed

Hi hi....

De_luxe
Looks like theres alot of german Hubby in this forum... Thats nice.. So where are you now? So r you living now with your Hubby liao or still long distance relationship. Me and mine met in Singapore when he is doing his internship.. How abt you? Any pics to share... How long you been married already? I am really still trying to struggling to catch the language... I really dun like the feeling that his friends have to change to speak english whenever I am around... Its nice from them but.... Feel a bit useless la...

Pris
I'm actually planning to move to Germany soon... Real soon... Long distance is starting to FREAK me out.. Hee hee... Especially now after Marriage.. Coz I just want to be with him... (Hope he knows that) Hee hee...
What I really afriad really realy afriad is that since I cant speak the language... I might not able to find a job.. being dependant on him is really what I dun dun want.. I'm so used to have my own pocket money la.. I Know that he think its going to be fine & he dun mind.. But I just not comfortable taking "His" Money... In the event I want to buy him something... Dun want to use his la... Haiz....

Joyce
I totally agree.... The only thing which I will miss the most is my family... But given to choose... Betwwen Family and Him.. It will be him.. Coz from the day I sign, he is my family.... I will try to learn the language.. He always says that I did not put in more effort to learn. But even if I learn, go to Gothe, I have no one to practice with me... But Im sure if I'm there... I have no choice but to pick up the language...
Hows your German? Any pics to share too? How did you and your hubby meet? Been Married for a long time? Is it difficult to get a job in germany?

JoyceD, the hubby is conversing with Sofi in Swedish but she's only 7 months .. will have to see how she'll take to it when she grows up, esp. if we continue to live here ..

This thread has suddenly sprung back to life! Hope everyone's doing well.

Mrs N,
The wedding planning has been given priority now, and thesis writing has been put on hold for the last few days. I realise that I am no longer able to stay up late to study like i used to. Age is catching up...haha. I hope our wedding's like yours - fun! Fingers crossed. Guess we'll know soon enough. 6 weeks to go!

Hi Newly_wed!
Welcome to this thread. When's your traditional wedding ceremony going to be? Hang in there with the language, I am sure your husband will be more than happy to help. Plus, I think there are quite a few girls here you can practise with too.

christie79

Hi Ladies!

Dropping by to say hi and post my quick reply.
Been extremely busy these few weeks! And it didn't help more when PC's cranky too...part of Mum's Hse under renovation and hopefully be up by this mid week. Was really tense with all the mess can't concentrate with things all around...

Mrs N~Thanks for the well wishes!

JoyceD~Thanks feeling better! Coming Wednesday will be my last day at work and FH will be here this sunday! Dunno should i be stress or not..but in a way good that he'll be sharing the workload of the wedding preps. Must let the men do some work too mah..hehehe...

Nisa~Haaha not the whole hse! heee...almost lah! ;p my sister can't wait for me to move my things! it's now 10boxes of 30kg stuff and counting...heee....my sis is already planning on the new deco of 'her' room already LOL..sisters!

Waahhhh can't believe that i'll be a 'Mrs' in 2 weeks' time!

Nikki~ Hey gal! Hello!!! How's everything? ;)

christie79

Hee..Bride..didn't realise that you had asked me some Qs about the gate crashing ;p Hmm. ..think mine will be pretty simple lah..don't want to scare him as he's kinda no-nonsense down to earth..but there will be some knid of stuffs like letting him choose between finishing a bowl of durian ice cream or a whole durian fruit..And yes sure i've a multiply webpage. Can add you and you can see
What's your email address pls so i could add you?

EJ~ Sorry missed your's too..Im speedposting to Norway. Will be relocating there in a few week's time..Super Busy!

Hi Chrisl,

No worries. You sound like you've got a lot on your plate right now. 2 weeks to go. You must be so excited. Hope the planning's going well. I am sure your fiance's being here on Sunday will take the stress away. Maybe you can train him up for the durians. Try durian puffs. lol. Good luck to him.

And yes, I am a Sattine bride too. Yay! Just went for my trial makeup and 2nd fitting. A bit unsure about the makeup though, felt that the foundation was a little OTT. Maybe I am just not used to makeup. A friend even thinks i should do more with my makeup (eyes), glam up more! I'm not sure. Who's doing yours?

Anyway, my multiply id is creamdeluxec. I'm on Mrs N's list, so you can add me from there. Thanks. Can't wait to see your pictures.