Any Brides whose HTB is 'Ang Mo'?

pinkpony

Mrs N.- thanks for directing me to this!

Hi Ladies. Glad that I'm not alone! And really kudos to all! When I thought mine is gonna be tough. He's an Aussie ;)

We are planning in-advanced for a wedding as well as my transfer. And this long-distance (tell me about it!) didn't help at all.

Still about 12 months to go to the big day I guess. So plently of preparation time.

Wondering any Aust-SG brides who has contacts in Australia for wedding preparation, bridal shop, location, cross-cultural thingy to share?

How abt the SG ceremony? Having two reception seems quite daunting and see a potential huge hole in pocket!

night_child80

Wow, you guys have certainly given me relief to know I'm certainly not alone in having to tackle a long-distance relationship, cross-cultural differences and a multitude of other nitty-gritties.

My HTB is Australian too and we're aiming for an end of the year/early next year wedding: signing in Oz, tea/church in Singapore.

We're currently physically separated (he's back in Brisbane and I'm here in Singapore), so planning is all the harder. Skype and MSN just don't cut it when all you want is a good cuddle.

pinkpony

Hey Melissa,

Is there a reason why you're having the signing in Oz? Thought SG ROM thingy will also be legally and recognised in Oz?

YES! Planning over cross-country is already a challenge - let alone when both are separated! I saw so much bridal show in Singapore but he's over there and can't go alone, can I?

We call and text each other a lot. Our phone bills is like rocket-high. We just have so much to share in our day-to-day moments. We do Skype and MSN too.

So are you moving there soon too? My HTB really don't want us to be apart when get married. And really as much as I'm reluctant to go, I think I have to move there.. for sake of our happiness!

Well, guess its probably easier for me. My HTB and myself are not really traditional or cultural people. Likewise for our family. So, our wedding definitely will have our way and simple one.

Hi Melissa & Miss Lala,

Welcome to this thread, and congratulations on your coming wedding!

I can emphatise with the pain of living apart. We had to do that for about 8 months a few years ago and it wasn't the easiest of time. I'm glad that's over. Anyway, you've come to the right place. I think most here have had similar experiences and are a great source of support.

Personally, I am planning for our wedding (happening in 6 weeks) so if you girls want information on stuff in Singapore, feel free to ask. I'll try to help as much as I can.
In the meantime, have fun with the wedding planning!

night_child80

Hi Lala,

We wanted both sides of the family to be a part of our wedding, but as my mum is insisting on the church part to be held here (and his paternal side are afraid of flying), we're left with doing the registering in Brisbane.

We text each other too, but we learnt in our uni days that calling cards are a god-send: half a cent a minute phone calls to Singapore from Oz! AUD20-30 will give you plenty of chat time and the quality is almost just as good as IDD.

My HTB feels the same and would like for us to be together by the end of the year, but there are so many things to straighten out here: PR applications, moving stuff, sorting out stuff with banks, etc. Hopefully we'll have our own (small) place by then, but property prices are insane! Which part of Oz are you headed?

pinkpony

Thanks Bride Bride. Congrats for your upcoming wedding too!

Hi Melissa, great idea for the calling cards! So your HTB will be moving to Singapore after the wedding? How's your preparation going on?

We're moving to Melbourne, where he's working and living there right now. Have been looking at Oz and SG bridal magazines. How about you? Where your gown would be, from SG or OZ? Have you had your engagement party?

I find it rather refreshing when my HTB told me that the groom won't see the bride's dress until the actual day. So meaning we won't have those typical SG kind of pre-wedding photos taken and he won't be going along with me to try those fittings.

night_child80

Thanks Bride Bride! 8 months is a really long time! Glad that's over and your wedding is just a few short weeks away. ^_^

Lala: Glad to share the tip! Learnt it from watching a housemate talk to his gf in Singapore from 7-8pm to 2-3am EVERYDAY.

My HTB has lived in Singapore the last 2+ years and has just started a new job in Brisbane a month or so ago, so I'll be moving to Oz.

Preparations has been split: he handles things in Oz and I handle the stuff here. Just makes it logistically easier to get information. We've signed up with French Bridal and they've agreed to let me bring the gown and accessories with me to Oz for 2 weeks, if I need to. Talk to your boutique and ask, cuz it'll make things easier for you to choose and have fittings.

mrs_n

Hey Chrisl enjoy your last day of work. Can now look forward to your wedding. Hee! Hee! Anymore boxes and you might as well hire a container ship!
Better tell Gaute to come with a half empty suitcase then he can 'tompang' some of your barang barang.

Bride guess the excitement of your wedding makes studying quite difficult. Ha! Ha! Well the run up to the day is in itself a momentuous experience so might as well make the most of it. The thesis won't run away (unfortunately). Don't you wish sometimes you had a magic wand and could just wave it around and wahlah everything's written and done and finished and life can go back to normal?

Joyce wah didn't know one brain cell can do so much good. Eh can I have my brain cell back?
Just discovered that I have to take the 'Life in UK' test before I can apply for PR! And I thought my days for tests and exams were long over and done with.

newlywedd my 'long distance' consisted of seeing my hubby (then bf) only on weekends (sometimes not even a full weekend as I had to work). He lived in another county which was about three quarters of an hours drive so wasn't too far. But as he used to work in Leicester and I was in living in Sheffield he was usually too tired by the end of the day to drive anywhere else. We usually had a short chat and prayer over the phone before we went to bed. That was our life for about 2 years before we married.

de-luxe no other reason for the tiredness lah! Apart from the longer daylight hours my hubby also works odd hours. Sometimes he goes to work about 5 or 6 am so when he gets up early I also get up. Can't be help. The curtains in our rooms are dark and have lining but its still too bright! But curtains here too expensive can't afford another set nevermind thicker ones.

Cuclainne you're welcome. Glad the stuff came in useful for Sofi.
It is still on the cold side at the moment. Gosh sometimes it seems like the sun is playing hide and seek! Oh dear hope your MIL didn't make you feel too uncomfortable. I'm sure one day she'll come to terms with it though I can imagine it must be hard on her since she's close to him. Such is life, you can't please everybody.

Emilia jo you still drooling over your cupcakes? Do cupcakes use a lot of eggs? Looking for ways and means to get rid of the eggs in my fridge before the farmer makes her egg rounds. We get half a dozen eggs from her every wednesday but I've been too slow in using them up so they keep accumulating. Last time I managed to get rid of them by making kaya but ... let's just stay we're still trying to finish the kaya! Hahaha! Alamak another long post!!!

I guess Freaky's disappeared again! Hope she comes back soon.

Miss Lala & Melissa welcome to the family! I had my legal and church wedding in the UK and church blessing in SG. Not sure if I'm the best person to ask advice from as I was far too relaxed with my planning or rather lack of planning! My hubby did the UK one and my family did the SG. So basically all that was expected of me was to turn up on both occasions!

Chrisl, hahaha .. my brother behaved pretty much the same way when i moved out .. you must be super busy right now but do you think you might have time to meet up for a quick chat before you leave singapore for good?

Miss Lala, Melissa, yah the distance can be a real killer but look at this way, it's not too long now before you can say goodbye to this.. hehehe .. how are your planning coming along?

my MIL was also afraid of flying but for our ROM, she actually made the trip here from Sweden. and she actually flew out again when i delivered my daughter so the hubby was saying that she's slowly getting over her fears.

Hi Mrs N,

If i had a magic wand, i'll do more than just wave it round for my thesis! I'm using the wedding as an excuse but I do feel like my work's rubbish and giving up sometimes. Gotta find the strength to finish this so that it goes away for good.

What's this 'Life in the UK' test you've to do? I'd thought you already had PR there? What are they going to test you on? Your knowledge on Neighbours, Home & Away, Emmerdale???

mrs_n

Hi bride I don't have PR yet. My spouse visa is only valid for two years. The home office doesn't give PR (indefinite leave to remain as they call it) to newlywedds i.e. marriages under two years. Once your two years are up then you are allowed to apply for PR. Guess they want to make sure you're marrying for the right reasons and not just to 'squat' in the UK.

'Life in the UK' test used to be compulsory for those who were applying for citizenship but since 2 April 2007, the laws have been changed to include those applying for PR. So no choice lah have to do the test. Can't believe they have raised the visa fees to £750 (and that does not include the fees for the test)!

This is what you have to know: http://www.lifeintheuktest.gov.uk/htmlsite/self_10.html
If you pass this, you don't need to take the English test.

Haha! Good thing the test is not on those 3 soaps. Haven't a clue about their story lines ... maybe if it were Eastenders I might be able to scrape through.

Hey hang in there. I used to think my thesis wasn't good enough and that I should have done this and that. The last few months were the hardest and most tiring. It did seem like a long tunnel and I would never see the end of it but I eventually did. Keep your chin up. I know it's tiring but you'll survive. Don't give up now the light is just around the corner.

i miss eastenders - they've stopped screening it on the BBC channel here .. argh! have to make do with reading story lines from their website ..

mrs_n

Cuclainne not so sure if I will be able to remember all the answers to the questions. There are about 9 chapters in the book and my brain is a bit 'wooly' now.
There's still about half a year or so more before my visa expires so still got time but I am thinking of taking the test earlier before they raise the fees. Anything to cut the cost down. Anyway its best to get it over and done with.

Oh dear that's too bad not having your dose of Eastenders.
I didn't really follow the series until I came to Wheatley and was quite intrigued. Ha! Ha! Probably at that time I hadn't watch TV for almost 3 years as I didn't have a TV when I was in Sheffield so any program was a treat. If I only knew what I was letting myself into!

How's Sofi? Hope she's ok.

de_luxe

Hi peeps,

hello to the newbies, glad u r finding this useful. Do feel free to ask if u need any help with u wedding preps.

Seems like lots of SIN-OZ couples here recently.

Chances are that we are going to leave SIN soon, dunno exactly when or where to as the HB has to look for a job first. But i think by year end is fairly definate.

Haven't been feeling well lately, been down with an awful flu the last 2 weeks and since yesterday, i've been feeling nauseous almost all the time but am not able to actually throw up. Most uncomfortable! Have just managed to force myself to throw up a bit and felt better for a while but the feeling's back again and i dun really know what to do abt it. Wish i know why i'm feeling this way. I'm quite sure i'm not pregnant so this can't be morning sickness as just had my period not long ago. From what i know, pregnancy symptoms normally don't show up so fast anyway... groan...

Gotta go now and hug the toilet bowl... see u ard...

de_luxe, you'll be leaving SIN soon? i thought you and your HB likes it here ..

it sounds to me like you could be pregnant.. a woman is most fertile shortly after the end of her period and sometimes it only takes one try ah .. hehehe .. have you been to the doctor or taken a test?

blue_monkey

Just wanted to drop a quick note to say Hi to all. In brief - singaporean gal marrying scottish lad. We both live in HK now and wedding will be in singapore next April....

Mrs N,

Thanks for the link. Looks like a lot of general knowledge questions to help you get by in the UK. I am sure you know a lot of the answers already. Good luck and let me know how you get on. Don't know when I'll do it, cos we have no plans to return to the UK at the moment. Hopefully it's not going to get too much more difficult and expensive!!! Damn Home Office!

Thanks for the encouragement on the thesis. I miss the academic support and inspiration from being on campus. Have not had that for awhile, so having you share your experience has definately given me some peace of mind.

de_luxe,

Hope you feel better soon. Have you seen a doctor? I know of people who still get their period in the first trimester, so who knows!!

Hi Blue Monkey,

Welcome to the community and congratulations on your coming wedding! Have you started with the planning?

Finally, how do you gals bold the words in this?

blue_monkey

Bride
thanks! erm, have started. finalising venue and negotiating / bargaining with them now.

HAve worked the BOLD out you have to type <*b> and <*/b> - omit the asterisk.

Mrs N
You seem to be 'expert' here as have seen you replying on lots of threads! Much appreciated if you could also help me on below :

1. Changing Last Name on our I/C - how do we do that? Can we do that immediately after the wedding? how long do i have to wait because we are probably flying out almost immediately?

2. Recognization of our marrige in UK - we have to register somewhere for that?

night_child80

emilia jo: Thank you for the welcome! Food is good! And thanks for the direction. I'll be hopping over there for a quick peek in a sec.

Mrs N: Thank you! Wow, that sounds like a good idea. Wonder if anyone in my family is willing to plan everything for me. ^_^

cuclainne: That's so sweet of your MIL to make the trips over.
And thank you for the warm welcome! I am so looking forward to seeing him again in July, when I go over for the Catholic Engaged Encounter course.

de_luxe: Really? My friends think I'm barking mad to be with an Australian, given the stereotype of bronzed surfer boys (I wish!). :p Hope you feel better soon!

mrs_n

de-luxe hope you're ok. Fingers crossed for you. Gee! That's quite a big decision to be leaving SG. Your hubby is thinking of a change of environment? He has been in SG for quite a long time hasn't he? Looks like everyone on here is planning to leave at some time. Hey Cuclainne looks like you'll be the only one left in SG? Nevermind you'll have more places to visit.

Melissa haha! Actually I only wanted one wedding but not all my family could come over to the UK and none of my hubby's could make it to Sg. Yah my family in SG knew that I was busy finishing up my thesis so didn't have time for any wedding planning. If they had left it all to me, I think we would end up having a wedding in the hawker centre!
Anyway hope you'll enjoy EE. I did. Not too sure how they do EE in SG but the one in UK we spent a lot of time writing letters to each other ... had quite sore hands after that!!

blue monkey welcome to the thread. Someone with a fiance from jockland finally! Was wondering when that day would come. Most girls on here with British hubbies are English me included. The Scots are lovely people. I had spent sometime in NE Scotland and I much prefer it to England. Its a lot colder but definitely prettier and less crowded. Which part of scotland is your fiance from?

Me no expert lah! Just being kaypo. To answer your first question. I didn't change my last name on my i/c, just added my married name in. That means whatever name you have on your i/c stays but you can add in '<font color="0000ff">Mrs xxx married-surname</font>'. I think if you want to drop your original surname you need to do it by deed poll which probably will cost a lot more as you need to go through a lawyer.

You can add in your married name at ICA and it takes only a few hours. A big hint: go early in the morning where crowds are likely to be less. If you take your passport along with you, they will update it at the same time.

You don't need to register your marriage in the UK as they recognise Sg's ROM cert. Are you thinking of moving back to the UK after your marriage? You working in HK?

Bride no probs. Anytime my dear! Just keep a positive outlook and like my prof used to say 'You'll be fine!'
You can get some tips on Formatting if you click on '<font color="119911">Help</font>' at the bottom of the page.

blue_monkey

Mrs N yeap - jockland indeed. He's from a town somewhere near Glasgow. Thanks for answering the question - makes it easier then - don't want to do the lawyer fee and deed poll thing. He will just have to live with it i guess.

We are both working in HK and no intentions to move back to UK unless his family needs him back as his mum is not too healthy.

I love edinburgh and glasgow - both are great cities..and we try to go back 2 to 3 times to visit his family. i like it there....but am not so sure how i would cope living there as i don't know what i'll be able to work as! I was joking with the HTB - work as a waitress in a chinese restaurant!

Mrs N, is there any way i could get DVDs of EastEnders? tried looking around but don't seem to be successful.

Sofi is doing well .. she's growing heavier and naughtier .. requires our constant attention now - me and her daddy are so so tired! but she does bring such joy and smiles to us .. esp. when she flashes her widest toothless grin. hahahaha.

de_luxe

Hi Newly Wed sorry I missed out reply to ur question. We’re in SG. Not in LDR, never have been cuz we met here n he’s been working here for abt 8 yrs already. Well, still have the wedding pics on Kodak gallery, can send the link to u if u give me ur email addy. We’re married for 11 months. Language is a struggle as always. It’s nice of ur hubby’s frens to speak in Eng. Most of us dun get treated like that. Enjoy it while it lasts…

cuclainne yes, we might be leaving due to unforeseen circumstances. What man proposes, God disposes… so gotta go with the flow.

Oh no, hope I’m not pregnant… went to the same doc for more medication n find out wats wrong but he couldn’t figure it out n suspected stomach flu. Got some pills that keeps the nausea away – seems to work so far. And new antibiotics, these are the problem as they are not proven for safe use during pregnancy. I tot the fertile period is 14-21 days after periods?? Not the week after?? That’s what all the books say…

Sofi shld be having her first tooth soon right? It’ll be painful once she starts biting….

bride M better after taking the med, like I said earlier, hopefully not preggy due to unknown effects of med on pregnancy

hi blue monkey if u want more info abt the deed poll, give me ur email add as I’ve enquired w a law firm before. The change of name is not the big hassle. The problem is that u’ve got to inform all the govt agencies under the sky abt the change of name as they dun do it for u.

Melissa bronzed beach boys = good bods and possibly high IQ… you might just prove the rest wrong…

Mrs N yes… u r right… everyone leaves at some point in time… it’s only a question of when and whether those who leave will return…

I just did something that I tot was rather brave… went to cut off my hair from mid-back length to shoulder length. Had long hair for abt 10 yrs now and recently found it too hot and troublesome to manage… so I just went and snipped it off… I look really different now and younger too. It took me like 5 secs to recognize my own reflection in a mirror that I was walking past… also had red streaks put into my hair and a straightening thingy (but not rebonding) done…. Ha! Think I’m gonna give the office a shock tmrw!!

OK, gotta go, we’re going to watch Shrek 3 now! Ciao!

de_luxe, they say that the least likely time a woman can conceive is from day 1-7. she is most fertile from day 12-16. but sometimes nature just doesn't follow what the books dictate yah .. :D

Mrs N &amp; Blue Monkey,
Thanks for the formatting tip.

Mrs N,
You said they can add "Mrs XXX" to the passport at ICA when you add in your married name on your i/c too. Does that mean when we book tickets (flights), etc, in the future, we can use our married name in singapore? or does that only make things easier for when we are back in the UK?

de_luxe
fingers crossed. hope you feel better soon.

mrs_n

bride bride it means that you have the choice of booking your tickets in either your married or maiden name. In my old passport, they stamped also known as 'Mrs xxxx' in one of the pages. But with the new biometric one, both names (as they appear on your ic) are on the same page (They do ask if you want to have your married name added in). In the UK, everybody assumes you are Mrs xxx. You don't have to legally change your name in the UK, your marriage cert automatically entitles you to use your hubby's name. I think the only time people need to go through lawyers is if they go for double barrelled names.

blue monkey de-luxe is right. You need to inform CPF, banks,insuarances etc about any name changes and that can be a headache if your time in S'pore is limited. But the thing I found was that they didn't seem to mind about the name addition so long as your original name remains on the i/c. In fact, CPF told me to keep my name as it is on their records b'cos they couldn't fit the additional characters of my married name onto the computer. The only update they did to my records was the marital status.
Same with banks and insuarance policies.

Cuclainne not sure whether they have DVD. You have eastenders withdrawal syndrome?
Hmmm let me see if I can record the episodes and transfer it to something like youtube. Never done it before so not sure if it will work though.
No harm trying though.

de-luxe yeah I guess it is also a case of whether those who leave will want to return.
Btw have you tried charting your fertility cycle? Books do tend to give a general guideline which is base on the 28 day cycle but unfortunately not everybody follows a 28 day cycle so that rule doesn't apply to everybody. What we've learnt from the NFP course is that, if your basal body temperature rises and you feel dry (as in no cervical mucus) that's when you're in the infertile phase. Its based more on recognising the changes of fertility in one's body but one needs quite a bit of practice with a few charts though, before one knows when is one's fertile/infertile phases of the cycle.

Have you come across this website before? You might find it useful. http://www.fertilityfriend.com/

pink_petals

I'm marrying an American guy and having similar issues as you. We both live in Singapore and are having our wedding here next January. My whole family is in Sri Lanka so I'm doing alot of the planning myself. Did any of you have any problems getting both families together in one country for the wedding? It's so expensive for everyone to fly in, especially from the U.S. I'm finding it discouraging at times.

night_child80

Mrs N: *LOL* You had a very valid reason, so no worries! I have no idea what to expect from EE, as no one I know personally has attended. They've gone for the 6 weekend counseling course, which sounded a little... chauvinistic. But it's just a lot of writing, it shouldn't be a problem for me. ^_^

de_luxe: Unfortunately (or fortunately) for me, my HTB is a geek. Free tech-support! j/k XD

Sorelle Henricus: Getting both families to make the trip to the same location is no easy task. I've thrown this idea with my family and the feedback was that they would not be able to travel to Oz, so those in the HTB's family who can, will be making the trip to Singapore instead. But we all have to understand that schedules and cost are the prevailing factors that may make it impossible for some to share this moment with you. Just remember they will be with you in spirit.

Hi Sorelle, welcome .. don't be disheartened. you'll get through it, eventually the event will be one you will never forget! :D

I had two events .. one in Jan when we ROM and the AD was in March. My PILs are divorced so my MIL came with her husband in Jan and my FIL came with his family in March .. my husband's friends also travelled from HK, Sweden for the March event .. despite wanting to share our joy with everyone, we do know that cost and distance is a factor (not everyone can afford the time or the money). as long as you're able to celebrate your big day with your loved ones, yah ..

yah, Mrs N, severe withdrawal symptoms .. every day i will check the BBC site for the daily synopsis ... weekends are worst cos they don't update .. haiya ..

mrs_n

cuclainne that bad huh? Poor you.
No synopsis on weekends because they only show the weekly repeats. You can check ITV website they give the listings about a week in advance.

Melissa Don't think there is much difference in the topics covered in EE or MPC just the way its presented. Our parish priest didn't mind which one we went for so long as we went for something.
Both my hubby and I have been through CHOICE before so EE seem the natural way to go. Anyway EE has a lot of good feedback from the Catholic Brides thread. So I'm sure you'll enjoy your experience too even though it's an Ozzie one.

Having free tech support is a very useful 'commodity' in this age and time! You're very lucky.

Sorelle
kao_welcome2.gif

Yeah much as you would like everybody to come and celebrate the day with you, cost is always a factor for some (as in the case of my BIL and SIL, they got 7 children between them so travelling halfway across the world is really expensive) and health and agewise (in the case of my PILs) long journeys just aren't feasible for the elderly. In the end, we decided to have the 'real' wedding in the UK followed by a blessing in SG two months later. Only a handful of my family came for the UK one while none of my hubby's side came for the one in Sg. We had DVDs of our 'weddings' in both countries so either side wouldn't miss out.
That was the best we could do.

eminozy

welcome!

yeah dont worry sorelle, after planning quite a bit, you will learn to be easy about certain things, like guests. no one from chris' side was at our oz wedding. Only my parents were here as my side of family representative, my sister was in her 8 mths of pregnancy, so she could not come too. For the spore's wedding, only chris'1 good friend is coming from his side... thats it.

We both learned to accept that you cant have everyone at your wedding like what Melissa says,"Just remember they will be with you in spirit."

Mrs N, my cupcakes are on the roll.

Melissa- glad to help :p

Mrs N
Thanks for the info.

Sorelle
We're having one wedding in Singapore only, and were thrilled that many of our friends and relatives abroad were excited about coming to celebrate (and sneak in an 'exotic' holiday) with us. Alas, things cropped up and quite a few can't come in the end (aunt got pregnant, cousin broke his leg, etc). So, whilst it is disappointing that more loved ones can't be here, the excitment that they have injected into discussions and general chitchat have been fab and made it feel like they're part of the wedding celebrations already.

So, cheery up. The wedding will still be great, I'm sure. And, when you return to Sri Lanka and the US for holidays, you can always throw a small post-wedding party, play the wedding video and have a second (and third) celebration.

pink_petals

HI Everyone,

Thanks for your comments. You're right, there's no point dwelling on it. It will be great no matter what! I guess its the disadvantage for living in such an increasingly international world. If it weren't this way I probably never would have met my FH anyway, so it's a blessing.

So you think a wedding video is essential do you? I've always kind of thought they were cheezy and was going to get a friend to video just the ceremony. Does anyone have any recommendations on this?

Hi Sorelle,

I statred off being quite adamant about not having a videographer for the wedding for the same reasons you have (and i am also camera shy), but we've come to the conclusion that it will be something that we will appreciate a lot more when we're older. I am hoping DVDs are not going to be sooooo technological backward by then.

Anyway, we looked for videographers who we thought were different and not your usual cheesy types. We liked The Wedding Paparazzi &amp; Damon Low. Damon's non intrusive approach really attracted us as we didn't want to constantly have someone sticking a camera in our face. TWP offers a few different options and styles for the videos, which are creative and fun. They incorporate interviews into the videos, which allows guests to be more involved in the wedding and might be more fun for friends and family who can't turn up for the wedding.

We've gone with TWP. So, we can give you a proper feedback when it is all over (in a few weeks). But, in the meantime, I don't think it'll hurt if you gave them a ring and viewed some of their work. I think there is a sample on their website too. Can I put links to companies here?

eminozy

heheh TWP is a friend's girlfren family's company. Am gna use him (he is a photographer) for my wedding instead. yeah. i still cant get the hang of vdos still.... need more time to think about it!

blue_monkey

Hi de-luxe , have you emailed me the deed poll? let me know as i just wanted to take a look

Mrs N think my time in singapore after the wedding will be like 1 or 2 days - means i will have to rush to do it all..or wait until later.

Have finally signed the contract with Raffles hotel - preparations are in full swing!

de_luxe

I’m back to normal
if no further news abt my nausea then means I’m not pregnant
Not that we don’t want kids but it’s just that this is not the best time as we will probably find out only next month how long more we will be here. If we really have to move then being pregnant will only hinder things a little, that’s all.

blue monkey I’ll email you abt the deed poll another time as my HB has just changed the email password and didn’t tell me what the new one is!!

cuclainne hahaha… I hope in my case nature followed the books for once

Mrs N I used to keep a basel temp chart for the past few months but I’ve been forgetting so often recently that I’ve given up for a while. Did the charting long enough to know roughly what my cycle is like, I will probably continue doing it when it’s more convenient.

Sorelle Welcome, do share a little more abt yourself with us. We toyed with the idea of 2 weddings in Singapore and Germany then figured out that it would be too expensive for us. In the end, we had it here and his parents, brother, 1 niece, 3 cousins and 1 close friend came to Singapore. So that’s just 8 people out of our 140 guests. The rest were all our friends and family who lived here. We had our honeymoon in Budapest and stopped by at his hometown for a week where we caught up with some people. We didn’t do a proper wedding video, it was just his brother filming and at that time we haven’t gotten the video from him yet. So we just brought along our studio album and everyone went goo-goo over it. It was only much later when the wedding pics were ready that we got to email the album to most of our overseas family and friends.

Melissa I agree with Mrs N… tech support is a precious commodity these days… hugs and kisses from your tech geek are just the cream on the cake, right? =)

pink_petals

thanks Bride Bride, I will definitely look into them. I was discussing with FH over the weekend and he though perhaps we should reconsider since his Dad might not be able to make it for financial reasons.

Good luck with your wedding its in a few weeks?!! The last minute stuff must be hectic. Budapest sounds nice, we're considering going to Turkey late next year for a late honeymoon. Do you know alot about eastern Europe? I hope I dont have my geography all wrong, Budapest is in Hungary right?

Have you been to any of the neighbouring countries?

eminozy

sorelle-turkey sounds good. which part u thinking of? chris n me planning to go to rhodes,greece and take a boat to izmir,turkey towards istanbul. we dont know when is ok, but october seems to be the choosen month!

mrs_n

Sorelle wedding videos are not an essential but its a nice memento of the day. There are stuff which you probably wouldn't notice on your wedding day that is picked up by the video. For e.g. I didn't get to see what went on in church before I arrived and it was nice to just to see what it was like when I wasn't there. Also there were some comical moments of my hubby's niece and nephews during the ceremony which we missed because we were concentrating so hard on that day. So it was a good laugh when we saw the video.
Actually we celebrated our 1st Anniversary by watching our wedding DVD.

de-luxe maybe you can try mucus observations if its too inconvenient to take the BBT at the same time everyday.

emilia jo glad to know that your cupcake are going well.
I managed to use 8 eggs over the weekend (yipee finally getting rid of eggs) to make a chocolate cake. Haven't been baking in a long while and halfway thru' I found out that I was short of sugar so had to make do with icing sugar instead! It didn't turn out too badly. Ha! Ha! I finally got rid of the icing sugar too. Yeah! Just a bit of the brown sugar to go now before we finish all the sugar in this house! Can't believe it but its taken at least 3 years to consume all that sugar.
My hubby used to do his own shopping before he knew me and he always forgot how much stock of sugar he had, so when I came on the scene, there were at least 7 packets of sugar in stock!!! Men! Can't trust them to do proper grocery shopping.

bride its less than a month for you now isn't it? Chrisl's should be soon too. Wonder how she is?

Emilia,
What a small world. You could get the gf/bf team to do the wedding photos and video. They probably have a better idea of each other's style and will not get into the other's way.

Part of me is still uncomfortable with the idea of a videographer but I decided not to think about it when I gave in to my fiance. Besides, knowing how important these family/wedding videos are to his grandfather (who watches it to catch a glimpse of his deceased wife) made me realise that it might be something we'll want for ourselves in the future. Seems a lil macabre but to us it was a sign of their everlasting love for each other.

Sorelle,
Glad to be of help. Sounds like it is something you'll want to consider if your fiance's father can't be here. TWP and Damon's quite good as they adopt an unobstrusive style, which I like as I didn't want to constantly be aware of a camera with a huge lightbulb being a few cm from my face!

Mrs N,
Yes! 3 weeks this Sat! And, fiance's family arrive in 2! But we think we've got most things sorted. Just need to buy flowers and kuehs a couple days before for the tea ceremony at home, go for our final fittings, call the vendors and confirm time, etc! Chrisl's should be soon (this weekend?), i guess we'll know when she logs back on!

pink_petals

emilia jo, that sounds like a great trip! How long are you planning on taking to visit all those places?

We're thinking about July/August although it depends on how much our wedding in Jan ends up costing!

Are you thinking of going free &amp; easy?

I called TWP and will probably arrange a meeting. They said they can probably give me a discount because we don't have a tea ceremony.

Hope everyone else is having a good week =)

eminozy

Thanks Sorelle,
We have no idea when we will do it, if possible this year, depends on our funds! Both Chris and me are seasoned backpackers. We travel light and we go for localised stays and restaurants..heheh so we will get to know the place better. If we were to go there, due to not enough leave. Prolly 2 weeks max.

Bridebride,
Hehehe, thats what he said lah. Get the whole package but i told him we are on a tight budget-cant really have everything. They are really good, so if you want photography too, you should ask her for her bfren, my friend! heheheh

Ming is his name,
good luck

mrs_n

Bride 7th July will come in no time. Its good that you guys are so organised. Saves you rushing around at the last minute.
Think Nikki's is on the same day too. Hmmmm wonder what she's up too besides baking cupcakes like Emilia.
Maybe this thread should be renamed '<font color="0077aa">The Cupcake Gang</font>'? We should all get ourselves initiated by baking cupcakes in our free time.

Chrisl don't know if its too early or too late to wish you but anyway all the best to you and Gaute. Happy Wedding Day Part 1!

pink_petals

I love cupcakes...and backpacking. We did Thailand for two weeks I can't wait for Europe!

What's everyone else's dream honeymoon or vacation?

gottliebt

Newly wed Hey, yr hubby is german? When r u moving to germany? Anywhere around stuttgart??? Well, the language simply has to be learned, like no running away. But it gets better with time. I´ve been here for like 9 mths now and its better already compared 2 before. In the process of looking at job opportunities now, still not too sure yet, but looking.