Amara Singapore

ok agree with jas & mlkmlk, the max is 38 tables ot be comfortable i guess....

the corkage is $20 nett per bottle, waiver is for 24 bottles, if you take the wine from the hotel, it wil be at $60 (if i am not wrong)

hi mikmik,
Good Morning. By the way, when is your AD? When you sign the package? I signed my package last year and I had all corkage waived. At first, we wanted to get the wine from Amara instead of sourcing outside, Michelle advised us not to get from Amara as it is not worth it. The wine that Amara sell are expensive, like what minssy had mentioned. So I think you buy from outside.

Two tips I gain experience from the banquet.

1. For those who will having rose petals tossing -We had rose petals tossing for our 2nd march-in. Amara way of doing is to put the bowl filled with the rose petals during the setting up of the tables. My Emcee suppose to announce before the 2nd march-in. My guests mistaken and toss the rose petals during 1st march-in with the dry ice effect.

2. Try to get 2 projectors. If only 1 projector, the screen will be near to the stage, and the portable screen that Amara provide is very small. The guests who sit at the end of the ballroom, will have difficulties viewing the montage.

hi cocoberry,

ohhhh....hope you can find your AD photographer soon. :-)
my BS is bridal veil. first appt coming up later this week. who's your BS?

hi minssy,

thanks for the info on corkage. $20nett is still reasonable for corkage. i ever asked other hotels about their corkage charges, they still include the +++. can faint!
$60/bottle to get from amara is ex!
fullerton and traders give discounted wine prices for weddings. too bad amara don't provide such disc. but then again, i guess it would be funny if the taste of the wine changes halfway when the staff do the refilling......

hi jas,
good morning to you too. my AD is 18 Sept 05. too many places fully booked so we decided to hold the dinner on the next day. we signed the pkg in 4 dec last year. michelle was quite strict on the waiver -- 24 bottles of wine waiver only.
will take your advice and buy from outside. most likely will have to pay for corkage, i guess. but then even with corkage, definitely be cheaper than $60/bottle direct from amara.

jas, for your rose petals tossing, did you get amara to provide or did you source from other vendors?

thanks for sharing your tips!! :-)

hi mikmik,

I get from Amara. If you are thinking of getting it, get michelle to inform the banquet manager to give the rose petals after first march in.

hi jas,

thanks for the tip!
does amara charge for the rose petals?
what was your chosen decor? natural? romance? granduer?
or did you top up 500 bucks for the dream wedding theme?
sorrie for so many questions. *paiseh*

hi mikmik,

No problem, we here to share share one.

Rose petals was free. My deco is granduer. I'm not sure of the dream wedding theme.

hi jas,

:-)

that's nice to know!
my hubby likes the grandeur theme.
i think the romance theme looks nice in the photos! :-)
oh, amara's other wedding theme is dream wedding theme whereby requires a top up of $500 for the deco. it comes with flower arches at the entrance, more stage deco, and a choice of decorations for the ballroom, basically like any colour and any flowers also can - be it blue/purple/etc

hi mikmik,

yah lor.. if i get matthew lang at $14 + corkage $20, it will still be only $34... but thats how hotels earn

sheesh.. now i have to find where i can find giantic bottles of wine... i went to supermarket to see but dun have leh..

Juz curious abt those gigantic wine bottles... will it b too heavy for t waiter/waitress to handle?

Hi jas, me also thot of getting a 2nd proj, do u know where to rent a cheap one? For t 2nd proj, another labtop is needed right?

hi lilian,

I rent from a guy at $80 per projector. The cheapest that I can find in town. Can give me your email address so that I can mail you the contact.

No, only need one laptop. Amara has a super long cable, can connect two projectors together. Meaning you just need 2 projectors, 1 laptop and 1 long cable from Amara and you are done.

hi lilian and clouds,
I sent the contacts liao.

Hi Clouds,
Matthew lang is a type of wine. If I'm not wrong, the wine is from Australia.

I had wine from Australia too. The brand I think is Kangaroo. Cost $16.90, my guest commented that it is nice and smooth and that the reason why my wine finished up fast.

Hi Lilian,
Sure, will be getting my AD photos on this coming Friday or Saturday. So excited, can't wait to see it.

Hi jas... that's for your email..

oh i see... hee i so san gu.. ok.. i will keep that in mind when i source for wines.. i think now and then i have to visit supermarket to see if they have any wine promo.. : )

hi minssy,

yep yep. true, better to incur the corkage then buy wines from amara.

supermarkets don't carry the magnum bottles. wine suppliers will carry them. if you visit wine shops every now and then, can ask them if they also bring in the magnum bottles. :-)

Hi mikmik,

Me also sign on last year which got the waiver of wine...

Hi Jas,

Welcome back! How's your HM?? Wow waiting to see your photo too... can i ask you something? Are you saying that you are planning to throw the rose petal on your 2nd march in??? Will it be better?? If we get the 2nd projector the other screen is it on the other side of the ballroom.. Sorry ask you so many qest...

hi qiqi,

My HM quite fun. Everyday eat tom yum and the weather there was super hot, on the last day I got fever!!! Guess too heaty.

Ya, planning to throw on 2nd march-in. I intend to throw on the 1st march-in, but michelle said don't as 1st march-in has dry ice. It better to throw on 2nd march-in. Anyway, my guests mistaken and throw on my 1st march-in.

So it best to ask amara to place the bowl of rose petals after your 1st march-in.

I don't really get what you mean by the other side of the ballroom. For mine, I have 1 portable screen near the stage and the other at the back end of the ballroom.

Hi jas,

Oic.. wow must take care yah! Oh though the other screen is at the side of the ballroom maybe i confused it.. right got it! Will try to find another projector then as you say that at the back wont be able to see clearly right.

hi minssy,

welcome! :-)
heehee, amara didn't state what types of bottles of wines not allowed so can max out the 24 bottles waiver by using magnum bottles. heehee. ;-)
i understand that some couples do bring in magnum bottles to serve during weddings to optimise the number of bottles waiver.

hi qiqi,
that's good. you'll have no worries about the number of bottles of wine to bring in. :-)

now, I am planning for my next yr wedding dinner. dunno if its too early..now look look see see...
Amara is one of my shortlisted hotels.

How U find this hotel? in terms of service,food and the deco? Most importantly is the food as I want my guests to enjoy it.

Hi Hazel,

when is ur weddin? i've booked mine for may next yr... service wise, Jeffrey the banquet mgr is gd. as for the event managers.... think cant really comment much. think u can call michelle personally n see how u feel abt her. as for deco, i m personally happy with it so far... Food in amara was gd when i had my solemnization with them this yr... i believe the dinner shd be gd too

hi hazel,

I had my wedding about 2 weeks ago. I agree with cocoberry. Jeffrey is good!!!

The food wise is good. My guests love the fish and prawns. They said very very fresh.

I had 1 muslim table. My colleagues told me that this it the 1st time that had tasted such a nice food in the hotel.

They does change plates after every dish and also the drinks were serve promptly when they requested for refill of drinks.

my wedding shld be on 18 Jun 06.

Jas,
r the plates clean? sound stupid..but I went to Swissotel the Plaza, the utensils are either dirty or wet.

Would be calling Michelle soon...

Hi cocoberry!

me got 2 friends who previously signed up with GHA too!

that's GREAT! :-) good that the outcome is what you're happy with. :-)
now can concentrate on more wedding details.

are you planning to get two different types of cards from amara?
i'm thinking to get the red cards for the relatives and ivory cards for friends & colleagues.

Hi Hi ..

I am intending to sign up AD banquet with Amara and encounter quite funny or rather I would say hostile treatment from the person who attended to me.
Guess luck is not on my side.
Noni provided me with the package details and when I was suppose to meet her, she fell ill and another person took over.
I saw a few commented that Jeffrey is good can I can help from him?
I am ready to place deposit with AMARA but the person in charge don seem to be keen and no follow up from him?

Can someone assist me . ??

By right with this attitude that I received, I will never even have any seconds tots but because the package is reasonable and I like the hotel location.I am going for it.

Hope ladies out there who have had their AD at AMARA, please give me your 2 cents worth comments or advice.

Gina,
i m able to help u... can i get Michelle who is coordinating for me to call u? when is ur banquet? maybe u can contact me via email at [email protected]... cheer up

Mik
I hv yet to decide on e weddin card design leh... too early liao... btw, wat is ur weddin favour huh? chocolate? are they goin to change it?

Hi gina,

Jeffrey is the server and not the sales person so I guess you can't really look for him.

I agree with cocoberry, you can look for Michelle.

Actually, I meet up with a few of the hotels before I sign with Amara, and the rest of the hotels also never called follow up.

Jas
u r rt.... there is one hotel near city hall which i tried contactin a few times n i didnt get to talk to any of them till i sign up with Amara for my Solemnization... too bad that hotel lost my biz for both, Solemnization and Wedding banquet

hi cOcObeRRy,

:-) yep, you've still got time.
chocs as stated in contract. not sure if they're going to change......
currently as it is i'm ok with chocs.......unless i come across something prettier to give as wedding favours, i might just change my mind.

hi gina,
i agree with both cOcObeRRy and jas. you can look for michelle.

with regards to hotels, same goes for me, i called up more than 20 hotels to find a wedding banquet. one of them located in the marina was most rude. upon hearing my date, straightaway she said "fully booked" and hung up the phone. other hotels would asked me if i were looking at alternative dates or if i would look at smaller capacities, etc.

good luck with your booking for amara. :-) hope you get your choice date.

hi all thks for your fast reply.

amara reply to me and gave me some additional perks tat we asked for. however, i am not sure if its the best that it might be seen. anyway that you can share with me if any of you ladies were being counter-proposed on additional freebies other then those stated on their package print out list.

I am looking at 629 nett package.

Hi ladies, saw from t Straits Times today tat Amara will b holding a Bridal Fair soon.
The details are as follows:
*30 April 2005 2 - 5pm
*$50/couple
*Inclusive of 6-course foodtasting menu

lilian,

hey... thks for the info... bridal fair? is it wise to pay deposit first then go for bridal fair or the other way.

MIKMik,cocobery..

wen is your AD? any recommedation for videography and photographer?

what is wedding favour?
i am so nervous and dono what should i be looking for in the banquet.
i do not want to miss out on certain items that is the norm for AD banquet.. can you ladies help me..
by the way, as i have mentioned earlier, as i just happen to come across this forum which i didnt even know that such exist and i am very proud to say that all on lines have given and provided good advice and informations.

Keep it up ladies.. it really means alot to pple like me...thks

Hi happy,

my AD is 28th May 06. videography think weddingpaparazzi not bad. as for photography i m considerin Yew Kwang or Eu lee.

Wedding favour is something which the hotel or couple give to the guest as a gift. some hotels gives bear, key chains and so forth. think amara is still givin chocolate...

hi happy,

food tasting is done about 3 mths before the wedding when you choose the menu.... its all done after you place the deposit when you sign the contract.

hi minssy,
oh no i am thinking of next year Jan and have not done any coordination yet.
Am i too late...
I see alot of ladies out there is starting their preparation early.
I am begining to panick.
Well... its nice to know that your AD is on 28 May 2006.
So which BS have you booked.
Have you booked with AMARA yet?
Can share on the package that you are taking with them?

Hi Cocoberry,
Thanks for the info.
do you think is possible to ask for a gift for our wedding favour instead of chocolates?
Did you receive my email?
alternatively you can reach me at my email : [email protected].
When is your AD?

hi happy,

cocoberry's AD is 28 may lah.. mine is in nov....
obviously we had booked with amara... keke..... anyway, its not too late... unless you dub mind weekdays, else most weekends are surely taken up one ;) just call and ask lah...thats the process...

hi happy,

my AD's 18 sept tis year.
for AD photographer, i'm having hilarion goh.
for AD videography, we'll be signing up with focus point image soon.

a wedding favour is something which you give your guests to thank them for attending your wedding. :-)

no worries, happy. just holler if you need help.

if you'be got your date and if amara is still available, perhaps you may want to make a tentative booking with them first then attend their bridal show and then book with them thru the bridal show.

what are your perks like? perhaps you wanna email me at [email protected] about your pkg?
if you're looking at the 629nett pkg then it's weekday, right?

Hi everyone..

I'm new here.. had booked amara for my AD..
Anyone care to share on the package that you are taking? Just like to check on the additional perks that they are willing to provide in case I miss any out..

Can email me at : [email protected]