Amara Singapore

chatterbox

thanks lilian!!!!

how's yr preparation so far?

Mine in less than 2 mths time.. getting alittle excited...

tunapuff77

hi chatterbox,
me still have 8 mths to my wdg. Din prepare much for it yet. Juz finalised my MTM gowns, booked my PS date, ordered my wdg favours (i'm not getting t chocs from Amara) & booked AD photographer.
Now preparing for my ROM in June, and designing my love nest which is coming in July.
Going 2 be very busy in t mths 2 come....

Then have u settle most of ur wdg items?
Can we still change the menu after t food tasting?

hi purple jess,
i believe each of our package varies, depending on wat we need. Most common items 2 request are: Use of projector, Free Flow Beer, Waiver of wine cockage, Day use room for helper, Additional nite stay, More invitation cards....

chatterbox

Hi Lilian,

I'm doing up my guest list now. As for GDL items, will leave it to my in law. Will be sourcing for wine soon. hmmm... nothg much to do as for now.
Ya, I have gone for food tasting. Some items might require top up. I'm taking away the Yam basket to upgrade the fish to red garopa. Dont really like the sea bass. Not fresh... The food for my tasting is a little bland.

taringa

Hi chatterbox,

When is your AD ? How much more do u need to topup? Which means you have 8 dishes but your fish upgraded to Red Grouper ?

purple_jess

Hi chatterbox,

thanks.. So when is yr AD? Is it on a weekday? By the way, normally if i request for additional night stay can i request on our anniversary night instead of two consecutive nights? Also, from experience, if there's only 1 projector, people far away may not be able to see clearly. Is there any other solution? Do you know where they place the projector?
So you just went for the food tasting? How you find the food? I thought there's only 1 menu? Can we still upgrade to other dishes? How much to upgrade?
Sorry for asking so many questions.. hmm.. maybe just being nervous with all the preparations for the first time.. thanxs

mik

hi Lilian,

according to michelle, the menu still can be changed after food tasting.

hi chatterbox,

which pkg did you take up with amara? amara only allows food tasting of 6 dishes for 6 ppl only, right?

hi purple jess,

when's your AD?
you managed to bargain for free use of projector from amara?
understood from jas, that 2 projectors are required for better viewing.

think there are 4 menus altogether, you can chose to swop dishes or upgrade dishes depending on cost. the previous time i asked, the prices for upgrade ranged from 30+++ to 60+++ depending on which dish you chose to upgrade from.

cocoberry

Hi minssy,
thank u for answerin on my behalf.. yeah my ad is 28th may 06.

happy
i didnt receive ur email... will send u one soon. as for the package, when u sign up at weddin fair u can get a reasonably gd deal. try attendin it if there is one. think most of us here have diff packages... i signed up mine in dec 04's weddin fair...

purple_jess

Hi mikmik,
my ad is sep 23, 1 week after yours!! hehe

as for the projector.. michelle say she can only provide free if i get more than 35 tables.. how abt your? how many tables are you getting and wat other perks did you ask for?
For the projector, do you know if there are 2 projectors, where are the location? beside the stage? I'm actually quite worried as to where they will put the screen and whether they will be visible to all..

mik

hi purple jess,

ooohhh!
doing a all-in-1 day?

oh!! i didn't know that! michelle quoted us $280+++ per projector rental.

we booked 27 tables for the dinner.
so you booked 35 tables with amara?

i got an extra nite's stay -- the nite before my wedding dinner because that's my actual wedding day.

feedback from jas, one projector will be at the front of the ballroom whereas another one will be at the back of the ballroom so the guests sitting there will also be able to view.

purple_jess

hi mik mik,

yes.. mine is a all-in-1 day... maybe more tiring but think its easier..
so your AD is on 17 Sep and dinner on 18 Sep? 18 sep is a very hot date.. most of the hotels are taken up.. when did you book? you booked 27 tables only? I thought the minimum is 30? I only confirm 30 tables with michelle.. still not yet finalise on the number of tables I need..
so when are you going for yr food tasting? how u find the food there? heard some comments that the food are not served hot but also heard comments that the food is nice..
do you mind sharing what else is in your package? you can email me @ [email protected]

mik

hi purple jess,

yep, definitely easier.

nope, my AD is 18 Sept and my dinner is 19 Sept.
i booked in dec last year. yep, min for wkdays is 25 tables, we booked 27 tables.
min 30 is for weekends.
no worries, you can finalise nearer to your wedding date.
michelle said about 3mths before wedding, i'm thinking of 2mths before.
i havent attended weddings at amara before but my mum did. she commented the food is OK.
sure! welcome.

chatterbox

Hi purple_jess,

wow that's too many questions for me to digest :p
so sorry cant help on some questions as my AD is not over yet.

gals,
mine is the wkday package.
I tot there's only 1 menu for the $629 package which is nine-course.
I'm planning to take away the yam basket (hence only 8 course) and use that $$ to upgrade the fish. But I still need to top up $5nett for each tbl for the upgrade.
The food r ok, but the seabass really cannot make it.

mikmik,
yes only for 6 dishes.

mik

hi chatterbox,

the sea bass really cannot make it?
gotta consider upgrading the fish..........

thanks, chatterbox.

tunapuff77

Hi mikmik & chatterbox,
Oh no, my dad is very particular abt t freshness of t fish. Some gals here say that Amara'a Cod Fish is veri nice.... But according 2 Michelle, I'll need $60/tbl to upgrade my Red Garoupa to the Cod Fish...
$60! No way man..... Hmm... Now thinking back, did Michelle quoted me wrongly?

chatterbox

Hi lilian,

how much is your package? wkend?
hmm how come the fish for yr package is red garoupa?
should be arnd that price. coz it costs abt $30++ to upgrade from sea bass to garoupa. and cod fish is def more ex.
yup the cod fish is very nice. I tasted it during the wedding fair.

mik,
the meat quite tough n got a smell. The fish was quite big.
big fish = tough meat

mik

hi chatterbox,

that's terrible.
sea bass itself already has some kind of taste.
wonder how's the red garoupa?
i think the older folks unable to accept the cod fish -- it being just pieces of fish according to michelle and not one whole fish.

tunapuff77

hi chatterbox,
Mine is a wkend $739 package, includes steam red garoupa.

Yup, older folks might not like cod fish as much as whole fish.

purple_jess

Hi mikmik,

thanks for your email..

gals,

anyone tasted the steam red garoupa during their food tasting? is it nice?
guess the rest of the food should be ok right?

ashwen

HI chatterbox,
Have michelle contact u after food tasting for discussion of details of the wedding?
the theme, flowers, wine and other arrangements?

My wedding's less than 2 mths away. but she hasnt contact me...

ashwen

Hmm what happened to u gals? I jus noticed the last post before me was one week ago...

I had my food tasting.
Overall the food are nice. prawns very fresh. lotus rice very fragrant. plenty of shark's fin.
though the sea bass was so-so but to top up $60 to upgrade to cod fish / $50 to red groupa was too ex.
my mum didnt like the yam basket. the basket is formed by thin strips of yam and deep fried.
very crispy but a bit burnt so got bitter taste.
cant really taste the yam. but presentation of the dish was good.

mik

hi purple_jess,

you're welcome.

hi ashleigh,
which prawns dish is in your menu?
did you change any dishes in your menu after the food tasting?

ashwen

Hi mik,
it is stir fried prawn w celery.
i change dessert to yam paste from red bean paste. add $10
think to change celery to asparagus, but add $15 quite expensive leh...

Jas
can you send me the contacts for wine?

ash

mik

hi ashleigh,
oh! was the celery taste strong?
is it $10+++? michelle ever told me that alot of the yam paste get wasted -- not very welcomed dish which is why we dropped the idea of changing to yam paste.
celery not nice? yah, just to change the veggie for $15 is rather expensive...

forestfen

im considering amara for WD n hope to join u gals in info sharing..

hi cocoberry
yup went for d weddin fair las sat.. offers r so so.. d weddin consultants seemed to be veri busy.. din really get much help fm them n when they promised to get back to me rdgg my queries.. still hvnt heard fm them..

*sigh* if this is d kinda service im gonna get if sign up wif them.. then i better reconsider liao!

chatterbox

Hi Ashleige,

No she hasn't contact me after the tasting. My AD is a few days before yrs

I tot the flower is tied to the theme we select? Can we can to choose the flowers?

jaspeng

hi chatterbox,

Your wedding coming soon, you must be very excited now. How preparation?

I rememeber that Michelle called me 1 month plus in advance before my AD to choose the flowers.

Yes, still can choose the colour of the flowers, even the colour of the candles can choose also.

mik

hi jas,
just to check: did you inform michelle then when choosing flowers for the rose petals? or did you make the request earlier?

hi chatterbox,
just to check: did you collect your invites during food tasting?

jaspeng

hi mikmik,

I don't really get what you mean.

I requested for the rose petals during choosing flowers session and cannot choose rose petals one, only red and white petals. I hope this is what you mean.

mik

hi jas,

thanks! your answer is just what i was looking for. i wanted to know whether you made the request earlier (prior to the choosing flowers session) or at the flowers choosing session.
now i have a better feel of the whole process.

chatterbox

Hi jaspeng,

Oh that's great!!! I didn't noe that we can choose the flowers. Can we choose the type of flowers, or juz the colour?
Yup getting excited but like not much time left. I have yet to print the insert.

BTW, can I have the contact of the guy whom u got the projector from? Thanks!!!

Hi mik,
I got my invites during the food tasting.

ching2627

Will Amara provide any march in songs list plus 1st dish songs to choose?

Will Amara provide Emcee services too? I am still unable to find a emcee for my wedding.

mik

hi jas,

hi chatterbox,
thanks for the info!

think my food tasting might be next mth cos i remembered michelle telling me food tasting will be 3mths from AD.

hi lilian,

my table is $629 so for any vegetarian and muslim course, it will be at $629 nett. so if you have 9 chinese & 1 muslim, it will be $629 (table course) + $62.90 (muslim).

if you have full muslim table, it will be at $629.

chatterbox

Hi Lilian,

Michelle quoted me the folowing (per pax):-
$65 - 6 course
$75 - 8 course
$80 - 9 course
U can email her to ask for the menu.

Minssy,
Michelle quoted u $62.90? How many course?

can.. how can they mind? their food will be served seperately one mah
anyway, suckling pig is only for the first dish so its ok lah... its not the whole pig mah.

chatterbox

Hi minssy,

Mine is the same package as u.
Did michelle quoted u that???
I dun thk it got to do with the package that we have signed up, since Amara is charging separately for each pax.

chatterbox

Hi minssy,

Hmm funny, y is there a diff.

Lilian,
Let me noe the charges Michelle quoted u ok.
If there's a diff, I would wan to reason with her.

jaspeng

hi minssy,

This is what the ex co-ordinator told me too. At the end of my dinner, my vegetarian and muslims table is only $500 plus only. Don't know why also. Anyway cheaper, so my hubby and I don't bother to ask.