Aimin Acupuncture & Weight Loss Centre

Whoa, so many questions to answer! *lol*

Northgal: I did my Bachelor in Education (Health & Physical Education) in Australia, where I also got my trainer cert. Am now trying to complete my MSc in Exercise & Sports Studies. Frankly, it's opening up a can of worms with regards to criteria for picking a PT. Okay, qualifications wise, on one end of the spectrum, you'll have people like myself and my chaps at the consultancy with all the academic background and also experience. And on the other end, you'll have the chaps who did their 17-40 hours of lectures with the SSC (who form the majority). And in the middle, you'll have the trainers with qualifications from various sources, some good, some not so good. Some require you to sit for a whole week of full day lectures before sitting a supervised exam, while others you simply just download the syllabus off the Net and so an online exam. Of cos, the people along this spectrum will charge different amount, and understandlebly so, issue of value for money.

Then there's experience, which is really a dodgey matter. What makes a good instructor? Someone with a lot of experience but no qualifications? Or someone with little experience but with the qualifications? The instructor with all the papers will base his programmes on scientific research, but will he know how to adapt the programme to suit different clients? The instructor with the wealth of experience might have all the tricks to help the client, but are they scientifically sound so that it won't cause any long term harm to the client?

Lastly, the mannerism of the PT. Do you like the 'traditional' type of PT who'll tell you pain is good and has the belief that one style fits all, or do you prefer the sort who would listen to your feedback and adopt various strategies to encourage you?

Was talking to my golf pro last night, and he was telling me that the golf association here is also going through the doldrums, with a local club deciding to hire cheaper pros who got their licence after attending a weekend course. The existing pros who had to spend years doing apprenticeship (but they cost more too) naturally got cheesed off and quit enmasse.

Sorry I have to break my replies in two parts, cos Northgal's questions needed detailed explanation.

Yunn: Yeah, I mean, I'm in the same boat as you are. Can't be bothered to count calories, so I jus compare the stuff with the lowest fat count per 100g, and pick it. Even if it isn't the lowest in fat count, as long as I don't eat a lot of it, I'll be alrite. I'm not that strict.

Iggy: Aiya, help your trainer out lah, he/she is doing his/her best to help you in the gym oredi, you must help yourself outside!
I also had clients like that. Ok, let's put it this way: think of yourself in the perfect you want, and how you wanna look in it. Then look at your snacks. Which would you prefer? Looking good on your day, or short term pleasure through your snacks? It's about action and consequences.
Help yourself by keeping the temptatons away from you by NOT buying any snacks. As long as it's within easy access, you'd wanna snack. And don't shop when you're hungry, cos you'll tend to make the wrong choices of food. BUT there's no harm in giving yourself small treats now and then. Everything in moderation, so just pick the smallest pack of snack (even if they don't have, pack them in smaller packs like in zip-loc bags) so you won't lose control and wolf the whole pack of snacks down. Speaking of wolf, eat SLOWLY. Haven't you found that if you just gulp the snacks down in record time, you won't feel satisfied, and think "You mean that's it??". Hope this helps!

Hi iggy,
i understand that u r using hula hoop right? i got hula hoop that got sliming,acu and massage effects on our waist, stomach which have balls arounds it, If u r interested for more, can ask from me

Hi Iggy,
Actually i'm not a soon-to-be-a-bride status. I came in here just to get more advice and know more about the weight loss thingy. I said that i wanted to get to 53kg by end of Oct cos i'm going to be the bridesmaid for my 2nd elder sis on 30th Oct... i mean you know la... even though me not the bride but still wanna look pretty mah... heee.... welll... ;P

so how much do you wanna lose? by your AD time? (dun reply this if you dun feel comfortable about it... cos i kapo kapo ask only)

Hi Alan

GOOD! s long s not > 400 kcal per big meal it's k. if not, oni get myself in2 trouble, bcome obsessive minded.

Hi Alice
can leave ur e-mail add so tt i can ask u some info? thxxx!

hey people... tell you another good news... i just measured my weight again... it dropped another 0.5kg... which means in total i have already dropped 2.4kg!!!

Anywae i was thinking that i do not wanna lose weight but in the end i still have very flabby arms and thighs and you know... instead of the toned up kind... is there any kind of exercises that can help tone it up at home or while doing something else and not the kind where i have to purposely take time to go gym to workout?

wat is low glycemic food? maybe wats glycemic? why you need low glycemic food? wat does it helps? (sorry... pls enlighten me)

dreamzz,
U may join us in the thread 'how to slim down properly' where our 'fatherly' Alan lead us toward an active lifestyle.

northgal,
u sound like a coach teaching dreamz 2 cum in2 dat thread....

dreamz,
low glycemic food r those food dat will let u feel fuller 4 a longer time& hence the blood sugar wont increase dat much. Theref gd 4 health. (eg. brown rice vs white rice) (eg. wholemeal bread vs white bread).

Hi dreamzz,

I'm very interested in the acupuncture, just need to check some details with you. =]

When you lose weight with acupuncture and a strict diet plan, do you actually burn fats or lose water weight only? And, is it recommended to continue with cardio and/or resistance training during the treatment?

Oh another thing, does it make your silhouette smaller overall?

Thanks for your help =]

Hi morning
Just want to share my experience with accupunture and massage. When I first started with MA GUANG for their accupuncture and massage, I have the intention to lose weight. However after going thru 6 sessions, I only lost about 0.5kg on my weight, but however i lost a fair bit of inches on my waist, thigh, bum, arm.

hi alan,
Thanks!Advice noted. really!it'a matter of will-power.Eversince I started on the training last Dec,my eating habits changed tremendously.Lesser snacking,more high fibre food eg.wholemeal instead of white bread, oatmeal for breakfast, porridge for lunch and min portion of rice for dinner.However, there are still dinners, functions to attend from time-to-time, whereby i wld take more veg to fill myself up before taking the meats...ya, ever experienced wolfing up before,it is easy to lose control when we eat fast and in front of TV haha!.Another way which i controlled was to take a small plate to force myself to fill up to this size only. Since it's small, i wont be able to take large portion and of cos' no second helpings lah.

hi alice,
i am currently using the super thick ratten type abt 1.5inch in diameter,damn heavy(pardon me), got some bruises on my arms and legs intially cos' din noe how to control :P I already have some info on the slimming hula with balls called "Magic Hoop". But haven't really got down to consider it yet cos' wanna to get used to the idea of hula-ing daily before investing $. heehee. What's your product like? You can email me at [email protected]

hey dreamzz, I am currently 54kg at 1.61m, hope to trim some inches off my waist lah.Me basically the apple shaped type, so whenever i gained weight, its always the waist that ballooned first
actually i din start my exercise entirely becos' of my wedding, just wanna get back the former figure, am tired of being fat and not able to wear nice clothes and bikini. Which is why I started abt 1.5year before my actual day.

Hi Geri,i believe that the 2.5kg that i lost is fats cos i have always been drinking alot of water. Even when now i', having this strict diet, i have been drinking alot of water, so i dun think is possible that the weight i have lost is water weight.

The recommended kinda exercise is just brisk-walking, jogging, stairs-climbing,swimming and low impact aerobics. There should not be any weight training nor any vigorous exercise as it might make you feel hungry very easily since one is not taking very much food thru the diet already. well... actually i think is mostly up to individual. If you feel that you can cope with the "later-on-hunger-pangs" after the vigorous exercise , you can go ahead with it.

i have only lose 2.5kg, so maybe i still cant really see any reduction in the silhouette. But i do notice that my thighs are slightly smaller compared to when i was at the previous weight.

Iggy: Great to hear all the progress you've made!!
You gotta accept that the change will not happen overnight, and rather than looking at how many hurdles you'd need to clear, motivate yourself by looking back at how hurdles you've cleared, and then tell youself "See! I know I could do it!", then press ahead with more positive changes. You can do it, just believe in yourself. Persevere, and your waist would start getting smaller. Try on your old clothes which used to be barely fitting. Do it once a month so that you can track your progress. Good luck!

hi jamie,
Can check with you, how effective do u find Ma Guang's treatment? You mentioned acupuncture and massage,I presume that they will also control yr diet right? If u dun mind, can let me know what's yr target and so far how's the result? inches lost, i mean...me looking at inches instead of weight cos' am also doing weight(resistance) training which wld increase the muscle mass and muscles is heavier than fats!

alan: u r rite, just the bulge in the middle bothers me. so trying to ger rid of it by exercising, at the same time, to have a better physique and more importantly,feel more energetic.With all the stress & demands from work, family and committments, it is essential to maintain a healthy lifestyle & stay fit...

iggy: Ah, I do hope you can maintain that positive mentality and steer clear of shortcuts!
Since you paid so much for a trainer oredi, why waste money on other 'promises'? Save the money for yourself, so that when you finally hit your target, you can go buy yourself lots of lovely clothes that you'd never dare wear in the past!
Keep us posted on your progress, k?

hi iggy
For me, i am a very satisfied customer of Ma Guang. No special control on my diet, I just eat normal, regular meal time (breakfast, lunch and dinner), no makan after 8pm, no snacking, other than that, I just eat wat I like. I am 1.6m at 52kg. My weight range is about 45kg to 60kg. I look horrible with 45kg (that's when i was sick for a period), and of course piggy look with 60kg.

For me my fat are actually around my waist, thigh, bum and tummy (I think is normal for most people, especially those working in the office). I sign up 6 session of accupunture and massage (1/2 hour for accupunture, 1/2 hour for massage. After the 3rd session, I have improvement on my bowel and digestive system. And most important is i lost about 2 inches on my waist first, then result seem on my thigh, even my mother was saying now can see "shape of my bum", of course look nice with jean. Before that I can only fit into a size M skirt, now size S. It has been about 4 months since I finished with my last session, I have been able to maintain my weight and inches.

However this may not suit everybody, it depends on the "nature" of "fats"!

The benefit I am getting from the accupunture and massage is that I achieve what I want (ie to shed inches), and at the same time, I solve my constipation problems, because of this, I look more radiant (less toxin in the body)

Afterall eat smart and exercise is still the best.

Hi dreamzz! Thanks for the info! Do you always feel lethargic or lack of energy in the middle of the day because the diet seems really really strict and insufficient...

hi Geri,
I'm pleased to answer you that question with a "NO"!... hee... i dun feel abit lethargic or lack of energy at all... i think it wun be insufficient if you eat enough vege and fruits...

That's great dreamzz! I'll reconsider again..most probably will go for it =] Keep us updated about your results!

hi dreamzzz,
wow! u reli lost yr wt fast! dat's v great le....jiayou O!Pretti envious of those who can slim down dat fast wiz healthy eating& exercises!
hw did u feel now after yr wt loss at aimin? Do u feel dat u eat healthy & feeling more refreshed? So u eat raw veggies or cooked veggies? cd share wiz me abt yr diet plan frm morning-evening?

btw 2 all, do u feel some of the topics's died down?

btw,i find dat outside food dun reli provide brown rice...dat's bad...coz i 1 2 eat brown rice rather than white rice...ani place which provide healthy food rather than aiwo? i tried my best nt to take white bread...i'll replace it wholemeal bread instd...better choice.

Hi Cheryl,
Although i did say that i lost 2.4kg of weight... but still my lost weight is still wavering around 2-2.4kg... think maybe that 0.4kg is the water weight. Think i'll jus take it as 2kg lost.

i feel great after losing this 2kg.. i mean i definitely look more forward to each treatment and hopinf that the scales go down everytime i put myself on it! i dun eat raw veggies. i prefer the cooked ones.. i dun really like to cook myself. So i usually go the the hawker to pack the food. i usually buy 2 veg and 1 meat for afternoon lunch and 2 veg for dinner all from the "chap chai" stall. Sometimes afternoon lunch will go with a cup of florida's natural ruby red (grapefruit) or unsweetened/reduced sugar soybean milk. Night time i usually dun eat anything more than the veggies. Not even fruits... Think once i start working full time on monday, my food range will be more.

Later i'll be going over for 4th treatment. update you all the results later in the day.

hi people... just to update you... went to the 4th treatment... dropped another 0.7kg... means total 2.6kg lost... hope things goes well...

hey dreamzzz!
U counted wrongly. shd b 2.7kg instd rite? Btw,wad will u have brkfast? u dint mention. Btw, 4 meat during lunch,wad kind of meat did u refer 2? U mean pork/chicken/fish? Those dat r deeep-fried one/stir-fried one? Coz i usali cant find those which r nt deep-fried. So all along,u dint touch ani carbo at all?

U even mentioned u dint take fruits. U mean during evening time or for d whole day all along?

to all,
today,dun knw y i becum so hungry.today sun, i woke up at 6.30am, completed drinking 2 big glasses of water& 1 kiwi at 7pm. 1 HR later,i took 2 slices of breads& 1 bowl of beancurd mixed wiz soya bean drink...still hungry...den took 1/2 cup of soya bean milk....lunch,i took quite a few tbsp of rice wiz 3types of veggies...aft a while,i m still hungry...ate 1 pc of red bean pancake....still hungry...ate 1 waffle wiz blueberry sauce(i onli knw they actually add coconut milk inside to enhance the flavor)....still hungry...but muz tolerate....1hr later,ate 1 kiwi....still abit hungry....drank 1 small bowl of jollibean soya drink....

wad u all think? I find dat i m like bingeing...gtg 2 grw fat le....haiz...juz dun knw y i m so hungry today...thks god! my frenz told me it's nt i take dis amt of food everyday so it's k...wad u think den? I feel so marvellous when i can give in 2 d food i like 2 eat...N yet...nd 2 watch my waistline as well! Haiz...btw,yest,i took 1 cone of ice-cream which is double chocolate chip for my lunch...dinner,i took 1/2 bowl of dat beancurd wiz soyabean milk....N 1 popiah wiz onli veggies&no sauce,no garlic at all...btw,i dint eat d popiah skin....

i lost 1.1kg for the 1st treatment, 0.8 for the second and 0.7 for the third... so that will be 2.6kg... doesnt matter la... only a 0.1 kg dif. I seldom take breakfast.. cos i wake up late... but think i'll hav eto start taking it cos from tml onwards i'll have to start working already... so need to wake up early and have breakfast... breakfast suppose to take 2 egg white or 1 whole egg with 1 cuppa unsweetened /reduced sugar soybean milk...

not really strictly didnt have any carbos la... till now i have took 1 sliced of bread ... kinda sinful but i guess doesnt really matter if it once in a while.. to curb that craving...

i do take fruits... only in the lunch...

dreamzzz,
thks alot 4 yr prompt reply! I m sure u'll like yr wt loss progress! B careful to take into consideration d food dat u r gonna put in2 yr mouth...think b4 u eat...occasionally treat 2 yrslf is somehow k.....dun feel guility....so u intend to buy those fresh soyamilk or those in supermarket? hw much do u nd 2 drink?

i m sure if i gonna eat yr plan of diet....i'll oso slim down....so yr brkfast/lunch/dinner onli limited to d kind of food drawn out by yr nutritionist? Did u ask them when u've reached yr target wt,wad shd u eat den?

I wonder hw yr maintenance phase of slimming gonna b like....hey! suddly tot of sth....mayb u can take a pix of yrslf abt b4&aft slimming(aft u complete yr slimming course)personally 2 our email a/c.den pple can c a great change in u....plus u can c wonders how u've slimmed down.N wont anihw eat le nw&in future....

btw,did u exercise nw? So wad did u usually eat in d past 4 brkfast,lunch&dinner? btw,u dint tell me if those meat r pork,chicken or fish? r there deep-fried or?

btw,i find dat u r so willing 2 spend yr money on slimming....v rich....:-P

btw,could u ans d msg dat i posted abt my food bineging on sat& sun? thks.

hi cheryl
i buy the soybean drink from the supermarket... usually buy the unsweetened kind. taste knda horrbile though that's y sometimes i buy those reduced sugar kind. i usually drink only 1 cup in the morning.

by the end of the 20 treatments... i should able to reach 53-56kg.

i seldom exercise.. but i do walk alot... i tend to walk around one mrt station's distance... although not alot but i tot everyday walking helps. and sometimes also take the stairs more than taking lift.. and since i live on the 12th floor... its kinda good fer me too... a good exercise too. The meat can be either fish, chicken, duck, any kinda meat.... try not to take any deep fried kind. i usually take those stew or stir fried kind.

Not really la... this is the only thing that i spend so much money on... didnt try any other slimming program before.

well.. as for your bingeing case... i think it shouldnt be a problem... cos usually if i binge alot in the afternoon... i'll try not to eat during the dinner except drink more plain water to fill myself up. i'm not sure wat you have to do with this problem. but i guess maybe its your body trying to tell you something about your diet... maybe trying to tell you that you need certain vitamins or certain kinda food... but because you dunno what you are lacking of... you keep thinking that you are hungry but actually you are not .. maybe you can drink more water to fill yourself up when you feel like bingeing.. cos sometimes when body are short of water, they make your body feel as though you are hungry.

Hi Cherly, got tis small tips fm e website, hope that it can help.

It is not uncommon for thirst to masquerade as hunger. When the body is dehydrated, it often sends hunger signals. Therefore, it is crucial to stay well hydrated throughout the day. As a rule, drink at least eight glasses of water a day. When you plan to attend a big dinner engagement, drink a few extra glasses to keep your appetite under control. If you think you are hungry, drink a glass or two of water first; then decide if you really are hungry and not just thirsty.

If you wait to drink water until you are thirsty, you are already partially dehydrated. Try to drink water throughout the day to maintain a steady state of hydration. If your body isn't getting enough fluids, it may send signals to you to eat more to obtain these fluids. However, filling up on juice, ice cream, soda pop, popsicles, Gatorade® or other sports drinks to cool off and replace fluids does not address the real problem. Most of these foods do not effectively replenish the fluids in your body because of their high sugar content; you will most likely still be thirsty and feel unsatisfied.

dreamz&northgal,
thks for yr advice. Regarding my bineging on sun, i can say i m reli reli v hungry...juz dun knw y...in my mind,tot of stuffs dat r desirable 2 me...like jollibean red bean pancake& my fav blueberry waffle frm prima deli....actuali 2 say,i dun like 2 eat red bean paste...dun knw y d tot of dat red bean pancake make me wanna eat...dun knw if it's bcoz of its sweetness....

dreamz,
i agree dat those pkt form of unsweetened soyabean drink sold in supermkt tastes awful but yet i find it creamy. I prefer those dat r sold fresh. I mean those with no added sugar,it tastes rite 4 me compared to supermkt one...coz i prefer those dat r more 2 natural form. That means i like those with no perservatives. Which brand did u buy?

hi Cheryl..
i suddenly tot of a possible reason to your bingeing. Is it that your "aunt" visit you , or is it visiting soon? cos i have a friend that always has this cravings for sweet stuffs when her period is near or when its there. If your bingeing of sweet stuff is becos of that reason... think its should be alright cos its just that your body needs that amount of sugar for just that period of time.

As for the brand of the soybean drink, its Nutrisoy... got that one cos its the cheapest among all the brands... i tried the unsweetened one.. taste really horrible until to the extend that i bought it once and never buy it again anymore ever since.

hey Cheryl... think i'll take your suggestion to buy the soybean drink form the market fresh kind... like to try those...

Hi dreamzz n Cheryl,
What I understand is that those brand in e supermrt has been specifically processed to add in additional nutritional value n eliminating excess fats in order be awarded 'healthier choic' label from the Health Promotion Board. Not sure abt those in e mkt, though unsweetned.

Dreamzz,
my 'aunt' has not cum for 1 mth le. Think it's due to my changes in diet....so dun knw wad 2 do lor...think i nd 2 do some changes for my diet...yet afraid of putting more wt....last time,in poly,yr 1,oso met such happenings....lost my 'aunt'....aft resuming my normal diet,i did grw more on wt& my 'aunt' came back again...

Northgal,
ani idea if those sold at jollibean or mr bean, r there processed or unprocessed one? Coz 1 2 find those dat r unprocessed....knw where 2 find? Btw,my sister told me if i saw anithingz wiz the word UHL means it's alreali diluted& it's in powder form....eg UHL milk/soyabean milk the content's been diluted compared to those regular milk& soyabean milk. Rite now,i find dat i m counting calories. As i knw soyabean milk's higher calories than skim milk, but it's lower saturated fats than skim milk.Btw,soyabean milk's a better choice than milk.

hi all of u,
wanna hear yr view abt my size now& aft slimming,pls give comments as to if i m still fat or too thin or still nd 2 slim down....thks alot 4 comments!

b4 slimming(the one wiz d strapped shirt one)

158399.jpg

hi Cheryl!

u looks not fat even before slimming!
you leg is looks "nice and balance" also :D
maybe is your tummy only.. :P

you should enjoy your youth life, should not too concern about slimming..

nikki,
but b4 slimming,i still find dat i m fat...my sister oso mentions it....den she said i m thin nw...my mum oso said dat...she even asks me 2 eat more...

u would never knw...i hope my figure can b like celebrity...so slender& so nice...can pop in beautiful clothes as well!

2 all of u,
recently, i find dat i've 2 bruises over my body...dun knw where i got dis frm....mayb knock over sth ba....i find my plevis bone's quite protruding....even when i sit on floor,i can find d distance btw my bones& floor is quite near to each other....so sit down,can feel v bony....

hi Cheryl,

is baby fat ba?! During my secondary and college, i am tat kind of fat fat plump plump one, how i eat less also the same size. But when get older and older, i think like people always said: woman when turn to 25, everything will change, your skin, you homo. What i trying to say is, dun get yourself so fast turn to this stage,should enjoy watever you should enjoy now, especially school time. Btw, from the photo you attached, really looks not fat!

not only you, almost all of us also wan to have the figure like celebrity. Then you should more focus on your execise to tone up your body shape instead of keep thinking about slimming pil, slimming way. Try to imagine, when you really slim down but the muscle especially arm and back there "drop drop" like tat, even you can wear beautiful clothes at that time also feel no nice!