Advice needed on F&E trip to Italy !!!

teinne

My hubby and i are planning for our honeymoon to Italy in late Mar to early Apr, for 2 weeks.

Anybody like to share their experience in planning for a F&E trip? Which cities/towns to visit? What are the "most dos" in Italy?

I thought of going for the "tried-and-tested" route of Rome-Florence-Milan-Venice, but it seems like there are so many other nice places i am going to miss out ...!!! HELP!

I like Florence better than Milan.

Don't buy Eurail pass, its cheaper to just buy the tickets at the Train stations.

Bologna is nice too, so is Siena, and you can go to this medieval town called San Gimigano from Siena, small but quaint castle like town.

Thanks for your replies!
I'm gonna take train throughout, think it's the most convenient way to travel around?

Suzu, is it difficult to buy tickets at the train station? I'm worried i can't find tics there so am thinking of getting the eurail pass thru the travel agency ...

Any good travel agency to recommend?

Not difficult to get tickets at the train station. You can either go to the manned counter or use the many self-service machines which have English instructions (you just need a Credit Card).

Eurail is only worth it if you are going to the various countries in Europe. Think I bought from Diner's before, you can also buy online at the Eurail website. but seriously its cheaper if you just get tickets at the train station. You can book in advance for your various trips at the stations themselves.

tein,
its very easy to travel by train in italy...the pple at ticket booths can speak english..or u can also buy online at their official website..

http://www.trenitaliaplus.com/trenitalia.html

i haven't tried b4 but shld be easy bah...u can check it out first..

oh ya...remember to validate ur tix at the validator machines..otherwise considered non valid tix

Has anyone been to San Remo before?

Will be in Nice so wondering if it is worth dropping by...

You are welcome

Remember to book in advance if you want to see the Last Supper painting in Milan.

Have fun in Italy!

Sorry to ask a question of my own, but can someone give me an expectation of how to best plan a F&E tour in Europe? cost expected for many 3-4 countries?

I've been to france and germany, but never been on F&E. thinking of doing it for honeymoon in Dec08/ Jan 09. please advice!

Hi Gabrielle,

U must first decide which country you want to go, followed by cities or town of that country.
Decide on transportation, trains or domestic flight. Draft out the days and Itinenary. choose hotels to stay in. budget for 14 days Europe trip is around 6 to 7k for two pax.

Gabrielle, I'm agreeing with Peng. Though my version will be depended on the city I want to visit rather than the country, and if more than 1 country, I try to go to one(s) that's geographically near (across the border or something like that). Having said that, I don't recommend going to more than 3 major cities/countries in a 14 day trip cos' it'll be too siong.

If you plan well and google to find the best deal, you can get away with $6 to $7 K for two for the entire trip.

$6K to $7K for two persons for 14 days seems pretty cheap, does it include the expenses? I just went to Prague & Salzburg last year for 7 days (excluding to & fro flying time), spending 3 nights at each city (personally don't like to rush from one place to another), 2 persons with expenses is around $6K.

For Italy, Venice & Rome is a must-go, Milan is not as interesting, not sure about Florence though.

Sunqian, I spent about $7K for Rome/Florence for 2. This includes, hotels, airfares, train between Rome and Florence, meals and day trips out to Naples and Pompeii. Souveniers and own shopping is not included of course.

BTW, Venice is boring. Seen all and done all in 2 days unless you wanna go to the outlying islands. Rome is nice. Very nice. Very old feel but beware of kids knocking into you.

Barcelona is great for shopping. Geneva is beautiful. London is exciting, Manchester is boring. La Rochelle is gastronomic and Paris is oh well, Paris.

Here is an article from Today that would whet your appetite. No one has ever written a (worthy) travel journal while on a tour package.

This story was printed from TODAYonline

Roads from Rome

Tired of jostling with fellow tourists, Simon Tan finds his own wheels to explore the Italian countryside

Thursday • February 28, 2008

Italy is evocative of romance. But nothing is more unromantic than going on a packaged tour with two dozen other people. Fellow tourists jostling for the choice position in front of the Tower of Pisa or the Swiss Guard can certainly extinguish any feeling of romance.

Instead of head banging, I decided I would travel on my own. I would fly to Rome, rent a car (Hertz, Budget, Avis, you name it) and armed with a map harnessed to the dashboard, make my way out of the city through the narrow, serpentine streets. This is definitely not for the faint hearted.

As if driving a manual car with a left hand drive is not enough, one has to put up with the incessant horns and vitriol spewed by the locals.

But, as soon as you reach the outskirts of the city, the stress and tension evaporate and are replaced by a sense of calm and serenity when you finally enter the expressway.

Apart from having to get used to the road system and courtesies expected of a road user, you have to keep your eyes on the road rather than the endless picturesque scenery. Once on the highway, the road signs are easy to fathom.

From Rome, I choose a leisurely drive to the Maremma Coast where I can visit the towns of Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, San Gimignano, Siena, Florence, Pisa and Lucca. Most of these towns are well marked and accessible by car.

The beauty of these towns lies in their predictability. They have a piazza, a church, probably a castle or castles, towers and quaint cobbled streets. The charm is to be able to stop and gawk from afar before entering the town or city.

The smaller towns and churches dotting the countryside of Italy are enough incentive to drive. You can visit vineyards, climb the ramparts with a magnificent view of the countryside, play a round of golf or go truffle hunting.

If ever you have a chance to drive through Italy, I would recommend Montepulciano and Montalcino as two of the less visited but quintessentially Tuscan walled towns I have ever visited.

You can use these towns, which are known for their wines, as bases to travel to other smaller towns. These dot Tuscany, where lazy afternoons are punctuated by boisterous kids playing football while adults, oblivious to the din, loll under the sun enjoying a quiet tete-a-tete.

For those who love big cities, Florence and Siena offer diversity of experiences in that you can shop, visit the museums or art galleries or take a day trip out to the lovely wine region of Chianti.

You can visit the Duomos (town Cathedrals), eat pasta in the piazza (town square) or shop for the best Italian footware and leather goods money can buy.

The possibilities are infinite. Italy calls for exploration and discovery. Italy is romance personified.

Copyright MediaCorp Press Ltd. All rights reserved.

Another one on getting around...

This story was printed from TODAYonline

Which wheels?

Simon Tan rolls out the options for travellers

Thursday • February 28, 2008

I love getting somewhere, anywhere. The mode of transportation is irrelevant to many but not to me. Spontaneous travel requires some ingenuity, guts, forward planning and some willingness to take risks.

On my many trips throughout the world, I have traipsed around in all manner of transportation: Trains, planes and automobiles are some of the more common forms but whichever you choose, just remember that the journey is part of the travelling experience. Getting there is half the fun if you only know how.

Putting aside the inevitable flight to your destination, the more intrepid traveller would choose to find his way around the airport to check on connecting flights, car rentals or trains. The choice is based on the twin consideration of expediency and convenience. Then there's flexibility and cost to mull over.

Connecting flights are good if you are time strapped and have cash to spare. Trains are often chosen for their predictable schedules and low cost. Train rides offer you the opportunity to have serendipitous meetings with fellow travellers with the same agenda and interests. It also gives you a chance to rub shoulders with the locals and even make new friends.

However, the unfathomable time table and train schedules in a foreign land may make such an endeavour an intractable one. Asking around is half the fun but missing the next train out isn't.

Driving is a great option especially if you have a companion who is good at map reading. Be warned that maps provided by car rental companies could be found wanting. It makes sense to purchase a comprehensive one from AA before setting out on your journey.

While costs can be prohibitive, you can always defray them by sharing among your travel companions.

Apart from the car rental, you have to take into account the insurance for both the driver and the co-driver, extra premium for the excess, insurance for theft and third party claims. It is good to check these out before renting a car.

In general, be prepared to drive a stick shift on the left side and do prepare yourself by checking out the road signs and courtesies of that country's road system and culture in advance.

While train rides can be incredibly romantic when there's chemistry in the cabin and the pressures of the road are taken off your shoulders, driving can be a riveting experience as you journey to your destination on your own time, at your own leisure and choosing any route you want. The pleasure of being able to stop, smell the fresh air and capture some stunning, often unique photographs can be a compelling reason to drive.

Do both if you have time. Chance encounters plus the flexibility of determining your own itinerary will take you to unexpectedly new places, making for a unique travel experience.

Copyright MediaCorp Press Ltd. All rights reserved.

hi pple,

how do i travel from Rome to Florence via train?
I am abit confused with all the trains rides with some travelling across countries and some within italy.
Can advise which to take and how much it will cost?

T&P, you can go to the Trenitalia site and get the tickets online. Um, please be careful when you purchase them cos' there are a few trains (one with lots of stops or if you want the express, you should get the Eurostar Italia with no stops and under 2 hours (from Roma Termini to Firenze Santa Maria Novella). I can't recall how much I paid for them though. I reckon under EUR50 for one person (I think).

hi idyll,

shld i purchase in advance or it's ok to do it when i m there?
there r so many trains, so blurz...some guide books say buy in advance some say dun.
so eurostar's the best option ya.
did u take 1st or 2nd class? 2nd class is w/o seat allocation?

hi T&P,

Rome-florence trains 1st and 2nd class comes with seat allocations cos the train ride abt 3hrs plus. I bought my ticket there, cos the website not very user-friendly. If u can, buy once u reach there for next day trips. If u buy like 30min-1hr before the train start, either u cannot get seats anymore or u get STANDING tickets which is also same price as 2nd class seating. Stand for 3hrs not fun!

See this english version, easier for you to see the timetable to see what time u wanna take the train, and they leave on time:

http://www.trenitalia.it/en/index.html

Cost will pop up in the timetable, once u click buy ticket.

Beware of train strike, it happens to me in 2004 rome-florence. Freaking sianz since we never had strike in SG.

Have fun!

Hi Praisey,

I tried checking the timetable, via Eurostar, it's abt 2hrs trip. How come u took 3hrs? Does it mean different train. co. different travelling hrs. Darn blur man..the website not very userfriendly to me. How many days in advance can i buy the train tic if i buy over the counter?
Once u reach Florence, is it easy to lug the barang barang all over to reach the hotel? Cos I read cabs are very ex and need to call for one. btw, where did u stay while in Florence?

Tell me abt strikes, i had one Paris-Sg via AirFrance. There was no food for the long haul flight back to Sg!

hi T&P, i took the longer route, cheaper. Then, i stinge everything including transport. Eurostar is the faster, and most expensive. On the hindsight, since we are there, save time more important.

How many days in advance? at least few weeks, ok one. buy earlier than later. If u are flying into rome, once u drop off the train station from airport, u can buy already isn't it.

Florence, i didn't stay over night for twice! Neither hotel at rome or milan. Always day trips. Hotels are over the place, take backpack easier. Taxi is at least sgd 20, for a distance in sg5-8.

Good luck! when are you going?

Hi Praisey,

I'll b gg in June, and will be joining either Insight or trafalgar's land tour, after which I will extend my stay and travel to Florence for a 3 nites stay. Taking insight/trafalgar means if timing's rite, they will provide transfer from airport to hotel, thus may not reach Rome, city via train. I'm thinking to go to the train station after checking in (if taking insight transfer)and buy the tickets on day 1 before i start my land tour. Dunno easy or convenient to do so or not.

Saving time is impt, think I'll go for Eurostar.
Any more tips?

tks!

Dear T&P,

I'm not sure if you're already aware but beware the pickpockets and luggage grabbers in the large cities. They are very professional and you need to keep your important documents and cash in a neck pouch that you hang inside your jacket or sweater. Waist pouches and any form of pockets with buttons or zips are completely useless. Needless to say, any handphones or wallets in pants pockets (front or back) are just waiting to be stolen; even with a zip or a button, you will not feel a thing and before you know it, your handphone / wallet is gone. The professionals are sometimes very young kids pretending to be beggars.

You don't have to be paranoid (Italy is by far a safe country), but you do need to take the necessary streetwise precautions. The problem is, Singapore is too safe and many ignorant Singaporeans don't know what the necessary streetwise precautions are.

hi raymond,

yeah..heard lots abt these muggers. Esp Rome, where there'll be muggers working in groups where they swarm over and rob u blind. "Shudders!"

R u familiar with Florence? if yes, any hotel recommendation which is not too far from the train station, sights and Fortezza Da Basso?

Praisey,
too old lor..way over 26! ha..i'll b giving milan a miss this time, too many places to cover and so little time. I'll want to spend some time touring sorrento, capri island too.

Hi ppl, need advice. I'll be stopping at Paris first for 3/4 days before making my way to Italy. Will getting the eurail pass be cheaper since I'm intending to take a night train from Paris to Venice which is my first stop in Italy?

Hi pple,

Me & HTB are planning to have a F&E Europe Trip for 3 weeks for our honeymoon. We planned to go quite a few places like France, Rome, Venice, Switzerland, London and Paris but do not know how to travel from 1 place to another.

Can anyone advice what is the cheaper & faster way to travel from 1 place to another? Also, can advice of how much should we prepare?

Hi Judy,

Me and my hubby just back from Europe in May before our ROM. we spent 3weeks there cross 6 countries and 11 cities. Our route is :
Rome-florence-venice-vienna-prague-berlin-zurich-luzern-interlaken-bern-paris.
You can pm me if u wanna know more details. I can share with you on some travel experience.

can share hotel reccs and your itineary in the following cities:

-rome
-florence
-venice
-milan

rome i'm planning to spend 5 days: 2 days in rome (ancient rome, modern rome, vatican city), 1 day to pompeii. i still have about 2 days more in the city.

florence: planning to spend 4-5 days. 1 day for outlet shopping, 1 day to pisa, 1 day to siena. particularly, what is there to do in florence other than the duomo, uffizi, etc?

venice: planning 2-3 days. visiting the usual around st marks square. not too sure if we should island hop. should we stay nearer to the train station or to st marks square?

milan: we'll probably have 2-3 days here max with half a day gone coz we are flying out from here.

Hi girls! My absolute fav hotel to recommend in Florence is the Best Western Laurus Premier. It's right on the path to the Duomo; in fact just stick your head out of the front door and u can see the Duomo. Fantastic location!

im oso planning for my honeymoon, which is likely next feb.
thinking of going to rome-venice-milan-florence > paris. not sure if it's poss to do so. but i would love to cover as much places as i can. most likely will be going for 2 weeks max.

now the thing is we are not sure if we should F&E or go in tour such as contiki or travel agents such CTC etc. and how much we should allocate for expenses e.g. flight, hotel, transports (from 1 city to another) and food. oso not forgetting a little bit of shopping, haha!

would be gr8 if someone can share their itineraries here. =) big thanks.

Hey missybrooklynn,
I can share with you my itinerary.
I went there for hols in 08 starting frm paris,rome,florence,pisa,venice and milan.
In total we spend ard 3.5k per pax all inclusive.

Drop me a mail at [email protected]

Hi there peeps,
I am considering Contiki for my HM, have anyone used their service? any comments or experinces to share? thanks!

Need advise on Europe Trip. Tot of going to Rome, Florence, Milan n Paris. Which route do u suggest eg: Start from Rome-Paris or Paris-Rome. How do u travel between the states?

Hi Bikergal,

I am also planning a 3 week holiday to Italy. My draft itineary as below. Journey will be by train except for Tuscany we will self drive.

Milan
Varenna
Venice
Cinque Terre
Pienza Tuscany
Florence
Rome

SQ airticket to Rome is more expensive compared to Milan. You should check the airticket pricing as well as train ticket before deciding on your route. Is train ticket cheaper from Rome to Paris or Milan to Paris vice versa.

Enjoy planning.

Hi peng,
Thnka for ur reply yups i'v checked the flt tkt n schedules. For SQ there's n everydae flt to milan n only fri n sun to rome. If im nt wrong there's a promo for flt to milan. As for the train tkt, hhmmm milan to paris is actually cheaper as compared to rome-paris. Is it safe to drive? I tot of driving but donno if it wil b easy to drive there or nt. As for d train tkt, is it recommended to buy it online or when we reach d cty itself? Planning is quite a headache ya now i knoe y ppl recommend y we nd to plan way in advance..njoy ur trip î—

Hi, Driving outside the city should be fine. Parking can be a problem in the town and many areas have ZTL zone which is restricted area. This is why we only choose to drive in the countryside. Train is efficient and fast in Europe. I will buy train ticket with reservation online for longer distances. As for those short distance example Florence to Pisa, I will buy when I am there.
When are you going?

Oic wah for me really short of tym oredy i am gg either in mar or april...dats y i really nd to source evrythg like mad now..its a last minute decision actualli..how abt u?

I am also planning to go in April but have not apply leave yet. The Milan promo flight once booked cannot cancel but you can postpone the dates.

Did you find any good deals for Florence, Milan and Rome hotels? Tripadvisor website is a good source of information. I only booked Hotel Ai do Mori in Venice which I find is a good deal and they allow cancellation or change of date as long as you give 30 days notice.