A REAL WEDDING CAKE

sue75

wow Squeakers! you made a five tier cake? and on your first attempt? It looks great!

What flavour was it? Was it fondant? Were the flowers silk or sugar? (From the pic, they don't look like they could be real, from the colour....) Now why don't you want to do your own wedding cake??? Do you have any pics of the other projects you've done?

You know how much work goes into one cake, imagine them mini ones... phew...

(i'm a home baker myself.

squeaks

For the five tier, each tier was a different flavor
Tier 1: chocolate
Tier 2: white chocolate
Tier 3: almond
Tier 4: coconut
Tier 5: lemon
They were covered in Italian Meringue Buttercream and the flowers were made out of gum paste dusted with luster dust.

I won't make my wedding cake for my AD because its actually bad luck! But I'll be making the ocean themed one for my second reception.

I do have pics of other works that I have done.. I just don't want to upload them all here cuz I'll get banned for sure! lol. Its always good to keep an album so you can watch your own progress. I laugh at my beginning work now.

What types of things do you bake? Do you make cakes as well? Have you done a wedding cake yet? Its always fun to know someone with the same hobby. Can exchange tips!

Hi Squeakers, I love meringues *drools* hehe. Is italian meringue buttercream the same as the usual meringue? Would you be able to have more decoration with it like you would with fondant? I'm not too keen on the taste of fondant but they do make cakes looke good.

I haven't decide about the cake yet. I'm quite a fussy cake person so I'm worried that it'll not taste nice. Thinking of having cupcakes instead but I think it'll be more expensive than having a cake instead.

I'm a beginner in baking. Most of my cakes are a bit burnt on the top or look funny but at least the taste is good hehe

squeaks

Hi Freaky,

Glad you made it over to this thread!

Italian meringue buttercream is actually less sweet than regular buttercream which is why most people like it better. It 'crusts' (which means it provides a dry firm surface that can be decorated) but can melt in extreme heat. You can decorate with it quite nicely.

I agree, fondant is not so nice. I have my own personal recipe that I make from scratch that I don't mind so much but that's about it. You can always get the best of both worlds by having a small cake at the top (to cut for the ceremony)and the the layers below be cupcakes. The cupcakes can be quite simple.. to reduce costs. They can be a simple flower with your wedding colours or a monogram.

As for your cakes, you are probably filling the pans too full and baking at too high of a temperature. (Common mistakes)

fudgecake

Hi gals, I am interested in getting a real cake too for my AD. My AD is also my hubby's b-day. Therefore, the question is whether I should get a Wedding Cake or Birthday cake? The wedding cakes posted by you gals are so nice and dreamy. wonder izzit weird to get a real wedding cake and later use it as a birthday cake when we get the guest to join in the happy birthday.

squeaks

Hi fudgecake! (yummy nickname.. heehee)

Why don't you have a regular wedding cake and then they can take the top layer (normally saved for anniversary) and put some indoor sparklers on it?

They usually take the cake into the kitchen anyway for cutting so you can dim the lights and you all can sing Happy Birthday when they carry it out from the kitchen.

fudgecake

Hi Squeakers... as my nick suggests, I am a sucker for SWEETS !!

Hmm... I got four hundered guests to feed. thus thinking having a large flat b-day cake rather than a tiered wedding cake becos of the size and weight though. But like your idea as I can get the banquet to surprise my hubby!!! He does not know I am deviously planning to surprise him!!! haha

sue75

Hi Squeakers. Sorry I've been slow in responding. I have a passion for cake decorating! Like you, I've been improving with every project i do. (Yes, i'm doing wedding cakes too.) But i'd hate to hijack this page that's meant for the brides.. :p

freaky, another possibilty why your cake is burnt is the oven, is there a fan to circulate the heat? And perhaps the cake was not placed in the centre of the oven, but too close to the top?

fudgecake, weight are the same be it one large flat cake to feed 400 or a several cakes arrangement. Both can feed four hundred, see? (but hang on.. i can't imagine one big flat cake large enough to feed 400... 8O) )But imho, aesthetically speaking, the latter looks better.

squeaks

Fudgecake,

I agree with sue75. Either way you're gonna have to pay to feed 400 people and the weight will be the same. If you keep the cake design simple there shouldn't be much cost difference.

Sue75,

I agree... don't think we should launch into an entire cake discussion... though since I'm planning my wedding (and haven't actually moved to SG yet) which places do you recommend for wedding cake? I'm looking at cheryl shuen and the patisserie right now..

sue75

You're doing your wedding preparations "remote control" from the states?

I haven;t tasted either but i think you can read some feedback here. But from what i can see on the websites, the design styles of the cakes are very different. That one, you have to decide.

but what about that friend who was going to do it for you?

shorty_gal

Can someone reccomand a baker to make cupcakes as wedding cake? I went to cheryl and cake avenue but their pricing dun fit my budget! I really loved to have cupcakes as my wedding cake pls help!!!

squeaks

sue75

I was going to have her do it but after she discovered the type of cake I'm looking for, she decided to back down. I don't blame her! The piping skills must be very good since its very detailed.
So I'm actually leaning toward Patisserie only because I find Cheryl's designs very "cute" and I'm more into modern cakes with intricate designs. (Though I have to say I'm very curious about her lychee cake...??)

We're planning our wedding from overseas since FH and I both work in the States right now. Thankfully I've found loads of info on this site and have friends and (his) family to help. We also visited for CNY so was able to see things while we were there.

Jace

I think you'll find that cupcakes are a little $$$ only because they are time consuming for the baker to make/decorate and they take up loads of space. Maybe "Bride" can help you since she's also sourcing for cupcakes and minicakes. (She put a list of places that she approached)

~Cupcakes are getting to be so popular here!~

minnie_gal16

Hi Jace,

Perhaps you can try Pine Garden's Cake. They do cupcakes and taste wise, not too bad too. You can look for Li Keow at Tel: 64576159. My cousin will be using them for her wedding.

Am seriously thinking of getting a real wedding cake for my wedding. Do you think that a 3 tier cake is enough for 33 tables of guests ?

Will still be serving the desert for the dinner so actually though of serving the cake earlier so that those who will be leaving earlier from the dinner will not miss the cake (My AD is on a weekday). Do you think this is a good idea ?

sue75

Hi Shermaine,
Just imagine cutting three cakes into 33 pieces and then each piece, divide that 10 times more.
I'm thinking you'll need more cake... ;)

The cake will only be brought to the kitchen to be cut after you've done the ceremonial cake cutting. If you cut it at your very first entry, the cake would be ready for serving only a few dishes later...(if you have an efficient kitchen...) So you can work it out from there.

If you don't want people to miss the cake, perhaps you could prepare some boxed ones for guests to da bao? Just a thought...

Hi Sue,

Then how much cake will you think is enough ? I seriously think that most of the guest will be leaving by half time and it may be a waste to serve all when half of them are already gone !!

Ya, your idea of ta bao is good. But where can I find those little boxes ? If I were to packed it up for the guests, then probably a 3 tier is enough for me as maybe I can get the hotel to help giving out only to those who wants a pc ? Workable ? I certainly dont want to waste food and trying work within my budget.

Any comments ?

squeaks

Hi Shermaine24sg,

You can either do the take out boxes or you can have the cake served on a platter so only those who want cake can take some. (I'm choosing this option cuz not very many Aunties and Uncles want something so sweet.)The takeout boxes are a nice touch but they do add on costs.

I don't mean to contradict anyone but 3 tiers doesn't really mean much. You need to take into account the size of the tiers. (ie. if the bottom tier is 16 inches or 8 inches.. big difference!)

Here is a guideline as to how many slices you can get out of a tier depending on the size:

6" - 12 slices
8" - 24
10" - 38
12" - 56
14" - 78
16" - 100 slices

This is assuming a round shape cake. Square cakes can have more slices. Wedding cake slices are always smaller than the ones at birthdays etc.

Sue75 is right though if you want ALL of your guests to have a slice you will need more cake!

been

It really all depends on the size of the cake, what it is made out of and how elaborate the decor is... Can you give us an example of what you would want (and how many you're trying to serve) and we can guess how much it might cost you?

sue75

Sorry, I don't really have a pic.. Its something of my own design and only have it on paper with pencil sketchings. I'll post it when its done though! Heehee.

sue75

wah.. you're expecting half your guests to leave halfway? So sad ah.

So the qn is, do you want to prepare cake enuff for 330 guests or 165? :p
330 and you risk left overs, 165 and you risk loss of face if not enough to go around. True?

Squeakers, sure, do post your design (unless it's considered intellectual property, haha...)

beenz

hi squeakers,
something like this, i don't intend to serve all guest. i wan to just have it for this special occassion of mine. :p
362786.jpg

dimply

i am also thinking of getting a real wedding cake... cos e hotel's dummy cake like quite 'yucky'!
Like Been, i dun intend to serve it to e guests, will probably juz give some to my family & relatives loh.
Any idea how much a simple & decent 3-tier cake would cost? (The cake muz be big enough for pple to see, dat's wat i mean by decent okie!
Thanks!!!

sue75

been, this one is a mini cake leh. (Either that or the orchirds are GIGANTIC. haha..)

what size cake are you thinking of? or how many guests are you intending to serve?

Serene, same advice as Squeakers. It depends on several factors.

BUt just let me help you by saying, a three tier cake that is visible on the stage would be like: 8", 11", 14". Can serve roughly 200.

sue75

here are several factors that will affect cost:

flavor of cake?
type of icing, (cream or fondant)
size of cake
no of tiers,
design (catalogue type or customized)
decoration (extensive or simple)
fresh flowers, silk or sugar...
transportation and setup costs can vary too depending on location and design of cake.

hope this helps!

Sue75,

As my AD is on a Tuesday and based on my past observations, guests dont stay till the end of the dinner. An furthermore, next day is a working day for most of us, so I think most ppl will leave halfway.

As for the serving portion, my hubby says that it's either we serve all or only to a specifi group of ppl. I would like to serve friends and colleagues but worry that relatives may make noise if we dont serve them. Honestly dont think the older folks will appreciate the wedding cake. I think the best thing is to wait till we meet up with the confectionary shop before we decide who to serve.

beenz

sue75,
the cake not small leh.. i think can serve up to 20ppl. i like the design of the cake, look elegant.. :D and the flower is cymbidium(orchid family)

squeaks

Been

Looking at that picture I'm thinking that the bottom tier is probably 8 inches double layer.. with fondant and buttercream piping.
Most places charge per kg so one way to save costs is to change the fondant (most people don't like the taste anyway) to buttercream. You won't get as smooth (porcelain) of a finish but its still very pretty. You can also have a lighter cake under buttercream than fondant. (eg. chocolate cake instead of fruit cake)
I'm thinking you can budget around $250 shown as is. If you make the changes suggested above then it will be cheaper. (It also depends on the baker you choose... some places more exp. than others)

To Everyone:

I think its great that everyone wants a real wedding cake but I'm wondering how are you going to serve cake to only a specific group? I realize most of the 'Elders' won't want cake but what about the co-workers or not so close friends? Won't they see the cake and wonder why they don't get cake? (I know I'd want cake! heehee) I don't want to offend anyone but I just don't want anyone to offend their guests either!

Also a thought: If you want a big cake and don't have that many guests (which is my problem also) you can ask the baker to do a dummy layer so that the top layer is real and the bottom layer is real and the middle one only adds to the height. (Since its decorated the same only you and the baker will know its fake.)

There are SOOO many options with cakes so find out what works for your situation.

beenz

hi squeakers,
thanks for ur suggestion. yup, agree with u, if i'm one of the guest i would like to have a share of the lovely cake too.. but i can only sigh tat i'm not at the VIP seats. kekeke...:p

sue75

Hi Been,

Oh...it's not a mini cake. Just a smallish one.
The orchirds are very pretty. Do you know the size of the cake? Is the bottom tier 8" like Squeakers' guess?

I really agree with Squeakers... how are you going to serve a select group of guests and not others? Other than in secret? But after everyone's seen the cake and know it's a real cake and not a dummy?

Like Shermaine said, serve all or a specific group like at your after party (whatever it's called).

But honestly speaking, it's not very good for PR if anyone (who's in the "out" group) finds out. :p

You know lah, even if they don't like it and you know they won't like it, you STILL have to offer them some. It's a matter of courtesy.

Well, all i can say is, i'm glad i don't have to worry about these things anymore... :D

Happily married,
sue

sue75

yeh, Squeakers, isn;t it also kinda the same if you serve minicakes to a select group of your guests and the rest get cut pieces of cake?

Just wondering...

squeaks

Heehee..

Maybe I should clarify.. my solemnization is immediately before with only VIP attending. We're having mini-cakes and champagne to celebrate while the "other guests" are enjoying the champagne downstairs.. so they won't know they are missing the mini-cakes.

squeaks

I can't wait to be happily married. Honestly, right now the only thing I'm looking forward to is wearing my dress, saying my vows and eating the cake... all the other details.. UGH.

Did you have a real wedding cake sue75?

sue75

Yes, i did! (That time, i didn't know how to bake yet.)
My wedding cake made me very happy.
Sadly, my baker, Han, has migrated to Canada.

squeaks

Awww.. its a shame your baker migrated to Canada.. imagine how many referrals he'd get with you on this board!

I hope between the two of us everyone got their questions answered. I hope they will post some pics too! I love that real cakes are starting to become popular in Singapore.

Oh, and I've been meaning to ask you. When people refer to 'fresh cream' there, do they mean buttercream or stabilized whipped cream? Because I can't imagine doing anything very elaborate/detailed in whipped cream.

Do you have a pic of your cake? (You know I have to ask! heehee)I'll try to find some cakes that look similar to what I'm hoping my cake will look like. I don't have a scanner so I can't show you my pencil drawings.

PS. Are you considering doing cakes professionally?

sue75

Well, actually, Han is a lovely lady with short cropped hair and a breathy voice.

She did a great job!

"Fresh cream" is whipped cream. (Not buttercream) I think Pine Garden cakes would be those. Can check them out on their website. Most bakery cakes here are spongy, and fresh cream topped.

And yes, you can get simple rosettes out of whipped cream but not the detailed work.

Hey! Did i say something that gave you the impression i don't do cakes professionally?;O)

Haha... actually, it has been a hobby of mine and my family and i are seriously considering doing a small home-based business. I specialize in custom made cakes. (My first 24/7 job is being "Mommie".)

Sure, since you asked, baker to baker, i'd be more than happy to share with you my latest project!

Two close-ups and one to see background at the Straits Room, the Fullerton.

363757.jpg
363758.jpg
363759.jpg

squeaks

Wow! Nice work! I love the top tier.. me and my love of detail. Haha. Do you trouble with the ingredients 'setting' with such a hot and humid climate?

I really think you should go for your own business! Seriously, I think you have the talent and obviously you enjoy what you do so might as well. (Your family wants to be involved too? You're lucky. My FH doesn't even like cake!)

I send you a photo of my next project. Its quite simple though. There's a national dog show over here and a group wants me to make cake with their breed as the theme.

I think as more Singaporeans realize how many options there are with cakes, the greater the interest/demand. I can't blame everyone though, with sooo many yummy desserts its not surprising cake isn't as popular. (My FH gave me o-nee (sorry, no idea how to spell that) and now its my favorite dessert!)

Here's my email if you want to exchange more pics/details: [email protected]

sue75

Thank you for the compliment!
I thought you might have liked to see the detail...;) You're right in that i enjoy doing this. but it really takes so much time...

(for everyone's interest and information, For this cake, I started baking on Thurs night, decorated fri, and flowers and setup on sat. That process alone was more than 20 hrs. Not including research, planning, sourcing materials.... that's why it must cost more. :p )

as for our hot and humid climate... no, not so much trouble with the ingredients 'setting". But in order to have a cake on display for a long time, you need fondant cakes for our weather. That's why i do them. Can even be outdoors...
It's like, I love cream cheese topping but it just doesn't hold up in our weather. bleh...

sue75

YEs,they are.
They are sitting on baking paper so invisible you can't hardly see it on the photo even...

piggysg

Hi Sue,

Saw your pic. of the cake... so nice. How many can it be served ? I oso thinking having real cake but afraid of the serving portion not enough & too expensive. We r execting 490ppl

pls advise

squeaks

Hi Piggy,

I know you asked sue75 but while you are waiting as a rule of thumb 1kg per 15 people is the usual estimate.

The pricing depends on what type of cake you want.

piggysg

Hi Squeakers,

thanks. I'll do the calculation. Btw, the cakes are distributed during the diner(on plate) or boxes after diner ?

sue75

Hi Piggy,
Thank you for your compliment!

Fondant covered cakes need dense cakes to take the weight of the fondant and decorations. So you're talking fruit cakes, pound cakes..

The cake in the pic is carrot cake. (Yum!) In all, it weighed 21 kg. (That's the weight of my six yr old, hahaha..) So going by the rule of thumb Squeakers gave, it should serve about 300. (Going by experience, that is about right too. Not large pieces, but more like the size of a man's wallet.)

If you're serving 490, you could have separate undecorated cakes that are cut and served at the same time as the decorated one. THose are cheaper by the kg.That's one way to reduce costs, have a real decorated wedding cake, and serve ALL the guests.

blueice

hi sue75,
saw ur cake & i think it's really lovely! was thinking of having a real cake for my wedding too but i think might b too expensive as i'm expectg abt 300-350guests.. hw much do u usually charge for a cake such as the one u posted?