A REAL WEDDING CAKE

vvbbb

oh, mine is a buffet party too, but my cake is the normal 3-tier cake, not cupcakes. I would expect the cupcake is cut (ceremonial gesture only) in the same manner as normal cake. As long as the knife touches one of the cup cakes and cut it slightly, i thought it shd be ok? hmm.. i maybe wrong...

Hi dear brides...

I've always wanted a 3-tier real wedding cake for my wedding. Thanks to my 2 friends who helped me baked it as a gift... they really did it so professionally.

If any of you interested to view the photos of my wedding cake... do email me...

vvbbb

Kitkioko,

I had my wedding in March... a buffet.. and during lunch time Saturday. Very informal feeling coz the venue is in Sentosa.

After cake-cutting, the cake is put in the dessert area for guests to take. The hotel kept the top-tier for me.
The cake is more than enough (the hotel throw the remaining un-eaten cake) cos the dessert areas also have 2-3 cakes (choc mousse, etc) so my cake got competition a bit hehehe... Also some pp too full to eat cake or don't like cake.

minnie_gal16

Hi Susan,

You can arrange the cupcakes such that it forms a round shape aka cake shape. Then have a nice stand to make it a 2-tier cake, decorated w ribbons and flowers..... I know a place which sells cupcakes for $2+ per piece. Pretty reasonable. You can PM me for more info.

susanfoo

Minnie, i have send you a pm.

kitkioko, mine is a buffet dinner.

viv, i got no cakes for desserts. so i can think cup cake will be quite popular on that day.

kitkioko

Hi viv and susan,

how much do you gals spend on the buffet and what type of food you all providing?

Do the normal cake cutting, champagne pouring still on?

I have no clue about the buffet, please help?

vvbbb

kitkioko,

Yes, still have the usual 'entrance', 'champange pouring' and 'cake cutting'.... but when MC announce the 'lunch'(in my case) starts, they all heads to buffet spread hehehe...

The food in VIP tables (2 tables, in my case) are served. But both my parents still went to the buffet line and take the other stuff that are not served on the table.

See, when you have normal table dinner/lunch, the number of dishes is prob 8-10 course. But buffet....hmm...prob 10-20 type of food and desserts *yum yum*. I definitely like the variety.. so not stuck with food that i dont' like.

vvbbb

oh ya, abt the cost... it's still the same as normal 'dinner'.

I was quoted $78/person... but i had a friend who had her buffet at same place for only $60/person so i managed to get the same rate.
Wine is provided 1 bottle for each table but the guests told me taht the hotel served the wine free-flow even after 1 bottle is finished...
The rest of the other perks still apply... honeymoon suites, champange, etc etc. Not bad actually....

susanfoo

Hi kitkioko

Mine is located at the sailing club. Outdoor buffet by the poolside facing the sea. Club only offer place, buffet food and tables layout. So i got to find my own PA and lightings. My march in will be a bit different so I am not having champange and just the cake cutting.

Currently it is $45 per pax and it is a international and BBQ fare. We also have a whole lamb roasting beside the BBQ. There'll be servers around. Inviting ard 200 ppl but ordering 130 ppl food. total is approx $8K
Club only charge one bottle wine and the rest i bring myself.

haywiregirl

can I know anyone of you make your own wedding cake? I am trying out one now and my AD is a year ahead so I have plenty of time to practice. Anyone knows where to get those barang barang? Thankie!

annpaul

hey peeps, seems like most people who use real cakes here are doing buffet. anyone with hotel banquet dinners using real cake? is it allowed? what you do with the cake since dessert is already provided? how much cakes needed for 40 tables?

mrs_n

The venue provided the usual dummy for photographic purposes. But my aunt baked a seperate cake which we cut and boxed ourselves the day before and gave them as favours to the guests.

satinchris

Hi, I have the same question as annpaul and tokyodreams. If we just want a 3-tier cake, it's not enough to go round for 200-250 pple. But if we keep it for ourselves and those seated at the 2 VIP tables, there would be a lot left. So how?

man_tou_bear

I had a real wedding cake (3 tier from Pine Garden) and it was to serve 250 guests. However, in the end my turn out was abt 260 and the cake was more than enough to feed them and for my mum to bring some home.
i think it depends on the crowd too. some like cake some dun.. for me, abt 70% of them like cakes. Plus i served it BEFORE my wedding dinner, during cocktail, hence more ppl will be hungry enough to eat it.

The cost of a 3 tiered cake from Pine Gardens starts from $450.

man_tou_bear

Summerice,

When i came down aft doing the make up, my sisters and brothers gathered the guests tog and announced that we were going to cut the cake lor... not on the stage area... at the cocktail area. this ensured that my guests came on time.

Actually i learnt this from another bride here.

summerice

Bear...ya if u have it too early then not many guest see...but if u have it like near to 7.30 then all eager to go in n sit down plus going to have dinner soon....so kind of hard...unless u specify it in the invites.

Some ppl will think its funny to have desert b4 meal.

man_tou_bear

Yups Summerice, it was specified in the invites.. that's why my guests were very punctual.. heehee... i cut the cake abt 7.15pm abt 60% of the guests were there liao...

i agree some might think its funny having desserts before meal but my cols came straight from the office and they were very hungry so the cake help to fill their tummies a little.
serving it at the end of dinner might lead to many ppl not eating it cos got desserts liao.. plus aft an 8/9 course dinner, u normally would skip desserts. that's wat i observed during other ppl's wedding.. then the cake will be wasted...

summerice

Bear ya...since ur is mostly for coll i think its good. For mine i think will be mostly relative dont know the older ppl will they like to eat cake. At first i am thinking of having the cakes for church...but i need to make sure got ppl cut the cake for me.....if not it will be wasted. So i think if i have it in the dinner there will be service staff to do it for me.

Then again for dinner i have to cater a lot more n the cost will be higher...maybe i can just engage a service staff to do the cutting for me. Have not work out how i want it.

What flavor did u get from Pine garden. Any pics to show?

summerice

oh if i have it at dinner i think i wont wait till the desert to serve, guess during the 2nd march in i will cut the cake n serve. So guests will get to eat it.

man_tou_bear

Summerice,

Erm no its not mostly for my cols... most of my relatives came from work or came without having to eat since lunch.. u know chinese dinner, they always start late so it was ok for most.. but i agree that not all elder ppl like cakes.. in fact some cannot eat it cos they suffer from diabetes...

If u serve it during the 2nd march in, will it clash with ur dishes? cos before that the guests were eating something savoury and then they have the cake that is sweet? might be better if u asked the hotel chef for comments..

I got 3 flavours from Pine Garden, the bottom layer is the choc brownie, middle layer is the lychee martini and top layer is the Citrus drops.. sorry no photos.. too kan cheong that day.. forgot to take photos.

summerice

Bear hehe ic...did u eat the cake...heard that the lychee martini is good. what about the cirtus drop....make me drool liao....i love cakes.

Ya will have to check what is the last dish b4 the cake have to make some coordination. if not i will have it in church.

For your GDL did u buy cakes from them also? Must drop by to check the cakes out when i have time.

If u dont mind can i ask what happen at the hotel? my email [email protected]
That hotel is one of them that we consider.

man_tou_bear

Summerice, ya the lychee martini was gd.. better if u call Pine Garden. i think they allow u to have a cake tasting session. i like all the 3 flavours i choose, but if i really have to decide btw them i would choose citrus drops cos it is both sour and sweet at the same time without tasting weird.. dunno how to describe it to u.

Yes i took their GDL cakes too.. they have this nice selection of GDL cakes.. they have exotic flavours like green tea, strawberry shortcake etc etc.. can't rem the flavours liao but its damn nice... may be u can get an aunt to help u cut the cake in church? cos the hotel need time to cut up the cake, abt half an hr...

How big each slice is? erm.. erm... abt 2cm x 6-8cm. not very big.. if its a thick slice, its like not here, not there if u get wat i mean. eat liao not full but not really hungry either. heh... we told them to have 2nd & 3rd helpings if they want...

summerice

Bear ic...they have free cake tasting har? how much is 1box of GDL cakes and how many pcs are there?

Ya i think the size is o.k.

half an hr to cut the cakes really...hehe but i wont have so many tables....maybe only 150 guests so will be faster lar.

man_tou_bear

Summerice, best u give them a call... they would be able to assist u better than me.. there are many types of GDL cakes, but i think i chose the $8.80 per box one for 8 pieces of cake... i think.. can't really rem..

oh if u have 150 guests then a 3 tier cake is more than enough...

lyons

<font color="119911">hey summerice, you can get them to let you do a tasting. Their cakes are YUMMY! Birthdays I always buy cakes from them one... their lychee martini's REALLY good and so is their brownie cake and triple choc cake! Writing about this makes me lao nua already :p</font>

summerice

hi bride,

ya i heard a lot of good comments on them...expecially their lychee martini's. wanted to go down a few times but forget to bring the address along coz its always last min not in the plan. Will purposely go down 1 day to find out.

2 cents worth - Hyatt has cake that wedding couple can cut up &amp; then get em served to guests too in case anyone doesnt know

lyons

<font color="119911">hey elin, most hotels have that service if they have a pastry chef or an in-house bakery but they usually charge higher prices</font>

man_tou_bear

Moo, deliver wat? the wedding cake or the GDL cakes??? Wedding cake will be delivered and set up by them.. think they need to put the layers together... GDL cakes u have to go and collect...

$8.80 consist of 6 cakes i think.. got green tea, strawberry short cake, apple custards.. brownie.. i only can rem these cos i didn't get to eat the rest of the favours!

summerice

Hi moo u can try kyo cakes...i heard from a bride that she use it for her GDL not bad. the price is about $7.30 for 12pcs.

man_tou_bear

Gd for u Summer.. think u will be meeting Petrina or Ly Keow... both very nice ppl... if i dun rem wrongly, the standard 3 tier cake is $450 without acrylic stand.. with acrylic stand its another $50 + $200 refundable deposit....

Have fun then!!! Mention my nick to Petrina.. she will rem me.. heehee....

summerice

o.k i will...like that will have special discount? hehehe ya i am meeting Petrina. oh 450 is out of my budget already.

man_tou_bear

Summer, u might wanna ask if they can make a smaller cake for u... tell them how many ppl u wanna feed lor.. they are flexible one.. i dun think mentioning my name will get u a discount lah.. i dun owe the shop!! wahahahaa.....

man_tou_bear

Hello Summer, how was the meeting with Petrina? did u mention my name?? heehee..

Wat's a cake topper? i had the acrylic stand to elevate my cake. my $450 cake fed 250 guests, plus i had enough to bring some up to my suite and also my parents brought some back too.. in fact i m saving a big piece of my cake in my freezer to eat it one yr aft my wedding.. its an Irish tradition.

so have u decided? tried the cakes? which one is the nicest favour?

summerice

Oh i didnt get to see Petrina. When i reach there Both li keow and Petrina also not around. Waited about 15mins then the auntie take over n bring me up for cake tasting. We even operate the computer to see the cakes, half way li keow rush back n attend to us.

Cake topper dont know if its the right name. The figurine u put on top of the cake. did u have that? oh yours seem to be more worth it...i find it expensive.

If i order for 50pax it will cost me $300, 2 tier, will have left over. 150pax will cost me $360 also 2 tier but different in size. Not decided on it due to the cost.

I like the choco lava, lychee martini, and the citrus drop.

man_tou_bear

Oh u didn't ah.. nvm Ly Keow very nice too...

i know wat it is liao.. honestly i dun like eating a figurine of myself! wahahaha... but that is just me... i didn't have it..

Well there is no smaller sizes? can they make a cake for $200? how many ppl do u wanna feed? ppl say the 3 tier at Pine Garden can only feed 200 pax, but i have proven that it can feed 250 pax plus leftovers.. so i guess it depends on how big each slice is...

I got the lychee and the citrus drops!