A REAL WEDDING CAKE

summerice

oh i was thinking of that 2 flavour also, or the lychee & choco lava. If its for dinner will definately choose the first 2 flavour.

Mine will only be 2 tier, even thought we told her for 50pax still $300 leh.

Some ppl advice me to get a normal cake or a rectangular one and it will be very much cheaper. Still thinking coz the feeling is different if its a 1 tier cake, but definately can cut my cost.

I think most likely i will have it at the recept, worried that if i have it at dinner a lot of ppl may not eat it, too full already. plus old ppl may not like cakes, then i spend so much to let it get throw away.

man_tou_bear

Hey Summer, sorry but mine was 3 favours.. Brownie, lychee and citrus..

$300 still quite ex leh... i guess u have to consider ur budget too.. dun overspend.. ya i had it at the recept too.. managed to finish abt 85% of the cake there and the rest was brought back by my parents.. apparently there is this Irish tradition to eat ur wedding cake one yr aft ur wedding.. so right now, it is sitting in the freezer. heehee..

summerice

hehehe i dont like fruit cake so i wont want to keep it n eat it. Ya $300 plus i have to cut the cake myself n serve leh....so i may consider others.

Just like to share with everybody here my wedding cake. I ordered it from a neighbourhood confectionery shop at only $312 (12kg). It was a fresh cream cake and I managed to serve 380 guests. It was only 2 - 3 mouthful bite sizes for each pax as I was served the desert. Surprisingly, many of my guests commented that the cake was nice. It was just normal chocolate sponge cake. Anyway, my cake made me very happy. ha ha

man_tou_bear

Summerice, i tot u said they were out of ur budget? why the change of mind? Lychee martini too gd to resist? heehee.. so 1 tier? 2 tier or 3 tier?

summerice

Bear ya its out of my budget...but i go around...if i were to take wedding cake range the price also around $200 plus, and only can select from their available designs. Unless i go to those neighbourhood cake shop then maybe 1/2 the cost, but then no special flavor. hehehe

will be take the 2 tier, 3 tier cost too much...will be $400 plus, and i dont need that much. hehehe but i havent pay deposit so still can change my mind.

man_tou_bear

Summerice, as long as u know wat u want can liao.
some ppl dun think a cake is necessary but a lot of my guests thought that having one was special and that it makes the whole proceeding more interesting.

summerice

Bear cos i am a cake lover...i must have it. hehehe i take PG cos they have special flavor, which will be like a suprise for my guests. If i have this real cake i may skip the dummy cake cutting at night. hahaha my hb say why cut a dummy when we cut a real one already, but the dummy has more tiers so look nicer. Still considering if i want to skip it.

man_tou_bear

Oh i skipped the fake cake.. heehee.. cos there isn't a pt repeating the whole thing again.. and ppl will think the fake cake is real too.. and it loses the significance if u get wat i mean..

so wat favours u decided upon?

summerice

oh urs u can skip cos u have it during dinner...
mine will be afternoon the real cake...which not all my guests will see.

i take the lychee n the black forest. the triple choco not thick enough i think brownie thicker the choco. I wanted citrus drop but that day i went for tasting they dont have...and they say only ppl like lemon will find it nice if not they will find it too sour. At first i dont want the black forest but they say their got liquor. I try and yes its slightly different so i pick these 2. My hb say these 2 flavor will not go wrong hehehe

damsel

Hi Jonic,

It's best to order it 2 months in advance and earlier if your AD falls on a peak period like Dec.

summerice

oh for PG only need to order 3days in advance....but to be sure u can get the cakes i think 1 or 2 mths before will be safe.

lemony

my hotel will charge me $250 to cut up the cake to serve the guests if i get the cake from outside.. So even if i get a nice cake which cost less than $500, i still end up paying about $750 if i get a real cake from outside.... haiz...

Alternatively, to make up table number of 35, we are negotiating 34 tables and one of the table to convert to a real cake that the hotel will bake. It will cost me $1K just for the cake from hotel if this switch is successful.

What do you think? I have about 350 guests.

summerice

wow which hotel is that....how come they charge so much to cut the cake. If u do not have budget constrain then go ahead. For me, if i have to pay so much just for a cake i will give up the idea. Its not as if their cakes are the best in sg and they add gold inside.

Bear...i confirm my cake already.

man_tou_bear

Summerice, gd for ya! i like the citrus drops cos it isn't the usual cake flavour... heehee but gd lah u settled it.

For PG, though u can order it very near ur AD, i won't recommend it. On days that have many weddings (like Oct 7th 2006), PG can have multiply orders. so far i haven't hear them cancelling or refusing to take, but there is a limit as to how many cakes they can make and deliver. So best is u order early, say 2-3 mths before ur AD.

summerice

ya i agree on the booking...must be ks in sg hehehe

Bear i am not taking the citrus drop, coz that day when i go for 2nd tasting they didnt have that..plus pertrina said that if ppl dont like to eat lemon will find it sour. In fact i bought a pc of the cirtus cake and eat....n it taste very sour as compare to the first tasting i had. I love to eat sour things but i still find it sour.

Ya, I think most hotels do charge for cake cutting if cake brought in is not order from them.

I had my wedding at Maarriott, but I was lucky because I asked before they started imposing on the cutting fee. They told me that they will be charging a dollar per head for the cake brought in from outside.

Ya, I share the same sentiment. If I had to pay for the cutting fee, I also wouldnt want to have the cake even the cake is pretty affordable.

In case anyone wants the contact of the confectionery I ordered my cake from, here it is:

Jane's confectionery.
Jurong East Central (Opp Jurong East Mrt beside the regional library)

Sorry, I do not have their contact number anymore. Hope the address helps.

jonic

Thanks for all your advice! Ya...some hotels do charge for cake brought from outside....so it's better to check if you plan to bring in your own cake....I have negotiated to wavier the charge if I were to bring my own cake.

fudgecake

hihi all,

I am looking at a cake cum cupcake combination. the 1st tier will be a cake and the rest will be cupcakes. do u think Pine Garden is able to come up with something like tat?

man_tou_bear

Summerice, ya Ly Keow did tell me how many ppl my cake can feed.. she said normally a 3 tier can feed 200.. 250 is s stretched but i managed to feed 250 pax plus leftovers...

summerice

hi fudgecake

thats what i thought of also..they can do it no problem.

Bear o.k coz i am worried that my 2 tier may not be enough to feed 70. After hearing what u say maybe mine should be enough. Oh did each person try all flavour? I think if everyone does that sure not enough.

havensbreath

does anyone have exp with pine garden? i love their cake decor...havent got any tasting though...but i like the flowers decor and the overall design of the wedding cake... if you know the estimated pricing of a 3 or 4 tier cake, pls email me at [email protected]
would really appreciate your help!

also, just to let everyone know that coffeebean and tea leaf also makes wedding cakes! i think it's 3 tiers at $250...different designs too! can check them out at their webby
cheerio!

lyons

<font color="119911">booked my wedding cupcakes from Pine Gardens! So happy! Finally settled with a choice. Now can concentrate on other things. Taste cupcakes until I quite scared of them now :p If anyone wants recommendations let me know cos I tasted quite a few cupcakes from different companies</font>

lyons

<font color="119911">cost-wise, it's better to confirm with them but i chose smaller ones @ about $2 each. They do the set up and delivery. Flavours got mango, strawberry, choc, vanilla, coffee...</font>

auntyoink

I am considering to have a real wedding cake &amp; saw such great reviews of Pine Garden's here. Can anyone share photos of their cake or better yet, advise a price range for me to budget for?

Replies to this post is greatly appreciated!

shybride

hi, i m having my banquet at fullerton and the real cake costs $70 per kg. I am wondering how many kg needed for about 300 guests? cos the previous msgs all in terms of tiers.. the hotel charges $150 'plating' fee if bring in cake from outside, and no storage (fridge) so the cake might topple (goodwood park also told me this).

anyone had problems with the cake 'softening' or 'toppling' or out of shape when you ordered cake from outside? thanks

lance_khong

Hi all, pics of the cake here very nice can post more to share with the rest of us. I personally think that cutting a dummy seems odd like wat bear says.

dart

The line shop does wedding cake and other customised cakes too. Maybe you guys can give it a try as well. I've been ordering all my cakes from them for quite some time already. I find the price reasonable enough for the taste. It's really good.

should choose a cake that is dense enough to hold it's shape like a buttercake.
Sponge cakes are too light..
Can consider cheesecakes too

lilfeets

I like pattisier but they cost way too much....So pretty an tasty but so very expensive..

also like CCP but also expensive..sigh...

use our corporate vendor home baker for cake nd cupcakes. Lydia does full cake and also cupcakes.Not bad lor. variety of taste but most of all, moist and tasty and not just look good.Otherwise my mom will be unhappy. her email is [email protected]

koi_junie

If i wanna cut up the cake and let the guests take home, who will supply the boxes? the bakery? will they charge addition for the boxes?

banska

Junie.. after you cut up the cake. The form of the cake is already gone. It is better you serve the cake than spending the money on boxes. Unless you have cupcakes or miniature cakes for guests to bring home.