A REAL WEDDING CAKE

amy

I am contemplating having a real cake for my wedding. Has anyone out there been through this before?
Need some comment on this, thanx.

we had a choco mousse cake (10kg for 150 guests) for our wedding...decorated with wild berries...it was yummy! we cut the cake after the 2nd walk-in...fed each other and then got the hotel staff to cut and distribute the cake to all the guests!

thh

Hi, KPO
Your cake sounds yummy! I am interested to have a real cake too for my wedding. May I know which bakery did you get the cake from and how much did it cost? Tks

hi THH,

we weren't allowed to bring in food/cake from outside...the hotel did the cake for us...they charged $48+++/kg. it was rectangular in shape and single layer 'cos the mousse is too soft to support tiers.

linda

BTW,just to let you girls know, Marina Mandarin offers a real 3-tier cake for any package. But I traded mine off for another 30L barrel of beer and a 5 tier dummy cake. kekekeke....I know, I know, you all will scold me for being silly! But i dun fancy a real cake mah!

hi linda,

u r not silly...30L beer sounds more worth it then having a real cake...especially if u dun even care of having a real cake in the first place

ck

thinking of having a real cake too. KPO - does your one tier serve all your guests? Thinking of having a 2 tier ...

ck

Hi KPO,
does one tier serve all your guests? Thinking of having a 2 tier ... but must be expensive ... yours is already what ... $500 at least?
Suppose i can get my cake from outside, any idea where to get Ok prices & OK cakes???

hi CK,

the cost of the cake was $480+++...10kg was sufficient for my 150 guests...in fact, each guest got quite a decent slice. i heard the prices of the wedding cake can range from $30+/kg to $100+/kg...normal birthday cakes are never so expensive...vendors usually jack up the prices when they hear it's for the wedding

linda

Heheheh..Thanks KPO for saying I am not silly. But my msg is to tell you gals that if you hadn't choose your venue and dun mind MM, then there is an additional point cos they give you REAL cake 3 tier too!!!!

MM is not bad. And you dun have to spend on the cake!

thh

Tks for the info. Unfortunately, I am not booking with a hotel, but am looking at a informal wedding party at say a chalet for friends. (I am having separate weddings, one with relatives at restaurant, one with friends)

hi THH,

oic...actually, i believe any normal cake shop (i.e. bengawan solo, angie etc.) can do a cake like that...in fact, it's probably cheaper if u don't tell them that it's a wedding cake!

do u need a very big cake? u can always have more than 1 if u need a large quantity...i've seen ppl make 3 small round ones and arrange them in layers using supports for the cakes.

wuff

THH,

Maybe you might want to try this cake shop in Bukit Timah (Greenwood Avenue) called Lana Cake Shop. They have an excellent chocolate cake :p~~ worth to drool over. It's abt SDG25/kg. Different from other choc cakes. Not creamy or fruit nutty. Moist.

thh

Hi, KPO, thanks for your response. I am looking at a cake for 150pp. Your idea about arranging 3 small ones into a big one is good, can consider. :) One comment tho is can we don't say the cake is for wedding purpose? You mean just to say for normal purpose?

hi THH,

for our wedding cake...it was just a normal mousse cake with no frilly wedding decos...so, in other words...it's juz a normal cake!

based on my experience...everytime the vendors (i.e. be it shoemaker, tailor, cake shop etc.) hear the words "it's for the wedding"...they are gonna double/triple the cost! so, just tell the cake shop that u need a very big cake for a party of 150 and it'll probably juz cost the normal (i.e. $20-30+/kg)

just a suggestion!

bb

hi Wuff, can you tell me more about Lana cake shop (ie. addr or tel no.)

i would like to have a small wedding cake for my ROM reception.

I had a 2 tier chocolate cake with royal icing from the Regent Hotel for the church reception & they were really yummy !Prices are resonable too. Check with out.

cakie

Hi Cheers!

Would you mind sharing how much you paid for the cake and what its weight was?

Thanks much!

abc

Hi Cheers,

How much did you pay for the cake from Regent. Would like to have a 3 tier one for my wedding and was thinking of substituting the desert for the cake. Do you think it's feasible to do that?

I paid approx 48+++ per kg I think.Not too sure about the prices now.My cake was a 2 tier cake (3 + 2 kgs)however, with royal icing the total weight was approx 14 kg !!! Also, I had my banquet at the Regent so they might have given me a better price.Why don't you serve both the desert & the cake since desert will be part of the wedding package for the dinner.I have been to wedddings where they served both.

coo

I wld like to recommend Desserts by Jeffrey if any of you are interested in ordering a real wedding cake. He made a chocolate boston creme pie (sponge cake with custard filling and chocolate icing) for my wedding recently and it tasted absolutely divine!!
He only uses the freshest ingredients.

My guests were queueing for the cake...

Only caveat is that you wld probably have to sort out the cake decor yourself. I used fresh flowers.

coo

Hi peabrain72

His website is www.dessertsbyjeremy.com - his cakes don't look great in the photos on the website but you have to taste it - it's very yummy. he will arrange a tasting if you like.

His contact number is 97814345

peabrain72

Thanks Coo, will give it try. I'm a cake person
can't resist the temptation. Also thinking of having a real cake for my wedding. Have tried Lana recommended by Wuff, yummy

callisto

I had a real wedding cake - a two-tier brownie cake from The Patissier. Everyone raved about it but unfortunately, there wasn't enough for seconds.

Look for Leong from the Patissier, he's very helpful

www.thepatissier.com

ad

I had a three-tier cake from Angies The Choice and it only cost me about $300. You get to choose different flavours for all three tiers. I didn't get a chance to taste it but I LOOOOVE Angie's cakes. It was also finished by my guests so it cant be too bad. Go visit one of their outlets.

exasperated

My friend catered from Monte Cristo and they threw in a real 3-tier wedding cake. we had to be reeeaaaallly careful when moving it to the platform. hehe...

rene

Hi Callisto,

how much is ur wedding cake, sounds really yummy..might also consider getting one...

callisto

Hi Rene,

Well, it wasn't exactly cheap but I felt it was worth it. My cake was 10 kg, at $60 for 1kg, so you can do the math.

IIRC, The Patissier charges per kg, $45 for choc chip (a firmer version of butter cake with choc chips), $60 for brownie and $90 for fruitcake.

They also do mini wedding cakes packaged individually for your guests. I would really have loved that, but the bill would have been astronomical!

Hope this helps in your decision.

aud

Hi, all. New to do this forum thing but thot i shd ask if anyone's heard of or tried cake avenue at the rail mall. came across website while hunting for wedding cakes... the patissier looked too ex tho i liked their choux pastry tower

kelsey

My friend had a wedding cake baked by The Cake Avenue. It looked nice but didn't taste that great. The cake was too dry. Hardly anyone touched the cake. I got my wedding cake done by The Oriental Hotel and it was fantastic. Very moist and the guests wanted more.

You can also try out The Fig Leaf restuarant. I know they do wedding cakes and also the miniature cakes. Cheaper than The Patisser. I wanted them to do my cake but the hotel did not allow me to bring in a cake from an outside vendor.

aud

Thanks, Kelsey
Will check them out. No point having cake that looks nice but does't taste nice - might as well eat the plasticine from the fake cake provided...

silver

I am considering of having real cake too. Will be having 200-250 guests, how big should the cake be?

wenn

hi silver.
i had my wedding last friday. this is how my cake looks like. the cake was enough for my 260 guests. size comes in 7" (top), 12" (middle) & 16" for the base. it is covered with fresh cream & decorated with rose petals

36050.jpg

soupie

wenn, that's a nice wedding cake!
mind telling me wat's the flavour of the cake? and where did u have it made? i dunno how the cake taste with icing.. is it nice? i'm considering choc fudge cake also.. but it's not as outstanding as a cake with white icing... hehe sorry me very lorsor and ask alot of questions.

silver/doremon, i'm considering a real wedding cake also...

wenn

hi doremon,
slightly less than $400

hey soupie!
long time no chat

it's triple layer choc cake. got the contact from another forum user. it's covered with fresh cream, not icing and the cake isn't very sweet. just nice cos the guests are full from the 9 course dinner liao. they have choc covered wedding cake too!

u gers can email me at [email protected] for the contact & link

soupie

hi wenn, yeah lor.. hey the cake is pretty reasonable.. somemore can feed 260 pple hehehe.. anyway i thot that not possible to do fresh cream with multi layer cake..thot it would be too soft.. guess i was wrong huh..hehee
so in between the cakes wat do u have? fresh cream too?

wenn

soupie, i can't remember what's in between the cake. but there is a layer of dark chocolate cake & another layer of lighter chocolate cake.

still quite pissed cos 1 of my guests took back the extra cake that we tabao for ourselves.... din get to eat it!!!

estherc

Hi Wenn,

Where did you have your wedding? Did they allow you to buy your own cake? The hotel that I signed up with forbid me to make a cake outside, which I thought would save some $$. They quite steeply for their in-house hotel cake and it can cost up to $1500 and above for 300 guests!!! I'm reconsidering my decision to have a real cake.

What is the kind of feedback you got from guest on a real wedding cake? I've got some friends who told to not to have one as it's not practical since people would have been rather full after the 9-course dinner. My mum also advise against it. She said it's a waste of money. But I thought it's really romantic to have a real wedding cake of my own!

silver

Wenn,
Hey ur cake very nice! And its very reasonable. Ve email you...

Soupie,
Hello!! Ve not chat wif you for long time. Hows ur preparation?

Doremon,
Guess we ve similar likings ya hehe

wenn

hi BB,
we had our banquet at Noble House & we were the 1st couple to have a real cake. the guy whom we got the cake from told us that he did supply to some hotels even though the hotel forbid "outside cake"

my guests like it cos it isn't very sweet & just nice after the 9 course dinner. some of them even took 2 slices! the restaurant served the cake together with the red bean soup dessert. my hubby wanted the cake bcos he came from a much more western culture & upbringing.

anybody interested, do email me. will try to reply if possible bcos i'll be leaving for a short honeymoon to bangkok tomoro

soupie

silver, me ah.. nothing much done.. but having lots of ideas in my head swimming around.. hehehe but dunno how many ideas can be realised

wenn, oh nooo.. i definitely must have a taste of the cake if i do get a real one for my wedding.. i dunno i read somewhere that it signifies union between two persons.. so bride and groom must have a bite of the wedding cake.. kekeke.. good excuse to eat huh.. hiaks

silver

Hi wenn,

Hi soupie,
Me too! But after awhile decided to drop certain ideas but came up wif new one again hehehe Oh didn't know there is actually meaning for the wedding cakes hehe

estherc

Hi Wenn,

Yes, can you please pm me your contact for the cake shop.

Btw, are the petals on your cake real? I read somewhere that not all petals are suitable to be put on cakes!

Enjoy your honeymoon!

female

hi wenn, u've got a very good deal with your cake - its very pretty. where did u get it from? mine was also real, i dunno if its coz its too small for 200pax, or its too good, the top tier that was supposed to be for us mysteriously disappeared too.

i think its nice to have a real cake, instead of the usual fruit raisin types that people always eat at weddings.

this is from Pine Garden, slightly over $300. fresh cream, chocolate brownie, but i had yam for the 2nd tier for old people.
36104.jpg

soupie

hi female, u have a very nice cake there too.
i think wenn's cake is also from pine garden... so u managed to taste the cake?

silver

Hi female,
Nice cake! Yours for how many pax?

Hi soupie,
Ya wenn's fm pine garden too! Looks like must pay them a visit hehe