A PLACE to recommend your favourite beauty products.

mango123

Hi Xue

I am new here, very interested in the cream you mentioned. I would like to order 1 tube to try, can share more with me?

sweetsecret

hi mango123,

drop me your email so that i share more with you?
Else you can click on my nick and send me a private msg.

xue

pearlin

Hi xue,i did not receive your mail leh..can u try sending agn?there's an underscore between treasure and freedom..

sweetsecret

Hi ter peg gee,

you cant accept PM, you can click on my nick n PM me and rem to leave your email add. else pls resent your profile to accept PM.

jesswong1972

Previously, you people mention about the lightening of the nipple cream which cost $2. I think it is dangerous to use such a cheap product. I am using a breast mask for lightening my nipple colour and it does help.

jesswong1972

Hi Adeline

The product is from USA and it costs me SGD17 to buy. But I feel it is very useful. Do you want me to e-mail the detail to you?

shuhui83

hi xue can i know the what the pink top cream make of cos i think to know what ingredient we are using for our face is very important.......

bluesky

Hi honeygem, Harrods,

Hope you are still around. Yesterday went to New City as recommended by you. The doc really have patience to explain to me. He prescibed the small container skinoren cream, wash foam, sunblock and a vit A gel. Are you all have the same? He told me no need to see him after i finish the products, just go to their counter to purchase. Do you go back for 2nd appt? Do you guys use with other product of your own?

honeygem

hi bluesky and harrods,

Really sorry, I have not been on this thread for a long time. can pm me if you like...

Harrods, how's the stuff working on you? Bluesky, you've got mail.

trazz, i dont know whether he has cures, but apparently there's nothing much that we can do if our lifestyle is generally not healthy.

honeygem

oh, but a friend swears by this Eyebright Complex (Eye Bright is one of the primary herbs used for eye care) found in guardian pharmacy and dabs Bio-Essence eyegel (fine lines). She's happy with the results.

I havent tried the Eyebright complex personally though.

bluesky

hi trazz,

i didn't see him for my eye circles, only the face. But currently i am using The Natural Source - Mayaltha Eye serum. The dark circle got reduce but not totally gone yet. I think very difficult once you have it.

bibiq

Sorry to interrupt hoh..i'm just kpo a bit..Why do u gals want to lighten the nipple huh? Is it really nicer to have it lighter? I was a bit astonished when i first saw it being sold in the market.. cos it never crossed my mind to change anything of that part of my anatomy before leh?

And just to add my own comment lah.. I also did buy a yellow corrector for undereye circles from Daiso, and yup, it's only $2 bucks too. But even though it may be cheap, the texure is really nice, goes on smoothly, and it doesn't irritate my eye area or cause millia seeds which some very expensive eyes creams i've bought before does.

Quality doesn't always have to equate with quantity. Sometimes, we might just be paying more to cover the well known product's advertisement costs and retail space, and not for the goodness of the ingredients in it.

Anyway, do try going to Daiso yourself and giving these 'cheap' and unbranded goods they sell a try. They stock a wide range of lifestyle products from stationery to household wares and even gardening decorative items at $2 each only. I did go a bit nutty the first time i went in there. The quality and wide range of choices are unbelievable ! :D

Btw, I'm not the grand-daughter of the founder of Daiso or employee or have any relatives who are employees of Daiso hoh! I just find it's a terrific place that sells quality things at a very good value, and would like to share with you all, ok!

gooobergrape

durianlover (durianlover)
Yeah I use the Artistry eye replenishing cream for my dark eye circles. I find it quite effective as my dark circles are now nearly gone. But this is also because I made it a point to sleep early and not rub my eye area. Its cheap too huh? 27 bucks??

pinkymint

Hi BlueSky (bluesky)

May I know where can I get The Natural Source - Mayaltha Eye serum? Is it really good?

I have really bad dark circles and tired of having to conceal it everyday..

starmoon

will the mayaltha eye serum cause milia seeds? i'm scared to use eye serum/cream nowadays as i'm afraid dat i might get milia seeds from it.

zenith

hi bluesky, honeygem & harrods, how's yr face condition so far? i read abt the doctor tat u recommend & am really keen to try it out. any idea if he's open on thurs? feel like going... is he really tat gd? i'm quite worried as i hv veri sensitive skin. been to a lot of doctors but no use. Even tried NAtional Skin Centre but condition didn't improve. went to one doc. he's gd. also everything keep to the minimal & advised against using beauty products. but when i stopped using his products, my skin condition worsen again. does tat happen to u wif this doc?

slimdown

hi ladies...

i'm new here..i would like to recommend Ettusai's products..from Japan..very effective..i used to have very terrible skin..pimples all over..big pores..but now..my complexion is near to perfect..can give it a try..the acne range is fantastic..they have trial set for new user..

honeygem

Zen, my skin is good now and Im very happy with it. Im not seeing the doctor anymore though and I've also changed my skincare regime.

How sensitive is your skin? Do you get break outs often? What's the actual problems?

I've stopped using any acidic/astringent AHA etc based products and converted to plant based ones. Instead Im using a really mild cleasing milk (Bio-essence)and no facial wash or soap based cleansers so as not to strip the skin of natural moisture. Use a facial sponge/cloth with warm water to remove excesses. Tone and moisturise (Loreal HydraFresh) with simple products that contain no acids.

Exfoliator and Mask are from plant based Daintree range - Natural source. When I first changed to this mild skincare regime (not necessarily the products as it may not work for you) My skin improved vastly. So Im sticking to this
I think the basic principle is to keep your skin irritant free.

My beautician is May of Snow White Beauty. 98277264, located at Shaw Centre.

If you need more info, you can PM me.

wend

hey guys..thinking of trying the New Skin clinic too...been having acne on my cheeks and chin for a year liao..getting very depressed about it..so paiseh to meet up with my friends and to go out..
How's the results for those that've went? Issit expensive? Been spending alot on facial products that i'm broke liao..=(

Does the products he prescribed cause you to break out first? or cause any redness? Also, does anyone know what causes pitting on the face? I'm really afraid the scars become permanent..right now its just reddish/ brownish marks..

Dun mind sharing? can PM me too!! Thanks alot!!

newcomer

hi mabel, where can we find Ettusai's products?

How does the products help you?
Wat are the active ingredients found in the pdt that make it so effective? dun mind sharing?

racg

heard that the galvanis spa (nu skin's pdt) could help to remove milia seeds ard the eye area. anyone tried it before?

sweet_apple

I need to change my cosmetics soon, I think the current one I'm using is not suitable. I have combination skin and my T-zone is very oily, I clogged my pores easily. Would appreciate if you all can give me recommendations for :

1. Sunblock
2. Foundation
3. Loose powder
4. Compact power

Thanks!!!

ylyl

Hi Apple
I'm using Biotherm's foundation which I find not bad. Cos it's water based so it's not oily and doesn't clog pores and it feels light.
Since you're afraid of clogged pores you shouldn't be using compact powder cos compact powder actually do contains oil. Loose powder will be a better choice. If you want a compact powder for convience, can consider buying a mini container for the loose powder so you can bring outdoor for touch up.
For Sunblock, I'm using Shu Uemura. But I can remember if it's water based.

sweet_apple

Hi YL,

Thanks! I also prefer to use loose powder but usually the packing is not portable. Any suggestion where to get suitable mini container?

ylyl

I saw places like Sasa n Watson selling containers but not sure if it's suitable. Maybe when you buying the loose powder can ask the SA what kind of container is suitable. I thought of buying a container after I buy the loose powder.

ylyl

forgot to mention to you earlier. When you getting a sunblock, don't get one that too high in SPF, eg. SPF 50 and above. Get something SPF 20+ is good enough. Cos if we get one that's too high in SPF for long term use can be damaging to our skin. can be as serious as getting skin cancer.

ylyl

forgot to mention to you earlier. When you getting a sunblock, don't get one that too high in SPF, eg. SPF 50 and above. Get something SPF 20+ is good enough. Cos if we get one that's too high in SPF for long term use can be damaging to our skin. can be as serious as getting skin cancer.

sweet_apple

I'm currently using tinted sunblock I bought at Jean Yip Saloon, but it's very expensive. A small bottle cost $75.00, it's SPF 15.

What loose powder you using? I'm thinking of getting Clarins, my friend say not bad... I did try to search for the mini container but all doesn't comes with filter. If that is the case, will have to keep the sponge separately.

mahjongnine

Hi there!

Umm YL: are you a doctor/dermatologist? Sorry, it's just that a lot of info is miscontrued here and coz I'm a scientist it really irritates me to see nonsense being broadcasted. No offense.

SPF only refers to the amount of time you are allowed in the sun above normal, before you burn. It does NOT directly cause cancer.

There is chemical and physical barriers. If you choose suncreams with physical barriers, there is essentially NO reports of cancer. Even with chemical barriers, there is no direct cause of cancer.

It's becoz ple tend to stay in the sun longer when they think they have higher SPF to protect them, so they stay too long and burn. It has little to do with the suncream itself.

And diff companies have diff formulations. You have to see what goes in the tube. Any synthetic chemical can potentially be carcinogenous.

Basically SPF is good, but there is UVA, UVB, UVC, etc. And I find in Singapore the suncreams don't have full spectrun UV coverage so even though they are SPF 20, they are not the same SPF 20 as suncreams from other countries.

So there you go.

Have fun!

ylyl

Hi mahjongnine
I'm not a doctor/dermatologist. I just share what I know. That's what I was told when I was shopping for my cosmetics. I'm glad you are here to give us more information on this.

There are so many sunscreen in the market. if we want to get a sunscreen, how shall we choose one that suit us?
You mention synthetic chemical can be carcinogenous. What kind of synthetic is damaging? For everyday use, how much SPF is enough?
Sorry that I have so many questions.

Apple: I always use compact powder cos of convenience. It was till recently then I know that it actually contains oil so I also looking for loose powder. I just purchased a loose powder from Tony & Tina. Haven't try yet so can't give you my feedback.

yunn

Hi Apple

Why not try T. LeClerc, a Japanese rice bran loose powder, which does not clog pores at all. it's gentle enough to sensitive skin or acne-prone skin. it has so many colours which act as a skin tone corrector with different functions such as green cancel redness that caused by acne.

i think of using Tilleul (green) at first but finally i got my first T. LeClerc loose powder in Parme (purple), i found Parme is much much suitable to my reddenish acne skin with yellow tone.

Reason of getting T. LeClerc: Heard so many good reviews about this amazing loose powder, moreover i dream of it since last year, but due to no money then dint buy. Until last week i must have to buy because when i used back the Averine loose powder that lied for one-year time, it gave me swollen eyes, very horrible! now with T. LeClerc, no problems to my eyes & no obvious breakout, very happy with the results!

fates

Interesting thread!

Hi mahjongnine,

Anyway to calculate what SPF do I need, if say, I gonna spend 5-6 hours in the sun?

Need to buy toner, any good ones to recommend girls?

wygum

hi fates,
some of the makeup artists doesn't recommend that to use toner. They say that it is better to use spray such as evian.... to refreshen n to maintain moisture.
i had just started to replace my toner with that..
forgot the reasons to forgo toner...