A PLACE to recommend your favourite beauty products.

meekee

Jewel_thief,

It wasn't intended as a rascist joke and I apologise if the message suddenly made you realised how bad you smell. There is no need to rebutt me at the first sight of the message. You can relay your message in a more friendly manner.

Honeygem: You're right. I suppose there are always things to learn especially for a new and irregular forum user. Will amend the message. Thanks for the heads up!

jewel_thief27

There you go again Meekee! So much so for putting the message in a friendly manner. Firstly your initial msg was not put in a friendly manner for me to tell you nicely! And there is nothing 'not nice' about the msg I posted. FYI I dont smell! Well I guess your lastest posting just says how shallow your thoughts are for you to "attack" both Honeygem and myself.

meekee

Jewel_thief27,

My message was just to inform my correspondent why I use a body wash. Yes, I realised later that the analogy was offensive to the readers of the race but it wasn't intentional. My message to Honeygem was an apologetic one. You are obviously biased about the messages that I have posted by now but for goodness' sake, don't try to sow discord in a public forum.

Whether you smell or not is none of my business. But by telling me that you don't smell shows how minutely you going into the message and miss out on the big picture.

In explicitly commenting that I've passed a 'sick joke' and suggesting that I was a racist, you flamed the fires of social discrepency at the expense of the ignorance of a relatively new forum user. That is not nice and I do not like to correspond with manipulative and petty people like you. This will be the last time I reply to your accusations.

meekee

Hi Vone,

I use Christian Dior's Skinflash for the eye area. It is light and covers well. However, my dark eye circles are not really dark so if you really have panda eyes, you may want to test it out at the counters.

jewel_thief27

Well all I can mention is that your postings are contradictory. Earlier you mentioned that at least now I know I smell and when I said I dont smell you had to make a cheap remark about me missing out the big picture. Well you can justify as much you want cause I simply dont give a damn. And I dont think I made any accusations except pointing out that you made sensitive remarks about other ethnic groups.

vone

hi meekee,

thks 4 ur recommendations.
my dark eye circles can b quite obvious esp when i dun hv nuf sleep.
anyway, i'll go down 2 d counter n test it out. thks again.

meekee

Hi Vone,

If you have extremely dark eye circles, you may want to find out the cause and solve the problem at the root. However, I understand that it is not easy to cure but the next step is probably to refrain from applying strong concealers.

I used to lack sleep and my dark eye ring was quite bad too. Then, I bought a Jap concealer with strong coverage but it went awry! Because of the strength of coverage, the concealer 'dries up' my eye area and makes my fine lines very obvious. So here's something to note when shopping

bluesky

hi vone,

The tiny white thingy under your eyes are due to the eye creme you are using. Either you have used something too oily or have apply too much. I have dark circles and puffy eyes too.
Last month I bought this Mayaltha products and is very impress with their products. After using the eye serum, my dark circle and pruffiness reduces within a month of usage. Even some of my colleagues noticed and told me too. So i am faithfully using it hoping it will go away totally.
I bought the Mayaltha Better Bottom and Better Body. The Better Bottom is really good, I loss 2cm each off my thigh area after using for 3 weeks. I felt my bottom really becomes firm. It is so good i went back to buy another tube and bought the Better face to try. But haven't start using the Better Body as it is a mud mask, no time to do. I would also want to try the Better Breast, i heard it is good too.
Anybody using these products?

honeygem

I've got fine(I hope!) lines and circles that look like I've painted them on every night myself. My girlfriend said i should layer the yellow powdery eye thingie from ZA on my eyes. Let me tell you, I looked like some cake lapis - but my whole make up skills thing is another story. The product itself is not bad and it brightens up my eyes.

Tried numerous eye creams which only resulted in the white stuff under the eyes. So a friend recommended Bio-Essence eye cream - not bad but must be applied lightly. Too much and I'll get those cysts.

I also use Purederm cucumber eye pads (Watsons) which helps tighten the skin around the eyes.

But Im still looking for miracle creams!

vone

hi meekee,

i got hereditary dark eye circles. so d oni way is 2 conceal them so tat i dun look like a panda.
i m still looking 4 d perfect 1...
thks 4 d info anyway.

hi bluesky,

i aso thought tat it could b due 2 d eye creme tat i m using, but i hv stopped using it 4 abt 2 mths oledi, but d spots r still thr.

d mayaltha pdts which u r talking abt, i hv not heard of them at all. whr can i find more info on tat??

hi honeygem,

how do u find d bio-essence eye cream?? can it make ur dark eye circles less obvious?? if yes, then i wld consider buying it. if not, i m wasting $$ again coz i got 2 many eye creams oledi. hv spent a lot of $$ trying 2 make my dark circles less obvious. so now, i kinda of gave up n decided 2 try n conceal them.
like u, i m aso still looking 4 a miracle cream.

bluesky

hi vone,

eye creme which is oil-based is too oily for you. You should go for eye gel or serum. Sorry to tell you once you have the "yu bao" direct translate to eng as "oil bubble", cannot be remove liao unless you go laser away.
I have used quite a bit of eye stuff myself, Estee Lauder la, Clinique la, Priscriptive la, Origins la, even La Mer also used finish liao. The result not as good as this Mayaltha Better Eyes. Its sold at (TNS) The Natural Sources. go to the website at www.thenaturalsource.com to check out. It an Australian product. .com.sg for the singapore website. There are alot of branch around in Singapore mah.
Somebody mentioned where to get the Daintree products here. Its also from TNS.

meekee

If you want to buy products from The Natural Source, well, there is one outlet at Raffles Place on the first floor of Golden Shoe Carpark.

honeygem

Vone,

Like Meekee, I cant apply strong concealer on my eyes due to it's think/dry texture. This will accentuate any lines. However Im using

Za Transpowder For Eyes & Cheeks in yellow (YE11)

It sounds rather scary to apply 'Yellow' right? But it's a great substitute to concealers for me.

Firstly because it's texture is so light that it doesnt cake up around the eyes. Must layer/blend it very lightly too. The effect? Brighter eyes!

Best to try it off the counter/tester etc. May or may not work for you. It has so far been the only solution to my panda eyes.

Bio-essence is okay for fine lines, but I dont think it does wonders to my dark circles. By the sound of it, BlueSky may have one of the solutions...

Vone, Im still in the look-out for a miracle eye gel. Will keep you posted of my search. On my wedding day, I MUST look that I've actually slept all these years

vone

hi bluesky,

die liao lah, which means tat i got 2 live wif them oledi.
anyway, thks 4 ur recommendation.
aiya, i just went 2 wisma yesterday but i didn't pop in tns 2 c. will drop by again these few days n c c look look. thks again.

hi meekee,

thks 4 d info, but i wk at suntec leh, so a bit troublesome 2 visit thr.

hi honeygem,

will try d concealer when i finished mine. thks 4 ur recommendation.
tink i'll pop by tns n c 1st. if it's ok, then i'll try d pdt n update u on my status k. btw, dun hv 2 worry abt ur dark eye circles on ur wedding day. most prob it'll b covered n concealed under d thick makeup which u'll b wearing on tat day. mine disappear on my rom day coz my mu artist covered them up.
totally cannot c. hubby commented tat it's d 1st time he saw my w/o my panda eyes. men......

bluesky

I understand from some beautician that products can only diminish dark circles but cannot totally remove untill the colour same as face colour. But with regular treatment with the use of equipment in beauty salon will help to lighten faster. What do you guys think? I am looking around for a good treatment to go to speed things up.

hi vone,
if i am not wrong, if you go facial, can check out with them abt yr "yu bao". I think they have an equipment that help to burn off freckles and spot on the face. Maybe can use that to remove yr yu bao. I know once remove, it wouldn't come back liao. Unless it is heritary, like my cousin, who went laser 2 times liao still come back.
TNS has branch at Bugis Junction, United Square, Wisma, great world city, Junction 8, Raffles city and golden shoe. The products use naturopathic ingredients. The range of Mayaltha are all in serum form, so it works better than cream of gel. TNS have a sale at 2 Mayaltha items for $80. Its abt 30% off..

hi honeygem,
Dun worry abt dark circles on yr wedding day, cos the artist will cover up nicely for you. But if you have puffy eyes than must worry. Because puffy eyes cannot cover one. Must make sure sleep enough. If you have puffy eyes, you may want to try the Follow Me eye gel or something like that. One of my colleague swear by it. She once told me after applying to sleep, the next day can see puffiness reduce. I don't know because i haven't try it yet. I gave a little of my TNS Better eyes to her but she used a few days and said no effect on her leh, maybe cos she dun have dark circles, only puffy eyes. Maybe diff people got diff effect on products, my puffiness got reduce leh. So you guys can try and see whether it works for you....

honeygem

Morning ladies,

Thanks for all the useful advices. Thankfully as well, I dont suffer from puffy eyes - and that's one less problem.

For skin matters (mine's slightly oily/combination)I've decided yesterday to just go back religiously to my dermatologist at Park Lane. So far, he's managed to transform my marked skin to flawless with skin medications within 2 months. At half the price of most branded skincare. I think it is because they go to the root of the problem.

On that note, I'll ask about my eyes too...

Thanks girls, this is a great forum!

bluesky

hi honeygem,
Can your dermatologist help on big pores ans scar? Can recommend your doc to me? How much you have to pay?

blissbride

I have oily and sensitive skin. I cant used general products in the market, if I did, my face will have breakout immediately. Just last month I was tempted by loreal milk cleanser promotion(as many people said its cheap and good for removing make-up) That very night after washing I had 2 big pimples!

To cut my story short, I am trying to say I have very sensitive skin. My skin is also very oily whereby my face will usually shine after few hours of make-up. Though my skin is quite smooth, I need to put on simple makeup (powder) to look more lively.. and covering acne scars(Cos I am very curious and adventurous by nature... will still try any products I deem good:p aka beauty products sucker, so I have pimples once in a while)

Anyway I have tried out T LeClerc loose powder as recommended by Yunn... so far so good (2nd day). My skin not so shiny even after half day and I have yet to see any breakout (touch wood)

I am quite happy with the result... thought of posting it to share with those who have the same problem as mine may consider trying it as well.
( not so sure if in the long run will clog my pores etc or not though)

Should I meet any 'mishap' I will report it immediately too !

honeygem

Bluesky,

New consultation will cost $40 excl. medications. Subsequent ones (should you require long term treatment) will be around $20 or so...

Friends commented how my skin improved greatly. Like you, I had dark pimple marks and slight scars here and there on my face. About two months, the marks disappeared and my skin was so much smoother. The most expensive cream he prescribed me was $30!!! And advised not to add other beauty products where possible.

From then on, I've not returned to any beauty counters. Just the dermatologist and the once a month facial.

Also, speak to him (he's the only doc in the clinic) about all your worries. And call before you visit him as I always see a long queue.

I think dermatologists should be given a go - based on the fact that they are qualified to prescribe what's best for your skin. Without the brands and labels.

New City Skin Clinic Pte Ltd
35 Selegie Rd #03-02 Parklane Shopping Mall
Singapore 188307
General Enquiries: 63383491

honeygem

And oh, I think he's rather affordable just because he's not located at Mount E hospital or prestigious skin centres. So lower rent costs?? haha

I dont think it compromises the quality of service. For my case anyway.

jasminetea

Hi Honeygem,

I would like to check with you.

Do your dermatologist gave you skin care products eg. cleansing milk to use as well? Do you have to take a lot of mediciation?

Actually, I would like to go to a detmatogloist to tell me what is the root of my problem too. But I do not like to take oral mediciations. That is why until now I haven't went to one.

Cheers, jasminetea

honeygem

Jasminetea, I think it depends on what your problems are. For my case which doesnt involve acne just pimples and scars, he prescribed trial medications (to see how your skin reacts to it).

A medicated facial wash ($5-$8), pimple cream in a trial case and another medication (cant remember the name for the life of me)that smoothens skin and lightens scars as well ($30).

They are all appplied externally.

After two months, I only kept to the skin smoother (lazy lah, this and that on the face) and stopped completely after two more months. My skin's been good after that since.

Im actually going to start another regime with the doc. No more shortcuts. Have an appt with him at 4pm today. So will let you know what that medication is called. However, it is by prescription only.

honeygem

I went to a dermatologist when I read a few years back that ex MTV girl, Nadya Huttagalong(sp??) goes to hers religiously. Best decision I've made actually.

jasminetea

Hi Honeygem,

Thank for this info!
I do not have acne either, but recently got breakout and rashes. Went to a GP and it is slightly better. But I thought it might be good to let a dermatologist confirmed my skin type.

It is 'cos everytime I went to different counters, I will hear different comments about my complexion. Some said dry, some said oily, some said good and some said combination?
Make me very confused although I personally feel that I shd belong to combination category. I'm quite sick to try and try different product too.

So if a dermatologist can confirm with me, I would feel better heeee...

By the way, what is his operation hour like?

vone

hi bluesky,

i gave up on my facial liao. tis sun i going 4 d last 1, after tat, prob not signing up wif them oledi. mine is d infamous bioskin, so i'll hv 2 look around 4 another 1 oledi. do u hv any recommendations??
anyway, i tink i'll visit tns n c how. thks 4 ur recommendation.

honeygem,

thks very much 4 ur recommendations.
i aso hv some pimples n scars on my face which i can nvr seem 2 get rid of. mayb i'll go 2 ur dermatologist n c him. tink it can save me a LOT of $$. will update u gals after i c him k. btw, do we hv 2 tell him abt who recommended us??

bluesky

hi honeygem,

My face actually have open pore because got acne during teenage time. So only got uneven skin. Now start to have a littke brown spot (freckles). Do you think he can help? Does he use any equipment to test the skin or just mainly give products to use. How long does the whole consultation takes?

bluesky

hi vone,
Bioskin not gd? I thought of checking out their facial. I used to go Modern Beauty. Got stuck with them for 5to6 yrs liao. At last finish the last tixs last week. Don't go near them, i have terrible experience with them.
Me also looking around for a place to go facial. 2 mths ago went to Haach for 1st time trial. find them ok only. Went to Clara Wellness at Pagoda Street last mth, not bad. Thought of going again cos they gave me a voucher, pay 2 for 1 treatment.
Think nowaday, going to a dermatologist is starting to be a trend. People start to realise they are also doctor. And going to them is better than going to a beautician. I am also tempted to try.

vone

hi bluesky,

bioskin is not 2 bad. initally, when i 1st went thr, my skin condition improved a lot. then they start 2 hard sell a lot, so i often end up buying a lot of their pdts n services. (i veri soft hearted 1)
u can find out more in d 'bioskin' n 'which beauty salons 2 avoid' threads. in addition, as i dun go thr regularly due 2 my schedule, my pimples come back again. thus i tink tat d cause of my pimple prob is not solved yet.

after tinking thru, i tink i better go 2 d root of my pimple prob n settled it once n 4 all. it's aso a better solution 4 my pockets.

baby5556

hi i have terrible exp with haach also and now i have same tots as jasminetea...., wanna to find the roots of the probs....

can i have the contact of a dermatologist???

any one there can help?

vone

hi bb5556,

honeygem oledi posted d contacts of her dermatologist at 11.40am today in tis thread. can find it??

bluesky

hi vone, bb5556, jasminetea,

Last time when i have a lot of pimples, i used Netrogena (spelling?) soap for acne-prone skin. After a while my pimples clear up. Recently i recommend my friend to use it. She also got the same problem and her face very oily. She told me that last time when she go to NSC, the doctor also recommend her to use that. After hearing my experience, she just started using the soap, abt 1 week liao. Dun know whether you all are keen abt it

vone

hi bluesky,

tried oledi but no use. d oni thing tat it did 4 me was 2 dried up my face so much tat i looked like a dried prune.

yunn

Hi bliss

glad 2 hear tt. don think T.Le.Clerc'll clog pores cz it's natural. but then i use Panco Romantic Loose Powder which really absorp oil & wont clog pores also cz it's not necessary 2 remove it by make-up remover. rinsing wit cleanser is enough. btw compact foundation cause congested skin

honeygem

On thing here in Singapore that I dont agree with is the hard sell on facial packages. I mean, how would you know whether that product suits you if they try to sign you up for thousands of dollars a treatment at the first go?

Maybe because I come from a marketing background and so, Im a bit sceptical with hard sell or branded labels.

Bottomline is, I think it comes down to what works for you and what's not.

To me (personally - let me stress this as I dont want to get flamed by this post), when you are sick, you go to a doctor right? Someone who knows what he or she is talking about. Same with skin problems. Go to a qualified person. Not a beauty consultant who sells products to you, earn commisions etc for things that may or may not work for you...

Beauty products may work on some people, or not so great with the other camp. In the end, it's really subjective.

I know some girls would go for the expensive La Mer (sp??) products for the skin. There are also other camps who prefer the cheap 'medical' way.

*sigh* I've stayed toooo long in this marketing business....

honeygem

Bluesky,
Hours are between 10-5pm I think. Not sure. But I think they do close on either Tuesday or Thursday. No weekends.

Find a dermatologist that you are comfortable with. It doesnt have to be the one I recommended.

For me, they make more sense than beauty consultants. Because none of these girls ever gave the same 'diagnosis' of my skin. Well except for my beautician that I trust. hehe.

honeygem

Bluesky, consultation takes as long as you want it. Mine wasnt even more than half hour. You have to be smart and ask sure you ask the RIGHT questions. Like:

1) If I stop the medication/products, would the bad state returns etc?

Something like that....

Just email me bluesky. I may be a bit unlucky when it comes to panda eye problems, I've been pretty lucky with the skin. My friends have been converted too. Even with the beautician Im with.

Im sorry of I have too strong a view when it comes to beauty consultants - I've had terrible experiences with them selling. Turned me off.

wygum

hi yunn,
thanks for your info... will check it out...

hi jasminetea,
thanks... got to consider Dermatics or panco as recommended by yunn....

honeygem

Ping Ping, they are treatment products by big named pharmaceuticals like Pitzer. Schering etc. Not skincare brands like Sothy's,Bellawave etc used in beauty salons. The treatment that I currently use is Skinoren by Schering (prescribed).

If you would like to know more about what dermatologist really do - check this link

Your skin and your dermatologist.
http://www.aad.org/pamphlets/yourskin.html
http://dermnetnz.org/dermatologist.html

or google it for research.

I have nothing against beauty salons - I do go to one every month. But I think we girls should be more educated in our beauty choices - not just falling for advertisements. Only then, could we make more informed decisions and buys.

In this we can save money too!!

freeangel95

Hi Honeygem,

I have a sensitive skin, I try many type of beauty product but can't suit me.
(once apply, rashes appear.)
Do u think d doc tat u recommend can help me?

wygum

hi dongle,
sorry for the late reply... can get daintree from the natural source. location wisma basement near to charles & keith, or bugis, or Raffles city opp to Polo Ralph.... This is the few stores that i had went before....

sweetsecret

i have been using a nipple cream from japan tat is formulated to help me regain the natural pink colour of your nipples gradually through regular application. All natural ingredients.

i love it so much, i no longer see my brown n ugly nipple....