88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

Hi Ladies..

Understand that Corkage for the Hard liquor is waive.

But may I know if any of u asked for waiver of corkage charges for the wine also?? Coz they indicated on the brochure that they charge Corkage $20 per bottle for the wine, which can add up to quite a sum of $$.

Hi vivien,
I cun remember abt my package liao, and the contract is not with me now. Think should be able to waive the corkage chg lah. If they really want to chg me, i'm not serving wine then, cos i hv tons of liquor neh.....

Vivien? Not the same Vivian right? Kekee...
Initally, i thot Vivian had found us.

No, there was no charges on corkages for wine and liquor. We bought in 2 cartons of red wine, and there wasn't any unless they changed their package. But, not supposed to bring in duty-free items

I am finalising my restaurant. And dragon gate is one of them.

Is there any negative comments that you heard with dragon gate?

Did you gals get any extra perks?

Hi Ocean/Questy,

Seems like I need to talk to the Banquet Mgr personally. Coz the Inital meetup was with this lady called Ivy, so when we asked her about the corkage for wine.. she said got a charge but if we wanted to confirm then she will check with her Mgr see if can waive or charge us a Lump sum..

I won't be taking the Heart-shape candles , any suggestions what I should change it to.. :P Another food voucher??

Shanice, guess you can read on the earlier thread posted by <font color="0000ff">okeanosmao</font> where there was some problems she had faced on the actual day.

I had previously ate at Dragon Gate and i find that the food was not very hot. But that was sometimes ago and i did feedback to their management.

Understand that Dragon Gate is currently undergoing some renovation, is it true??? If that the case, it might be quite okay pertaining to the interior deco.

Vivien, dun noe who is this Ivy. Yes i think it is better you talked to the Restaurant Mgr. unless they had change their pricing...

Hi shanice,
For me, the extra perks l've got is a newly renovated restauarant and good food! he....! sorry not sure of dragon gate banquet hoh, 88 restaurant and dragon gate r under teh same group, the package is roughly the same rgt?

Hi vivien,
Think it's better get to the manager directly, we also not sure. But, i think should be able to waive off the cockage fee, just bargain hard k. I must go chk my package liao....

Questy, so now ur new hse is your chalet house lor!!
That is wat happend to my till i customary on Feb'04!!

For me, i stay with my hubby. Lucky in-laws not staying with us!
Wow, urs still got a room for them? So nice of u!! Good gal!!

Vivien, just remem that we forgot to answer another of ur qn regarding the candles. I never thot of changing leh!
Most of my guests told me it is abit different lor!! But if u order more tables, aren't u be given free voucher too??

Hi Ocean,

That time the lady told us that we will be given $300 food voucher if we signed more than 30 tables. But since I wont be taking the candles so was thinking of what other things we can exchange

err.. the candles are special.. but then we had other friends who had their wedding held in Orient Ocean/River city b4 so it's wont be special for us already..kekeke.. :P

Any idea if I wanted to change my dishes, do I do it before I signed the package with them.. or after I signed the package?Coz some food might need to top up $$ rite?

Hi ocean,
it's my chalet but i'm it's cleaning maid! ha...! guess most of us r doing the same thing, hving our own house has more assurance for us. FYI, my MIL already wanted the house keys from her son, so "automatic"! no choice loh, cos hubby is her only child. just hope she wun nag at me, or else i wun go home, he....!

Hi vivien,
the candles cost abt $50+ on rgt? what can u chg leh?

u can try their original dishes first, then chg it after the food tasting, cos they may actually taste good...... Mayb some food like whole pig or lobster needs topping up, the rest like chging chicken to duck need no top-up rgt?

Hi gals! How r u?

Juz came back fr Shanghai yesterday. I was stunned to c Vivien's name here.Thought tat Vivian had found this thread.This vivien not our vivian rite?

Vivien, so instd of lighting the candles together, ur hubby light up the candles, the room is dark. Theen u blow the candles, the room brighten, and u make a wish lor!!
So then it will be special and different.

Questy, no choice lah!! Afterall, tat is our hse!! So ur MIL got a set of keys. Hope she dun hv the habbit of goin to ur hse without informing... It wld be embarrassing if u r wearing something sexy
and she walked in!!
Kekkee...

Gigi, u went Shanghai for biz trip of holiday? Shanghai is a nice place but jus tat i very scared of their road. Everybody, be it vehicles or pedristrian, all drive/cross the road like nobody biz!!

Hahaa... i had the same reaction when i saw Vivien's name!! Hope she dun find us... Maybe she is readin this thread...

Halo..

Hehe.. didn't know my Nick can cause such an impact to u all..kekekek.. :P

If none of us mentioned to her that we are in this thread, I dun think she will know lor..

But sometimes it is also good that she read the threads.. then she will know that we are in contacts and wont anyhow do the banquet..cause else we will help to 'promote' over the net for them.. :P

Thanks for the suggestion on the candles..but think most probably we will leave it out... coz really felt funny lighting the candles in front of so many ppl..

I had not spoke to any of the Banquet Mgr yet.. which one is easier to bargain with? Vivian or Donny?

Hi Ocean,
My MIL jsut come as and when she wants! nightmare! there's once she cane in the morning, and i tot someone broke into our house! Since u dun hv the pblm yet, must tell ur huby abt ur cocern and must ask ur MIL to call beofre she comes, dun end up like me, must wrap in blanket to meet her, cos my nighty is very low cut ones! ha...! dun care, so as to let her knw she's invading into my private life, he...!

Hope vivien the manager is not reading this thread, cos dun dare to voice out out views, later kana takan ah, he...!

Hi vivien,
ur nick does gv me a fright when i first saw it, tot the manager found the thread. She told me someone reviewed the thread to her, but she and Donny cun get in, ha....! No lah, dun let her come in, will be difficult to hv true comments of the restaurant.

U should start to chat with vivien first, she's quite easy to chat with, i'm not veyr sure if can bargain with Donny, mayb u can try chat to both on phone first?

Questy, no worry, my MIL dun hv my hse keys, but my mum have. My mum dun really bother to come to my hse, cos it is abit of distance.

One suggestion is that can u lock ur main door from inside? I had the habbit of locking the ledge from inside when my hubby already back, or when both of us r home. So even if anyone got keys, they also cannot come in!!

I really cant imagine if my MIL was given the keys and suddenly appeared in my hse, cos i usually wear very little
at home. It would gave me a
88659.gif
fright...

Vivien, i think it is not so nice if they noe abt this thread. We cannot really voice out totally especially if ur wedding not over yet.

But i think now, even if they noe abt this thread, dun think they will dropby cos most of us wld not want them to be here!

Hi ocean,
U so lucky! My MIL jsut went over to my house to clean up and even washed my toilet, i wonder what her kaypo sisters r going to say abt me if she go and promote her service, cannot tahan her man! I really regret not to hv a latch at my door, moreover i cun say anything cos hubby also cun say much, just bare with it loh, next time got chance then complain to her sister-in-law, hope the pblm can solved eventually.

Ha.....! vivien the manager's kind of curious abt what we've said in this thread, but i just tell her we r promoting her to other brides, mayb we must get comission from them liao, he.....!

Hi ocean, i went there for holiday w my mom.Frankly speaking, i wont lik the plc. V Sian lor, too much walking..

Hi Questy, dun worry lah, i dont tink Vivian and Donny got the time to enter this thread. If got comission, count me in too, ok? Hehehe..

Hi Vivien, ur 'big' name really sarced us at first, cuz we never expect this name to appear in this thread. Anyway, if u wan a gd bargain, look for vivian should b better, cuz she more 'softhearted' lor.

Well, Questy, if u think in a positive way, u got pple to help u to clean the hse.
I think the worst area to clean is toilet. No matter how i clean, still very dirty. So, kekee..
Jus tat maybe can nicely tell ur MIL to give u a call if she wanna to pop by...

Gigi, hope they dun noe lah... Actually, i did mentioned last time to Vivian and even Helen from HQ tat i did comment abt them on Internet. But I never tell them which website. This is hopin tat they will do things nice nice for my wedding lor!!

Hi ocean,
My MIL will nv remember one, sure dun bother. tell u what, her action is causing us to hv a big fight again. So sian neh.....

<font color="aa00aa">Questy</font>, so ur hse dun hv the latch lor? Then it is really not very nice to install now hor!!
I really dun noe wat i do if i am in ur situation.....

Nevermind lah, try not to think abt it now, jus concentrate on ur wedding!

hello gals...
juz need to check with u all how long does them takes to print the invitation cards??
anyone here printed already??

Hi ocean,
When my grandma heard tat i dun hv a latch, she wanted me to install one, jsut the one with a chain, cos my dad knws how to do it. She said it's for personal safety if hubby's working and i'm alone at home. It's actually quite dangerous cos if we accidently left our keys outside, anybody can come in no effort, so this can be my reason loh. Actually we told the kaypo anties tat we dun need her to come clean the house for us, she did not appear this week leh, ha...! hope she can be more auto loh, he...!

Hi mei mei,
i not very sure, but i knw they'll send u a copy for u to cmf before mass printing, i dun think will tk long, perhaps 1 week?

Er... just a little feedback on Dragon Gate. Never attended a banquet there before but was walking by while a couple was having their wedding. The reception table is directly in front of this banner advertising their per table cost for wedding at $438. I think it is not very nice but that's just my feeling.

hi zonkkie..
didnt like dragon gate went there to see and dun like the pillar.. so my dinner will be at 88 restaurant and b4 i confirm i ask them is it the 4 restaurant under the same management.. luckily she reply me they're under the same company but different management lor.. hehe

hi zonkkie..
didnt like dragon gate went there to see and dun like the pillar.. so my dinner will be at 88 restaurant and b4 i confirm i ask them is it the 4 restaurant under the same management.. luckily she reply me they're under the same company but different management lor.. hehe

Zonkkie, actually i think you can ask the Restaurant Mgr to remove the pricing away!! I agreed that it is really not nice, in fact, to me, i think it is an insult
!

That reminded me of another thing to tell those who are going to have their wedding at 88 restaurant. It didn't strike me till tat time when we went for the food tasting.

As my food tasting was near CNY, the restaurant had some promo and they usually put the promotion banner outside their restaurant. It was lucky that my family are asking about how come the food is so much better than the wedding menu
, and even cheaper. So i asked Vivian if the new promo/price lists will be put outside the restaurant on my wedding day! And the answer i got is YES!

Thus, pls remember to ask Vivian to remove all Menus/Pricing banner that they usually put outside on your wedding day, esp if you are having the whole hall by yourself!

Questy, since ur dad know how to do it hor, my advice is that u better buy one to install. Well, not for anything else, i think safety is very impt. Remember i used to pass the keys to Contractor, though i already change lock, but you jus never know!

By the way, my lock is those that c/w a latch and a chain. So usually, when both hubby and i home, i will latch the door. So far, had not used the chain yet!
At least it will save you some surprise visits!

Mei Mei, the printing of the cards is quite fast. But i think it is better to give at least 2 weeks time frame for them to print.

Juz my point of view on 88 restn.

1. Service was very very bad! Waiters &amp; waitress kept rushing tthe guests to clear the dish.
2. 2 to 3 dishes come at one shot.
3. Food not to good as well, prawns not fresh, steam fish got fishy smell.
4. Guests still having their dessert but they oredi off the lights at the end of the restn &amp; the stage.

1st time I attended a wedding dinner that finishes as early as 10pm. ( it started at 8.45pm )

Hi stupy,
May i knw when u attend end this wedding? cos it seemed like this is the first negative posting, we can ask our banquet manager to clarify these pblms. thanks!

Hi ocean,
Hei, i knw ur friend from the other thread leh, she said u r at 88 restaurant and u took master Foong as ur AD photographer. I'm also planning to get him, is he good?

Questy, r u Poshies' neighbour?
She was asking me about 88 &amp; Master Foong.

Stupy, oh, that was bad!! I guess the bride &amp; groom must always reminded them to be polite &amp; not to rush the dish. For my case, the waitress &amp; waiter r ok. I had 2 captians for VIP tables. Vivian and the guy, Donny, i think, are there too. Maybe because i liase with HQ first.

Inside my contract, i even got <font color="ff0000">"Food must be hot!"</font> written down.
This is because i remember last time i ate at Dragon Gate, the food was not even warm and it tasted not good!

For the rest, since there is such bad feedback, better remind Vivian/Donny to provide good service &amp; not to rush to serve the dishes!!

Questy &amp; Ocean - Ive attended the dinner juz this year Mar. I know very clearly coz it actually falls on my birthday. Some of my fren who attended the same banquet wanted to celebrate my birthday at the same time but see them rushing the quests like mad so we end up going elsewhere since it was still so early.
Anyway, it's juz my point of view &amp; experience with them recently,but at the end, you must be comfortable yourself, dun get affected by my view.

Hi ocean,
yea yea, i'm poshies neighbour, it's such a small world! he....! r u also in our neighbourhood? I think Master Foong is busy with another assignment liao, so i'm getting Kai as my AD. I'll also feedback to vivien abt this incident and make them promise me such things wun happen, he...!

Hi stupy,
Thks for informing us, i'll plot my spies all over the restaurant, if such things happened, i'll be able to spot it immediately and mk changes to it.

<font color="aa00aa">Questy</font>, u still got spies around?? Hahhaaa....
I think it was really nice of <font color="ff6000">Stupy</font> to let all the brides/grooms who will be taking 88 know about this so that they can pre-warn the coordinator again!

So <font color="aa00aa">Questy</font>, you are <font color="0000ff">Poshies</font>'s neighbour. What a small world!!
How i wish i can find my neighbour here. Are you all staying at the same floor?
i not in the same neighbourhood. I noe <font color="0000ff">Poshies</font> cos our customary is on the same month, in fact, on the same day!!

Hi Ocean,
He...! Hving spies can mk minimise thnigs from going wrong mah, he..!

Yea, i'm poshies neighbour, we r not exactly at the same blk, but in the same estate. ur customery date is my birthday neh, he......! so we r all kind of linked in once way, he.....!

Hi Questy..

It's me again.. :P

We did mentioned to Vivian regarding the rushing and not so hot food.She said that sometimes it's the couple they themselves wanted to finish the banquet fast.So of coz they will need to rush abit.as for the not so hot food.. she said quite impossible.. coz they are not those hotel where they had the central kitchen which prepare for all the banquet hall...

Well.. that's wat she said lar.. but since Stupy had pointed out such a point.. maybe u really need helps to keep a lookout during the banquet lor..if things dun turn out well.. then at least when payment time.. can argue abit.. then ask for discount..kekekek.. :P

Oh really, <font color="aa00aa">Questy</font>? It is actually your birthdate?
What a conincident!!

<font color="ff6000">Vivien</font>, really Vivian said that it is not possible that the food is not so hot?
Actually, you come to think about it. Since the food are cooked in mass production, the food is bound to be not so hot when it is served.

For my wedding, even in my contract, it is stated that Food had to be hot. But at the end, it is still not very very hot. However,i guess it is better than luke warm. So do remind Vivian again even if she told you not possible.

Hi vivien,
Actually the aircon there is quite strong, so the food is cooled abit when serving? the food we ate at several occasion is not very very hot type, just normal loh. I think i'll ask my brother to monitor the serving process, if they r too fast, we'll ask them to slow down. I rather be a happy bride, dun want to bother abt the serving of food, he....! lazy neh!

can discount one meh? he....! but i think my MIL will think of thousands of reasons to get a discount, he....!

Hi ocean,
he...! yea, it's my birthday neh.

hi ladies...
hw the preparation goin on??
as for me i should be goin for food tastin in july
so any problem i'll juz tell vivian or donny =).. PS taken last week so now crossin fingers hope that the photos will turn out good
will be able to know this sun.. hehe
oh ya.. i juz fax the particulars for them to print the invitation cards :p

I just went to see 88 Restaurant and Dragon Gate. One good thing about Dragon Gate is that they have projector whereas 88 do not have. Want to have the projector to put up my wedding pictures (don't intend to put the album out) and also some shots on what happened on the morning of my AD.
Anyone know where can I rent/borrow a projector? Still deciding on either one of the restaurant... headache...

Hi mei mei,
i now trying to complete my guest list, then will knw how many cards to print. Ur wedding in oct rgt? so soon food tasting liao ah?

my PS in Aug, still so fat, trying to slim down, he....!

Hi butter,
i heard from vivien tat there's no place to put the projector, hv to put it outside the toilet door if i'm not wrong. i also want to put up my pics, but since no projector, so i dun bother liao. why dun u go makan at both restaurant, and chk out the service urself, it does helps u in choosing the restaurant....

Hello Questy
So sad to hear that they have no place to put up the projector. I not only want to use it to show my pics, and also to show what happened in the morning...
Sigh... so now, it's either a change of venue or make do without the projector... really can't have the best of both world...

Hi butter,
no choice loh, just show them the album. BTW, the guest are there for "gathering", mayb not many of them, esp the elder ones would appreciate our hard work, so might well do without it loh. They'll be busy chatting instead of looking at the projection. Hope this will let u feel less sad, he...! When is ur AD? i can share my experience with u after my AD in Oct. Dun be sad if u even tually choose 88 reataurant k, he...!

Hello Questy
Feel a bit better after you "console" me... I think we will be choosing 88 Restaurant coz it's pillar-free and Vivian did mentioned that the 4 fountain in front of the restaurant will be on during the AD.
That means, my "plan" for all the slides show and stuff are gone...

Wow! Your AD is so soon... For me... it will be next year... around April/May... You went for your PS already? Can share the pictures with me? =) Which BS did you go to?

Please share your experience with me after your AD!!! None of my close friends are married yet... I am the 1st among them... So, a bit of "don't know what I should do next". Hee hee...

hi butter
me oso book 88 coz like the fountain.. hehe will have a nice place to take pics
me oso in oct can also share my experience with u afer my wedding

as for the BS.. u can look around first..
my ps taken nw waitin to select photos on sunday
but got a sample pic taken from my photographer

Hello Mei Mei,
Which BS did you go to? Can share your pic with me? You can email me at [email protected].

Is Oct the lunar eighth month? So many people getting married.. hee hee... Did you change anything on the menu? I still don't understand why every wedding dinner has the mee or rice portion... I want to change it... but no sure what is nice...

hi butter
my BS is universal bridal studio at toa payoh
ya Oct is the lunar eighth month =) as for the menu i didnt change coz its alrite to me
sent liao ;)

Hi Mei Mei...
Saw your pic liao... You look very sweet... Think your hubby is something like my FH... skinny skinny, small size one... hee hee...

Did you have fun during your PS? Did you go outdoor? If so, where did you go? Is your BS good? How much you paid for the package? (sorry to ask so many questions :þ)

I am afraid that I won't have much fun during my PS coz my FH not those "sporting" kind... a bit stiff kind... sigh...

I will email you a pic I taken with him this year Feb and you will know what I mean...

Hi butter,
He...! actually i hv no idea of projecting my pics for the guest until vivien told me they dun hv tat service, so i also cun be bothered abt it, ha.....! I also didn't knw the fountain will be on until i went there for makan for the XX tmie, ha....1 i super blur and only concern for the food. I think better dun chg the rice or noodle, if not so "big-eater" will not feel full at the end, and will start to say u stingy on food portion ah, he....! just my opnion hoh.... sure sure, i'll share my experience with u. I still got 4 mths for my AD, i still dun feel anything leh, he...! My AD is in chinese ninth mth leh, mayb bcos it's at the end of oct.

I'm with J&amp;C, hvn tk PS yet, will only tk in Aug, I got the promo package for $2988. Actually the choosing of BS depends on individual, if u can click with the designer, then u'll feel happy with them. Like what mei mei said, go chk out at the BS, u can see the feel the difference. One thing when u go to any BS, tk a look at their sample photos, the ones they let the couple choose, if the photos are what u like, then u can consider them, and the gowns are nearly the same for the BS, he...! hopes this helps.

I also dun knw how my hubby will b at the PS, but i'll mk him laugh till he can relax infront of camera, ha...! actually a good photographer can capture the couple when they r at the most natural, so it'll still turn out nice, so dun worry k.....