88 Restaurant / Dragon Gate Restaurant

lings

hi elmo
i'm taking 25+2 reserve tables.. so abt the same lor.. vivian is always busy and its quite hard to find her also.. mayb u can look for donny the restaurant manager.. he's good too..
as for the package there's nothing to negotiating but mayb u can ask for more wedding cards lor hehe and btw the chocolate they give to the guests rite.. they've change to the normal red & white to gold ones.. look better

dun worry ur fiance doesnt seem to concern.. mayb he's also stress out in his work.. my hubby is so stress abt his work that i'll source for the wedding things and he pays.. haha but of coz we did discuss b4 we confirm lor..
so juz enjoy the process 1st.. take care

bibien

Hi Elmo..

Think 28 tables is still alrite..too empty also not very nice.. I booked 30+2 reserve.. if really maximise.. will be super cramp..

U should go down and take a look.. The deco is quite nice.. pillarless.. crystal lights.. and the changing room is the biggest of all the restaurants which I had visited..(fyi.. I went to Qianxi/River city/dragon gate) :p

The perks..think the restn had covered most of the items which we will need.. free printing of cards, free-flow beer, corkage waive for hard liquor and wine..we didn't really bargain much...only that we wanted a big VIP table which can sit 13 pax..

Vivian is quite nice to talk to.. just make an appointment with her.. dun think she will reject u..

lings

hi gals...
this thread seems to be dead for a long time liao leh... hehe... btw i'm addin my tables to 31+2.. will be goin to take the new floor plan and the application form for the hotel room :p

hw abt u all?? busy with the preparations???

bluey

hi kaeli,

I oso sign up with Dragon Gate... my AD is on 28-05-05...

do let me knw on how ur wedding goes? ok?

thanks...

troubles

my AD is drawing near, very anxious now!!! Can i ask, how long before AD should i go choose my gowns? Cuz I'll only be collecting my pictures on 2.11.04.

And can anybody advise me on Guo Da Li? Wedding Cake? Make up Artist? AD photographer?

I'm really troubled and confused!!!

stanamy

Hi Kaeli,

I think you should choose your gowns asap! There are just 2 months left and the BS will probably need to do alterations. Maybe you can ask if they are bringing in new gowns soon and you can schedule an appt after the gowns arrive.

As for make up artist, your BS package should include make up artist's service on AD. If your package does not include AD photographer, you can go check out the threads on photography.

With regards to GDL, it will be best for parents from both sides to discuss this. You can then decide on what to order and choose an auspicious date.

troubles

thanks puppy for ur help,

cuz my BS is johor one so can't get their MUA, Now i'm afraid if i choose gown den when date draws near that time got new gowns arrive again den how?

But i contacted one MUA, she say better choose my gown first den go for her trial for better visuality.

I think i'm really stressed out!!

silhouette

Dear Hoshi5

Care to share with me your photos sd well as I am planning to have my wedding at DG. Did you get a florist to do the decor for you?

stanamy

kaeli, you are welcome!

I think you should set a deadline for yourself to choose the gowns. You cannot afford to be fickle-minded cos' not much time left.

I agree with the MUA, especially on the EG colour. He or she can better decide on the shades to use and hairstyle.

Dun be too stressed. You just need to start the ball rolling. I am no expert in planning but most willing to lend a 'listening ear' anytime.

troubles

hi puppy,

thanks for ur advice, so when do u think is the latest i can afford to go choose my gown?

And other than sitting and waiting what do u think i can do?

stanamy

hi kaeli,

i think you should decide on your gowns asap. unless you are confident you can find something you like in a later shipment, if any.

it is also time to look at your guest list, if you have not. if you are inviting relatives or friends from overseas, you need to inform them earlier.

I sent my invites to friends and colleagues about one and a half month before AD. so it depends on your preference.

troubles

thanks so much for your advise , puppy

by thw way, i've not even prepared my guest name list yet!!! Sigh...........

joeyeu

I am new here, just want to get same comments on dragongate, i have book ballroom A for my wedding banquet for next year june. However saw some comments saying about their emcee, is it that bad...please comment on their food and the service if somebody do have experience before..thank You..!!

mandyray

Hi Joey,

I have book their ballroom next year Sept 05 too..
For Emcee, why dun you arrange one of your good friends to help?? IT will have more personal touch.

I received feedbacks that their food is very good, so should be ok..

What i have in mind will be the deco and i hate their backdrop.. So I'm thinking of adding deco, i.e. some flowers deco to the ballroom, around the stage and the reception area. I may also be requesting them to remove the silly backdrop.

piggygal17

Hi everybody,

Just went to dragongate for wedding dinner yesterday, was very disappointed with their food. Originally we thought that their food should be quite nice, but to our surprise, it turn out to be totally opposite. The fish they serve is miserably small, and very salty as well. After having the dinner, I felt very thirsty, probably due to the MSG they added in.

The most funny thing is during the march-in, the fake pink flowers stands which comes with candles pot are not lighted. Causing the whole match-in very dark and dull..

I hope that I will not disappoint those that just book with them, but just my personal point of views. Maybe it is a weekday event and it makes abit of difference. The whole event simply make me feels like having a 7th luaner mth dinner.

joeyeu

Oh no Doris, ya you make me feel a bit regret..hmmm..really that bad..scare lehzz..hehe..i hate their backdrop also and i have requested them to change the colour of the seat covers as well in the questionaire,haha...i dun like all in white, hope to have different themes..for eg, either blue or ivory..hmm...hope everything is fine..pray hard..

hoshi5

held my dinner at DG early tis yr...
overall, food's quite ok... but DO NOT take their emcee.... very lor-soh, and uncle....!!
For my dinner, my sisters helped to decorate the reception table very nicely... and all the guests commented tat it's very unique.
We also screened a photo montage, but some of the guests could not see as they were blocked by the big pillars... we took the bigger ballroom and had over 50 tables...
My MUA also complained that the lighting in the makeup room is very poor.... But luckily everything was make up for by my beautiful gowns and grand entrance.... have to walk a long way to the stage...

Overall, DG is value for money lor... so don't expect too much..

joeyeu

Hi Hoshi5, i saw your picture you put up showing your recept table...realli look nice and unique, those flowers you brought there yourself or its from DG? haha, i decided not to take their emcee le. i like the big ballroom, nore grand , much more better than the smaller 1 but too bad i onli gt around 30 tables so i can onli book the smaller 1..hmm..hope everything turns up to be fine next year..

Ray, which package you taking for their food? 488, 538 or 638?

mandyray

Hi Joey,

I took the 488 package. AFter testing of food, maybe will ask them to change some dishes..

I like the bigger ballroom as well, but I only have most 40 tables.. I have also book the VIP rooms, just in case.

My husband has decided to put all his rowdy friends in the VIP room, so that the rest of the elders will not be unhappy about the rowdy crowd.

I rem I saw some comments that the food is salty. We can feedback this to them and ask them to save their salt... :p

Just need to rem that, on the actual day, is a day for the parents and elders. We just need to be there, be pretty and smile... haha.. Cos we can't pleased everyone..

joeyeu

i need to ask if anybody here intends to engage a florist to decorate dragongate ballroom, because i find it rather plain coz i dun think they will provide the centrepiece for all the guest tables..all are in white except for the napkins which are in pink..I would like to have a different colour theme..any advise or comments?

celtricia

hi gals...

Have a weekend pkg signed with 88 and want to let go due to some family problems. It is for a weekend in June 05 but can change to other dates. However there is no food tasting. If interested, can mail to [email protected]

Thanksz.

joeyeu

Hi all, please let me noe if someone here is interested to have your wedding held in dragongate in june05. Already paid deposit of $1k however gt another more desired place of having my dinner..will discuss more about the packages after any1 confirm with me..

katherine_k

I am interested in the offer but i am looking ard 20 tables only. May I know if it meet the offer min tables?

katherine_k

Celtricia,

For me I wont need 25 tables or more as I dun have many relatives. If i cant meet the min tables offer then sorry abt the trouble.

Thanks for the help

bluey

anyone attend wedding at DG?? any comments??

me pretty worry after listening to some negative feedback from my frends..

joeyeu

Bluey, same as me, after i booked DG, bad comments kept coming in, anyway i will go down to DG to c the marching in ceremony of the other couple this sat, shun bian go eat dinner....hehe..Wat comments you heard from your friends? Food wise?

bluey

hi joey,

just got some good comment from a btb... n my hb always keep on telling me dun think too much... guess really have to kan kai dian... if not would be veri stressed... me would be trying to change the atmosphere by using a florist to deco the place n have my own embcee...

mostly is food wise.. but dunno leh.. i eat before first it quite ok...

can share ur experience when u go down this sat...

maybe we should have the thinking that as long as we are happy on that day can liao... den we won't be too stress... hehehehe'

what is ur AD?? u using the small room or big one??

cat79

Hi, anyone experience with Yoke Hotel & River City Restaurant? Pls advise on the foods, services & overall...thanks in advance!

joeyeu

Hi bluey,

I went down last sat and experienced other couple having their dinner, hmmm...when the couple marched in, they close the light and its very very dark, think lack of some candles, if gt candles at the side better, other than this they gt some colourful spot light which i think is quite nice but ONE THING, they march in from the changing room, as you noe, the changing room is inside the restaurant, some bride will wish to onli show up during the march in moment, if the changng room is near to the entrance then i think is better..haizz, nw i also duno if i want to march in from where, but from changing room like a bit weird, if march in from the entrance then we will have to stand at the reception from the start right..btw mine is at ballroom A, the smaller one, I have bring forward my dinner from 26 june to 5th june 05..whens yours? I did ask around for the decoration of the room using florist, but the price a bit steep wor...

Hi anyone in this forum who has been to dragongate wedding dinner, please share with me how others march in..thanks a lot..

bluey

Hi Joey,

glad to hear that u had quite a nice impression of the dinner... my hb wanted to have candles on all the guest tables... so hope it would be better...

my one is big ballroom... last time they told me is that my 1st match in would be from the entrance and the 2nd match in would be from the changing room... I would be fine for me coz i would be welcoming my guest or chatting with them before the dinner...
u would not want to show up to welcome ur guest?

my wedding is on 28 May 05... ard one week before ur...

ya lor i went to far east flora to ask... it was over my budget... but i went to some small florist shop to ask... it is cheaper would be going to discuss more on it... would let u know if i find something cheap n good...

hoshi5

had my wedding in Jan tis yr@ DG, the bigger ballroom.
bluey, u are right. 1st march-in starts at the entrance, and 2nd from the changing room. it would be nice to have candles candles at the guest table during ur march-in.. coz it gets really really dark as u march-in...
The 1st march-in was so long.... but really, u will enjoy it as all eyes are on u....

My only advise is do NOT use this emcee.... it's really really bad... he's the restaurant manager, very lor-soh, uncle-type, and as our wedding is near to new year, he kept wishing all the guest happy new year... blah blah....!!...

do leave ur email add is u want 2 take a look at my pictures!...

joeyeu

Hi all, please let me noe if anyone here or your friends are interested to have a wedding banquet next year june 05, i would like to let out my package at ballroom A , 25 tables...i am willing to let out a 50% discount in the deposit, which means you onli have to put $500 deposit but a $1k to be deduct at the end of the wedding...please let me noe before Christmas if anybdy is interested. Thank YOu..

hoshi5

have sent the photo link to u all liao... not much on DG, coz never scan all the pics in...

Hi celcel89,
yup, i used WL also... not too bad...

celcel89

Hi hoshi5,

thks for the link, i've seen ur AD photos. ur blue EG is very special & look nice on u.
Do u still have the link to ur indoor/outdoor photos by WL? can send to me?