$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

The chemical cleaning was quite good. The contractor did a good job with the cleaning. I only cleaned twice after they did for me & then I shifted in. Cos they cleaned it twice for me also. But be careful to tell them not to splash the chemicals on stainless steel pipes. It will decolorise. I complained to the ID about my tempered glass door parts, it began to show signs of rust. I think due to the chemical cleaning. They changed the parts for me, and cleaned the handle.

u are right cynthia, as we do the cleaning, we may find more faults with the reno works. Me too. I found crack lines on my walls. Because I plastered the kitchen walls and constructed a false wall for my storeroom entrance & hacked down another part as the entrance. Anyone had problem with cracks on walls? Is there anything they can do to rectify it? I am going to call them up to come & fix it up. But wonder if anything can be done to repair the lines.
False ceiling is nice. But really makes the house looks smaller. If u paint the house lighter color, should be ok.

Oh ya, I chose dark colors for my house painting. Lavender mist for rooms and sandstone for living room. Colors are nice. But if u touch up after that, there will be 2 shades. If u are choosing matt colors, use nippon. I made a mistake by using ICI. I just learnt that ICI is good for gloss paint. Nippon is better for matt colors.

hi haruko
i choose minty green for my walls- consider as light colors.

crack lines...so far did not find any at my place.

what makse u think Nippon is good for matt while ICI is good for glossy?

actually, a good paint is depend on how fast color fade, any surfacing of binding agent (wall will have powdery effect when gently rub ur fingers onto it), uniformaility of colors, the ease of paint application etc.

its not fair to compare both types of paint (glossy and matt) with 2 different paint companies. you should companre same types of paint with same comapny.

A professional told me that nippon matt is better compared to ICI matt. And ICI gloss is better than nippon gloss... sob sob... Then I also learnt that those who used nippon matt didn't have the problem I am facing...

haruko,
dun be sad. i dun think there is any ground for saying this.
perhaps your hairline crack is too severe that normal emulsion paint is not able to cover.
by the way, I dun work for any of the paint companies.
you can try sealing your hairline cracks with white cement before painting with emulsion paint.
if i am not wrong, u can buy emulsion paint specially to cover cracks. +shall not give too much technical info, else i might seem like lecturing+ :P

I dun think it's the quality of the paint. I bought expensive ones... should be quite realiable leh-ICI... Anyway, turning a blind eye for the time being... :-(

you can see whether is hairline crack or not by the depth and length of crack.
its call hairline crack cos its as fine as your hair. how think can your hair be? less than 5 microns?
it may not due to ID fault, could due to house too old and under the attack of direct sunlight that cause the wall to crack.
not a big problem, just get ID to fix it.

Haruko
the cracks lines r they fine lines? If so, they WILL come back again if u rectify them... I've stayed here since 2005 n the stupids cracks kept Re-appearing even as each time we get the HDB to fix them. We have tried many diff ways..use cement to cover them, use silcon stuffs...still they come back at the same place! Now we just dun bother wif them anymore as they dun have water seeping thru etc.....cos such lines r very common as our flats r 'lego' built... so the lines will happen to all units. Went to my 5 room neighbours flats too n saw the lines...they can't be avoided one. Unless the cracks u toking abt r very big n cause water seeping thru...the fine ones r very common among the flats.

My frens who stayed at other places also commented abt the cracks when they saw mine, they exp such cracks at their home too! All told me "it's 'lego blocks' what to do?"

Hi all neighbours,

I gotten the keys last mond. Got some queries abt the defects:

1) Do we have to check the masking tape stains on toilet bowl b4 we do reno?

So far i saw only some defects like dents on the aluminium frame of the doors in svc balcony

Moudly window frames

There a opening for the top wiring case on top of the main door>?? not sure it is meant to be like dat?

Another ting: The svc balcony door knob, izit suppose to both knobs to be key access? or it shud be one side button lock, one key access??

All my switch covers are cleaned with thinner b4 that causes scratches on it? DO u tink they will get it changed?

I didnt check my kitchen tiles and toilet tiles... Also didnt check if my keys to the rooms are ok...

Hi Cynthia & Lavender, the lines are not very fine. It is very long, about 50cm long & there are at least 5 of them running on one side of my wall that is not exposed to the sunlight. It's at the kitchen, just between kitchen and living room area. I suspect it's the plastering problem. Another 4 lines are at the false wall they constructed for my storeroom. Also about more than 50cm long.
So it's normal ar? My false wall at storeroom won't collapse one day right?! Hee...

Hi Tannabee, just note down the defects. And if u are paying the contractor to rectify the problems, make sure they do a good job and the problem disappear. If u are not paying them to do anything about it, just make sure there aren't more damages that they may cause at the end of the reno. Are u intending to change all the windows? If u want them to change the switch covers, let them know and think they will quote u. Are u changing all the tiles? If u are, don't need to check the condition. It's going to be hacked off anyway. I bought the flat with warped tiles. I don't really mind cos I knew I will get rid of everything in the house. If u are not going to renovate and going to just do some servicing & maintenance works then move in... then u may have to spend quite a bit on servicing all the above.
One impt thing is to check for toilet ceiling if it's leaking. After I took the keys, then realised it's leaking. So the problem was mine to settle. Otherwise, I could have requested for the seller to rectify it before the handover. My oversight.

Mine is a resale flat. I don't stay at Jurong West but I stay in the west. Came into this thread to kpo cos see so many discussions going on. :p

hi haruko,
the one at kitchen could it due to the heat generate by the stove?
as for the false wall, its possible that its ID's poor workmanship. too little water added to plastering. it wun collaspe, but just that it looks ugly.

hi tannabee,
is yours a new or resale flat?
if its new, report the defects to HDB and get them to rectify for you. some laides here are real expert in report such damage to HDB....
but be ready to deal with non co - operative HDB staffs.
but dun worry, some ladies here are super good at handling them!

hehehe.... salute!

as for my stupid stains, thanks to my fiance who manage to remove them using keroseen (dunno how to spell lar). noy my toilet bowels sparking clean. :D

Hi Cynthia, I haven't started cooking yet. And the stove is very far from that piece of wall... Ya, the lines look ugly. Although it's not obvious to others, but it is to me. :-(

hi cyn,

my flat is new. I went up last sun to check the defects but i realised after reading the threads that what i check tat day was not as complete.

for the toilet bowl stains, can i only start cleaning after my reno completed? Im afraid that there's no water now.

also for the switch covers, do u tink i can get them changed coz its all "scratch" due to cleaning with thinner??

and the door to svc balcony, anyone can advice me? whether the door knobs should be both key access?

thankies thankkies...

hi everybody,
i staying in the JW too..this thurs collecting my keys..
wondering are your toilets are those peachy colour? you all like it?? did you all chnage it??
or else how to beautify it???
sorry for so many questions..

Hi MandyMoore,

If u r talking about the tiles, wat u can do is to check if there are any hollow/crack tiles and report in the defects list.

Once acknowledged by hdb, you can choose other HDB approved tiles and their contractor will change for you. If you want better tiles, u can buy urself and ask the hdb contractor to lay them for you.

omg,
mattew n falling flakes,
CONGRATS...how you all managed to ask hdb to change wall tiles and toilet bowls??
i really dun really like the colour...-__-''

hi mandymoore,

yup matthew is right. 1st u gotta go take something hard (keys etc) to go knock at those tiles to check if they are hollow. better still the more the merrier, then u stick masking tape on those tiles and report as defects. hdb will come down and check before deciding to change for you or not. for us we bought our own tiles and got the hdb contractor to lay them for us, so it is faster.

As for the awful toilet bowls, the original is the peachy colour one. So ugly. and mine the MBR toilet bowl was stuffed with masking tape and rubbish so we reported as "defects". Then somehow managed to bullshit something abt choking (my Id bullshit this part so i am not sure wad choking he bullshitted exactly) and end up changed both master n common toilet bowls, lol. But u gotta have patience...hdb do things super slow when it comes to them having to replace things for you.

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
Defects check list
collectionofkeys.doc (42.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

you may refer to the attached to check for your house condition. report anything you not comfortable to HDB within the next 7 working days upon collecting of keys.

as for the color of toilet bowls, i know the coloor is a bit "orr biang"..but still can be used anyway. for me, we want to save trouble so we just lived with it. we are not going to spent the bulk of our time in the toilet. even when using it, we dun get to see the color too as we will be sitting on it.

most stains can be removed after contractor done chemical wasing (upon completion of renvo works). otherwise it can be wash with kersosen or tarpine (dunno how to spell)... but those can be found in hardware shop that cost less that $3.

hey thanks for so many good advises. i got to do my work.. and get back to you all...but thanks so much...i need time to read up all your advises...=)

hi tannabee,
in my personal point of view...
the stain dun borther me at all. and I dunno if HDB will change. like some of the forumers did was, as soon as they collect their keys, they already report to HDB about the stains and HDB did replace the toilet bowls for them.
but i dun see the need to spent so much time and effort to liase with HDB over this.

after chemical wasing, the stains are there. i am more or less convince to live with it but to my suprise my fiance manage to remove them with kerosen.

for what i see, they are just stuboon adhesive stains and can be removed with the right solvent. just pour some kerosen on the stain and leave for 10 minutes, the adhesive will be dissolve slowly and you just scrub using a toothbrush will do.

things like ethanol will do, anything with high alcohol content solvent. because adhesive is oil based, so alcohol based solvent to remove. or you can experiment with your nail polish remover. leave it there for 10 minutes.

yah, u got to be prepared to drag with the HDB contractors.

For me, everything went quite smoothly as planned cos i practically call them every single day.

one thing to note: dont assume anything. any job u need them to do, must tell them.

ya manz dun assume anything, just tell them straight. be a pestering bee and it will go quite smoothly. all the "dirty work" all leave to FH to settle (calling, pestering, scolding...etc)u just monitor can liao~!

im quite confused abt the water storage tanks, citigas, hot n cold water pipes &amp; water heaters?

can anyone advice who supply wat? which is the best to get?

thankies

water heaters provide instant hot water but you only have one point of hot water. such as the tap in your bathroom.

hot and cold water pipes are wat you see in hotels. you have 2 taps. one for hot water, the other has cold water. the heated water comes from storage tanks. the storage tanks can be heated using electricity or by citigas.

one storage tank provide heated water for the entire household. but you need to turn on the storage tank about 10 minutes before using. you can choose to on the whole day, but will waste electricity or gas.
some people say, even u off the electricity or gas of water tank, the water can retain heat for a day or so..not sure how ture it is.

im quite confused abt the water storage tanks, citigas, hot n cold water pipes &amp; water heaters?

can anyone advice who supply wat? which is the best to get?

thankies

Hi Mysterious,

yes, U will be given 7 days after U collect your keys to report any faults. U can report to the Jurong HDB office at Jurong West St52.

So exciting, this is my maiden post.

ChiLing, thanks, for your info, i am nt staying in JW (sorry)...

from what i know, HDB already went down to inspect before my first appointment, and from what my agent told me, was there's nothing wrong with the flat..

so, i can report again after i collect my key?

so sorry, realy very confusing about all this...

hi everybody,
i got my keys this morning. didnt managed to open door. sunday then open..as that day is going to be a neutral chinese date to open door. just hope i can find defaults in the 2 toilets and ask HDB ppl to change alll WHITE stuff for me i already very happy le...god bless..!! everything shun shun...

Hi Mysterious,

dont trust them. You will be the one staying in the house. not your agent nor hdb officers.

Make sure you personally do a check to see if their are any faults.

I'm sure there are at least a couple of small faults.

Cynthia, so meaning, (sorry, keep asking the same question) i can file for defect after i collect my key? sure HDB will faint, cos alot of defects...

suppose to collect on 2nd appt, but since owner already shift out, so we request for them to hand over the key on our 1st appt...

hi mysterious,
for your case is resales flat, I am not sure how to report defects. is HDB responsible or the owner? did u aask your agent?

you mention defects..wat defects are there?
did you spot such defects when you view your flats especially when paying deposit?

last time, my parents buy our current house and they did highlight the defects like scratches on the wall etc to the owner ...

for me and also the rest of the people here is we are buying NEW flats so HDB is solely responsible.

cynthia,

according to my agent, since HDB already went down to inspect n claim there's nothing wrong, seems like i cant do anyting also.

i am now waiting for my agent to get from HDB Officer the defect list,

defect :

1. kitchen cassement windown, cannot close properly.
2. wall cracks (not hairline crack, very serious crack).
3. rivert (sorry, dunoe if correct spelling), not change to new type.
4. Main door not fire rated.
5. ceiling bady damaged (both toilets).
6. overlaying of tiles in the whole house (i tink i cant get them to hack for me, believe iz my own cost).

well, that's all i can tink of at this moment...

really faint when i realise all this defects.

but from what i found out while talking to my contractors, seems like all this, is suppose to be my own cost...

***faint faint faint***

hmmm got people say use city gas kinda noisy dunno how true is that. u got to decide u wanna use storage tank or instant heater cos it will affect the piping when u do renovation. cos if u wanna use storage tank ur contractor got to do both hot and cold piping for u.

these days the newer flats like those in commonwealth so good manz, already hot and cold piping done liao by hdb.