$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

oh ya, how do you check if there are cement or sand thrown into the water holes?? go dig? i cant even open the plastic cover at the moment!!

oh ya, also need to ask u yane about ur haulage thingy, did u contractor charged u or did the town council charged u??

and my contractor/ id WILL personally check out all the defects with me next tue, be4 starting of work. and also things he n his men has to look out for, eg, the main door knob can easily be dented if anyone open the door too hard n bang the knob against the wall edge. and hence, once hdb change the knob, i'll wrap it up with protection!!!!

i dont wan wait my doors kanna wack or dented and no one wants to own up. since i had already gone everything thru with HDB n Mr lee, i hope dis will also help to minimize headache.

and most impt, i'm planning to report to the flat during reno as offen or everyday. hope that with me standing there, the men will take extra care!! hahaha...

i auntie le lah!!
anne
dont worry i'm cool with it n i wouldnt bring too much money with me if i need to go there. and will be careful careful de. if anything, i can always shout for lavander!!

provided ur contractors are so discipline and listen to u, only put tools in that room lah. for mine, the tools are all over. since u r pressing for time, u have to just move on and let ID/contractors to work with H*B together le. jus go back as frequent as possible so that any conflicts between them can be dealed with as early as possible. will be hard on u.

town councils dont provide haulage for jurong west anymore. i have called up and double checked last time.

good that ur ID willing to go thru checking of defects with u. but alot of us dont have good experience with h*b sub-con... sometimes they rectified this defects but yet another defect wil arise during their rectification. seldom the case the recification will be swee swee smoothly wan.. UNLESS u got little defects! no do = no problem mah..

wahhh so scary har!!! so yane, ur haulage u get private ones from ur contractor?? can i know how much ur contractor quote u? i need a guide for it... thanks.

maybe its different for u... maybe u wil have less troubles with them leh? got 1 time h*b die die wanto come my place to do work at 9am, i told him my ID workers might start work later on Monday morning, if they can come around 10am then sure no problem got ppl around. they die die dun give in, give me excuses and oso said if really cant then they dun come on monday, wil come other day loh. *&^&$ end up, i told my ID and he ask his worker to come earlier at 9am to open door for h*b ppl... heng ID helped, otherwise.....

ID normally employed h*b approved haulage co to do it... my haulage is $950. i not its exp, cos the time i signed the deal, it somewhat met the Sand issue. i think now is better?? dunno... how much is urs, devila?

Anne, have u called S*ngap*re P*w*r to arrange their techinician to switch on the water suplies for u? They have to access the 'water switch'.

no need lah...
tot they will give u a paper,
telling u what to turn on at the water and gas service door there???

I turned it on myself...

for mine, i register at hdb hub SP counter. made appt for the techinician to come down. h*b sub-con told me if SP technician didnt on it themselves, means we r using water supplies illegally. anne, u just call them to check status, their system can reflect if techinician has turn it on already or not wan...

babu, u opened account with them then they told u how and wat to turn on at the water & gas service door there?

h*b said they got the tool to turn on water to do work. sort of doing it illegally. i dunno wat will happened if SP found out, maybe its common that they dont even bother u got turn on onot. but i ask the technician down a week before my official reno start date, meaning from that date onwards, water utilisation will be our liability. u can ask ur hdb sub-con, see if they said the same thing.

i also applied tat day when collecting of keys. by 3rd day, there is already water there n electrical power there le. no need to on or off anything at all, even recive a PUB bill for me to pay le....

yane, my id quoted me $1.2k for haulage. tat's y i ask. as i mention, i had already bought a number lock and lock my flat with it. n told all related ppl about it. hence i think open door timing sort of solve le. but still i hope nothing serious will happen to delay my reno works. *start to sweat n worried again*

devila, when hdb has finished the rectifications, u may wanto set another password for opening the lock. so as they cannot access ur flat anymore.

as for the haulage, i kindof gave up desm*nd proposal bcos of the expensive haulage price.

well, that's the thing lor... so far, all the contractors or id firms i ask, haulage all range between 1.2 to 1.5k de... haiz... i was wondering too if i can get my ID to lower the price bo....

ya... definately will change asap the number when hdb complete their job, my ID also want tat too. tat's y the number lock i bought is those can change the lock number type (more expensive thou) kekkeke

i reg the day i collected my keys...
got my first bill that day...
but forgot to check the cost..
hehehehee....

the lady at the counter told me that I can activiate myself... she gave me a paper to do it...

the HDB ppl using water from my flat to do rectification...
can charge it back to HDB???

babu : yalor, darn expensive rite? the 1st time i ask in Jan was around $800 only, later in Feb, increase to about $1k... then in late march ask, become 1.2k le...... *pengz* the price going up like no host bar!!!

goodness, the haulage $ spent and can't see a thing leh. Even a $8 plastic stool at least can see ard the hse. Can we confirm the haulage now to "lock in" the price first??

Not sure how the water meter is set when the water supply is eventually "officially" turned on. maybe when my first bill arrives, all the usage will b incl?? I dun mind if they rectify properly, but the workers wasted lotsa water to screed the hse (wrongly).. sighz..

gals guess what?????
I checked the stupid website and it says I can collect my keys on the 25th!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Btw, we went down to our flat yest and my neighbour's door, gate and doorbell are still the same....

fallingflakes, cant be so cheap de leh ur haulage. do check if ur ID charging u actual Haulage or just charging u manpower to clear debris... tat one is different de... haulage is not only clear debris, also include sand that u need to use, manpower to bring up materials from downstairs to upstairs n downstairs again, and also include protection cover for the public lift. oh ya, also include disposal of debris to authorize debris collection place... (donnoe where, mabe downstairs?)

usually if HDB charge u, ur contractor only need to put all the debris at your front door step and HDB ppl will collect it.

latte, u can confirmed but you need to confirm the ID that do up your house...
only then u can lock in the price...
guess those who only renovate the hse in later will benefit as by then Myanmar will be in, and the sand will be cheaper...

ya latte, i have the haulage included in the contract. the price is locked then. with the price locked at this unstable sand market, i feel safer, confirm no bad shock.

fallingflakes, current bad sand market, $350 is unbelievable. chances of incurring hidden cost is very high!

hello neighbours,
Wow... didn't know there's so much activity going on in this forum. Me and hubby too got a flat in block C, but still waiting for keys. =(
Have been reading all the post by u guys... wow.. have a lot of things to learn... Still reading

fallingflakes,

finally can get your key next week...
happy huh....
dun worry abt door, gate and doorbell...
when u get your defect list, by then still not changed and u saw defects, list it down... ;)

we tried calling watersupply, they pushed to town council.. all those tai-chi..just wondering how does it take to rectify all those defects. i havent submit yet cos no water cant check toilet bowl and basin.. sigh...

hi jenna,

we share the same block. i just gotten my keys last week after a month of chasing... but our block co-ordinator is a very nice lady from jurong west branch, not from the main office.

anne, r u calling SP Services @ 1800-2222 333? they shld be the one doin the turning on. ask to arrange techinician to come down to come turn it on or to check the status for u.

Hi Anne, wow.. so fast.. my hubby called to HDB but they say they are releasing the keys in batches. So don't know when we can get it. I will ask my hubby to chase them like you..wish me luck.

Btw.. my hubby is thinking of hacking the walls at the 2nd bedroom to become smaller, this way the entrance to the MBR is fm the corner. Has anyone has the same idea? And will HDB approve such hacking?

Hi Yane & babu,

tat is the number my hubby called last evening.. they keep pushing responsibility to another dept. we turn the valve also no water at all.. will try again today..

Hi jen,

think similiar idea for myself and devila. havent submit for reno permit cos yet to list down defect due to water supply. maybe devila can advise?

haha yup babu, so excited finally can collect keys liao! btw will they give us a defect list? and how to check the toilet bowl? as in, why must wash then will know got defects? As we are planning to change the basins for both loos, still need to check the basin ?

then just call them again, saying u need technician to come down turn on the water supplies. dun tell them got problem. and when indeed the techinician cannot access water supplies Then u go to town council to complain its the physical hardware problem.

Hi Fallingflakes,

Think have to flush the toilet bowl with water so to see if water is flushed out fast enough. Sometimes if water is not flush out fast enough, it is consider half choke. This may be due to contractor dumping cement into the bowl instead of disposing it by carrying it downstairs. Have to wash the bowl to look out for cracks.

jen, yupe, me (I) will be changing the MBR entrance too. had summit to HDB on monday le. reno permit also approve le. but hacking wall still pending, will let u know yah?

just now at the house with my ID n electrcian, my ID saw yet more defects!! haiz.... the wall in the livingroom where tv is suppose to be, alot of the wall ontop is HOLLOW!! can hear the difference in sounds when u knock on it!!! aiyo... ID say if hammer a nail in, the wall's paster sure all drop!! AND, due to the heavy rain just now, saw that ALL my windows got water sepage!!!! (donnoe how to spell) the living rm n one of the bedrm even have pools of water under the windows on the floor *pengz*...
dis is bad... very bad... (the past few times thou raining, but windows all looks okie de!!!)

and the balcony ledge wall has water bubbles under the paint!! if use finger press on the bubble, the paint will burst n water flows out!!! *FAINT*....

NOW my head is trobbing...... all my reno has to hold back until at least the windows n wall is repaired!! or else how to do flooring or build feature wall??? ai ya ai ya.....Y like this???!!! @$#%$#%@^#^%@$#@^%$^

ai yo aiyo.... the flat only 5 yrs old, how come deteriote until like tat har?? machiam like buying a 30 yrs old house!!!!

those who are staying in blk 656D de, when u going to your lift, becareful of the floor tiles, a patch at least 8, 9 tiles on the floor pop up and hanging like rotton wooden flooring... just now one auntie walk past, step on one of the tile and fall down when the tile she step on couldnt take her weight n sank into the ground under the tiles... i've called town council le, hopefully they will repair it or put a danger sign there asap.

another thing, just now talk to a malay neighbour who bought an unit on the 4th floor of blk C. he claims that his unit is renovated le!!! he just got his keys a week ago, imagin his surprise that when he open his door, his flat already has tile floorings (he didnt mention wat type) and bedrms laminated!! kichen done!!!

wah lao devila thats pretty jia lat leh! dun say the inside of the house lor if u realise, the exterior looks just as bad. wondering why so many other blks got a new coat of paint while ours is like shit! Actually if u drive in at night it is very nice leh, cos cant see the horrible paint works! I mean, when u drive in from the entrance...the building looks like a big looming block, so cute. Daytime...it looks...haiz i also dunno how to describe. Why don't town council do smthing abt the painting???

There are tiles popping out at the lift there ar? LAst night when I went there never see leh... sianz, so many problem...

Anne...I can't open that defect list...can u pls send it to my email account or smthing...?

or i copy the text here, you copy and paste and print.

here it goes,

Checklist
Defects for HDB unit at:
Address

Living & Dining Room
Does the balcony door panel on the left hand side screech when sliding to open or close?
Does the balcony door have rusty screws on the frame, hinges and lock?
Does the balcony door panel have any dents or scratches in the frame?
Are the main door and gate lock and knob old and rusty looking?
Is the main door is aligned properly? Is there difficulty is locking and unlocking main door?
Does the main door and gate has mouldy hinges
Is the main gate is overall rusty?
Is the main gate easy to close in order to lock?
Are the doorbell switch screws rusty?
Is the main door see thru hole rusty? When looking thru, can you see clearly?
Are there cracks near the balcony frame?
Are there cracks on the wall along the passage way towards the room
Is SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?
Are the screws on the telephone point is old and rusty?
Are the switches near the entrance to the balcony and bedroom is difficult to on or off?
Are the screws on the power sockets rusty?
Does the power box, behind the door, has a cover that is difficult to open or close?

House Hold Shelter
Is the door handle is rusty?
Can the door close smoothly?
Is the door seal is old and flaking?
Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy?
Is the power box cover is broken?

Kitchen
Are the screws on the window frame are mouldy or rusty?
Are there any missing screw on the hinges ?
Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of kitchen?
Are the switches are difficult to on or off?

Main and Common Toilet
Is the louver window is difficult to open or close?
Is the window handle bent?
Are there any hollow tiles on all walls of bathroom?
Are there any leaks at the joints of toilet bowl? (indicate with masking tape)
Are there masking tape marks on toilet bowl seat cannot be removed?
Are the magnetic hinges on the top of the toilet door rusty?

Main Bedroom/Common Bedrooms/Study
Are the louvers of window difficult to open and close?
Are there any missing screws on the windows? Any screws not secured?
Are there any rusty or mouldy screws on window hinges and frame?
Is the door magnet is old and rusty?
Are there any cracks and hairline cracks on walls?
Does the ceiling have water mark, indicating seepage?
Is the SCV point outlet is old and mouldy
Are the switches are difficult to on or off

also do get something to test all your switches, ur electrcian to check if all the lighting points working,
must also add, Knocking your inner walls or walls that are of the inner building if there is any hollow!!!
check if balcony doors discoloured bo, check balcony ledge wall got moldy damp or like mine, water bubbles!!!
oh n also check water flow in the toilets!!!!

ya hor haulage done by ID. Sigh all about ID again.. headache. Hv not even study the quotes.

devila u made ur hse condition sounds qt chia lat. which floor is ur unit?

devila
the neighbour below your unit has fixed up the balcony windows....
think thier unit is going to be ready soon....

regarding the water leakage thingy...think it's the building defect... I've got some problems with the water moisture within the walls...also dun know where it came from... HDB engineers n town council came n see n rectified n still got the same problem... right now, they just rectified again few months back n we r still monitoring it... somehow it seems like the problem maybe settled... *cross finger* cos the wall dun feel damp after a downpour. Hope it'll clear soon. it's a one year odd problem liao...

hi babu!

just went to see ur blog n nice to see ya toilet wall tiles almost done le. did u choose the tiles urself? or did the HDB contractor chose it for u? just curious becuz ur color is exactly the same as my toilets when i opened my flat yesterday! blue for the common toilet n pinkish orange for the MBR toilet.

anyway we checked for defects the whole afternoon n found lots of crack n hollow tiles! the worksmanship is terrible n nw we r just waiting for the HDB officer to call us for an inspection b4 we can start rectifications.

overall the windows, doors, switches and taps are all very new with very obvious signs that HDB really did some touch-up n cleaning n changed a couple of items b4 handing over the keys to us.

feeling so impatient nw for rectifications to start cuz the wall tiles really sucks..lol. just wan to hack everything away!

btw for 656 neighbours, anyone can share how u doing ur kitchen door? the kitchen entrance really headache...

wah! thanks for the defect list anne! i didnt know there are so many stuff to check for! manz... btw just to check with u gals...errm if haven activate the power and water supply that means cannot test whether the flush is working or not right?

I solve my shoe cabinet problem le!!!

ouchie, as i have an aircon unit in the living dining area, i am doing a sliding door for the kitchen entrance. A bit needs to be hacked on one of the sides and the other side dunno add smthing to make space for the sliding door...hope u are not having prob visualising...

the block here not due for painting yet.. maybe after the next lot.. got to take turns ma especially since 656 blk lease commencement is 2002... so now only reach 5 yrs, shd be next in line for painting