$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

falling flakes, for ur living/dining, how many aircon blower u putting? 1 or 2? if one, where u putting it? is it at the wall at the dining area?

hi swatdila, we haven decide to put 1 or 2 units leh, cos every supplier say diff thing... but most prob is 1 aircon single unit (with at least 24000 BTU) for the living dining area then rooms take system 3. As for where to put it...i have no idea....haven decided yet...

u hv got any quotes yet? i was thinking also either system 4 for bedrooms + study and 1 single 24k btu for living/dining. one vendor quote me toshiba set, pricing quite ok, but another one told me, toshiba 24k btu single split cannot intall in hdb.. anyway, i may end up with system 3 non inverters for 2 bedrooms + study(package by ID) and i just buy system 2 inverter for living/dining + mbr... cheapest... but diff brands of aircon though.

eh i only want mitsubishi, so all the quotes i have are just on mitsubishi. And i am also debating abt the system 4 thingy... but was advised that it may affect the coolness of the area cos the living dining area very big. cheapest i have for mitsubishi system 4 inverter (4A38VA model) is $4156... hope that helps...

anne,
there is a tap in the gas & water service duct...
turn the tap then the red tab... at first when i follow the paper, it shows red tab but i try to turn the tap, no water... go out, test the water tap and it works.

falling flakes,
rem to bring a hair dryer to test all the electrical switches. (provided you activiate your water and power). even you changing your loos, you must wash the toilet. wash the toilet floor to see if there's any crack or uneven.
my toilet pump leaking. and i get to replace my toilet bowl... so if the same goes for you, u save money leh...

For Inverter System 4, we have 4 brands to choose from: Toshiba, Mitsubishi Electric, Daikin and Fujitsu. My final 2 choices are T and M. The price different between the two is at least $500, yet T has the higher BTU power. The salesperson I bought aircon from is knowlegeable, sincere and polite. He dont mind us compare prices yet askin him questions b4 gotten our deal. It only cost less than $3.5K for Class0/G23.

Hi Ouchie,

thank you. we get to choose...
but all done by my bf... he took leave and some on his off days to meet up with the contractor.
he just went to choose the vanity colour on monday. heheheh...

I think the malay guy got a RP flat.
if not, how can so fast finished reno leh??
he sure pay more for the flat.
previous owner did the flat but end up dun want liao, h** take back and sell at a higher price lor....

dun be surprised that that m*lay dunno whats he paying for, buy for... gong gong open door see flat already done up, happy like striked toto.

hi babu, oh no....why the flats got so many defects...and this is getting scary sia... i think i can only test the powerpoint thing once there is electricity... where do we get the electrician to test for us...?

yane, maybe he really dunno...
poor thing...

fallingflakes, lotsa of defects waiting for you to find. more than 5 yrs ald, can't say much lor. u haven activiate your power ah?
but when you need to renovate yout flat, you gotta activate it if not, cannot start. you can test all the points by using a hair dryer. no need an electrician lah. if nv test, wait till the electrician who is doin your flat for you to do lor. dunno he will check anot lor before he start pulling cables here and there.

eh Babu...i haven collect keys can activate power meh? And huh..how much do we have to pay for those power and water stuff when we apply at hdb?

i think electrical defects are rare lah... the priority is the ceiling/window seepage, tiles and fittings defects.

fallingflakes, i think u wait till u collected the keys, go in and see how's the status bah. Apply water at SP Services counter on the day u go collect keys. When i went to my house after collected keys, the electricity is already there. H*B ppl din off the supply after they have done up my flat.

fallingflakes,
when u intend to move in?
after renovation? if soon, then can apply on the same day when u collect your keys. muz pay deposit S150. depending u want giro of wat. $100 if you use your atm card there as they got a system link to bank. for us, we paying 150 as we set our joint acc as secondary... hehehe

my kitchen also sliding door. my kitchen sliding door and wall till the study room is tampered glass. all the see thru concept. wall paper for one side of the living/foyer. mirror backdrop for shoes cabinate with seatte (wall mounted cabinate).

ever consider casement pull/push door? am thinking if im holding dishes or things, i will need to slide the door open first take the stuffs, go out then close the door. but with a casement glass door, at least the 'push way' can use butt to push door open. :-) lazy me...

mirror is not allowed in my whole house as advised by FSM. haiz...

in fengshui pt of view, mirror is never allowed. have asked many ppl and read in forums too... nvr ever was allowed. if u believe in FS, u can already leave mirror out from your quotation. unless u intend to defy FSM instruction. but wats the pt right?

i wld advise those who is keen to see FS, meet ur FSM 1st then sign ID contract.

if ur ID is easy to cham-siong then ok. otherwise any exclusion of work from contract is consider 'breeching of contract' in the eyes of law. im very careful, or as careful as possible on black and white sia. cos dun wan be a reno victim / sufferer. kekez... kiasu kiasi me.

there are few reasons behind. lemme retrieve those posts... will try to find it then let u noe.

Ooh, think my id is ok one.. shd be able to change after that, cos i did forewarn him that my concept/design might changed after seeing the FSM. they say no problem.

yo babu we wont be moving in so soon lah but just that we wanna settle all these crappy stuff asap. moreover i dun like to procastinate, like machiam got smthing hanging in midair left undone if u knw wad i mean hahaha

fallingflakes, my electrican is recommanded by my ID. becos i have walls to hack n hence will effect the cables. so hdb contractors told me that is best if i get an electrcian to check 1st that all are working order be4 hacking wall. if later after wall is hack and found wiring problem, then HDB wouldnt repair it for me.

as for the mirror thingy, my FSM said that mirrors position SHOULD NOT reflect the whole room or face opp of doorways. my fsm says i can still use mirror as featurewall for the bomb shelter as the place there is small and my studyroom entrance is going to be sealed hence a mirror there can help make the space looks bigger n brighter. entrance of a house should be bright and give the person who walks in to feeling smoothing n peaceful.

reyner my blog is www.babufamily.blogspot.com
nothing to see also cos i haven start my reno...
and only some rectification by HD*.

F.flakes, i understand what you mean.
if you have a date set in your mind, then all your plan will be inline....

for me, i intend to start reno in may and move in by end June or mid July... so still alright...

dun have to worry too much.

Under FS, the FSM wont recommend to put mirror.
they will ask u to change to glass or so whatever. oone thing my FSM told me that we keep seeing ourselves in the mirror, happy, sad, angry etc, the more we see the more we "pek cek"... frustrated... so not gd... sure will quarrel etc...

ooh... my water supply still not in yet... call the EMU/HDB/PUB also no use... the technician from Water supply came down and say no water in the pipeline, which mean the water tank at the rooftop not even switch on...

ya loh... so upset... to think they keep pushing blame here and there.. so much of saying 3 day activation.. bluff one... =(

hi reynerllica, i'm just curious if you happen to be the reyner that i know. hehe..
are u by any chance working somewhere near to your new house? :P

babu, wahhh... i guess different FSM says different things lah..... for me, since i also dont like mirrors (hate to c my fat self... :p) so dont intend to put mirrors anywhere execpt my MBR toilet. lol... if put, i will look for those mirrors that makes u look thin de!!! kekekkee... :p

Aiya, was thinking of having a big mirror on the wall at the far end of the dinning area (just outside the kitchen, behind the toilet). So sad =(

wah put mirror expensive leh. somemore ma fan to maintain, one hand on top one hand below u can see 10 fingerprints liao wahahahahhaa

Collecting my keys tmr instead of next wed~!~~!!!! Excited...but yet i know doom awaits me...with all the defects! However, I secretly wish everything crack...then everything can change, wahahahahaha

don worry too much Jen, hear what ur FSM says first. who noes, u may be the ones who are not 'clashed'. :-)

past few days $$ have been out out out... feel the pinch sia... gotten almost all of what I need to get for renovations. oh ya, forgotten to take photos of my purchases. but it will be deliver to us next weekend. got to remember to take photos... for my blog... rarely will we buy so many thousands dollar worth of stuffs right? haa... 1 week of renovation has passed...

fallingflakes, dont worry too much lah. u got an experience person to check defects with u. who noes ur flat might not have deteriote so badly leh? be optimistic. :-) congrats to ur key collection. u can ask ID to re-measure the measurements so as what he quoted in term of length or quantity will be more correct. sometimes real life measurement and quoting with reference to floorplan wil be a little different. U may wanto ask him to bring along his measuring tape.

hey yane, i forgot to tell you that the ID never fail to demonstrate using his measuring tape (a super big one with chinese wordings somemore) when he gave us technical lessons, wahahahaha!

tat is his 'tan-lui' tools (make $ tools) mah. u earned leh, got free technical lessons... got remember by hard onot?

remember to bring coin to check for hollow tiles, masking tape, paper and pen.

masking tape is for u to tape at all the damage or problem area and u can write wat's wrong on the masking tape wat. EG, 'HOLLOW TILE' and stick on that tile lah... coin for knocking on the walls tiles lah, use hand, hand sure ache.... u can also use screwdriver, pen, umbralla, etc... i use umbralla for those hard to reach places.....
have fun k fallingflakes!!

hey i got back from hdb just now, only took 1.5 hours hahah. So sleepy manz, now gonna go over to open the door. Hope i wont have a heart attack....

Yane, thanks for your advice, am still thinking of having a full length mirror at the entrance and walk-in wardrobe, and a pic frame mirror at dinning. =>

F.flakes, all the best in ur grand opening.. maybe urs is already all done up and free. =)
(I really hope mine is...=p )

guess what??? FH and I spent our weekend checking for defects and found many hollow wall tiles for the loos and kitchen! So happy! Hope H*b will change them for us and better still change to plain white! I'm wondering though, if we are willing to top up the amount, is it possible that we choose the tiles that we want and get them to do it for us? FH washed both toilets already and sad to say, the masking tape thingy can be washed off, haiz. I was hoping can change, lol. Can't say the same for the master toilet though..cos those goon doos dumped rubbish and sand inside and now cannOt flush! Do you think H*b will change a new toilet bowl for us??? I hope they do...the beige toilet bowl for the master toilet is ugly... Anyway, what i am worried more is since the things can't be flushed off and there is water, will it breed mossies??? Somemore H*b always take so long to rectify the defects...wad if mossie already breed by then??

f.flakes,
not to worry. it can be changed. since can't flush, y can't be change leh??
your FH used alot of strength to wash the toilet seats ah???

its been 6 days since i submitted my keys together with defects list to HDB branch office.. till now still no news! the lady still promised to get back to me within 3 days but at the end did not even respond to my calls or email.

hai.. think it'll be a long long wait...*headache*

btw we went down last sunday afternoon where it suddenly rain really heavily with lots of wind.. and the balcony is like entirely wet n i can't imagine the water marks n algae that will form in time to come... sigh.. i initially didn't wana to window panels for balcony.. but it seems like really no choice hv to do.

anyone hv any nice ideas for their balcony?