$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

hi ouchie, believe me rectification of defects is a loooong process+waiting with h*b. chase them til u get so sick and tired. ur balcony really kena so much rain? then best choice is to have windows le. ideas for balcony got to depend wats ur lifestyle and hobby. some ppl likes greenery, some ppl dun. some ppl like to see sky, some ppl dun. some ppl just want it clean and hassle free.

ladies
i finally goten my letter from HDB and will get my keys on thu.
now, my ID give me a lot of headache...my ID is H*me Su**ess...now they add ons to a lot of things and my renvo cost $26K+. inially we pay deposit, they say $25k or less..after pay deposit, they increase the cost.

feeling so cheated.
my flat at 656D, i heard so many defects, i am so scared...

I went to them last time, Cynthia. On the 1st trip, they have been asking for deposit $$! Haven't seen any quotation, ideas, pictures etc, and u asking for a deal??? My salesperson was Adr*an. After few trips to other IDs, im glad i din gave them the deposit $$, sure will regret.

How much have u paid them? Do u thing the add ons are hidden costs or are they some costs that u have forgotten to factor in?

my water supply finally came in after complaining and chasing on friday night.. in the end is bcos the water tank on t heroof top is not even turn on.. so bcos of me, block C has water coming in for my unit below...

Yday, they already put some sand in my unit for screeding, but only inside 2 rooms whereby i request for 3+1 (study).. the workers very scary, they finished and "tabao" my packet drinks, took away my pumpkin (for praying) and my roll of toilet paper.. so greedy..

Heay Cynthia, im also from 656D. Gotton my keys last week, already list down the defects, not much actually. No need to be scared, not all houses are bad with many defects.

hi cynthia, i'm in blk D too, and there isnt much defects, so u dun have to worry too much.

Babu, my FH cleaned the toilet bowl like it was his precious, lol. The masking tape thingy came off, though got a few spots (very tiny dots that type) need to use smthing sharp (like finger nails?) to scrap off lor.

hi falling flakes,
thanks for yopur comforting words...tomorrow we will know.

to all ladies...and gentleman (if any)..
how many kg of washing machin to buy? some say 6kg enough for 2 person..

cynthia, very much depends on whether u r just washing clothes, u offen use hand wash, or also need to wash ur queen size comforter or king size comforter or u always sent u comforter sets to laundary for washing.

if u only use for washing clothes, 5, 6 kg is enuff, still think side load washer cleans clothes better. if u intend to wash ur queen size comforter blanket, 8kg at least. if ur comforter set is king size then u need at least 10kg.

hopes that help....

thanks devila
i will not have comforter. the most is to wash king size bedsheet.
i will not have hand wash, my clothes will be using washing wash..only hubby and I.
do u think 5 kg is enough?

F.flakes,
i exert my force but not to the extreme after a long day. thus, whichever can come off from the scrubbie, go off... rest, maintain...
anyhow, the toilet bowl also leaked badly...
this week they will put the new WC in....

for 5 to 7 kg washing machines, price difference is around $100. i will go for the cheapest 7kg... or at least 6.5kg...that gives me the flexibility, with the additional 1.5-2kg more dan 5kg, i can do so much more... to have the option of able to wash blanket, big bedsheets, curtains is good. readily available.

again agree with yane, but depends lah, if u buy side load washer, then the price difference still there. if u going to buy top loader, then by all means, get a 7kg de, cos in the end of the day, the amount of clothes u can throw in for a 7kg top loader is only about 5kg+, if not, ur clothes wouldnt be clean n u will be like wasting water. plus, for top loader, the price like not much from a 5kg ($300+, n if u buy those inside plastic parts de some cost only $200+) to 7kg ($400+ onwards). whereelse, for side loader, price difference greater. esp if u buy those digtal type. oh i really like tat panasonic made in jap one, it has a 45 degree drum de... friends who had use it said it's good! only downside is tat it dont have heater for washing. but it comes with a inbuild dryer thou.

btw, mine is a 10kg side loader/dryer. tat samsung maroon colour one. i strongly suggest that if u intend to get dryer, best get those separate machine better, i regret getting my 2-in-1 machine cos the dryer takes longer time to dry the clothes, n use much more electrity. and the machine is more expensive too... the only thing i like about it is that it save some space... hahaa...even so, tat machine is huge!!

last yr was about $1.2+ 1.4+ i think.... cant remember. but do go around to check if u are interested, some places give u ntuc vouchers, some give their own store vouchers, others might allow u to deduct away all the vouchers...
it's a 7 kg / 3.5kg dryer one tat panasonic (i think, also cant remember le). the model came out like 2 yrs ago le, but price changes not much. now i'm not so sure le.

lucky my FSM say it is good to place mirror near the entrance based on our ba zi and house.. he say our type of layout not very good.. but MBR bed location is very funny and awkward... have to crack head again..

Hi Anne,

How long does it take for the TO to get back to you after you have submitted the screeding form?

i will be hacking the master and sec bedroom into one and bed put into the sec bedroom, with a glass door connecting to the currrent MBR and that will be a WIW taking the shape of the current MBR. current MBR door will be sealed up. I guess that solves the headache of the small room! if not everything inside the current MBR sure very cramp manz!

We submitted our defect list yest, hope they will get back to us soon...sianz they do things so slow. My new ID said if we trust him he can bao the defects part for us (screeding all those) without charges, so most prob if everything goes well, our reno will start next week!

hey btw how many types of screeding are there huh? heard from my friend that though hdb do screeding, the contractor still got to do another type of screeding wor which is different.

hey ryner, errmm i dun have it with me now leh when i get it then i show u the plan lor

i think what fallingflake mean is to combine the MBR with the linking bedroom into 1 big room. the bed will be located in the smaller room (the linking room). WIW will be build in the original MBR. The original entrance of MBR will be sealed up, maybe will be the part of WIW?

wow yep u are right Anne! The original entrance of the MBR will be sealed up, which is why there is a glass door in the linking room (replace the wall that is hacked which originally separates the current MBR and the sec bedroom) so that it can lead into the WIW (current MBR). Haha smart one Anne!

I guess we want to try smthing new, cos this "new theme" is like a 180 deg change from our original plans, and I bet my dad sure got a lot to say...and I haven't told him yet lol.

Btw anyone face problem with your letter box? Mine is very hard to open...u got to pull real hard and when you close it, you gotta slam your fist to get it into proper alignment, lol. Dunno is it too long become rusty hahaha

Devila, how is your reno getting along???

i got report that...no point keep boxing at that thing for the next 5 years, haha

btw wad brand of aircon u all buy?? Any idea for the living dining area how much BTU is required?

Hi fallingflakes,

my letterbox also the same... super rusty leh... think must polish a bit..

actually you can half the MBR into WIW and the other half can be your cosy corner.. like better space planning..

i am planning to buy panasonic (non-inverter , system 2 & system 3) cos we normally at home during night time and weekend.. no point get expensive one.. and think now only MBR and living room will be used.

hi anne,
i am intending to make that change, but make the cosy corner into a study area instead. but there is a pillar that that cannot be hacked so can be quite a headache

Hi CK,

i agree, hated that pillar. main obstruction. my design also use the main entrance intoa WIW. hacked the linking room into a smaller room to allow a passage walk. so the small room will be my guest room.

hi anne, i tink its ok lah i prefer big WIW, so the whole current MBR become like a changing cum dressing up area, lol
my mum said its a waste of space though but well, to each his own i guess?
i still to get system 4 starmex or a system 3 and 1 single unit. haiz so troublesome.
My reno starting next week! tmr go and choose tiles le! finally we are moving on!

wow, can see you like to go shopping =)

tiles is giving a lot of headaches... are you getting homogenous tiles too? i wanted white, but dun hv, only a bit cream colour... the whites are very expensive..

fallingflakes, my reno havent even start lah!! for me, still got lots of hdb retifying works undone.... dont ask me y... already want to bang head liao!!!! (to think that i'm one of the 1st few to collect keys...!!!^%&^%$#%^&$&)

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! waaaaaaaaaaaaah !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good to know that i am not the only one being so stressed up... by the way, i still have wedding dinner and bridal studio to stress about... faint**

fallinflakes,
i agree with u totally that everyone has their own liking and ideas. If you take other ppl suggestion and in the end you don't like it, you feel damn 'kiat' xin. At least, if it is your design and in the end u don't like it, u suck thumb.

anne,
i heard white tiles very easily get dirty. a bit of cream better. but of cos, pure white will look damn cool and nice, provided to clean regularly.

anne,
yup my living and dining will be homogenous tiles but we haven decide on white or off white leh. but most prob off white i guess? dirty also not so visible haha! hey! mine also same as urs a lot of glass too, the whole study wall L shape, and the kitchen door, main balcony door whole thing hack including the wall with the small window, all become glass door. Aiya put it simply, we are going for the open concept, even kitchen, toilets...etc. Which means to say we are not putting grilles....getting ready to be nagged by the folks though... but i told my folks it is FH's decision cos he paying for reno and then my mum got nothing to say cos they also understand ultimately it shd be whoever is the "head of the household" (sounds so traditional huh?) make the final decision. I realise using him as a cover is really useful, lol.

Devila,
huh i thot u said ur reno taking place concurrently with the rectification works????? mine starting next week but cos so heng most of our defects are at areas we wanna hack, so meaning not much to rectify, our ID settling for us with hdb so we no need to chup. I think i will go mad if i have to keep facing H*B...do u know even the way they do things also super slow???!!! What rectification u left???????

CK,
ya i agree manz, still got all the wedding stuff to handle, very sickening manz. but i think in a way it is thrilling? Sometimes i wonder huh, say 3yrs later when other friends get married and u look back, will u kind of reminise about "back then when we were also like them". I can foresee after all the housing n wedding thing settle then life will be pretty boring again, lol. As much as I find it a headache and troublesome, part of me finds it FUN wahahahahahaha, great now i am getting crazy

TO ALL,
Any idea wads the BTU of our living dining area?? I know it is above 18000 lah but what's the more exact figure? I dun wanna buy the wrong model for aircon...

Hi Babu,

lucky got ppl same as me, using panasonic..

Devila,

Dun get urself stressed up. Try to call them up and pressure them a bit..

Hi fallingflake,

the calculation is based on :

length(m) x breadth (m) x 200

hi yane
i paid $1k.
the cost got added....cost they say they forget to factor in. also i find their per unit cost is high.
so we threathen that we wan to forgo the deposit. so now they assure that the quote will be $26k as wat we agree initially.

my suggestion to ALL, dun pay deposit until u see the proposed prawing and detail quotation.