$20k for Jurong West Executive possible?

Ice latte,

I just went there the nite before...
still so quiet... only a handful of ppl live there I guess. If free, u go down take a look lor. my floor. Out of 6 units, only 3 renovated, 1 moved in ald.

Yane nv login leh... Jessi found her contractor liao...

I will ask my FH to write the letter and submit on our 2nd appt. 3 in 1 discussion, i must go ask my dear. ;) if he is fine, then we arrange ok? of cos must check with Yane...

ice latte, i'm also from the june 06 WIS. hehe.. also delay the reno till now but i had found an ID to do it already.

i had defer submitting the ROM cert also, just need to write a letter to say want to defer and i also attached a copy my banquet contract as proof of the wedding date.

Iced latte
yup..her flat reno done up...even her neighbour next door came n took a look at her flat n commented the workmanship for the floor tiles are real good... asked my sis for the reno contacts cos she's thinking of redoing her home. Her neighbour stayed there for almost 4years liao... :p In all, she paid about $28k for reno.
I think it's worth the $$...
maybe u can contact the reno contractor I gave u n asked to see some samples of his works...keke... maybe u can ask to see my sis one if u interested.

nope, she haven shift in... cos haven customary yet.. meantime, it'll be her n her hubby's temp shelter. They shifting only in late this year...

babu
no probs...
I kinda of regret never ask him to do my place... cos my hubby lor... didn't ask ard his colleagues before we decided on the contractor. Only knew about him after we signed the contract...Sigh... keke.. told hubby that maybe 6 years later, we wan to revamp our bathroom n kitchen cabinets, we'll look for him then.

Hi babu

nv rec the PM leh. But I PMed u instead

Lavender:
Yes pretty interested to view ur sis' pl esp after all u told me abt her reno (sounds like reasonable price and good workmanship)

I still hv the contact tt u sent to me. If us sis doesn't mind maybe can arrange a weekend when she has to go to her place, i pop by for 5min?

Hi Lavender,
looking at the price, quite reasonable lor...
But hopefully can be cheaper... on tight tight budget...

ice latte,
u nv rec ah??
u give me ur email...
i fwd to u agn...

latte,
i rec ur pm...
no need to give me ur email liao... :p
but do check ur junk mail box huh...
it might be there... ;)

Hi babu

I rec ur email alrdy

I also hv budget constraint. Its tough balancing so many Wants against affordability.

This thread is so apt. Anyone actually reno below $20K for standard EA? Think its hard cos the flooring alrdy hw much.

hi hi.. i m a newbie in this chat forum.. juz like u guys, we have selected a unit at jurong west blk 656 area (EA apartment). juz curious, how are you guys going to place the bed in the MBR (weird funnel shape), as we realise the bed position in the showroom is facing directly the toilet corridor, which the 'feeling' is not so gd. any ideas and thoughts to share?

Hi neighbours,

Have been busy, and no time to log in. I'm in the midst of finalizing quotes with IDs. Have shortlisted final 3. Dillema between 2 very 'click' IDs. Both having friendly, helpful and sincere attitude. The one which is most expensive got the best designing sense. Haiz, tough decision.

Assuming u doing all the mandantories, along with full kitchen, big wardrobes, without any other carpentary work ('wants' like tv console, feature walls, shoe cabinets etc), u CAN keep it within $20K.

Hope its helpful.

Hi neighbours,

me went to IMM with my FH yesterday.
spoke to a few which gave me some ideas to do up my place. Trying to keep my budget to the minimum. dun forget still got to buy electrical appliances and furniture hor.... another way is go for 0% installment plan... so when do u see u guys moving in??

Hi Yane

Mind sharing how much the 3 IDs quoted you?

Hi Babu
I hope to finish the reno b4 July and hv all the furniture and big appliances delivered b4 lunar 7th mth. need time to clean and unpack so may move in after the 7th mth.

This yr July is lunar 5th to 6th month. Im targeting to start reno in Apr and move-in by July. Bearing in mind June have the Great Singapore Sales, a good time to buy alot of things then... Neighbours, u might want to mark this event.

IMM IDs work quite differently compared to other IDs in other more ulu locations... IMM IDs tends to open shop at weekends. I oso feel tendancy of meeting 'attitude' IDs are greater too... well, somehow... maybe they have too many 'walk in see see only' people that they feel abit waste of time, especially if they have already met their sales target.

My reno is focussing on doing minimum to toilet, will be doing up the ceiling works and reasonably high amt of carpentary work. There will be 1-2 hacking work too. All these cost me totalling to $26K-29K.

But as I have mentioned earlier, doing the basics with full kitchen and simply short wardrobe, you can keep in within $20K. Do remember to budget $1K-2K for lighting job + light fixtures. Certain things u have to buy at the before or during reno, eg sanitary accessories, kitchen sink + tap, hob and hood. And oso should already know what kind or size of fridge you'll be using.

For those who have not gotten the keys, you can already hunt for IDs. Design can be discuss with the floor plan, but make sure you bring your chosen ID to measure and finalize the measurement, and revised accordingly before you start the reno.

Hi Neighbours,

Me also hoping to move in ard july hopefully.
I dun think I'll be doing any hacking. Just need to speak to my FSM to see whether the design I have in mind works. If not, have to replan. Those ID shop I went to, did not show me any attitude. in fact, they are quite helpful. if do not have any ideas in mind, just bring your floor plan down. have a chat with them to see what kind of ideas they can give you.

Yes Yane, those electrical works and others do add up alot. Been walking ard to see the appliances too. Do you ladies think that Samsung fridge is good? only hear from thsoe surrounding me that Mitshibishi is gd. any comments?

babu
samsung is good...keke.. cos I'm using samsung fridge. So far no problems at all.
also very quiet...
no complaints.
can consider.

ouchie
keke... think that's the only way to place your bed. Anyway it's not directly facing the door... so it's not that bad.
u'll have alot of walking pace beside the bed if u didn't do the walk in wardrobe like the show flat did... u can even put a baby cot next to the bed n still have some walking space.

I'm staying in the blk656x

hi lavender,

thks for the suggestion, i tink its the oni & best way to position the bed bah. btw, my block is 656b, wat about yours? scarly we re neighbours (same block). lol. anyway, we r oso looking for contractors, will be meeting up with them dis weekend, hopefully within 20-30k can get our hse done up..

babu
actually my fridge is also the same size in terms of litre as this side by side model for samsung. :p It's only the layout that's different.
depends on your preference.

ouchie
hee u r my next blk neighbour.
I'm staying at 656A.
Your budget should be ok.
I got my unit done up within that budget...
slightly more if include all furnishing n appliances.

Hiz. I am also waiting a letter to invite me for my keys collection. I'll be at Blk 656A too.

to dumb (dumb),
if u are refering to the empty big piece of land at the industries side, it is a comfirm site for safar club and boon lay gardan. as for the other pc of land nearer to pioneer mrt, i'm not sure thou...

to lavender_lover,
i understand tat yours is also at blk A? we are going to be neighbours than

nice to meet all of u.

hi devila, hmm the site im refering to is the empty plot of land that 656A is facing, (right in front of the RC).

btw, i've tried walking with my fiance to Pioneer mall. soooo far lol. Hope there's more bus services coming in once we invade there.

HI LAVENDER..

yeah, i guess nw reno is so much more cheaper compare to the past. now below 30k can get everything done up
so headache & so many things to tink for reno (colour, design, material, bla bla bla). btw, how long is it since u moved in 656A?

TO EVERYBODY..

has anybody tried walking from blk 656 to e new pioneer mrt? is the distance long? approx how many mins?

ouchie n devila
welocme to the blk...haha...
I stayed here since jul 05.

from 656A, the time u need to walk to the new MRT is abt 5 mins. Walk very slowly...10 mins.
we even walked to the new sports complex.
that took about 15 mins. It'll be more if the back gate did not open...
u dun have to worry... the new MRT is very close to us... it's just next to the 24hrs coffee shop.

dumb
hmmm...actually it's not very far lah... maybe we got used to the distance..
anyway it's a good way to excercise... ;p

think 656X blks are in the middle of everything...
pioneer mall n Jurong point distance r abt the same... think jurong point is slightly nearer.... not much diff.
Both places we took abt 15mins to reach.

babu
pioneer mall got clinics there...
think jurong point private clinic slightly more ex...I usu go to the one in pioneer mall when I fall sick.

devila n dumb
i know which plot of land u gals toking abt....it's been like that since I shifted in... when I shifted in july 05, it used to be some grassland wif alot of bushes,etc then they cleared it n it became BARE! saw alot of lorries bringing in soil n sand... those times were the worse cos when wind blows...those fine sand can really get into your flat! Now u gals dun have to worry..cos grass has grown n no more 'sand storms'
Heard alot of hear say... some people speculate it's gonna be some warehouse thingy like those occupied by Ikea in tampines.... hopefully it's true.

which floor u gals put up? think my unit is easy to find cos top floor n it's the only unit that's taken up before the current WIS.

Hi Lavender, Cynthia & All..

Thks 4 e info, 5mins walk to MRT is indeed veri fast & near, but it will oni finish constructing in yr 09. I guess at e moment it will still be abit inconvenient if were to move in yr 07/08 bah.

Btw, juz curious, hv realise many ppl choose block 656D, is there any particular reason? During the WIS, block D is the oni block choosen by most occupants.

Oh yar, i have read some other forums tat e area always hv those "black black bangala" loitering ard, is tat true? I hv oso heard abt the new sports complex & safra club, its really so gd!

yo ouchie

i think most people choose 'D' coz it's nearest to the bus stop to jurong pt? besides there aint much choices left coz the other blocks are left with pretty low floors.

as for your 2nd qestion, ya that area does indeed have alot of foreign workers. no discrimination but it does give a little bit of concern security wise, when you see groups of them loitering around at the void deck.

i asked my colleague who stayed around that area, he told me 'you will get use to them'.

lavander_lover, me i'm just 1 floor below u... haha... so saw that ur balcony has windows too, did u leave the orginal HDB balcony doors? if so will it be very stuffy? how is the west sun like? will it burns the wall? this was my major concern while i was choosing the unit but since most units on the high floor was taken (my no was 590) so not much choice... is it better tat way? can visit ur place or can u discribe how u reno ur house and roughtly how much? and ya... heard about the 'sand storms' also... esp those facing flats facing south. and i heard that it is particularly worst for flats who are on the mid floors like 5-7 floors...

thanks in advance...

btw, anyone wans to share how u r all going to do the reno? any great ideas to copy?? hahah... :p later all our flats looks the same....

my reno is going to cost me about S$35k estimate. i also have been going around asking. and that is exluding the sinks &amp; hoobs &amp; not and lights, aircon, heater, etc.... :< i guess that somethings i have to omit first... i WANT too many carpentary work liao.... but cant help it... since me and my hubby are books collectors and had thousands of them... i need lots of shelves space....

i wont be doing the WIW like the showflat... i find it too expensive for just 8ft of storage place and it defeat the purpose of having one if u cant stuff the WIW with lots of 'unslightly' stuffs inside... so still thinking wat to do with the odd shape MBR...

has anyone have experience with platforms in their flat? how is it... is it as cosy as it looks or u find yourself hardly using them... or is it a place for ants and cockroaches heaven?

i have decide to knock down the walls between the study and the living area... and will construct a nine ft (the space there)half cabinate indwards (means take the space inside the study) and then construct glass panels up to the ceiling... the cabinates will be able to open from the living rm and in the study, it will be 5" open shelves for my books. so it looks like sort of an open concept.

the kitchen opening, i will also knock down one side of the wall and extend the other side to accomidate a fridge there and also to be able to include a sliding kitchen door...

hate the orginal toilets... the one in the kitchen looks like there is so much space wasted... haiz... but it's new so dont wan to waste extra monie on it... (have to learn to like it then...)

i still havent make up my mind for the flooring thou... homog. tiles for the whole flat (end up looking like kopitiam), or compress marble for the living/dining rm, n lamination for the bedrms n study.

decide to do up the foyer n balcony flooring with pebblewash n ceramics... but it seems so waste of money and difficult to maintain... and might end up looking like the void decks...

aghhh.... so much to do ... so little money... :<
and i have time constrain too... my present flat is sold to a PR family le... and the buyer wans, no NEEDS my flat by june cos by june, he and his family will also be homeless.... how how how????

devila
oh..u got the unit below me? ok lah..the west sun nothing bad also.. I purposely choose this unit cos in the afternoon i can sun my clothes. The afternoon n evening sun comes through at the kitchen n abit at the study room. Study room more in the evening. On the whole, it's not that hot. I usu leave my main door slightly open n open up my kitchen windows...very airy.

if u dun mind the simplicity of my flat...i dun mind u coming
Cos my flat I reno without any ID ideas. Just went for simple n EASY to maintain.
I did the whole flat include all furnishings at cost of $31k.

I hacked away the service balcony wall which is bet the kitchen n service balcony n do away wif the balcony door too. So my living room is expanded into the balcony n kitchen into the service balcony. Cos i find no point leaving it as kitchen area is quite small n service balcony there will have rain coming in during heavy downpours. The area used to be balcony will become a play area for my kids next time.

dumb
actually if u gals walk to JP is faster than waiting for the bus...keke.. tried before wif hubby for fun. :p well, uless lucky lah...reach tbus stop , bus come..else, waiting time quite long.

devila
my whole flat is homogenious tiles, kitchen side also but of different designs n colour.
think it depends on the colour of tiles u choose lah... cos my frens who came to our flat tot we used marble for the flat..keke.. not that rich... ;p

if u wan to tak a look at our flat, just PM me.

hi hi to dumb &amp; all..

keke. i tot ppl choose block D is bcos its more nearer to the carpark. wah lau, e carpark oso funny lah, built so far away, usually its centerlised wan mah. kns wan :p

i hope my unit wont get the 'sand storm', such a hassle to clean up. i remember my unit is either south or north (facing the new pioneer mrt), bo pi bo pi. fyi, mine is a mid floor unit.

as for my renovation, i m still waiting for quotation fr contactors, so currently din tink of any designs yet. but i tink its better to go for contractors/designers thru recommendation, at least there is straight &amp; accurate feedback.

thanks lavender_lover... will love to visit ur house. will pm u shortly.

btw, anyone thought of the best, most effective way to hide or to do the aircon trunking yet? if in the event that 6 aircon to be installed, how and wat is the best way? any expert here?

was thinking of installing 4 aircons... one in each rm... most likely a 3+1. sys 1 for the MBR, and 3 others for the other rms. but than the trunking will be all over rite?... *problems problems problems*

devila mun
keke.. sure..
wait for your PM.

wif regards to the air con thingy...yup...we faced the same problem intially...but we try to minimise the trunking seen...u can find one right across the entrance to the kitchen but i found an innovative idea by placing small figurines on the trunking thus acting like shelf. :p also not very obvious cos of the light colour i used for living room n the door frame of the kitchen also happen to be white...keke..kinda of 'merge'.
my air con is sys 4. so only one compressor outside.

lavender, hmmm.... really must go your place to copy copy... can i bring camera?? :p

since i'll be using mostly only my MBR aircon, so i was thinking of getting 3+1 instead... at least when servicing or if any wear and tear, i wouldnt have to deal with all the aircons together. (cos using the MBR most offen use and gives most problems)

btw, my family consist of me and hubby n my pets only.... so... :0

i choose 656D because its not near to the empty space which is potentially going to develop. we do not know what are they going to build in future and do not wish to take a risk just in case they build a temple or some kind of worship place.

actually during the last jurong WIS in december, there are a few blocks for us to choose from.

To Devila

i love ur idea for ur study room! i was unsure of hacking that study room wall becuz i wanted to hack a small window just like the showflat but my ID said cannot due to structural reason, so if wana to follow showflat, have to hack whole wall, reconstruct, and make window again. so pointless. anyone can clarify on this?

i like ur kitchen entrance too! not only can accomodate fridge and oso have a nice sliding door.

i'm still thinking abt the wall between kitchen n service balcony whether to hack or not.. *headache but most prob will keep it to save reno costs ba. although we do cook once in a while, i think the small space shud be enough ba. *headache

To Lavender

did u leave the study room wall intact or did u hack it too?

hope to get more ideas for the study room from everyone cuz i think it'll be quite an important part of the house.. walk in first thing is see study room le. lol

To Cynthia

i'm really crossing my fingers for the empty space beside mrt track to develop into something dat wun hurt the property value.. for eg.. temples.. mosque.. etc. *worried

my block (656B) faces the field n we were one of first few to choose 656B while the rest were choosing 656D. dats y i was wondering earlier.

To Devila

i agree the LARGE common toilet is really jialat.*sigh

the WC area is so spacious until... hai. dun wana think abt it. *headache

To everyone

btw i intend to do a platform with beanbags in place of the sofa in the study as seen in the showflat. so that will be a nice cosy relax corner.
anyone thinking of this too?

n ya, anyone recall the long half height partition in the showflat that seprates the living area from the dining area? me having headahce whether having a partition there is necessary or not..

hope to keep carpentry to minimal to keep within budget..

lucky got this thread.. nw everyone can contribute ideas cuz we all hv the same layout!

to ouchie,

yape wat i intend is to also built the half height partition, BUT it will be part of my TV console. the reason is ....

imagin.... if u leave ur main door open, everyone and everybody will be looking at u lying on ur sofa watching u watching tv...

of cos there is the feng shui thingy lah... not good to have your main door direct facing the next opening.. (in this case the windows)
hence my TV console... (which my tv will be a huge CRT 29" old type tv... will help 'block' the 'qi' from escaping), plus... with my sofa 'hiden' inside, i'll at least have some privacy while lie on the sofa if i decide to open the door. (with door open, it's more windy) plus, it also helps to divide the dining area and the living area....

just my thoughts....

i had also toy with the idea of having a platform made in the MBR... with the 'furnnal' looking room, it's seems too weird... was thinking if the whole place (just after the toilet door, the opening of the room) is platformed, at least i will only feels like have a 1/2 ba gau shape room instead...

either tat, or plateform at the sides only, say have the same type of material as the bedside table with just a step lower, joining the bedside table to the plateform... at a low table top, can sit on the floor and have a small dressing table or laptop space over there....

but... both idea cost money i dont have... so probably have to give the idea up...

so i was thinking, i will probably do normal cermics or homo. tiles from the bedroom foyer there to just outside the toilet, and inside all do lamination wood. tat way, i can still have the 'separtion' feeling and with the toilet out side tiled, less chance of getting the lamination wood wet...

thinking thinking thinking... cost cost cost... haiz.... how i wish i was one of the person who stuck the 10 million toto.... :o

Hi Lavender,

thanks for telling abt the cheaper clinic there.
But most likely will come back to where I live since I'm living very near to my new place.

Saw that you stated that u put homogenious tiles, me and FH also goin to do that for easy maintainenance... hehehe... will be playing ard with colours to make it look different.

ouchie

dun worry..i doubt they will build temple because there schools nearby. i am just quoting temples or place of worship as an example.

in the meantime, you get to enjoy more "wind" than residents in 656D because urs dun have obstruction.